(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

cookie, yipe, i was the 3rd one in front on the right side.

where were u?

god's child, that's a beri gd buy. It's at Isetan? Is the sale still on?

now i very panic liao... too many things not done yet...

anyone can recommend me where to get plain button front maternity gown that we need to wear in hospital? i saw at carrefour but @$16.90, find it a bit ex leh...

cel_cel
you always manage to get great deal!!
taka still got sale?

ya the milk bottles are cheap... last time i bought during isetan sales at $10.90 for 2x260ml too... the antenatal class at TMC gave one 125ml avent bottle as sample.

For the diaper wrap i saw benbeni one but rather thick... and no more size S... dunno get M will too large for bb anot? wat size should we get?

pup_pup

it was at Takashimaya. I dunno if the sale is stil on, u might wana call n ask. think the 3X125ml bots are selling at $13.10 if im not wrong...

kriss
haha.. ya my HB and his messy moustache very easy to recognise...always ask him to shave but he just like it like that. Tink Sat I also look very tired... very lazy no make up at all unlike the 1st lesson I have make up on...so make a whole of difference...hahaha
Next time we must say hello to each other :p

God's Child
So good so many free stuff...heehee...
Thanks... I will check out Seiyu on Wed, hope the sale is still ON.

Zhimin

serious??? got free bottle!! oops... dunno if i can stil get it tis fri, can save on one bot... haha nvm la, c if nurse chong will gimme or not...

the benbeni wrap , is it the one without the plastic covering in the inner pants? saw one tats wholly thik cotton and if it seeps, defenitely will wet the bedsheet, and the sides of the pants seems very uncomfy for bb's tiny legs leh...

ladies, wat do u think of this CL rate? $2200 for 28 days but no stay in. $2500 for stay in. S'porean.

In a dilemma, duno shd engage CL or not.. was hoping to save some $$ but many pple advised me to get 1 as it's our first-born..

wat do u think?

Zhimin
thanks for welcoming me =)

Krissie,
Hi,self intro- Im 28 yrs old n delivery @ KKH.EED is 25 Jan 2006. my BB is boyboy =) althrough now is only in my 25 weeks but my tummy looks real big! during my last visit to my gynae @ 24 weeeks she actually did a measurment is told me my boy is abt 800 gram in wt... wow really worry my boy will be big size haha
is antenanal class a must to attend? i hv fren who did not go for it but like to ask ard for more advise.

btw, any recommendation on baby cot? been looking ard for a resonable one for my boy. oso plan to do up my boy's room. seem like alot of shopping to do. since this is my first baby, so is quite lost not knowing wat to buy actually haha.

Advise needed! Thank you!

welcome zhimin!

actuali, i signed up for the antenatal class and have only attended 2 out of 6 lessons, i find tat it's getting to be a drag for me to attend. guess it's coz i dun have the discipline. so, it's up to individuals..

Hi Krissie,

I was just mad at the lady.She saw me coming and still do that. I guess my stare scares her off. ;p

I have met some very kind souls as well. Once a old lady with many bags actually offered me her seat! So pai say. I rejected it and she said it's ok since she's alighting in another two stops. I told her i will take her seat after she alight. I wonder if the rest of the people feel embrassed to see a lod lady giving up seat for a preggy......

Hi Zhimin, cookie, God's child,

Ya now i recall benbeni is another brand. All that i came cross is rather thick, made of cloth without the plastic covering. There is actually a netting in the middle to 'insert' the cloth nappy....

Hi new mummies,

Welcome to this thread!

Hi Rachel,

I bought my cot at Baby Hypermart at Kaki Bukit. It was $329 but I paid $299 for it as I bought it during the GSS in Jun. Had it delivered abt 3 wks ago and it's nicely decorated in the baby room now. Will be washing the bedding set just b4 baby is born.

pup pup
I'm also on the right ley... hmm... I could be the 4th of 5th...hahaha we were sitting so closed. Kriss were there too...
were you wearing a brownish colour long pants and your HB wear grey t-shirt. The couple in front of me wore this...

RE :Diaper wrap
Wow... ok must remem benbeni and pride and joy...
somemore got size?....*blur*
like so many to choose from hor... I must go see for myself...

Beansprout Pillow Updates :

1) Cel_cel ( 2 pillow + 2 add'l casing ) $55.80
2) Queen ( 1 pillow ) $19.90
3) SSF ( 1 pillow ) $19.90
4) Durianlover ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing )$27.90
5) celine77 (1 pillow + i add'l casing) $27.90
6) beluga (1 pillow) $19.90

***Prices are before discount..

The supplier says for those ordering the standard package (pillow & casing)@ $19.90 will have to pay their own postage. FOr those ordering the above and add'l casing at $27.90 will be entitled to free registered postage fee.

HI Krissie,
no problem, just happen I went Robinsons after lunch...I just bought the Impressions disposable panties, it is made from stretchable cloth, $4.50 for 5, there is both maternity and normal, and feels quite comfy..

RE:Diaper Wrap
I also bought the Pureen, which was quite thin, and seem breathable. But could only find NB at Seiyu Bugis... Benbeni comes in terry cloth material, like towel kind? So I didn't get that, coz thought will be too hot and thick for bb...

zhimin,
no need to panic! i also hv not bought a lot of things yet. Hee but i think shd be alright lah, just left with disposable panties, sanitary pads, n button-down nightwear. Baby stuff i think can slowly buy still...not that urgent!

may i ask what is a diaper wrap for? how come everyone seems to be buying huh? can someone enlighten me on the usage of it?

rachel,
i also signed up for antenatal classes but hv not yet started attending...will only do so in Nov so i can only give u feedback then! but it think whether or not to attend is really up to individual

hi cookie, krissie

nope, i wasn't wearing tat, think tat couple was behind me. Forgot too.

we'll meet again next week then. hope there'll be enough food. haha..

durianlover,
thx! will be grateful if u can update me. my worries is on the breathing techni n breast feeding. worry i will make a great fool of myself.haha

the antenatal classes @ KKH is all full, only left w weekdays.i will be real tired if really going to rush over there after work. actually hv checked w other places classes n actually find some of them real ex! hope to hear fr u soon! =D

oh yah, im oso not sure wats the diaper wrap you mummies is talking abt. can explain?? btw new born can use disposable diaper rit? or is it a must to use cloth nappy? actually i cant image washing the cloth nappy.... ;p

rachel, welcome!
I was supposed to be delivered at kkh initially but my gynae decided to switch to private so I follow him. will be going to gleneagles for my delivery. I am taking antenatal classes at kkh. actually, u really should attend though I am not sure if kkh has the best antenatal classes. find that the nurses are sometimes too soft. but it's quite value for money. 10 sessions for S$150 (weekend classes).

u said that you are looking for a cot. a very good buy will be johnson cot from robinson. they are having discount till 23 oct (I think). it can be converted to a toddler's bed and the good thing is that it comes with the pillows, bumpers, mattress, all the covers and the 2 headboards and side rails when u convert that into a toddler bed. my sis bought that at $319 during GSS but now it's $299. too bad I already bought a bimbo belle during john little sale.

pup_pup
thanks for the welcome but i am not the newest member in this thread...

for CL i find really expensive, and my MIL already volunteered to help me up... so i will do with out CL leh...

cel_cel
maybe you can casually ask nurse chong on fri about the bottle? but 125ml think is quite small only for water feeding?

i thinking of getting the 3 book written by mrs wong, $12.60 if delivered at TMC i think... i got browse a bit quite simple lay out... i very lazy to read books with too many words...

Rachel
for the antenatal class i signed up at TMC, just attended my lesson last fri... they only give brief tips and we spent quite sometime on exercise... so attending the lesson make me do exercise at least once a week? my hubby and i think since this is our first bb so no harm go learn something... 2nd bb no need go liao.

as for the cot... i got some recommendation from the ladies here.
cel_cel recommend carrefour lucky baby, reasonable price at $190+ i think with mattress and delivery.
krissie recommend kids paradise daniel cot, $215 incl delivery, mattress and bedding set.
I think these 2 are really good recommendations. Pls correct me if i give any wrong info.

but last weekend i showed hubby these 2 cots, he said he dun like wheels
. so we prob will get kids mall cosco white cot @$269.

sleepingdeer
the impression is good deal leh... later must go robinson see see. but should buy maternity or normal for confinement use??

durianlover
i a bit panic cos recently i find myself very easy will get tired le... ka sng easily.

zhimin - u mean all 3 books cost abt 12 plus? i thot it was pretty ex?

all - i just came back from my gynae visit. baby has rotated and head is at the bottom today. gynae said his position will vary till full term. baby weight is ard 800g. gynae said pretty small baby but its normal. will visit him every 2 weeks now that baby is getting bigger.

zhimin, i blur liao.. tot u were the newest..

saw in the Marketplace tat there's a group buy for playmats fr SSW.. can take a look for interested mummies..

SSF

totally no idea on the postage. but i think since they provide free registered postage with an additional casing, it might b more worth it after all...lets say postage is $2, your casing is only $6 (before discount ) haha

Zhimin

white cots get dirtied fast wor... and then hw cme ur HB so cute,dun want wheels? can push to nursery room or sometimes into your own room mah.. oni heard pple say wana install wheels, but never hear pple say dun wan wheel leh...
as for the bot, think initally when new born can use, cos they dun take much milk, its reali little...

sleepingdeer, it's $4.50 for 5pcs in a pack rite? the salesgirl told me it's quite big in size but i felt the material. it's quite gd

ok god's child. u have a point. include me for the additionasl pillow case

why are we looking at playmat now? wat is it for? is it too early?

Rachel
I also cannot imagine doing all the washing and cleaning and folding of cloth diaper... but my MIL insist to have that and she willing to do all the cleaning...:p so my HB say let her be lor..
If I'm taking care of bb on my own... surely I will go for disposable diaper...but must change regularly to avoid nappy rash

Anyway, learning from my colleague, expereinced mother of 4... she said even use cloth diaper and never change promptly also will kenan nappy rash too...it all comes back to same...

Pup pup
I just hope that I get a place this week... hahaha won't pin hope on the food... too many pple liao.

SSF
per book cost $12.60, think original is $13+

cel_cel
ya lo... i also told him got wheel easier to move around the cot but he dun wan... well no choice la... he makes the final decision... ya white very easy to dirty... think have to take extra care lo... den i can buy the white sea horse drawer chest to match...

ya anyone can tell me why ABC mat is not safe for using? my sis has been using it for all her kids leh...

Hi Zhimin and pup_pup,
yep, $4.50 for 5 in a pack, think we can get one maternity pack and others normal size... material not bad, my colleague say actually can wash a few times some more before throwing away...

thank you so much for the baby cot information! will take down all the info n do some shopping ard.

cookie,
my mum will be helping me out during my confinement. abt the cloth nappy issue hv not really talk to her ;p but agreed w u on the thought of washing the nappy...errr..

Zhimin,
abt the exercises i really force myself to do them everytime i hv the time, when i remember la

i agreed w god's child y ur hubby dun like cot w wheel? will really be better so can wheel fr baby room to ur master bedroom. me n my hubby is looking for one w wheels so can wheel our baby abt the hse.heehee. consider la

cookie
I find that your hb looks cuter & more stylo like that leh..
you can smile at me lah..coz am afraid cant recognise you again.
pup pup
I think you were sitting in front of cookie, coz after me was a lady in pink.

hope we can recognise each other next time.. pls pardon me coz I'm super bad with recognising pple.

Rachel
I'm also expecting a boy. Wah.. your son is the 1st bb in this thread to be bigger than mine.. ha ha.. my bb was 760gm at 25weeks. Re cot, can consider the Daniel cot ($215 if you buy direct from Kids Paradise), Tom craft @Robinsons $299, Taurus at BB Kingdom ($269, I think). All comes with delivery, mattress and bedding set. It's only the design and price that differs. For me, am getting the Daniel cot since it's the cheapest. They look pretty much the same.

Yuki
So sweet of that old lady.. sometimes, we just need a few of such pple to brighten up our days.

Zhimin
Can lock the wheels. The Cosco one has a spring backing, not the wooden type. U know, hor?

SSF
Congrats.. bb has turned.
Good to hear that bb is good. So shiok, u can see bb every 2 weeks.

pardon my poor memory - someone mentioned that can buy good quality disposable panties with little flower prints. May if that's the same as the Impressions one from Robinsons?

rachel,
sure i'll share with u on the breathing techniques that they teach during antenatal class...but hor, actually experienced mummies hv told me that once u're in labour, u'll be in so much pain that u won't really remember how to breathe according to the right techniques! so whatever was learnt all went down the drain...

Hi Krissie,
you know the last time youi mentioned about NTUC which offer part-time maid service? You know where I can go to find out more info? Went to NTUC website, but couldn't find any leh? Thanks!

krissie/ rachel
ya i aware that cosco got a spring backing... hehe... my hb just dun like the wheels leh... i also dun understand y... but he paying so he choose lo... i think he purely choose based on the look of the cot he likes... guys never consider practicality?

cel_cel
checked with MIL le... she will be doing 2 pillows... so dun think I will get the xtra bean sprout pillow... just make do with the plain pink one...

Hey gals,

Postage is $ if u just order the pillow. It is waived when you order and additional casing.

Rachel,

The baby cot I bought can also be converted to a junior bed. Baby can sleep till he's 5-6 yrs old.

Hey Zhimin,

Convince your hubby to buy a cot with wheels. After I had mine delivered, have been wheeling it around the room and to other rooms to change positions. It really helps to have wheels. Not to tiring

Hey gals,

Postage is $4 if u just order the pillow. It is waived when you order and additional casing.

Rachel,

The baby cot I bought can also be converted to a junior bed. Baby can sleep till he's 5-6 yrs old.

Hey Zhimin,

Convince your hubby to buy a cot with wheels. After I had mine delivered, have been wheeling it around the room and to other rooms to change positions. It really helps to have wheels. Not to tiring

god's child,
I'll buy additional casing...

2) Queen ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
3) SSF ( 1 pillow ) $19.90
4) Durianlover ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) am i right? $27.90

anyone of you still planning to travel?
I'm thinking of going to Malacca, KL and Genting over 4 days during the coming hols. Is it advisable to travel in our 30th weeks?

My boy very quiet yesterday... didn't really really feel him kick.
worried.

Pup Pup,
I have engaged a S'porean CL (recommended by fren). Told her my confinement will probably hit CNY period. She charging me $2000 (stay-in 1 mth) or $1200 (stay-in half mth). Urs quoted $2500 is on the high side.

Cookie,
If u got ur MIL to volunteer do the washing (& she doesn't complain abt it), by all means use cloth nappies when at home. It will help u save lots of $$. New borns poo very often...like up to 8 times a day. U can save the disposables for nite use or when going out. Cloth nappies will be much cooler for the bb's bum. Both cloth nappies & disposable diapers all need to be change regularly to prevent nappy rash. It's all about hygiene...keeping the skin clean & dry. Nappy rash occurs when the bb delicate skin comes in prolong contact with the bacteria in urine/poo.

Zhimin,
Last time, I tink there was an article on the ABC mats from Taiwan that the foam material used is TOXIC.

sleepingdeer
My colleague says that the service from them is not good. So, wouldn't dare to recommend you liao.

Queen
I'm going Malacca during the Deepavali weekend. Will be abt 31weeks then.

god'child, i have made changes to my order.

So the latest one is:

god's child,
I'll buy additional casing...

2) Queen ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
3) SSF ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) $27.90
4) Durianlover ( 1 pillow + 1 add'l casing ) am i right? $27.90

Thanks! so far we have 7 pillow orders and we nede 3 more orders. Any takers?

Morning gals!

Krissie,
like that ah? it's ok, thanks anyway...

Anyone know of good part-time cleaner in the West to recommend? I'm looking for cleaner for my home for the first 3 months when bb comes...

Oh, BTW, anyone buying bottle sterilizer? I still deciding whether to buy or not... is it useful, any comments? I read about the Pigeon steam sterilzer which can sterilize bb bowls and utensils, not just bottles, so I may get that if I decide to buy one afterall...

How about milk bottle teats? I was thinking about getting Nuk, heard comments that it is most like mother's nipples, so will lessen nipple confusion.. anyone have any comments? Still have these 2 major items and breast pump to buy, then think 7788 liao... only left with all the small small stuff to buy...

Anyone gonna buy pacifier? My mum keep bugging me to buy, but I dun want bb to have habit to use, so thought to see whether can do without it or not first...

ya agreed that CL rate is so high during this peak season. i have made the arrangement which is to stay at my mum's place for the first month. she is not working. so she can help me to look after my baby and cook for me confinement food. will give her money to buy groceries and some pocket money. definitely cheaper than hiring a CL and also more confortable.my hubby will then stay over after work. second month onwards, i will stay at my home which is near to my parents hse coz hubby find more comfortable staying at his own house. hehee..so 2-3 mth, me and baby will go to my mum hse in the morning and hubby pick us after work.

my PIL will come down for sure..and if they want, they will pop by my parent place. but after 3 mths when i am back to work, baby will take turn to be in my mum and mil hse. so may stay over on certain days at MIL hse since her house is in the west and mine is in the east. haha...really east meet west!

sleepingdeer - hi..i am going to JL after work to buy Pigeon steriliser. now offer at 89 and with my 10 dollars off, its only 79 bucks! as for teats, NUK is highly recommended from those mummies. i bought the latex (brown colour) for NB. the white colour one is silicon and normally baby will prefer the latex as it has a better grip just like nipples. i havent bought any pacifier..but avent ones are nice. my hubby said dun use..just let baby cry. anyway i do not want him to use it too often as well..or not next time have bug teeth just like me!

wenyl,
my bumper mat is from SSW. i think it's very ex but seems like they can't really get the same material now. ha..my mum thinks i m wasting money cos last time kids where got all these things and they still turn out fine!

yuki,
so all these diaper covers are quite thick one is it? i was at kiddy palace and saw one by tollyjoy quite thin one. just wondering whether i shd get one

i also saw the same situation that u just describe. i was on this train going home and there were 4 students (looks like uni age) and they were just occupying one row of seats and talking among themselves. they din offer me a seat but this middle aged lady who was sitting beside one of the guys and carrying a lot of stuff offered me her seat. then later i saw this mother carrying her baby and her baby's shoe dropped (she was at the other end from me). she was struggling to carry her baby and pick up the shoe at the same time. her mother was also with her and i can tell the mother was really pissed that not one of the students offered her daughter a seat. then finally when they got off, the mother said very loudly ' got seat here. quick seat'. sigh...

pup pup
the CL rate is same as mine. 2200 for 28 days but she will be away during CNY period for 4 days. if i want her to stay during that time it will be 2500. quite standard. i also think i shd get one since it's my first baby. my colleague who has one now says it's a big help and she doesn't feel too tired cos of CL.

the thread always moves so fast. a lot of catching up to do!!

any know whether cloth diaper will stay if i dun use any diaper wraps or pins? i know my colleague is doing that but so far got no chance to ask her whether it works.

SSF,
that means u will be travelling up and down very often? how come u will put your baby sometimes at your mum's and sometimes at MIL? does'nt that mean u need a few sets of each baby's things?

rachel,
i m also at KKH. in the end i din go for antenatal classes cos the weekends are all full and hard to rush on weekdays. u manage to go for other places' classes?

my EDD is 27th Jan so we may see each other in hospital