(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

durianlover, the MOM website said 180 days before birth of child. http://www.mom.gov.sg/LRD/Government-paid+Maternity+Leave.htm

You should be entired to the maternity leave since you got preggy only after joining.

I have a friend's colleague (in govt sector), when she went for interview, she didnt know she was preggy and when they offered her, she told them she preggy liao, they still accept her but no maternity leave....

thread moving super fast, so fast that I cannot catch up liao...

Celine/Krissie,
i bought a carseat from Baby Kingdom, from infant to about 3 years old. Wanna train bb to sit carseat since it is a must... can't remember the brand though, I only know it's australian..

hi sleepingdeer, how much did u pay for the carseat? i'm thinking of getting either combi, maxicosi, peg perego or britax. those that caught my eyes are usually more than $200 for infant seats. and those convertible ones are $300 & above. so exp! so wondering if it's better to get the convertible which can last longer.

haha krissie, i'm looking for tiny love toys whereas u are looking for fisher price.

does anyone know where to get tiny love toys besides baby sayang?

celine

i found 1 very cheap convertible car seat at $139 at baby hypermart or baby kingdom. The brand is Safety First.

And i just saw some tiny love toys selling at the Cheong Choon Store mentioned in the other thread.

for me, i am loaning from my frd. so not buying. need not buy to ex coz ur baby may not like to be seated in it. for some of my frds, it is for show. but baby never sit on it. mum and baby sit behind.hehee

Hi all...
Sorry have been busy so now then got time to update on the bulk buy for BabySafe Matress for those who are interested:

Co. is the supplier of BabySafe products to major shopping centers n is located at Bishan near Junction 8.

Matress 3 Sizes avail (Normal Price inclusive of delivery):
24" x 48" - $149
28" x 48" - $159
28" x 52" - $169

Discount (only available if you self-collect):
< 5 pcs : 5% for Robinson card holder / 10% for Kiddy Palace card holder
>= 5 pcs : Max 20% discount

This means we need at least 5 orders to have 20% discount as otherwise it may be better to buy at Robinsons with $10 voucher + 5% rebate.

Anyone interested?

mashy brainz,
ic. ok i shall go and shop around. where is this Cheong Choon Store? any contact no.?

ssf, i oso got a friend w 2 kids and NEVER use car seat. i don't think i want to be so hero. won't want to compromise with safety! keke

celine

it's at Chinatown. Blk 34 Upper Cross St #03-132.

Go after 1.30pm coz they don't open so early. Think can ask for discount. They are distributor for some products, so u may wanna check it out.

Tel: 6532 3855

Hi Celine,
we got ours at $235, it's convertible from a infant car seat to a normal child seat, the name also start with Safe, but can't remember the rest. We got the standard model, they have executive and delux as well, means that the cushions are much more padded. The lady was trying to convince us to take them instead, saying first baby should sit 'business class' or 'first class', but we told her that since we can only afford sit in 'economy', so baby should also sit economy with us lah...

hi sleepingdeer. thks for the info. i will probably pop by to check it out. could it be Safe and Sound? I juz called robinsons at raffles city, they only carry 2 models from Safe and Sound. Also around $269 &amp; $299. Could be the same one.

okie we shall start a stock take here for Baby Safe mattress. Will only go ahead with the purchase if we have min 5 orders to enjoy the 20% discount but bear in mind have to self collect at Bishan oh:

1) Clare 24" x 48"
2) Sleepingdeer

Celine,
just wondering, do you think we can get more discount if we buy the car seat together as a group?

Sleepingdeer,
did u get your car seat from Baby Hypermart as well?

SY,
i'm not too sure leh. but for me, i think it's hard to get a group coz not all mtb are interested in the same model. furthermore i personally have not done much research on which is good and where sells cheap. unless some other mtb out there can advise and coordinate.

btw mtbs, juz fyi, i juz ordered some tiny love toys from babysayang.com. the lady teresa gave me 15% discount and price works out to be about the same as cheong choon store. cheong choon store is juz a dollar or 2 cheaper than babysayang.com after the discount. furthermore babysayang got all of the items i want whereas cheong choon doesn't.

but i'm not sure issit becoz i purchase ard $200+ worth, dat's y she gave me the 15% discount :p

Mashy
Thanks.. cant wait leh.. need to buy a gift (from office) for my colleague who just gave birth last week.

Sleepingdeer
Is it Safe and Sound. I saw that too. But, I read in another thread that infant car seats are diff from the one for toddlers. So, am a bit confused. Have u tried attaching yours to the car yet?

Durian lover, my gynae tap tap my big tummy and says there is actually alot of wind inside. So he prescribe antacid for me to get rid of the wind, hopefully my tummy will become smaller after that.

Curly, think your colleague very poor thing, no maternity leave! I didn't know about the 180days ruling and was contemplating changing job after I was pregnant, thank God I didn't.

Hi SY,
I got mine from Baby Kingdom..

Celine,
could be Safe and Sound... on the invoice, it's stated the original price was $299, but probably just a sales gimmick...

Hi Krissie,
I also dunno leh.. The lady say can use from infant to baby. She mentioned tat for infant, have to face backwards, and it's sleeping position... there's a retractable bar that juts out to stablise the seat if face backwards. The seat I got can reline into 3 positions loh... the lowest will be like sleeping position. After 6 months, she say can change to front facing already... mine will only come in November, together with the Taurus cot...

What's the difference between the infant and baby car seat?

celine,
you like tiny love toys very much? is it particularly good for baby's development?

ariel,
it is possible to have a lot of wind esp if u have problems like gastric and heartburn. i also suffer from it and doc gave me antacid also.

think infant and baby car seat is for different age group?

dear all
just finish reading most of the past threat... so much to catch up...
Today I'm down with fever and cough... suppose to MC for 2 days but looks like got to back off tomorrow if I'm feeling ok....

Is anyone thinking of getting the Baby Sling??
I was thinking abt it and Seems like a good tools to increase bonding and good BF too in public...

btw, just want to let all mummies know.
just now i went to check out those medical halls to see what baby stuff i found, i saw them selling the pigeon bottle cleanser with refill at 17.90!! that's 2 dollars cheaper than most dept stores. so for those who havent buy u can go to medical halls. check them out for other stuff too. my fren bought latacyd at 7 bucks from some of the places.

curly,
thanks for the link on MOM's regulations! i feel relieved that it's 180 days before giving birth! can qualify

in my previous company, even worse...there was a new colleague who found out she was pregnant after being accepted into the job but before starting work. Boss knew abt it but didn't object. But he fired her after her 3months probation...though other reasons were given, but most of us suspect it's coz he doesn't want to give her the 3months maternity leave. So poor thing.

Re: baby carseat
i dun intend to buy car seat coz no car!! but thinking of buying car now...hee...but even then someone gave us a 2nd-hand carseat so we may just use it!

Those interested in the Babysafe Pillow....
I went to Raffles City Robinson earlier in the evening &amp; those pillows on promo (2 for $28) all already SOLD OUT. Have to go Robinson Centrepoint to buy. The staff told me promo is whilst stock last till this sun.

** Anyone interested to share the pink one??? I will be glad to share cos tink of it, I only need 1 blue pillow. Let me know.
Or anyone want me to get for you?? Let me know too. I can help u buy 1st before it runs out.

Cookie,
I m also looking for baby sling. Still can't decide between Bayb Supplies &amp; Moms In Mind slings. BayB supplies now have inhouse sales. Now selling $48 (Usu $68) Seems quite a good buy hor?? Cos with the discount, it is almost the same price range as MIM sling liao.

<font color="ff6000">GOOD MORNING!!! ITS FRIDAY!!!</font>

hello all mummies,
had my chkup last tues and gynae said bb and mummy doing very fine. BB is weighing (est) 1.17kg at 29 wks 1 day and mummy's weight increased by 1.8kg.. so far gained abt 6kg from my pre preggy weight.. gynae said my nxt appt is still 4 weeks later then after which it will become 3 weeks then 1 week..

Queen,
so ur gyane said ur bb weighing 1.1kg at 28 weeks consider small?? mine said bb consider avg leh and he said i will not wan a too big bb also since may have difficulty delivering.. so dun worry too much.. like we always say, i think most impt is bb is HEALTHY.

Sleepingdeer,
I think urs must be the safe and sound cos i also saw tat at Baby Kingdom and HB likes it alot.. think it the way the sales gal promotes it also.. ya they comes in what business/first class but i dun think we will get that high class since i think the economy one is good enough. so u alos bought the taurus cot ya.. keke salesgal also got promote that to us but most prob we will stick to Daniel cot from Kidsparadise since cheapest..

sleepingdeer
I'm also not v familiar with car seats. But, I read from the other thread that usually only infant car seats can be secured well to the car, something like that.
http://www.kidsmall.com.sg/kidsmall2/pages/mast/full-tips.jsp?newsName=Tips-Feature
infant car seat is the 1st pic, it looks like the baby carrier.

Cookie
Take care, don't worry too much abt work if you're sick lah.. our body is more impt. I think that the sling is good. Not getting it, coz my gf is lending me. : )

hi sleepingdeer,
ic. ok so it's safe and sound. i will go check that out. the price sounds reasonable for a convertible car seat. btw it's made where huh? australia?

hi SY,
i juz find those toys quite fun. and have heard good reviews about it. so tot of buying for my son loh. from the website it claims that it's good for child's development lah, but don't know how true. anyways, juz let him play loh. else i'm afraid i don't know how to "entertain" my son. esp when i don't really know how to "babytalk" as i find it abit silly. :p

hi cookie,
it was me who asked about tiny love toys. i manage to get it from babysayang. thks! :D

Hi Clare,

Don't know if you see my posting on Monday on the meaning of Ashley.

Anyway i just borrowed the book recommended by cookie and i realise it gives a different meaning. In this book, the meaning of Ashley is Harmony and the verse that comes with it is Psalms 133:1

"Behold, how good and how pleasant it is for brethren to dwell together in unity!"

The previous one i posted was Peace of God and the verse is Phil 4:7

"And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds thru Christ Jesus."

Good morning!!
wenyl
do we really need the baby safe pillow? is it those type very thin, rectangular one? usual price is $18.90 per pillow? cos my friend told me just fold cloth nappy and put below bb head can liao... no need pillow.

does anyone experience tightness at tummy area when you stand up, have urge to pee, turn your body when sleep?

Morning ALL!!! Thank GOD it's FRIDAY!!!! yippy...

wah yesterday leg cramps mann! not sure why whenever my hubby go overseas..and i stay at my mum's place, i will get leg cramps. and this time its 2 separate times on each leg. so painful and hubby not ard to stretch for me. bo pian have to go wall and do stretching. but i am happy coz hubby coming back tonight!

Cookie - pls take care and dun overstress with work. as always baby comes first! as for baby sling. first mth ya not going out so i think its too early to buy. moreover if you opt for C-sect, it may be painful to sling it till your waist. i dun noe just my personal view. i just think its still early to buy.

SY...yeah that's cheaper 2 bucks than at Isetan when i bought it. did you check its expiry date? LACTACYD at guardian seems to be a better buy coz 14.50 with 2 big and one small bottle (can be use for travelling). but i dun think guardian has it anymore. and if its 7 bucks it really cheap too. but do check on expiry date. cannot really trust those medical hall. but i am surprise its cheaper there coz i once bought a washing detergent and it is more ex than supermarket.

yeah sunny i pee like 2 times every night. so tiring but no choice, just feel like peeing. my bump is quite low...so i think its pressing on my bladder. but one good thing that its low, many said easier to deliver but must be careful not to knock anythg. it must be protected esp when baby head is now down.

I remembered during my first pregnancy, i always compares notes with my friend who EDD was 4 weeks earlier than mine.

ANyway, for her, she always feel tightness in her tummy and i did too but we have very different outcome. According to her gynae, it's the Brantox kicks and ask her to monitor in case it gets too frequent. Then he prescribe soem medication for her to 'cut down' on the contractions, worrying that she will deliver prematurely.

For me, thou i feel tightness also (but i didn;t check with gynae) but i think it's not contractions cos by the time i give birth - not much diliation yet. Usually if there's contractions, it means dilation...........

Just sharing my experience.

SSF,
i also remember the last time your hubby not ard, u also had leg cramps!!

i can't find the one at guardian anymore so think will ask my fren to buy from the medical hall. yah will remind her to check expiry date. a lot of things at medical hall are cheaper. the only thing troublesome is got to make it a point to remmeber the prices.

i also have to get up and pee every night! if not my tummy will really hurt when i wake up. think cos my uterus still low and always pressing on my bladder. realise if i go toilet too slow, it can feel really crampy the whole night.

wenyl,
i can't decide whether to buy sling or carrier but i tot carrier looks easier to use. my fren is using the infantino one and it looks quite good.

celine,
i shall go check out the toys. realised that nowadays my focus of shopping for baby has shifted from clothes to toys!

cookie,
feeling better?

edd2jan,
wah you gain very little weight. i already gain 8-9kg!!
seems like most pple saw the safe and sound. will go check it out.

yuki,
i feel a lot of movement near the vagina. sometimes it feels like the muscles twitching. is that like contractions? i hope not....

Morning all mummies &amp; mummies to be
FRIDAY = FLYDAY!!!

Zhimin - will there b a break in btw the class tontie? how long will it be? today taking xtra care not to eat any spicy food..haha
kao_scared.gif

Yuki - i also feel my tummy tite at times. esp when i sit down, can almost feel her at the edge of the tummy wriggling. so, its ok la.. sometimes i worry she no space also...
kao_sad2.gif

SSF - u prop ur legs up at ntie when u sleep? thats wat i do, and sometimes i wear socks..and *touch wood* haven got any leg cramps...

is baby sayang website cheap? i saw quite a few pple mention. will they give discount if you buy above a certain amt?

sleepingdeer,
i cough for ages one, so quite used to it. just think that my boy dun like it cos disturb him everytime!!

will go check out the link that u attached. thanks!!

god's child
there will be about 10 minutes toilet break in between... they only provide beverages... no food so better eat something light before lesson... last week class end about 15 minutes late... i was very hungry by that time.

zhimin,
I really dunno if baby pillow necessary or not. Thot Babysafe pdts are rather good &amp; since they hv promo...maybe will reconsider carefully...have been spending too much this week on bb stuffz.

Me going for gynae checkup later. Hope Baby has grown bigger. I have been feeling tightness on my tummy these few days. Sometimes can feel baby moving under my tight skin. Can even see my tummy protrude like a tiny hump on one side. Anyone experience the same? Quite funny at times cos tummy look out of shape for a while. Hee!

Hi Wenyl,

My last visit to the gynae was on Tue and baby has turned as in his head is downwards. Occasionally, I will have 2 bumps at each side. During those time, I suspect that baby is stretching &amp; 2 bumps are his knee caps. Yep, agree that it looks funny as the tummy is out of shape for a while. Lucky, it usually happens at night and at home

Wendy
Really??? BayB selling at $48 only now?? I went to their site yesterday only... never see for sale ley. How u find out?
If its $48... think I prefer to get theirs ley... think bayb 1 looks more firm and steady ley. somemore I like the lilac colour one heehee
If u calling them... can ask if buy 2 got cheaper or not...heehee...

Kriss/SY/sleeping deer/SSF
Thanks feeling better now... but still has cough then I realise my collegaue who spread cough virus to me... never take her medication in off as it cause her to feel sleepy... but by doing this she is spreading virus to pple around her... I'm pretty pissed

SSF
the medical hall I bought the kodomo detergent sell cheaper at 15.00 whereas supermarket sell $16.9... so depends on the medical hall
But I do agree abt the expiry date at medical hall cos I believe their stock turn over is slower so must always check expiry date.

I think you got a point on the baby sling.. although I pray for normal delivery but I wun know until when time exactly which method of delivery is require...
But I find the sling very convenient... my HB and I was thinking abt the baby carrier or sling.. then sling is good BF also in case we bring baby out...

Yuki
I always thought the book I found from NLB is the same as u said your friend has... apparently is not...heehee...