(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

these 2 days my tummy is quite tight and hard. anyone experience that?
other than that, i still find that i am in 'honeymoon' like 2nd trim. haha...

sunny,
i find my tummy very tight esp night time. feels like it's bursting at times and i have to lie down.

i keep telling my hubby we must treasure spending time together before bb comes but once hb recovers from his sickness, he becomes engrossed in work again. even this morning when we were in cab, he was messaging non stop until i said can't u do this later? then i in no mood to talk liao. maybe i m too demanding but i really need the attention from him after a long day at work.

yvonne,
your hubby so sweet, sell his fishes to buy more things for BB. my hb keeps saying he wants to buy more things for his aquarium! he uses bb as excuse
say wants to build nice aquarium for bb....

SSF,
Thanks for ur melaka info. We decided to make it a day trip. Go in the am & come back at nite. Anywhere good to shop? Remembered someone mentioned Jusco...??

Rena,
Good to hear that ur gynae has put u off ventolin.

BABY ROCKS
I enjoy every moment of my baby's movements & hiccups. Told hubby last nite that I will definitely miss that feeling.

Nowadays, it seems common for us to feel hungry easily. Especially at night! I will normally eat at 11+pm b4 going to sleep, then can wake up again at 4-5am to eat & pee.

Any one experience itchiness on body? I kanna last nite.... whole body itch like mad!! First time experience this. Was scratching non stop! Then got to remind myself to tahan. If not, how to go for photoshoot in 1 week's time with all the yucky scars!!

Counting down to D DAY
8 more weeks to go......

sunny,
yes my tummy also tight and hard. Even frenz who touch my tummy all commented that it's very hard! Feels very stretched n like bursting.

It's great that you're still feeling good, like in 2nd trimester! For me i can feel the difference already...think getting too big n heavy n clumsy.

Re: baby movements
i think i'm the only mummy here who's not as appreciative of my baby's kicks! Hee. My baby's very active n kicks a lot (too much in fact) and it gets really uncomfortable, that sometimes i wish she'd come out soon so that i won't hv to tahan all the kicking! Nowadays she kicks me on my ribcage n it hurts too. And she's also always kicking me at night...my sleep is kinda disturbed coz of that. But then despite all this, i thank God that at least she's well and kicking!

Can't believe that we'll all be mummies in 2 months' time! Hmm exciting yet scary feeling!

Durianlover,
Yah...2 more months. I got the same mixed feelings. I feel scared just tinking abt the labour we got to go thru but at the same time, very kancheong to want to see & hold my boi boi.

Read somewhere that it is very important that we keep a positive mind. Cos we will have easier labour if we are mentally prepared for IT!

Just curious.....Wat's the 1st time u wish to do after delivery?? For me....I wish to lie down on my tummy!!!

wenyl,
you so cute! 1st thing to do is to lie on your tummy? haha

i hv a lot of things i'd wish to do after delivery! first, must see my baby girl!! and hold her in my arms

then i'd want to touch my tummy and see how it feels after baby has come out...think it'll be soft soft yet still bulging right? Can't imagine.
Then i'll stand up straight and look down to see if i can see my toes (i can't see my toes anymore coz my tummy's too big).
and i hv a lot of food i'd want to eat after i deliver! Top of the list is sashimi!!! i miss sashimi!! Esp last nite i went with my frenz to Jap restaurant and everyone was happily tucking in to sashimi...but i had to be contented eating cooked food. And i'd want to eat half-boiled eggs without feeling the guilt too!

hahaha Wenyl u are so funny...

Hmm.... think the 1st thing i'll do is to touch my tummy n see how it feels like... think will still be bulgy n soft but lifeless... kinda sad when think of it... but then again i can hold my BB in my arms already so guess it'll be a mixture of feeling... Happy that BB is out n can smile n interact with me... but somehow sad coz BB wil no longer be EXCLUSIVELY MINE... oh no am i going into depression?? = (

Food wise think i'll like to eat half boil eggs again at Ya Kun / Wang Jiao... no other special craving though...

Rena
I've PM'ed you my contact.
thanks for collating.

MH
It's so assuring to hear that they are supportive of us TBF.
Gives us a lot of support. I heard stories of my gf at other hosp who give in to FM coz the nurses said so. I plan to get the parentcraft advisor if I've any prob too.

durianlover, SY
Thanks.. couldnt sleep coz of my rashes..
I wake up every nite.

This is the last stretch, so enjoy and be positive. Indeed, you will miss the kicking and punching at the tummy....so ironic, now its so painful and disturbing to our sleep hor , later after birth we will miss these feeling.

Top of my list of food to eat after birth is fresh oyster, sashimi and sip a glass of wine, hmmm.....

I gained about 8.3kg and my boy was 1.5kg at 32th week. Currently in my 34th week.

Pregnancy gonna end soon. Will definitely miss every part of it.

6 more weeks for me. Very fast hor. Realised that some of my maternity tops a bit short already.

Me too! I want to be able to eat sashimi and lie on my tummy!

Think I'm quite lucky, had a pretty smooth first pregnancy. Other than the horrible MS during the first 3 months, these past months have been like honeymoon. No stretchmarks at all, no water retention, no swollen feet/face, hardly any cramps, no fatigue, even have mood for sex (but now stop already)! Weight gain is average. Will definitely miss BB's kicking after birth.

Hi Clare,
ok, will chop a place for you if we are early... think HP light not strong enuff to penerate the tummy lah... we use torchlight, and the room was dark, so maybe it worked. Or maybe bb playing with us... hee hee.

SY,
understand how you feel... I also feel a little insecure at times, that once bb is out, there goes our couple time... my hubby says that this stage of our life will be even better, with bb around, but I always wonder how to juggle being a couple, parents and yourself at the same time!

Sunny,
good that you still feel normal, I am starting to suffer daily backaches, probably due to the extra weight. That is my one complaint... oh, and that I am reallly fat now..

Durianlover,
me too! Salmon and swordfish Sashimi and half boiled eggs, and sunny side up eggs too! Medium rare steak, and blue cheese dips... hee hee.. how to lose weight like that!

ICA just sent me a application form for renewal of IC, since I am approaching 30... oh no! My face is so fat now, how to take a nice passport photo for IC? I have no old ones left... think they can let me delay until at least 6 months later? Imagine having a IC with fat face photo for next 30 years!

BTW, I just order the Bayb plastic diaper fasteners from them. Will check them out and see whether they are good and let you ladies know, for those who dun want to use diaper pins...

hi ladies...
today is my appt... i wonder how heavy bb and i now....
anyone know when we should decide which hospital to deliver? i haven't decided yet. :p

krissie
what's plupps? what's the cause of it?

wendyl
the 1st thing i wanna do after delivery is to see how much weight i still need to lose. haha.... other than that is to learn how to let bb latch on correctly.

The first thing that i did after i gave birth, making sure baby is fine etc and when i could walk on my own - was to go weight myself and see how much more weight i had to lose!!! Vain right? I was shocked that i lose only 3kg, which is the weight of my baby. That's means my waterbag, placenta etc weights nothing????

But after one week, i actually lose another 5kg by the time i went back to the clinic for a checkup.

yuki
meaning during confinement we would need to go back to gynae's clinic to do check up?
other than that, do we need to go out?

Hi Sunny,

I did went back after one week for the gynae to check on the stitches (epitosomy).
That's all.

For some of my friends, baby has jaundice and had to be hospitalise etc - they went in and out of hospital too. No choice.

BUt i guess all CL/ MIL etc will make sure you are dressed in long sleeve, long pants etc to prevent the wind blows etc.

Good Morning mummies..
wow so many threat... must catch up later.

MH
I understand u deliver at MAH last round..
can I check the last round did MAH assign a paediatrician standby at the delivery ward to check on our baby at 1st instance to confirm baby is well??
My colleague told me KKH do that, cos it's govt hospital so they will assigne who ever is available. My friend in Glen actually can appoint their choice of Paed if they have one.
My friend said... Gynae is to take care of our wekk being whereas Paed will take care of our baby ensure he is fine.
SO I just wonder what's the practice for MAH.
can share?...

Goood morning ladies!! It's TGIF!!!
Tomorrow going Melaka...yippee!

Yah...my list of TTD (Things to do) is also....first thing is to hold baby in my arms straightaway after he popped out, learn to BF him, bathe him, slim down, eat salmon sashimi, etc....
BUT hor... the very thing that I told hubby I MISS doing....is to just lie tummy flat on my bed. Always enjoyed doing that...while watching TV, reading, chitchatting on the phone.

Krissie,
Is ur rash real bad? Plupps sounds serious. My fren's baby had a patch of bad rash on his forehead & earloop. Tried all kinds of cream....anti-rash cream, aloe vera gel, etc. In the end, it was Hazaline Snow that worked! U know ....xue3 hua1 gao1. Within a week, the rashes all disappeared. She told me cheap & very effective leh. Were u the other lady that goes melaka often? Any place for shopg & makan to recommend? I only know Mahkota.

Sleepingdeer,
I tink those makeover studios can help u take nice angled pics & if face still look big, then ask them to professionally edit slimmer. Nowadays, a lot of editing & touchup is done. Dun despair.....Got hope got hope!

Queen,
Me too. First trimester was horrid...cos of MS. But the 2nd trim was a breeze, could do most things I did b4 preggie. But nowadays since 30 weeks onwards, I start to have backaches, fatigue, swollen feet, loss of sleep, slight cramps....sigh! But just keep telling myself to "tong" another few more weeks lor.

morning mummies!!

another rainy day!!

ha..first thing i want to do is to take photos of me and baby! no matter how i look, i still want to cherish that memory.

my fren was telling me it's very fast to lose most of the weight but hte last few kg is always very stubborn. but i dun think i want to lose all the weight cos i was underweight before. just want to make sure tummy becomes firm up.

i also miss sashimi!! there was once i was at ritz carlton for buffet and i couldn't eat any salmon sashimi. so sad...

sunny,
my fren also went out during her confinement. she just make sure she wear long sleeve and pants.

Re PD
are you planning to get your own PD or let hosp assign? i prefer to get my own but some frens say KKH may not allow u to bring in your own.

gd morning mummies!
am down with sore throat and flu today....tried drinking honey lemon juice yesterday but it didn't work, so got worse. Last nite had difficulty sleeping coz of irritable throat, and the most amazing thing happened - i coughed till i puked! Which is very rare for me coz i hardly ever puked in my whole life!

sleepingdeer,
mabbe u can use a pre-pregnancy photo instead?
i also am interested in the BayB supplies nappy fastener! Do let me know if it's good yah!

krissie,
poor thing, ur rash sounds bad. Can only encourage u to hang on in there coz it's just 2 more months! very fast one!

queen,
actually i also feel very blessed this pregnancy. Didn't suffer from much MS but felt bloated all the time. THen 2nd trimester really honeymoon for me. Nothing wrong at all. Even up to now, no swelling / water retention, no backache, no cramp, no change to facial features, etc etc. But i always feel sleepy n tired lah. And of coz now i feel huge n tight n clumsy!

wenyl,
enjoy your trip to malacca! so fun!!

SY,
yes true - it's always the last few kilos that's tough to lose! all mummies who've given birth before all say that. But i guess perhaps the last few kilos might be gd to keep since we were underweight before.

PD - i think i'll go to the PD that 2 of my frenz are using for their children. Quite near my place also. And since my frenz go there n recommend, i think shd be quite ok!

Krissie,
They will usually put u.p of the Pigeon Rapid Steam Steriliser ard $117(??) but quite common to see $87 too. However yes $87 is the lowest u can find. I used the JL $10 voucher (min $50 purchase) the last time round n so ended up paying only $77.

i dreamt i gave birth to a premature baby boy last night... i remembered i was super relieave n happy when BB finally came out n even thought to myself giving birth not that painful wat??... but the happiness didn't last for long coz then i realised BB's weight is 1.9kg n unstable so had to be observed in ICU n i started crying n crying coz so scared i'll lose my BB... after a while BB seems to be improving n i was able to visit BB n carry him... this morning i woke up telling myself i must quicky come into forum n share my birth story with all of you... then i touch my tummy n realised BB is still in there... Thank GOD. Its quite a scary dream i must say...

Told my HB about it just now n he tell me not to worry... n remind to confirm our BB's sex with gynae today coz ours supposed to be girl...

Baby Sling:
Have anyone bought your baby sling already?? MIM or BabyB Supplies better huh?

I remember the BayB Supplies website say open from 1 to 5pm only n to call before going but since I happened to down at UBI last week n purposely made a trip there n try my luck hoping to see the display set n see if they're still having any sales but no one was in the office. I loitered around UBI area n called several times till about 2+ 3pm still no one answer so had to give up. = (

Would like to get my sling soon in case need to go out within the 1st 2 months at least can put BB in the sling instead of lugging the stroller.

I think not long ago 1 mummy posted/shared with us a list of things to pack in hospital bag...
Anyone of you has it , can post again??
I wanted to print it out but forget, now I trace back several days cannot find the posting liao...
Pls help to post again if u have.
Thanks a million!

Wenyl,

Actually now that my gynae has put me off ventolin, I am starting to be worried.. yesterday I felt pain as if my cervix is starting to open again and tummy keeps hardening.. I couldn't sleep last night worried that I may be in labor any time..

Clare,
I wanted to buy the baby sling but advise from friends is that wait till bb is two months then bring bb to try.. coz there are many types in the market..

Hi Sunny,
good luck with your appt today!

Cookie,
Dr. Ho assigned a Paed leh, he recommended Dr. Terence Tan from Kinder Clinic, but dunno whether he will be there when bb comes...?

Wenyl,
xin fu nu ren! Have fun on your trip and update us what good bargains are there! You have backaches too? I cannot tahan the throbbing pain...
Dunno whether ICA will accept those makeover photos, though it is a good suggestion hoh? Must find out...

SY,
my gynae recommended and placed bb under one of the Paed at the hospital, but I am comfortable with his choice, as heard good comments about him.
THe buffet at Ritz Carlton is good! So sad, cannot eat, can only stare.. me too, when I stayed there, they had smoked salmon for breakfast... sob sob... had to miss it completely...

Durianlover,
take care! Drink more fluid to drown the flu, and wrap up well! The lady from Bayb supplies called me to ask me what colours I wanted, she said she will mail out today!
Will let you know once I experiment with a doll.

Clare,
scary dream...thank goodness it's only a dream.. think we are thinking more and more about bb coming out, that's why all the funnie dreams start appearing. I bought the MIM sling from Baby Kindgom, haven't use it yet, so dun knwo whether good or not.

Cookie,
I have this list which I downloaded off a singapore website, but it may not be complete...

Things To Bring To The Hospital
A Checklist: Things to take for admission
1) Identity cards for both husband and wife
2) Letter from Gynae
3) Marriage Certificate
4) Deposit monies
5) Booking Slip for admission
6) Camera loaded with film
(to take for normal delivery, not for caesarian. don't use flash at baby's eyes)

For The Mother
1) 3 night dresses, preferably with buttons in front for breast-feeding
2) 1 set dress for going home
3) 1 pair of bedroom slippers
4) 3 nursing brassiere
5) 3 boxes (4 pieces inside each box) disposable maternity panties
6) 1 box of maternity sanitary pad (Kotex recommended)
7) 1 pcs sanitary belt for maternity pad (string use in tying pajamas)
8) 1 box of tissues
9) 1 bag of toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, comb etc) use warm water for washing up.
10) 1 face towel (for general wiping)
11) 4 plastic bags for soiled clothings

For the Baby
1) 3 Blouses/shirts
2) 3 pairs of mittens and booties
3) 3 wrapping blankets (China towels would do fine)
4) 1 packeting of disposable diapers (Pampers New-born recommended)
5) 1 bottle of 'Wet-ones' (Johnsons would do fine)
6) 1 box of tissue papers
7) 5 handkerchiefs (Small type from Chinatown at $1.50 for 12 pcs)

Optional Items
1) Books for reading
2) 1 can of Mama Sustagen (optional). Mummy could be hungry at night after delivery.
3) 1 packet of biscuits (buy those that do not contain eggs for use after delivery)

MorninG MummieS..
So long didn't log in alreadi. How's everyting?
Guess all of us counting down to c our bb.
Anyone delivering at TMC? My bb will be due on 11/1.

BB kicks and moves a lot lately, so cute. We'll sure miss all this.

Wow..Oiishi ne! all those foods mention really tempts!

Sleepingdeer:
Ya bb due on 12th is it? ^^

krissie: yup, my SIL is under pressure to feed bb formula when she's at Gleneagles.

Cookie: my former gynae got state who is the paed when doing the registration for me. The paed is there when I deliver my baby.

Hi all Mummies!!
looks like many of us mummies here loves sashimi! haha will definetly eat tat first thing after my confinement!

like to check w u ladies, anyone of u had this pain @ both side of your tummy when u turns in bed?? i realise tat whenever i turn to my left or right side in bed there will be sharp pain. its really uncomfortable n cant sleep well. is it anything serious? now had oso develop a little rashes @ the bottom of my tummy, cant really see it but w the help of mirror can see some small patches of red rashes.. hopefully these would spread out any more

rena,
why don't you let the doc know abt your symptoms? pain is not a good sign right?

sleepingdeer,
i heard abt dr terence tan before. my colleague went to him but she say long queue cos he's very popular. so after a while she stopped going.

i will ask my gynae for recommendation and source ard as well.

re baby sling
i also intend to buy only after bb is born. let him try out which one he likes.

Hi Rachel,
me also. i guess it's bcos when we sleep left or right tht time, kanna bibi. so bb feel uncomfortable lor. my bb will keep squeezing n kick me if he dun like me sleep tht way.

i also got a bit rashes, but it's ok if not much. Dun touch seafood lor.

Wow! so many posting. Afterward i'm going to see diabetic doctor liao.

krissie - u bought Avent sterilizer liao mah? Robsinson will be having a sales on 29-30 nov. (its only through invitation)
yeah! juz ren 2 more mths n your rashes will be gone.

clare,
yah that was a scary dream. Haha we always hv funny dreams nowadays! That day i also dreamt that my baby kicked so hard that she kicked herself out of my tummy! And it wasn't painful at all...she just literally came out thru my tummy...hmm really weird dream. And she came out looking like a big baby! haha mabbe it's coz my baby always kicks a lot plus she's quite a big baby so i hv this kinda weird dream...

Re: baby sling
my frenz already bought a MIM one for me. But haven't tried it out yet so can't tell whether it's good. But i thot most slings shd be more or less the same?

rachel,
think better check with your gynae on anything that you're not sure abt!

durainlover- yah i think i really hv to write down a list of things tat need to ask my gynae. coz everytime when i see her i will tends to forget and mind go blank haha.

confused- take care n Jia U!!! i had a fren who oso got diabetic when she is carrying her gal. now she is doing well n her gal gal vy healthy. tahan ah!

MH
SO uour hospital bill will also include the paed professional charge?
my gynae also refer a Paed to me, his name is Terence Tan. Maybe I will check with him if the Paed will be there during delivery to take care of baby.

confused..
Dun worry I have a friend she has GD for all her 3 pregnancy and all her babies are well and healthy including herself.
As long as take care of diet I believe things will be fine. Dun worry ok.

sY,

I think the pain is normal as now I am really waiting to labor.. only 32 and half weeks.. very worried but also kan jiong to see him..

The baby sling has various function and various type that is why we must see which one is more comfortable for the baby..

better wait for baby to be at least two months before using the sling .. the sarong type may be dangerous coz baby too small plus first time user , we may not know the correct way to use therefore may be dangerous..

Sleeping deer
Dr Ho also recommend Terence tan to me.
Next appt I must ask him abt whether the paed will be there to ensure baby is fine..
During hospital tour, the nurse never mentioned ley, just said there will be gynae and 2 nurse. One to help baby and one to help me... so I'm thinking then where is the paed or will there be 1.
According to my collegaue she say KKH always accompiened 1 paed during delivery one.

clare
I bought the bayb supplies Sling..dunno good to use of not.. now the tummy in the way like no space to place baby...
MIM and bayb supplies abt the same except bayb one got a extra pounch with zip in front and is longer so I choose that.. cos if I go to market buy things, my purse can place in the pouch and no need to waste 1 hand carrying the purse mah..
Besides I like the colour range of bayb supplies better.

RE :pLastic pin for clothe diaper
i also bought from bayb supplies liao... but I dunno if it's good cos I never practice using it...

Hello ladeis....took a long time to catch up with the long thread....me just came back from the doc...

BB is fine....i put on abt 12.5kg and BB's weight is abt 1.5kg @ 31 weeks

Baby Sling
Saw this sling selling @ Robinson abt $49. Does BayB Supplies sling cost cheaper? My HB was saying to get this when BB is slightly bigger abt 3mths or so...

Food
Yummy, i miss all sorts of sashimi, red wine, gassy drinks, the list goes on.....so must definitely hv all this after confinement and hv it in moderation, for the sake of BB

Hi Sleeping deer,

Thanks for the list! Will use it as my checklist.

For mommies giving birth at NUH, i amend the list as below:-

Things To Bring To The Hospital
A Checklist: Things to take for admission
1) Identity cards for both husband and wife
2) Letter from Gynae
3) Marriage Certificate
4) Deposit monies
5) Booking Slip for admission
6) Camera loaded with film
(to take for normal delivery, not for caesarian. don't use flash at baby's eyes)

For The Mother
1) 3 night dresses, preferably with buttons in front for breast-feeding (Need not cos NUH has it's own hospital gown.)
2) 1 set dress for going home
3) 1 pair of bedroom slippers
4) 3 nursing brassiere
5) 3 boxes (4 pieces inside each box) disposable maternity panties - NUH provide
6) 1 box of maternity sanitary pad (Kotex recommended) - NUH provide
7) 1 pcs sanitary belt for maternity pad (string use in tying pajamas)
8) 1 box of tissues - NUH provide
9) 1 bag of toiletries (toothbrush, toothpaste, comb etc) use warm water for washing up.
10) 1 face towel (for general wiping)
11) 4 plastic bags for soiled clothings

For the Baby
1) 3 Blouses/shirts - 1 set for discharge will do.
2) 3 pairs of mittens and booties
3) 3 wrapping blankets (China towels would do fine) - one receiving blanket will do. In hospital, they wrap baby with those diapers napkins.
4) 1 packeting of disposable diapers (Pampers New-born recommended) - NUH provide
5) 1 bottle of 'Wet-ones' (Johnsons would do fine)
6) 1 box of tissue papers - NUH provide
7) 5 handkerchiefs (Small type from Chinatown at $1.50 for 12 pcs) - For what purpose?

Optional Items
1) Books for reading / CDs
2) 1 can of Mama Sustagen (optional). Mummy could be hungry at night after delivery.
3) 1 packet of biscuits (buy those that do not contain eggs for use after delivery)

In addition, do bring along charger for your handphones, viewcams etc.

For those items i marked provided by NUH - actually at the end of the day, it goes to your bills under miscellaneous items lah. Not free of charge.

cookie: My paed last time was Dr Tan too, will ask my gynae to specify him for this round too. Very reassuring guy but queue is long! his charges is in the baby's bill

hello cookie, rachel n SY - thanks. i juz came back from my doctor appt. Ya! comfirm that i've GD. And doctor ask me to monitor everyday. (got to poke n test my blood sugar level)

missy - may i know wat are the food we can and food we cant eat. Doctor told me the nurse will advise me but she didnt leh. (she seems unfriendly n i dare not ask)

ok! i got to finish my work. Chat with u gals tomoro.