(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sleepingdeer, once you created the ticket, right click to save as xxx.jpeg file in your PC.

to post here, you need to key in +image{Text description} (replace + with /) and post message. Upon posting, you are prompted for an attachment to upload and you attached the one you save earlier on.

i think this is the way...

yest, went to NTUC at AMK, very KS, brought 2 pack of NB and 3 packs of Small for Pampers Premium. and some other things like powder, wet tissue...

Was on leave yesterday cos it's my girl's 2nd birthday. Hubby and i took leave to bring her out and we had a great time together!

Saw some questions with regards to diapers. For me, i used a combination of clothe diapers and disposable diapers. Pampers NB mainly, for disposable diapers. I can't recall how many packs i use, maybe 5 packs. I bought only two packs, the rest are gifts from friends or come with the hampers. So my advise is need not buy too much if you are expecting hampers etc.

As for when to change to S size, depends on your baby's growth. i think i changed to S size (Drypers) when my baby was about 2 months old. My girl is still using dryers.

I agree with some mums here. A lot depends on baby's skin. My friend recommended Mustala diaper cream but they are quite x as compared to drapolene. And thank God my girl has no problem with drapolene. Just to make sure to change their diapers on time and clean properly.

Pochacco,
thanks, let me try again... I'm not far behind you, tonight going to OG bugis, and tomorrow probably to NTUC to stock up as well

Hi Yuki,
thanks for your advise. I think that's what I will do for bb as well, combination of cloth and disposable diapers. Which brand of cloth diapers do you use? I am thinking whether to buy Pigeon or Tollyjoy...

317790.png

so happy it's Fri!!

i also went to NTUC yesterday. bought 2 packs of Pampers NB. realised that Mamy poko is actually cheaper if u buy the 52 pack one. slightly cheaper.

i am also going to use a combination of cloth and disposable.

Yuki,
no wonder din see u online yesterday!!
can check with u something? most pple tell me that babies who are bf poo very often like every 2 hours so better to use pampers and the poo is quite watery also. does that mean using pampers is better?

sleepingdeer,
i agree with yuki. dun buy too many packs cos u will get hampers and samples. i just asked my colleague and she said she din really buy cos she used all those from hampers and samples as well. she also said that pampers premium a bit wasteful as baby keeps pooing so i may wan to consider a brand that is not so ex.

i got tollyjoy nappies. i can't find pigeon one. do u know where to find?

Yippee, it's TGIF! Can't wait for tomorrow Dr's appt...can see baby again!

SY,
I saw Kiddy Palace selling pigeon nappies. U may want to check it out.

just realise that there is 2 kind for pamper, one is the premium and the other is the baby dry... i think there is a huge price different. anyone know the different?

Wenyl,
u must be excited! i m counting down the days to the appt

okie. will check out kiddy palace. thanks!!

Pochacco,
not sure what is the diff but i tot pampers premium is like cotton or something so softer i supposed?

Hi girls
anyone interested in this sleeveless social top from motherhood maternity. Size M. Selling at $65 inclusive of registered postage.
317806.jpg

Wow, so tiring day yesterday...went for detailed scan....HEHEHEEEEE....guess what, we are having TWIN GALS!!!! Heheee!! So I can tilt the boy-girl ratio at this thread...hahah...
The prof did a really long scan - 2 hours!!!! I was so blur due to lying down for so long.....
and it cost us $500!

They are now 488g and 553g at 22 weeks.

Some replies to queries

1. NTUC BB Fair is until 05 Oct.

2. Diapers - dun know how much to get... that time we bot the NB as and when they are about to run out.... now I already bot the Nepia NB, 60 per pack.

3. Waterproof mat - are u girls referring to the mat to put bb when changing? Can buy Anakku brand....

4. Also u may want to buy the non-skid mat to line the bath-tub, also Anakku brand, quite cheap.

5. Detergent - I used Kodomo brand, v nice smell... but after my boi turned 1, did not use anymore.

6. Washing - we wash bb's clothes and adults' clothes separately.

7. Cream for nappy rash - I bot the one from Mothercare... a big one, last till now.

8. Bathing gel - also from Mothercare, I find it v good, using even now... it was a gift.

Yuki
I think buying diapers for my gfs when I visit them is a pretty useful gift...hehe....

Hi Sleeping dear and SY,

Err, i got those hands me down cloth diapers from friends so don't really know the brand.
Sorry.

Yes, BF baby poo alot ALOT....... To save money, i use cloth diapers in the day. Once poo, can wash immediately to prevent staining on the diapers. I usually put two three layers of the nappy liners. BF babies are expected to poo at least 8 times a day. Sometimes half and hour after BF, baby poo already.

As babies are very small, i use Pampers NB cos they fit really well. Tried once S size of some brand but too big for baby. So thou Pampers NB are expensive but no choice.......... Heard it's the best (don't know why) so just use it on my girl.

Hi StyloBB,

Can see from your message that you are really excited. Congratulations!!

I guess having gave birth and all, we know what's the best gift. It's either those useable items or money!!! I got a few of those newborn gifts consisting of clothes for NB but by the time i received it during the one month old celebration - baby has outgrown some of them. So i find them not too practical. ;p

One more thing to add. Do expect to use lots of mittens. NB's nails can be pretty long and you don't want them to scratch their pretty face! And when they are about two months, they will suck their fingers etc so may need to change miitens a few times a day.

anyone know what is the different between baby oil and baby lotion?

thinking of using petpet during daytime, but they only have small size, no NB... are they almost the same?

stylobb,
your scan was REALLY long!!! but glad to know ur babies are doing well. in fact i think they are really doing good! twin gals..nice like me and my sis. more fun cos girls play well with each other and we always have companion as we grow up.

thanks for all the answers! you bought the nepia from seiyu is it?

do u need to put softner for baby's clothes? btw, kodomo detergent got 20% at JL sale. cheaper than NTUC's offer of 14.80.

yuki, stylobb,
i also read somewhere that diapers are good gifts nowadays as they are expensive!!

yuki,
thanks for the tips. i only got my bb one pair of mittens so far. think i will go get more. how often do they change their mittens and how long do they wear mittens till? 3 months?

for cloth diapers, 2 dozen enough to start with? how long did u use cloth diapers for? i hope i can tahan one month at least...

can ask something?
i know this sounds very pan tang but i just dropped a knife which was placed on top of my cupboard onto the floor accidentally. being a christian, i shouldn't believe that it will affect my baby right? think my baby got a scare cos he was really moving a lot after that for a while....

Hi Wenyl,
so happy, you can see bb tomorrow liao, good luck for the scan! I still got one more week till gynae visit, counting down...

Pochacco,
think NB premium is better, i also not sure.

Stylobb,
wah, CONGRATS!

Really happy for you!

Yuki,
yep, I always buy a packet of Pampers NB when I visit my frens in hospitals who have given birth... either that or Brands Bird Nest/chicken essense.

Are we supposed to cut bb's nails after they're born? Coz I heard that their nails normally are very long when they come out? Do they grow very fast?

Hi SY,
don't worry too much about it, it was a accident, just talk to your baby and say sorry for scaring him...

I also not pantang, but sometimes, just can't help but worry. Last night, I dreamt that my bb was borned and something very very bad happened to her, my hubby scolded me, how can dream of such bad thing? But at least today morning, she was also moving around alot, perhaps trying to reassure me

sleepingdeer,
thanks for the comfort. i think i tend to worry too much. like what u say, even if not pantang, also cannot help but worry. can't wait for time to move faster so baby can come out and can finally hold baby. but i quite enjoy this stage where i can feel bb's kicks and movements..

btw, i read that we are not supposed to cut their nails when they are still new born. think can use some nail file or something like that.

Hi SY,
Just pray against your fears. We mummies tend to worry a lot nowadays.

StyloBB,
Congrats on your 2 beautiful princess!!

Sleepingdeer,
Thanks! Will keep u gals updated. Have a good weekend!

Thanks mummies!

SY
Yah I got NB and S Nepia from Seiyu...u can also take a look at Sealer brand...they have NB packs too... only $5.90.

Yah gotta buy mittens, but buy the smallest size u can find, check out Kiddy Palace, cos the normal size will drop off from their tiny hands...hahaha!!!

I never use softener, I think no need. Dun be pantang lah, trust in the Lord... after all He has given u this gift.

So nice to hear u and ur sister has company, but do u think once a while u rather be alone???? U and sis are identical????

Scan - yeah he measured everything, then later uploaded all the images into a CD...haaaaa, dun think we will ever look at the pics tho.....

Yuki
Now we know the gender, can buy things... I want to buy the Pink receiving blanket from Pigeon, cos looks so sweeet....hehehe.....
Yes cash and diapers are the best.. me so excited cos have some gfs giving birth end of the year... got one who is having a girl, I already bot her some sweet-looking clothes.

Pampers Premium - so strange right, that time dun know any other brand...just buy PP... but it is rather exp hor.... and bb used up so fast..... wear only, then the next minute, poo.....

Stylobb

gong xi gong xi... wow, 2 princess at a go... reali stylo...

SY

u reali do homework well leh... JL 20% on kodomo detergent?? wah, i must rush down then. is it oni today or til when???

StyloBB,
me and my sis are identical twins. think when we are growing up, we do a lot of things together, play, sleep learn piano etc. so never felt the need to be alone. but as you grow up, of cos u start to lead separate lives but the bond is still there. the only downside is when one falls sick, mum always worry that the other one will be sick cos we play together! esp when my sis had chicken pox. somehow i din get it at that time and only got it when i was much older.

Think i may get the Sealer Brand to stand by if i find baby using Pampers too fast!!

i bought pigeon mittens. are those too big? i will go kiddy palace and try to get those smaller ones.

having a gals are nice in the sense that their things are so sweet....!

god's child.
think JL shd be still having sale. not sure till when but last 2 days was preview sale. today i saw in the papers say JL sale now on.

Hee, i also rely on the info shared here. saw the NTUC got baby fair so went online to check what's on sale. then saw the kodomo sells for 14.80 at NTUC but when i went to JL, i saw the they got 20% and a quick calculation shows that it becomes abt 13+. so more worth it. so i bought one.
and still got 5% rebate some more.... some of the things also got 20% but i bought mainly bb's clothes. those 3 for $8 one. but be careful cos some of them are actually tagged at 1 for $2. so if u get those, make sure u dun put it into the bundle for 3 for $8 cos they put 2 tags on the same piece and looks confusing...

I have gone on a shopping spree since knowing abt my pregnancy. So far, think I've bought abt 20 sets of clothings on top of abt 7-8 rompers. I have abt 10 sets of booties and mittens too on to of a few pairs of socks. Though they may outgrow them fast, cldn't help it as the little tops and bootoms are so cute! :p

Bought hankies/towels/receiving blankets/caps/bibs already and so this weekend will be spent doing up the list of what I have to buy soon. Have a nice weekdend!

Hi Queen,
Wow 4D scan sounds really impressive.. so can share with us your baby scan? will like to see how does it look like at 24+ weeks. my boy is 715g on the 25 weeks and i tot that is pretty big consider my tummy still look pretty small..

really glad to know what's on sale here.. so right now with JL 20% sales, it will still be cheaper to buy from there is it? Are the cot on 20% sales as well? think i only saw 2 type of cots there the other time i went. one is the Daniel cot and the other one i m not sure but i think the other one the mattress is not v firm and thick.

edd2jan,
i saw a few cots at JL. the one one sale, one is at 299 one is at 300+. not sure their names. not sure whether everythin in JL is cheaper. not everything got 20% when i went yesterday also.

hi everyone!
thanks for informing on the sales n gd offers! think it's time for me to go shopping! i luv shopping for babies mittens n booties coz they look just so tiny n cute! irresistable!!

StyloBB,
congrats on ur twin gals! so nice to hv 2 gals

SY,
dun worry abt the knife dropping incident. It's ok one
i was even worse...that day i broke my cupboard glass! u know those kind of bookshelves with sliding glass? i was trying to put a baby poster on it but accidentally pulled it out n it fell to the floor and broke into many pieces. i got a shock for a while but thank God i wasn't hurt or anything
Am also glad that my MIL wasn't around at that pt in time if not she'll surely be very pantang and say things...

hihi gals,

so long never post a message liao. good to hear that all is well with u gals. and realised many of u hv also started shopping spree.

I have oso bot some stuff but not everything. For clothings, I have only bought 4 sets for day time and 4 sets for nite time. is it enough?

SY,
so did you go OG yesterday to get the tollyjoy nappies?
I heard about baby nails. some babies take a lot of calcium from their mothers and their nails are quite long when they are born so need to cut. don't know how true.
Evelyn tan and Darren Lim (mediacorp artistes) had a lovely container to keep their daugther first cut fingernails and toenails. very thoughtful but I thought, they better keep it properly!

Wow, seems like a lot of shopping was done yesterday.

edd2jan, ya not everything on sale for 20%. what I did was that I took the item that I want and I go to the side of the cashier and ask if this is on discount. hee, one item only lah. can also ask the salegirl.

My gynae never tell me how heavy is my girl, just say it's average on the scale. must ask him for his estimation next week when I visit.

just back from lunch, and dropped by Seiyu at Bugis for a quick look.

So many clothes and items to buy that my eyes grow big just walking around. Will anyone be using diaper covers instead of pinning the cloth diapers together with pins? I saw some Benbeni terry cloth Diapers and some other diaper covers, and wonder whether we can fold the normal clothe nappy and fasten it using the diaper cover outside, will it stay? Coz I dun want to use pins if possible, and the diaper covers come with velcro fastners.. can or not?

What else did I see, hmm? Oh, Seiyu was selling Sealer diapers, but didn't notice the price. I also saw that they sell Pureen Diapers, anyone used that before, and are they good?

I couldn't find any glass milk bottles though I was thinking of getting them instead of plastic.

SY,
They are selling the Pigeon cloth nappies at $25.40 for 10, and Pigeon liners for $10 for 100. Tollyjoy was going for $18.50 and liners was $11.90, though I didn't get to see how many quantities were inside the pack. How much did you get your Tollyjoy ones for?

The bb clothes and mittens look sooo cute, but think I will need some expert advise from my mum before I start buying uncomfortable clothing for bb, hee hee, probably have to pull her along for shopping...

Hello gals

Wow! so mnay posting. i was so busy that no time to log in. aiyo! seems that most mtb already buy bb stuff. Oh no! i havent got the time to buy. btw, when's JL sales until?

SY - i say pigeon nappies at Kid's mall (IMM)n if i not wrong they selling at $24/25 i cant rememeber the $ liao cos i saw it a few weeks back.

sleepingdeer - if i not wrong i saw Kid's mall (suntec) selling the glass bottle. Oh ya! i must go n buy the bottle oso.

Durianlover,
yah must remind myself not to be pantang. when is your next checkup? each checkup like so long....

celine,
they say babies change clothes a few times each day so if you only have 4 sets, then u will need to wash very fast and what if they dun dry?

mongs,
i din go OG yesterday cos was at JL!!! hee, maybe will go today, think the sale is still on cos i saw OG sale advertisment in papers today.

u referring ot the box that they showed zoe tay in her show? they had a very nice trinket box or something like that....

i tot cannot cut their nails cos their nails and nailbed still fused together or something like that so can only file.

you can see a very small green sticker that says 20% if it's on sale.

sleepingdeer,
bugis is one of my fav place to buy baby stuff! they have a nice selection i must say. nicer than robinsons. i think if they wear those diaper covers they dun need fasteners. ask a stupid question. is there any way the cloth diaper can hold by itself without safety pins?

i did think of getting glass bottles but think it's quite hard to find.

wow, pigeon cloth nappies are expensive!!Tollyjoy one is also a pack of 10. it's selling at 18.50 at most places. Robinsons and JL sell at that price too.

i like the pigeon mittens and clothes. i bought some when they had the 20%. my colleague say pigeon mittens better quality than Tollyjoy and cheaper too.

sleepingdeer,
my sis bought some of those covers that u mentioned but she says seems to be a bit hot for the baby. sometimes, she let him wear, sometimes didn't. I bought 2 pcs for my gal and a friend gave me one.
My sis says Pureen is very cheap but very lousy. she is using drypers now that her baby is 3 months old.

for those who intend to get glass bottles can get from the hospital when u deliver. But have to get plastic caps urself.

Thanks..mummies

Sleepingdeer
Sealer NB is about $5.90 but small pack type...like PP packaging...

SY
KP has those smaller-sized mittens...u go take a look.

Remember to buy hankies, need quite a bit of them....
IF u intend to b/feed, buy the Pigeon brand disp breast pads..
Also u all might wanna buy the Bottle Cleansing Liquid, also Pigeon brand.... can buy the original bottle and get the refill pack...
For milk bottles, also consider buying the cleaning brush (long handle) to clean the bottles.

hi gals, does anyone knows where to get nursery furniture, like chest of drawers and cupboard. Also can't find those rocking chairs. ie. gliders. it seems like i can't find them anywhere! argh!!!
kao_frustrated.gif

celine,
what's your budget? i think can get some at Ikea but make sure dun get those plywood kind. places like motherswork also got but very ex!