(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mothercare is having sales on certain items... was browsing just now during lunch hour but lunch time so short... can't really shop around...

Some of the things are quite worth... many in house brand, i.e. mothercare brand are on sales like the cotton pads and cotton wools...

Cookie
Thanks.. Phew, didnt have the video on epi. Ya, I prefer weekdays too, we went last friday also very crowded.. not enough sandwiches also. But, it's a bit too rush for us.

durianlover
welcome back.. pls must go see doc if you have fever. dengue can be v serious, esp for us now. Thanks for the tip from the message lady. I do apply my SM oil very diligently everyday.. also tried to put the itch cream which my doc gave..

Celine
How much are the charges for CordLife?

hi - anyone have constipation? i think i ate too much calcium intake..and now when i go past motion, my stools are hard and the wall is stretched and when i wipe my backside, i can see traces of blood. not alot..but so scary.

in the past b4 i was pregnant, i have that too but very rare. recently more frequent. i read in the net, one symptom is excessive calcium. i think i will stop my intake of calcium for now.

yuki - your gal really cute leh. (i think gal have mummy's heart.)

missy - oh! drink more water n eat fruits to prevent constipation. (i eat guava whenever i have problem going toilet)

yeah confused..i have been eating fruits 2 servings each day lately..but not sure why constipation, i eat wholemeal bread 2 slices every morn and on top i also eat the calcium pill and milo and milk at times. so not sure if tat is the cause. maybe too heaty.

hi krissie,

there are 2 packages for cordlife
1 is basic and the other is all-inclusive
In Basic plan, we have to pay $800 but this does not include the professional/procedural fees..
And every yr, we will have to pay $250

in all-inclusive plan,we pay $1200 outfront, which will include the professional/procedure fees
And every yr, we will also pay $250

Stemcord
as for stemcord, it is more direct, only have 1 plan
We pay $800 which will include all charges, then yearly charges is also $250

for constipation, maybe u can try drinking some prune juice. It works for me.
My MIL also tells me to steam and eat some sweet potato (those with purple colour skin). She says it is good for constipation

SSF

Don't stop your calcium, coz if bb not enough, will take from your bones. It's the iron that's causing it.

Take fruits, drink plenty of water, prune juice, warm honey lemon drink first thing in the morning. Sometimes even if u no urge, just go toilet after a meal. May just pop out. I find that i no longer have urges to go toilet anymore. But whenever i go toilet, still will have poop. Have to do it before it becomes too hard.

Or, u can ask for stool softener from your gynae.

ok thks mashy...let me speak to my gynae on monday. i dun past motion daily..so difficult for me to start doing so. hehee..its just not a habit. as for prune and lemon juice, not sure if i can take..coz i have GD..so it may be to sweet. gee..me just so problematic

missy - then is it milo too heaty? Dont take too heaty food. And if get worse, must go see doctor yeah! Maybe drink some warm honey lemon to cool down your body.

missy - Then u eat guava. (my mum oso has diabetes n she eat guava n drink prune juice whenever she has constipation)

me too dont pass motion everyday.

god's child,
the rompers very cheap. the last time i bought from there, it was 2 for $10!

yuki,
think gals are always sweeter. dunno next time whether my boy will be so sweet. hee..maybe boys will only be so sweet to their gf! got to accept it lah.

SSF
do you drink at least 2 lt of water per day?
try drinking lotsa water.. ti's helps to relief.. dun just stop calcium cos think we need more now.
Personally... guava dun work for me. I find Dragon fruits and Kiwi work very well for bowel movement. If scare kiwi too sweet, buy those not so ripe one maybe a bit soup but still good.

Celine
Thanks... I saw cordlife at gynae's clinic but stem cord did a talk during antenatal class..
didn't know stemcord are by moonlighting docs :p

but stemcord me a quotation... seems like including hospital/gynae/profession fee... all cost abt $1200 out front... so like this also same as cordlife charges.

god's child,
the one i bought had some stripes on it. i bought 2 of the same design in different size cos at that time i din know whether i having boy or girl and had to get the most neutral one!

What are actually the food we should avoid? Have been advised not to eat mutton, pineapple, chin chow, anything "liang" and those big type of bananas. Anything else ladies?

Y,
actually i've been eating all the forbidden food that you listed down ever since i entered my 2nd trimester! i think eat in moderation is ok actually
Just dun do it excessively shd be fine

Seems like a lot of u are considering the cordblood thing...i won't be doing it coz find it a bit too ex.

Went shopping this afternoon coz i got day off from work. Spent a bomb! Heehee. Went to Spring at Suntec and got some maternity dresses at $29 each since they were having clearance sale at the old outlet.

Din noe Mothercare having sale...mabbe i'll check it out this Sat!

I went down to Mattel warehse sale today with my galfren. Ended up spending $99 on toys! Before I can mend the hole in my pocket, now kanna another big hole again!
I bot few Fisher Price toys at $18ea & 1 FP big set at $40. Quite worthwhile cos FP usually quite ex. But be prepared to see mostly the older range of toys.

Those keen can head down to Alexandra Comtech Bldg (Lobby C 2nd flr). The sale is til Sat. I tink they will have different toys everyday cos I keep seeing their staffs replenish new toys evry now & then. Saw brands like Fisher Price, Barbie, Hot wheels, Barney, etc.

Hello, anyone has the shop's address that was located in Chinatown that sell baby stuff? Think the name of the shop starts with "Chong XX" Saw the address sometime back, posted by another member, but now can't trace the thread. Any kind souls,pls advise. Thanks.

If you're looking for PJs, can head down to Chinatown Complex (hawker centre ground floor).

They've shops selling PJs at $6++. I bought 2 PJ dresses with front opening there at $6.50 each. I'm not a gd bargainer lah, so if you're gd at it, maybe can get even better price. The PJs look nice, not the obiang auntie type. My hb said I looked like wearing a hospital dress though. :p

Hi Durianlover,
Perhaps you might like to donate to the Singapore Cord Blood bank then? Basically your bb's cord blood will be stored to save other's lifes if they are found to be matching... if not it would also be useful for research purpose. Only thing is if your bb needs it back next time there is no guarantee it has not been used up but you will have priority in queue for them to find a matching cord blood for you. I will be signing up with my gynae next week. = )

It's friday!
Clare, that is a good idea but the problem is that currently they are only collecting from KKH and not yet with the private hos though that is eventually their intention. I heard from from my antenatal class in KKH.
Durianlover, are you giving birth in KKH, if yes then can ask your gynae to introduce a coordinator to you to talk about it.

hey gals, I have some mucous discharge this morning but it's not with blood. dun think it's the "show" but quite alarm to see it. later going to email my gynae to ask about it. have any of you experience that?

Hi Sep 03 Bride

Throw in the red dates and longans to boil. Buy the seedless red dates. Less heaty and easier to chew
My mum usually throws in 40 longans and 40 red dates and boil a big tupperware for me to bring home. It lasts me abt a week refrigerated of cse. I will drink it and then eat the red dates and longans when the drink finishes.

Enjoying it now because she says got to drink it warm when I am doing confinement

SSF
I also had blood after passing motion few weeks ago. Now ok liao.. I take at least 3 servings of fruits everyday. I find that it helps loh.. Also, don't force. Only go toilet when u feel the urge. My gf who had piles told me that the doc says that pple who sit on the toilet bowl longer(e.g. those that read newspapers) will tend to have piles as the pressure is built on ard that area, so coz piles loh. I don't think u shld stop calcium suppl, usually, it's iron that causes constipation. Based on the babycentre update for week 30, we need lots of calcium, etc:
Your baby's nutritional needs reach their peak during the third trimester. You'll need plenty of protein, vitamin C, folic acid, iron, and calcium (about 200 milligrams is deposited in your baby's skeleton every day), so eat foods rich in these nutrients. The skeleton hardens even more and the brain, muscles, and lungs continue to mature. So take a look at our eating well guide to make sure you are getting the right minerals and vitamins.

Or try stopping your milo, seems heaty leh.

Celine
Thanks.. seems comparable to the StemCord one.

Sep03bride
Thanks for the breakdown. Are u taking any one of them?

Wendyl
Are the condition of the Fisher Price toys (and boxes) good? We are planning to get something for our colleague from FP for her bb's 1st mth. If it's cheap and good condition, then, might try to pop over.

Mongs
It's qt common to have discharge, unless it's brown or red. what colour is yours?

Good morning all mummies,

It's Friday!

Last nite, I dreamt that I went into labour. And I felt real pain during the dreams bcos I was having leg cramps at the same time. When I woke up, I was rubbing my tummy instead of my calf. So blur!

ITS FRIDAY!!! Almost everyone in the office has taken leave to start their long long holiday except me still here in office working.... boo hooo hoooo.... = (

Mongs,
My gynae is at Mt E & I'll be delivering at Mt A. She didn't say anything about me not be able to contribute leh... in fact she was happy when i asked her and passed me the form to fill up. U may wan to check with your gynae?

Krissie,
Yap. Most of the toys I bought, the boxes are pretty new. I bought a Spongebox Sq pants toy set for my nephew coming bday present. Just remember to remove the price tag. Hee hee

Have a good weekend everyone!

The Mattel warehse sale address is:
60 Alexander Terrace
The Comtech Bldg (Lobby C 2nd flr)

Till this Sat only.

clare,
is that so? but I think I want to bank the cord in a private bank. maybe the 2nd one then go to the public bank. nevertheless will check with my gynae.
Krisse,
my discharge is not brown or red. but it's mucus texture, sticky and wobbly. it's the first time I saw something like that. had sent a email to my gynae. i think should be alright.

Can try to control your shopping lah. Evenetually when you celebrate your baby's one month old, sure got lots of presents - toys and clothes..... i got two sets of the same toys from different friends......

Or you can sound out from your good friends and colleagues what they intend to buy so that you can refrain from buying the same items.
Some of my good friends give cash and vouchers so i can choose to buy what i lack.........

Morning all...

OK! Cold storage is having the Kodomo baby detergent refill pack offer again!!! its $12.95 for 2 packs of 1000ml each. Drapolene is also selling at $7.90 for 2 tubes of 55gm each ( comes wf free rattle )

hi clare n mongs,
donating bb's cord blood sounds like a good idea but unfortunately i'm delivering at Mt. But since i'm going for gynae check-up tmr, i'll still ask my gynae abt it! thanks for the suggestion

mongs,
nope i hv not yet experienced any discharge...yeah better to check with your gynae abt it.

wenyl,
Ooh i'm so tempted to go shop for baby's toys! esp fisher price ones! hmm can u describe a bit where exactly is the Alexandra Comtech Building? i might go later in the afternoon!

yuki,
yes i also know shd try to refrain from shopping too much, but then if frenz give presents, it'll be after baby is born and there are some things that i'd like to be ready before bb is born, eg. the musical thing to be hung over the cot. So am looking for one now!
Other not so urgent stuff i'll ask frenz to buy as gifts!

sysa
u are so cute...abt the dream and tummy rubbing :p

Mong and all mummies
I also have lotsa discharge during the day... tho its' not wobbly... it's very watery and sometimes creamy...sometimes even smell abit like urine I wonder if urine leak slight somehow..
Am I normal? or DO all of you also experience?

Clare
Dun boohoo... no one in my section take leave cos.. we are in accounting and even need to work OT today... I more sian ne.

mashy
Thanks for the PJs clue... I went OG last week... nothing nice and cost lotsa more...
Does the chinatown has variety of size? cos I very round ley... scare too small cannot fit in

what is the material of PJ you bought?

cookie

I think it's free size. It's quite big for me though. U go and see. The ones i bought were T-shirt like cotton but designed like the classic PJs type (collared, shirt & pants type leh). But it's a dress lah.

sysa
the red dates and longan drink... need to put rock sugar or anything? just throe in and boil can already? must boil for how long har??
I thought wanna boil for myself... so sad... no one boil for me one wor

Hi durain lover,

Ya. As parents we will always indulge in our children. More to come........ Nowadays when i shop, it's always for my gal. I would hesitate in buying a new pair of shoes but if i see something that suits my gal, i will just buy even if it means forgoing my shoes.........

Actually someone even mentioned that the musical thing is more for music but not for the baby to see. First of all, newborn can only see black, white and red and short distance only. secondly if hang over their head, must make sure it's secure properly. Don;t place it in the centre else they may focus just in the centre and cause the eyes to squint (cross eye).

Last night, I think I experienced the Braxton Hicks contractions which lasted for abt an hr on and off. It was painful like crazy, my tummy was hard and can feel the contours of my boy. And my back was very very painful. If BH pain is just a fraction of a true labour, I will def go for epidural.

It was really scary. Any mummies been through this before? I was very scared I could be going thru early labour.

yes cookie..i do drink alot of water until i pee quite often too. thks for your advice.

yest saw the new arrival of cot sheets comforter. so nice ...garden bear is nice with the lovely green. ABC is nice too.

durianlover - yeah i agree with you. eat in moderation. no need to pan tang any food. i do still drink tea when i like although its liang also. one cup a day shld be OK. when is the sales in spring over? i be gg this weekend. so will pop by and take a look. is the dresses nice? can wear for wedding dinner? 29 bucks is cheap.

krissie - thks for the advice. i am still taking those pills until monday when i see my gynae. yeah i am the type who will bring in magazine or newspaper in to read. else boring leh. hehe...

clare..ya not alone. i am also in office working. just look fwd to those public holidays next week. REJOICE! REJOICE!

mongs - i also have discharge daily. but its not red or brown. so its ok. dun worry!

cookie- my discharge is not really creamy. is urs like a bean curd like tat?

god's child - thanks for the info. i have yet to buy the detergent as waiting for promo. and it used to be like 7.90 per pack. so ex! so now i will go down and buy it! thks!!!

mashy i experience pain too yest. but not sure if its braxton hicks. my tummy is hard and i can feel my son moving about with his limbs rubbing against my tummy. i experience sharp pain occasionally. but its not as painful as u mentioned. i can still endure. no backache also..or is it becoz i am sitting with a pillow at my back. but i can feel the tightness and his limbs.