(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

god's child
agreed with you tat some caes of divorce is not due to third party or other reason but its MIL, SIL... one of my galfren actually is in the mid of filing divorce bcoz of evil MIL! they have to live w them coz only son. sigh...

transportation- yah save $$ so somethime really have to bring ourselve to take bus and mrt instead..

mamachan
actually the shaving part really depend on the nurse attending to you and your gynae too.

SY
think this in law thingy is really a never ending in a marrriage. sometime we really have to close one eye or even two eye! for now maybe make known and clear to your hb you really hope to rest @ home more, nothing to do w excuse or wat.

rachel,
i very lazy one. my hb said if want to send me to work, got to wake up at 6.30. i told him i rather go to work myself so i can wake up later. i wake up at about 7.20am. that's an hour later!!

yeah, i already learnt how to close my eyes already. but this time i dun think my request is unreasonable cos it's more for bb. just hate the things he accuse me of.

Thanks for your well wishes! I'm discharged today.

Here's my birth story:

31 Dec
6pm Contractions started but very irregular

9pm Contractions became more regular at 5-7mins. But with the Christmas experience, decided to wait a while until cannot tahan.

1 Jan
12am Too painful. Decided to go hospital as people around are shouting 'Happy New Year'.

12.15am Only half cm dilated. Given enema and brought to labour ward. Hated the enema. The contractions and the effects of the enema made me felt like dying.

3am Asked for epidural when i was sure that no more shit is going to come out. Wow, instant pain relief and it's almost painless. Felt the shivers. Only 1cm dilated. sigh. My legs felt numb.

6am Still 1cm dilated. Cannot feel legs at all. Like they don't belong to me. When i touch them, they felt like sponge. Sianzz....

10am Gynae came and checked. 2cm. Broke my waterbag.

12pm Gynae came again. Only 4cm. She manually stretched my cervix to 5cm. Very sianzzz....

3pm Starting to feel some pain. Think the epidural is losing its efffects on me. Only 7cm dilated. Gynae came again and tried to stretch somemore.

5pm Only 9.5cm dilated. Still have a lip there. After repeated pushes, still cannot come out. Feeling terrible. Told my hubby I'm not getting pregnant anymore. Will adopt the next one.

6pm Gynae came, Push again. Finally gynae said, it's time for C-section. I've tried my best. Argh! Should have done it 18 hrs ago!

Got pushed to the OT with more epidural. Cannot stop shivering. Finally Caeden is out but coz I'm shivering, cannot hold him at all. Had to pass him to my hb.

The pd said he's like a full term baby! 2.8 kg! Bigger than estimated. Had a Perfect Apgar score of 10 after 5mins. Hehehe, so proud of him!

Now waiting for milk to come in. He's forever sleepy and very quiet. Had to wake him up for feeds. Hope my milk will come in quickly!

SY
me oso one lazy fellow. extra half an hour of sleep i oso want! =p morning going to work is still ok bcoz still feel fresh, but when comes to end of the day its like hell to drag myself home. haha

cheer up!! maybe when your hb is more in a better mood let him know about the things he accuse you of. tats what i do to my hb.

mashy
you sure are a brave mummy!! congrats on the arrival of your boy! good to know he is doing very fine. but is one sleepy baby ah =p actually i oso hope my bb is one sleepy bb, so at least wont be noisy?? heehee

your labour is one long one! so for now rest well for your wound to heal asap! Jia you!

mashy,
thanks for sharing your birth story! so you still had to go for c-section in the end...yah, if i were u, i sure think shd have done it right from the start instead of enduring so much pain! but glad to hear that Caeden is doing very well!

rachel,
yah man, the half hour of sleep very precious one. end of the day i feel terrible too. usually find myself so sleepy but when the time comes to hit the pillow, i find it so hard to sleep cos of bb's weight!

hee, usually i will just ignore him until i make my point. then i will tell him what's wrong with him. sometimes it works sometimes it doesn't.

SY,
Remember not to get too worked up. Anger can trigger early delivery....really! Ur hubby is probably caught in between pleasing his mum & u.

For my case....my mil wanted hubby to join her on xmas eve nite to celebrate her bday at a restaurant. At tat time, my bb was still in ICU & I just got discharged the day b4. She told me bluntly that it will only take 2hrs of her son's time. I was so mad!! (cos hubby is not the only son). But I got no energy to quarrel wif hubby. I just cried infront of him reminding him that bb is still in ICU & he still got the mood to celebrate his mum's bday & leave me alone at home!! Mei liang xin! It made him feel really bad but I know he was really stuck inbetween. In the end, he accompanied me to TMC cos I wanted to spend xmas eve wif bb. Guess deep down he also wanted to see his son. In the end, he was late for his mum's dinner. I went home by myself.

After that incident, I think he knows his role has changed & i tink his mum also realised his son is more eager to see bb tat nite than to attend the dinner. Haha!

Rena,
I m giving bb Similac. So far so good. Little Ethan is putting on more weight.

Mamachan,
The nurse may shave the area near the perineum for natural birth. For C sect, the nurse shaved my frontal area (just below the cut).

thks mashy for your sharing your story! so in the end still c sect. gee i am so scared as i dun really want a c sect but i guess at the end bo bian also not our choice. but at least u experience both so you know which one you want to opt for the next time round. i was laughing when u said next baby adopt dun want to get pregnant. haha..i guess all mothers during delivery said the same thg. so yours is a 1st jan baby. any baby ang pow or hamper from hospital? i know if ya delivering in TMC, they give some hamper.

SY,
cheer up! must hv positive attitude towards ur marriage & ILs! most importantly, pray abt it all...u'll never know how God will work in u & ur hb!

yah i agree that very difficult to squat in the toilet now. Oh man, how do u do it?! i tried once before when i was just 33 wks or so n had great difficulty squatting n getting up! tummy too big!

mashy,
wow such a long labour...must hv been tough on u. how come u say the enema was terrible?

rachel,
i can't remember the brand of the cream. It's at home - must go check it. But honestly if u wld like it i can pass to u the cream. Hardly used at all! U stay in BP right? But the instruction slip on the box of the cream says that effects of the cream on pregnant mothers n foetus is not fully established, so advised not to use too much or too often. U try out DermaVeen first n if it doesn't work let me know...can pass mine to u

Re: transport to work
yesterday i actually called for a cab (hb doesn't allow me to take mrt or train) and the booking fee alone was $4.20!! Heart pain

Re: formula milk
Enfalac or Similac better? Or any other recommendations? i did not prepare any FM to standby...after hearing all ur stories on the difficulties of bf, i think better standby FM in case baby starves!

Mashy,
Congrats on ur new arrival! U so funny....next baby adopt! Kekeke! Rest well & keep us posted with ur bb pics when u feeling better okie.

Mashy...

Wow, brave mummy... wf such a long labour, Baby Caeden must have been an extremely precious one to u n HB... glad tat hes doing fine and well... do post his pics when u can

mashy
you sure are a brave mummy!! congrats on the arrival of your boy! good to know he is doing very fine. but is one sleepy baby ah =p actually i oso hope my bb is one sleepy bb, so at least wont be noisy?? heehee

your labour is one long one! so for now rest well for your wound to heal asap! Jia you!

durianlover
thanks for your offer =)
i will try out the DermaVeen first. the staff told me the same thing about the Dermaveen lotion on pregnant mothers n foetus is not fully established. if really cant make it then will meet you up to get yours then. yah me live in BP, senja rd.

Wenyl,
yah think i was so mad last night i can feel bb moving a lot. tot he wanted to come out and i said (to myself of cos), it's his daddy's fault.

i dun think my hb is doing it to please his mum cos every time when we go back on wed, his mum is not at home. so she doesn't get to see him at all. if she is at home, i can see why he needs to go back. but now priority shd be bb...

durianlover,
i do half squat and hang on to a pipe. but i told my hb that i use the pipe to help myself and he told me cannot use cos it will break so i dunno how i m going to use their toilet.

Sy - ur hubby is so funny. rather you pee uncomfortably also dun want to u to break the pipe. just ignore him for the time being la. i beginning to find him unreasonable too esp on e part when his mum is not in and he still go over. and worst still no dinner :p

Durianlover - thanks.

SY - Dont be sad yeah! Must really sit down n talk to your hubby. i agree, once tummy big, very difficult to squat n get up.

mashy - Wow! Congrats on the arrival of your bb boy.

wendy - oh! paiseh! i make a mistake.

Rena - your bb so cute

okie, i got to go liao. Chat with u gals next weeks. Yo! i very gan cheong ah!

SSF,
ha..cos he say if break the pipe, will flood the whole place... which may be true cos the flat is really old.

now u understand why i so pissed. cannot talk sense into him. my mum thinks i shd talk to my MIL directly but i think if my MIL tell my hb abt it, sure make things worse.

re FM
think we can get a small tin from the hospital right? they usually have some samples.

sept03 bride,
yup i will just ignore him. hee sometimes i find that when i ignore him, i end up talking a lot to bb and doing things with bb that i somehow forget to do usually like read to him, sing to him etc.

Sy: u should be able to get sample cans from ur gynae, the hospital will give bottled form...

mashy: wow...what a labour..rest well..
confused: best wishes for a smooth delivery

ok guys logging off for the day. i shall update all tomorrow on my gynae updates. hopefully baby has engaged and gynae can check on my cervix dilation. just cannot wait to deliver soon seeing everyone with their bundle of joy!
take care and be careful on the road as it is raining cats and dogs here in the east.

Hi mummies, Wow... I've only been gone for the afternoon and so many postings to catch up on!

MAshy, Congrats! DO post your pic of your bb soon ok?

SY, Don't get urself too agitated. For my case, its my FIL who's the troublemaker and my poor hb had been sandwiched between us before esp when I argue with my FIL last time when we were still staying with them. It was so pek chek staying with my inlaws and I was so unhappy and always ended up quarelling with hb over his dad. Eventually, managed to convince my hb to get a place of our own nearby and immediately, baby Ariane came along
THink I've told u all about my FIL problems before

SSF,
I get backaches when I sit slouched for too long too. It helps if u put cushions behind ur back when u sit. Make sure your back is straight and you won't get backaches anymore. I also used to love doing the "click clack" on my back when it feels tired and ache and I was still doing it until 2nd tri. Eventually, as bb Ariane gets bigger, cant do it anymore. Tried once and it caused so much pain on the lower abdomen (cramped non-stop cuz overstretched ligament) I didn't dare to try again.

Coconut
So far I've also taken 1 coconut only. Thinking of I should take another one more as my dad says taking too much cooling stuff will give bb asthma.

Longan red date
I've been taking this on and off. Boil it with lotus seeds and dried lily and wolfberries and rock sugar. MAkes a nice tonic drink.

Public transport
My hb also don't like me to take public but I very sim tia the taxi money, esp on fridays cuz I'll go back to my dad's place in hougang for dinner. My hb works in bishan, I stay in bukit panjang, if I wait for him to off work at 6pm, come home get me, then go back same direction to hougang, I'd rather just take LRT and MRT to hougang on my own. My hb always scold me for taking public but I think abt $17 cab fare to my dad's place and the round island trip my hb needs to take, I'd rather take it as a form of exercise and just take public.

mashy,

That was what I was afraid .. therefore I chose to do C section rather than waiting for natural birth..

SY,

have your mom tried to talk to your hubby?

Mashy,
Congrats on the arrival of Caeden!
How come end up C-sect?

Rena,
Elijah is so cute!

Wendy/SY,
Thanks for the info on pacifier.

Wenyl,
Wah... your MIL a bit insensitive hor. How can expect your HB to be in the mood to celebrate her Bday while his BB is in ICU???

SY,
Why don't you talk to your MIL? Is she an unreasonable person? Maybe it's not your MIL who insists that you go back? Maybe it's just your HB? If not, just ignore your HB and don't go with him.

Re. amt of milk intake
When I bottle feed, Isaac only takes in about 70-80 ml of BM. Direct latch, normally he will suck about 25 mins on 1 breast and if he's really hungry, another 10 mins on the other. Is he not getting enough? Cos it seems like some of your BBs are already on 90ml feeds on the 2nd week!

So if my Isaac is mouthing away after like 1 hour or so from his last feed, meaning he's hungry again? Then should I just feed him again instead of giving him the pacifier? I don't want to feed him so often leh... what if he becomes obese? Sometimes he'll suck on the pacifier and fall asleep, sometimes he won't. Then I'll check the clock, if it's more than 2 hours since his last feed, I'll feed again. Normally he'll fall asleep after that.

My milk supply is established. Isaac is latching on properly, no sore nipples except the first 2 days in TMC. No nipple/bottle/pacifier confusion. He has tried all and still able to suck from my breasts. So I guess no harm giving him the pacifier then... I only caved in when he's still mang zhang after 2 hours of being awake and only ig rocking him doesn't help!

Re. nipple cream
I began applying the Palmer's cream before bedtime about 2 weeks before I pop. Dunno if it helps... Anyway, do be prepared to experience some nipple soreness especially the 1st few days cos our nipples are not used to that kind of suckling. For me, my nipples even bled a little on the 1st night at the hospital. But not serious lah, BB can still continue to suckle.

MH,
Good link on jaundice!

Re. jaundice
my Isaac is still having jaundice, despite being discharged from KK 10 days ago. The level is going down but according to the polyclinic doctor, it's not going down fast enough. She thinks it's BM jaundice and wants me to total feed Isaac FM for 2 days. I'm unwilling to do that. As a compromise, for this week only, I'm substituting 2 feeds per day with FM till saturday where he's going to do the blood test. Hopefully his jaundice would be gone by then.

SY,

U are not alone. My hubby wants to go back to his mum place as well. There is once that we travel from our Jurong House back to Seng Kang.. waited there from 4pm - 8pm. MIL and FIL work OT..didn't bother to call and inform us. We waited there with no dinner and no one there. I even had gastric, but hubby still insisted on going back every week.

Then when I am in 30wks, I slept while sitting on the sofa at MIL's hse then she knows how tiring I am. And she started asking us not to go back every week. And my hubby, as usual, still wants to go back. So sick of it.. the journey is so long and tiring.

wow, so much has happened since I last logged on.... Congrats to all the new mommies!

All the babies are so cute!! I can't wait til we can meet up after confinement and see each others' babies!!

Just an update, my baby had jaundice and was admitted for one day... I think my mistake was not feeding enough FM to supplement my BM cos I wasn't having any flow for the first few days. i still have to go to the polyclinic for check up tomorrow.. sighz... haven't been able to rest during confinement at all...

Queen,
To see if my baby is getting enough, I was told to feed until Tabitha refuses the nipple/ bottle, and then to monitor how many times she pees/poos per day.. it should be at least 6pees, 3 poos. Also if she starts getting hungry in less than 3 hours, maybe becos she didn't get enough initially. My baby girl also mouths alot so i feed her until she stops sucking at her fingers. My baby is still a little dehydrated and underweight.. I hope that now my BM is better I can pump her up a bit...

Breastfeeding problems:
I also had breast engorgement and went to see the KKH lactation consultant today since my baby was there... can almost die from the way she helped me loosen my ducts... but I am so grateful cos now my milk flow is slightly better... I'm not able to express a lot.. maybe 20mls-40mls both breasts if I don't latch on...

re: formula feed
I think similac tastes like breast milk, apparently enfalac tastes horrible!

re: coconut milk during labour..
I was drinking my last coconut milk whilst I was in labour!
I could do that cos I had an epidural!

Had my check-up and bb is now engaged, however, my cervix was only 1/2 cm dilated =(

doctor says wait for one more week. If past my EDD then induce. I really hope by next check up I'll be somewhat dilated.

rene, i am tay in ward 634. oye bb got the chances sleeping next to each other....kekeke..

how do u find the nurses there. i think they provide ver good services..

Queen,
Exactly! I tink my MIL is SUPER insensitive (not just abit)! Somemore this coming sun is my hubby's younger bro wedding & I have been BAN from attending both the tea ceremony & dinner cos still in confinement. Considered "unlucky" or "dirty"...whatever! My MIL is super pantang. Even my parents, as in laws, are not invited to the dinner. However, she still expects my hubby to help out the whole event from early am to end of dinner. I was telling hubby tat if really pantang, then he shldn't even attend too.
*Sigh! I will be left alone AGAIN, this time with bb with me at home!!*

AMOUNT TO FEED
There's a formula that docs use to gauge the amount of milk to feed bb. Not sure if u mummies are aware of....
150x(wt of bb in kg)/8 = ( ) ml per feed.

Queen,

Issac seems to be drinking a lot. I tried expressing milk using medela eletric pump on tue but could only get 10ml. maybe because clariss wasn't with me and there wasn't let down but I don't care. I cont my breastfeeding and so far only supplement her with with 20ml, 30ml or 40ml depending on the time of the day when she cries after sucking on my breasts. she will normally take 35mins to 45mins on both breasts. she poos only 1 -3 times per day and her poo is pasty and a bit dry. I don't think she has enough milk but I believe my milk is building up. today is the 11th day for her. heard that milk supply will really establish in 2 weeks time.
will be bringing her to see the pae later to check on her jaundice. I believe it should be better. no yellow eyes. pae says that her weight must go up to 2.9kg at least. hopefully she makes the mark. stressed!

Hi Wenyl,

My case is opposite as yours. Hubby's sister got married one week after i gave birth. IT's my mum who ban me and even hubby from attending the wedding. MIL and SIL wasn't allowed to visit me until twelve days after the wedding. SIL was so upset that she cried. I guess MIL was sad too that hubby wouldn't be allowed to attend his sister's wedding.

But in the end i conspire with hubby and told my mum that hubby has something to return to office last minute etc so that he can sneak off to attend his sister's wedding. Told him not to stay thru out the dinner to rouse my mum's suspecion..... Think till date my mum still do not know.... However my mum and MIl are rather close so we have to be careful not to show any photos that indicates my hubby attended the wedding....Ha Ha.

Yuki,
Urs the total opposite! Haa! U better keep all evidence properly.

What I can't comprehend is that since my MIL is super pantang, then she should tell my hubby not to be involved in his younger bro wedding mah. Btw, the elder bro is helping out already. My MIL even ban the elder bro & SIL from visitg me but they themselves came to see their grandson few times. It's the double standard which I can't stand it lor!

dear mummies,
wow i really salute u all in terms of breastfeeding. Sure doesn't sound easy! If i hv not enuff MS i think i can't bear to let my baby tahan...might supplement with FM though i wld rather not.

Went for gynae check-up yesterday and guess what?? i put on 1.4kg in 2 weeks!! That's amazing huh!! And as u all can guess, only 0.5kg went to baby, the rest of the 0.9kg came to me! Put on a total of near 8kg so far (37wks). Baby is abt 2.6kg. Gynae didn't check my cervix for me leh...so sad. i think he's very for natural delivery so sees no pt in checking for cervix esp when everything else abt the pregnancy is fine so far. So sad. i kept asking him when wld my baby come out but he said he also doesn't know, and said "let it be natural".

Rena,
no lah, din ask my mum to talk to HB.

queen,
i dunno whether it is MIL or HB but once he did mention that MIL will be unhappy. so it's quite hard for me to keep probing. and we have been thru this so many times sometimes no one wants to bring it up anymore.

sounds like your BF is going well! good to hear that! think it's ok to give the pacifier if bb really mang zhang. like what my fren did, she and her hb stopped after a while and it did break the habit.

May,
at least your MIL get the hint u r tired. if i sleep on the sofa, she ask me to go to the room and sleep. one thing abt my hb that is good is that he doesn't like to go home late. so even if they are not home, he will just tell them he going back.

tabbiesus,
actually what's the link between BM and jaundice? i read quite a few mummies experience that feeding BM will cause jaundice to worsen. tot BM suppose to be the best...

Wenyl,
if really pantang, then your hb shdn't even go. it will 'chong xi'...actually when it comes to such things, think IL are quite double standard. mine also like that.

For those who travel by MRT train, please be informed that there will be a 'practice' on terrorist attack in the month of Jan. So please be careful when travelling. If 'kena', please be careful and take care of yourself in case of any pushing etc...........

Hi mommies who have popped,

Was having lunch with a friend yesterday. She BF her baby till 14 months. Was on the topic of BF and she said to increase milk supply, have to pump constantly. It will be very tiring thou. Given that baby drink at every 3hr interval, eg. 10am, feed for about 45 mins.... At 11.30am, she starts to pump even if it's only little milk. By 1pm, baby is ready for the next feed, so latch on direct. If she feel that baby did not 'empty' her breast, she will pump till her breast feel empty...... Then one hour later, she starts pumping again...... That's what she did for her first few weeks and by the time she return to work after 8 weeks ML, she has stored enough for her gal to drink during the day. When she get back to work, she pump only once during lunch and per breast, she can get 250ml of milk..........

Qn for all the mummies who have given birth:

Is it alright to mix the BM? Meaning, at the first pump, you manage to get only 10ml. At the next pump, you get another 10ml. Do you combine the 2 and put it in the same bottle?

Hi Casey,

I think it';s alright. As long as you don't freeze the first batch, then add the second batch....

If teh first batch is in the fridge etc, then add the second batch to it, should be fine. Doesn't make sense to heat up 6 bottles of 10ml for a single feed.

Hi allz

On behalf of MASHY. She asked if engorgement will happen to everyone? Cuz she said she do't have engorgement but have some milk coming in. Experienced mothers can advise???

Good afternoon mummies!!!

just came back from my gynae checkup...no luck still. baby still refuse to engage gynae is asking me again if i want to induce...he took for me a blood test to check on my sugar level for the past 2 months and if the results is negative then i will really have to induce baby out soon. sigh! i told him abt my concern on ending up with c sect. and he said even if baby engage doesn;t mean i will not end up with c sect. but i read abt longer suffering waiting for dilation and contraction to happen after inducing.

anyway will be gg down next monday to check on the results. and after discussion, most likely to induce on coming sat if results is negative. now getting all the jitters knowing the possibility of inducing is high. everyone please pray for me that baby will engage soon and i will either have contraction/waterbag burst before sat. will try to walk more also as gynae said it helps in engagement.

mamachan - gd that your baby has engaged,..so now just wait for the signs.

wendy - my drink is just boiling red dates and longan and because i have GD, didnt add rock sugar also. after delivery then my mum will add some slices of old ginger to it.

Hi Mashy and Etelle,

I do have engorgement on my 4th day. it was quite painful. engorgement doesn't mean that you have a lot of milk coming in, it merely means that the milk production has started but milk is not removed fast enough. maybe mashy is removing the milk fast enough by letting her baby suckle.

BTW, congrats Mashy, it's really not easy but you made it.

didn't mean to scare the mommies who have not popped but be prepared that things may not go your way. delivery and breastfeeding. some people are lucky but no matter what, we must be positive and stay cool.

Good afternoon mummies!!!

just came back from my gynae checkup...no luck still. baby still refuse to engage gynae is asking me again if i want to induce...he took for me a blood test to check on my sugar level for the past 2 months and if the results is negative then i will really have to induce baby out soon. sigh! i told him abt my concern on ending up with c sect. and he said even if baby engage doesn;t mean i will not end up with c sect. but i read abt longer suffering waiting for dilation and contraction to happen after inducing.

anyway will be gg down next monday to check on the results. and after discussion, most likely to induce on coming sat if results is negative. now getting all the jitters knowing the possibility of inducing is high. everyone please pray for me that baby will engage soon and i will either have contraction/waterbag burst before sat. will try to walk more also as gynae said it helps in engagement.

mamachan - gd that your baby has engaged,..so now just wait for the signs.

wendy - my drink is just boiling red dates and longan and because i have GD, didnt add rock sugar also. after delivery then my mum will add some slices of old ginger to it.

think the site has been unstable.

SSF,
dun worry too much. it can go both ways. whether bb engage or not, sometimes c-section is still needed.

so u may be seeing bb soon! feeling excited?

yuki,
for the MRT thing, it is on a weekend so most of us shd keep away from MRT and bus these 2 weekends. it will be on the first 2 weeks of the year.

SY -yeah excited but also have mixed feeling of ending c sect. see what the results say on monday. if no good, then most likely induce after hari raya haji which is on next wed. i told hubby to bring me for some good food before i deliver. he agreed and said steak from Angus or Molten. haha...my choice!