(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

wenyl - yes i have already bot a few buttons top from pigeon to be wore when his navel button is peeling off. thereafter i will switch to rompers..coz easy la only wear one pc. not buying anymore tops. coz the more i buy the more i need to wash also. hehee..and also the aussino comforter..i think i will hand wash la. wat u guys think? if i lazy then i will use washing machine lor. haha but only for comforter but not clothes.

I am staying in the north east. SK to be exact but weekdays i mostly stay at my ILs or mum place in Tampines area. Anyone else in the east?

No i didn't feel man jiang before my first gal pop. Was quite peaceful instead.

Good morning mummmies!

Kodomo laundry :
Buy the Kodomo refill pack. Its cheaper. I also wash the clothes by hand. Don't use too much soap. First time I wash I followed the instructions and used 1 cap to 3L water. Wash and rinse until I gop crazy. Too soapy. Use about 1/2 cap to 1 pail of water is just nice.

Aussino bumper set:
Unless your machine is very heavy load type (mine is 6kg), you can only put at most the bumpers, bolster, pillow and duvet cover inside. The rest still have to hand wash. Also, use less than 1/2 ur normal amt of washing detergent. I used 1/2 the amt low sud powder still too soapy and had to repeat the rinse cycle 3 times before the water came out non-soapy.

Clare,
Ya I washed my Little Lamb set with the washing machine. Cannot imagine washing the bumpers by hand. However, I didn't want to overload my machine as the bumper set can be heavy when wet so I washed the fitted sheet, pillow cover and bolster cover by hand. The colours did not run for my Little Lamb set. Remem not to use too much soap. Use abt 1/4 the normal amount should be sufficient.

wendy,
i intend to wash my Aussino bumper set using machine wash. Think my washing machine can only take 5kg, or is it 5.5kg. But i'm too lazy to handwash. How come must handwash?

yuenyuen,
welcome back! my company also said i hv the option of spreading my 3rd month of ML if i want to, but it wasn't a request for me to come back after 2 months. They basically left it up to me. If you don't feel comfy with just taking 2 months, perhaps can let them know? Basically i think it'll be gd not to give them a confirmed yes or no with regards to whether u'll take the 3 months ML together, or separate. Coz u won't know if u need to, and at least it gives u leeway to make changes.

Wendy,
Thanks great to hear that... okie me shall go dump the set into my machine now hahah so happy... = P

Durianlover,
I was afraid the colours will bleed/run so i asked if need to hand wash loh. = )

wendy - but no bottle how to contain those refill pack? unless we already have a bottle standby to contain it.

re: maternity leave.
i have already applied for straight 3 months. yippy and it has been approved. will be taking the edd date as the due date. so be back in mid Apr! so happy counting down. next mon seeing gynae in the morn and then come to work only on tues and fri and then will be working from home already. coz wed and thurs will work from home.

SSF,
actually can use any bottle for it right? did u buy the bottle first? i bought one bottle so far. maybe shall go get the refill pack.

so nice..can work from home...

SY - ya can use any bottle but must wash thotoughly before containing it and i am lazy...so just go and buy one bottle. hee..for future, will definitely buy the refill pack.

SSF,
me too. if i use any other bottle, i din i will end up washing it a lot of times to make sure it is clean and end up wasting water.... where bb stuff is concerned, want to make sure it's clean clean.

complain a bit abt work.

so pissed with someone i m working with but for sake of bb i dun wan to argue. no point getting worked up right? as long as i do my work, why shd he be bothered how i do it and when i do it? just becos he's going to be away for biz trip he keeps pushing me to finish. the deadline is actually in first week Jan.... keep hinting i never do my work. such pple are control freaks. want to know every little thing that i do....

SY / wendy / durianlover / sleepingdeer
thanks for the advice n concern =) now is better, jus hope tat it would not come back in the afternoon, coz tats wat happen yesterday =(
massaging does not help abit! tried many times n the pain still killing me. the only two ways are either lay down or lean forward against a bed or chair, moving my tummy wt away fr my back... so during work its not possible to do tat.
yesterday after posting my last post my boss was in n he saw im looking quite pale so he said i can leave liao since no work to be done. wah happy! cos he seldom do tat! another reason i know is he wan to smoke in the office!!! >=[ so i quickly pack my bag n get out of there within 5min before i breath in any of those toxic gas!
10pm was on bed le, but toss n turn n only fall alseep ard 11pm... woke up @ 4am to pee n toss n turn til abt 430 then back to sleep... hb sweet dream all the way!

Clare,
Your machine can only take 5.5kg so I advise u to split the washing into 2 cuz it won't wash clean if you overload your machine. First round wash bumper + duvet cover + pillow, second round wash comforter + fitted sheet + bolster. This should be about 5.5kg each. Don't forget weight for washing machines count the wet weight, not dry weight.

Re BOttle
Any bottle also can la. If u got used empty shampoo bottle, wash it clean then can use already lor

Rachel,
I simply lean forward at my desk when I have backache. It helps.

Mashy,
Bumpers are alright to use. Comforters are said to be dangerous because some children wiggle inside the heavy duck feather winter comforters and got suffocated. However, the Aussino ones are so light and small, I don't think they pose any threat here. If worried, keep the comforter and buy waffle blankets with holes for bb for the first few months.

I oso using Kodomo (refill), use empty softener bottle to contain it.....i use about 3 droplets for one pail of water to wash BB clothes (which occupy abt 4 bamboo poles and 1 plastic multi clothes pegs hanger).....yah, agree that it can be quite soapy too.....so try to use less and rinse more. BTW, the scent is sooooo BB.....like smell of any new born...kekekeke

rachel,
good that you got to rest! your boss so funny....

wendy,
i think the aussino one looks quite light too. but dun think i will really use one in the first 2 months. i have this snug wrap that i think i will let him use instead

yvonne,
i love the smell of kodomo too!!! when i was young i got this small travel set as a gift and ever since then i liked the smell a lot...

hello mummies

i oso feel man Zhang nowadays n very emotional as well. i'm staying in Bukit Batok. And my parent's plc near J8.

missy - Wow! so nice, you going ML soon. I feel very stress cos there's still alot of work to do n it seems cant finish.

SY / Yvonne,
I like the kodomo smell also. I use it together witht the kodomo baby softener as final rinse. However, hb don't like the bb smell leh. He say give him headache and make him wanna puke

SY
i know he would not be so kind to let me go off earlier one. he wan to smoke yet im there in the office so he this time round act act n be understanding lo >=p w him for 2 years so know his pattern. anyway my working place r packed w smokers, if not bcoz of me preggie i know for sure they will smoke happily n make the whole place like a temple!!!

Hi Krissie,

Used to live in Serangoon too. Then moved to CCKC aft marriage. My office is nearby too. However, I still attend SFX with my parents either on Sat Evening or Sunday morning. Wanted to have Cephas baptised at St Joseph's Church (Bukit Timah) but the ofc lady did not sound as nice as the one in SFX and so I changed my mind

Hi Yvonne,

Didn't know I was going to pop the next day and so did the pedicure. My nail polish was not cleaned off when I arrived at the delivery suite. In fact, I still have it on

I just went to c my gynae this morning. Given the all clear for my check-up. My stitches have dissolved & my wound has healed. Will go back in 6 weeks time for a pap smear.

<font color="aa00aa">hi Gleneagles mummies...</font>
i've compiled a packing list with 2 ex-colics comments and my SIL comments... for your ref.. i will pack what i highlighted in yellow

can leave me ur email addy if u r interested

sysac,
why is a pap smear needed after birth? good to hear that everything has healed nicely. your progress is really good!

rachel,
hmm, so your pregnancy brings health benefits to your co workers cos they can't smoke so often! but quite nice of them to refrain when u are ard...

Wendy,
i din get the softener. is it necc?

Rena
It's Sunday, 18th. I've transferred the money liao.. this kind of bulk purchase is based on trust both ways. no other choice.

yuenyuen
welcome back.

is it a must to drink DOM durin confinement?

is airport cheaper or medical halls cheaper?

wendy,
hee, i can't remember whether i got buy softner or not...must go back and check.

wendy,
oh no how come ur hb can't stand the smell of kodomo? then next time baby's clothes all smell of kodomo detergent - won't it make him feel like puking?!
i love kodomo smell too!

SY,
forget abt your picky colleague! he's not ur boss after all...just as long as u do ur job dun need to care what they think!

my mum bought me 2 bottles of DOM. Said to drink a little every night (of course to drink after breastfeeding). i dun think it's a must to drink DOM, just that it's a common practice. Think the alcohol supposed to keep your body warm - something like that.

durianlover,
my colleague told me the same thing too. that drinking DOM will keep body warm. so may ask hb to buy from airport (if he remmebers)

sysac,
do you wear long sleeves and long pants all the time? i din buy any and read from other thread that must wear cover up.... but think very hot leh...

Just back from the gynae's. Had to do the CTG twice cos 1st time BB is sleeping and his heartbeat remains constant and low. Was told to go for a walk and half an hour later, BB wake up liao and heartbeat became higher with more peaks. So pretty much normal. BB's head is down but not engaged yet, gynae says even if not induced, natural birth unlikely to happen within 7 days. Cervix still 1 cm dilated only but gynae says vaginal birth should not be a problem given BB's small size and my pelvic size. Will only go under the knife if there are signs of fetal distress during labour. Doc also says he only expects 5 to 6 hours labour for me. How he know right?

So confirmed have to be induced come next Monday. Now is really getting prepared, packing and moving stuff to MIL's place. The thing about induced birth, kind of lose the element of surprise! But whatever that's best for the BB.
So will check into TMC at 10.30pm Monday. Who knows, some of you may be popping that day at TMC too!

Yuen Yuen,
I'll be going back to work after 2 months. My choice entirely. Want to spread out the 3rd month by working 3 days week so can still take care of BB myself for at least half the week and will not miss out too much at work.

I also use the washing machine for the BB's clothes. I think good enough as long as don't use too much detergent and use gentle wash/cycle.
Quite a hassle to hand wash everything.

You know, I'm not worried or scared of the delivery process, afterall, just have to endure hours of pain. I'm more worried about the aftermath where breastfeeding and engorgement kicks in, how to care for newborns etc.

BTW, I live in Sembawang Drive!

Just came back from afternoon shopping with my dad at hougang. Refreshing!!! Been cooped at home whole week, feels good to exercise legs for whole afternoon but VERY HOT OUTSIDE!! Almost melted whenever I walk out of airconditioned shops..

Ivory,
Received the mail liao. Thanks
BTW, next week onwards, you'll be on ML liao right? Who else is available for meetup on weekday afternoons?

SY,
The softerner is pink bottle one. Still trying to find refill pack but cant find yet. Will keep u posted if I can find it.

SY,
yah i also dun intend to cover up all the way...think will be very hot! my MIL says as long as we cover ourselves with blanket when we sleep at night shd be fine. Basic idea is dun let too much wind / air blow to our open pores.

My dad say drinking DOM during confinement can keep system warm and also for general health. As the alcohol content of DOM is quite high, should drink it 2 hrs before breastfeeding so that breastmilk will not be alcoholic.

Re: Long sleeves
I'll probably melt into nothingness if I have to wear long sleeves at home. It sooooo HOT even indoors. I may even be tempted to switch on the aircon in the afternoons during confinement. How to survive this swealtering heat without aircon whole day???

If you're going for natural, don't eat how to tahan long labour and no energy for pushing.. Heard the nurse will ask u go poo poo during your labour one. Even if u do poo poo when pushing bb, no choice also right? So, unless u're confirmed going under GA for c-sect, no reason why they don't allow u to eat and I'll eat more to conserve energy.

hi queen,
wow looks like now u've gotta get all geared up for induction next Mon. All the best! u hv 2 more days left to prepare whatever's needed!
yes i think u shd eat something first so got energy to push mah
or perhaps u can check with ur gynae if u shd eat before going in.

how can your gynae tell whether ur labour process will be long or short?! anyway, do keep us updated after u've popped yah!! Though i guess u'll prob be very busy, but must update us

TMC mummies,
any idea how the bill will be like? I know the prices of the maternity packages, but is there extra costs for BB? What is considered assisted delivery and normal delivery? Dunno whether will charge for induction leh. Also, the package price is for 2 days stay, meaning 1 day for labour and 1 more day of resting only right? So if I check in at night, the labour night considered 1 night? Trying to calculate the expected bill cos I'm still considering whether to go for single bedded. Difference can be significant cos my gynae says I only have to pay 4 bedded prices for 2 bedded room.

Hi Queen,
If u check in at night, its considered 1 night already. They should charge for inducing birth cuz its considered additional medical supplies. Similarly, if you opt for epidural, you'll have to pay extra for the epidural anaesthesia and the anaesthetist fees.

Assisted delivery is if your gynae uses the vacuum or forceps to help your bb out during vaginal birth.

Hi Rachel,

Glad to be a source of encouragement. When your time comes, you will be really brave too

Hi SY,

Dun know why. He just said " Okie, good good, everything's healing well. We'll do a pap smear in 6 weeks time."

During the 1st week, I was wearing 3/4 oants and tees. cannot tahan in long sleeves and long pants becos perspire most of the time. At nite, will change to shorts in the room with the fan on. This week, started a bit on air con.

I wanted to cut my hair b4 I delivered but dDidnt get a chance to becos poped early. If given a choice, I wld want to trim my hair shorter then the length I have now. I think it wld really help. With all the warm soup/warm drinks/pain/lochia flow, it's good to have shorter hair.

I was so tempted to drop by the hair salon when I went for my gynae's visit today. Decided to wait cos didn't make appt.

Sysac,
Someone also gave me the advice to cut hair short short before delivery but I cut mine during my first trimester cuz that time felt really sick and couldn't even stand smell of my shampooed long hair. Kinda miss my long locks now even though it has grown back to shoulder length. However, given the hot weather, I'd probably go cut it again after christmas.

Queen
All the best for the birth on Monday..
u better check with your gynae on the snacks. My gf was given some sandwiches and milo when she was in delivery suite. I think it depends on how soon they expect u to deliver.

sysac
hee hee.. I just cut my hair short, in preparation for my hot confinement.

Hi Wendy/Krissie,

Yep, it's good to have shorter &amp; manageable hair. Mine is shoulder length now. It is manageable but think wld be better shorter. Maybe slightly abv the shoulders.

With me washing everyday, It will be longer soon. Planning to have it cut b4 Cephas 1st mth celebrations. Cut and highlighted. Yeah!