(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Yuki,
so it is the babysafe brand of pillow. is there a thread to collate orders? shall go search for it.

for me, i never intended to let baby sleep in sarong cos scared he get too used to it and need me to keep rocking him to sleep!

Hi Queen,

I tried carrying her to the cot and it does wake her up. i didn't let my girl sleep in sarong at night. Actually i am still thinking it's not too good for their back bone and since they sleep longer hours in the night, i rather she sleep in the cot with proper mattress and all.

I guess one advantage of sarong is the netting itself. no matter how baby turn, she can still breath and not get suffocate. But as they grow bigger, it's another problem cos they start to twist and turn etc..... got to get those sarong that can be zip up........ Heard of cases baby twist and turn so much that he fell out of the sarong ang hit the metal leg of the sarong stand. I usually put another mattress below the sarong...........

the order for the babysafe pillow and mattress. any one interested? just went to the thread and saw that minimum 5 orders to get 25% discount

Hi SY,

Yes. the brand is babysafe. If i am not wrong, the other thread has already place their orders. Maybe you can see if there's another round or you can start one yourself.

I think i got the price of the pillow wrongly. According to that thread, the UP of pillow is $18.90 and if manage to collate 5 or more orders, can get 25% discount = $14.50 or something.

You may want to go KP or robinson to have a look at the pillow first. They do have an explaination of what material it is consist of etc.... to get a better idea.

That's the reason why i insist on y mum not to rock the sarong. we just push to and fro if need be but not to rock as in vertically.

Hi Yuki,
U r right. the order close already. so probably will start another one if i m interested. tot 5 orders shdn't be that hard..

will go to robinson to take a look at it first. thanks!

If u wanna know the charges etc. maybe u all can leave down yr email. i forward the mail to u all.

1st year : S$ 1,250
2nd yr onward is S$ 250 per yr

hi all, i am planning to wipe my body with damp cloth for the first week as i think the body is still weak. but for bottom area, of course must wash since i be mensturating. As for washing hair maybe by end of the week, will start washing. second week onwards, i will then start the normal shower routine. thats my plan...i have no idea abt any herbs to use. i will just use water.

with regards to stemcord, it can last for only 18 yrs and if you and ur hubby have any family history of leukemia or blood disorder, its better to opt for it. other then that, its up to individual as 18 yrs is very short and normally problems come about after 18 yrs old. this is an advise from my antenatal class. but of coz, its up to individual...if you have the fund..why not!

SSF,
i find it quite ex so need to consider. the 1st year is the one that is really ex. having a baby already cost so much at one shot...still take out anothe 1K plus... really need to consider carefully!!

SY,
Yup...the order for Babysafe is closed liao. I have ordered the mattress (savings of $44). I didn't order the pillow cos tinkg it may be unnecessary. The actual piece looks very flat, like what Yuki says, as good as sleeping on mattress. Also, the savings for pillow is only a few dollars so maybe its more convenient to buy from KP or shops near ur working place or home.

SSF

I plan to "ren" until 2nd week then start the normal bath routine also...

But think I will get the herbal for bathing. My sisters are doing this during their confinement.

zhimin - ya i think we won;t be so dirty since we aren't gg out and as long as my bottom is clean, i am already happy. the rest can just wipe with damp cloth. i may also 'ren' until end of second week. anyway i am lazy to bathe also. haha.. also, what herbs to buy?

SSF,
will you be getting CL? they will tell u what herbs to buy.

or i think there's some website that you can buy those herbs also. my fren's sis bought for her in Malaysia. i can help to ask what she buy. those confinement wash

Hi Wenyl,
I planning to get mattress also. WHat is the dimensions of the one you ordered from Babysafe?

SY,
may or may not get the pillow, will also go down to Robinsons to take a look. But if there is order, I will order the mattress, coz need to get for bb.

SY - i will not be getting a CL. my mum wanted to take care of my baby initially but now it seems that it is not happening due to some personal reason. so i am not sure abt her plans yet. worst case, i will go stay with my MIL or stay at hm and have her come down regualarly. I havent decide yet and will take one step at a time.

Sleepingdeer,
I ordered the 24"x48" mattress cos my cot is an old cot passed down from my bro. I guessed the newer cots are wider in width. They have 3 sizes. u can check out the dimensions at babysafe.com.sg

SY, Queen
Thanks... trip was good. Am hoping that I can do another mini getaway to Malaysia in Oct / Nov.
But, depends on hb's schedule. Yup, went Great Ocean Rd, Philip Island, Grampians and shop ard the city. Bought only a few clothes + socks for bb. Can ask your sis to buy bb's clothes when they have sale lah. Their designs are much nicer, but slightly more exp. So, when there's sale, quite worth it to buy.

SSF
On bathing, accrdg to my auntie, can buy those herbs to add to water from those Indian shop.

My sis is planning to pass me her cot, do I need to buy a new mattress for the cot? Or do you all think I can use back the old mattress?

Sorry ladies I need to rant a bit here... today I have a wedding dinner to attend... then I am wearing one maternity dress which I normally will wear to work also... then my colleagues were like saying how come I wear until like that... make me feel I wear very unpresentable
kao_embarrassed.gif
... They are all very young and fashionable girls... probably to them attending wedding dinner need to wear those prettier dress? But just feel that they dun understand maternity dress is not cheap either, and I still have quite a few wedding dinners to attend in next few months... I dun plan to buy too many maternity le cos want to spend the $ to buy more useful things for BB... I also realise that they everyday will observe what I wear to work and then give lots of comments... haiz... dun really enjoy the attention like that.

Sorry to bear a bit with my ranting.

SSF,
yah, agree with u. take one step at a time. no point thinking too much. will share the info i get from my CL when it's nearer so u also know what to do

sleepingdeer,
i will go check out the pillow as well.

Zhimin

dun bother bout their comments.. so long as u feel pretty n good and know tat u r carrying a BIG joy in you - tats enuf!!!

dear all..
so much thread to catch up... came back from Phuket on Monday and was so busy with work... what a price to pay for getting away for 3 days.

Anyway... being 1st time to phuket, the trip is good. Very Nice Hotel, nice pple, good service and not much rain... God is good to us

Guess I have to spend the weekend reading up the past threat... looks like now is into the Cord Blood thingy...interesting!

krissie,
wow another trip lined up!! i shall go buy my hubby to go away for a short one. we haven gone so far..

zhimin,
dun be too upset by them. i also got wedding dinners to attend and in the end i went to buy a nice top and that's it. will be wearing that top for ALL the wedding dinners that i m attending from now till bb is born.

i realise preggies always get a lot of attention..sometimes unwanted. but what to do, can't realy stop pple right... so we just ignore what we can lor...

krissie
Thanks..this thread moves too fast lah, stimes I just pop by... hehe..

Wow, Meb is one of my fave places leh...wanted to go again but gynae non-commital about it, said my case is twins, I must be careful lor... Also beta save some money for the delivery lah..

sleepingdeer
If I'm not mistaken, Babysafe has one pillow with a dent in the middle for the bb's head...

We swaddled our boi for the first few months ie wrapped him tightly.... we used the bb blanket. Think he felt more secure that way.

queen
Glad ur discharge is gone!

FYI my boi never slept on sarong... beco I find someone has to be awake to rock him...so laycheh....

confused
I put on 10kg so far but that's becos I have twins....hahaha.......
U 80kg? Wow..wow..wow!!!!!

yuki
Me neither coffee nor tea drinker....hehe..... only plain water or Milo or milk....hehe...but terrible, always craving for lime juice on weekends ....

MH
No leh, twins usu will appear at the third generation... maybe my grandchildren will bear twins lor....

SSF
I also crave for Mc's Cheeseburger at times... will buy the kids' meal.... hehe....

SY
How u doing?
My dad just passed me some photos he took of me/hb/my boi...my, I look rather huge!!!

Zhimin
Your maternity dress is plain? Maybe can spruce up with necklace or brooch. U put make-up... a little make-up will help brighten your look. U wear dress all the time?

ANyone know website that give baby's name /meaning and also Pronunciation??
I heard there is such a website... but I dunno where.

After ranting I feel much better... ya I think pregnant ladies always get lots of attention too... but funny when on train still no one offer their seat to me hehehe

StyloBB

I do put on little bit make up everyday cos if without I look rather dull.

I wear dress today cos I tot more presentable to go wedding haha... I prefer separates... But I think what my colleagues meant is to buy new dress for wedding dinner I attend not to wear those I usually will wear for work also...

Talking about names... besides English names websites... anyone know is there any Chinese names websites as well... having hard time thinking of names.

Stylobb,
hee, must send me photos of your twins next time!! shd be very interesting.

i also heard that twins skip generation. so maybe i will get twins great grandchildren....

i was craving for McChicken for a week!! finally ate it on Tue.

Zhimin,
i also having hard time with chinese names. scared whatever i think of , the meaning not good.

hello gals

Gals - metro is having 20% on tis fri - sun. btw, wat's is stem cell storage? Where can i read abt all these?

krissie - Welcome back. wow! so nice to go for a holiday

StyloBB - yalor! Really dnt have how to lose weight after birth ah. headache!

Zhimin - dont care abt people's comment. So long u are comfortable with the clothing can liao.

SY
This one can do for the time being?? Hehehe...

319923.jpg

I go for the cheeseburger....

Zhimin
Or, think they a bit insensitive... not practical to buy a dress for that right? Maybe u can match a more formal maternity top teamed with a pair of pants...

Hi Zhimin,

If i have a few dinners to attend, i don't mind investing in one good and nice dress. And like SY, i will wear the same dress for every dinner. ha Ha. Don't be too bothered by the comments. They will understand when they get pregnant themselves.

When my cousin was pregnant, i didn;t even bit an eyelid on what she need. But when i was preggy and she pass me all the stuff, i realise the cost involve and regret that i wasn't sensative to help her buy a thing or two. i felt really bad and I am still trying to make up by buying lots of gifts for my niece.
Sometimes it takes a person to be in the shoe to see how difficult it is for others. I am one example.

Hi Krissie,

O love Mel too. I am surprise you went to Grampians! Lots of walking and climbing to do right?

Miss teh weather and the seneric there very much.

Yuki
It's true, pregnant women will help one another, I also passed some of my maternity stuff (quite new) to my gfs...actually I asked them to come and pick cos I dun know what they like/dun like. Think we will learn to be more sensitive to others when we have been there ourselves.

Me and hb also love love Mel...best is self-drive...sigh...

hey gers

any of u bought tat pink crotchet 2pc swimwear from maternity mall? i wore it last week for a swim and then realised the bottom gota b on my tummy. had tried to push it below tummy but then it becomes loose at the bums and thighs, wait expose the unnecessary... haha
how do ur wear it?

Zhimin,
don't worry too much about these girls. people will always have things to say, good or bad. we can't affect how people think or shut our ears when people want to pass comments but we can choose how we feel towards these comments. we can choose to be neutral towards these comments or feel upset about them.
look at the positive side, I think pregnant ladies get attention because people are general jealous of their happiness, sincerely happy for them or sympathize them with the extra weight they have to carry. in all aspects, we are very fortunate, blessed and happy people so all nasty comments should not have any effect on us!

Hi StyloBB,

Ya. Especially when we have to buy things in two sets when the caretaker is not in our house, else have to transfer the barang barang to and from everyday..... Cost doubled.....

I think Mel is a very romatic place
It would be great to stay at Great Ocean road for a day or two.

stylobb,
so interesting to see two babies in one photo!! can imagine me and my sis last time!!

i also think most pple will realise that being pregnant is not easy. sometimes when i m standing on the train, i will wonder when those young ladies who are sitting down get pregnant next time, will they wish very much tat someone can give them a seat. not that i m trying to be mean but certainly, after you are pregnant yourself, u will think twice about not giving up the seat to someone who needs to more!!

sounds like melbourne is a popular place. i haven't been there. only went to sydney before.

Ya I agree on mongs said... think I will have to learn to be more neutral to ppl comments.

Anyway thanks all the ladies here for listening to my rant.

SY

I actually already think of a few chinese names... now still considering whether to ask those masters to suggest names with bb birthdate anot... cos those names I come out dunno suitable for bb "8 characters" anot le...

Zhimin,
some pple tell me not to go and ask cos once u ask u will want to follow cos u will be afraid that if u dun, something bad will happen. this was the case when i first got my place also. i din get pple to come and look cos i dun want to end up following what they say all the time.

just my thoughts

Krissie,
You went to Philip Island? Did you see the penguins? Must be really cold for you isn't it!
I love Melbourne too! Think when my sis graduates, I'll go there again.

SY,
When I'm standing on the MRT, I think the same way too! Then I'll ask myself whether I'm like that before pregnant. But can't think of any incident when I did not give up my seat for a pregnant lady. Then again, I don't remember having to give up my seat often, cos it seems like there weren't a lot of pregnant ladies around before I was pregnant??? Haha. Now really hate to take the train cos there is always an expectation that people will give up their seats for me (even though I don't feel uncomfortable standing). And when no one does, will feel a bit unhappy. Aiyo...

styloBB,
so interesting to see your scan! How does it feel to have 2 babies kicking? Must be quite exciting.

yes i agree with u all...i think it's only when we're pregnant will we understd pregnant ladies better!

zhimin & SY,
i also intend to wear the same dress to every wedding that i've to attend this yr! Got lots of weddings to attend...think 5 or 6. But for 1 wedding i'll meet the same grp of frenz, so a bit paiseh to wear same thing. haha.

god's child,
i think u shd just wear ur swimsuit in the safest way - ie. at ur tummy since it's more secure! better be safe

styloBB,
wow ur scan pic is sooo cool!

queen & SY,
nowadays when i know i'll be taking a long bus journey, i try to wear something that makes me look more pregnant in the hope tt pple will give up seats! well it doesn't work all the time, but sometimes it does
i dun mind standing but not for those long bus journeys...if not my legs will ache a bit. Does that happen to any of u if u stand for too long? Then i'm concerned that i'll get varicrose veins! heehee very hiao right!

durianlover - i think tummy also safer but then dunno if will harm baby or not..
actuali when i stand too long, imy legs very 'suan' and like you, im worried bout the greenie veins...
kao_scared.gif
so in office, i stack my files under table and rest my legs there...

queen,durianlover and god's child,
initially i think it was ok to stand but then i come to realise that even if we don't feel uncomfortable, it is for safety that we shd be sitting. there was once when i was on the train and the train braked so hard and so sudden that quite a lot of pple were thrown off their feet but they din fall cos they managed to steady themselves. fortunately that day i managed to grad a seat after someone left before that incident happened. so i was very thankful cos i wasn't sure i will be able to catch myself if it happened when i m standing.

queen,
i also get a bit unhappy if i dun get a seat and worse still if the person in front of me is some young healthy looking chap!!
a bit bad hor, expect pple to give up seats... but i guess that is also cos i know i will give up if i see someone who needs it more than me.

oh and u know what i think is more irritating. when person A gives up his seat to me, and after i get off, i will say thank you and sort of return the seat to person A. but a person B will always quickly snatch that seat that i left empty instead of letting person A sit. that always pisses me off!!

My friend is so nice now she shopping at Isetan private sale and help me get some bb stuffs.

I asked her help me get Avent Bottles 260mlx2, pigeon disposable breast pad $8.90 and Pigeon wet wipes 2 packets plus box $6+... actually I not sure is it cheaper...

Heard tomolo Metro got sale also... will go see whether got discount for bb stuffs.

durianlover
you also got so many dinners to attend... mine about the same... got 7 I think.

SY
not only chinese names, english name also headache... any ladies here already decide on the name... can share share? that time I also never consult feng shui for my house like wat u said I think if consult really have to follow but I think is hard to follow lo.

stylobb
this the first time I see twins' ultra scan!