(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel,
i also thot of shaving everything off cleaner for wound maybe but when growing back time will be itchy right?? plus we have our wound Sigh... so mao dun...

rachel,
sorry forgot to mention. bill amt is based on 1 bedded. 4 bedded hb not allowed to stay.

SSF,
hope that it is not something big that is bothering your hb! i think it is very hard to get guys to open up. dun think too much abt it. u will know when the time comes.

casey,
only tummy will have feeling right? i keep feeling like tummy ache these 2 days. and sometimes my tummy will contract quite hard. but last very short. like a few seconds and it's over. is that BH?

SSF,
try not to be too worried. my fren's hb also got cold feet before birth of bb and became very quiet. just got to pray that once the anxiety is over, he will be back to usual self.

SSF, Clare-
confirm need mirror! tummy blocking my view, now cant even c my toe when standing woh. the last time hving such a difficuilt time trimming my toe nail
dun dare to ask my hb trim my toe nail oso, scare he will poke my flesh!
i think will only shave everything off when preparing to go hospital on tat BIG day haha... Clare, yah u remind me abt the hair growing back... might be poking... wat i heard is tat the hospital will give us a washing solution for our wound n abt 1 week time our wound will heal... so think will not be a big problem bah?

SSF: nurse will most probably shave if u are undergoing C-section. Nurse did not shave mine last time.

Sysac: congratulations and take care!

Usually hospital has FM in ready to feed form, no need to bring.

SY - i think urs probably is BH... but jus monitor closely...

frm wat i know, mt A provide the formula milk but brand depends as they depend on the sponsor of the period. so brand cannot be confirm but we can alway request for certain brand to be given to bb...

i also tot of shaving off the hair but scared later grow back will be itchy... even tot of brazilian wax - but really scared of the pain... got any other good method???

Clare,

thanks for getting the tea for me... its alrite that i din get to secure a pack of nursing tea... no prob. just as appreciative for the raspberry tea

can you mail the tea to me, i will tsf the $ ( wf the postage fee ) to you cos i wont b available on wed ( company's xmas function ) and thurs ( gynae's appt )... busy busy...will pm you my adress..

Hospital bag : haha... thot im the only one left not packing, so it seems like quite a few of us
HB been pushing me everyday to pack, tell me to get my PJ and not b choosy over the 'transparency' of the material blah blah.. mabbie get 1 on standby first later... seeing tat sysa has popped reali makes me kan cheong abit...

Baby's laundry - managed to wash the mittens/booties and hankies/bibs... but wf these little small items aldy a BIG strain for me... couldnt continue washing ... hav to work even harder now, plus the rainy weather nowadays...haiz..

re: shaving
i heard from a fren who went to the prenatal class at gleneagles with her sis who's giving birth there. she say the nurse say must shave ourselves even if we are going for natural.

these kind of things must check with nurse or they will tell us?

anyone knows whether KKH will provide the FM and whether i can specify the brand?

pochacco,
my doc did tell me to expect BH. but just dunno how it will feel like!

God's Child,
U can PM / SMS me your address n i'll let u know once i mail it out. = )

Baby Laundry:
Me just washed my 2 PJ, 2 Nursing Bra + BB's mittens n bootees and i'm all tired liao... think will leave the rest of the BB clothes + towels, hankies etc till weekend... = P

Mummies - yo! see you gals here pack liao now i very gan cheong. i havent wash/pack bag. (now busy with my brother's wedding)gynae say if bb too big i may have to go for c section liao n will have early delivery. (i think its 70% c section)

Tonite, i must try to pack liao.

Missy - Ya! Dont think too much. Sit now n have a word with your hubby. (Tell your hubby that u see him not happy u oso dont feel happy n it will affect the bb, tell him that you are willing to share his worries) Since both of u finance is gd then that shouldnt be a problem. Dont worry/think too much ok.

MH - u mean will not need to shave if c-sect right? coz thats what i understand only normal delivery need to. c-sect as its a op don;t need.

pochacco - my hubby also ask me to do brazilian wax..but cannot la..if we do so i think the baby will be out also.. too painful and not the best time to do this. hahaa

thks confused. will try not to let my thots wander. yeah told him liao..u sad, i sad wait baby come out also face sad. so he said he be fine when he is fine. will see how it goes. sigh. so envy all ur hubby all normal.

Err... figured all of u already had lunch.. need to do a poll here on something gross sorry :
When finished doin big business do u ladies wipe from the front or back?

Reason i ask i because i have all along been wiping from the front but HB's from the back... n he insist he read somewhere that Front is wrong, esp for ladies coz it might bring bacteria to our vagina. But i find wiping from the back so hard... n may even get hand dirty...

Was wondering if I'm the only one doin it wrongly? Important to know coz i have to teach my daughter next time leh... = P

SY,
i think i will ask my gynae wheather need to shave during this friday visit. must remind myself to write down a list of question to ask her, cos everytime forget to ask this n tat for the past visit. will keep u posted, since we both @ KKH =)

Pochacco/SSF,
Yah Brazillian wax sounds so painful... I always thot maybe next time hosp may provide B-wax service when mothers are giving birth coz since mother already on someform of pain killer so shouldn;t be too painful = P

clare, ur hb is rit! indeed wiping fr back to front will bring bacteria to our vagina. in the past im oso used to wipe fr back to front (easier mah). but since w bb i hv change this hibit, dun wan to hv any problem w any infection or wat ever (touch wood!) although @ this stage w our tummy so big this action wiping fr front to back is difficult but no choice lo.

rachel - u dare to ask ur gynae? is it a she? i dun dare to ask mine. he seems very serious type. i think he will faint if i ask him. haha..

Clare- i wipe from front to back. tats the right way. coz back is always dirtier than front.

Sy: I c, I delivered at Mt A, maybe different hospital different policy..

sy: BH is like stiffening of the stomach...whole stomach like very hard...

Hi Clare,

YOur hubby is right. That's what i learn in antenatal classes too. It is very important especially for girls cos our organs is 'internal', easier to get infection as compared to guys. When you wipe from back to front, some 'particles' may get stuck between our viginal, thus a source of infection of not wipe clean. So always must clean from front to back. (ie from the vaginal towards the buttocks.)

HI all,
Thanks for replying to my gross poll... sigh guess i have to conciously tell myself to do that from now onwards... have been wiping from back to front since i first know how to do it 20over years ago...

had jus checked w one of my fren who had given birth 3 times whether we need to shave off all our private hair n her answer is YES!
she said for natural the nurse will shave off all hair, but for c section only the top portion tat will be near the cut (reason: to avoid any hair to come in contact w the wound when they do the sewing).
i asked her whether can shave by ourselves coz pei seh to let other ppl shave but she say better let the nurse do it cos wil be safer n after shaving we will feel vy funny @ the bottom =p

SY,
yeap, the contraction is for the tummy only. If the contractions are short, there is nothing to worry about.

Clare,
As for doing big business, I wipe both ways. As I am used to wiping from back to front, I am still doing so even though my tummy is so big now. But after that, I will squat, put my hand behind my back and wipe front to back. That will make sure i clean up properly!

SSF
Ur hb so 'mysterious' siak.... just leave him alone for now...

My hb, on the other hand, is so excited.... says he looks forward to having the two girls...

clare
Urmmm....yah wipe from front to back...

SY
Yah, think they will shave....

ya pai seh but no choice..anyway it is never a pretty sight. really admire those nurses' job. A SALUTE to them man!!!

Re: Shaving
hmmm, I think it depends on your gynae as well, some gynaes prefer to shave, while others dun see the need... maybe can check with the nurses at the gynae office? Coz I read that my gynae doesn't ask us to be shaved...

Clare, haha =p u oso so cute ah. maybe jus let the nurse do the job for us lo. anyway it will be a tough job for us to use the mirror as a guide to trim our hair oso =p hving our tummy in the way

SSF, err... yah agreed w u hahaha =p. their job is really something

Re: shaving
at Mt A antenatal class the lady said no need to shave leh...she also said that doctors are ok with us not shaving nowadays coz they are quite skilfull in stitching up so shdn't be a problem of hair getting stuck. Hmmm seems like different pple hv different views!

clare,
must wipe from front to back. for those books that teaches us to take care of bbies, they also say for bb gals must wipe from front to back. so that less chance of infection.

SSF,
dun think too much. look forward to your bb's birth.

casey,
think it's BH. yah it's short so i dun worry abt it. but sometimes i find it hard to differentiate whether it is baby moving agst my tummy or contractions...

re shaving
think i will check with the nurse. also quite hard to shave ourselves with our tummy in front now...

Thanks for all the well wishes. Baby Cephas was too eager to come out. I keep commenting that he's a greedy little boy. Wants to see and celebrate X'mas and so decided to pop in early.

Birth Story:

I fell asleep at abt 1am on Fri morning. Felt a bit tight on the left side of tummy and so turned to my right. When I turned, I felt something tug and water started to gush out. I quickly stood up on the side of my bed as I thot I had lost control of my pee. The water just flowed continuously. I called out to my HB and told him :"I think my water bag broke." He got all the towels and wrapped around me while I made my way to the loo. It was 2am!

In the shower area, the water continued to gush and so I told HB to quickly call the NUH hotline. I had just done my pre-admission paperwork on Monday and so everything was in my hospital bag. At that moment, I had pinkish discharge and so I knew it was the water bag that had burst.

Hotline nurse told us to admit. I wore a maternity pad as I still had pinkish discharge. Threw some extra things into the hospital bag and left home. Reached hospital and was admitted to delivery suite at 3am.

Contractions came on abt 1/2 hr after that. It was bearable. However, as my water bag had already broken, my labour had to be induced. By 6 am plus, I was using the gas mask. I had dilated 2cm when my gynae saw me at 7.30am. By 9am plus, I had Pendadine injected into my thigh as the my contractions were coming in every 2 mins.

At 11am plus, I had dilated 5cm. By then, the pain was continuous and I was encouraged to take Epidural. I was considering and then decided to give in as I did not want to continue to suffer the pain for another few hours.

At the same time, I was being given antibiotics into my drip as a precautionary measure against baby getting an infection because the water bag had already broken. When the last dosage was given to me, I had already dilated 10cm and was ready to push! Bear in mind, I have an allergy to Antibiotics and so they had to dilute the dosage into 4 dosages and given to me in a span of 10 mins for each dosage.

I pushed for 45 mins until gynae decided to step in and decide that it wld be safer for baby to come out earlier. I had an episotomy on top of the oushing and baby was vacuumed assisted out at 1439hrs on 2 Dec.

Part II another day!

Hi Sysac,

So exciting! Thanks for sharing!

How are you now? What's your feeling like the first moment you set your eyes on your baby?

You are very brave to endure till you dilated 5 cm! I asked for Epidural when i had diliated only 2cm cos i reckon it's a long wait to dilate till 10cm! Bravo you!

Meanwhile have a good rest before baby is discharged. By then you need all your time to nurse and take care of him. God Bless!

Got a call from hubby. He's at the airport now. So happy!

sysac,
so nice to hear from you! hope you are feeling good and well rested

how's baby cephas?

you and your hubby sounded very calm. the good thing is that all your paperwork is done and bag is packed.

was it very painful? sounds like quite a long process but i think you r very brave! any reason why water bag burst so early?

yuki,
can sense your elation at hb coming back!!

sysac,
rest well! happy to know u n bb Cephas is doing fine!!
excited to hear part two of ur birth story. u r really brave n calm. =)

HI Sysac...
Wow wat an eventful night... glad to know both of you are fine... do rest well coz we've got plenty of questions to ask later!!

So busy at work. But posts really flying! Yah loh, very exciting to hear that Sysa popped already. Feeling of anticipation really getting very strong now.

I already packed my bag:
2 nursing tops
2 yoga pants
1 pack of Night Safe Pads
3 nursing bras (1 to wear home in)
1 pack of disposable panties (5 per pack)
3 breast pads
Facial Foam / hair brush
Contact lenses solution and case
Toothbrush & toothpaste
Shower gel
1 face towel
Top to wear home (will wears jeans to hospital)
Avent Manual Pump

Re. shaving of hair
I think the nurses are used to it lah. At the time when we are dealing with the pain and anxiety, the last thing we will worry about is the shaving!

Last night again woken up by sharp pain in lower abdomen and pressure in the pelvic/rectum area. Think most of us are beginning to feel the same. BB moving low.

Clare,
when doing big one, I always wipe right at the anus and surrounding. Never swipe from front to back or vice versa. Only after I ensure that the tissue comes out clean from the anus then wipe from front to back to clear any remnants of urine (cos will also urine after shitting). Now got tummy still can reach behind and wipe mah. ut tilt up one side of the backside a bit.

queen,
you very fast. need to pack nursing tops? i tot can just wear the PJ that hospital give...
is 1 pack of disposable panties enough? will we need to change often?

styloBB,
how does the tummy binder work? Is it useful?

SY,
Yah loh. No PJs for me cos no habit of wearing them and don't want to buy just for the hospital stay. I also dunno 5 disposable panties enough or not leh. Ok. Think safer to bring another pack.

sysac,
thanks for sharing with us your birth story! and yes, like what clare said, i think we all hv a lot of qns to ask u! But meanwhile, do take care n rest well before baby comes home. When will Cephas be home?

SY,
thanks for the reminder abt disposable panties...come to think of it, 1 pack of 5 panties like not enough. Heard from many pple that need to change pad quite often...so when change pad will need to change panties too. Think i better bring 1 more pack then!

queen,
i also got 2 nursing tops but really not sure if i'll be able to wear them right after delivery coz tummy will still be there! Hmm really hope so!

queen
Think I mentioned here before, it helps hold our tummy together as it'll be loose after delivery. I wore it the last time and found it useful. FYI.

SY
I rembr the 'gown' I wore at the hosp had no front buttons, I wore my own top with buttons so that it's easier when it comes to b/feeding.

Hi Yuki,

I am feeling good. I was overwhelmed to see baby & hear him cry that I also cried. Was relieved to know that he was fine. I think you shd be delivering at NUH too? Well, just to let you know, they are still having the complimentary celebration dinner for the parents of new-borns. We had one on Sat night. It was a nice gesture by the hospital.

Hi SY,

Thanks. Baby Cephas is having jaundice at the moment. However, he is responding well to the treatment. We shd be able to bring him home today. His jaundice count as of last night was low. He was under photo treatment off and on for 24 hours. The nurse said he was doing really well when I went to feed him last night.

Hi MH,

Yep, Pethidine didn't work for me towards the end as my contractions were by the minute and magnified at least 5 times fomr when I first started out. This was becos my labour was being induced. After going throught the pain, I wld encourage Epidural if threhold for pain is low. It really helped towards the end just before I started pushing. With Epi, I cld still feel the intense pain. The Anesthetist did a good job. The whole Epidural episode was painless and he was patient, going thru step by step with me.

Hi Rachel/Clare/Durianlover,

Thanks fr the well wishes too!
Dun worry, everyone will be calm when its time. Do not worry too much. Everything will fall in place. Just focus on seeing your baby afer so many months. It is truly an overwhelming experience.

Part II of my story will come later. Going to pump milk nw

Hi Morning mummies,

Sysac,
thanks for sharing your birth story, so exciting!
Bb Cephas is so cute, he looks a little like a ang mo bb! And he looks chubby for his weight!
Take care and rest well, it is good news that his jaundice is low, soon, will be able to go home with you!

SY,
the hospital I'm delivering in (Mt. A) say they dun supply PJs, so we have to bring our own

Durianlover/SY,
I bringing 2 packs of disposable panties...

where can we buy tummy binder?

SSF
don't worry so much, ok... most impt is mummy must be happy.

clare
we must wipe from front to back to prevent the germs from going into the vagina. even the antenatal class also taught this for cleaning bb gals.

Durianlover
So, for Mt. A, we don't need to shave hor? I'm delivering at Mt. A too. But, I'll just trim a bit, coz it'll be neater. It's the same for all docs?

Sleepingdeer
So, we no need to shave, is it?

sysac
Thanks so much for sharing... hmm.. I think I better start sleeping with the plastic mat on my bed, just in case. Just reading your post makes me so excited. I'm really starting to get nervous. And your Cephas looks very strong & healthy. So cute.

Sysac - thks for sharing your delivery story and your precious baby pic. he is so cute and yes he look pretty grown up already. so who does he resembles? mummy or daddy? your delivery seems to be very smooth..so well done. give yourself a pat on your shoulders!

all - yesterday i cannot endure and begin sobbing again. and my hubby keep saying he is not hiding anythg from me. i think i may be having prenatal blues. do u think so? today my eyes a bit puffy but still alright..in office already. no worry i be fine. after a good cry yesterday i felt much much better. cephas's pic cheer me up too!