(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Cookie,
I was tinkg of bringing own pump cos mine is the single pump, very compact & light. If need to use, I can start straightaway by asking the nurse teach me on the spot.

I also standby the Tollyjoy travelpack whenever I bring my dog out for outings. Hvnt open the big dispenser yet. Keeping tat one for baby home use. Simply lurve the baby smell. Dun like the anti-viral ones thou.

Thanks cookie! M&S got sales? I was at the Wheelock place branch last Saturday and checked on the nursing bra ($120 for 2). I agree very ex, so didn't even try. $30 is a good buy! Was thinking of mothercare as I bought their maternity bra and found them very comfortable... Never tried M&S bra.

been really busy these few days no time to log on.

sleepingdeer,
haha i didn't go for the Mt A class on Sat coz was too tired! And i won't be able to make it for the class this Sat either coz of work commitments. Oh no...seems like i'll be missing all the exercise lessons. Did u gals manage to spot each other last sat? And wat was the session about?

wenyl,
i'm also taking ventolin. Yes side effects are trembling hands and heart beating very fast. But after some time i experience less of these side effects...i think my body is getting used to it already
But my dosage v little - only half a tablet 2 times daily. Then nighttime is another different tablet but i think it's still ventolin.

Hi Confused and curly,

My gynae didn;t say anything about the urine test which i have to do on every checkup.

She also didn;t say the baby is too big. In fact she say by full term, will be about 3kg and that's just nice for a baby gal.........

Her estimate quite accurate. For my last pregnancy, she also say my gal will be about 3kg when born and when she was born (exactly 40 weeks), she was 3kg....

Wenyl: the hospital will provide the pump which is hospital-grade..so think will be bettre?

cookie: I stayed in MAH 2 bedder last time and they bring my baby to breastfeed when the baby is hungry even in the early morning. Please remember to say that you want to total breastfeed.

Re. Pressure on feet
Me too! Mine more on my left feet. Now got cracked heels and dry skin.

Re. BB's weight and personal weight
I'm passed 60kg too! Was ~51 kg pre-preggy. Now probably going on 63kg liao.
Realised that different gynaes have differnent opinions on what is considered ideal BB size. So I think do not have to be overly worried if BB still falls within normal range.

Re. Gynae
Read that some of your gynae's seems a bit eager to collect money. I'm quite happy with my gynae. Throughout my visits, he has never charged extras. Like when he got this new 3D machine recently, he'll always show us the 3D scans and print out pictures for us for free. And he'll encourage going without epidural cos he says all drugs comes with side effects no matter how 'safe' it purports to be. And 1st time mummies should always try without epidural. Cos it could be a rewarding and satisfying experience having to feel the hardship of giving birth. And he also mentioned that don't take epidural can save money loh! He also encourages us to book for 4-bedded at TMC cos he gets to upgrade us for free to 2nd-bedded. And say not worth it to stay in single bed for 2 days (can save ~$800). And should there be complications, 2-bedded is more affordable. So far, he hasn't mentioned about collecting deposit for the room etc. Thought sometimes, I find his sessions a bit rushed (cos he has so many patients!), but don't get the feeling that he wants to chop chop finish and push us out of his office. Quite good lah, my gynae. I'll definitely go back to him for my next pregnancy. Plus, his package is quite afforadable, I think $550 till full term excl. delivery fees.
Haha... like advertising for my gynae hor?

BTW,
has anyone taken photos already? Still thinking whether to spend money on photos leh, cos yesterday I looked at myself in the mirror, suddenly feel that my nose has really grown quite big while the rest of my face never change.

hi all- so happy going to take leave this coming fri and gg malacca for a short trip. hehee..wanna buy some last minute baby stuffs and go relax. since i don;t want to travel by plane or ship..by car is the easiest. take passport and then go
no need to ask gynae for any letter.

i haven't pack my bag or wash baby clothes yet. have yet to buy the detergent. may go malacca and buy pureen brand. see how the price goes coz kodomo brand is so ex and the refill pack does not come with a bottle. so must buy refill and then the bottles as well. so ma fan. anyone bot pureen brand? any comments?

also my frds who said want to pass me some hand me down have not given me yet.i also pai seh to ask. maybe i shld start buying for my baby. what is the minimum i shld get, how many pyjamas, mittens? anythg else?

so many posts to catch up!

today's weather so nice for sleeping but i din get to sleep in late. hubby sick since yesterday and today on leave to take care of him. still got to try to do some work...
a bit sian cos he just came back from overseas and now he sick so can't spend quality time together....

cookie
did i tell u my EDD is now 29 Jan??

re PJ
i have 3 PJ so far. think shd be enough. for KK, i know my fren din need to bring cos they provided the PJ for her stay.

queen,
my nose also swollen....that's the first thing pple notice abt me...

SSF,
so nice, going on trip again. you haven bought any baby clothes yet? dun buy too many NB clothes. for mittens, think need to get more cos they change quite frequently initially. i got 8 pairs of mittens and booties.

for PJ, i din get too many long sleeve cos i have this wrap that i can use when he's sleeping. get tops that have buttons instead of wearing over the head.

SY and Queen,
yes, I notice that my nose getting bigger as well. was commenting to my hubby yesterday. one of my ex-colleagues had a big nose towards the end of her pregnancy, so scary.

Queen,
I also have cracked heels. was so surprised to see that because all the time I have very nice and good complexion including the heels.
I heard about your gynae. His charges is one of the lowest in town.

Yuki, think 3kg is an ideal size. Hope my bb wont grow too big.... will want to avoid c-section as much as possible.... Gynae asked if I had thought how I want to deliver...

confused, did Dr Chew said anything abt how you want to deliver?

Well curly, At least your gynae asked you.. as it is your birth , therefor you should have the right to make the decision tha tyou want..

Wenyl,
My case is rather different as I have very bad pain as if I am going to give bith . that is why he decided to check me.

SSF,
Dun buy Pureen wet ones.. the last time I went in to by alot but realise that after being left unuse there is a smell.. plus after cleaning the after smell that mingles on your hand is terrible.. Ty to by annaku.. cheap and good..

Queen

i have ballooned all over from my face to my feet!!!
kao_angry.gif
but stil, i wana take pics to keep for memory's sake and tell Baby Celeste the 'tong ku' i went through to have her..haha HB and i decided to go Sentosa on Friday for a mini break as well as take pics there...

mongs,
one of my colleagues ask whether all the facial changes will go back to normal after birth..i told her it better be that case or i will feel so sad!! looking at my old photos the other day and realise my face change quite a bit...

SY

i also was looking at my honeymoon pics over the weekend and was reali shocked at hw much i have changed!!! din realise it was so bad... cos was looking at myself everyday mah... but now looking back at the pics... GOSH... tats alot of difference... suddenly i just became a 'ba4 zhang3' - dumpling... i hope i can stil fit into my hipster jeans, esp my 593... *sob*

yuki - oic. that mean your sugar level ok. Mine ah! sometime high n sometime ok only.

curly - no leh. Dr Chew only say that my bb is big n if too big i'll have early delivery. is it bcos i'm still early? ('m 32 weeks liao. how abt u?) or maybe he knows that i definitely have to go through c-section n dont want to scare me.

confused..my sugar level too. must ctrl my diet lor. so sianz. i bot the test kit and test myself every week and report to gynae.

SY,
my colleague face went back to her pre-pregnacy shape so I don't think we need to be too concerned. of course that is provided we can slim down to pre-pregnancy weight. I know of some colleagues who can't no matter what.

Rena, I suppose so.... my only worry is bb too big then will have to have c-section....

confused, I just hit 30 wks yesterday. Why you say definitely c-section? He only said if bb's head reach 10 cm then better consider c-section. I wonder if he's ok working with a birth plan?

wenyl, I'm also on ventolin (1/2 tablet twice a day) ever since my first appointment. It's to help to relax my uterus muscle as I had 3 previous miscarriage...

curly,
I c. For me, I just started taking today. Can feel a bit breathless & heartbeat faster than usual. Tinking of reducing to 1 tab/3 times tomorrow & continue to monitor.

Hi Wenyl

I'm also taking Ventolin 1 tab 3x a day. Lucky me. No side effects. I've been spreading out the tablets so that it's not too close to each other. Like 9am, 3pm, 10pm before i sleep.

curly,
did your gynae mentioned the diameter of your baby's head at 30 weeks? mine was 8cm at 31 weeks then he mentioned about c-section if it's more than 10 cm. worried that my baby head will be in the 90 percentile because my niece and nephew have rather big heads as well.

hello,
just wan to have a poll.. have u all been measuring your tummy size? mine is currently at 85cm.. do u think its small? i find it abit tho.. ever since gynae mentioned on my last chk up that my bb is slightly below avg size now.. think i m behaving paranoid and worried that bb is not growing well.. all the previous chk up, bb had been avg size until the last chk up at 33 weeks..

so what's ur tummy size??

hi edd
don't be too worry. the measurement could vary according to bb's position, too.

last month when i measured, it's about 88 cm.
just eat and rest well. bb would be fine.

Hi Mummies....Good Morning!
I experienced sharp pain on my left side of the pelvic area last nite
....tot am going to go into labour!! Was quite scared coz have not experienced this kind of pain before....Does anyone experience such pain before? I need advise....My HB was quite worried and asked me to go to the doc last nite (already 10+pm), told him mayb BB is in an uncomfortable position, so sat up on the bed and felt better awhile later.

Is this Braxton Hicks? These days tummy felt tight too...

Morning all..

wat a cooooll weather... first time i actuali have to get my quilt on me in months ever since preggie...getting cold these days, beta up our Vit C and prevent gettng the cold/flu...

yest went Courts and bought thermo airport, was oni $39 for 3.9litres - Cornell... mil using tat and said not bad,so one item down...today is JL sale... be heading down after work too.. hopefully can get good buys...

edd,
think tummy size measurement is not a accurate measurement coz it depends on the mummies as well. if the food goes to the mummies, their tummy maybe big as well and it may not be the baby. dun worry too much. your doc is aware of your baby size and he did not ask you to do anything right? worrying is the last thing you should do.

Yvonne, no experience with pain at pelvic area yet. though I do feel that my tummy is tighter these days esp near my ribs, sometimes, I feel so uncomfortable, keep rubbing to stretch and relax the skin there. I keep imagining that my baby has no space to move but surprisingly she sometimes still have big movements. wonder where she find the space.

wendyl
ya agree I also like tolly joy's smell... heehee my dog smell like baby after the wipe :p

Curly
I also tried mother care's nursing bra, Oh mothercare outlet at KKH is having sale, 1 pc for $27, 2 for $56... when I visit outlet in town, they dun offer the same discount.
But personally I find mother care's nursing bra the support not as good as the one I bought from M&S and the shape of the breast not so nice too :p that's why I prefer M&S and never buy the mother care one although it's slightly cheaper.

Rena
Wow your gynae charges is more reasonable then mine. for my package start from 16weeks cost $600 no need to pay for consultation and scan also.
i read good comment about my gynae therefore I choose him...if he is good, I suppose it's ok la.

MH
thanks for sharing with me on MAH... so gald to hear that, Ok will remember to tell them total BF.
If 2 bedder also can total BF then I think will choose that. Anyway my EDD 29 Jan, if baby is right on time... CNY think not much pple will come visit me except my family members so 2 bedder should be ok ba...

SY
wow we are the same EDD liao... Must remember to leave me your contact no ley...must sms each other when we deliver...kekeke

Oh dun worry... my freind used to be very slim then preggie increase 22 kg... now she left with 2 kg to go to pre-preg weight and she still looks the same, face and body so dun worry.

yvonne
I have pain around pelvic area for a couple of weeks liao.. usually when stand on 1 leg will feel the pain more and when changing position in bed. Tho not sharp pain but it's a persistent pain when at certain position.
My gynae said it's normal due to tummy bigger some soft tissue will encounter these pain...

Dunno if you pain same as mine...

Mongs,
Yes, BB nowadays is SUPER DUPER ACTIVE! sometimes the movement is really unexpected (like a "swash" of the hand or leg or elbow....) furthermore, tummy very tight....scare my tummy can't take "big action" of BB...hahahahaaa

Cookie,
well...think i better check with my gynae on my coming visit this Friday....1st time mama, so quite scared, kan cheong & unsure @ times....at least u hv experienced this before, tot am the only one with this pain....

SY, Queen & Mongs,
it's normal for nose to swell, so no worries as it'll go off after delivery! but i've not experienced any swelling so far. i can't help but wonder is it coz i'm expecting a girl that's why no changes to face? anyway dun worry too much, my frens all became prettier after giving birth coz face goes back to normal!

wenyl,
i was on ventolin after experiencing some early contractions n pain. So gynae asked me to take to prevent premature delivery.

edd2jan,
hee i haven't measured my tummy size. But i think it's subjective right? also kinda depends on ur waist size before preggie!

yvonne,
better check with your gynae to be safe. When i experienced pain, it wasn't sharp pain. It was just overall slightly painful.

What a lovely morning to really laze in bed! That's what I did until cannot spare the time anymore to get ready for work.

Gynae has been measuring my tummy size since 22 weeks but I always forget to ask him the measurements. Maybe will ask him on Mon when I see him (if I rem :p).

Baby has been active since he hit 33 weeks last week. Today, he's 34 weeks! Now, all four corners of tummy moves and major movements. Like HB said "He's finding a comfy position." Baby's head at 32 weeks was already 8cm in diameter.

cookie: we share the same edd...who knows we might be labour mate or room mate...:p

yvonne: go to c ur gynae if it is really uncomfortable...

yvonne,

my suggestion to you is to move your appointment and see you gynae eariler.. you will never know what will happen.. for my case , I felt the pain and tot I was going into labor .. so I went to see my gynae eariler andhe found that my cervix has open by 2 cm..
better take precaution..

durianlover,
I am carrying a gal but my nose is still bigger.

sysac, when is your next visit to your gynae? did he say that you need to go for c-section if the baby head is 10cm? going to c gynae next week when I will be 34 weeks, hopefully my baby head will not 10cm yet.

cookie,
yah, will email u my number..maybe we go in same day and come out same day...hee, then won't be bored during ML already

durianlover,
i also dunno why my EDD changed. he changed it quite sometime back. dunno whether anything to do with size of bb.

eddjan2,
dun be too worried. my baby is even smaller but my fren has explained to me that as long as gynae is not worried, i shouldn't be too worried. cos it is due to genetic makeup of bb. mine was already smaller than average since 24 weeks.

yvonne,
i get pain too but mine is like those muscle cramp kind of pain. it goes away after i rub for some time...

today is such a nice day to be in bed. feel so tired today. spent the whole day taking care of hubby until today i so tired.

Morning gals...

didnt't know tat need to know the bb head diameter to see if needed c-section... will check with gynae when next visit.

cookie - me forgot to check for you... it slip off my mind... so sorrie.. you should be able to check with them thru their tel no... or maybe ur next lesson...

me last nite also experience very tight contraction... i was so frightened but it went off after a while... so should be nothing la...

SY,
so sweet of you to take care of your hubby even now when preggie! Heh. Yes it's a nice day to just laze in bed

any of you find that you're sleeping more than usual these few days?? i've been sleeping like a pig! on the average 10 hours a day...hee so terrible right...feel like i waste away half of my day just by sleeping!

edd2jan,
Mine's abt 87cm, coming 32week. Many comment say my tummy still look very small. Maybe its the way its shape. Dun worry. Just make sure we eat well.

Yvonne,
I started experiencing sharp pain at the sides, near pelvic area & tightening of tummy since last week. Yes, tat's probably Braxton Hicks. So gynae put me on ventolin, to prevent preterm labour. So since last week, I stopped hsework like mopping, scrubbing of toilet, long walks but gynae still encourage me to continue to go for relax swim.

durianlover,
no choice also lah. he was quite sick n actually agreed to take MC. so i ended up cooking all meals, do laundry etc. so now feel very tired.

pochacco,
good idea. we can collate the mobile numbers. how do you wan to do it? start an excel spreadsheet?

Durianlover/MH/Rena/SY
The pain wasn't persistent...however will definitely bring the topic up to gynae. Well, my gynae is only available on every Wednesdays & Fridays, this Wednesday is out coz he's fully booked! so no choice wait till Friday loh...
kao_sad2.gif

Sleep...yes, feel more tired easily these days and would fall asleep within 10mins on the bed....sometimes, BB will move in the nite then hv to sit up like 2am in the morning, until BB quiet down then lie down & continue to sleep again....

Delivery...would it be a good idea to wear socks into the delivery suite? coz, aircon quite cold leh

yvonne,
maybe drop an email to your gynae describing the pain that you felt? i usually do that if i can't get to see him yet and if i feel worried.

durianlover/yvonne,
i don't fall asleep so fast. in fact, got trouble sleeping and kept waking up..

yvonne,
my fren said shd bring socks coz delivery room can be quite cold.

pochacco,
yah can collate mobile nos. i think it's gd idea too! so if 1 of us suddenly goes into labour, we can inform 1 other person and that 1 other person can update us all on the forum!

SY,
wow u still do housework and cook. i've been like a pig since some time ago..no more housework...even washing dishes i also ask my hubby to do. heehee
but glad that my hubby willingly does it for me! coz he somehow thinks that housework may bring on preterm labour for me.