(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Ivory
Thanks for the update.

Wenyl
ya we really need to start making our house child proof le... my hb commented that i was not calm at all at that time cos i saw my nephew's blood like fountain like that then i was stunned.

are you still willing to let go the pillow... i can get from you...

hi mashy brainz,
ya i realised there were other brands but i'm not too sure how those work. so far, i think i have only seen 2, one is aprica and the other one is playtex. but think it's easier to get the refill for aprica coz robinson sells the refill. for playtex i'm not sure where to get the refill other that first few years which sell it.

hi SF,
yes dat's the aprica diaper bin i was referring to. i juz bot it at motherswork over the weekend. i oso bot the safety 1st bathtub that you were referring to from kidsmall. got it at $39.90. think the $29.90 one is blue in colour and without the built-in accessory tray and rinse pitcher. i tot the rinse pitcher will be useful to store clean water.

btw ladies, i oso bot my convertible bb car seat over the weekend liao. think my little prince is having the best of everything. how pampered!his dear daddy bot him a made in usa Britax car seat which cost $759 at first few years! apparently Safe n Sound is also under the label Britax juz that it's made in aust. this is the one we got
http://www.britaxusa.com/products.cfm?action=ShowProduct&pro_id=3EF9D530-6E0D-48CA-983F5E9CD34DE314

hi zhimin,
sorry to hear about ur nephew's case. i do agree strongly that it's important to childproof the house. good thing i'm renovating my house now, so i can make sure all my furnitures don't have sharp corners.things like kitchen table top, bedframe etc. my only problem is finding a coffee table. seems like these days coffee tables are all very low and have sharp corners. think i will end up buying an ottaman and use it as a coffee table! :p

krissie,
yaloh, kids got such good life these days! :p

zhimin,
err.. i don't think it's something to be envious about. i'm so so stressed now, coz i'm worried the house won't be ready in time. some nights i can't even sleep well coz thinking about the reno. everytime gotta call the contractor, and designer and rush them. how i wish i have juz bought a brand new house at that time. but of coz brand new house, u can't customize alot of things loh. so i suppose got pros and cons lah.

hi sleeping dear,
think u bot the safe n sound car seat right? not sure if you bot seperate shoulder belt comfort pads? if not, u may want to consider getting coz i heard that it may hurt the baby when you strap over their shoulder and cut their neck. just fyi.

glad to know that I am not alone when it comes to tummy size. I always have this impression that my tummy is quite small for a 7mth pregnant mother. morever, there is a pregnant colleague who is seated at the floor as me and her tummy is real big, alot of people thought she is going to give birth soon but she is really 2 weeks ahead of me. sometimes, I get so worried that I can't sleep at night, eg when I realised I have been sleeping on my back, I will get real guilty.
Baby is moving happily these days, squirming here and there. sometimes, I get real worried when she don't move, what I normally do is to give her a tap or two (lightly and with consistent rhythm). after a while, she will response.

Celine, I have a friend who just returned from UK and she just bought a new house and is renovating it. she is currently about 36 weeks and is quite stressed as well. not good to be stressed. must relax and take care.
My PIL don't even allow us to pack our messy storeroom, nothing should be moved in the house until baby is born. a lot of things to do for my hubby after baby is born. :p

hi mongs, everyone tells my tummy is very small. actually on the contrary i'm very happy to hear that coz that means i don't have to worry about going for slimming progam after delivering! :p i'm sure if the bb is too small our gynae will tell us about it. so if u gynae didn't say anything like dat, then don't have to worry loh. at 28wks, my bb size is 1076gm. my gynae said he's medium size.

wow 36weeks and still renovating? i would be SUPER stress if i were her. my house is expected to be done when i'm 34wks. hopefully they don't delay the project. i'm oso trying hard not to be too stress over it. but really, it's easier said than done.

realised a lot of posts to catch up again!

Celine77,
so safety 1st bath tub is quite good? think i will get that some time soon. wah, your hubby really pampering his son!! i haven't checked out car seats yet. think must make a trip to baby kingdom to check out.

sleepingdeer,
u bought your car seat at baby kingdom? actually is there any difference between baby hypermart and baby kingdom?

zhimin,
kids get into accidents all the time. dun be too sad. my fren's nephew broke his arm in her care and she was feeling real bad abt it too. but like what she said, kids get into all sorts of things so cannot blame yourself too much.

Hello gals

Curly - where can i get those 2nd hand stroller? i thought of getting the Peg perego but very ex leh. Now still considering whether to buy or not.
Robinson having sales ah? so sad i cant go shopping these 2 weeks cos lower abdominal pain.

Hooray! tomoro is my checkup liao. I look forward to it but at the same time frighten cos got to go for injection.

confused,
how come got lower abdominal pain? is it cos u walked too much or not enough rest?

anyone know where to buy nice cot sheets? i m thinking of not buyinh those full set of cot bedding but seldom see nice cot sheets.

SY,
i'm not sure if it's really good. me oso inexperience. i have a friend using similar kind of tub and her daughter seems to love playing in it.so i guess should be quite alright.
haha, my hb's philosophy is if got the $ to provide the best, why not! furthermore when it comes to safety of the child, better to be safe than sorry. anyways, he's paying for it, so i zip loh! :p

celine77,
since your hubby paying for it then of cos zip lah....think it's a guy thing. they are more interested in looking at all these car seats, stroller stuff. my hubby never interested to look at mittens and booties etc. yesterday my mum bought clothes for my son and i was so interested in them and he din even look at it!!

so your bath tub is the safety 1st one? i shall go look at it again, only saw it from website but haven't gone to really look at it.

SY, u can try first few years @ paragon. their cot sheets are really nice. but of coz comes with a price. it's around $300-$400. think they are having a sale now but i'm not sure how many %. i bot mine online from carters at babycenter.com. it cost USD99. but the shipping itself cost me almost SGD100! infact i bot most of my prince's clothes there too. but the sizes are angmoh size, abit bigger.

SY - remember i ask u gals abt the pain (right side of the pelvis) i got tis pain for almost 2weeks liao. Hopfully no problem lor, tomoro is my checkup n must tell my gynae liao. So i dare not/cant walk too much.

Aiyo! i only bought 2 bottles n bb clothing. The rest still havent buy. See u gals bought so many stuff liao, i very gan cheong.

celine77,
i was at first few years. their cot bedding was so ex!! got a shock. but it's really really nice..... dun think my baby can wear angmoh size. he's smaller than average right now. i m already at 26 weeks and he's only like 500+g...sigh.

SY,
actually my hb is not interested in any of the bb stuff at all coz he knows i will take care of it. we agreed that i will pay for the bb stuff whereas he will pay for the house reno. but with this car seat, i really find it very exp, so i told him if he wants to buy, he will pay for it. to him, most impt is hassle free. as long as good, price is alright, then he will juz buy. he's not the shop around kind. actually i'm oso very lazy to shop around so i usually buy my stuff online. keke

confused,
yah i remember u mentioned the pain so was wondering whether is it the same one. still there? quite long liao. did you mention to your gynae earlier?

i also get pains often but mine is more like muscle cramp. sometimes pain until cannot walk but it's on and off.

hee, we motivate u to shop... :p

SY,
ic... don't worry lah, he still has plenty of time to grow. as long as the gynae didn't say there's any reason to be worried, then don't loh.

SY
Re cot sheets, can get Aussimo ones, or the ones at Taka. There are a few brands, Lollipop, My first wardrobe (I think), Pooh, etc. So, far the range I saw at Taka seems like the nicest. I'll most prob get the My first wardrobe one coz it's plain yellow and I have 2 printed cot bumpers at home, so can use this plain one to match. : ) The more exp ones can get at Robinsons (I saw a set at $300, v nice) or Kids Mall (also ard $200+).

Confused
U better rest.. can buy the stuff all at one shot.. I buy separately coz will buy during sales and can safe a bit here and there. I also have some pain sometimes on my left hip. But, I notice that it's when I sleep on my sofa then will get it. Maybe not enough support for the hip.

SY - ya! its the same plc. i didnt call gynae. i wait till my checkup then tell him the pain.

krissie - i know i'll have a big hole in my pocket cos if i buy one shot. (but no choice lor) i dont have pain on my hip or backache. only when i side on 1 side for too long then i'll have backache.

Looks like you have good time shopping at Robinson over the weekend... I didn't manage to go so sad... my HB is busy sigh....
Anyway I bought 2 new bra from M&S on sunday... good to wear right size bra :p

Wendy
Oh the sale ended 23 Oct?... looks like I missed it already... wonder if they still offer it now... maybe I will call them to check...
SO u manage to buy?

SY
My HB also not interested in baby clothes, baby cot etc etc...but he is interested in Milk bottle - those with anti colic function ones, stroller, car seats... indeed a guy thing heehee....

MONDAY AGAIN... sigh...

Maternity Fashion and Essentials Promotion:
20% off regular priced items in the Maternity and Maternity Essentials department (including lingerie) from now till 27th October 2005 at all mothercare stores.

kriss
I will need to attend tues class from this week onwards.
I will call Vasanthan to make the changes tomorrow ( tried calling this morning she is on leave).
SO if u wanan take the Sat slot.. u can call her tomorrow too since I'm not attending on Sat already.
Last sat class was good... not so crowded...

Just discovered Spotlight also sells baby cot stuff. May wish to drop by and have a look. Bought another mattress sheet over the weekend. Pillow case a bit big though but can keep and wait till babies are bigger and change pillows, then can use pillow case.

Just finished my ante-natal class on Sat. Waiting for next detailed scan on 11/11. Got most of my stuff. Just need to shop for the remaining essentials for me during hsp stay & confinement.

Need to scout for venue for baby's 1st month too

Confused, I bought the 2nd hand stroller off Yahoo auction (or you can also try ebay). We were quite lucky bec the one we bought is very similar to the ones which hubby likes. Robinsons' sales ended yesterday but the salesgirl told me there's another one coming near to next wk public holidays (I suppose this wkend??).

Tomorrow evening we will be attending a workshop which will teach shiatsu pressure points which can help to speed up labour!
Hope your pain will go away soon..... I think sometimes is the weight of the bb??

confused
hope your checkup will go well.

celine77,
my gynae (in his usual pattern) always tells me not to worry. he did say a few times that bb is small but say can catch up. he told me to aim for bb's weight to be 2.8kg when born for easier delivery.

krissie,
does aussino sell only the cot sheets? i tot theirs come with cot bumpers and everything. tot if just get cot sheets will be cheaper. cot bumpers etc only need abt 2 sets think.

cookie,
i also din go robinsons over the weekend. wanted to go but ended up going out of the house too late and not enough time to do a quick shopping trip. which bra did u get from M&S? i went to look at their nursing ones and it was 2 fo 120! so ex!!

sysa,
thanks. will go spotlight to check it out.

Cookie
Thanks lots.. Can you email me at [email protected], pls. I need to know your name to tell her.
She's quite sticky one leh.. To prove that there's really a space. So, last Sat enough space lah.. Friday class was just nice, not too crowded.

Sysa
Can share on the venue for the 1st mth. Me having headache, coz my place is too small for so many pple.

SY
I think Aussimo's one is a set. Then, wld be those at Taka which I mentioned. I think I saw some at Tangs also, but same brands as Taka. IF you're not particular abt material. KP also sells. But, some of the designs and matl are not as good as the Taka one. Of course, it's cheaper too.

Mashy
I also got the cot sheets from Ikea for my mum's place. I reckon I need at least 4 sets. 2 at my place and 2 at my mum's.

krissie, sysa,
my cousin doing her bb's first month at crystal jade! i was quite stunned cos i figured that will cost a lot of money! hopefully no one in my extended family will think that i will be doing that also....

why dun u try to do at some clubs with nice function rooms?

krissie,
i will go check out the cot sheets. so far haven't got any yet...

mashy,
i was at ikea last week. din see any. maybe din look hard enough....

SY

u started eating durian? i saw Wenyl post her bb's weight at 1.14kg and her EDD oni 1 day earlier than mine, n baby Celeste was 900gm only!! worried for a while and thinking bb abit small..but then again if gynae say OK, means we dun have to worry a teenie bit... :0 just tat as first time n kiasu parents, we tend to fret over the slightest thing..hee...

confirmed Aussino dun have the cot sheet sold alone, i ask aldy. actuali if ur mum knows how to sew, its relai easy to make the cot sheet cos its so small n simple. am intending to buy cloth and get MIL to do it, cos the cot sheet alone cost over $10-30 which i dun reali find worth it... imagine the whole set wf so many things n patterns oni $69.90... calculative mind at work

Zhimin

u went class last Fri? the video on epidural so scary.. i had thought of tat as last resort but after seeing,i..hmm...
kao_scared.gif

SY
wanted to go on Sat - robinson but HB said go chinatown that choon seng shop see see... but end up that shop close early cos owner got dinner appt
so we went home after that...
then Sun my HB working till evenin... so we only went Parkway parade. they have M&S there too and I bought their non wire bra which on sale.. bought 2 pc for $65 consider cheap but it's not nursing bra...
maybe eventually still need to buy nursing bra hor...
I'm thinking nursing bra more for gng out... if BF at home I think abit "ma fan" nevermind la...

RE: Unusual pain
Hi SY and was it curly?... talking abt pain...
I also experience some pain for past 1 week dunno same as you all or not... or anyone has same problem...
My pain is at err... the portion below our abdominal... you know when we stand straight with leg together, we will form a Y shape at the virgina area. I have pain on the left side of the Y shape and spread nearer downwards/inward.
when I press that area... it's seems more like born structure I wonder why I have such pain.
The pain occur esp when I need to sit up from my bed or changing position...

I wonder you all can understand what I'm trying to say... very paisey... I dunno what exactly we call that area...

god's child,

u can use old bed sheets to make cot sheets too. i tried but find the huge cloth diff to handle. still struggling... hope i manage to make it...if not, it's off to ikea!

god's child,
what's so scary abt epidural? i haven't really think whether to take or not.

i haven't eat durian yet cos i got a cough that would't go away and still got occasional nosebleed. scared heaty. my mum told me to eat durian puff...
which is nicer.

my mum can do the simple sewing. hmm..maybe i shall ask my tailor whether she can do it. but dunno whether it is very troublesome or not. think i shall go and look and see first.

cookie,
i also think i will go down to the cheong choon store one day too just to check things out.

my pain is usually low as well. think it's cos the uterus is pressing and expanding. i think it's like a muscle cramp thing. if u stay too long in one position, think u will tend to get it. my gynae did tell me to change position often.

Zhimin,
U want the pillow? If yes, pls PM me & we arrange a convenient place to meetup. Thanks!

Cookie,
Yes, I managed to go Robinson to buy the pillow yesterday. Hubby was busy so I went alone. The robinson staff told me 23 Oct last day for their baby sales. I also bot a musical mobile (20% disc) for the cot & some baby wipes. Went down Bayb supplies to buy the sling on sat. And end up buying 2 tops for myself. Now, really feel pocket got BIG hole liao!

SY,
U can try Mothercare for their cot sheets. I bot a set of 2 cot sheets. They have 10% discount for various credit card holders. My mum bot some plain cotton cloth while in Melaka. Very cheap. So she suggest using it to make cot sheet & beansprout pillows with it.
My gynae also told me the ideal bb weight for easier delivery is 2.8-3.2kg.

I also have the pain in my left hip nowadays. Was tinking is it due to sleeping on the left side. And our body weight is on our hip. The pain worsens whenever I finish mopping the hse. I must remind myself to swim more during the next 2 mths. Gynae say swimming helps if got backaches & "joint"aches.

god's child
ya the video so scary... my hb asked me to bear for the pain without epidural after seeing the video...
nono.gif
but my threshold for pain i think quite low le...

SY - thanks. ya! dont worry abt your bb weight? oh ya! u eat durian liao mah? Oso i was told eat beef will oso help. (eat in moderation n dont overeat)

curly - thanks for the info. i go to the website n see.

cookie - its me. mine is on the right side. its on n off n ifeel pain when i stand up or when i'm walking.

Hi Celine,
yah, I was also looking for extra padding for the car seat, but couldn't find any.. you know where sells shoulder and car seat padding which are suitable for Safe and Sound or Britax?

Clare,
I am going for the Mt. A sat class starting Nov, but Vasantha told me it starts on the 10th Nov, Thursday, and thereafter every Sat leh? Which date did she tell you?

SY,
I bought my Safe and SOund cot from Baby Kingdom... we didn't see it at Baby Hypermart though... many other brands, but no Safe and SOund, dunno whether it's becoz I blur, never see

SY
the class showed a video on the options for pain relieve methods during birth... den they mentioned before using epidural, the couple need to sign a consent form, and the form stated all the side effects of using epidural... the most serious one will be paralyse.

cos if using epidural, we need to really follow the instructions like curl up our body and don't move at all... or else if the position not right might cause paralyse... but the staff nurse mentioned the chances of paralyse is very slim...

SY

i dunno how to describe to u the procedure.. i think its beta if u never seen it before since its done at ur back. now tat i see the video and the needle,..
kao_dizzy.gif

durian puff yummy... joo chiat durian puff very nice, very rich... oh, craving craving now...

Mashy

IKEA oni has white sheets? i dun want white leh, scare easy dirty. think will juz get MIL to do cos i also dun have oldsheets to discard, all new ones...

wenyl,
thanks. will pop by mothercare. so many places to go now for shopping!

confused,
haven't start the durian eating cos i sick. u try to stand up slowly and dun shift position too suddenly. think we are more prone to muscle cramps etc nowadays.

sleepingdeer,
think i will go and take a look at the safe and sound. i din see it at first few years. only saw britax and it was expensive11

zhimin,
my fren did take the epidural. she din make it sound scary leh. she say just need to curl up and they will insert the needle.

remmeber to maintain good posture! realise that as baby gets heavier, i really tend to slouch more..

SY

ya lor, now tat babies heavier, reali have to hav gd posture.. realise also when i slouch in the ofice, my ribs ache alittle, very 'suan'...

wendy
I called bayb supplies.. she said I go down this weekend... still can get the discounted price on sling.. so am gng to check it out...
if I go robinson... sure burn big hole too...heehee

SY
I went to the chinatown store hor... looks very tightly pack maybe they packing for closing.. I couldnt much.