(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

confused - currently one of my gal fren is high in sugar level too. wat i noe fr her is tat she cut down on sweet drinks, mainly go for plain water only. no cake, no sweet, no sweet n sour pork/fish (coz they add quite alot of sugar when cooking this dish). basically even yogurt must be low in sugar content, n so is soya bean drink... hopefully this info is useful to u =)

MH
Thanks for sharing... glad to know that Dr Tan is good

SY,
My gynae did not say when but as I am not taking the pills .. so it may be any time..
I call him today to check if I am able to take some balance pills as I am feeling contractions and pain.. he said ok but to cut down from 2 per time to 1 .. but after the pills I may be in labor any time.. but I pray that it bill be at least next week or so then bb would be 33 weeks..

went for appt. bb's weight is 1.75kg at 32 weeks. doc said her waistline is a bit small. need to monitor closely for the movement....

Hi Jas,
yep, bb is due 12th, but think my due date may shift... coz last scan, doc say 14th instead...

SY/MH,
yah, I heard that Dr Terence Tan's queue is super long too... will try himout and see how...

Cookie,
no problem lah, hee hee, we have same paed... let us know whether paed will be there for the birth or not, ok? You also bought the Bayb fasteners? hope it is good, as I dun wanna use napier pins, scared poke bb...

Durianlover,
wah, your dream super POWER leh, bb can pop out from tummy, hee hee..

Confused,
sorry to hear that, hang in there, just have to dong two months...! Jia you!

Rena,
why your doc want you to stop the pills so early leh? Why not stop at 36 weeks?

Sunny,
your bb weight sounds ok leh, did teh doc say what implication if waistline small?

hi sleepingdeer
hehe.. i didn't ask him leh.
but the radiographer told me that bb's lung/liver (can't remember which one) is now at waistline area. so, i guess doc worried that bb's lung/liver might not develop well if it's waistline is small....

Clare,
I bot the Bayb supplies sling during their sales at $48. Better to go down during weekends. Prefer Bayb ss slings to MIM.... cos its padded, longer (can use as cover when BF), pocket with zip (for light items like hp, keys, $$), nice designs. Just my personal preference.

Rena,
Maybe u shld feedback ur worries to ur gynae regarding the ventolin. Better not to labour so early cos bb still tiny & developing. After 36-37 weeks, safer for baby. Tat's wat my gynae told me when he recently put me on ventolin. Very costly & heart pain for parents if put in ICU for long period.

For me, gynae prescribed to take 2tab/3 times but felt breathless so I reduced to 1 tab/3times from the 2nd day onwards.

Sleepingdeer,
Yap...I got lower backaches & hip pain. Started recently only. ICA shld accept our photos but I tink our fringe mustn't cover face. Better to check with them again.
I also experienced sharp pain on sides of tummy when I toss & turn during sleep.

sunny,
ur bb weight sounds quite ok leh. Mine was 1.64kg at week31+.

I was just saying how glad I'm about my so far smooth pregnancy...
But today, dropped by my gynae's cos my yellow discharged turned darker, with a tinge of brown. He did a swab test, but told me should be nothing much to worry about since I have no itch. Then he checked my blood pressure, was around 150 mm Hg (systolic) and mentioned that it is high. He said that my last visit (about 2 weeks ago, blood pressure was also high at about 150 mm Hg but he wanted to monitor first. Think he's a bit concerned now and ended up taking taking some blood for tests. He said high blood pressure may developed into Preeclampsia which may be a danger to my organs and also affect the baby. If pressure does not improve, will need to deliver early, like at 36th or 37th week. That is like in 3 weeks! Anyway, he also said may not be anything serious since he cannot detect anything wrong in my urine or while scanning the BB. BB now weigh 2kg at 34 weeks.
But now a bit worried loh.

hi queen,
dun worry too much. At least ur baby wld hv crossed the 2kg mark when u deliver n can bring baby home! personally i think 36wks is ok for delivery already - as in baby wld be strong n healthy enough to be brought home
wow but the thought of delivering in like 3 weeks' time sounds really soon! did he say when the blood test results wld be out? wait till results are out first...no point worrying so much yeah?

Sleepingdeer and Wenyl,

Maybe the dosage of the Ventolin he give is to too strong that is why he feels that i should stop taking .. thus he told me that It be be fine if bb were to be out now..

Frankly, Each day I carry my bb in the tummy each day I worry.. Coz I can't see and know what is going on inside..

Therefore I pray that the lord have mercy upon my bb and let bb be strong enough and healthy so that need not be in ICU..

Hi Rena,

You are sure up early!

I know what you mean. I also worried for baby wondering if everything is fine inside my tummy. That's every mummy's worry. You are not alone.

Be strong. I also pray that:-
1. Every mummy will have a smooth and painless delivery.
2. Every baby will be blessed with good health, physically and mentally.
3. Every mummy will be strong physically and mentally to handle the newborn.
4. Let every newborn be a easy baby to take care of.

In jesus name, Amen.

Good morning mummies,

Thanks YUKI for the prayer too! = )

Had my gynae appointment yesterday... am in my 34th week + goin on 35th. Remember me telling all of you my weight gain was minimal during my last apt at only 0.5kg?? Well, yesterday Baby weighs approx 2.1kg (0.6kg gain from 3 weeks ago) n Mummy weighs 64kg (2.5kg gain from last apt!!!)
Comfortating myself now left last month to go only so most likely will NOT hit 70kg n am also trying hard not to look at those flabby thighs n bum in the mirror...

Did a CTG on Baby's heartbeat for 20 mins n so funny sounds really like horse galloping so fast... haha... actual scanning was over in a min n i didn't even have a good look n BB, let alone having chance to ask gynae to confirm again if BB is a girl (i dreamt i gave birth to boy)... so have to wait for next apt in 2 weeks time loh...

thanks Yuki for praying for us all!

clare,
haha i think your baby shd be more or less confirmed a girl at this stage! a bit too late to suddenly become a boy right?
Hee

i think our weight gain now will increase the most, so no worries lah. i was also surprised that i put on 1kg within 12 days! haha.

after hearing abt all your babies' weights, i'm a bit concerned that my baby's too big...hmm 1.9kg at less than 31wks sounds huge as compared to all your babies!

hello mummies

Rachel - thanks for the info. i'll take not of the food.

durainlover - me oso leh. 31 weeks bb weight 2kg.

rena - Dont worry! Everything will go smoothly for us yeah!

queen - Dont gan cheong cos it may affect your blood pressure. My sis friend has very high blood pressure during pregnancy n gynae told her to relax n now she has gave birth liao.

sleepingdeer
I think you can delay doing your i/c till u give birth. My hb took my mths to do it. But, keep receiving the reminders.

Sunny
PLUPPS is a form of rashes I think. Preg-related. I'm not too sure what causes it. Maybe it's the change in our hormones?? Anyway, I couldn't find any material on it on the internet.

Wendyl
Ya, the PLUPPS does sound serious, and it seems to be getting worse.
Sorry for the late reply. I went Malacca once only.. ha ha.. not as familar as SSF.

Durianlover
Thanks for the encouragement. Actually, I only have 6 more weeks to go.

Rena
Wah, you better tell your gynae since u can feel pain the moment u stop the ventolin.

Confused
Thanks. I received it for 30Nov. Which day is yours? I hope they will also have the sale on 29 Nov. Coz I have something on on 30 Nov, so cant go on that day.
Otherwise was thinking of getting it at KidsMall. They's having 20% off now too.

Jas
The last I saw, it's selling for $163.
Last time when there was offer, it was $119.

Sleepingdeer
U mean Dr Ho told u another EDD after the last scan? So far, he nvr mention to me when he thinks bb will come out leh.. hmm.. must ask him next time.

Queen
Dun worry too much lah.. now all u can do is rest and eat well so that bb can grow bigger, so it'll be easier for him if he's early. Rem to sleep on the left. Take care.

thanks yuki for the prayer.

queen,
don't worry too much.
just monitor closely and let nature take its course.

hi Sunny,
oic, never mind, just monitor and see how it goes...we are all nearing the end of the journey already.

Queen,
don't worry, like what durianlover said, once cross 36 weeks, everything should be fine liao... think happy thots, and dun stress at work... our babies are pretty strong to withstand coming out now... of course we all pray that bb stays inside ok and fine until it is time to come out...

Clare,
my hubby cannot believe that you are 64kg at all, say that you are very slim, so dun worry
Just now at dinner at Novena, funnie, we bumped into one of the MTB who attended the same class as us... the lady wearing yellow tee-shirt and specs.. hee hee...

You gynae visits are every 2 weeks now ah? Mine still 4 weeks once...

Krissie,
your hubby delay doing IC for how many months? Think can dong for 6 months? Coz think I will need about that long to shed off all the excess weight..

Yah, think EDD changes as we get closer and closer..

happy today, my Taurus cot, Safe and Sound car seat and Combi NU500 stroller from Baby Kingdom came today..
The guy set the cot up nicely for us, and now in our study room... smells like new fresh wood... hmmm...

Tomorrow, must start packing hospital bag liao... I realise that if bb decides to come at 38 weeks, which is pretty common, that will be in 5 weeks! And I haven't bought ANY breast pump yet!

ANyone buying Ameda Lactaline or Medela PIS? I just cannot decide which to get! I prefer Medela PIS, but just cannot part with the cash... but I have heard really great reviews about it...

sleepingdeer
don't know leh.. maybe 3mths? I ask him later and seeif he rems. I have a 2nd hand pump now. Will consider getting the Ameda or PIS once MS is establised.

Thanks for all your comforting words. Just hope that I don't hear from my gynae for the next 2 weeks when my next appointment is due. if I do, it means my blood test results are no good!

Clare,
I also hit 64kg liao. Weight gain quite fast leh, 2 weeks ago only weigh 62kg. Put on 12.5kg in all already.

Anyone felt pressure on the lower body yet? I was woken up on Sat night by a sharp pain in the lower abdominal and then felt a pressure at my lower body, even near the rectum. Pain in the stomach comes and goes for a while, then ease. Was up half the night because of this. After that I fell asleep liao. Wake up in the morning feeling ok. Last night, I felt the pressure in my perineal / rectum region again. Slight discomfort in my lower abdominal, but didn't last long. Could it be that my BB is already engaged?

Queen
I don't feel pressure at the rectum area, but sometimes there's pressure slight pain on the bladder. I guess it's when bb's weight is there for me. But, my bb's not engaged yet.

sleeping deer
ok..actually I bought the diaper wrap thing and also the plastic diaper clip from bayb supplies.
I'm scare of using safety pin too.

My firend loan me her single Medela pump...I will see if I'm successful in my BF, I will properly purchase Ameda electric pump. me too can't part with my $$$ for the PIS... very expensive ley.
Oh I saw motercare selling PIS at $569/599 last week or so...in case you interested.
I think when dept store has 20% discount good time to buy the pump too.

Re:pain when changing positin in bed
think no long ago 1 mummy mentioned sharp pain at either side of tummy during sleep rite?
Last nite me also experience ley... when turning in bed, think might be the weight of the baby, can feel pain.

Re : still feeling movement at lower abdominal
I'm a little concern ley... at 28weeks my baby head is still on top(not turn yet) while I know probably still have time for baby to turn head and down and engage...but recently remain to feel baby movement at the lower part of tummy so I suspect baby still never turn.
A little concern baby maybe in breech position then got to go for C-section liao...

Yuki
Thanks for the prayer

sunny
what's wrong with small waistline of baby? did gynae explain?

I also feel my baby movement not alot ley... I told my gynae but he says is normal... some baby move more some less...
but I get worried too...all the time...

Hmm seems like many of your Babies hit 2 kg around 31 weeks but mine only hit 2 kg at my ending 34th week... gynae did mention during my last last apt tummy n BB is bit on the small side so guess its mine that is smaller in size not that yours are bigger loh...

Sleepingdeer,
Yes its true i'm 64 kg liao as of last Fri sob sob but at least i'm glad my BB hit 2 kg liao coz we hope BB would be at least 3kg when born... wonder if its possible to grow 1 kg within 1 mth?? Me not that slim lah mostly hidden around my thighs n bum area... cannot imagine when then i can wear my swim suit n "jian(4) ren(2)"...
Dun know if u noticed the mother next to you on the other side is super skinny... her arms n legs are still soo boney n skinny i cannot imagine how she look like before pregnant... really wonder where her pregnancy fats go to... if any at all...

Clare,
my BB is also 2kg at 34 weeks. Gynae said very average weight.

Just wanna check with you all, regarding the hospital bag list posted a few days ago, it seems like have to bring 3 boxes (4 per box) of disposable panties? That's 12 panties! Will we need to change so often?

Also, will we need to bring BB's clothes if delivering at TMC?

sleepingdeer & clare,
do u know when does the Mt A antenatal course end? how many more sessions to go n what's the next session on? hmm i hv a feeling i'll end up wasting my $126 coz i missed 2 sessions n gonna miss somemore coz i hv weddings to attend every week!

queen,
i think the hospital bag list a bit exaggerated..i checked with frenz who've delivered before n they said no need to bring so many things. Just bring 1 pack of disposable panties, n 1 set of baby's clothing enough already (the list stated 3 sets!). For those delivering at Mt A, don't even need to bring diapers or wet wipes coz hospital will provide (of course u'll hv to pay for it but they'll still provide). And for our own pyjamas, i think i'll just bring 2 sets.

Re: pressure
i haven't felt anything yet...perhaps u can check with ur gynae on that? sounds as though your baby's getting engaged though i can't tell coz i haven't experienced it yet!

cookie,
dun worry too much, there's still time for baby's position to change. In fact, i thot i was safe when last visit gynae said my bb's head turned down, but he said bb can still change position! So it doesn't mean that bb's position is fixed yet till the head is engaged

Hi Confused,
I m from Feb MTB and i have GD too. Is yours serious? What is your reading for your GTT?
And to share with you what are the things my gynae told me not to take (I try to remember as much as possible as the list is not with me now):-

Strictly NO SUGAR. even for beverage, take all koso. Avoid Milo, horlick cos got sugar added. No formula milk such as enfamama,anmum...take low fat milk such as HL,daisy cos lower sugar content. so i ask for koso all the time which includes soybean drink. No packet fruits juice. take fresh fruits instead. No ribena also.

All vegetables ok except potato, pumpkin, sweet potato, yam (those starchy rooted) cos high in carbo. so for me, if i take rice or mee, i dun take any more of the above.

Rice-take a small bowl or 1/2 bowl every time. dun take 1 big bowl at a go. same for bread, take wholemeal better and i limit myself to 2 slices at a time.

Avoid deep fried food. i still take but just moderate amount.

limit yourself to 2 teaspoons of bottle sauce, example chilli, ketchup...cos quite high sugar content too.

Fruits avoid durian, banana, grapes, longan, lychee...all these high sugar content. normally i eat only apple, pear, dragonfruits, kiwi, strawberry, watermelon, papaya, honeydew. but i take abt 1-2hr after/before food.

Actually quite easy to know what can eat and what cannot eat. just see the food and ask yourself any sugar added, if yes, avoid. and see whether the food is high carbo or not, if yes, take moderate. take more of protein such as fish, chicken...all these dun add on sugar content. take the opportunity to try out different food when u doing the test so that u will noe what u can eat and not eat.

krissie

thanks for theinfo on the Pigeon steriliser... i got mine at Kiddy Palace at $87.. and also saw at OG selling for the same price yesterday...

Drapolene : in case someone hasnt got it, i saw Watsons selling 2tubes wf free wrist rattle at $7.40. good buy!!!

Skin darkening : hmm... alittle embaressing to ask tis actuali, but then i was too overwhelemed wf sadness tat i hav to ask... anyone of u noticed skin darkening ard the 'V' area as in the genitals? oh my, i just saw tat it has become considerably dark and i cried for so long
...looks real horrible... though i read from the net tat its common to get it at underarms, genitals and inner thighs...but stil, i couldnt accept it, cos its so horrid looking... dare not ask HB to help me apply cream now, told him i will do it myself!!!
kao_sad2.gif

Good Morning to all mummies!
last nite went to watch harry potter... think it's my first movie since preggie... and true enough baby has lotsa movement perhaps the Cinema effect is too noisy for her

Queen,

I think the bb is engage to be prepared to come out.. That was how I felt the previously.. but dun worry it will take about 1 -2 weeks more before he will decide to come out.. however try to ask you gynae for advise..

I am have the same pressure and pain now as you know I am prepared to labor anytime.. I just couldn't sleep well and mood is so bad that I scold hubby for nothing..

clare,

Dun worry mine bb is only 1.8kg at 32 weeks..

Dear al,

Do we have to sterlize our new breast pump before use?
I am not sure if I want to bring to hospital..

Stess!!!!

god's child
u are not alone.. I also noticed skin darkening in the areas you mentioned... dunno whether will it go away or not.
Aiya that day I bought from Giant 1 tube drapolene $4.00
should have gone to check out Watson

Durainlove
Hope your bb will continue to be head down...
ya hope she chage position in my next visit..
hey I think MAH have class on Tues/Wed/Friday and Sat... if u have appt for that day change to something else. esp if u attend weekday class, very little couples so easy to change.
personally I find the pre-natal class very useful, think the 4th class is Wholly on breast feeding which is very beneficial... try to attend or worse come to worse check with MAH whether they allow u to atten the next run for classes u missed. maybe they allow ley...
Sometimes Ask and it will be given!

cookie,
Dun worry of bb not turning.. mine turn down at 28 weeks and turn up again 31 weeks.. now trying to talk to him to turn down again if not I may have to go for C-section if labor these few days... I am really gan keong and worried..

hi morning mummies!!

so many posts to catch up!

re: robinsons sale:
my invite is for the 29th
so will be popping by and maybe even see some of you there!

queen,
try not to be too worried cos worrying will increase your blood pressue. think your gynae will monitor you more closely from now on. my hb's ex boss got the preeclampsia condition. it was quite sudden for her. at least your gynae tried to pre-empt it. may not even develop into preeclampsia. so try to relax

yuki,
thanks for the prayer!! feel so comforted.

cookie,
i also went to watch harry potter!! the movie so long and i wanted to go toilet so much!!

queen,
i also feel the pressure. dunno whether my bb will engage early. my lower back pain has been getting worse and it's very near the rectum and sometimes i feel that baby is pushing me just above the vaginal area. then even when i walk, i can't walk properly cos of the pressure. i told a colleague and she told me not to walk too much cos there may be chance that bb will engage early. my baby's head has always been facing down in my last 2 visits. think will ask my gynae next time.

my cot came yesterday also and now arguing with hubby on whether to put in our room when bb is born. he said it's going to be tight but i said it's temporary. anyway, will try harder to get him to agree!

rena,
is the pressure and pain that i feel what you are feeling? i read in the dec thread that some mothers feel really bad tempered before they labor....

SY,

The best trick is to put the cot in the other room then when the bb comes along he will agree to place it in your rooom.. but every you will have to tell him things like.." dunno if bb cry can hear or not?" what if bb suddenly wake up??

That is what I did and finally he agree after 2 months ..
Hee hee..

I am not too sure if it is the same.. but gynae mention that bb is pressing on the cervix that is why.. ppl with strong cervix do not need to worry..

my temper is bad only for today.. due to not sleeping well and pain at the cervix plus kan cheong that I may not make it on time to the hospital..

rena,
haha, that's a good idea. but the maid will probably be sleeping in that room. he say ask the maid to wake me up!! arggghh...i thought maybe during labor then i get him to agree...ha during that time shd be easy to get my way..

hmm, i think i will ask gynae this sat. cos the pressure can be quite disturbing esp when walking.

you pack your bag already?

God's child,
Er.. actually I never go check leh. But underarms definitely darkened. Already have dark underarms to begin with.
But now that you mentioned the 'V' genitals region, I'll go check tonight. But a bit difficult to bend over and see right? Unless you referring to inner thighs region?

Rena,
But the pressure at my perineal/rectum region is not constant. Comes and goes. More obvious when I sit on the toilet bowl or sometimes when lying on my side.

That's why now quite gan cheong. Got high blood pressure and now BB may be engaged already. Dunno whether the BB will pop early or not. So last weekend I washed all the BB clothes and started packing the hospital bed. Just in case my gynae suddenly say have to deliver or BB pop early on his own.

Re. breast pump
Read from the Avent booklet that have to wash and sterilize before use. If you are referring to the manual pump, it is advised to sterilize at home and then use some of the covers provided to keep it clean.

Cookie,
Don't worry about the BB position yet. Plenty of time to change position. Lower part movements could be due to hands? My BB in head down position, but can still feel movement both upper and lower parts of the tummy.
I also watched Harry Potter last week. BB moved a lot. Think maybe can hear the loud sound effects. Makes me wonder whether it's bad for his hearing.

Wenyl / Durianlover,
Yah loh, I also think the list is quite exaggerated. Can't imagine having to use 12 disposable panties in 2 or 3 days??? Ok. So won't bring anything for the BB.

rena,
true, i told my hb must bring this and that and he said he can always go back and get.... ha...if i let him go that is..

SY,
You feel the pressure too? Hmm... I think we all best be prepared now! Yah loh, my Gynae asked me whether I have heard of preeclampsia, I said never. He explained a bit and then I went home to surf the internet. I don't know whether I have it already, maybe my blood test will show. But there's no known cure for it before delivery. Best 'cure' is to deliver earlier. Cos blood pressure will naturally lower after delivery. Not really worried now since I don't feel any related symptoms. So I try not to think about it!

Re. Robinsons' sale
I'll defninitely be there! But most probably to buy christmas tree. think BB stuff bought enough already.

queen,
i read quite a bit about preclampsia. you are right. no cure for it. only cure is to deliver the baby. good that you don't feel any symptoms yet so hopefully your blood test will be ok.

yah, i feel that not much stuff to buy for bb already. so maybe will get some other stuff too! time to buy stuff for myself...

Rena
dun worry...things will be alright..
I read from book, try to stay in Crawl position or kneel on all 4 with bottom higher then head postion for 10 mins every day will encourage baby to be in right position..
I tok wanna start trying tonight...

SY
ya lor.. 2hr 30 mins show... I watch 10pm show last nite... so tired after that. My HB din know show so long that's y bought the late ticket *faint*