(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SY, I think you have right. my uterus must be expanding quite a bit today. suddenly see that my tummy has grown quite a lot and suddenly baby active and the pain at the breastbone. think baby has a lot more space compared to yesterday and she is happily adjusting around.

cookie,
ya, it happened to 2 of my colleagues, natural initially then c-section because the dilation was taking too long. ok lah, not too expensive, they took 2 bedder, think about 4k plus a bit.
it's true that a lot of time, we can't control what is going to happen. we can only prepare ourselves and plan in advance. take a step at the time. I think the impt thing is to be calm and relaxed even during labour when fear and worries seems to engulf us. I think a relaxed mind and body will speed up the labour. however, it's easier said than done. haha!

durianlover,
what my fren did is to go for something like b class ward and then upgrade after the birth if no complications...

As the due date draws nearer, we will get worried and anxiuos about everything. For my previous pregnancy, i was also very excited and scared (Still do now...) Every little syntom and i thot i was going to give birth etc and pray very very hard that it will not be the case cos if not, baby will be premature. By the time i reached 38th week, i start to panic why wasn;t anything happening etc....And finally when i nearly reach 40th week - i start to worry about being overdue and thuis need to induce baby or go for c-section etc....... The worry never ends....
Even now, second pregnancy - also worried.

For my case, even after the water bag burst, i dilate only 1cm and upon reaching the hospital, they insert tablet to hasten the dilation process. They didn;t wait to see if i dilate, just insert tablet when they see i dilated only 1 cm. I think the general guide is that after water bag burst, must give birth within 24 hrs. But after inserting the tablet, it took me quite a while to dilate too. After 4 hours, dilated only 2cm but started to have strong contractions pain. Ask for epidural and the rest is history.........

As for the episotomy cut, because of the epidural, i didn;t feel anything at all. Hubby did described to me later..... basically just a cut and the blood gush out, blar blar blar....... He was shocked when he sees that i am expressionless when gynae cuts...... I didn't feel any pain thereafter.

One of my friend planed for naturally too but baby can't come out. In the end, she tried everything. Forcups to try to get baby out, failed, so try vacuum, failed, in the end go for c-section........... I almost faint when i heard it. Wasn't pregnant then.....

Hi SY,

As explained, becasue my dilation too so long, i reckon i wouldn't be unable to endure the contractions pain for another 4-6 hours so i asked for epidural. Was able to even sleep after epidural and wake up just in time to push the baby out. I think it must be the rest i had that help.... i pushed twice and baby is out.

There are some side effects of epidural thou. I shiver like mad, asked for three blankets.... and vomitted after i gave birth.

Rena
I PM u on my contact no. too!

Durainlove
your concern is also mine, if there are any complication the hospitalisation bill is gng to be big and bigger if we are in 1 bedder...

SY/clare
Episotomy make my hair stand too!!! scare scare...

Mong
ya easier said then done... I plan to go for non-epidural... hahaha dunno what will become of me... maybe last min I will chicken out...
4K plus in cash or before medisave deduction??

Kriss
BTW did u watch any video on Epidural procedure during antenatal class??
I never get to watch ley... strange... looks like not all antenatal show the video to MTB.

Yuki
Thanks for sharing....

Wow, so many information on Episotomy... me make me feel more relax about it... my mum who gone thru natural without any help tell me tat she rather the doc to cut to speed up the process as labour pain really too far exceed it.

Cookie - i have called mt a to check on the pre-admission alreadi... they say this is jus to speed up the admission process. i at the same time help you to ask about bb room in, she was saying it is ok to bf but cannot room in...

yuki,
thanks for sharing. think it helps us when we hear experienced mothers talk abt it.

i just tell myself be open to epidural and c-section if really needed. so won't stress myself too much over it!

cookie, durianlover,
one of my colleague's wife tried natural, induced and finally c-section and the total bill came up to quite a lot. they went to negotiate and some personnel helped them to reduce the bill by about 2K. think must really talk to gynae before hand on what is the best birth option. my fren initially found it hard to accept c-section but after her c-section, she says she completely support it cos it was so straightforward.

mongs, he didn't tell us the diameter leh... only said that if reached 10 cm then got to consider c-section.

Thanks cookie! Then maybe I should try M&S nursing bra. I was at Wheelock Place again today and guess the nursing bra already out of stock!

Yah Rena, this is my first successful pregnancy after 3 miscarriages (miscarried in Mar 04 @ 7wk+, Jun 04 @ 5wk+ and Feb 05 @ 4wk).... Will pm you my contacts later.

Re c-section, can don't go for full GA. My cousin and 2 other friends were conscious during the whole process! No pain but can feel the pulling!

Curly,
The thot of partial GA from C-section also vert scary leh... imagine if GA not yet effective... FAINTZ ah....

Aiyo i think i really very timid hor?? Episotomy scared... half GA also scared...

Clare, you are not the only one.. Sound really scary but my cousin said it's nothing bec couldn't feel the pain at all! The other gf said she saw the whole process from the lighting above as she was lying on there! Think I'll faint too.

Is there anything we can do to avoid episotomy? Maybe by doing kegel exercise??

clare u're not the only one. i'm also scared of partial GA & episotomy...if i really hv to go for c-section i'll opt for full GA! can't imagine the thought of feeling the gynae cut me up and pulling baby out...yikes...

SY & cookie,
ya i know of pple who opt for 2-bedder first, then upgrade to 1-bedder after delivery. But that's subject to availability. And it's free upgrade if 1-bedder still available. But unfortunately it's not always available...hmm i think i'll discuss with gynae and see how. Dun wanna end up spending too much money on hosp fees!

HI Ladies,
wow, so many postings today...

Lats night had a bad night, was having very bad backache at at right middle back... and in the middle of the night, couldn't sleep... worst of all, bb wasn't moving at all for about 1/2 hour, and i got gan cheong... woke up my hubby, and we tried all sort of things, including shining torchlight at my belly... in the end she started moving, whew!

So today, took urgent leave, coz sooo sleepy...

It's good idea to consolidate the numbers, Rena,
I will PM you my contact as well...

Mongs,
yep, my bb gets hicupps almost every day... i read that it's a reflex action for them to practise how to suckle...

SY,
the rasberry tea ($4.60 one) from Plant and Planet is a very small pack, can easily mail...I will try to start drinking soon...

Yvonne,
take care till your check up, don't worry, I got painful movement on my right side yesterday night too! Pretty uncomfortable...

SY/Clare,
I am another one who freak out when I heard about the cut... yeeks! I so badly want to try natural without Epidural, but dun think I can tahan pain that bad... now can only walk more, and do more excerises to perhaps shorten the labour!

Durianlover,
last lesson, we did excerises to help to strengthen our abdominal muscles, pelvic muscles etc... hubbies also learn some massage technques... next lesson, think we are going to go more into things we can do during labour... you cannot go ah? Maybe can try to switch to weekday classes?

sleepingdeer,
wow nice to take leave today considering weather so gd for sleeping!

i called up Mt A, wanted to change to weekday class, but realised that i'm also packed for wkdays nites for this wk! So no choice think i'll hv to go for makeup class next month instead. Pity i missed the exercise session coz i've been asking my hb to massage me but he doesn't know how to!

sleepingdeer,
think i must go and get the tea soon. hope it helps during labour!

any mummies who want me to help get, let me know.

durianlover/sleepingdeer,
i haven't been doing the kegel also. better start doing....

today baby move very little...dunno why. think if tmr still like that must go and check already. hope he gets scared and quickly move

clare/curly
my fren opted for epidural during c-section. she say can feel the pushing of the baby but other than that it's ok. initially she din want to do partial but she really wanted to see baby immediately....

MOrning ladies,
another rainy day... now feel that I am getting more and more tired by the day.... still have 8 weeks to go!

Durianlover,
nevermind, if can go for December makeup classes, not so bad...

SY,
Yep, have to do kegels, especially for me, coz I do sometimes leak if I sneeze or cough too hard..

Rena,
PM you my details already...

ya, sleepingdeer, I am also feeling more tired these days. slept at 11pm, quite deep sleep. woke up once only to go toilet.

Cookie,
the 4k is before the medisave deduction.

Curly,
to avoid episiotomy or tearing, many midwives recommend massaging the perineum (the area around your vagina) to help prevent tearing during childbirth, but not everyone is comfortable with doing that. I think it's better to ask your gynae before you do the exercise because I read that sometimes infection may set in if not done correctly.

Kegel exercise or pelvic floor exercises is to strengthen the muscles of the vaginal canal, mainly to prevent incontinence after delivery and also to make vaginal delivery during childbirth easier.

SY
did your friend manage to BF int he delivery ward straight away?
So I suppose it's no pain... was it scary cos can hear all the equipment ready to open up the tummy...
If I no choice c-section... I tok of epidural C too

Pochacco
thanks for checking...*muack*

Curly
The last time I went centrepoint outlet only left a few pc. You must tell them it's Sales item and the nursing bra is 1 pc per pack! think they keep the sale item separately.
hmm... Paragon may have too but I think the sale item has been sale for a while stock left not much.
Aiya forgot to mention... u should have ask the M&S counter staff to help call paragon & centrepoint to see if they have stock. If positive then u go over. They are pretty helpful.
Glad to know there ARE pple gng for half GA...
worse come to worse I may opt for that...

durainlover
u are nto alone.. I tried to do regualrly but also forgot. But whenever I watch TV, I try to do them... quick and slow..

RE: pain relief for natural
I survey among my colleagues... they are mother of 3 kids and 4 kids (2 of them are twins)...they are very proud for not opting for Epidural and I noticed both of them took the Gas treatment...
1 of them told me for her 1st child she din use it the proper way that's why not effective, but for the 2nd and 3rd child she got the hang of it and find it really effective.
and for them... no feeling of light headed or vomit..

JL sales
for mummy who went last nite...
ANy good deal on Wet wipe??

The idea is to be open to other options. A friend of mine wanted natural and ws ok till towards the end of her due date........ Gynae says her baby is getting big and her cervix is very tight. Even if try natural, most likely end up with c-section. So her gynae advise her to opt for c-section rather than to try natural.... She couldn't accept the idea and nearly slip into depression because of that...... Had a hard time convincing her either way is ok as long as baby is fine........ Most important is baby's health....I was so worried that if she didn;t get out of her depression fast, she may get post natal depression.....

So just keep all options open.....

rena,
you mean we can't do kegels now?

cookie,
my fren din manage to BF immediately. i dunno how true is this but some say for those who do c-section, milk supply takes longer to establish. but another fren told me it's not true and just got to keep trying.

initially she also worried abt being able to hear all the equipment but after that she say she think c-section is a good idea cos really fast and u r prepared for it.

i agree with yuki. the idea is to be open to other options. of cos if i can, i will want to do natural but if no choice, have to go for the next best option.

Regarding whether to go natural, I think unless the gynae advises beforehand or even during labour that have to go C-sect, should always try natural. Cos better for the Mummy herself. As for whether to take epidural, no need to think so much lah. Can never know how painful or how long the labour will be when it's our turn. Decide only when we are in labour ourselves! Just be open to the idea of taking and not taking epidural loh. I have a friend who has 6 hours of labour with absolutely NO pain relief, no gas, no epidural. I also have a friend who opted for epidural immediately when the strong contractions started. Very individual one lah. No need to think so much now. Just make sure we take carre of ourselves so that our BB don't pop prematurely!

Now having mixed feeling leh, on one hand scared that BB will come prematurely knowing that BB will be weak. But on the other hand, kind of can't wait for the BB to come out leh!

queen,
I totally agree with you as I am having this feeling now.. I will be seeing my gynae tomorrow.. hopefully baby turn down and stay there.. somehow I am rather tired of pregnancy already. maybe due to the fact that I have to stay home and lie in bed..

SY,
That is what i heard from a few friends..

for bF just let natural take its course .. milk can't be force but you really have to relax if too tense milk may not come..

Hi Rena,

I told my HB I sleep next to a mummy every night. He's all wrapped up while I am just holding on to the blacnket while the air-con or fan is blowing at me.

Hi god'schild,

I went to Spring Maternity @ Causeway Point. Last nite, I went to Marton Bell @ Centrepoint. They are having 15% sale. With OCBC card, an additional 5% discount.

Hi SY,

Was at Metro @ Causeway point. Happened to ask the salesgirl if there is a Maternity section and she said yes.

I have 6 weeks to go before I hit 40th week! It's getting exciting! Hopefully baby coorperates and stay till 40th week before he dicides to want to explore the world.

sysac ,

That is a good one.. coz yesterday HB make fun of my snoring ..

Dear ladies..

It seems like we are all counting the weeks already..

rena,
actually i also feel quite tired. but i enjoy the baby's kicks now so hope can feel this way a bit longer.

yup, BF cannot be too stressed. got a fren who told me since she changed jobs and starting being stressed, her milk ss dropped so she may stop BF as she needs to travel for work.

sysa,
still buying clothes? i m very tempted to buy but only like less than 10 weeks to go.....

Hi Rena,

Haha. It's good to be a source of entertainment for the HBs.

Hi SY,

Went to find nursing tops on Sunday. Walked into Spring Maternity and there was a sale on. So just bought a 3/4 cotton stretch pants and a cotton top. Can wear in hospital & during confinement when I have guests over. Went Marton Bell last evenng to look at nursing tops. Ended up buying a halter neck for Xmas. Got 20% off becos of OCBC card.

No more shopping!

MOrning all...

Cookie - i was at JL sale yest and it was so crowded... the wipes are going at the usual promo prices, just tat we get another 5% rebate off in our OCBC statement... not much diff...

was so upset when the cashier said i cant get the Pigeon steriliser at 20% cos its considered electrical item... im calling JL later to ask... din bother to do so yest since it was a super long queue aft me and i din wana hold them up...

Nursing bras : actuali i hav decided i will just get those front clip bras for nursing... wont specially buy nursing bras aldy cos my colleague say it can b a little hindering also and u tend to go bra-less then... since i wont wana go bra-less, i think the front clip bra is a good idea, since we can push the cups to the side and baby wont rub agst any bra material...

Morning gals... i agree tat we should keep option open. me counting down by days... today left 47 days...

sometime so exciting... sometime so scared... hahaha... can't imagine. i will start my maternity from 3 Jan if bb never come out anything nearer...

from probably next week, i will slowly blend in half a coconut...

I really envy you gals.. can go shopping.. I can't even step out of my house...
my only pleasure is the computer... Sob

hello mummies

Wow! now topic on delivery liao. Make me very gan cheong.

yuki - i agree, all mtb will be worried until they see thier baby.

sleepingdeer - Can understand the feeling. sometimes my bb gal no movement i oso very worried n frighten. yesterday afternoon there's no movement n i turn on loud music. Then i start to feel the movement liao

u mean u use torchlight to shine n bb will move?

sysa,
hee....i think the OCBC deal at marton bell not bad. maybe i shall go there to look at nursing tops.

pochacco,
u r starting your ML in first week of Jan? counting by days makes it look so soon. i was at Dec thread and saw some of them saying only 8 more days...imagine, 4 more weeks and it will be some of our turn to say that...!

rena,
dun be sad. we keep u company on the computer

mime_msexcel.gif
Contacts
contacts.xls (17.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Dear all mummies,

for those who have PM me .. this is the updated copy..
for those who wants to be added please PM me..

confused,
yesterday my bb also whole day very quiet. and make me worry the whole day. he only started moving when i was going to sleep and he kicked so hard that my tummy suddenly got something stick out quite a bit. even my hubby was shocked at the way he moved. enjoying every minute of it

RE:snoring
Looks like I'm not the only one snoring away..heehee
My Hb has been "complaining" that he couldnt get good sleep cos I snore so much!!... he keep pushing me to change position...then finally when I change position (unknowingly...haha dead to the world when I'm asleep) he tok he can finally sleep... within 5 mins I snore again...haizzzz
I felt so guilty for disturbing him...

mongs, ok I see... Hopefully the next class, midwife will teach us abt the perineum massage.

Thanks cookie! I'll just go and have a look next time I pass by..... Otherwise might ask MIL to bring from UK.

Was telling hubby that I would definitely miss bb's movements after I deliver... The feeling is really wonderful!!!

me too me too, also snore nowadays... hahaha... i think very common one...

SY - me edd is 9 jan, so ML to start in jan is quite reasonable...

Gals, can share who is helping in the confinement? if employing CL, wat is the rate...
i struck in the situation tat my mum willing to help in the morning, afternoon suppose to be my MIL but yest, she say afternn who gg to help in confinement??? this question make me angry as i tot we have agree tat she help in afternn and further more afternn is very free one according to my mum and i dun dare to tell my mum tat no one gg to help me in the afternn... HB say he will do in the afternn loh... but of course he where got so much leave to take for the whole mth... so sad... thinking of getting caterer for confinement meal too...

pochacco,
i m getting a CL. over NY, rate is between 2.2K to 2.5K. if yours is early, maybe won't be so ex. not very sure. how come your MIL back out last min? what did your HB say? he never talk to his mum?

Cheong choon address - anyone hav the address to give me? i oni know its at upper cross street... is it near the hawker centre? which floor is it on? thinking of going over durng lunch to get the pump...

SY - I was quite slow in reaction tat i never react at all at that moment... it is onli after tat then i realise she backing out... hahaha... jus this morning then i ask my HB about it... very slow hor... you know la, guy normally not tat sensitive and he also never reply much...

so yest when MIL inform me tat, i also take it, never realise tat was an indication of backing out...

Hi Rena,
Thanks for compiling the contacts. Tot we gonna update each other thru emails when all the contacts are collated? No security attaching the file here on the forum leh....just my thots.

Can go online shopping...if u can't step out of the hse. Motherhood market place is a good place to start.

Hi Confused,
yep, read that bb can see light shining through the belly from week 32 I think, and it's one technique parents use if bb is breech, and they wanna turn her/him... shine at the bottom and bb may follow.. hee hee..

For us, we tried it coz even when I lightly shake my tummy many times, she also wasn't moving... and she always moved after I went toilet.. so got gan cheong.

Hee hee, your bb can be rock dancer liao, so cute!

SY/Confused,
will miss bb movement once she is out... I still cannot figure which part of her is poking my tummy though... dunno whether head or butt or elbow... but I notice that lately, she doesn't seem to be making very big movements, more squiming and turning, seems like she is a little squashed up already, hmm, perhaps went through growth spurt..

Hi Rena,
thanks for the compilation, realised I forgot to include my actual name, have PM to you already.. hee hee, will be funnie if you gals call me sleepingdeer in person...

Cookie,
I snore like a little pig sometimes also... but hubby snores almost everyday, so I don't bother.. hee hee.

Pochacco,
why your MIL back out so late, may be tough to get CL now... the agency I called quoted me $2,500.

I still thinking about CL actually, know I very late already, but can't make up my mind still...

Pochacco
very fed up hor...
I just told my HB the other day, we must talk to MIL, I also very scare suddenly she come and tell me..."who is helping u ah" that kind qn... as though she know nothing...
if no choice... catering confienment meals will be alternative.
For me, I think my MIL is helping for confiement. But there after... I'm not pinning too much hope will decide as it goes.

wah seems to rain almost every morning. couldn't woke up again :p

yest my hubby was counting and said wah you left like less than 2 mths before due. so fast...and we started remembering my first and second trimester where i wasn't feeling well and now baby is out soon. time really flies and i really enjoy the experience except for the first mth. yeah i think i gonna miss baby kicking my tummy now and then.

then he start reminding me abt packing my bags. guess i will pack when i am back from my malacca's trip this weekend. gotta the list and will run thru it. got all of them already except sports bra.. will try to get somemore in malacca.

god's child
Cheong Choon
Blk 34 #03-132 Upp Cross St.

Rena,
Think u spelt my name wrongly. Should be "Yvonne". Thanks so much again!

Pochacco an sleepingdeer,

Let me know when you due.. hopefully I am able to due early then I may recocommand mine to you.. she charge about 2100 but has to go back for three days during new year..