(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Joanna
you're so lucky, so much milk..

cel cel
great to hear that, yup, of course can mix lah, colustrum is very high in antibodies for bb. my massage lady says that after the massage, there will be more blood flow loh.

wendyl
thanks, the valve and membrane still in tact leh. now thinking whether I shld get the Avent ISIS or just get the Ameda straight away.

Yuki
my baby was also like that in the beginning. My PD says to let bb latch, then if he's still hungry, I can suppl with 30ml of fluid (i.e. water, glucose water or FM).

Queen
My bb also poos or pees after eveyr feed. Since birth have finshed 1 pack of Pampers Premium and going to finish a pack of Nepia with 60+ diapers. I bought a pack of Pet2 to try in a few weeks time.

SSF
how often do u take the papaya soup?

clare
the antenatal class said that the whiteheads are normal. will go off naturally. my son has it, but went off liao.

dear mummies
can check if you all take plain water or only logan water. I seem to experience slight pain after peeing. Not sure if it's urinary tract infection, due to lack of water.

SSF
I have been going to Dr Cecilia Lee for my daughter, found her quite good but quite expensive and be prepare to wait as the que is always quite long.

queen,
when u say Fitti is gd n cheap - are u referring to Fitti basic or Fitti Premium? i got 3 packs of Fitti basic coz thot it was pretty cheap! But quite disappointed when i opened the pack to feel the diapers coz it feels very plastic. Not sure if baby will be sensitive to it.

how many NB size pampers did ur babies use before they 'upgrade' to S size?

Hi Krissie,
was on painkiller on qst 2 days, after which not needed liao, but the nurses there advise me to still take coz of sore nipples from breastfeeding, haha... you also got sore nipples huh? I think we were probably latching bb on the wrong way, and the nurses didn't correct us...

Is your PD Dr. Terence Tan too? I do get some irritation around the vaginal area occasionally, when that happens, I try to drink more, and change pad very regularly. I am drinking water as well as Longan red date tea and Nursing tea too... if the water is warm, I will drink, but even if not warm, I will still take it, coz dun want thirst to affect BF.

God's Child,
try not to use too much cabbage leaves hoh, they may reduce your MS... use warm towels instead if you wanna ease engorgment..

POchacco,
me too, bathe everyday, without herbal water... I very stubborn, must bathe, else think I will be so sticky...!

I have hand numbness and pain, but that's because I have been carrying bb alot... in fact my massage lady say I have slight Karpel syndrome (not sure whether correct spelling)... it can happen to pregnant ladies and mummies who have given birth.

YUen Yuen,
could it be that your bb is going thru growth spurt? 3 weeks, it's about there? But 12 feeds a day, with 2 hour interval still sounds normal.. hang in there! What I do is sometimes when I really cannot take it, is to feed Shannon 1 FM at last feed at night, she will sleep easily 4 hours then, and that lets me get some sleep as well.

Clare,
so fast, your confinement ending liao! I still have 2 weeks more to go. Yup, Neo Garden food is not bad, have tried it b4... think if you have 120 pax, maybe estimate about 90 should be ok bah?

Re:Nappy Rash
Shannon had nappy rash at hospital, strangly! But now that she is home, it has gone away, touch wood!

QUeen,
I have used about 5 bags of Pampers in 3 weeks, so yes, it is about there, coz Shannon poos almost every feed as well... super exp.

I wonder regarding EBM as well, until now, I still can only express 20ml per breast max... think I may not be successful to EBM when I go back to work

Re:pimples

Clare,
yes, my Shannon has it too! It is coz of milk
Just have to wipe diligently, I notice after every bath, they disappear, then after feed, they come back again, her chin has so many more coz she always so mang zhang, and milk gets everywhere on her face except in her mouth!

SSF,
me using wet cotton wool to clean bb bottom, and wet wipes to clear the really messy poo....

krissie - i drink longan water everyday as well as water too. as for papaya soup, so far i only drink in TMC and my mum be cokking first time tomorrow. i have no pain while peeing but cannot seems to ctrl it.

re: c sect mummies..
any mummies not wearing any binder?

yuen yuen - thks for the PD info. may go down and check.

SSF
Binder - not wearing, must wear mah.

PD - usually I go early in the morning before they open at about 8.20 am as you will find there is a que of 3-4 people outside already. Living quite near so no problem in going early to avoid the long wait.

Peeing - for c-section, I cannot control it till the fourth day then everything become normal.

Queen
Pampers
I am into the 3rd pack already, I tried dryer (not sure spelling) for 1 day and realise that there were many red dots and Bryant looks uncomfortable so swith back to pamper. He also poo almost after every feed so have to change after every feed with is 12 times a day.

Sleepingdeer
I don't latch on nowsdays solely expressing and can express about 70ml every 3hours. So the rest of the feeds are on FM. Even on FM, Bryant is feed very 2 hourly.

SSF
Not for my first, for this time after the operation, I was wearing it but removed it after discharge as I find it to be very uncomfortable and it also affect my appetite i.e. cannot eat much.

kao_smile2.gif

Caleb has taken his feed of 75ml of FM(not time to BF as he is getting cranky and i need some time to get off the bed). so hubby fed him and then i expressed the milk and gee..manage to surpass my previous record..now i can pump abt 80ml. so enough to keep it for later when he wakes up at ard 8a.m. so all mummies out there...must perservere lor!
milk flow sure have..just need to be more diligent. for me, i only pump and then when he finish the previous one then i pump again. i dun really store it. coz lazy to put in fridge and warm it later. also at room temp max can leave it outside is abt 4 hrs but best is an hr.

yuen yuen - this is my first baby and i took off the binder before i discharge and for the past 2 days, i had difficulty getting off the bed which explains why i am always online..after feeding at 3a.m still dun want to sleep although there is time for a short rest. main reason which is the pain i have to endure getting off the bed.
so now i am using back the binder and it really helps me to lessen the pain as well as ctrl my bladder. so i really swear on the need of having to wear one for those c sect mummies.

sleepingdeer
I'm still taking painkillers till now, coz sometimes my epi wound is still pain, maybe coz i sit up a lot to bf. When i lie down it's ok. Also dun know if my wound is worse that others as i need vaccum, so maybe the cut is bigger.
My sore nipples are ok now. The LC told me not to let bb latch for >30mins to avoid sore nipples. So, max is to latch on 1 side for 30mins, then if bb still wants, swop sides.

Yup, Pd is Dr Terence Tan too. He's very friendly and nice, but hv to wait v long to see him.

hmm seems like i'm the only one who's not taking plain water.

Thanks. I tried to latch Megan on and she is ok for the first 10 mins, after which she will cry really loud and my MIL will get real heartache and suggest i give formula.

Megan seems to be a night baby, tried to give her formula at night to sleep but she often wake up after 20 mins to suckle on the breast, only to fall asleep again. put her down again and she wake up 20 mins later. Had been like that for the past two days and manage to sleep only at 3am. Wake up this morning at 7, after her feed, sleeping like a baby. Wish she's like that at night....... HAi.....

Hi Yuen yuen...same old advice...juz latch Bryant on as much as you can...the milk ducts will produce milk based on the amt the baby suckles...so if baby suckles all...the body will automatically tell the breast to produce more milk to meet baby's demands. But like I also mentioned the last time, it may take a while if it is your first child. Mine took 1 month for milk to come in and my MIL was complaining that my first boy was still so skinny after one month...nw my second boy has put on wt and even my maid commented that he is more "gamuk" (Fatter) after 2 weeks.

Queen...let me share my "market research" with you...TMC was having a sale on Pampers at $12.50per pack up till last Sat...I quickly bought 4 packs at one go...then nw without the sale, they are retailing it at $15.80 per pack...still cheaper than the market rate of $16.90 in supermarkets...As for baby wipes...I used to use pigeon for my elder boy....nw...I am using the Johnson and Johnson Wet wipes (Blue packagin) can get from cold storage or guardian...now retailing at $9.90 for a pack of 3...each pack 80 sheets....I have also tried the guardian wet wipes (green packagin) and nt too bad...absorbent and only need 3 sheets each time ...that's even cheaper...$7.90 for a pack of 3 also 80 sheets per pack...Becos it is thicker...you cut down on the number of sheets used.

I went to Mothercare yesterday to get the breastmilk storage packs. A friend recommended me and told me to get the brand "playtex"...1 box contains 100 bags and can store up to 118ml...however, the shop asst told me that the packs will be discontinued once the company has sold all...so far...this is the cheapest brand in the market...Medela is selling 20 bags at $26 which is way too costly...so those who intend to bf for long may wanna consider getting the bags from Mothercare.

Hi Krissie...my milk flow is all due thanks to my little James...he suckles well and latches on well...as such, my milk flow is abundant as for now...he can drink up to 80ml each time at 12 days old...then he will sleep for up to 4-5 hours before he wakes up for his next feed. To keep my milk supply strong...I will pump the minute I feel my breasts filling up...it will have this strange tingling sensation...

Ladies...cold cabbage can prevent engorgement but it will also reduce milk flow...one good way to relieve engorgement would be to get a heat pack that is microwavable...(3M or Osim) and then apply the heat pack to your breasts(as hot as you can take it)...then whilst massaging...hand express the milk into the container by using your thumb and index finger to squeeze the areola and releasing the milk...it will be painful but gotta "tong"...then after that...express the milk out using your breastpump....keep doing that for a few days and after that...the milk will flow smoothly again...massage using the palms of your hand especially on areas that have hard lumps...it works wonders and that helps to ensure that the ducts are cleared so that milk can then fill the ducts again...
Cabbage has the side effects if reducing the amount of breastmilk...as such the heatpack is still the best...

Hope my sharing is useful...

Hi Krissie...I also dun take much plain water...only when I take my vitamins and my iron tabs...other times...I drink only milo, longan red date water and these days...some cold choco milk...hehe....other than that...I dun take plain water too...

SSF...I have taken off my binder as of this week cos the pain is no longer there except when I sleep at nite...mine also C-section...stopped taking painkillers as of 1st week except in the night...then this week since pain was bearable...I put myself off the painkillers immediately...

Yesterday...I asked my gynae when I can start my accupuncture slimming session and she told me 6 weeks from the day I gave birth...so I am counting down...hehe....have lost 10kg as of yesterday and have another 8 more kgs to go....arrgghhh....hope I can shed all of them....cant zip up all my normal pants for now...hehe...cos the butt seems to have expanded during pregnancy...hopefully with bf...the butt will reduce in size soon!!!

Clare
The last function i attend is my friend full mth for her baby... according to her, Neo Garden will provide est 10% more than the ordered qty like if u order for 30 pax, they probably provide 33 pax food.
I'm not sure how many pax my friend est to order but she ordered for 60pax and ask them to send is 2 separate trip ( tpt cost involve $30). So the 1st trip came at noon and the 2nd trip came at 3.pm. I happen to be there at 3pm and get to eat the "first hand" 2nd batch food
) however from the qty provided, I find that it is indeed enough for only 30 pax more or less... esp for those Prawn tempura dishes cos by the time we leave, no more prawns liao. but the rice and bee hoon is alot... but then again I dunno if my friend special request more rice and bee hoon.
My friend also supplement with A1 curry puffs ( 1 big tray of them) to make the spread wider.
I hope the above is helpful.

SSF
I dun think Neo garden provide function room. I think they are more like a food caterer which send food to a venue e.g. your place... of course with table set up etc etc.
Sysac's choice of SAFRA at Mt Faber seems nice.. maybe u can consider...

Clare
The last function i attend is my friend full mth for her baby... according to her, Neo Garden will provide est 10% more than the ordered qty like if u order for 30 pax, they probably provide 33 pax food.
I'm not sure how many pax my friend est to order but she ordered for 60pax and ask them to send is 2 separate trip ( tpt cost involve $30). So the 1st trip came at noon and the 2nd trip came at 3.pm. I happen to be there at 3pm and get to eat the "first hand" 2nd batch food
) however from the qty provided, I find that it is indeed enough for only 30 pax more or less... esp for those Prawn tempura dishes cos by the time we leave, no more prawns liao. but the rice and bee hoon is alot... but then again I dunno if my friend special request more rice and bee hoon.
My friend also supplement with A1 curry puffs ( 1 big tray of them) to make the spread wider.
I hope the above is helpful.

SSF
I dun think Neo garden provide function room. I think they are more like a food caterer which send food to a venue e.g. your place... of course with table set up etc etc.
Sysac's choice of SAFRA at Mt Faber seems nice.. maybe u can consider...

giess those who had popped are facing another problem now which is BF and sleepless nights. Javier has been wanting more milk and i m now into the 3rd week but my milk supply seems still limited.. can still only pump abt 15ml yst night.. really feeling v stress as i can see that he is demanding for more milk now. can gulp down abt 80ml FM now.. i think the lesser milk i can pump, the more stress i m.. like that how to increase milk supply??
*sob sob*)) really feel like giving up but always see u guys to ask us to perservere, i also kept trying but each time like that, i feel more sad..

another qn, Javier face (not only ard the mouth which is know some pple may think it is milk rashes) seems to have some rashes, abit like small little pimples.. is it common? i m wondering if this is the same as milk rashes or can be be due to heatiness from taking the FM etc, which my MIL and mum claim might be.. and so kept giving him water and fei zhai shui.. sometimes they will say it might be due to the hot weather and yet they still kept wrapping him up tight tight..

HELP.. i thought i should get better since i m already into my 3rd week but still i feel stress esp when Javier cries for milk and when i m tired. i cant just let him latch on forever which sometimes can stretch to as long as 1 hr..

Hi edd2jan...I can emphatise fully with you. You may have sufficient milk supply but if you are really stressed, then your milk supply may not come in...what u are feeling now is normal cos there will definitely be fluctuation of hormones...I had bouts of crying fits on the first week...for no reason, I would just bawl and bawl...but upon cooling down, I realised that it was the hormones which had caused me to act irrationally.

Just let Javier suckle for as long as he wants. If need be...lock yourself up in the room and do not allow others to interrupt you. put the baby next to you on the bed and just give him the breast as and when he demands for it. As long as you do it for 2 days, your milk supply would slowly increase...

As for the milk rash...James has it too...it is on his chin and his upper lip...after each feed, I will diligently use cool boiled water to wipe his lips and his face...hopefully, that would remove the little pimplets...hehe...at times when I am lazy...I will just use baby wipes to clean his mouth...hehe...

Please do not stress yourself out...just relax and think positively...things can only get better...k?

At last, i mange to get a name for my baby liao. Her name is Valerie. Yesterday, went to remove my stitches n found out that there's a little infection

Ivory - Can help me to update. Thanks

SSF - To remove the stiches not painful. Yes, i use binder in the morning n remove it b4 i go to bed.

Yuki - I'm juz like you. My gal can sleep well in the day time (after a feed) but at nite she refuse to sleep. I have been having sleepless nite for the past 1 week liao. Headache ah!

POO
For BF bb, what's the poo like? Watery like LS or just normal thick but not hard stools? My bb's poo is expulsive & watery. Dunno is it normal? I supplement with FM at night.
Agree Pampers is good but too ex. Me still tinkg of trying Nepia.

SSF,
I m using cooled boiled water to clean the bum. Read from other threads not so advisable to use wet wipes for NB. Maybe later when they r slightly older. Now mummy help him use the wipes cos always so sweaty. Hee hee!

Me stopped wearing the surgical binder after 1 week. Now having massage this week, so got binded up again. This time cloth binder.

edd2jan
Bryant is as old as Javier and we have the same problem. Now I don't latch him on anymore as I can share the night feed with my mother and hubby and thus can get a better night sleep. I express every three hourly and can get about 70-80ml.

Bryant is drinking about 80-100ml. so I supp with FM if he is still hungry.

Find that I am not so stress out and anyway when I go back to work in about a month time, he also need to get use to the teat and feeding by my mother.

Stress really reduce the BM ss. There was once, I can get only 20-30ml per pump as I was so stress out and upset that I can be on TBF. Now with FM supp, it seems that myself and Bryant is both happy.

For the milk rash, Bryant have them too if I don't clean properly. He have some on the side of the face too on the side whereby my hand support his head when burping so must clean my hand before burping him. Don't worry, it will clear in 2-3 days if you clean him after every feed.

I think now they are going through the growth pharse which is why Javier is demanding more/longer feed.

Confused/ Yuki
Look like most of the bb is difficult to make them sleep at night after a feed. I also have the same problem and have not been sleeping well for the pass 3 WEEKS already.

Trying playing with him in the Day but he refused and drop off to sleep immediately after feed. Aiyo headache man.

Yuenyuen - ya! me too, after feed i'll try not to let her slepp but she'll juz automatically fall asleep. As for at nite, it's opposite. After feed, her eyes open big big.

Wenyl - mine gal poo poo is watery leh - for the past few days. (at first i thought its LS but yestersay she went for her checkup n doctor say its normal)

cookie - how much they charge per pax for the caterer in safra? can i engage my own caterer? do they deco the rm for us?

edd2jan - did you drink any warm water like soya milk, longan , milo before u pump? massage is also impt as well as warm towel. lastly you may want to try the papaya soup.

wenyl- yes i have started using cooled boiled water and cotton wools to clean his butt and his rashes seems much better

the binder really helps. today i can get off the bed myself and it helps me to go back to sleep in wee hrs and able to get off without much pain.

re: babies not able to sleep

give him more milk and he will sleep soundly. it works for Caleb. and i am able to catch some nap too.

wenyl...my boy's stools also watery and very explosive...this morning...as the maid was changing him...he shot at her and her whole shirt and my sofa set kena...hehe...:p perfectly noirmal for breast fed babies...

I am currently using Pampers Premium for Cephas. Initially, I bought 3 packs of Fitti. As he stretches & wriggles a lot, it leaks to his back sometimes. As a result, I changed to Pampers Premium & it works well for him & me.

I also bought the Avent Babycare which consists of Liquid Talc, Bath wash, Bottom Balm , Moisturising Cleanser & Massage Gel. Finished the Talc, Balm & Wash within the 1st month. Went to buy the bigger bottle of the Talc & bigger tube of the Balm.

When we change his diapers (after poo or pee), will use wet wipes to clean followed by wiping with warm water using hanky & then applying the Balm. So far, no rash. I use the big packets of wet wipes at home and the small packets when we are out. When we are out, will use a small tube of the Liquid Talc on his bum.

hi mummies..

anyone bot any thermometer? any recommendation?
i think it is a must to standby a good one at hm. so far only heard braun has it.

Hi SSF...I bot the Braun Ear thermometer for my elder boy...that's good and reliable for temperature taking...

Sysac...is the avent liquid talc good? what abt the baby bottom balm? I swear by desitin but would like to get a small tube from avent for convenience sake...thanks in advance. :0

joanna
my bb is also 12days old, don't know how much milk he takes coz i direct latch him. But, he wakes up abt 2-3hrs after his last feed for the next feed.

edd2jan
my baby also had some pimples rash on his face and body. PD says its a harmless rash and will go away by itself. cant rem the reason for the rash.

Hi Krissie...as long as baby is pooing and peeing at least 8 times a day...that shows that he has hd enuf milk...most times, they need lots of slp becos when they slp, growth hormones are secreted and they grow even faster...I pumped out my breastmilk when baby is asleep and I am feeling heavy with milk...he nw takes 80ml...after that...he will wanna suckle at the breast for comfort and I will just let him...he will suckle for abt 10 mins and then fall asleep thereafter...

Hi <font color="ff0000">Joanna,</font>

Surprise to see me here? My previous nick was Sushi lah
I am also pregnant now and due in about 4-5wks.

any babies perspire easily? Caleb perspire easily and e napkin use to wrapped him was wet even when he is in aircon rm

Seems like so much to catch up..

My boy Poo and Pee alot .. I bought the diapers from malaysia.. so day time bb using Fiti basic.. 86 pcs for 34RM so cheap.. but can only last for two hours therefore letting him use for day time and night I am using Mummy Poko " M" size.. seems better than pampers..

10 more days and my confinement will end.. that will be my real nightmare...

I have decided to stop BF as bb doesn't like and seems that my stress level has increase and milk level decrease...

baby is dring lots of milk.. every 2 hours 90ml..
and he wakes up every 2 hours at night and really poos a lot at night too..

Rena
I am also counting down to the end of my confinement. Can eat normal food liao.

Don't be so stress. It is perfect alright to be feeding bb FM. I also supp with FM half the time and Bryant is happy with it. Give opportunity to daddy and my mother to feed him. (actually I need the rest, can get up to pump especially at night)

Bryant is also drinking 80-90ml the last few days at 2 hours interval but today 90ml seems to last him 2.5-3 hrs. I tried to train him by not giving him milk when he start to cry after 2 hours, give him the pacifier for as long as possible. Very cruel right, but it seems that he understand and now take about 90-100ml at 3 hourly today.

some mothers are counting down to end of confinement while some of us are still counting down to the arrival of our BBs....

yuen yuen..

I envy you coz Elijah refuse Pacifier and he gets upset and cry real loud if we refuse to feed him..

my CL says that There are still many food I should wait till 40 day then can consume..

I hope that things will get better..

SSF,

my bb also perspired easily, on the day time,sunny day, i just let him wear a diaper and a short seelves t-shirt...

Mum was compaining that my son dun have the kind of bb smell instead of smelly soury smell...

YuenYuen &amp; Rena,

3 of us gave birth around the same time..me also start to count. I have already start to take other food instead of confinement food. So sick of confinement food.

Rena
I think he don't have a choice as I let him cry if he refuse the pacifier, although my mother heart pain and offer to carry him, so she carry him and give him the pacifier as I refuse to give him milk. But at night, I give-in also don't want to wake the whole neighbourhood.

What are the food that we can consume only after 40 days? Wow 12 more days longer for certain food.

Things will only get better. Take care of yourself.

casey,
i understand what you mean...i'm also still counting down to arrival of baby! such a long wait...feeling a bit xian and tired already leh! heh.
i think by the time i pop, a lot of mummies wld hv finished doing their confinement!

Babylon
I also took some no confinement food when no one is around.... That day was so hot that I nearly wanted to drink cold water. And all the rules during confinement, lucky my ma and MIL quite modern, so I get to bath/wash hair, drink plain water, use the fan and air-con.

Durianlover
Know what you mean, this is the time to get as much rest as possible as once the bb arrive, there is no night/day and I sometimes don't even know what date it is unless my office coll call me.

Babylon / SSF
my bb also perspired alot. But maybe I wrap him up as I switch on the air-con most of the time. My room having the afternoon sun so need the air-con otherwise will faint.

Hubby also compaining that my son smells.

First of all, CONGRATS to SY !!! Welcome to Mummies' club!!!

Yuki - i got milk now, but very little also. Celeste will take FM as supplement after almost every feed of bout 30-50ml. and can u believe it, she drank 80ml FM last nite but managed to sleep for bout 4.5hrs... stressed... latching her on every feed seems not enuf for her...

Re: stitiches
anyoone knows how long the stiches will take to recover for the 'V'area??n mine stil have tinges of sharp sensation at times... dun dare to go toilet at times...

so how should bb's poo be like if shes breast fed and supplenmented wf FM? Celeste's poo not water leh, more pasty and yellowish...