(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi SY,
i have no fix budget. i went to motherswork b4 but they only have change table. and i don't need dat. i need a cupboard to store bb's clothes and barang barang. seems like it quite hard to do up a nursery in singapore. like everything oso don't have!

SY
i think the hankies are also to put at bb's chest when feeding milk in case they puke... hankies shld get more also, since can use n use for long time... then can use to wipe wipe them also

celine
ikea has got nice chests and cupboards tat i quite like.. white colour ones... can go and take a look

SSF,
my bday next april.... i forgot whose bday coming up.

Pochacco,
so far i got 5 small bottles. dun intend to get the big one so fast cos they also won't need it. my fren told me to get small ones first.

celine,
if u wan specific ones for nursery, i guess options not that many. did u watch the zoe tay show a few weeks back? she went to this shophouse and they had really nice nursery stuff. but i dunno where it is. i can only remember it is beside this restuarant called Jerry's BBQ and Grill (something like that) the things shown were REALLY nice. but expect it to be ex cos all from Europe.

god's child,
one more thing to add to my shopping list then!!

hi SY,
oh yes. i remember. the shop is wildchild. i went there b4 oso. but the things are really priced out of this world!

SY - me jus dropby isetan, the 260ml size for avent which is the middle range is selling for 10.90 for 2... it is the cheapest i have came across. going to get it now...

celine,
that's the shop!! nice right their things...but i can see from the show that the price is going to be rocket high. but so sweet their stuff...sigh.... maybe i strike 4D i will go there to buy something..hee hee...

Pochacco,
u really good leh.... it sound very cheap cos the small ones also cost like 4 bucks each. the cheapest i bought is 3 for 13.5 or something like that....happy shopping!

just curious. between the time the water bag breaks, does that mean it is still a long time from labour? contractions starts before or after water bag breaks?

Hi Pochacco,
probably getting around 4 - 5 bottles as well, as will be trying to BF. I may not get Avent coz I heard their mouths are bigger than normal bottles, so may not be able to fit other bottle nipples. THink I will get Nuk nipples...

Heard from a fren who delivered in Mt A early this year that the hospital gave glass milk bottles. She managed to get quite a few FOC.

Celine,
I saw a shop in United Square selling the drawers, with a changing table top and a pull out stand to put baby bath tub. I thot it looks cool & practical. Cldnt remember the exact price but I tink it is ard $300-$400+.

Bot a pair of cloth diapers from Bumwear to try out when bb arrives. Claimed to be better absorbent than nappies. Those interested can check out this website for their reviews. www.bumwear.com. Will need more if turns out useful.

HAve a good weekend, everyone!
kao_kiss.gif

SY, when ur water bag breaks, you are still in time to take a shower and make your way to the hospital. but do not delay into gg to the hospital too late by going shopping first. what i understand from the class is that the water is important to protect the baby, once the water bag break, the protection is gone and need to admit within couple of hrs. so as long as you don't go jalan jalan and shopping, its still in time to go for shower and make ur way there.

Actually, I don't agree. The first Bumwear diapers (the ones with the white waterproof sheet under the outer cloth) is rather leaky but the current version is really very good.

The fabrics are all made waterproof by some special process now. I bought two of this new version one to try and it worked really well. So I bought 8 more. I have been using them for 9 months and I am very, very happy with it and highly recommend to my friends.

The girl at the shop told me that the plain ones are actually more waterproof than the batik ones.

Just came back from Dr's. My weight gain only 1kg from 1mth ago but bb grew from 310g to 679g. More than double! Thank God for that! I was still worried abt bb's not growing well. *Phew!

Mashybrainz,
Really?? I thot bumwear was real absorbent. Saw the salesgal demo. The water gets absorb real fast & the surface is dried up. Helps prevent bb from getting nappy rash. But I know they need to change the liner & the cloth inside. If not, it will still overflow (like our pads). Will check out to see if I can find that thread. Luckily, I bot only 1pc to try out. Thanks for info.

Judith,
I bot the plain one. The salesgal told me customers feedback the plain ones are more durable for daily wear. The inner material should be the same & it gets more absorbent when seasoned.The batik ones look so cute that bb can just wear it out to the beaches hor!
I will only know if it really works on my bb next yr. Hee hee! Anyway, thanks for the feedback.

Hi Wenyl, I think you will enjoy using the diaper. I didn't have much faith in it after the first version that I bought leaked. But when I was at the Bumwear shop again buying their clothes, I saw this ang-moh mum buying 20 diapers for her twins. I was intrigued and start chatting up with her about what she is buying so many pieces. She said she bought one each for her twins and she really liked it. So based on her word alone (not the salesgirl's) I bought two to try again. and like I said earlier, I came back for 8 more.

Hi girls, me still haven't started on any baby shopping yet! The only thing I bought is kodomo liquid detergent... Maybe next week will go and get some new born tops and cloth nappies. My gf is lending me some of her son's new born clothings, so dont think will buy a lot.

Judith

My friend just gave birth in June leh. So i think hers should be the current version and her baby is not small, was 4kg when born.

Wenyl
My friend's feedback is that the poo leaks coz bf baby's poo very watery.

went OG on Fri (not a special trip but happened to pass by). the tollyjoy bargain no more already. now it's selling at 26.90. but they have 20% on most baby stuff like pigeon and bb's clothes. bought some baby's clothes of cos since i m there..

yuki, stylobb,
for cloth nappies, do you use safety pins or is there any other way to fasten the nappies? i saw those that u can wear over. is it very good?

judith, mashy,
can check with you on the bumwear diaper? does it work like a normal cloth diaper? still need to put nappy liners etc?

curly,
dun worry..once you start shopping for bb, you can't seem to stop! my hb complaning why i keep buying bb stuff...

Morning gals,

Judith/ Mashy,
I also wanted to try Bumwear out, but after hearing bad reviews about it, I gave up on the idea. Maybe will try one and see how...

went to Jurong point last weekend, Kiddy Palace was closed for renovation until 20 Oct, silly me...
, so wasted trip...

Hi SY,
thanks for the info, I wanted to go down to OG yesterday just for the Tollyjoy diaper promotions, lucky didn't rush down.. Shall go down to Bugis Seiyu this weekend with my mum so that she can choose some more baby clothes, you're right, Seiyu Bugis does have a big selection of baby stuff!

Mongs,
I bought one daiper cover to try try see how, hope it won't be too hot for bb. Did your sis still have to use safety pins if she used the diaper covers?

Curly,
me also just started... I told my mum still have time, at least 3 and 1/2 months more to go, but she said the time will pass by very fast, ask me better start...

sleepingdeer: phew...luckily I did not go to JP KIddy palace yesterday, else it will be a wasted trip for me.

Went to detailed scan at TMC last Friday and goodnes, I have to wait for 1 hour even when I reach there exactly at my appointment time. Worst then in SGH. The service sucks too, I was in the ultrasound room alone for 5 minutes before the sonographer came in. It affirms my decision not to go to TMC for my delivery.

Glad to know everything is fine with baby.

Hi SY,

Don't worry about the water bag burst thingy. Like what someone mentioned, you still have time to take shower and eat as well.

My friend rushed to hospital immediately when her water bag burst and she was so frustrated that she shouted at the nurse who was doing the registration to hurry up. That was during the SARS period and they have to take your temperature etc....so it take sometime before she was admitted. Later the nurse at the delivery room laugh at her and said that it don't have to be 'immediate'. But i think as a guide, baby need to be out of the tummy within 24 hours of the waterbag burst.

For my case, i didn't feel any contraction at all thru out my pregnancy. Both CTG scan shows no contraction. My watyerbag burst at about 2pm and when i reached hospital at 5pm, have dilated only 1cm. Gynae inserted a tablet to speed up the dilation and i start to feel mild contractions only at about 9pm. Started getting stronger at 10pm and i finaly asked for epidural at midnight. I gave birth to my girl at about 7am.

As for nappy, i used something like bumwear but not the same brand. My cousin bought a lot for Bangkok and i thot they are rather good. So i didn't use safty pin at all.............

Hi Sleeping dear and other mommies,

Heard Seiyu is going to have a 20% storewide sales this coming friday. Can stock up the supplies.

Personally, i used Pureen detergent to wash baby's clothes and Pigeon's liquid cleanser to wash baby's bottles.

another pc of advice. Now is the time to start to get things for baby. Times flies and as we grow bigger, it may be harder for us to shop often...... so start your shopping spree now!

sleepingdeer,
nope think my sister didn't use safety pins but maybe but her baby is only 3 months old, not crawling around like those 6 months old babies. but should be quite secure. those diapers covers have sizes as well.

Oops u wasted ur trip to kiddy palace at JP. heard that a lot of stuff was on sale before they close down for renovation. didn't know until last sunday night 8plus and they close at 930pm.

actually some people prefer to leave it till last minute to shop, think they are a bit batang. but I think it's better to slowly start buying, we can get things at a bargain if we open our eyes and not so stress towards the end. we also have more energy now since it's the honeymoon period. I have more or less completed my shopping. only left some small items like rubber mat, more bibs, mittens and baby grows (long body suit) to buy.

Hi SY,

yes, the way you put on the bumwear diapers is like normal pampers kind of diapers - only they use snaps instead of sticky tape.

I put nappy lines on the fleece to make washing easier when my baby poo poos.

Mashy - about the poo spilling out of the bumwear diapers -- it can also happen to any other diapers to when the baby poo is very explosive one. I remember having this happen to me with Pampers premium. The poo was just too much and too watery for the Pampers premium to hold. Doesn't mean that Pampers premium is no good, right ?

Anyway, the bumwear diaper has my personal vote of confidence simply because it really works for my baby and my friends are happy with it too.

anyone wants to get anything from Aussino? It's my bday this month so i got the 40% discount. Do let me know before Fri as i'll be likely to be going down to Aussino to shop this fri!

Btw, it's confirmed that the baby's weight is just an estimated weight for now. They measure something about the legs and dunno-which-part of the body, then use a formula to get the weight. So it's not as if the ultrasound really measures the baby's weight - know what i mean?

Sleepingdeer,
thanks. i shall make a note that KP only opening on 20th Oct. was still thinking of going down. is it just the JP one?

hee i also thinking of going ot seiyu again!!

yuki,
thanks for the info! so i can just use diapers and dun use safety pins right? tot it's really safer not to use safety pins.

can ask you something? i realise my baby's movements are very low. like in the groin area. is that ok? scared too low.

mongs,
i agree that it's good to start buying early. buy a bit here and there then won't feel that i m spending too much also
and one got good bargains can start buying already.

MH,
good to know that everything is well with baby!!
for me, my scan took so long cos bb not cooperative. and of cos got to wait a while cos the person in front of me was late.

durianlover,
happy birthday in advance!!

thinking of getting the hankies since someone recommended. is it confirmed that the bedding got no discount during the 40% thing?

for those who are isetan card holders, isetan having private sale this thur. think got some extra discounts on baby stuff.

Hi SY,

Err, don't know how to explain. The bumwear or equivalent acts like disposable diapers except that we have to insert the cloth nappies (folded properly) into in. The sides are hold by velco so we don;t need safety pins. If it doesn;t get dirty, we can use change the cloth nappy and reuse the bumwear or equivalent a few times.

I agree with Judith. Spills over are very common cos baby's poo expecially BF babies are very watery.

I think as long as baby kicks, everything is fine. I get kicks in that area too and sometimes i even suspect baby kicks on my bladder and for that moment, seems like want to urinate.....

Yuki,
i think i know what u mean. still wear the nappies and then wear the diaper thing over it right?

haha..my baby does that too. right after i go toilet, i can feel him again and i want to go toilet again!

Morning all mummies to be...

SY - i went to OG Orchard on Sat and the Tollyjoy nappies promo stil on leh... got 3 packs there and i snapped up 2... so mayb they do replenish their stock..its at $19.90 as wat Baobao mentioned lor...u might wan to chk if u pass by again

oh, wats the cheapest info we got on NB pampers? was at JL on Sat and the Sealers' salesger was saying TODAY got 10% off the NB & S diapers. was $5.50 so less 10% will be $4.95.is is good buy???
kao_confused.gif
if yes, i gota go down and get 3packs standby..

Happie Bird Day, Durianlover!!!

hi god's child,
maybe i will go and see again. I was at OG Albert Complex and they din have the promo. lucky i din buy there!

is the sealer's diapers only at JL?? maybe i shd buy some also if got the 10%. very cheap leh.

SY

the pack is 24s at $4.95 lor, reali cheap rite? but i dunno leh. my fren oni use 1 pack NB then aft tat can use S aldy... it depends on bb's size also... *confused*

Hi MTBs,
The postings moving so fast, hard to keep up.
I intend to use cloth diapers. Can anyone recommend a good and reasonable priced brand? How about those sold in neighbourhood shops? I sae the Annaku ones going at $19.90 for 10. Is that cheap?
So for BF newborns, we should use disposable diapers? Is Drypers good enough cos poo will be watery right?

hello gals

yesterday i went OG n tollyjoy nappy selling at $26.90 leh. (no more $19.90 liao). and robinson yesterday giving 15% discount (tollyjoy nappy liner n nappy oso got 15% discount)

hi queen
i saw the cloth diapers at clementi hdb shops b4. can't remember how much it is....
i haven't bot any yet. 'cos wanna wait for my friends and relatives to give me, and don't know how many they are handing to me.

Hi Sunny,

MAybe you can asked your friends and relatives to pass them to you as early as possible so that you can guage better?

Hi Queen,

I BF my baby girl and i use combination of cloth and disposable diapers. The first 1.5 months mainly use Pampers Premiun for NB. Tried Dryers S size but still too big for baby.

DURIANLOVER - HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! Thanks for offering your 40% Aussino will check it out n let u know by Fri latest if i have any order. I just went Aussino PlazaSing Bought 1 cot bedding set at $69.90. Thinking of buying some misc stuff like Jersey Blanket, towels, etc but they dun seem to have much BB stuff. Any idea which is a good outlet to go??

I went to Toa Payoh NTUC yesterday n bought 1 pack of Pampers Premium NB36 @ $13.90 (u.p $15.40). It was the last pack available so just grab. Is SEALER a good brand?? Since its so cheap at $4.95 for NB24pcs was wondering if i should go down JL today & grab some too??

SY
U and ur sis look alike????

Cloth nappies - gosh, I have no idea cos my mum took care of my boi, I shud go and ask her hehehe....

Hey I saw the smaller sized mittens at KP that I mentioned to u about... I will be buying a few sets....

Hankies - can buy those cheap types... China-made type...hehe...

JL still having sale? Do they have Pigeon stuff? I wanna buy the pink blanket cos the colour looks so sweet... hehe...

god's child
Think dun get too many NB, cos they switch to S pretty fast... just get enuf.

claire
Sealer - I only tried the L so far...pretty good lah. So far I have stocked up Nepia NB for the gals....

SY/Yuki
SO the bumwear is to cover over the nappy and we dun need to use safety pins....

Queen
I used disp for my NB that time...since they poo-ed, not gonna waste time to wash and dry... stimes after I changed him and he immediately pooed leh... hiaz....

mongs
I'm in my 2nd tri and I am tired liao... with the gals in me, I find I can't walk too long.. so I start to stock up on mittens, booties and stuff.

durianlover
Your b/day ah? Happy Birthday!

If I dun read wrongly, Bumwear Diaper is to REPLACE traditional cloth diaper, NOT to Cover it. Main difference is that Bumwear is shape like a disposable diaper already so dun need folding like cloth ones, and also dun need diapre pins to secure coz they have attached fasteners which according to the website, can be adjusted all the way to BB 3 - 4yrs old. It is still recommended to put diaper liner so that poo poo can be collected on the liner & throw away. Bumwear diaper can then to be washed like normal cloth diaper.

www.bumwear.com

Hihi durianlover,
Happy bdae! jus to check, is the aussino 40% for for any bdae gals and guys from the public or are you a member or something? u know like giordano gives 20% or is it 10% to anyone who buys from giordano on their actual bdae.

styloBB,
u are carrying twins lei. a bit diff lah. naturally u will be tired. I was just reading the aug issue of young parents, a lady carrying twins eventually gained 18kg. but she looked beautiful, radiant and happy in the pic, can't see any extra inch of fat on her face but her tummy is really big.

let my gal listen to Bach music for a while and she got excited and moved quite a bit. really don't know if she like it or she is trying to squirm away from the music.

Wenyl

where can see the demo on the bumwear nappies har? am thinking of takinga look at how it reali works.. the info on the net looks comprehensive but then abit complicated for me to understand...

MH
Sorry to hear abt your long wait at TMC for the detailed scan. Guess u went on one of their busy days. I was there 1 mth ago and the wait was less than half an hour. The sonographer was quite experienced & we had a good chat cos she was also pregnant.

Durianlover,
Yah...our baby's weight is just an estimate based on some formula. I observe my gynae using the ultrasound machine to calculate the measurements of the baby's head & femur length and came up with the baby's est weight. Mine weights 679g at 23 weeks .

I managed to get 1 pck of Tollyjoy nappies with 2 box of liners at $19.90 at OG Albert. It was the last pack around. The rest are going at $26.90. Dunno if they will replenish the $19.90 stock. Its a real good buy.

Queen,
I bot a pack of Anakku nappies from JB few mths back at RM$19.90. Cheap but compared to Tollyjoy, TJ material is much better - softer.
For NB, we can use cloth nappies in the day & use disposable diapers at nite.

cel_cel,
You can pop by their BUMWEAR shop in United Square & ask the salesgal to demo on the spot for u. Its very simple to wear. But seems there is so many different feedbacks on it.

I was at John Little yesterday. Indeed the sale is good. I only bought 3 tops cos they had the words "I love Daddy" and "I Love Mummy". Very nice cotton feel to the tops. Went over to Mothercare and bought come more stuff plus Aussino at Centrepoint and bought a bedding set for the cot.

After that, went to Courts to buy 2 more racks to add on to the current 2 racks in the baby's room. Putting most of my teddy bears in the shelves for the baby to admire when he's in the room. Having a good time setting up the room in stages. Now, got to wait for the cot to be delivered and the room will be complete.

Can see that most of you girls are shopping shopping for the diapers. Will be my turn soon for the diapers and bottles and the wet wipes

DurianLover

Happy Advance Birthday!

Ivory

As per today, I should be 21 weeks and 6 days. Tomorrow will be exactly 22 weeks... thanks for updating

The thread moving so fast, having hard time catch up
kao_dizzy.gif