(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Curly,

The nursing bra I got at Spring costs $29.90. Looks like sports bra but with the flips in front to ease BF. The one I got at Thyme is half lacy so it looks good
I paid $55 for the first one and $27.50 for the 2nd. There was a promo in Jul and so I bought 2.

Hey gals,

The bathtub I bought is the same size as those sold at Mothercare. It was bought at Serangoon Central and costs abt $30. It comes with a board to place baby so that he is kept dry and a non-slip mat at the base. I think the shop's name is Cerisi. There seems to be branches of this shop ard. So you all may wish to go have a look at the tub

yeah wenyl. there is also a burner. i will be bringing my relaxing oil to calm myself. hehee...u playing that sleepy song when u delivering? ahha ..wait baby sleeps and forget to come out. haha...jsut kidding.

wenyl
where you get the mozart cd? is it expensive?

i thinking of buying the raspberry tea from moms in mind... but only buy one packet from them like very funny hor...

SY
ya, durians plus drink milk + sleep on your left. Rest more. My friend rested at home and her bb grew qt a lot. Was born at 3.25kg. Really, ah.. I must switch my shower gel also liao.. Is your itch like rashes? Mine has little bumps..

THanks SY, it was very relaxing bec was doing nothing. And of course missed all the postings here and got to quickly scanned thru all the posts at one go!

Thanks sysa, will have a look next time I go shopping.

durianlover
the tea i read from their website is very good for pregnant lady leh... they claim can ease the uncomfort during delivery wor and i am a tea lover too... i think if order they can post to your house. but only buy this small packet of tea very funny... thinking whether should i buy nursing bra from them too but just got 2 nursing bra from thailand leh... think krissie got buy from them?

zhimin, durianlover,
I also read about the tea, they say can freeze it and suck it during labour. give u energy. but think the nurses will not let us swallow the liquid. anyway, read that it's good for us, more stamina, aid in production of milk. something like that right zhimin?

Krissie,
I have problem sleeping on my left. my nose always get stuck when I sleep on my left. that's why for the past few weeks, a bit stressed during sleep time coz can't sleep on left. flip around like prata. now I dun really care, sleep on my right. think as long as not on back, should be alright, right? am quite worried that my baby can't grow properly because of the shortage of blood circulating.

oh btw, those getting pigeon rapid steriliser from JL. there are 2 pigeon bottles and a small bottle of bottle cleanser wash for free!

Sleepingdeer
NB-I was about to say NB's period is over v soon, so beta to get infant pillow instead.
Not to worry, the pillow itself is white. If ur mum can make pillow cases, u can make the colour for your bb.

SY
I think no matter what, we shall pop around CNY period, so definitely no need for any visiting for me/hb. I rembr when my boi came out, we also did not have to visit, our relatives and friends came over instead.

B/feeding - nursing tops.... can also buy the breastfeeding bib... it's like a big bib that u can cover over urself and bb....

Weight - so long as gynae says he's ok, then ok, dun worry. Now I understand why u say my twins are bigger.....

Did u two check out the pillows then?

mongs
As far as I know, there is no detailed scan for 3rd trimester. Only for my case, my gynae said there wlbe another scan. But maybe it differs from gynae to gynae.

No wonder! I dun see the Avent disp bm bags around... no more! Oh my gosh! Then how are we going to store the bm??? Can we purchase from the link u posted?

All - i know of a christian frd who is doing breastfeeding bib. she charge like ard 10 bucks. self made. my cousin told me abt it thru word of mouth.

if any of you are interested, i will get the contacts. i saw the pcs my cousin bought. quite nice and really pull over your neck will do. quite a few designs to choose from but not sure if she has any web site. so in this case, no need to buy nursing bra. but frankly, i am still not use to BF in public. haha.. maybe i am just that conservative.

Mongs
Oh I see. I nvr have such prob with the shower gel. Only recently..
Will try changing shower gel lah. Coz I have some scarring due to my scratching. So, v ugly. Shld have asked u gals earlier. If your bb is growing well, it's ok to sleep anyway u feel comfortable. Actually, I asked my gynae if it's necc to sleep on left & he said no need, as long as mummy is comfortable, can liao. Sleeping on the left helps pple whose bbs are smaller. Or when you're watching TV, u lie on your left, then, when you wanna sleep, then turn to the right lah. For me, my bb is a bit bigger, so I sleep anyway I like.

Yup, I got the teas from MIM. But, have not drank any yet.

To the qt abt the detailed scan. I will be having one at 32 weeks. That's in the 3rd trimester. On top of that, I have 2 CTG monitoring sessions. That's when the baby movements in the womb are being monitored. I think that happens 36 weeks onwards.

At the gynae yesterday, a mummy in the next room was having a CTG monitoring session. It sounded like her baby was moving furniture ard the house. I was not aware of the sound until a nurse brought it to my attention. She mentioned that baby's movements and heartbeat will be monitored during the 2 sessions.

mongs,
do you know whether is it better to use milk bags or glass bottles? some say milk bags easier but glass bottles better.

sysa,
will go check out. cerisi also sells a lot of baby stuff.
i went for the CTG monitoring last week. i had to lie there for quite long cos my baby small and not easy to get a good trace. yah, the sound is quite loud actually.

krissie,
i also want to rest more but hb doesn't realise i need the rest!! irritating...sigh.

my itch was not really bumps but i can see some small bumps. it's more like itch and i went to scratch and it was red..
the changing of shower gel and lotion worked for me. din even apply any cream the doc gave me.

re: mozart cd
is there really an effect? tot of buying it initially but din get it in the end.

stylobb,
no chance to check out pillows yesterday cos was working late. think got to work late these few days. maybe shall go down during lunch time or something. hopefully it doesn't rain!!

each time i tell my hb that even your twins bigger than our bb, he will be very kan cheong. your twins doing well!!

SSF,
i saw the nursing bibs at kiddy palace. selling 19.90. if your fren does at 10, that's cheap. maybe we can do another group buy...

SSF,
yah...TMC got burner hor. But I hvnt been using any aroma oil for quite some time liao. May give tat a miss. I probably standby a few CDs ... in case the mozart too soothing...both mummy & baby fall asleep in the delivery room....haha! Maybe play tat after delivery.

Zhimin,
I bot the CD from MOthercare.
Hmm...the rasberry tea sounds tempting. MIM will be having open house next sat. They are usually open on weekdays only.

I still can't decide buying between MIM bb sling & Bayb Supplies slings. Anyone got any feedbacks on those 2 slings?? Pls advise.

SY,
Dunno if Mozart got effect or not but I quite enjoy listening to it.

SY,
milk bags are really for storing BM pumped for longer storage in the freezers. u can stack them up in the freezer,save space. freezed BM can store 2-3 months. my colleagues advised me to try to pump more during my 1ast month of maternity leave and freeze the milk. these can be used to top up if you don't have enough after going back to work. some mothers' milk supply diminished rapidly after working coz very stressful. but remember to close the freezer well after u open because I heard of 1 incident when a mother's husband open the freezer and forget o close properly. all the milk has to be consumed within 24hrs after thawing. so throw away a lot. so heartache.

My gal has been listening to Bach- Building your baby's brain power CD for the past month. I really believe in early simulation of the baby's brain. I read that we can actually start after 5months coz that is when their audio sensory are developed. I borrowed it from my colleague who bought it from tower records at suntec. there is quite a good selections of music for babies.
actually according to another colleague of mine, any music can do, as long as it's soothing. u can try. 30mins each day is good enough.

Krissie,
thanks. I try to prop my head higher yesterday and managed to get half my sleep on my left side yesterday coz my nose feels better. quite happy. tonight I shall do the same thing, hopefully can get used to sleeping on my left side.
SY,
I can feel that u are worried about ur baby being small. try some simulation method, like playing music to your baby, talking or reading to your baby (using a rolled up magazine) or even playing (tapping your tummy in a consistent manner-do it at the same time daily, about 5 mins). I think by simulating their brains, they will be more reactive, active and hence maybe will take in more aminotic fluid. of course, don't over simulate, they have to rest too. drink enough water, rest well and no matter what, DUN WORRY, BE HAPPY!!

Morning gers..

one last n final call before i send out the e-mail on the bean sprout pillow orders to the supplier... any one else interested??? i will close the final at 10am!!!

SY - let me check out on the nursing bibs and see if have any website. ya certainly can do a group buy. hehee..so fun!

SY
wah, must tell your hb that you need to rest more. We need lots of rest. ?I'll quickly change my shower gel.. hope it will work.. mine is like yours, after scratching, will be red loh. I saw the babysafe pillow for infants (0-2.5yrs) at Taka. It was selling at $18.90 for 1. Is that the same one?

mongs,
how do you usually play your music to your baby? do you need any headphones or just play on the cd player is fine? i try to listen to 92.4 sometimes so baby can listen to classical music or i sing!
but usually too tired to do it.

i guess milk bags are easier to use than bottles. may go and order the avent milk bags then. just for info, there's thread that is taking orders as avent milk bags will be discontinued soon.

i also like to sleep with my head prop higher. makes my nose less stuffy and neck less aching.

my baby is active. just not growing very big. maybe like the father. my hb eats a lot but never put on weight. very skinny one. so he keeps saying bb got his genes! think i will try to do some simulation at the same time everyday.

SSF,
yah, think it's quite fun doing a group buy.

krissie,
i hinted many times already. dunno whether he got my hints...

yah the pillow usually sells for 18.90 so the robinsons buy is actually very good.

mornie all mummies, din sleep well. feeling super tired now
kao_sleep.gif

mongs - any kinda music for simulating baby will do? Haven not been doing any tai jiao for my baby.. think i beta go and grab some CDs.. if not my baby come out..gong gong (tis is wat my sister says so
kao_angry.gif

yah mong, do u use a headset or just normal CD player? My radio is always on in the office.. but its either class 95 or 93.3..

all - for me i will turn on 92.4 when i drive to work everyday. other than that, its just me talking to baby and my hubby at times

i have also enquire abt the nursing bib. she has just recently deliver her third child, so my cousin is checking if she wants to take order coz i guess she is in confinement now. the price is from 12-15 bucks. i think its quite cheap.

will let you know when she gets back.

any picture of nursing bib? i wonder how it looks like...

Re: music
almost every night i play some baby lullaby for bb to hear...just from normal CD-player..never use headphones. But i turn the music volume higher coz scared bb cannot hear! haha
now my hubby n i can memorise all the songs and getting sick of the same CD liao...haha

durianlover, it is somethg like an apron. pull teh string over your neck and then can cover the baby when you breastfeeding. my cousin said it can be used as a blanket as well. she is using that for her 2 yrs old daughter now she is not BF. and the colour she show me is quite nice. good material and flowery or plain colour. i let u know if i can get a snapshot of her bib.

durianlover,
the nursing bib is something u wear over yourself when u bf baby. it can cover bb and your upper body hen u bf.

SSF,
can it be used as a blanket? good that it has multiple uses so we dun need to buy too many things!

for 12-15 bucks i think it's cheap

btw, saw in another thread that there's this store in chinatown that has baby stuff and cheaper than most places. called cheong choon store. anyone been there?

yes SY can use as blanket. but too bad, i dun think she has a website yet. maybe have to send u guys those pics. i don't mind helping u all to transact. but of coz only if she have time to do it.

SY
Do you have the link for the thread for the milk bags. I feel like ordering too. Ya, then the Robinsons pillow is a v good buy, if they can use it up to 2yr+

Re
music for bb. I rem one of the gals (cant rem if it's sleepingdeer) who mentioned that it's not advisable to use earphones for the bb as it might be too loud for them. Maybe want to ask your gynae first before getting it.

SSF
We don't need it that urgently, so can also get it after her confinement?

Just came back the gynae's. Now supposed to be in 28 weeks and BB weighs about 1.1kg. My doc says he's a bit smaller than average (I didn't ask what's the average weight). Feel a bit sad to hear that. But he says BB is moving, so nothing to worry about, will have to monitor the size though. No issues with travelling to malaysia too.

krissie,
You are in 28 weeks too right? How's your BB's size? I have put on 2.5kg since the last visit... dunno why BB small leh. Overall, think I have put on 7 - 8kg since pre-preggy.

Oh. BTW, my doc was explaining a bit on pain relief during labour. He says that epidural has a lot of possible side effects (which is not what was taught during the antenatal classes). He doesn't appear to encourage epidural. Anyway, he says choice is mine but should I not want epidural, must really be mentally prepared for the pain.

all - mrs wong mentioned in her class she is against placing headphones to our belly and our baby can be deaf if music is turn on too loudly. she said baby can hear one..so just on slightly louder will do. need not buy those gadgets and place it on tummy.

Queen - har, 1.1kg for 28 weeks is small meh??? mine the same same leh... doc say it is normal size...

Krissie - where did u sit at the class??? i think this sat class will be interesting as it teaches labour massage...

SY - mine too need the link to purchase the milk bag... how many to order har??? later no milk how?

hey gals,
i've got an impt qns to ask...wonder if any of u can help?
Do u know by government regulations, how many weeks/months must we have worked in a company before we qualify for 12weeks maternity leave? i suspect i may not qualify but dun wanna bother my colleagues to check out if i can find out on my own first!
any advice wld be much appreciated!!

krissie,
i can't decide whether to order. like what pochacco say, what if no milk....

i read some reviews on the milk bag and some say it is quite thin and tears easily. and u can't store it upright so really need to seal very well to make sure it doesn't leak. sounds like a lot of trouble so dunno whether i want to use milk bags. my fren is using bottles but i can imagine bottles can be quite troublesome to store. so can't decide....

durianlover,
think there's a thread on this issue. i saw the header before abt some discussion on how long u must work in a company before u qualify. u want to try to do a search? i will see whether i can find it also

durianlover, curly is right! i went and look thru my form, it state employee must work NOT less than 180 days before we are qualified for the maternity leave.

I went for my checkup and my baby gal is now 934g at 26wks+. My tummy is really big now, and alot of people (including strangers) asked if I am giving birth anytime soon. I've gain 10kg. My gynae says there is alot of air inside me so not to worry about my big tummy.

My gynae (Dr Fong Yang) says no more detailed scan, just the normal scans till birth.

God's Child - Thanks for doing the purchasing for pillows

SY,
what SSF said is correct. babies can hear real well. I went to a movie and my baby was shifting and shifting around because of the loud music and conversation. I use a headphone to let my gal listen but I on it slightly louder than if I were to hear it coz there is a layer of clothes and fats and aminotic fluid so I thought it's better for her. I think listening without headphone will help but not a lot, basically we mothers will be the ones listening and we can feel more relax but not sure baby can hear the beat.

Queen, really? 1.1kg is smaller than ave at 28 weeks? I am also at 28weeks now. wonder how big is my baby. think my baby not very big as well.
I also gained about 8kg since my pregnancy but my tummy not very big. think maybe because I didn't sleep on my left side.

mongs,
i know my fren did place headphones on her belly but not very long. next time i shall on music louder and see whether bb got move.

actually i gained quite a lot of weight since pregnancy. also gained about 8-9kg. but bb only took less than 10% of it! i keep asking him to take more cos he's the one who wants to eat so he shd take more instead of making me fat :p

hey gals, thank u for the advice on the no. of days we must work. Means 180 days of work before we get pregnant, or before going on maternity leave?
coz i only worked 2 months at my current company before i got preggie

busy day today...prob won't get to log on till tonite!

ariel,
i thot tummy big coz water bag big? No? my mum's tummy was v big when she was carrying me coz apparently had a lot of water, not air

juz wondering if anyone of u have bought car seat already or not? i'm contemplating whether to get the infant car seat or those convertible ones(which can be used from birth to 3-4 yo kind)

SY
I think I'll get the Playtex one loh, since it's cheap too. I went to see the other brands yest, all so exp, $1/bag. Bottles are for storing in the fridge. Bags are to store a lot in the freezer, e.g. 1mth's supply.

Durianlover
I've no idea. Maybe can MOM? Best to get from the source.

Ariel
ya, bb is good. My tummy is also v big. A lot of pple ask me if I'm giving birth soon, too.

Celine
I'm thinking abt the same thing on car seats. Have not decided yet.