(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

sleeping deer
MAH only recommend Medela but never say must be PIS. Bascially Medela comes in single and dual electric pump and of course the very expensive PIS.
If I were to buy, will probably buy the dual pump which cost $299 and if buy during metro 20% sales only apprx. $240...
I also interested in Ameda cos 1 of my friend used it and say good. So the next class I gng to ask the nurse what she thinks abt Ameda.
I think if compare apple to apple, Ameda is comparable to Medela dual electric pump and not to PIS... if in this term, Ameda infact cost more then Medela.
I read from other threat Ameda need to change it valve regularly and that's additional cost lor.
Too bad my friend pass Ameda to her friend already bo I will save big time!!!

Good Morning Ladies,

Breastfeeing:
Was on a maternity tour on tuesday evening @ NUH. Saw that they have a room and Express BM facility in the ward & they also hv the lactation nurse to guide the new mums. Seems very tiring for new mums to wake up in the nite to feed bb & as & when bb needs to be fed. think i will be a panda in no time!!

Maternity pads:
I too bought Kotex maternity pads (3packs), will get the laurier nite safe (xtra long) ones too...think it's better and more comfortable.

Confinement:
When i was reading the thread on CL, whoa...so expensive arh....luckily, my MIL is helping me with my confinement, so not too bad. Will give MIL a red packet when bb is one month old, to thank her lor.

Pumps:
I saw Avent manual pumps oso abt $59 at kiddy palace & robinsons.

Weight gain:
My tummy is quite big too. The nurse who conducted the NUH maternity tour commented and asked if i hv diabetes...told her no, coz glucose test done and it's negative....so think mayb my bb is absorbing most of the food i hv taken (hopefully)
. I dun seem to look fat on the face, arms are slightly "meatier" than b4 pregnant.

Diapers:
Is Nepia really good? What abt EQ? JL was selling EQ (size S) 40 pcs for $8+.....any mums here used EQ for their babies b4?

Hi Cookie,
I thought Medela only have manual, mini electric single or dual and PIS.. they have another dual electric which is not Mini? Coz I heard the Mini is not bulit for long term pumping, and the motor fails after intensive use.

If so, then I will check the Medela dual electric out... I'm looking for a long term dual electric pump, and I got feedback that Ameda is comparable to Medela PIS, just that much more cheaper... confused liao..

wendy
me same lor.. first day pretty heavy, 2nd day so so... 3rd day turn brownish liao...
So I also never buy alot... kekeke ask HB buy worst come to worst but he sure blur abt all the brands :p

SY and other mummies...
hmm.. ya while direct latch on is very good but if no choice pump out also good la as long as bbay eat breast milk. 2 of my friends also fail in direct latch on cos bb very impatient but she also pump out BF for baby for up to 6 mths.
No need to feel guilty... the more stress we are the less Breast milk we will produce...
Ganbatei!

Oh this afternoon gng gynae and seeing baby... very happy...hope she will wave at me and daddy...kekeke :p

hi yvonne - are u going to pay ur MIL for taking care of you during confinement? How about groceries shopping? Are you planning to buy or give money to your MIL to buy ?

I have spoken to my hubby and he said he will give money to my parents to buy the necessary groceries(as he also don;t know what to buy) and on top of that I will pay a sum of money to my mum who will be looking after my baby. Coz moreover, both my hubby and me will be staying over there. we haven't decide on the amount but its definitely cheaper than hiring a CL and catering for confinement food. Also add as an income to my parents who aren't working.

sleeping deer...
Oh the dual pump I'm talking abt is probably the mini series that you said...
I also heard that medela has certain life span as in no of pump used. Accoridng to my colleague she dun recommend the single mini pump cos the motor is very small and attached to the pump itself, the dual pump has a base on it own ( I think) so the motor is bigger and more durable.
When I check out the Ameda, I thought it is pretty same as medela dual pump.
The PIS comes in it's own generator kinda stuff and storage system... from what I see... PIS contain more stuff and function as compared to Ameda dual pump...
Hmm.. but then I could be wrong...heehee... got to double confirm.

Cookie,
Just pass the outer wrapper to hubby lah. If he cannot find on the shelf, ask him to approach the staffs for help lor. My hubby sure feel super paiseh one. kekeke! He will sure buy many other unnecessary stuffs to make it look less conspicuous when at cashier. Haha!

SSF,

Usually my HB will give monthly $$ to MIL. For my confinement, maybe will give her slightly more (for grocery & other nic nacs for bb) and then on top of it after bb full month, another ang pow. My MIL is a housewife and has looked after babies before, so am quite happy that my bb is in good hands, or else will be worried when i go bk to work after ML.

mommies
there's a thread in market place doing group buy for medela PIS if interested....

re BF
i agree that we cannot feel too guilty abt it. my fren keep telling me a little better than none so it's ok to supplement with FM.

which FM is recommended?

think i must go and buy my stuff already. always buy bb stuff until i dun buy my own..

will be calling CL in dec to ask what are the things that i need to prepare. once i get the list of things to prepare, will share here

talking about money to parents for taking care of bb, how much you think it is a reasonable amount? Coz my mum will be taking care on the weekdays, I've been thinking of how much to give?

Wah, today I saw Tiger Airways having special promotion to Darwin, that's why my aunt lives! The whole family wants to go, since the price now is $200+++ compared to the usual $700... but I'll be stuck at home with confinement... xin yang yang, think we can travel by end March?

Hi cookie,
thanks for the info, hmm, yep, got to do more research beofre i decide...

SY,
Group buy for Medela PIS? Gonna check that out, thanks!

sleepingdeer, my hubby will give abt $300 to buy groceries for the confinement per mth. and on top of that i will give my mum abt $400 for looking after me and baby. of coz all these on top of her monthly pocket money. was thinking anyway, i cannot go out. so won;t be spending any money. so might as well part my salary with her. make her happy also

wenyl & cookie,
wah ur hubbies so nice...will help u all buy such stuff? i think my hb will refuse if i were to ask him to buy for me!! haha
he'll prob ask me to ask another galfren to buy or something!

Re: breastfeeding
sounds like a tough job. i think i shall just see how it goes lah! Hope to TBF but if really really cannot then supplement with FM. Many frenz hv also told me that TBF is not as easy as what i think. SOmetimes our intention is there but supply just doesn't come...so musn't be too dogmatic abt it!

sleepingdeer,
my hb intends to give $800 to his mum for doing confinement for me. That includes grocery costs. No matter what, i think still much cheaper than hiring a CL at $2K+.

wow u intend to travel in end March? i think it's possible - why not?
Only thing is that dunno whether will miss baby too much. Or do u intend to bring bb along as well??

durainlover
but last min how to get GF buy for us...
I think my HB will buy but will complain why I never buy in advance...hahaha
Oh I intend to give my MIL $1500 for confinement ley...if not enought then ask from us again. I wonder am I giving too much? but I was think since since CL abt 2K... I discount a bit since MIL is helping me...

Hi all...

my check-up at the gynae yest was ok and my baby Celeste seems to be the BIGGEST here!!!
she weighs about 1.645kg at week 30 and i have put on total of about 17kg *gulps*
kao_embarrassed.gif

after tat, we were driving on our way to clementi (in-laws' hse for dinner) when our car got into a 4 car pile up accident. the 4th car ( a taxi ) had rammed into us at a red light junction.we were car number 2 and was sandwiched in between. HB and i were jerked in front and i cld hear a loud bang and glass shattering... scary... i was shocked for a few secs b4 i cld react to my HB shouting at me if im ok..
kao_scared.gif
we touched my tummy and Celeste moved alittle. we got out of the car and i sat at the bus stop ( stil in shock ).. then suddenly i teared..was scared n also thankful tat it was a minor accident and i had not bumped into my tummy... as i felt Celeste and she started shifting, i cant help but worry if she's reali ok...

so aft a while, after many pples' advice, i took a cab myself back to the gynae's while HB settled the thingie wf the other car owners...when g ynae asked me wat happened, i started crying uncontrollably and asked him to chk if bb is alrite...he was nice to let me see n hear the heartbeat ( for quite a while too ). think he saw tat i was real worried and wanted me to feel more assured... whew...
kao_smile2.gif
think if i had not gone back and checked, i will not b able to sleep last nite...but stil, im in a little state of shock now... doc even want to give me MC to rest but i had closing to rush so i came back to office..

sleepingdeer
U pay Nepia delivery man by cheque when they deliver. U living on ur own? Then beta to ask them to deliver to your mum or mil's place.

Yuki
I agree with u. I also tried so hard with b/feeding, first time that time, so stressed... all mums wanna give the best to their bbs but I dun think all mums succeeded. Glad I pressed on, despite comments from mum and mil...
Isn't it beta that bb is taking some milk rather than no milk at all? hehe....
Perseverance is the key to it... thinking back I can pat myself on my back...hehe...

Yvonne
Just be prepared lor, esp if ur bb is a great drinker... I woke up three times at hosp just to nurse him, on top of battling with my pain in the tummy...

SSF
Re Money - think we gave $500 for mum just for the food alone, cos not cheap mah... later on we gave some more, told mum to tell us if money runs out, cos did not want her to pay mah.

SY
FYI my boi took Similac... good that u ask the question, cos in case in hosp u feel bb needs to take FM and u can't get the colostrum, beta have in mind what brand of FM u want the hosp to give.

cookie,
yah actually i may end up giving the same to MIL. Coz monthly my hb will give 500-600 to his mum. Plus 800 for confinement means will come up to 1300. Hmm sounds like quite a lot of money considering that my MIL won't be staying at my place during confinement...just cooking food n mabbe doing some housework.
Actually this kind of thing is up to individual...depends on how much u wanna give!

i suddenly remembered that must set up some money for CNY ang pows too!! Heh, always happily thinking that next yr no need to go visiting coz will be hving confinement...but come to think of it, i think i won't be able to escape visiting coz families v traditional...sure will say some things if i don't go visiting!

wah cookie 1.5K is alot! ya so generous. i dun think we need to give almost same amount as CL as CL is actually taking it as a pay. Our parents shld not be thinking that way. hehee..

god's child - wah so scary. nowsaday everyone on the road seems so impatient..don;t know where they are rushing to. glad to hear that you and baby are fine. i am also trying to be more careful these days. yesterday had a wierd dream that i actually fell down from quite high. so scary.

god's child,
oh my, what a shock u must hv been thru! so scary...thank God baby Celeste is fine n no problems! and that you're physically ok too!

so poor thing...*hug* don't worry everything's fine now!

so u'll be without car for a few days while it's under repair?

durainlover
but last min how to get GF buy for us...
I think my HB will buy but will complain why I never buy in advance...hahaha
Oh I intend to give my MIL $1500 for confinement ley...if not enought then ask from us again. I wonder am I giving too much? but I was think since since CL abt 2K... I discount a bit since MIL is helping me...

god's child

so scary! Hope you're feeling ok now. Rest well...

durianlover

ai yah, confinement don't need to go visiting. Anyway, some relatives will see us as 'dirty', so will not welcome us. So better stay put at home.

God's child
after reading your incident... I feel like tearing also.. if it's me think I will also cry and worried. Glad that you and baby are fine.
Are u waering seat belt when the accident happen?

SY
I never calculate exactly how much but the 1st thought is $1500 lor..hmm.. I dun wan my MIL to spend her $$ and... hmm.. just wanna to be fair and also even if there are excess treats as token for her effort.
I very scare if one day I know she felt I "kui dai" her give her too little $$.

SSF/Mashy

ya lor, i went back home aft tat to sleep. cos eyes alittle tired after the sobbing... reali am glad tat we are all okay... drivers nowadays reali impatient... red light junction also can kana accident... haiz...

durianlover

reali thank god for protection cos i was jus a few cm from hitting my tummy... luckily it was juz the car tat was a little wrecked... the repair company has given us a substitute vehicle...the taxi company will have to bear the costs for all 3 vehicles.. HB say luckily it was not the previous hatch back car we drove, if not the van behing us wld have hit so hard tat the glass wld have shattered...and to think last time he always say hatch back is sporty and refused to change to one tat has a bigger car boot...so i think he knows wats better now...

Oh no, I so sleepy today. Last nite, again cant sleep well coz of my itchy rashes / stretchmarks.

StyloBB
Thanks.. I decided not to stress myself and give FM if necc. Only worried that bb will not want to suckle, then supply drop, then dun know how leh.. U mean just keep pumping to try to stimualate the breast?

Sunny
yup, pay by cash or cheque upon delivery.

Sleepingdeer
My gf also did her confinement by herself, but her granny cooked for her. But, my mum wants me to rest. So, she can take care of bb loh.. I only bf and rest. My mum can cook, bath and burp bb... ha ha..

Yuki
Ya loh, that's my worry too... if bb get used to bottle, then dunt want to suckle, might reduce supply. Some pple cant have good supply with pumping. I also thot of buying this Medela feeding instrument, so that we can feed bb w/o the bottle. What do you all think?
http://www.medela.com/NewFiles/specialtyfdg.html#sns

cookie

i wasn't belted then cos it was reaching my in-laws' hse aft the turn. next time will only belt off when i reach n park...

God's child,
Thank God u & baby ok. Must pray for protection. I teared when I read ur msg. Was driving hubby's car last few days cos he studying for exams at home. Very stressful esp during peak hrs. Sometimes I find seatbelt can be quite uncomfy becos of our tummy. But must remind ourselves that safety cannot be compromise at all times.

CNY VISITS
Dun think will visit relatives hse during confinement. But I plan to go over to parent's plc & inlaw hse to spend some time there. If not very bored at home. Maybe relatives will visit them & give bb angbaos! Hehehe!

Whenever I tell frens/relatives me delivering b4 CNY, they always comment say gd timing cos bb come out only can start collecting angbaos! Kekeke!

hello gals

god's child - Glad to hear that you n bb are fine. Dont release your belt until you finally reach the place. yalor! some drivers are really impatient.

krissie - how's your rashes liao? Getting better? i oso cant sleep yesterday. (lower abdominal pain)

wenyl, confused

thanks for the kind regards... somemore i was just telling HB a few mins earlier b4 the accident tat Celeste is reali my precious... and aft the accident and thinking back first trimester when i had bleeding, all the more how precious tis baby is!!! aches and pain, im willing to brave them through ...

Hi God's child,

Thank God you and baby are fine. Don't worry too much. Recall the escalator incident at Raffles MRT two years ago where a heavily pregnant lady fell when the escalator stop suddenly or something? That was my friend. She suffered quite a bit from the fall lah but both she and baby were well

For those with mum and MIL doing confinement - i guess money is not an issue cos they genuinely care for us. They do so willingly. However a gentle reminder that the food may cost much more as the tonic for confinement is not cheap. Moreover nearer to CNY, prices sure go up. I think my mum spend at least $500 on confinement food. During confinement, we eat expensive fish such as cod fish, threadfin etc. One pc easily cost $5 and can finish in one meal. Imagine eating fish for both lunch and dinner......

For my case, i gave my mum $500 for grocery and an angpow of $1000 for her help cos i was staying with her. Take it as i am paying part of the utility bills...(all the water bills for washing nappies everyday etc) But she gave a $200 angpow to my gal for her one month old celebration.

As long as we give within our means, the amount is not important lah. IT's the thots that count.

Cookie
I thot I saw from the other threads that Ameda is comparable to PIS.

cel cel
Oh no.. poor thing, luckily u and bb were ok. I know what u mean. It's v shocking. We once had a minor accident and I was in a state of shock for the whole nite coz the car skidded. Gave me a big shock. But, no need to worry liao.. Since gynae checked and said bb was ok, then shld be ok. Take care & dun overwork, okie.

Confused
No, rashes got worse.
I will ask gynae during next visit if i need to see a demertorlogist. oh dear.. did u tell your gynae since u hv ab pain?

yuki
so for our case since nearing CNY, do you think $600 is enough for food. My mum is the type who will pay herself and not tell me that the money is not enough. So, I wanna make sure I give her more money.

cel
Glad that u are fine.. and bb is fine too. Must have been a shock to u...
Agree that nowadays drivers are so impatient esp taxi drivers... they like to cut into our lane when hb is driving... wrong still give us the stare stimes.

krissie
Pumping, I meant I pumped during the last feed when giving FM to my boi.

Again each bb is different: some fall asleep at the breast, some refuse to suck, some suck, some fussy, some not. My boi was ok, tho he was in hosp due jaundice and we had no choice but to feed him thru the teat, he was able to suck v well when he came home. I b/fed directly, hardly pumped.. cos convenient and he ate rather frequently.

Angpows - yes, beta arrange to change money for aps.

Pump - gf lent me her ameda pump, haven't looked at it. The last time I used medela pis... pretty good.

God's child,
thank goodness u and bb are alright.
take care and dun worry liao. bb is fine so u must not kept thinking about it.
I remember one of the episode of Child of Our Time where they say that stress will affect our pregnancy and think personality of our babies. always be cheerful and positive. ur bb is big, how big is her head? did your gynae measure?

BTW, think today is the 2nd last episode of Child of Our Time. must remember to ask your hubby to watch. today episode is on "what are dads for?"

mongs

he did measure but i forgot the measurement and i also cant tell which is which cos there r 3 measurements on the printout. is my baby reli very big? doc din say anythin leh...

mongs
Thanx for info, we watch it most of the time but last week I was so tired I fell asleep.
Tonite's episode shud be interesting...
The other time they also mention about dad's role in playing 'rough' with kids will help them well in terms of growth and coordination.

thanks goodness god's child.. both u and celeste are ok..
drivers nowadays really got problems leh.. always so fast and tyring to beat the light. Cannot make it ar!

god's child,

no no, your baby is fine, I read that for baby between 29 to 32 weeks, the weight will range between 1.3 to 1.8kg, so your baby and my baby are within range.

styloBB,
ya ya, I remember that episode, I think that episode also says something about daddy bathing the child, says that it will do the baby and the daddy plenty of good. my hubby always dozed off half way into the show. he sleeps like a piggy. heehee!

i have not ask my gynae abt my baby weight yet. the last was 800gm. i hope now is more than 1kg as i am rather on the slim side and gynae said before baby is more towards the smaller range.

monday will be my next visit..and so excited to see baby again
tis time mut ask abt weight. oh and yes the last time did i mentioned, i asked for a pic of the scan. and managed to take a snapshot of him sleeping. close up on his face. hehe..so cute although not clear la. so maybe the rest can start asking gynae for pics to keep so next time can let baby see. hehee..

god's child,
what a terrible thing to happen but thank God tat your family was not hurt and most imptly Celeste was not affected!

just monitor your health over the next few days. i had an accident last year and though i din suffer any injuries i had major backache and muscle ache due to the impact. and my back hurt for some time. so must take care

stylobb,
similac seems like a popular choice. think i shall settle on that cos my nephew also took similar and he's a big and strong boy now!!

Hi SY/Durianlover,
really like to go, but think my parents and hubby will forbid it... haha... if I go, probably leave baby with parents..

Hi Cookie,
I was thinking giving about $800, similar to some of the other ladies, but unsure whether enough or not... main thing is not to let my mum feel like not enough...

Yuki,
I also worry if not enough, my mum won't say, then she will use her own money...

God's child,
I can imagine how worried you were at the time of the accident, when I read your posting... It sounded really scary, and definitely, first thought will be whether bb is ok or not... add to the shock of it happening, think we all will be a bundle of crying nerves..

Thankfully your little Celeste is fine, and your gynae let you hear her heartbeat to reassure you.... take care! Yah mummies, always good to remove your belt only after the car is stationery, good to cultivate the habit, coz anything can happen. My hubby and MIL also had the habit, the moment reach enterance of carpark, take off seatbelt liao. I always scold him until now he only unbelt after the car stop moving

Stylobb,
think it was the other mums who ordered the Nepia, I haven't ordered eyt

Krissie,
I also want to be like you, hee hee, but dunno whether my mum can handle or not... she always worry this worry that, but in the end, everything is ok
Your rashes worse? Take care, ask Dr. Ho about it, see what he say?

Mongs,
my bb only 1.28kg at 29 weeks leh... and I thought little Celeste (God's Child's baby) was big!

Sleepingdeer,
around 1.3 at 29weeks. ok lah. think even if 1.3kg at 32 weeks, still ok. coz baby weight at birth really differ. My sis's son was 2.5kg at birth but one of colleagues son was 4.2kg. huge right? as long as all are healthy, a little weight difference is fine.

I think we will give my MIL 1K for a start.

SY, my sis tried wyeth s21. he fed one FM per day out of the 6 feeds for a short period of time and he is now overweight at 4 months. weighed 2.5kg at birth but 7.5kg at 3months. now, I think may weigh around 8.5kg at 4months. very chubby with folds of fats at his arms and legs. heehee!

SSF,
my gynae gives me pic of bb everytime i go for checkup & scan. But nowadays the pics not as exciting liao...coz bb too big, can only take of her face or side view...when smaller can still see whole body so more fun!

mashy,
my relatives different leh...dun think they'll view me as 'dirty' coz of confinement. On the contrary, they'll prob wonder why i never go visiting, and say i'm trying to make excuse like that. Anyway i hope it'll be ok lah! No pt worrying too much

So sad Child of Our Time is ending soon! i like the show leh! In fact, it's the only show that both my hb and i watch together. After the episode on father bathing baby, my hb has decided that he also wants to bathe our bb next time!

wah durianlover..so nice. mine must ask then he give. so we also pai seh dun want to ask always. so far only get 3 pics only. but if you ask, he will give. he quite nice one.

krissie - ya! i'm going to ask my gayne again on my next visit.

har! your rashes got worse? when's your next appt? myabe u try avoid eating seafood n see it helps or not.

SY
Some of the mummies did change the milk powder later on but since my boi had no problem with similac, I left it as that. It's not cheap tho.

sleepingdeer
So long as weight is within range, it's ok. Not to worry.

Money - if u can afford to give her more, then shud lor (my opinion). The money for her to do confinement or to buy food?

mongs
My hb has had this habit of bathing my boy.. each time when my boi is done, he will wrap him in towel and tell him to surprise me by opening the door and shouting 'Mamee!' and I would pretend to be surprised...hehe...

SSF
I get quite a lot of pics from gynae but cannot hardly see much nowadays...hehe...

It's really your preference how much to give. I guess our mum and MIL don;t mind topping up if not enough. It's hard to say how much cos depends on the type of food and tonic they buy.

Talking about FM - i was so surprised how expensive it was! My gal was on Enfalac and it cost $29.50 per tin and if she's on full FM, it's basically one tin per week!!!! It's the cost that puts me off and persevere on BF. Ha Ha.

durianlover

Hahah, you're not visiting coz you're having confinement lor!

I'm sure they'll understand. Anyway it's chinese tradition not to leave the house during confinement. And you'll probably be tired, hair all over the place, and won't be looking your best at that time. My friend stopped all of us from visiting her during her confinement coz she finds herself looking so absolutely terrible! heheh.