(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi sysac,
A BIG CONGRATS! Baby Cephas is handsome.

Take care and enjoy your motherhood!

Sysac,
Thank U for sharing the birth story, your BB Cephas is sooooo cute (looks like he's got a pair of huge eyes)!! Hope you are recuperating well @ home and seeing BB Cephas really makes me looking forward to seeing my BB Jovan....=)

Pain @ Right Pelvin Area
Mummies, anyone experience this pain.....i had an excruciating pain last nite and i was awoken by it....tot might be BB wanting to come out soon!!! But pain only lasted for abt 10 mins or so....soon after i was knock out again...ZZZZzzzzz.....simply too tired!

After hearing Sysac's story, i think i better get plastic mat and towels ready just in case my water bag break in the middle of the nite! Better to be prepared.....hv half packed my bag liao...getting ready for the "Action"!

SSF
hmm.. ya, maybe you're having pre-natal blues. For me, my blues are the anxiety of not being able to cope with the new bb is our lives, yet wanting to see and hold him so much. So confusing, rite? u don't think so much lah. think happy thots.

Hi Sysac,

Thanks for sharing your prince's picture!
Look so alert, must be a very bright boy in future!

IT's nice that NUH still have the 'candle light' dinner.
And yes, when i took my epidural, it was painless at all. I recalled someone told me the process of having epidural is very painful but i didn't feel any at all. Maybe the contraction pain took it all away.... Ha Ha

Praise God that you and baby are well! Such a happy occasion.

Do take care and share with us more when you are free. But do rest well too.
God Blessed!

Hi SSF,

Maybe you are feeling jitters over the coming birth as well? I was so happy yesterday when hubby came back but my mood changes very fast too. I was at my mum's place and met hubby there. Then i passed hubby MIL's house keys so that he can go fetch the car and come back to fetch us. However he called a while later that MIL haven't had dinner and he's going to have dinner with her before fetching us. It takes only one hour but i was upset by it. MIL wasn't working yesterday, had time to play mahjong but didn't have time to eat dinner. Back in my mind i felt she wasted one hour of OUR time together...... Didn't bring up the issue with hubby cos i know i was being unreasonable. But just couldn't control my emotions - drop a few drop of tears....... I am not usually like that and i get along well with my MIL..... the hormones i guess..........

So after crying and assurance from your hubby, hope you are feeling fine now. Endure another month or so! Jia You!

thks krissie and yuki. i be fine...wasn't so emotional one before. i guess its the baby coming and all the stress coming along. ya will be strong. another mth to go!!!
counting down...

sysa

Thanks for sharing your birth story! Wow, your hb and u were very calm.

Baby Cephas has brown hair! Really look ang moh. To think he's still so small, but his eyes are already so alert!

Congratulations once again!

Hi Krissie,
yah, I read in the Dr. Ho's thread that a recent mummy who gave birth in Oct was not shaved, so probably we also no need to be shaved?

Hi SSF,
*pat pat* hang in there, it can be tough for us now, coz we are both excited and scared at the same time. Hubbies can only share the moments with us, but they cannot feel how we are feeling and dun understand that hormones play a very big part. Me also had a fight with my hubby yesterday, and I felt like I was gonna explode in anger... after a while, ok already
So hang in there!

Yuki,
haha, the moment you mention that your hubby was gonna stay at your MILs for dinner, the VERY SAME thought crossed my mind, 'just come back, and spend time with his mum? Not hurrying back to be with you?' So I think I will react the saem way as you...
But also know that is not reasonable thinking lah, we are just being more sensitive at this time, I think...

sysac,
your baby looks so cute! he looks big for his weight actually. glad to hear that he is responding well to treatment. so did the doc say when he can go home? it must be tough for u to be shuttling back and forth but for our babies, it's all worth it.

SSF,
think it's really prenatal blues. try not to think too much abt it. guys' patience not so long one and i think your hb has been great in reassuring u. sometimes i find myself being too sensitive also but then now that my focus is baby, i will just tell myself to forget it.

sleepingdeer,
can buy the binder from most pharmacies. my fren used this Dale one. cost about $50 bucks (depending on size). think i will get that.

stylobb,
think i will bring my PJs there then. din buy any nursing tops so far so think i better bring my PJs.

krissie,
i also htink i better go and get the mat. i read from another thread they suggest using paper mat. what kind of mat shd we use so that it is absorbent? my mattress weighs 83kg and i dun think i can sun it if i wet it...

yvonne,
i had a bad pain before on my right pelvic region and i think it's the ligament being stretched. it was very very intense pain but it did go away after 10 min. gynae told me not to remain in one position for too long.

yuki,
hope u r feeling better too!

sysac,
congrats!! Cephas looks very cuteeee!!! Hee
And i thought he looks really pink...doesn't seem like he has jaundice at all. Looks bigger than what i expected for his weight too! Hee you must be a very happy mummy right now
How are u coping? Is your wound still painful? Any problems with breastmilk n feeding? Share more yeah!

SSF,
hope u feel better today...sometimes just need a good cry to feel better! Might be prenatal blues like what you mentioned. Dun worry, cheer up n hope u'll feel better in days to come yah!

krissie,
not too sure if it's a practice of Mt A to not shave, or is it a practice of the doctors? Hmm...but for myself i'll trim n shave a bit lah. Since i've been doing that before pregnancy already, so not much of a difference for me to do it now.

Hi SSF,

Indeed the stress and pressure can be unbearable at times. Men can never share the sasme feeling cos they don;t have the same responsibility. We as woman had to carry the child inside us and what ever we feel and eat etc affects the baby. That's a lot of pressure and i sometimes take it out on hubby when there are things that i can;t do or eat
Since man don;t have this responsibilty - theirs would be to really earn money to provide for our family, making sure we eat well......... Different type of stress i guess.

Hi sleeping dear,

Thanks for understanding!
Actually i had dinner with hubby already. Just at that moment, can't understand why can't MIL had her dinner after her mahjong session..........

Hubby's mum is quite emotionally dependent on her children. It's something i have regconised and accept after a few years. She sometimes get hit by loneliness or depression and we had to drop whatever we are doing to accompany her.......... BUt she's easy to please too lah. Bring her out for dinner etc can cheer her up already. Think she just need some company at times....... She works most of the time and have dinner alone cos FIl works late. I guess sometimes she just need some company..........

SY,
wow what kind of mattress is yours? 83kg is really heavy!
can get those kind of mat from Ikea to put under the bedsheet actually. i bought the mat at the children/babies section of Ikea - it's actually meant for baby cot so means it won't be big enuff to cover queen-sized bed. But i guess can put the mat at the side where we sleep shd be sufficient?

FYI,
Ikea cot mat-protector is 30" by 59". Think costs $9.90 or something. Can't really remember. Intend to put it under baby's cotsheet so will prevent mattress from being wet if baby pees.

yes sysac - is cephas on breast milk? how was your experience in breast feeding? u seems to be coping so well. got time to participate in this forum somemore. really appreciate your time in coming in and sharing with us.

Hi Sysa,

Your baby cephas is so cute!!!
Congratulations!

Reading all the birth stories in the Dec and Jan threads is making me quite nervous & emotional... I'm so happy that the pregnancy is almost over and yet so so scared of labour...
I guess all of us are feeling this way now... so this thread is really helpful cos i can really identify with what some of you are going through...

SY,
u had that kind of pain too....tot am the only one having such pain...think prob i was lying on my right side for too long (sometimes you just can't possibly turn too often when in bed and @ the same time sleeping)....my poor HB has been awaken by my "conquering" of more than half of the bed every nite and he can't bear to wake me up to tell me move over....so he's always awaken by me @ around 4am....i feel very bad
coz he's turning into a panda liao
probably now can start to train so when BB Jovan is born he's able to wake up & make BB sleep again....

Tummy Binder
Is the tummy binder that good? is it necessary? If those having C-section, can they still use the tummy binder?

yvonne,
yah, i had those pains in 2nd trimester but they go away very fast. now in 3rd trimester and with bb's head facing down, the pain is worse....

my fren did use the tummy binder and she had c section. think it will help in tightening the tummy after birth...

my hb takes up more than half of the bed! i told him to get his own blanket during confinement. :p

durianlover,
yah i couldn't believe how heavy my mattress is. it's 14 inches thick. cos hb's back not good so he wanted to spend more to buy a better mattress...so better protect it!

tabbiesus,
think my hb also nervous liao. everytime i mention the word pain, he jumps. but other than that, he not nervous abt geting things ready!

hi sysa,
bb cephas is really handsome! and like most mummies commented, he looks very full term to me! doesn't look small at all. congratz and take care once again!

hi SY,
thanks for the info, do you know your friend got the Dale binder from which Pharmacy?

Yuki,
yah, it can be tough when they are emotionally dependent on their children, coz no matter what, their grown up children also have their own family who needs them now... sometimes we also feel that they are so old already, just let it be...

Durianlover,
will the mat be too hot for bb if we put it under the cot sheet? I know which one you talking about, the transparent one which has a slightly rough surface, right?

I was thinking of 'borrowing' bb's waterproof bath mat to place under my bedsheet, the one that Mt A gave us during the first talk on nutrition?

sleepingdeer,
she got it from the KKH pharmacy. i also saw it there but haven't buy yet.

if u wan, i can help u buy at my next visit. can pass to u at somerset/city hall mrt

sy,
so funny, ur HB is opp of mine....actually my HB oso said to use anor comforter so we will not need to "fight" for our comforter in the middle of the nite...hahahaaaa

I was packing my bag last nite and HB was commenting that the knitted top that i am wearing home when discharge is small, coz tummy will still be there loh....my heart pain when he mention that....am FAT!!! think better to get the tummy binder liao....how soon are we advisable to use this binder?

sleepingdeer,
i oso will be borrowing BB's waterproof bath mat to use first... =)

Sysa - i agreed with the rest of the gals that bb cephas look great and ang mo...

reading ur story made me wonder if i should go for epidural or wat...

if we are gg for massage after birth, do you think we still need the binder?

sleepingdeer,
The Ikea one i got not really transparent...it's more like white/creamish colour. Not sure if it'll be hot to put under baby's cotsheet but my fren recommended it to me. She said it's gd leh. i think that the waterproof bath mat is hotter than the Ikea one if u were to put it under your own bedsheet coz it's thicker and more waterproof - but it's really up to u
i mean, considering if waterbag really burst it may flood the whole bed! So more waterproof may be better!

yvonne,
think can use immediately. my fren who did c-section used very soon after that so if natural think can use very soon. the nurses will be able to advise us.

i think we cannot run away from HB's comments one...my HB everytime keep saying my butt very big and he said my butt bigger than my stomach!! next time your hb say that again u tell him that you cannot fit your clothes next time and need to buy new clothes before going back to work so he must help to sponsor..
i made hb promise me a shopping trip before i go back to work since i m unlikely to fit into all my bottms.

pochacco,
think shd still put the binder straight after birth cos we can't start the massage so soon. and i think some massage also require u to bind.

Wow! tis thread is really moving fast. Cant really catch up liao lor. aiyo! i still havent pack my bag. (very gan cheong) yesterday wanted to pack back but was too tired(busy working the whole day)

Sysac - Thanks for sharing your birth story. Yo! Your baby Cephas so cute
And u are really brave.

ok, i got to clear my paper work liao, chat with u gals later.

SY,
YUP, think i beta check with the nurse about the binder, am due for my detail scan this Friday so beta check soon and oso do the pre-registration @ NUH liao....

Ur HB so funny...my HB has been hitting my butt and always say that butt is big and tight, like very toned....dunno whether he's just saying it to make me feel better that butt is toned....duh....

My tummy is feeling very tight today....like gonna "burst" liao!!
and BB is kicking and dancing and "scratching" me the whole morning....oh, really miss all this action when he's out man!!

Sysac,
I know many have already said this but YES BABY CEPHAS is soooooo cute n looks big n healthy for his weight!!!
kao_love.gif
I teared when i read your post n see his pic... the feeling is like "so this little one has been inside the tummy all along..." Think i will cry too when i see my Baby Ashley...

Yeah REST WELL n we've got lots to catch up... can't wait to hear your Part 2! GOD BLESS!!!

Sysa

wat a handsome boy u have!!! he looks a bit eurasian wf his hair though...hee... sweet little prince...

Tops for hospital stay - din manage to buy those button front. but got 3 BIG tops at Carrefour yesterday that looks like those nursing tops tat En Vogue is selling, stretchable... and its oni $5 each..
got another 2 pairs of 3/4 sports pants too, looser ones.. cos alittle worried tat those sports/yoga pants will b a little tite on the 'V' area aft the stitching...

Not all cases that when water bag burst, water will gush out. For me, the first time was like peeing after that just a few drops there and then. A maternity pad is sufficient.

My friend on the other hand, need to place towel underneath her seat cos she really has lots of water.........

yvonne,
my tummy usually feels very tight at night and the bursting feeling can be quite uncomfortable. feel so conflicting. at the same time want bb to come out so that can see him but also dun wan him to come out so soon cos will miss his antics inside so much....

hi SY
yah, we are definitely feeling contradictory nowadays.....hv been talking "no sense" oso....sometimes can't even get a sentence rite....prob subconsciously our brain is thinking abt something else but we said anor thing....weird leh....

Sysac - wow! ur boy boy looks really bright n healthy! some more any a few days old already know how to smile @ u!!

BB has shld wonderful power to cheer us up jus by looking @ them =)

SSF - relax ur mind. cry when u wan to bocz it is oso a way of releasing stress. but cheer up!!! so ur bb will be happy too =D share w us anything tat can make u relax ok?

mummies - think like wat other mummies had mentioned, must get ready the protector n towel n place them under us for the rest of the coming nites. its any time now... talking abt our HBs, mine is getting excited after i told him sysac's birth story (@ least let him know wat is going to happen). nowadays on bed whenever i make a sound or touch him he wil quicking lean over n ask me wat is it. think our HB is oso getting nervous liao bah haha

SY
I already have an existing plastic mat which I used to use for menses. You can buy from Kids Mall. I saw it that day. I'm sure other places wld sell it too. Don't think the paper mat is sufficient for us. Coz, it for bbs and they wear diapers. For us, we're not wearing anything mah. Unless u wear pad every night?

Yvonne
Actually, it's more impt for those with C-section to use the binder as compared to natural birth. It supports the wound and when you cough/move, it's not that painful.

Yuki
Ya, my colleague waterbag was a little at first, then became a lot. So, I've put an old towel in my car to standby. ;) Was just wondering, then when we go hosp, our entire pants / dress wld be wet. So embarassing. Is it like that?

yvonne,
my mind cannot conc on anything except bb... really bad hor.

rachel, krissie,
think i will go and get the protective mat. better start putting....

Krissie,
O i c, binder is more effective for those who had c-section....whoa...may check with the nurse 1st lah....i oso dun want to hv flabby tummy...it's an ugly sight! yucks! Thanks for highlighting.

SY,
Not only the brain can't synchronise thinking and what we want to say, i realise these days am getting clumpsy and forgetful too.... =(

sysac,
notice that Cephas look rather pinkish and contented. very handsome! it's really very exciting.

SY, I didn't know that burning sensation is heartburn. now that the tummy is really high, don't even know where is the stomach now. haha!

Been very busy with work and trying to start to hand over my stuff to a colleague. boss going on leave so rushing to clear stuff with him. busy like a bee! Really look forward to giving birth and having the maternity leave. ya, I am getting clumsy and forgetful as well.

Hubby also very gan cheong after I shared that sysac has given birth. just the other day, he rushed into the bedroom and tripped over the leg of a table and was very much in pain when I shout very loudly for him. actually, I just want to complain to him that I bought the wrong batteries. I think must really be careful when we call our hubby, some are just very kan cheong! any shout for them may generate some commotion. hee!

mongs,
haha yah lo. nowadays when calling out for HB cannot like in the past liao. they reacted differently n faster than in the past. my hb keep reminding me to pack my bag quickly n im the one keep dragging =p

after seeing Cephas photo... now has been wandering how my boy will look like too!

Yvonne,
yes there's this new kids/babies/maternity section at Suntec, somewhere above Carrefour there. i've been there a few times before. Happy shopping!

mongs,
yah i'm also v clumsy n forgetful now. haha your poor hubby...tripped coz of some batteries! And yes i agree with u that cannot anyhow shout for hubby nowadays! every little comment or sound i make he'll be worried n keep asking me if i'm ok!

Hi Krissie,

Mine was a little only. After i wear a pad, it's ok. My pants weren't wet or anything. If you are conscious, maybe it helps to wear black?

It always amaze me how the birth always happen at home? I also always wonder what happen if our waterbag burst during an MRT ride etc.... but so far never heard of such cases????

yuki,
wat i read fr books is even if our water bags broke it normally happen when we r in bed. dunno wats the reason behind it. but so far never heard of mummies water bag broke in public.

rachel & yuki,
yes i read that when you're sitting or standing up, baby's head kind of blocks opening for the flow of water so it doesn't gush out or flood the whole place! Whereas when we're lying down, the head doesn't 'plug' the hole so that's why higher tendency to flood or have really heavy flow of water. So i guess we shdn't be too worried that we'll flood ourselves in public places!

yvonne,
the new maternity section at suntec very nice.

mongs, your hb must be really gan cheong!! yah cannot any how call. after i told hb he must pick up my phone call, he is more dilligent in picking up my calls. now will even bother to call back. think he getting excited liao...

mongs,
if your heartburn is bad, try sleeping on more pillows. if u lie flat, it tends to worsen. i take antacids if it's really bad.

yah my colleague now keep asking me dun give birth so early cos too much work for the dept to cope!!

Yah imagine u've got no seat n standing in MRT n suddenly water start trickling down your legs... oh my... Anyway I reminded myself to put a pad in my handbag where ever i go liao JUST IN CASE... = P

Sysac,
Me just email Baby Cephas picture to HB n he too says very cute n healthy for a 2+kg baby... n he asked if I'm ready to give birth now that I see Baby Cephas... hee hee.. told him i'd still prefer my Baby come out after my aunt's, who's EDD is 1 week earlier than mine on 27 Dec but doc say her baby already 3+kg so can come out anytime also.... so exciting!!

seems like most of us here & our HBs are looking forward to see our little ones.....even my HB commented that BB Cephas is soooo cute and so rosy!

So mummies, are u ready!!??

Durianlover/SY
So the new shops all open already....will go & take a look tonite =)

welcome sophia! when's your EDD? are u expecting a girl or boy?

yuki,
ur waterbag burst when u're sitting down - so it didn't totally flood the sofa right? just a trickle? lying down on bed more likely to flood the whole place!

Sophia,
Welcome! Which hospital are u going and who is ur Gynae?

Yuki,
Whoa steady leh....just trickle, think we better sleep in a reclining position....to save the trouble of ruining the mattress =)

Durianlover,
Think the part u read abt BB blocking the opening....think it does make sense....if not, on a safer side we can follow Clare just hv a pad in our handbags....just in case....