(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi all mummies

Clare & edd2jan - Congrats once again!

After reading all the stories, think I am the only one who had a big gush of water flowing out of me when the water bag burst
We all had different experiences huh.

Tomorrow, Cephas is one month old! We'll be having his celebrations at Safra Mt Faber. Going to another friend's baby's one month celebrations later.

It's a bz week for me again
Will be visiting PD on Tues & then the one month cakes for Church friends will be delivered on Wed. Going to personally deliver to them and then visitng the ofc on Thu to give them their share too.

The one month has surely come & gone. Now will just enjoy my time with Cephas before I return to work in End Feb

edd2jan,
Thanks for sharing your birth story! Heehee... the trick to avoid epidural is to go hospital at the last minute right?

krissie / Etelle,
Need to at least pump 2 times at office? Wah...
I seldom get any breaks at work except during lunch leh. Always have to rush to meetings or go to the production floor etc. Like that no choice have to get the dual pump liao. Only thing is whether to invest in expensive ones. My company is a big US MNC with big premises and yet has no nursing room. Think current BF mothers pump in the medical center. But HR said they plan to have one room set up soon. Dunno whether it's done by the time I return to work, which is in 6 weeks' time! Quite fast hor.

Mothers,
I am beginning to bottle feed my Isaac. Really too tiring to latch on direct. Imagine having to wake up 2 to 3 times at night to feed and every session can last more than 40 mins! I got so tired that I broke down one night. Can't stop crying. Felt like I was doing everything alone and HB can't do much with Isaac latching on direct. So he said switch to bottle feed. Bottle feed is much faster. Also can control the engorgement better. Even though I really do like the closeness felt when Isaac is suckling.

Hi Queen,
While it is good to pump and bottle feed little Issac, have you tried the lying down position for BF? Heard from my colleagues who BF that they do that too. When baby needs to feed at night, they just bring bb beside them, lie on one side and latch on bb to suckle while they drift back to sleep sideways until bb is done.

Personally, I don't think I'll do that cuz HB takes up alot space when sleeping and I don't want him to smash bb accidentally. So, most probably I'll pump and store for night feeds and latch on only during the day. I'll be buying the Phillips baby food warmer as that one has thermostat that can keep milk and food warm at 37 degrees. So, I plan to take the milk out from the fridge and just leave it on the warmer before I sleep. Already got a Medela dual pump as advised by everyone. I really cant bring myself to buy the PIS. Its sooooo expensive. I don't think its worth the money when the dual pump works well.

As for pumping during work, my workplace has no place for mothers to pump at all. After speaking to my head, the only place I can find that's safe and clean to pump is the server room.. so sad.. He offered to buy a chair and put it in the room for me. Server room quite noisy and aircon very cold.. but guess it beats the toilet which is usually very wet because my workplace alot of muslims or the counselling room (which most of my colleagues use) which is very hot and dusty.

What are all of you doing today? Me gonna just stay at home cuz my FIL has asked mt Hb go back help him move furniture to spring clean. I've refused to go (and smell the 2nd hand smoke) so I'll be at home surfing net and making pineapple tarts later. What a boring New Year..

kao_welcome.gif
Cecelia... which gynae are u seeing and hospital u b delivering at? are u having a little prince or princess?

Wendy - its also a boring new year for me. just cooked and finished up lunch and stupid HB is busy on XBox!!

God's child / Rachel,
Don't worry, you two are not alone. My baby at 37 weeks is also 2.8+ kg. Doc say my baby will be at least 3.2kg at birth since I'm most likely not going to pop early. Baby not engaged yet and my placenta still have space and water for baby to grow fat. Mine is a girl.. cant imagine my girl girl fat fat.. At 32 weeks, she was only 1.98kg. In 1 month, she put on almost 1kg even though I only put on 0.5kg. Must be too much fattening foods and sugar intake during the holidays. My EDD is 21 Jan so, I got another 3 weeks more for bb to put on weight. My tummy already stretched beyond limits with lost of stretch marks

God's child,
If my hb never go in laws house to clean up, he'll also be busy with the Xbox at home. Why not join him? Ask him play 2 playes games. Dynasty warriors 5 is nice game. I always play that with my hb at home. If not, just sitting there watch him play, I'll drift to sleep.. so boring..

krissie,
Was checking through all the EDDs Ivory last posted. You're the next to pop with EDD 6th Jan! Excited?

SSF,
Cant find your name in the table. Wads your EDD?

Back from Gleneagles after c-section on 28 Dec so no exciting story to tell. On breast feeding, I am not sure whether bb is latch on properly as in the hospital there is assist from the nurse, now back at home, he is forever hungry and according to PD before discharge he had lost 9% of his weight already. Will need to go back for follow-up on Tuesday. Very worry.

Sneaked in to read some posts before BB Ashley wakes up at 4pm (expected time).

Queen,
Same situation here. BB was latching on longer n longer even more than an hour and still continue to have hunger crys. When she finally goes to sleep, I'm exauhsted and before my sore nipples can relax its time for next feed again! I suspect she must be drinking not enough and I felt so helpless. Broke down one night and couldn't stop crying coz too tired and really dun know if I have enough for her next round. HB so worried I'll slip into depression. HB comforted me and we decided to expressed out n bottle feed instead so that we know exactly how much she's drinking. HB also went to buy a can of formulae milk powder to remind me that we ALWAYS have back up so no need to be too stressed BB may go hungry n cry non-stop in emergency. Glad i made the decision coz i'm getting more rest time in between her feeds and I'm also feeling much better. Also happy coz BB Ashley gets to be fed up close by her daddy as well. So far the can of milk powder is still intact un-opened so I'm praying that I'll never need to use it, at least not for the next 3 months. = )

Got so much thoughts to share but simply no time... got to go now before MIL comes n complain i'm walking around too much again. Will try to come in soon.

To ALL MUMMIES and MUMMIES-TO-BE,
May all of us and our Babies have a BLESSED AND JOYFUL 2006!!!

Hi Yuen Yuen,

Congrats! well, i think there's nth to worry bout baby's weight loss... its very common for them to lose some weight during the first few days as they adjust to the external environment.. im sure ur boy will gain weight in no time!!!

Wendy - me oni play the Hello Kitty game HB bought for me... but i get tired wf it very fast... so i oni sit beside him n read the papers or fold laundry. i always limit him to a certain time and he has to be OFF the machine!! tats y HB also say dun get home earlier better cos he will be automatically drawn to his XBox.. he will suggest go somewhere have a drink and spend quality time before we get home. so i dun feel so bad when he gets on the machine for a little while ( trade-off ) haha

I am back.. but my baby is still in hospital.. have to stay for one more day due to jundice.. I cried so bady.. coz seing my boy naked and feeling so cold while the nurses are talking ..

By the way.. my boy elijah is 3.335kg when born.. it was a shock to my gyane too .. at 37.5 weeks .. that last time I went to scan he estimated elijah to be 2.6kg.. and his head is 36cm..

happy new year!

just to let you know I delivered by baby Tabitha Kay Shen on 30/12/05 @38weeks, 2.4kg at 2009hours at TMC. Just got home today.

Still feeling very lost with baby, was hoping to total breast feed but no milk yet and very xing tia when she cries and is so hungry... so supplementing some FM until my milk starts flowing..... She suck so hard that my nipple is so sore already..

Just got her to sleep... so will post pictures and birth story later

Congrats to rena, clare and Edd2jan on your deliveries!!

edd2jan,

Hi i just caught up with reading the thread... i think i am having the same problem.. no milk yet... my baby so small, i feel so guilty when she cry and suck so hard and nothing there so i supplemented her with cup feed with similac formula... She was 2.4kg at birth but lost some water weight til 2.2kg... i feel that she is so fragile... I really can understand how Sysac and Wenyl must feel as about trying to pump up your babies weight!!!

Wendy
Yup, I think the blood is due to some abrasion on the vaginal wall. Anyway, it's very little, so I'm not too concerned. Yup, my EDD is coming Fri. But, my symptoms come on and off. So, not v excited anymore, after being excited for so long.

MH
Wow, you've tried so many pumps. So, overall, you find that Ameda is better than the Medela Mini E? I have a Medela Mini E too, which my gf passed to me. It looks v old, so not sure if it will work well. If it doesnt, I wld hv to get another pump.

Sysac
Wah, so fast 1mth has passed.. time passes really fast.

Queen
Another way is to feed bb before you go work and pump during lunch. But, then have to leave on the dot to go home to feed bb. What's your feeding schedule like now?

Yuenyuen
Congrats!! Don't worry, accrdg to the book, some weight loss is expected (up to 10%) and is normal but shld be regained by 10 to 14 days.

Rena
Congrats too!! Wow, your bb really grew very fast and is big for 38 weeks.

Tabbiesus
Congrats.. bf is definitely v tough. Hang on...

Wow.. So many has delivered in the last week of December! All of a sudden, it seems like everyone is popping one by one. Soon, we'll all be talking about breastfeeding and confinement instead of popping..

Congratulations to Tabbiesus, Rena, Clare and Yuen Yuen on your new borns. Great way begin a new year with a new addition to the family

i wasn't able to log on to the website yesterday coz some problems with the website, and suddenly so many mummies have popped!!
congrats to clare, tabbiesus, rena, yuen yuen & edd2jan!

it's really great to hear all your birth stories! prepares the rest of the 1st-time mummies here awaiting delivery! All the best to the mummies who're breastfeeding! Seems like bf is the next 'challenge'.

wendy,
i haven't had chance to go down to ShopnSave to see if they sell young green coconut. i shd really get down to doing it soon!

Re: tummy rash
thanks for all ur advise. For me, applying Palmer's cocoa butter stretchmark cream doesn't help...in fact, it makes my itch worse i think. i went to my gynae's and got a tube of cream to apply. It's marvellous! Soothes the itch immediately! But cautioned not to use too much or for prolonged period coz the effects of the cream on foetus during pregnancy not fully established yet. So i'm also very wary in using it.

Durian,
Palmers don't work for me either. Stretch marks all the way despite me applying it since the day I had the blue line on my Clearblue. Not only that, tummy was also very very itchy and had abit of rashes.

My gynae gave me DermaVeen lotion to apply and Derma something bath lotion+oil for use during bath instead. It stopped my itch immediately but all the stretch marks are already permanant

hi clare,

I know how you feel about the latching on and sore nipples... I get panic attack when she seems so hungry and I got nothing to offer... I felt so guilty too..

I guess we mustn't give up with bf and not feel bad about not having enough milk yet. Jia you!!! You are not alone!! Jia you hor...

My baby girl just settled down so I'll sneak in a few more posts... I'm still very lost with what to do cos this is the first day I have her to myself without the nurses to help...

to all other mummies who haven't popped yet: My birth story..

29 december: starting feeling faint tightenings at night, and very notti, when walking and shopping..

30 december:
0500 having regular contractions 15min... not so painful but tahan till 0900 cos have appointment with gynae then

0920 CTG shows regular contractions, 10 min apart, baby heart rate okie. doctor says baby didn't grow this week and still 2.5kg, and amniotic fluid dropped to 3 cm, cervix 1.5 cm dilated... so suggested i get going cos having regular contractions already.

1100am admitted to labour ward. had the fleet enema (not painful but after ward very clean delivery) and drip for contractions and had epidural. (btw for those at TMC, dr low is very good with epidural... apparently the nurses say that hers never fail and she's very steady)

6pm still only 2cm dilated, so gynae helped me stretch until 5cm and told me to cut down epidural cos may not take long... also said position of head OP so asked me to turn to side and if feel the contractions to push gently to help baby's head turn to OA.

7.30pm started feeling strong urge to push and nurse rechecked and found that I was fully dilated, so called the gynae, and started pushing

8.09 baby tabitha was born!!

from 8-9pm : Thank god for epidural because had uterus massaged and vaginal examination as uterus did not contract and was continously bleeding.. by now, i was almost passed out from tiredness and the medicine given to help my uterus contract... was told that lost 1L of blood...

finally got to see baby at 11pm... phhew! Exhausted by then...

Hi Edd2jan,

I popped at the same date as you..almost the same timing also..Baby Damien was born on the 28 dec....@1030 am weighting 2.94kg ..a very fast delivery...keke..bb did not want mummy to suffer the labour pain..

sharing my brith story...
28 Dec 05
4+am - Woke up to pee and tried to sleep but cannot get back to bed. Felth something difference from the previous..and aslo so some brownish discharge on my underwear. So changed my panty and monitor.

630am - Feel hungry..so my hubby asked me to go breakfast with him...Have some cramps but thought that was BH..that i usually have it for the past few weeks.

8+am - Back from breakfast..feel that the Pain becomes more intense and was like every 10minutes. And also saw some blood discharge on my panty..so decide to see my gynea earlier since got appointment with her today.

9.30- 945am - Reached her clinic ...and was very suprised that i was already 5cm dilated and had to make a fast decision whether if i want epidural. Quickily she asked my hubby to bring me straight to deliverly ward instead of doing admission first.

10.00am - At the delivery ward..changing..and the mid wife asking me questions...was really in pain..and the mid wife checked again..i am abt 6 cm dilated..too late for epidural..so i reqested for alternative for pain relief..given the laughing gas..but did not help much..i drowsy after a few breath....so i request to have ject on my thights..

1015am...suddenly have a very strong urge of pushing..cannot hold it..quickly the mid wife check on it and i was 10 cm..quickly she called my gynea..

1025 My gynea managed to make it to the delively ward...1,,,2,,3..Push..baby damien come out at 1030am.

my baby was sharing the same lunar birthday same as his elder brother..

while i was in the delivery ward..the elder brother was waiting outside for his baby brother..

Brought my son to the clinic that day and did not expect to have such a fast delivery..

Lucky did not ask my hubby to bring my son back home first instead of getting my mum to the hospital to fetch him. coz my gynea estimated that i will only deliver within 2-3 hours..other wise my hubby was not be able to make it.

god's child / wendy
our edd is very close to one another =) our bb are of similar weight too... gynae had mentioned my boy could reach 3 plus kg by due date. but have this feeling he might come out 1 to 2 weeks earlier.

wow! so many mummies have popped! especially during the last week of year 2005. dunno who will be the first in year 2006?

To mummies who have popped
Jia you jia you!! reading from the thread can truely understand the stress ou mummies are going through... especially with BF. rest well and take care! looking forward to see all your little darlings photo, confirm will brigthen my day! =)

Have been BF my baby with some supplement of FM too as there are not enough milk.. how every today the breast seems so full .. but baby couldn't come back .. so sad..

Please keep my baby in your prayers ..hope he come home tomorrow..

have upload some of his photo .. he looks totally like daddy...

tabbiesus
!!!! hahaha your tabitha is sooooo cute! tats a very sweet photo =) i was laughing away when i saw this pic and my hb joined in after he saw what i saw.

rena
dun stress yourself, i believe tat your boy will be back home with you soon =)

how's your wound? do rest well!

wendy, durianlover
I'm also using the DermaVeen bathoil. it's very good.

Tabbiesus, Babylon
Thanks for sharing your birth stories. Reading all the stories make me wonder how my labour will be like..

Babylon
Wow, your birth is the shortest that I've read so far. Must say that you're very lucky hor. 1hr+ of pain only. Was it manageable without epi?

Tabbiesus
baby tabitha is so adorable, esp with the outfit.

Rena
Can try pumping out the milk, then can also feed bb with EBM. Bb will be back with you soon. BTW, we cant see the pics.

wendy, durianlover
so where can i get this DermaVeen lotion?? wish to stop my itch once and for all, since you guys say coco butter did not work. can i get it from those phamacy?

HAPPY NEW YEAR to all of you!! Had been bus with company annual stock take that's why so long never online.

Congrats to all mummies that had given birth in the last week of Dec 2005! Wonder who will be the first 2006 baby.. =)

Had my checkup last week, my rashes were indeed caused by pregnancy...luckily I am already at 37wks when I have this. Had been scratching all over. Doc say it is not common but if it gets worse, he might need to induce and get baby out asap. Rashes will only recover after birth..with 1 mth. So I have difficulties sleeping lately and had been scratching all over for the whole week.

Currently baby is at 38weeks, but baby has not engaged too.

krissie,
where to get this DermaVeen lotion? Is it safe to use for preggies? no effects on baby right?

wendy,
i've been using Palmer's cocoa butter since i got preggie and not a single stretchmark so far leh! perhaps different pple have diff skin elasticity...so it's not a matter of whether stretchmark cream good or not! Just that now with rashes i find that the Palmer's cream doesn't alleviate the itch.

may,
try not to scratch though it's itchy! can understand how u feel. i'll also wake up in the middle of the night to scratch n scratch!

rena,
sorry i also never uploaded pic before so not sure how to do it.

tabbiesus,
haha such a cute pic of tabitha!! such a sweetie
thanks for sharing ur birth story!

babylon,
wow seems like 2nd pregnancy really has faster labour! that was super quick!

Hi girls
just to keep you all informed. MASHY has dleivered her baby boy at 645pm today New Year's day. Baby Caeden is 2.8kg. Both mummy and bb are healthy and fine.

tabbiesus,
yes, i think for me, the delivery is ok. i think the handling of Javier is a bigger prob for me. Had been trying to breast feed him but everytime he cries, i am really at loss.. the only thing i can do is give him my breast and he will calm down but other than that, if he shit or pee, i m loss cos i have not learn the tactic of cleaning him up. i think i m already suffering from some mild depression. been really teary lately. really scare i cant handle Javier when my HB is going back to work. i must say he really can handle much more better than me. I can only do best with my breast.

this afternoon, there are some visitors and i just cant take it and broke down. think now most of them know i m suffering from mild depression now. i m not beginning to have doubt if i ever wan a second one..

Congrats to Tabbiesus, Rena, Babylon and Mashy!!!

Babylon- Envy envy... wat a short labour...woo...
kao_drool.gif

Tabbiesus - Your girl looks so sweet.. is tat dimples tat she's having??

Mashy!!! WOW... u reali went ahead of us... glad tat u n bb are doing fine! wat a new year gift...

durianlover, Rachel
My gynae gave me the DermaVeen bath oil and a medicated rash cream. Think it's Wendy's gynae who gave her the DermaVeen lotion. I dun know if can buy from pharmacy coz my gynae prescribed the bath oil for me. For the itchy SM on tummy, I apply the Clarins oil, which can combat the itchiness for a few hrs, then, hv to re-apply loh.

Mashy
Congrats!!! Wah, you're faster than me woh.

edd2jan
dun worry, slowly, I think you'll be able to handle bb. Do you hv anyone else helping you? It's postnatal hormones that's making u weepy. Can come confide in us lah, dun keep to yourself and cheer up, okie.
All of us take a while to getting used to a new family member in our lives. And bb cont communicate, so can only cry to tell us that they need something.

Durian/Rachel,
I'm using both DermaVeen shower and bath oil and DermaVeen moisturising lotion together. Both were prescribed to me by my gynae. I've never seen this in any pharmacy outside before. If you're interested in getting them, I can help you buy from my gynae and you come collect it from me? However, I'll only be seeing my gynae on friday if its ok with you. You can also try asking your gynae or GP or nearby pharmacy if they sell it.

Rachel,
To upload photos, you click on the Upload Attachment button below but you have to enable popups in your internet options to see the upload window. After that, choose your file and click Upload and wait for it to upload before closing the small window. You'll see some words added to the end of your posting message. That's the link to your attachment.

edd2jan,
Its natural to feel panicky when your baby just cry and cry. All of my friends who have popped earlier said they were also at a loss of what to do for the first 2 weeks whenever the baby cries. After awhile, you'll learn the different cries and their meaning and then life will be easier. Do not give up ok? Your baby needs your TLC. Don't get depressed! Just remember, you're not alone!

However, do try not to offer the breast more than necessary after your milk supply has established because my sis also did the same and offered her breast whenever her baby cries. By the time her baby is 3 months, she's the size of a 10month old already at 10+ kg. Now, at 5 months, her baby is wearing the same clothes her 2yrold sister is wearing. Her PD had to ask my sis to stop BF her baby and put bb on diet by giving formula milk. According to my sis, at her peak, she could pump 20+ bottles of milk a day else she'll get engorgement due to oversupply.

Hi wendy,

How I envy your sister to have so much milk.. by the way.. I tried to post the pictures but error message keeps coming up telling me to strink the pictures but I dun know how?

I am unable to sleep tonight.. due to thinking of my elijah in hospital..Oh.. my tears keep dropping and hubby says its not good to tears but bo bian.. now my eyes are so swollen..

Today my confinement lady came.. quite good.. very professional and knowledgeable.. she has been a CL for close to 15 years..

rena,
be strong for your baby elijah... I understand how you feel... altho my baby is with me now... we haven't had her checked for jaundice yet cos it appears on day3 only, and now she still only mildly yellow...but I'm scared that when I bring her to PD she'll have to be admitted.

Will pray hard for you that your baby can come home soon...

Don't be sad, cos when baby come back with you, you have milk flow and a good CL to help you! It really makes a difference!!!

Edd2jan,

Don't be sad... you are not alone... what you are feeling is normal for a new mother... I am the same... so all new mothers must really support each other cos I now really understand that its so difficult...

I don't have a CL and my mom quite blur... she saw me cup feed and said things like "aiyah.. why like that... u are choking her!" I just felt so guilty and terrible!!! Already so tired and lost cos didn't attend any antenatal classes.

Sighz.... but i develop this routine lor.. if it is not feeding time, then i pat her at her cot until her cry is very loud and non stop... then I will check her pampers, then, check if her hands & feet to see if she's cold. If nothing works i will just pick her up and hold her and then give her my nipple as pacifier..

To all other mummies,
Thank you for your compliment on my baby girl.. she doesn't have dimples, but that photo makes her look like she does!
Safe delivery for those who haven't popped yet...and enjoy the last few days of pregnancy!! Congratulations to Mashy, yuenyuen and all other new mothers!

Rena
Dun be sad lah, bb will be back soon. Good that your CL is good, will be of much help to you. Try to rest now, so that you've more energy to look after bb when he's back.

din log in for some time and so many mummies have popped!!

congrats to all new mummies and thanks for sharing you stories. really makes me feel excited. it's like the past few months, i read earlier threads for birth stories and now m reading my own thread for birth stories! what a change!!

durianlover,
i have seen dermaveen before at unity.

wendy,
i also got a lot of SM...hopefully they will fade after some time.

new mummies,
jia you! though i have not popped, i can imagine how tiring and lost a new mummy can be. so hang in there!

sysac,
your one month over liao! time passes so fast...

re pumping at work
i think my workplace also doesn't have a room to pump. dunno whether want to invest in a dual pump. my fren continued to use the avent one at work and she says it's fine. she bf up to abt 8 months.

Rena,
You can open your photos with Windows Paint then save it as a JPG. If the file size is still too big, email me the JPG and I'll do the shrinking and posting for you.

Don't worry so much abou Elijah. YOu have to take care of yourself else how to take care of Elijah when he comes home? Jaundice is very common amongst babies, so no worries ok? Most babies I know have jaundice so its no big deal. I know you miss your baby, but just take this as an opportunity to rest before the real tasks begin when baby Elijah comes home.

My mum told me that I also had jaundice when I was born. Stayed in KK for phototheraphy for >1 week and daddy felt heartpain everytime he see nurse poke needle in my toe and I'd cry and cry loud loud. By time mummy bring me home, I was already quite big from my baby photos. Subsequently, I grew quite chubby by the time I was 1 month old. So, don't worry so much ok? Everything will be just fine.

Tabbie,
You may want to bring your bb out for short walks in the sun (not fully clothed of course). Or if at home got morning or evening sun, let baby go topless and sun abit. Traditional way of getting rid of jaundice. Also, don't take ginger for the time being if you're breastfeeding. If need to take ginger, make sure its at least 3 hrs before your feed.

congrats to yuen yuen, rena, mashy and tabbiesus. wow so many mummies have popped. i am not sure if i am next to deliver. So exciting and really looking fwd.

wendy - its under nick: missy. edd is 15th jan at TMC

May - i may be at the same time with you. my baby also have not engaged yet and i am into the start of my 38 wks.

edd2jan - hey it normal to have mild depression. just be positive and your baby;s smiles will definitely make ur day. dun think too much. take one step at a time. family support is also impt at this time. hang on!

krissie
thanks for thr info.

wendy
i think i will check with pharmacy or my GP first. will be seeing my gynae this friday too. if really cant find it by thursday, maybe will need your help to get for me. remember you live at greenridge, me at senja, so can easily meet up w you =)okie? thanks