(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

din log on all weekend cos was so busy!
bb getting active now and sometimes the kicks can get really uncomfortable. mine kicks near the belly button.

went for my detailed scan on sat and confirm i m having a boy. he was so naughty cos he was lying on his back and the sonographer couldn't get a full view of his spine and we had to go out and walk twice so we did the scan 3 times.

i bought some stuff over the weekend. decided to get the tom craft cot. i saw the universal steam sterliser at robinsons selling at 40+. but think it looks quite small compared to the other pigeon one

i also went to seiyu on fri and bought some pigeon tops cos got 20%. robinsons got no more discount on the bb clothes already so decided not to buy there.

also feeling a bit of mon blues...

SSF, I also have white/yellowish discharge. At first I was bleeding rested for 3 weeks then followed by brown discharge, now white discharge.
Gynae say as long as not brown or red, then it is ok. However, i do feel itchy on and off... somtimes my condition can be quite bad that I need to apply cream or even use salt water to clean. Are u gals also facing this problem?

SY, for TMC, for mothers we need to prepare everything, from nightgrowns, sanitary pads (use those with strings ones as we will have the unine tube attached), breastpads, socks (at nights the room is quite cold), disposable panties (recommanded as a lot of blood discharge).

For the baby, need not worry as TMC take care of babies all baby needs. Oh yah, mothers need to think of which formula to give to baby after birth.
As usually the labour day, after the process mother will be veri exhausted at night, usually the nurse will advise mother to rest the first night and start to BF the next morning. Therefore for the first night, bb will be given milk formula.

peipei

i'm going TBF. So bb won't be getting any milk formula. Anyway, bb can don't drink milk for the first few days.

For the rest of the gals, i heard if u wanna go TBF, have to inform them, then they will not feed bb with formula milk.

Mashy
I think <$250 is qt a good deal for all the stuff they're giving.
Do u have any materials that says bb dun need milk for 1st few days? I rem reading somewhere. But, cant rem where.. wanna print out to get ready to show my mum in case she wants to feed bb FM. I also am intending to go for TBF if possible.

Sunny
Daniel Cot - $269
Tom Craft one - $299 (I think)
Mama Love cot - <$300 cant rem the exact price, coz I dun like the wood colour
Babycraft cot - $299.

All inclds mattress + bedding set. Some have extra stuff also. But, price is abt the same, so I'll be getting the design that I like.

Clare
I've put on 9kg liao.. though pple ard me says that I'm ok, I find that I look v round and bloated too.. so now, cutting down on fried stuff + sweet things.
Hope it helps loh.

Mashy,

I was 50kg before pregnant last weigh on Fri amlost 59kg liao. = (

Krissie - U too?? Yah me gotta cut down on carbohydrates i think i eat to much flour based staff eg. biscuits, bread, etc.

mashy,
my colleague also told me abt the JL tops. she said it's good material and cheap too so think i will be getting that. hee..all our bb going to be dressed the same.

krissie,
i also remembered my fren telling me that bb dun drink in the first few days. she also had no milk the first 2 days and bb din drink milk during that time.

ivory,
can help me update? i m having a boy.

just wondering. at the detailed scan, my bb weighs abt 300g at 20 weeks. does that sound ok? cos i noticed most of your bb seems to be bigger.

SY: I think u saw the smaller Pigeon sterliser which can sterilise only 2 bottles only?

peipei: once baby are fed with formula, some of them will reject mummy's breast (nipple confusion). Breastfeeding maybe even tougher then. This is because it is easier to drink from bottle. I see it happen to my SIL. Formula milk oso corrupt the intestinal flora of baby's stomach

krissie, mashy, SY: Colostrum is part of milk too and it is the most valuable.

Etelle: in the electric steriliser, u put in a small amount of water, they will then be later converted to steam and sterilise the bottles and equipments.

Wenyl: steriliser like the pigeon steriliser do not have holes to fit in the bottles, so u can put in anything inside, kids's utensils even. So I dun think Avent bottles should have trouble fitting in.

MH,
i think u r right. cos it looks really small and my hb also passed the same comment that i can only fit abt 2 bottles.

wenyl,
my fren uses pigeon and she say can fit avent bottles.

hello gals

Wow! so many posting. Gals, i still cant feel bb kick liao. How is it like har? i'm very worried. only once i a while i feel bb is knocking something (very lightly) is it bb kicking?

krissie - har! the bb cot different price liao. Does it come with the matress?

Clare - me too leh put on abt 10kg liao
n sugar level is a bit high. Really stress ah! I try to cut down food n seems cant make it leh cos i will get gastric pain if i eat too little.

With regards to BF, when i was in the hospital, thou i was BF baby, the nurses adviced me that my baby's sugar level is low so need more food thus have to give formula. The teats they use are NUK's teat which are shaped like nipples so that baby can easily adapt to both the teat and mummy's breast.

Once i am sure my baby's sugar level is back to normal, i tried to TBF and my girl can adpat well to both BF and formula.

SY, MH
Thanks for the info. Hmmm.....Guess the sales gal at Hypermart info not so accurate hor.

I intend to BF too. Read somewhere that our milk supply for the 1st few days will be low but the colostrum has sufficient nutrients to protect the baby till our supply comes on in the next few days.

Clare
Ya.. cant eat too much mooncake.
was 46kg, now 55kg. I am hoping to maintain at 55 till next Monday when I see my gynae.. then, wanna leave some allowance for me to eat in Melbourne.

Mashy
Thanks.. I'll take a look at the BF websites.

SY
Thanks.. am also worried that I dun have milk at first, then my mum and MIL will nag and force me to feed bb during that time. U know, their generation are not very pro-bf. I'm really keen to bf lah.. so, must find all my ammunition so that they will not be able to do that loh.. hope that the MT. A nurses can help me too. Heard from my friend that they're very pro-bf.

Confused
Yup, comes with mattress. Re Daniel cot, $269 is before the 20% disc that Kids Paradise says they'll give. Shld be bb kicking, but maybe it's faintly. Slowly, it'll be strong.

confused,
i also not sure initially but got a few times it was quite hard and even my hb can feel it. so i think that must be bb kicking. but sometimes it's very fluttering and soft and i also not sure.

krissie,
i think my mum so far ok abt bf. that day when we were shopping she asked me whether i need to buy those milk powder holder. i told her no need cos i intend to try to bf first. she just put it back and say ok. but so far haven test mil out yet. as long as hb is supportive, i think shdn't be a problem.

wenyl
i realise sales pple info not very accurate one. ask ard a bit more to be sure or to those who have used it.

krissie - ok thanks for the info. *sigh* hopefully that's the bb kick lor. oh ya! do u know where can i get Graco pram beside Robinson?

Dear ladies

I remember I read it somewhere but now can't find the thread liao...

I am looking for maternity swim suit with reasonable price... any recommendation beside ordering from maternitymall? Cos ordering need quite sometime...

I read that swimming is good for pregnant lady... but my hubby is worried will it be too strain for me to swim? So is he right?

zhimin,
shd be ok to swim. in fact, swimming is a good exercise because of the weightlessness in the water. just monitor yourself during exercise. anytime tat u feel breatheless or any discomfort, u shd stop.

i think maternity swimsuits are quite hard to find. try getting 2 piece?

Just came back from detailed scan. Everything's fine except my boy's very big. 424g. His head &amp; body's too big so gotta go for gestational diabetes test during my next visit.
Sianz.....

Hi Zhimin,

It's good to swim. Liek what SY explain - due to the weightless in water.
Just make sure someone is with you always cos pregnant lady always kena leg cramps and that can be dangerous if you are in the pool.

Enjoy your swim! Especially given the warm weather these days.

Mashy,
your boy is so big compared to mine. mine is only at 300g.

better take care and control what you eat. dun worry too much ok?

wow long time since i logged on, so much to catch up on!!

for those who hv constipation, i find that eating papaya works wonders for me! So u may wanna try that

Am concerned i won't be able to produce much milk...breastsize hasn't increased much yet! And my fren who tried to bf her baby gave up coz she wasn't producing enuff milk tho she tried to bf baby regularly. Wonder if that will happen to me coz no increase in breast size?!

anyone has more hair growing on ur tummy?? i hv this embarrassing problem of hair on my tummy!! oh my gosh...hv no idea why? Instead of the dark line down the tummy, it's a line of hair
boo hoo

hi Mashy
How many weeks are u into? My baby measured 470g at 21 weeks :p...but no one mentioned I have to go for gestional diabetes test?! hmm...I also worry about GB as I love sweet stuff.

Hi durainlover,

Not too worry too much. Breast size does not affect BF. Bigger breast does not equte to more milk.

Personally my breast size didn't increase much during preggy time but they are sure bigger after i gave birth. The initial period of BF is always tough. If not enough milk, just have to feed more frequent.

hmmm, el2004,mashy,
does that mean my bb is very small? only 300g at 20 weeks.

durianlover,
i also read before. dun worry too much. once u start bf, the number of milk glands will increase much more and the breast size will fluctuate.

hi SY,
During the detailed scan, for me, they dated the measurements against the week. So, for me, the baby's weight was indicated as the average for a 22 week baby :p so slightly overweight.

Mashy
Yes, went for detailed scan. In any case, gynae did tell me to expect a routine GB test in our 23 week or so...

mashy, krissie,
thanks a lot! cos i m underweight so always worrying whether my bb will be too small. plus got a fren whose bb is too small now and can pose problems if bb too small, so was quite worried.

krissie,
thanks for the link. it's a relief. think i shall print that out and stick it on the fridge or something. good for reference.

el2004,
is a GB test routine?

Mashy
hee hee.. my bb is also big , was 450gm at 21weeks.
But, big bb is better than smaller bb. Smaller bbs are weaker.

hi SY
the gynae recommends us to take the GB test as a routine screening - I guess should be optional. He says to take a blood test first...and if need to, then take the more detailed GB test where we need to take glucose. Will update when I know more about the test at my next gynae visit.

mashy,
maybe your bb like the father. my hb also quite tall but very very skinny. so maybe my bb will not be very big.

krissie,
i agree with u. big bb less problems in their development. but cannot be too big also. so must be careful.

el2004,
yup, let us know more abt this test. i always tot it's optional so good to know more abt it.

Just went for my 1st ante-natal class lesson on Sat at NUH. It was a tour of the delivery suite, wards (1 or 4 bedder), the neonatal ICU, operating theatre &amp; nursery. All the couple got stuck at the nursery to admire the babies until the nurse said "Looks like no need to continue tour already..."

So has anyone started on their classes? The next 2 lessons will be on exercises and then subsequent 3 on baby care. The last lessonn will be for the baby after delivery.

Since my last post, I have bought more stuff to decorate the baby room. My mum will be washing the baby's new clothes/blankets/towels/hankies/mittens/booties before packing them to my house.

When I bought my baby cot, 9-pc bedding set was included. Will be buying one of the sets from Aussino as a Christmas present for my baby
I was given 2 new sets from 2 friends.

So have you gals thot of names for your babies already?

SY,
i just went for gynae check-up and my baby's 300g too and i'm 20 wks like you
Gynae told me it's normal size, so no worries!

sysa,
i haven't decided on baby's name...that's a tough one! Coz all the names i like my hubby doesn't like and vice versa! Hmm...

yuki,
hee thanks for the 'encouragement' abt bf! haha but somehow i had the impression that bigger breasts means more milk! heh

Hi Krissie and gals,
went down to Robinsons and saw the Daniel and the Tom Craft cot, then went to OG and saw the Mama Love one. Prices are as you mentioned, both hubby and me like the Tom Craft one the best, coz we like the design and the colour... also comes with two side boards, but if Kids Paradise offer the Daniel Cot at 20% disc at $269, that will make it the cheapest $214 hoh? So may get that in the end, dunno leh... how about you?

Mashy/SY/krissie/el2004,
my gal was 417g at 21 weeks, i also confused, coz' Krissie, I remember your bb was 450g right? then SY is 300g, and both gynaes also never mention anything...? So the range must be quite wide huh?

Mashy,
If by Krissie's bb, yours seems only a little big leh...

Sysa,
wah, so fast, go for antenatal classes already, sound like fun! Mine is only in November, coz the OCtober ones at Mt. A are all full liao... hope it won't be too late... busy thinking of names, me same with durianlover, the names I like, my hubby dun like, the names he like, i go 'yeeks!'

Durianlover,
yah, dun worry about breast size, it is not the size that matters..
My bra size also never increase by alot, I can still squeeze into my normal bras, except need to put extension, that's all...

Zhimin,
swimming is a excellent form of exercise for pregnant mums, just have to be careful not to over exert yoruself, and always good to have someone with you when you swim, coz sometime, we can get leg cramps...

SY
ya, dun know why leh.. maybe coz I sleep on the left side most of the time. More nutrients will be passed to bb. Will check if gynae during next visit, if bb is oversized again, will ask him.

sleepingdeer
Wah, I managed to get the $$ right.
I think that Tom craft design is nicer too, but I think I prefer the Daniel cot mattress (if I recall correctly, memory is v poor now). I waiting for the Johnson cot display to come before deciding, so, but most prob shld be either Johnson or Daniel cot lah due to the 20% disc. Does the Tom Craft cot come with the side guard rails, for converting to Junior Bed. I like that coz can reduce risk of bb falling off the bed.

morning gals, i think i have sprained my back... anybody know if can go sinsei there to "massage" or should i go pre-natal massage?

mashy - ur bb really much more bigger... mine was only 304gm when coming to 20weeks...

very fast, this weekend is already the week 24...