(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

stylobb,
my cousin is a GP so may go to him sometimes instead of PD all the time.

u have any PD to recommend?

i can imagine how tough it is for u to be carrying 2! me and my sis very small one so my mum din have such a hard time.

my hb only remembers to go back. but he will forget things like call his mum so sometimes i still have to remind him.

tabbiesus,
i dun think most CL will force u to do traditional stuff. in fact, my colleague's CL encouraged her to bathe. her mum is the one who ask her not to. so the CL will boil the herbs and prepare the water for bathing.

rena,
how come your MIL doesn't know how to tell SIL?

durianlover,
will definitely let u know where got cheap & good nursing bras....but frankly speaking, i dun really like the ah-soh kind of nursing bras....would rather stick to my usual kind of bras.....sianzzzz

Think u hv a big BB too?? i too think mine is big....coz my HB quite big size too....or maybe BB's bone structure are big....tummy sooooo tight!! BB like can anytime "pop" out....Does big tummy amount to big BB?? any logic? My HB scare BB is big and might need C-section (he encourage me to go for C-section, but i insist on natural!!) unless BB is in breech position...damn, how come all men think C-section is the best solution! sometime they just dun get it lah i guess.. =(

Durianlover,
actually I am quite happy that my baby is bigger coz then she will be easier to look after. also, that will means that most of what I eat goes to her. the only thing I am worried about is that the head is too big for me to deliver naturally. my bb is head-down already and I really want a natural delivery.

stylobb,
heehee, I really want to stay home to look after my gal. maybe I am too naive but I feel that I will be able to do a good job and I will enjoy it. maybe after 3 months, I may think otherwise. hee! I know sign language and am prepared to start teaching her to sign to communicate better, then I have made a lot of flash cards following glenn doman method. done a lot of reading about parenting and done a lot of observation on my nephews, niece, in-laws behaviour. think we should be quite prepared to enjoy our parenthood. haha!

For those using flash cards, just to share that my neighbour uses it on her son since 3 months old and she diligently flash without fail twice a day. By the time her son is 2 years old, he can read all 26 alphabets, arrange them accordingly and read a few words eg. car, train, etc without seeing the pictures. He can even read some simple chinese character like PaPa, MaMa, Huo Che (Train), Qiu (ball).......

I am impressed but seriously need to put in alot of effort. My neighbour did it without fail......

Hi babylon,

You can try www.confinement.com.sg. It is Natal Essential like what Tabbieus mentioned.

The food is not cheap thou. For a full 28 days, it's $1388 or something. Add another few more hundred, more cost effective to get a CL who can also help to look after baby and do some simple housework etc........

yvonne,
dun think that big tummy = big baby. At least not all the time! i've had frenz who had big tummy but baby turned out small leh!
yeah my hubby also big-sized, maybe that's why bb is big. And am also wondering if it's possible to continue using my normal bras too instead of the nursing bras! Well, shall see how...

mongs,
yeah i also want a natural delivery that's why a bit concerned baby too big! but u're right, at least it means that whatever i eat goes to her

how do you make your own flash cards? Care to share what exactly are these flash cards like?

I bought the book "how to teach your baby to read" and I start from there. it's really a good big to read. was so motivated after I read the book. basically what u do is to use big cards, 4" x 24" and use red markers to write on the cards. the words have to be very big (3") and the thickness of the words should be 3/4". I bought copic markers from Art Friend. u will need min 200 words to start with. u will show 5 words per time, very fast about 1-2 sec per card. show 3 times per day if you are SAHM, if not 1-2 times per day. show each card 15 times only. avoid repeating. a lot of mothers are very tempted to show again but kids learn very fast and they get bored. so if you show 3 times per day, u show each word for 5 days before you change the words. u can do it for chinese and maths as well. U can also buy them but the original set cost a few thousands.
there are other methods as well such as shichida.
I attached some website below.
http://www.brainy-child.com/article/braindevcenter.html
http://www.yesphonics.com/BabyGeniusProgram.htm
http://www.gentlerevolution.com/index2.html

u can also read some of the forum threads we have in singapore. do a search. it's pretty interesting.

hope the mummies have fun doing the cards.

mongs,
thanks. think will start doing it over weekend. so using the book 'how to teach your baby to read' is good enough to guide me to do the cards?

confused,
yah, i email my gynae. i dun have his number though. he ask me to just call KKH if anything and they can check with him. so usually i just use email.

Rena
Of course best is someone from family looks after, if cannot, then gotta explore other alternatives: send to infant care, get a nanny, get a maid and send the maid/bb over to mil's.

Maybe ask ur mil to suggest that maybe sil can send her kid to playgroup or something?

SY
My pd has closed her clinic near my place and set up new place at Robertson Quay. If u are interested, I can email u the contact.

mongs
I like ur attitude. Last time I was on ML and could not wait to get back to work... hehe....

rena,
then it's really up to your MIL already lor. if she really wants to take care of her first grandson, she got to let your SIL know.

who will look after your boy in this case?

stylobb,
maybe can email me the contact.

So much to catch up this week. Had a bad morning in ofc. Got fed up and so applied afternoon leave. Went Holland Village to shop a bit and pamper myself with a pedicure!

I think it's pregnancy hormonal imbalance that making me feel emotional today. I just got so pissed with everyone who crossed my path esp this male colleague! Had to take leave b4 I murder him :p

HB picked me up and told me "No big deal." after my complaints. I got pissed and cried. Cannot stand it that I am so sensitive! So I told him "U go do your work and leave me to shop and do pedicure."

Men just don't get it! Usually, I wld just speak my rights. Today, I kept quiet after his comment and told him to leave me alone. I think he knows I am really pissed with the "No big deal" comment. But then, I have a right to my tantrums!

I feel a whole lot better now. But then, got to go back to ofc tomorrow! The thought is driving me nuts again! :p

SY,

I am not sure.. infant care is too expensive.. the one in our area cost 1000 dollars after subsidise. As for employing maid, now a days I dun think its a good idea to leave the maid and the child alone..In this case I rather stay at home and look after him myself.. I never know what will the maid do to my child right..

Stess..

StyloBB, so who will look after your kid?

rena
the one in your area so ex? i know some of them after subsidy can be just 500-600.

actually i m getting a maid to look after my boy when i go back to work. no choice cos stay too far from in laws and my parents. got to really observe her when i m on ML.

you are not working now right? so you will be staying at home for some time to look after your boy?

sysac,
hope u r feeling better after the pampering...hee i also will tell my hb not to disturb me when i m pissed with him.

ofc too much work or just the pple u work with?

SY,

Yah .. unless the sub urban area then its cheaper.. I am not working now but I may want to start working two or three months after delivering..

As for maid.. very scary leh.. I have heard many stories and have encounter 1 case my self.. so .. It will be out of the question.. as for nanny.. we shalll see if we can find.. any

Hi SY,

Yep. Feel so much better.

I planned out my work to be done until 16 Dec. Am keepg the last 2 weeks of Dec to do all misc work or in case of early bith. I do not want to keep anything outstanding. In this way, whoever is covering me will start out fresh.

I have this male colleague who bugs me for every little detail. Tell him the proper way to do things and he will go and do the opposite. He made a mess of things recently. Quite serious. Another colleague & I helped him out so that he will not get the sack. Nad he is still doing the same old things that got him into trouble in the first place.

That's y i got pissed. Becos he is really not worth helping! Decided to take pm leave. Told my boss I was not well and wanted to go home and rest. Let the colleague handle his own mess.

Mongs,
The book "How to teach your baby to read" sounds interesting. May i know who is the Author n how much does it cost actually?

Hello Clare,

the author is Glenn Doman and Janet Doman and it costs around i think 30-40 bucks. there is another book call "how to multiply your baby intelligence" and it includes reading, maths and teaching encyclopedia knowledge. it costs about 30 plus. that is a summary of the 3 books that glenn doman wrote on reading, maths and encyclopedia knowledge. I bought that one as well. I didn't buy the rest maths and others because he is repeating himself in some of the chapters. I wanted to borrow from the library to read first before buying but the waitlist was so long. I think I was 60+ on the list so decided to just buy it. it's pretty worth it. treat it as a investment. but the thing is that you must really be prepare and happy to do this else your child is going to feel it and he/she won't enjoy the learning process as well. I bought it at borders.

Rena
My maid is coming soon... the current arrangement is mum or mil wl be over to my place... anyway this may change in the future. For my case, no choice, cos with twins + one toddler, also dun want my mum to end up tired. My parents are already helping me all this while. Mil has also been helping us quite a bit during this last stage of my pregnancy by fetching my boi back nearly every evening.... while I am so 'immobile'.

SY
OK, later I email, remind me if I forget, cos me going to see gynae today.

Gooood morning everyone!
Another week has passed so quickly! Seems like everyone has started counting down liao. So exciting! Wonder who will be the 1st here to pop??

Celine,
Enjoy ur photoshoot with YK today. Have fun....yah!

my colleague whose due date is around 27 dec is going to pop anytime. she is feeling the contractions on and off. her gynae said that her cervix is soft already. she is still working but she is moving slowly around. she is only around 36 weeks this week. hopefully bb can wait for another 1 week or 2. so anxious when I see that.

morning mummmies!!
so happy it's fri cos tmr seeing bb. miss seeing him already.

think my MS coming back. this week already puked 2 times in the morning..sigh. hope not too often cos i just hate that feeling.

sysac,
yah, some colleagues can be irritating. dun get too upset over him. certainly not worth it!!

borders having sale so it's a good time to buy the books. think i may go tmr. i heard the wait list is very very long so like what mongs say, might as well buy it.

stylobb,
update us on your visit!!

mongs,
your colleague going to pop soon? any symptoms to look out for? so she can still move ard? she quite daring, still go to work....

Morning all...

somehow, i dun feel good bout this CL tat im getting... call it sensitivity... but she actuali called me o ask for deposit when initially she said no need to have deposit. her reason : scared tat i will forget and get some other CL!! and she is so desperate tat she wana come to where i am now to get the $$$ though she's in JB rite now!!! i totally am pissed at pple giving me last min notice seriously... told HB i dun quite like this lady's ways and he said im juz being difficult
he says tat since we will need her help, dun make things worse now and end up the confinement being a disaster... but then, i juz dun feel good... i dunno hw to ask her if i shld be due much earlier wfout crossing new year, how the pymt shld be like... cos for 3 weeks ( crossing CNY $2k ), then 4 weeks ( shld i b due earlier and wfout crossing CNY ) $2k/3 X 4 = $2.6k??? i dun think it shld be the case also... since norm times its oni $1.6-1.8k...

gosh, im driven nuts bout this CL and the $$$ thingie...all HB can say is dun bother bout the $ now, but then if we dun negotiate now, dun expect her to agree to our terms later rite...

hi SY
i also feel a bit of nausea recently. but after a while, the feeling disappear. i am praying hard that the vomit won't come back again...

hi god's child
seems that the CL is not easy to deal with. i think it's better you discuss on the jobs, and each other's expectation before your confinement to avoid unhappiness....
my CL nvr asked deposit from me... the 1st time i called her to find out her available timing, she told me don't need to pay deposit. everything based on trust. then last mth, i felt a bit insecured after hearing others that they are paying deposit. so, i called up to check if she has forgotten my appt with her. and she still remember!!! i was quite impressed actually. hope during confinement, there is no unhappiness.

god's child,
if you feel uneasy, best to sort out now. after all she will be caring for your bb and u dun want to feel the stress later. i think we are also at a stage when we are more anxious as bb's birth draws nearer.

for me, my CL never asked for deposit also. i was the one who brought it up and when she came to do someone else's confinement, i passed to her then.

sunny,
must pray hard that dun get MS too often! this is bb's growing stage so i dun want to affect my appetitie....

God's child,

I think you better get a new CL since you have not book her yet.. I heard quite alot of the JB unreliable CL.. from one of the tread..

Better be careful..

hello mummies

i juz came back from doc appt. i was so relief to hear that the past 3mths i've no GD n only now. (very mild but still got to monitor) - everyday test blood

SY - Aiyo! your MS coming bak. Oh no! u must try to take more food yeah! (if not i'm afraid it'll affect the growth of your bb) got tell gynae boh?

thread moving super fast! today really hving a hard time coming to work. weather is hot n practically dragging myself to work.

Breathless: will only happen after climbing of staircase n walking for too long. but recently HB had mentioned to me b4 i fell alseep tat my breathing is irregular. i think is bcoz of my position of my head bah... hopefully nothing serious

god's child,

I tink its ok to ask for deposit. she might have experience with pple who look for other cl without telling her, then she will suffer loss of income mah. Take it that you can meet up with her to talk about details and see whether you feel comfy or not with her. I've paid deposit for my cl also, tink its common to ask for tat nowadays. But is she a recommendation? Dun succumb if she ask for too much dep.

hee nowadays i can hardly catch up with all the postings!

anyway, thank God it's Friday! yay!

confused,
everyday must take blood test? really? sounds xiong...take care.

SY,
hmm how come can get MS now. So poor thing! Yeah must continue to eat well so baby will grow!

Re: confinement
How many of you intend to not bathe during confinement month? And to not wash hair?? Just found out to my horror that my mum and MIL both feel very strongly that i shouldn't bathe nor wash hair! They said bathe once in a while can, but wash hair is a definite no-no. Wasn't prepared for this at all n dunno if i can tahan...

Re : Confinement lady

think i will meet up personally and lay out the terms wf her before i pay the deposit then...

durianlover

im going to bathe!!! if not everyday, will b every alternate day... i dun think i can stand dirty n oily scalp...gona b unsightly too should i have visitors, esp durin CNY.. i will juz use the herbs to bathe a quick one...

Durianlover,
Confinement - Both my mum & MIL also said can bath, provided use the herbal thingy from the chinese medical hall. For washing of hair, i dunno abt my MIL (she din mention leh, so act blurr lah)...but my mum said for her case, last time when she had her confinment, she only start to wash her hair like 12 days after giving birth to me!!

But my Grandma is strongly against me washing my hair....she said scare kena "tou hong" (meaning wind gone into head...i think...)

durianlover,
of coz hv to bath, for hygien reason oso. my mum will be helping me during confinement. she said can bath but must be in day time n oso a quick one. washing of hair cant everyday la. NO air con, NO fan lo. wil be using herbs to bath with too.

Hi all...
Applied leave today but was cancelled by boss coz she has to go for training elsewhere n so cannot release coz "no" one around...

Durianlover,
My MIL also say cannot wash hair n bath for 1 month initially, then down to 12 days... still HB & I dun agree. I have very oily hair n I really cannot imagine not washing my hair more than 12 hours!! Infact HB say if i dun bath he's not goin to sleep with me haha... Lucky my mum says its ok to bath so long as i use the herbal mix with boiled water. I already gotten her to buy the herbal mix for bathing and my MIL will be buying the rest of the herbs, etc for cooking. Still i will standby the dry leave-on shampoo for hospital use just in case.

Hair: talking abt washing of hair... my mum keep pestering me to hv my hair cut short. reason she gave is cant wash hair too often, so better keep hair short so when after washing faster to dry oso meh. i told her NO WAY!!! my hair length now is waist length, so feel vy pitiful to cut it away leh =p
ended up she gave up n said let me suffer lo haha

SY
I'm back from my appt... 32 weeks, gals are 1.98kg and 2.1kg resp. Gynae say they are of good size. She also remarked my tummy is so big.... I wanted to go and buy some pastries after check-up but can't tahan anymore, took cab home instead... to rest.
Btw it looks like it'll be c-sec for me. Cos the higher twin is still head up.

cel
CL - sounds so terrible.

StyloBB,
WOW your babies are really of good size oh.. mine only reach 2.1kg at 34th week. No wonder your tummy is HUGE... Yah can imagine how tiring it'll be... do rest well... = )

styloBB,
wow can imagine how big ur tummy is now. mine i already cant tahan carrying ard liao, so urs is really vy vy tiring one. happy for u ur two gals r doing well =) rest well... btw carrying twin normally wat i heard is hving c-sec wan n will carry out the op b4 full term one rit?

confused - wat are your reading? above 7.0?

i will be wiping myself with cloth for sure for the first 2 weeks. hair most likely will wash after 1 week. cannot tahan lei if don;t wash. and of coz private part will wash with excessive water.

wah, move so fast again...

confused,
good to hear that your GD is very mild. so just be careful what u wat.

durianlover,
duno why got MS again. think cos i get gastric very easily. whole afternoon and night had bad gastric.

i will bathe of cos. my mum also say shd bathe. actually must explain to them that this bathing thing is a thing of the past. in the past, they dun have hot water like us and they fall sick easily. in singapore's weather, if we dun bath, it is actually very dirty. as long as you use hot water and wipe yourself dry, should be ok.

stylobb,
good to hear that checkup is good. your bbies are big. no wonder u tire so easily....