(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY

sorry to hear abt your plight. Sometimes men can be really insensitive. But the problem is they don't even know that! So have to verbally tell them, coz to them it's nothing.

Lucky for me, my hb will not ditch me to go home for soup. Coz i'll scream at him if he did. hehe! Definitely won't keep quiet and sulk silently.

gee, I take guava everyday except weekends.

pochacco, I heard that it's no good to eat it if you have constipation but it's high in vitamin c. ya, better don't go for foot massage, think calf massage by your hubby is ok but foot is not advisable coz our body organs are all linked to the foot.

rachel,
I paid 107 yesterday. I did the detailed scan. my next visit is 13 dec (2 weeks time) at bishan at 9pm. so late but can go home for dinner first.

thread moving very fast!!

yvonne,
i got to walk like a penguin or will feel that i m 'squeezing' bb....

SSF,
i took off my wedding ring since about 2 months ago cos i had swollen fingers first. now got swollen feet and realised that right feet is bigger than left!! yah the achy feeling when u stand on your feet in the morning is yucky...

my fren did tell me before that her hubby got cold feet before bb come cos start to worry about things like finances etc. i remember your hb travels quite frequently for his job also right? anything to do with his work that's causing him to be so quiet? the problem with guys is that they dun like to share and sometimes we probe, they also get irritated with us even though we are just concerned.

i dunno abt whether your hb is the same case as mine but my hb's mood varies with work stress. sometimes he doesn't want to talk at all cos he's tired from all the talking at work. then sometimes he will be very nice and will play with bb. of cos once in a while i will bring up the topic that he can't continue to work like that cos he will miss out bb's childhood etc.

yuki,
think the underlying issue is that i feel he is not very concerned. he is only concerned when there's major problems. other than that, he won't show much concern. simple things like picking up the car from car park and asking me to wait downstairs so i don't have to walk too far, he won't think of it also. even if i tell him what i want, he will always forget. so usually if i m really pissed with him, i will just ignore him.

mongs,
glad to hear that your check up went fine!

rena,
i don't think i will have a show down with hb cos i always end up losing and crying and i dun wan to affect bb now.
my hb is very stubborn one. i can nag at him many times and it doesn't sink in unless he himself realise it. so i save my breath and energy for bb first

so you will not be delivering so soon? that is a good thing for you right so bb can stay inside longer.

sunny,
drink more water and rest more!! a lot of pple catching flu. my fren was down with flu for 2 weeks before she gave birth. she was so worried that all the medicine will affect bb.

pochacco,
my MIL also dun cook. we only go back to drink soup. still have to buy our own dinner to go there to eat and drink soup. and as usual, MIL not even home yet by the time we left.

mashy,
i ever brought up the issue with HB before and in the end he went to sleep. so can see the effectiveness......

Queen/Celine,
I will be going for my photoshoot at Yew Kwang's this coming monday (Our 3rd Wedding Anniversary!).

Celine, when is ur appt? Yew Kwang mentioned someone coming on 2nd or was it 3rd dec for her maternity shoots. Is that gonna be u & ur hubby?? Hope the photos will turn out nice. Me still dunno what to wear for the session. Got any suggestions?

I hope to bring my dog along (Hopefully hubby in happy mood on mon. If not, he will definitely ground the dog at home.)

sY,

Yah some how it is good news as bb grow more inside.. but very funny.. your MIL dun cook just make soup.. then the rest of the family no need to eat??

Clare - i didnt call gynae cos there's no more blood liao. i'll be seeing him on this coming mon.

SY - thanks. i'll slightly better today (not so painful but still cant walk much)

Hope u are feeling better today. Yeah! i agree with the gals n can understand your feeling maybe your hubby dont want to hurt his mum. (although she not there when both of u go home, but he still feel that it's his mum effort - filial mah) and true men are insensitive. Yesterday i oso almost quarrel with hubby. i told him that cant walk too much cos down there painful n he say why i so mah fan
(eg: got to see diabetes doc, wisdom tooth giving me problem now n pelvis pain)

My hubby n i used to quarrel bcos of his mum n SIL. (Until one day he see their true colour)

Dear ladies,

Any one planning to let your bb boy go for cirumcise?? my gynae is professional in this area too therefore he ask me.. any advise??

rena,
so did doc estimate when you will deliver? hopefully can tong another 3 weeks till 36 weeks.

my MIL works so everyone settle their own dinner but we are still expected to go back twice a week.

confused,
good to hear that you are feeling better. u dun want to call gynae to get peace of mind?

my hb always say i mah fan also.....so irritating hor.

rena,
i did plan to circumcise my boy but a bit scared of the taking care part after that cos it will be so painful to see my boy cry becos of the pain!

Wenyl,
think YK is referring to me. My appt is tmr, 2 Dec. Can't wait to get it over and done with. :p

good idea to bring dog! i brought my 2 doggies for my wedding photoshoot too. keke

rena,
i did think about it. but decided against coz his daddy is not circumcised, so i won't know how to answer him if one day he ask me y i circumcise him! :p

furthermore i can't think of many pros in circumcising, other than the hygiene part. instead i have heard that some guys don't like that they are circumcised coz it can get sore when rubbed against tight clothings. no protection.

hello mongs...

Don't think we can meet up.
i'll be seeing him at the GlenE clinic. Nearer...
Anyway, how long was your the scan? Did Dr Chong do the scanning himself? What is the scanning about? What did he scan?

hi SY
i just need to get enough sleep. i don't wanna take the medicine that doc gave. keke....

can i check if anyone of you have sore breasts now? I'm at 34 weeks... sometimes my breast aches so bad just around the areola area, and I think there's colostrum leaking out...not a lot but just a little... it is freaking me out... is this normal at this stage? Sorry if this sounds gross but I just feel kinda uncomfortable from it... i'm wondering if this is becos I'm using an underwire bra? any advice..?

Rena and Rachel,

actually I did 2 detailed scans.
one at 5 months (20 weeks) and the 2nd one must be after 32 weeks, for me 2nd one was scheduled at 34 weeks.
some gynae have different practice.
During the detailed scan, they will compare the head, body and thigh length with other babies from data input into their machines and they will informed that the baby is ave or 75 percentile or 90 percentile blah blah blah.
Some gynae do this comparison thoughout the whole pregnancy so there is no such terminology such as "detailed scan". what my gynae practise is that during normal visit, he will only scan for heart beat, check that the bb is growing, tell me the head size, the fluid level, the position of baby but no comparision. During the detailed scan, he will scan for blood flow of the baby, baby heart rate and compare data with the data base with other babies on top of the usual stuff. so the detailed scan is more expensive. the machine used is also different. that's why Dr chong asked me to go to his clinic at gleneagles instead of the night clinic at bishan for the detailed scan. when he was at KKH, a specialist did the scan but now since he is with gleneagles, he did the scan himself.

Rachel,
I was very lucky, there was no patient when I reached there. was earlier by an hr and he just helped a patient deliver. I was inside for about 20-30mins. scan maybe too 10 mins. I also showed him my birth plan and he marked it up to say which items he can follow my wishes.

tabbiesus,

I don't think it's advisable to wear underwired bra at this last stage of our pregnancy. u should really try to wear cotton ones without wire. if u have nursing bras, u can also start wearing them.
I have no problem with my breast. it's also good to get your gynae to look at your breast if you are hurting and to check for infection.

Tabbiesus

my breasts are also a little sore n painful to the touch... more at the sides... u might wana change to non-wired bras, it reali makes a difference in comfort level... i had aldy dismantled the wires from all my bras..haha

Re : Confinement lady

im confused now as to how we can pay the CL should we not cross over the CNY period. the reason why we pay higher is cos its crossing over CNY and for chinese, they believe its 'dirty' thus the high price... but then again, wat if we deliver early, lets say in early jan??? by the time the confinement is done, the CNY only reaching...

my edd is 19jan and my CL charges me $2k for 3 weeks, shes going back JB for 5 days..if i deliver early (eg.5-10jan), she might not even have to come back aft the CNY which means it doesnt cross over...so the rate shld b lower rite? then again if i deliver 1st week of jan,she will be doing full 28 days for me without crossing over CNY, hw shld it b???
kao_confused.gif

SY - yalor! very hurting. (sometimes i'll juz tell hubby that you think i want mah?) then i act a bit n he soft hearted n will apologise to me. (i told hubby next time he become woman n he'll know our xin1 ku3 liao)

i dare not call gynae cos i afraid he'll ask me to go down. (my pocket got big hole liao so thought that since its juz a bit of blood , should be ok) the other time oso the same time n he told me maybe ligament tear.

Hi Tabbiesus,

If the pain is unbearable, check with your gynae. As for leaking - i reckon it's not a concern. I had a friend who starts leaking from her 5th month onwards.

Hi SY,

I understand. When u=you talk about the carpark issue, i can imagine myself having the same feeling. Sometimes i sulked siliently and when hubby asked, i replied, his respond will be "you can just ask and i'll do it". To them still no reason to sulk, just open your mouth.... But sometimes we just would like them to have more initiative right? The feeling is different if we had to do the asking. Man just don;t get it..........

god's child,

My Edd is 17 jan and the CL charge me 2.3K and I have already paid a deposit but then Gynae mention my deliver any time.. the my MIL call her but she may not be able to make it so she will recommand another person but deposit cannot take back..

As if it is my fault..
stupid right!!

Hi SY and Confused,

If my hubby dare to say i mah fan - i will tell him this is going to be the last baby......

Posts moving so fast!

Looks like got lots of complains about HBs and MILs. I don't really get mood swings. And HB now quite protective of me now that going to pop. But 1st 2 trimester he can go and play mahjong on Fridays and leave me to eat dinner and go home myself. Only that part I sometimes not happy loh. My MIL is a homely person who cooks almost everyday. So we go back to her place for dinner at least 3 times a week. I don't reall ymind cos got home cooked food and her place is only 5 to 0 mins away. And we don't stay long lah. An hour or so go home liao. Only thing I don't like is sometimes my MIL still treats her sons like kings, like will always call them and ask what they feel like eating. Pamper them a lot! Once my HB had some porridge stains on his pants, my MIL actually took a wet cloth and try to wipe it off while my HB is still wearing the pants! Wah, abit buay tahan. Think my HB still 3 years old man! Sometimes I wonder whether she thinks I'm not taking care of my HB enough.

Pochacco,
heehee, I also have wet dreams sometimes. Now no more bedroom action.
But don't get lower tummy ache leh. Just dreams loh. But now, sex or no sex, should be having quite a bit of discharge right?

re. circumcision
I think will get my boy circumcised loh. Dunno when... My HB is circumcised in primary school. I don't hear him complaining of any discomfort or difficulties leh. just say the surgery damn painful and bleed alot.

Wenyl,
I just confirmed my photoshoot session with KC this Sunday morning. Most likely will be outdoor at Botanical Gardens. So i'll just wear my cheap cheap pre-preggy Giodano tank top with jeans and expose part of my tummy. Don't think I can be too sexy in public! Now I have problem getting my makeup and hair done. Dunno who can do for me on Sunday morning....

tabbiesus,
no sore breast for me yet or leaking. So you do any breast massage now?

Rena

your CL so bad... hw can she 'swallow' the deposit like tat??? tats y my fren ask me why apy deposit... we pay them deposit to confirm their presence but then again, who will give us the guaranteee then??? the CL can also just 'dissapear' rite...argh...

alamak...The CL i called up charge me 2.6k.... Idiot. Like that my MIL say she cook better.

Mong,

I will be going for mine next monday. haha... hopefully no people also.
Did he give you any u/s picture of your baby?

Rachel,

ya, he gave me 5 pics, 2 of them are retakes of the thighs coz he said the earlier few, angle not correct so the length in lower percentile.

wow, CL is really expensive. my MIL doing for me. must really appreciate her effort. will be looking after my gal at night so that she will have a good night rest in the day time.

Mongs,

I see... 5 pictures? So sweet of him. He is not charging us very high also. You going for normal delivery? I am going for normal delivery.

That CL ah... I scold her on the phone. I tell her not to open her lion's mouth so BIG! LOL. I gonna take care of my bb myself. hehe... MIL only helping to cook.

Mongs,

You are so lucky.. my MIL can't coz she is looking after my sister in law girl.. very selffish... my MIL did the confinment for her but for mine I have to engage a CL..

Well who ask her to give birth first.. so bo bian lor... all the benifit I can;t get..

sunny- can take guava,...not sure wat theory tat auntie has.

pochacco- yes dun do foot massage..we are advise against tat. ask hubby to gently massage lor. hehee..cheaper also.

SY- financial wise, we are very comfortable so it should not be somethg he is worrying abt. yes he travel frequently but nowsaday no more. i guess it shld be work related la. but he used to tell me now seldom..not sure if he dun want me to worry also.

rena - no plans to circumcised. wats yoru reason for wanting to do so?

rena,
how old is your sis-in-law girl? well, guess it's like that.
my MIL is taking care of my nephew and niece now, 6 and 3 years old. they fight constantly. I am not sure if my MIL will be able to cope with 3 kids after I deliver. at least I will be around for 3 months. we will see how after that. my MIL is a very nice lady. we are afraid that she won't complain even though she can't cope, so we really have to open our eyes bigger. actually my husband really respect my MIL a lot because of her effort in looking after the family and it's really because of this respect that I like a lot about my husband. I feel that the way the husband treat his mother will be the way he is going to treat u in the future or even now. if he takes his mother for granted, very rude to her, sooner or later he will treat u the same way so

SY, in my opinion, your husband just respect his mother for her upbringing. it's actually a good thing. however, communication is impt and you should let him know if you r not happy esp during this period. too much bottling up is not good.

SY
Each PD visit can be $50-60... stimes gotta go back again if bb does not get well, then spend money again..hehe... recently my boi had fever, no PD cos Sat, then brot him to normal clinic, after taking he was ok. Cost only $29.

Hope u stay calm and dun get angry with ur hb. If he wants to go back and drink soup, nothing u can do about it. Maybe ur hormones raging again. Just make sure u have a back-up person (ur family) to call in case u can't get him and tell him that.
Phew! Fort. my mil does not cook at all, we dun go back, usu she comes over or we meet outside.

Must say my hb is sensitive, I dun have to climb up carpark, he will drive the car down to pick me instead.

I have been on hosp leave, but the days I wish to go back to office, mil will drive me/hb to work. I dun stay whole day at office, I leave earlier and then take cab home or to my mum's place

Yuki
Stimes they are like that, they dun think the way we do... really, stimes my hb also tells me if I want sth done, must tell him cos he really does not know.

confused
My hb never says I ma fan cos he can tell wat a toil this pregnancy is taking on me... just tolerate a few more weeks...

mongs
So ur mil is gonna handle three in the future? U shud consider getting her some help cos it's not easy to handle children and a baby.

yuki - yahor! i should tell my hubby this oso. Complain some more n 1 child is enough

missy - maybe your hubby dont want u to get worried cos you in 3rd tri n going to pop soon.

my hb everyday alreadi massage my tummy while helping applying the stretch marks cream, kekeke... he last nite also massage my calf.. the worst thing is recently i almost fall and sprain my ankel... dun dare to go for "tun na" as i heard that those "tie da you" cannot be used on pregnant woman... so jus let my leg pain...

just now i called rustic nirvana, they say cannot massage after 35 wks... so sad as i am coming to 35wk this sun...
i have jus applied for my maternity leave... this year i applied for 3 day annual leave for dec, and 8 week of maternity leave starting from 3 jan and will go back to work on 1 mar... for the last mth of maternity leave will credit into my annual leave... i think next year i got lots of annual leave..

thread move very fast again!!

queen,
enjoy your photo shoot...hee, if you dun mind, can send some of the photos to see? shd be quite fun.

yuki,
my hb always say we have one enough cos one is already so troublesome.....

SSF,
guys is usually work related stuff. maybe got to just wait for him to tell you when he feels like it. realised that even if i probe, guys usually won't tell.

rena,
so your CL took the deposit like that? hmmm, i shd also call up my CL and ask her what if i m early. actually usually CL will make sure thye can make it even if u r one month early cos they only do alternate months. have you gotten your confinement stuff ready?

stylobb,
so normal clinic is good enough for BB or must go PD each time?

my MIL doesn't cook but we still have to go back. yah, i always tell myself to do what's good for bb so just ignore my hb until i feel better instead of getting angry with him

you have been on hosp leave? how come?

confused,
i can understand how you feel abt calling gynae and being afriad to go down. initially when i saw him quite often, each month can spend more than 200 bucks, i also feel quite xin tong. but no choice lor. but still good to get their assurance. i also dun think they will ask u to go down but probably ask u to monitor. everytime i email my gynae, he will give me an explanation on what i feel and also never ask me to go down (the only 2 times was when i had some slight bleeding in the 1st tri and when bb had less movement for 2 days).

sunny,
i also refuse to take medicine one. wd rather just rest and drink more water.....

styloBB,
ya lor, must get help but the problem is that our family don't really want a maid. my nephew will be attending pri 1 next year so half a day he won't be around. my niece is also attending a 3 hrs class and is taking school bus. MIL will have to carry the baby to the carpark to pick her up. I think the major prob is meals coz she will still be cooking for us (the whole extended family) to eat. luckily my hubby is a teacher so he will have to try to go home by 5-6pm so that my MIL can cook. hopefully everything will work out fine. I have asked my hubby to work hard to be a principal soon so that I can stay at home to help out. :p

yvonne,
yes i also haven't found any nursing bras to my liking...all too thin n no padding n size doesn't really fit. Though i bought 2 Eternity bras to standby just in case i can never find an ideal nursing bra! So do let me know if u come across gd n cheap ones yeah!

sleepingdeer,
the thing abt MILs...dunno leh...mabbe somehow when we grow to that stage in life and of that age, we will become horrible MILs??! of course i hope not!! but my MIL treats me very well and i know it's coz she was treated very badly by her MIL last time, so it was her 'vow' to be a good MIL (and she is!). So i guess there are positive examples around!

mongs,
wow glad to hear ur baby's growing well! does it bother you that your baby is big? i think i also hv a big baby n i can't help but worry that baby will be too big!

tabbiesus,
i also dun hv sore breasts or leaking, but dun worry i think what you're experiencing is normal! in fact i kinda wish i'm leaking so at least it shows i can produce breastmilk!!

pochacco,
i thought for the last 4 weeks of ML, must be used within a certain time frame? u mean u can use anytime in the year? i think for my co, must use within 6 months.

Mongs,

My SIL girl is 18 months already.. but she refuse to let her go to school.. saying that there are germs.. therefore my MIL could not even help me look after my kid.. that is why I feel that she is very selfish..

SY ,

What are the confinement things that need to prepare?

Well Actually I am lucky coz my hubby do not take after his mom .. but more of the dad..

Yesterday's Mind Your Body section there was this announcement about a talk this coming Saturday which i thought would be very relevant and helpful, esp for first-time parents-to-be. It's on how to ignite the passion in your relationship as husband-and-wife when your baby comes along...something like that. You may want to consider going! i wld love to go but can't make it coz of a prior appt

rena,
think u need to call your CL and she will give you a list of things to prepare. i haven't call yet but last time when i met her to pass her deposit, i briefly asked and she mention need to prepare more pots (for boiling herbs for bathing, for longan drink etc) and need to buy all the red dates, longans etc. so will need to buy a few things.

SY
I feel when the bb is young, shud bring to PD... but some GPs are good with bbs too so it depends on your comfort level.

Me ah, cos gynae wants me to rest... so I rest lor. Just to go the office if needed...otherwise I can access email from home. And boss is outstation so not so bad. Seeg gynae tom, think she might give me more leave to rest. My tummy is sooo big I have strangers either staring or asking me if I'm carrying twins.

V diff for u to say/do anything if ur hb insists on going back. My hb the other way around, does not wanna go back...hahaha....

mongs
Still it's not easy to look after two and gotta cook for the family...
Hahah hope ur hb gets promoted soon!!

Rena
To be fair, I dun think we shud expect that mil or mum shud look after, after all the kid is ours, when they do it, it's more a favour to us... my opinion, no offence.

thanks 4 the advice on sore breast, i'll just try and massage it or use warm compress and i'm going to change to no wire bras liao...

I'm not getting a CL cos when my mom asked me not to bathe everyday during confinement, my hubby freaked out at this so i think he won't be agreeable to all the traditional stuff the CL will do.

For food, i was just thinking of ordering confinement food from this place called Natal essentials that delivers (supposed to be no msg)... cos my mom cannot cook for nuts :p , & my MIL lives in HK & not coming over during that period. Has anyone heard of this service?

StyloBB,

Of course we cannot expect our MIL to look after our kid.. but then if no one is to look after for us then it means that I can't work and how do we provide for our kid.... which do you think is safer .. to engage a maid or to sent your kid to some one whom you trust??

My MIL has voice out that she wants to look after my son coz its her first grand son but she do not know how to tell my sis in law..

Tabbiesus,

You can still bath but the CL will advise you to get the herds for bathing.. My cousin uses the delivering service but food is the the major reason why we need the CL .. it is also to help us look after our bb as we are not allowed to touch water.. and at night CL can help to feed the bb so that you can have amber rest to prepare to take over after one month