(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi god's child
me too. feeling quite tired recently... it's like the 1st trim now. haha.... and at night turn and toss, can't really sleep well...

hello,

I m feeling damn sleepy now also.. can't wait to just rest at home and wait for bb to arrive and yet dun wish to start ML so soon cos will need to come back to work sooner also.. *yawn yawn*

anyway my EDD is 2 Jan.. so i m in fact abit kan jiong now.. bb cot only to deliver this coming sat and i have not even wash all my bb stuff.. so i think i really need to buck up..

Good Morning Mummies....

Whoa, it's really a good day to rest in bed today....however, am already in office....

Robinson Sale
Went yesterday after work, got tollijoy BB wipes and tollijoy nappy Liners....whoa damn cheap lor....my HB even bought BB's receiving blanket (that comes in a basket with mittens, shoes, combs & towels)...HB says quite cute so bought for BB to use when BB discharge from hospital. Also bought the BB sling, coz HB said it's more convenient than pram.....anyway bought quite a number of things and all add up to less than $100!! It's actually quite alot of savings!!

Saw the Avent ISIS pump that comes in a bag (original is abt $140~), tempting to get that but was carrying too much things liao, so skip this till the next sale.... =)

JL Expo Sale
Dun really enjoy the Expo sale, seem like having very limited products....except for bed linens...

wow edd, your due date is very near already...
today i was telling my hb that i am quite scare of the due date getting closer 'cos mentally not fully prepared yet... for him, he's really looking fwd to see bb soon. :p

Sunny,
yes i know its v near and sometimes i also have the fear that i m not mentally prepared to be a mum yet.. so the feeling is really mixed lor.. cant wait to see bb and yet scared that our er ren si jie will end very very soon.. so when is ur edd?

queen,
no i haven't taken the photos yet. will be doing it this friday. i oso haven't really decided wat to wear. think i will like to expose my tummy so will probably find a tube and wear a denim skirt. and since the photographer allow 3 change of outfit. i may also wear a red singlet with white pants. juz casual wear lah. anyways, i oso don't have any nice dressy maternity wear. keke

edd
ya, scared that the couplehood will end after bb comes out.... and no more travel for at least 6 mths.... sob sob.
my edd is 20 jan.
did you get massage lady? not too sure if i wanna get one leh...

Celine,
So it will be studio shots? My photographer said he can come to my home with studio lights or take outdoor shots. I kind of like to take the pictures in Botanical Garden but if in public a bit weird to expose too much right? Take indoors also nice lah. I think will be very focused on me and my Hubby. You are engaging Yew Kwang right? Are you going to DIY makeup?

queen,
ya will be studio shots. don't think there will be outdoor. like u said loh, will be pretty focused on the couple. agree that it looks kinda weird to expose too much if in the public. keke...
yup me engaging Yew Kwang and he has tied up with a MUA. so she will do my hair and makeup.

Hi Clare,
I wouldn't mind getting 1 big bag (100g) of the Nursing tea, and 1 more small bag (50g) of rasberry tea if you are going down to Mums in MInd, are they open on Sat? Coz I thot I saw only weekdays?

If you do go and buy on Sat, can pass to me when we meet for class at Mt. A, and I'll pay you?

Good Morning!!

clare
can buy only 2 packets of Nepia? but anyway think i wont order this time round... cos i would like to try out different diapers on bb first so probably will just buy off the shelves cos i dun need so many packets le...

SY
think the postage for MIM will adjust after the order is finalised one... cos last time i ordered lasinoh cream, initially they charge higher for the postage and end up i only paid for 50 cents for the postage... cos the lasinoh cream very light...

btw the lasinoh cream i have tried a few times le... the texture i find is very sticky... but i personally find that it is good for abrasion between inner thigh
cos too plump liao...

stylobb
thanks for the info

durianlover
initially i aiming at a disney mobile... very cute and not so ex too... but ppl advised me no need to get so i still pending... but i definitely will get those flash card, balls and blocks which are red, white and black in color cos it can stimulate bb vision and brain... alto the toys dun look cute to me la...

sunny
i think better to get the massage lady... i very lazy haven source for one yet... but my ex colleague does pass to me one contact, she said she probably will charge cheaper, but i haven called her yet...

morning mummies.. yeah a great morning to tuck in and snooze a little longer.

yvonne, you mentioned the wipes are very cheap. how much is that? so far i only bot 2 pigeon wipes packs and a roll of cotton wools.

yeah i also agree that JL expo mainly have bed sheets and toiletries. nothing much. won;t be gg in and squeeze with the crowd la. moreover car park is so ex over there.

I'm new here, I only just found this site cos I am stuck at home for bed rest/ minimal activity because of preterm labour at 30weeks and 32 weeks. My EDD is supposed to be 13/1/06, and my first baby girl... so very gan cheong about everything!

Your posts are very encouraging and useful! Since its my first baby and I'm the first among my friends & relative to have baby recently, very blur... can I get your advice on a few things?

Has anyone compiled a list of basic essentials of what we need to get for baby... like:
how many milk bottles, what brand baby bath/ oil to get?

And, another question... can use baby powder or not... I am confused cos some websites say never to use baby powder cos talc can cause cancer but I know its quite common to use it right?

tabbiesus

stylobb
I was the one who's looking for the avent steriliser. Ya, last time they had sale, it was $119. Now everywhere seems to be selling it at original price, i.e. $163.

Queen
Yes, at the moment, the public banking not not extended to pte hosps yet. I think they intend to start next year. but don't know which mth.

Zhimin
When do we need to get the flash card, balls and blocks? after 6mths?

krissie - JL last time have sales at 119 plus too for avent steriliser. i guess u miss it. you may want to check out at expo sales this week.

sunny,
i got the nursing tea trial pack as well....so lucky someone mentioned that moms in mind is 50g. if not i blur blur buy the tea from plant & planet..

durianlover,
i haven't bot the musical mobile thing. but my fren told me not to put it too early. maybe will get one later...ha..think i m the one who likes it more than bb...

the post partum soak is used to clean the vaginal area so that it heals faster...dunno whether want to get it.

queen,
i m abt your size. so probably can fit S also. think i may check the tops out then...

u using KC for your shoot? i liked his photos! he did both my ROM and my traditional. heard he also expecting a baby next year.

how much are you paying and what is in your package?

Hi Clare,

What does nursing tea do?

This week is 33 weeks for me.. and tomorrow I will be seeing my doc again.. so far so good.. have not download yet.. Frankly I got this feeling that may download next week.

Now I have a problem.. I have actually book a 1 bedder but bb is still breech and may need to go for C section then it will cost big bomb plus bb may need incubator if too small then that will cost about 500 dollars per day.. Oh man...

If I change to two bedder..its very diffcult to rest plus i may have alot of relatives coming to visit me..

SY

I'm not sure leh. U can call and check with them.

durianlover
hehe, i made my own cot mobile with a laundry hanger (those round type) which i bought for $1 at Toyogo and i hanged my small Sesame Streets Toys on them. My hb said it's a waste of money to spend so much on a mobile which we can only use for 3mths. I sewed felt cloth on the toys' backs and with velcro, so can detach after that to be cot/stroller toys.

For music, instead of playing using the cot mobile, we'll use our CD player instead, then we can choose our own music.

sunny,
yes, i booked my message lady liao.. it is recommended by my coll and i din book until after she returned from her ML cos i wan to see if really effective or not mah.. and true enough, she dun look like a 2 kids mum man.. so i just go ahead.. anyway i like message, of cos, the binding part may not be pleasant.

god's child,
i din go for the sale in the end but saw the robinsons has changed their plastic bags for xmas..very nice black ones with gold words...

sunny, edd2jan,
i also feel so tired. can't sleep at night despite being so tired. and it makes me grouchy. no matter how i turn, i feel aching....

edd2jan,
your turn is coming soon! so exciting...must remember to inform one of us when u pop.

rena,
din see u today....hope u r ok...

yvonne,
sounds like the sales not bad. but no time to go already and i dunno what to buy also.

zhimin,
i bought 3 items so dunno how much the final postage will be. hope it's not going ot be more than 2.50!

i bought some black, red and white toys already. cos babies can only see these colours in the first 6 months. after 6 months, shd get colorful ones for them.

krissie,
so get those black,red,white stuff for first 6 months.

hi tabbiesus,
welcome!! many of us are first time so u can see us all quite kan cheong. lucky got 2nd time mummies to advise us.

clare,
just to note. moms in mind dun open every sat so u need to check before u go. the last time i went, quite hard to find....

mashy,
thanks. maybe i will email them to check.

rena,
how come u got feeling u will pop soon? my colleague's bill came up to 4K plus cos she did c section. she was at KK and she took 1 bedder.

sunny,
i called up a massage lady and she told me no need to book so soon. also need to see whether i m confirmed doing natural or c section.

SY,

Actually not soon already.. my baby and me already tong for 3 weeks plus.. he almost wanted to pop out in week 30... that was why my gynae put me on double dosage of ventolin .. and he just took them off last week .. and told me that I may be in labor anytime.. so bb actually tong for one week already..

Krissie,
Thanks for the info. So my BB's cord blood will be wasted if I deliver at TMC? I don't want to do private cord blood banking... Cost is one factor loh and I dunno whether it is worth it cos the need to use it could be very very low for most BBs.

SY,
Yah, I checkout KC's website and looks really good! But I dunno how he is for portraiture shots. He quoted $150 for 45mins session inclusive of soft copies and will touchup a few for prints. If want hard copy prints, it's $50 for 5 pcs 8R. Can come to my place to take the photos or go outdoors. I think outdoor shots may be less 'posey' loh. But I also like the idea of indoor shots where there are close ups on the tummy and nicer B/W photos. Dunno how lah. Think I'll ask his opinion. Glad to hear that he's good! BTW, are you born in 1979?

I'm also not able to sleep soundly throughout the night. Either have to get up and pee or BB is moving or just cannot sleep. Sigh. Now going 35 weeks, every pain, tightness and trickling of discharge felt, I get a bit paranoid. Dunno whether it's time already or not! Bit I really hope to tahan at least 2 more weeks. Think BB's lungs are developed by then and even if early, will not need to be put in ICU or incubator. After 36 weeks, if early, heehee... I don't mind! Cos now really feel like being in a big waiting game and waking up daily thinking whether is it 'THE DAY' today!

tabbiesus,
Welcome! What kind of preterm labour sysmptoms are you experiencing? Have you bought everything you and your BB need?

can't wait till jan to come then can rest...
nowadays, feel that bb veri heavy, pressing my pervis. the moment stand up is most difficult one.
but then when bb really pop out, confinement period even more sian... no bath and wash hair...
hope that Jan to Feb will be windy and more cool...

rena,
hope you and your bb will be fine! update us after your gynae visit.

queen,
how do you know i m born in 1979?

yup KC is good. i really liked his photos. i think he's good at getting us to pose also. the shots all turn out very nice. will he be giving you an album of your photos? for my wedding, he gave me part of the prints and he develops in black and white for some of them so i thought it looks really cool.

i m like you also. every little thing i get paraniod. if i feel that there's more discharge, i will panic. my colleague also say best to deliver after 36 weeks cos of BB's lungs.

hi SSF (missy)
I dunno why my tightening so bad.. i had to go to 3 different hospitals. I am actually booked at TMC but becos of the 1st false alarm and my gynae scared baby too small so, she asked me to go to KKH for neonatal purposes.. but KKH neonatal ICU full house so they transferred me to SGH.. so now i'm sort of booked there as well.. the new gynae told me it may be cos my baby too active, or my liqour is a bit on the low side (6cm- normal is 6-11cm, or i just to gan cheong at work and walk around too much... Luckily baby is normal, but still get bad tightening and on 2 types of med to stop it

Hi Rena, Queen,
I also get very bad tightenings and pain below every now & then.

My friend who is a pediatrician at kkh and has done neonatal care before told me that if baby comes out at 34 weeks usually very good chance for baby and may not need much incubator/ icu care... may only need special feeding if too small. My gynae put me on these calcium channel blockers (same as high BP med.) to stop contractions and on salbutomol tablets called volmax (supposed to be long acting salbutomal to take before sleep cos tightening worse at night) also.

One thing you can hope for is if you change to 2bedder, is that the other bed is not occupied. I guess if u really need LSCS, maybe u can tell your relatives to visit u later cos I'm sure u'll also need to rest and recover.

Or some of my friends have told me is that u book a 2 bedder first for labour ward and then if everything ok, upgrade to 1 bedder in the postnatal ward. (upgrading is always easier than downgrading in hospitals)

whatever it is.. i think pray hard about it.. fingers crossed, stay relaxed and hope that baby just don't come out so soon.... will pray that our babies will stay inside till at least 36 weeks!!

about baby stuff:
I got some
-avent bottles (gifts)
-avent steriliser from kidsmall (20%sale storewide sale now)
-pigeon washing soap for bottles, and nipple teats from carrefour (19.90 for 1 bottle and 1 refil pack)
-baby tub
-stroller
-crib

i bought one pack of baby pampers NB. And some sanitary and disposable diapers so far...

Can anyone tell me how to order Nepia diapers?

hi SY
y are you feeling achy?

hi edd
how much does the massage lady charge? how many days do you engage her? can pm me her contact?

sunny,
backache is the main reason. my backache is very near the butt area and been getting leg cramps too. then when i sit down, i will get a lot of movement at the pelvic region and always on the right side. so in the end i have to spread out my legs and straighten them. and dunno why but legs have been feeling so tired.

edd,
just wondering, how many days of massage u planning to do?

tabbiesus,
i can't remember the number to call nepia. but think the promo ending soon. any mummies ordered and can remember?

your tightening sounds bad. are you on MC now to rest at home?

besides those that you have bought, what about baby bathing stuff, towels, wash clothes, breast pump, baby detergent? did u get spare cot sheets also?

krissie
like wat SY mentioned, can get the toy for the first 6 months...

celine
the way you describe the clothes for photo shooting sound nice to me liao... i think natural shoot will be better... i very tempted to go for photo shoot also but find most package quite ex...

wenyl/queen
how is the search for the photo package?

rena
do take care of yourself and hope all go well to every mommies here.

welcome tabbiesus!

hi tabbiesus

hi SY
'cos bb getting heavier, so our legs also get tired easily.
i have a bit of backache at lower part, too. but only at left side. i feel it, when i try to open heavy door using my left hand and when i sit down. other than that i am ok... i have this on and off b4 preggie when i went for long shopping hours. heheh...
for leg cramp, try to do some stretching exercise b4 you sleep. i find it effective for me.

SSF,
the tollijoy BB wipes cost $8.50 (orig price b4 discount) it comes in 2 tubs and 1 pack of refill. Bought one pack the last time when i went to kiddy palace, but since robinson's sale, so get extra, anyway BB will always need to use....also bought the small packet ones for outing-$9.00 (orig price b4 discount). Also got extra one box tollijoy disposable breast pads (40+8pcs) $7.80 b4 discount.

Am engaging a massage lady to come on saturday to do pre-natal massage for me too....coz calves are painful @ times and tired.....shall try first, if good mayb will ask her more about her post-natal massage.

tabbiesus
i copied the no from the forum ealier for the nepia promotion... today is last day... order 4 packets of any size @ $14 each and get free delivery... can call ms liza at 63241223 9am to 5pm

sunny,
yah. over weekend, my tummy suddenly grew much bigger. so i guess the weight is causing all the problems. lucky going to see gynae soon so can do a check to make sure everything alright.

my backache is from sitting down i think. it will just be there no matter what i do so i find it irritating. it used to be only at night but now it starts in the morning....

thinking of ordering some xmas food like baked ham, roast turkey for a gathering. first time doing this. any recommendations on where is a good and cheap place to get it from?

SY - you can order from cold storage. they have phamplets on xmas goodies that you can order. last yr, i ordered from ntuc. not bad and i think pricing is more reasonable.

The turkey you must make hot in microwave yourself. so make sure your microwave is big enuff to place a turkey. as for the gravy, you need to self heat yourself as well. ham on the other hand can be eaten cold. so no problem.
yeah i am also pretty excited for my annually held xmas party. after that, it will be super countdown to my delivery liao :p

SY

where did u get your black/white/red toys? i saw some but its reali very limited... any suggestions...

Photoshoots : oh, i dare not go photo shoot, wait my stretch marks all become exposed..haha... i got my HB to pose photographer for me instead! everyday when i go out in different maternity wear, i will get to snap a shot for me...so i can paste all these pics in my album for remembranc of my fatty look

mashy
you very creative to do the mobile yourself
i am lacking in creativity one... last few days tried to edit some photos on my own... even so simple task i already find it hard to do haha...

SSF,
thanks. i went to cold storage yesterday but din see the phamplets. think i shall go ask again.

the NTUC one not as nice as cold storage?

hmmm, dunno whether my microwave oven big enough or not. i hope so. if not i dunno how am i going to heat it!

yeah, i look at all the advertisements and got craving for xmas food so decided to have a xmas party. then it's the big wait for bb!!

god's child,
i din buy too many cos bb first 2 months won't really be playing. i got a set of flash cards from seiyu (think some of the online stores like baby sayang has it as well). then i bought 2nd hand from one of the mummies in the forum a rattle and a cube. i think dun spend too much on it cos they can't use too long.

peipei,
I am like you, the bb weight is pressing on my pelvis that the first few steps when I get up from the chair is very extreme! And this pain also causes me difficulty in lifting up my legs when i wear my panties/pants. I am 32 weeks now and bb weighs 2.1kg.

rena - mine is also very small. but gynae didnt say anythg. i am 1.5kg at 33 weeks. gg to see gynae next monday again and will get the updated weight.

Rena
My worry is that bb will be too big for me to try for natural birth at delivery time. The pain is really killing me but I kept telling myself: "not pain, not pain"!

sunny, SY,
the min/recommended number of time to do is 5 days.. i may want to request for a 7 days package. depends.

Sunny, i can PM you the contact but frankly i personally have not experience it myself so there is really no gurantee that she is that good. i just based on my own judgement from my friend.

Gals, these few days, boss in so cannot regularly come in to chat...

seem everyone including me is exciting of the arrival of bb... i have more or less finished packing the bag... just tat i am waiting to choose bb going hm clothes. i onli got 3 nursing bra, dun enough or not but if buy too many later not wearing...

another thing is i have not buy the nursing clothes...

this sat gg to see gynae, week 35... it is really really very near... i & hb can feel bb hiccup everyday esp at night...

dun know who is gg to be the first to pop...

Kriss
I forgot the book title on MDM wong's book.. but I know there are many copies at orchard library..just check on breastfeeding topic and the computer system should show.
wow 3D pic for FOC... I tok dr ho will charge.. I even ask my HB if it's chargable should we buy and my HB give me a striaght "NO"

Sleeping deer
thanks for explaining...
btw... arr u still seeing Dr Ho on 4 weekly basis?
I wonder when Dr Ho will start seeing us more regularly.

SY
I'm ON yahoo ley....
my yahoo ID is amywong3890, add me then we can even chat during off hr :p

Casey
i'm planning for cord blood too... but wanted to hear out CordLife at Candem first before finalised.

Zhimin
thanks for the Nepia info...
my MIL wanted use clothe diaper but sekali we cannot take may need to order disposable anyway...

Durainlover
I tok wanted to get the muscial mobile but my MIL and some mummy here say may cause baby cross eye... so I think maybe not getting.

EDD2Jan
I PM you... to ask abt the massage lady too...
pls share with me too.

RE :HERBAL BATH
Hey are you gals getting those HERBAL Bath for confiement??
Where to buy??

RE: baby movement
I'm really concern ley... while all of you have babies that give vigorious movement... I think my baby is not vigorous at all ley.
She is very quiet most time...
I'm worried for her well-being....

zhimin
thanks for the nepia no... i just called... good news... $14 offer extended till end december! I checked to see if can get sample but they said they don't do that anymore..

SSF
thanks! I'm on hospitalisation leave till year end...

what kind of nursing pads are good to buy? Pigeon or tollyjoy? or no difference...

has anyone bought their breast pumps yet?
does anyone have a brand of milk powder to recommend? I intend to purely breastfeed but just in case no milk, and need to bottle feed in between breastfeeding...