(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

peipei - i think you have yeast infection. have you ask your gynae? remember to wash your down below regularly and keep it cool and dry. When sleeping, don't wear any undies. wear only cotton undies with panty liner and chg frequently. i do have discharge but not bleeding and does not itch there.

for all TMC babies-to-be, you need not bring your baby return clothes. your baby will be clothed with TMC branding attire from head to toe..given FOC. even have a bag with TMC logo. FYI. i think its cool

mashy - your sugar level is high too? i be gg for my sugar test on 26th Sept. i don;t drink sweet drinks except for water. if i want to drink tea, i will ask for less sugar. sigh no choice for baby's sake.

Pochacco - yes there is a place to massage..below spine, there is a 2 "holes" that in my antenatal class they taught hubby how to massage. i don't know how to describe to you. but you can speak to your gynae and ask for advice. i personally find Mrs Wong class in TMC very useful. are you planning to go for it? not only prepare both u and your hubby for the preganancy, you both will have lotsa of fun. now my hubby knows abt the term: induction and augmentation. hehee..

durianlover,
I have more hair on my tummy too! Some of the MTBs here also seemed to have more tummy hair. I have the linea line running from my navel down my tummy. Think this is normal lah.

confused,
How many weeks are you in now?
I think if you are at 20 weeks, should begin to feel the baby kick already... But not to worry, as long as you can see your BB's heartbeat and moving in the scans during your gynae visits, BB is fine! Maybe you are not very sensitive to the feeling yet.
Now into my 23rd week, the BB can kick so hard that my HB can feel it and can see my tummy move up and down suddenly, usually at night while watching TV.

Sysa,
Had 2 antenatal lessons at TMC already. So far the lessons covered exercises, general nutrition and precaution during pregnancy as well as types of pain relief during labour. Did a partial hospital tour as well. No names yet for my son.

I don't think milk production is dependant on breast size? So not to worry lah. I know of mummies who are A and B cup during pregnancy and still managed to BF their BBs for a long time.

Morning all..

was on leave packing alittle of the nursery room
finally, almost done...

went to Aussino and bought a set, its while stocks last ( for the older batch ) new batch arriving soon, the pink rabbit one very cute, HB say once come must go n buy.. oh, actuali i was thiniking norm price $99.90 , then if got bdae discount, will be cheaper.. just tat dunno when this $69.90 nett thing will last. the price diff will b $10 la... they dun sell separates for bolster or pillow, all in a set.. but material reali good. my MIL also like it alot..

oh, talking bout naming baby ( someone asked earlier ).. i thought of one for my baby girl - Celeste. The meaning : From heaven.. Nice???

sleepingdeer,
i bought the tom craft one from robinsons. asking them to deliver only in Nov. they can hold till nov for u.

krissie,
i know sleeping on left side is better but i like right side better....
maybe i shd try sleeping on the left more...
actually i din really take note of the tom craft design but i know can convert to a toddler bed. but probaby by then i will have my second kid so dun think my bb will have a chance to use it as toddler bed

pochacco,
i also sprained my back some time back. i went to GP and got some cream to apply (of cos must be safe to use). it was quite effective and the pain went away after 2 days. but thikn my back is weak and i get back pains on and off. try not to carry heavy things and go swimming.

SSF - me will onli be going for the class in early oct at Mt A... think the back cannot tahan till so long,,

SY - this sat, when see gynae should ask him about this.

celine - celeste is a nice name. i like it too.
as for me, i am thinking of naming my baby boy - Caleb. which means bold and faithfulness in Hebrew. nice? hee..

anyone, any names?

SSF, Caleb is a nice name too... nice meaning there

Sunny, u sure u wana video tape down the process?? *gulps* i dun think my HB and i wana re-watch the thingie.. ts aldy tough persuading him to go through it wf me ( hes scared of blood ), and to ask him video tape it will be too much for him.. wait he faint inside... haha

hi sunny,
my frenz who gave birth recently said that we're actually not allowed to video tape or take photos during the actual delivery...But then there was another fren's hb who didn't really care and taped the whole delivery process - that was in Mt A. He wasn't stopped by any nurse or doctor! So i think it's actually not allowed but they may close 1 eye

Anyway the process shd be quite gross...u sure u wanna tape it?!

Krissie,
I saw that the Tom Craft one have side guards, so I like it.... but at $299, still debating whether worth to get or get the cheaper Daniel Cot. Have not seen the Johnson cot yet, when is it coming in? I was thinking if it is on offer during Robinson's sale, then we can get it then, but dunno when will the sale be leh?

Next monday your next visit? So fast uh? My next one is in Oct... still a long way away...

SY,
you bought the TOm Craft one already? Does it come with the side guards?

I always try to sleep on my left side too, but middle of night when I wake up, always find myself on my back again... do you gals have that problem? I'll shift back to the side, but after a few times in the night, I get too lazy and just sleep on my back... hee hee..

Celine,
Celeste is a nice name, my ex-boss's name is Celeste, nice lady

sleepingdeear,
i think there's a pic of what the cot looks like when u convert to toddler bed. it has some side guards but not very big i think. there's no additional stuff to buy to convert to toddler bed so i think it's good.

i have the same problem too! i always end up on my back when i wake up at night cos it's more comfy. but i find that when i go for check up and lie on those hospital beds on my back, my back hurts. it only doesn't hurt on my own bed

durianlover,
photo not allowed? tot shd at least allow. but speaking of that i think i did remember a colleague mention. but dunno how strict they are...

yeah i hv that same problem! always wake up in the middle of the night finding myself lying on my back. i still can't get used to sleeping on my side all thru' the night! sleeping on the back more comfy
But must always remind myself that for the baby's good, better lie on the side!

SY,
yah apparently photo-taking and video-filming all not allowed during the actual delivery. But before n after delivery no problem

sleepingdeer

i oso same same like you,will somehow wake up sleeping on my back..
and now as the stomach gets bigger, its so difficult to switch side even... heavy manz... *pantz*

Sleepingdeer
When u mean the side guards, it's the rails to prevent baby from falling over when it's converted to Junior Bed, right? Not the normal guards for the cot, hor? Ya, cant wait for Mon to see bb again. Too bad my hb cant go with me. Coz I usually cant see very well, depend on hb to see what Dr Ho says. Actually, Dr Ho said can sleep on any side, even on the back. He says as long as mummy is comfy & sleeps well. So, dun worry.

my colleague told me in 3rd trimester it's gonna be more uncomfortable as we sleep coz of huge tummy. Apparently when she turns side she has to 'lift' her tummy so that it moves along with her body!

SY,
trip to Perth was good n relaxing! We basically ate a lot and slept a lot, since shops close so early! Heehee
Hv u planned for ur hol yet?

krissie,
some doc say doesn't matter if we lie on the back but recently when my fren's bb was quite small, doc told her to lie on the side more as it gives bb more oxygen. and most books say lie on side too.

durianlover,
haven plan for any trip yet. mum not allowing me to travel and my hb also hard to take leave....sob sob so still no firm plans yet

queen - i'm now 22 weeks liao. and that's y i worried lor. Gynae did tell me that i'll feel it soon bus seems dont have leh. only once in a while feel something knocking inside my abdomianl.

Pochacco - the other time when i sprain my arm i didnt go massage though gyane say ok. i let it heal by itself. (very uncomfortable for amost 2mths)

Dear gals
I just came back from Detail scan... and every thing is fine. Gynae didn't see anything unusual.
But you all have been talking about bb weigh...but my gyane never measure bb weigh wor...when I check with his nurse...they say this detail scan dun check on weigh yet only 32 weeks then check on weight.
Oh BTW... mine is a PRINCESS!!

Ivory
Pls update my bb as a little princess!

Sleeping deer / kriss
when u did your detail scan with Dr Ho did he tell you bb weight??

SSF
I also wanna use Caleb if my bb is boy boy...
but now my bb is a gal... I will get HB to think of a name.
I like Caleb!!

HI gals
So Sad.... I was suppose to go for Phuket trip this Thur but my HB was down with flu since last Thur and until now till not fully recover....
so we have to postpone our trip to next week but got to pay for air ticket again cos cannot change. *boo hoo* so heart pain ley....pay extra for nothing...sigh....

pochacco,
sometimes when i do housework, i get backache at night. but it always goes away the next day. anything that u do that is strenous?

cookie,
dun be too upset! try to look forward to it. many pple are down with flu so u must take extra care since your hb is sick.

congrats on your gal.

SY
ya lor... really Thank God.. so far I'm ok... my HB was very jialet with the flu...but now he is better already.

cookie,
congrats on ur gal! mine's a girl too
hee am looking fwd to buying sweet little clothes for babies...
did u book for Phuket trip thru budget airlines? if so, not so heartpain! Anyway this kinda things bo bian one...dun think too much abt the $$ n look fwd to the trip!

SY,
how come ur mum doesn't allow u to travel?

btw, gynae told me my bb's 300g at a normal scan - it wasn't even the detailed scan. So i think normal scan can actually measure bb's weight!

i am not too sure if wanna take photo during delivery. agree that it could be really gross if play back. haha..... just wanna explore if it's really allowed so that i could prepare the equipment...

durianlover,
my mum doesn't wan me to travel cos of the initial problems i had in early pregnancy. she just wants to be sure i think. and she feels that i can always go hol after that

SSF/Cookie,
I had decided to name my BB Caleb too but turn out she's a Girl.. so now have to think of a nice, biblical & meaningful Girl name... No idea yet.... = )

I think its important to bring camera to take before & after delivery shots... my friend's HB so funny... he took so many pictures of BB while the nurse was cleaning & when Nurse finally pass the BB to the mummy my friend's HB pass the camera to my friend and ask her to take him holding the BB... hahaha....

durain lover
heehee... ya lor gal gal clothing very sweet one.. somemore lotsa boys here... next times our gal gal lotsa choice...ghahahaha
I booked a free and easy tour on Silk Air... it's promo fare la but still heartpain lor.. now I have pay extra $250/pax

SY
Ya, I rem what u said abt your friend.. maybe when bb is normal, it's ok to sleep anyway..

Cookie
Congrats... little princess. Did u take the 4D scan or normal one? Yup, he mentioned 450gm.. hee hee.. maybe he's concentrating on the detailed scan & forgot to tell u the weight. U look at the printouts? did they indicate anything? they usually have some dimensions and dates.

cookie and durianlover,
i think gal's clothes nicer...that day i saw so many gal's clothes....

cookie,
that's a lot of money to pay extra....

krissie,
u good memory leh. nowadays my memory quite bad

clare...
same here...caleb is the only name my HB and I can agree on...all other name my Hb think not nice..But... bb turn out to be a Gal...heehee....
we got to start thinking names again :p

krissie,
not bad liao. me and my pregnant colleagues sometimes ask other colleagues the same question twice so they keep teasing us. but really find that my memory so short. sometimes go to a place and can forget what i want to take. nowadays keep setting reminders

HI SY/Krissie,
yah, those side guards are the normal ones at the side of the bed, just that one end is higher at each side, so that the toddler will stop rolling once he/she hits the side, and not fall to the floor

Wah, looks like alot MTBs all have the same problem as me, love to sleep on back
Krissie, if Dr. Ho says ok to sleep on back, then I will sleep until it get uncomfortable..

Celine/Durianlover,
so scary to think that when tummy gets bigger, we have to 'lift' it out of the way to change sides...! I read the other MTBs in the earlier threads all suffering in last trimester coz cannot sleep well.... we must encourage each other when we start looking like Panda...

Confused,
dun worry about baby movement, as long as scan shows everything ok... probably your bb is very 'xi wen'...

Congrats Cookie!
On your princess! Mine also gal! Yah, Dr. Ho only tell me bb weight at the detailed scan... it is also printed on one of the scanned pictures that he will give you, check and see?

SY,
you and me the same, my memory is very lousy nowadays..! So absent minded that in 5 sec, I can forget what I am supposed to be doing... sigh!

morning ladies!
wed already..mid week..always feel the most tired on wed.

sleepingdeer,
nowadays, i find turning not that easy also. cos my back not very strong. always use my legs to support me when i got to turn. dunno whether that is the correct way.

i find that i dun sleep very well now...

sunny,
u also having problems sleeping? my sleep is not restful and i have a lot of dreams...

Cookie

Congrats on your little princess! im having a princess too, and she is called Celeste!!! hee..

about the baby weight, the sonographer at TMC was telling me its based on bb's head size at that point of gestation. so it might not be so accurate also, serves as estimate only..so cookie, dun worry bout it...

sleepingdeer / sunny

im also panda now.. bb punches alot now and very difficult to shift position cos reali start to strain on the back aldy.. boo hoo hoo

Good Morning Mummies!
Yeah Mid week now so hang on for another 2 more days & its weekend again!

About sleeping... I have dreams EVERYNIGHT even before pregnant so guess used to it... previously always very tired in the morning coz "ran" about too much in my dreams so feel as if no rest at all.... nowdays think better coz I'm also pregnant in my dreams so not as active as before hee hee....

Gd morning!

MIA yesterday coz kenna stomach flu. Pain like siao!
Think i got it from my FIL.

Krissie
Your bb's big too. Didn't your gynae ask u to go for GD test? Coz that's one of the reason why bb so big. Gotta rule that out first.

SSF
I like the name Caleb too! Thought it's a nice name. But hor, warn u first hor, Caleb actually means dog. That's why they always put as faithfulness & loyal. Coz in the bible, Caleb is a very faithful follower of God.

Wah! Now all the gals are coming in.

hi SY, celine
ya, sleeping quality is bad. lots of dreams and sometimes, mind is very clear since 4am+.... sian...

till now, i still can sleep flat. hehe... but not for the whole night... sleep flat makes me have more urge to go toilet too....

congrats cookie, me also expecting a gal!!!

some useful info on gestational diabetes:

1. Why might I need to have a glucose tolerance test?
Some women develop a form of diabetes during pregnancy that is called gestational diabetes. Unlike other types of diabetes, gestational diabetes usually disappears once your baby is born.

Diabetes is caused by the pancreas failing to produce enough of the hormone insulin. Insulin regulates the amount of sugar in your blood and enables your body to store sugar that isn't immediately needed for energy.

Your body has to produce extra insulin to meet your baby's needs during pregnancy, especially from about five months when he is growing rapidly. If your body isn't able to keep up, you will probably develop gestational diabetes.

Your baby needs sugar in the form of glucose to grow, but too much may make him grow exceptionally large. A big baby may make giving birth more difficult for the mother. Very large babies are more likely to need delivering by caesarean section and caesarean section carry a higher risk of jaundice and breathing problems in babies.

Only about 2 to 5 per cent of pregnant women develop gestational diabetes. In most cases, all you need to do to keep the diabetes under control is to follow a healthy diet and exercise programme. Occasionally, insulin injections are prescribed for the mother.

One sign of gestational diabetes is too much sugar in your urine. This will usually be picked up by a routine urine test during pregnancy.

2. What does the glucose tolerance test involve?
You will be asked to starve for six hours before attending a special clinic where the test will be carried out. On arrival, a nurse will take a blood sample from you. If you are very nervous about giving blood, ask a friend to stay with you. The first blood sample is used to measure the level of sugar in your blood when you have been fasting and is called a baseline test. You will next be asked to drink a very sweet, sugary mixture and your blood will then be tested at set intervals and the measurements compared with the normal range.

It's reassuring to remember that most women who have sugar in their urine at their antenatal appointment turn out to have normal blood sugar levels in the glucose tolerance test.

3. Who is most at risk of gestational diabetes?
The women most at risk are those who have diabetes already or who had gestational diabetes during a previous pregnancy, or who have already given birth to one or more large babies. Overweight women are at risk, and so are women who have had pregnancy-related problems such as a miscarriage or pre-eclampsia. Other women at risk are:

Older mothers (the tendency to develop diabetes increases with age)

Women with hypertension (high blood pressure)

Women who were large babies themselves (weighing more than nine pounds at birth)

Women with a parent or sibling who has to have insulin-injections for diabetes

4. What if I do have gestational diabetes?
Most women who develop diabetes during pregnancy give birth to normal, healthy babies. However, 50 per cent of women who have gestational diabetes go on to develop full-blown diabetes within the next 20 years. To minimise the risk of this happening, you will be advised to keep to the special diet you were prescribed during pregnancy for the rest of your life.

yeah mashy..it means dog. my hubby got a shock too to learn abt it. hehe. but in the end we both like it as the meaning in hebrew is nice.

hello gals

mashy - u take care yeah! me too leh, gynae told me bb on the bigger side but didnt ask me to go for another test. he juz ask me not to eat too sweet stuff.

confused...you read my above. may want to go for sugar blood test as well. i be doing so in 2 weeks time. but i don;t think my baby is big as my tummy is very small. only gain 5 kg and now in 22 weeks. for me.