(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
gestational diabetes. i think u need to cut down on fruit juice and sweet drinks. she told me and my colleague to be more careful if we take a lot of sweet drinks.

celine
don't think i look big leh.... mayb my nipples are bigger, so need bigger size to make it comfy. haha...
i just change about 2 weeks ago.. previously was wearing old size with extension until nipples sore liao then change. :p
the new size doesn't cause sore nipples but after i took it off, can see that the nipples are 'bent'. not sure when i wanna change again. haha...
my colleague advised me not to buy too many new size 'cos i will need bigger size at later stage. so, i just bot 2...

There seems to be quite a no. of sales but I dun know where to start buying leh... Okie, i already have the following from friend / relatives:
- BB Cot (wthout mattress yet which my friend will be passing to me soon. I heard we should buy new mattress for BB's health reason, is it true?)
- New Born stroller
- Bottle warmer
- Cloth Diapers
- BB rumper x 5(0-6months)

Guess the really big items i have already. The other medium items i can think of only includes:
- Bottle Steriliser (Preferred: Pigeon retail $87)
- Breast Pump (Preferred: Medela 2 pump)-- But very ex leh; what if no milk how??

When should I start buying the small small items leh?? I'm lost....

SSF,
I think most dept store sells the extension. I bought mine from Taka Bra section its at the Cashier counter. $2.90 for 2. = )

Oh 5.40pm loh... already OT 10mins... hee hee

Me going back loh... will log in again tonight if my moody & sot sot PC co-operates. See ya ladies!!
kao_byebye.gif

Celine
Taka & Isetan also has sale for Aprica.

cel cel
The ikea cot can't bring down the side panel of the cot. So, I find it not as good as those that can have movable side panels.

Clare
Am also worried got no milk. So, will be buying the Pigeon batt operated pump 1st. If I have steady supply, then, will buy the dual electric pump.

BTW, I saw this Pigeon ear thermo yest at Taka, only $50+. Can also use on bb's forehead. Cheapest ear thermo I've seen. The rest like Braun, etc are all abt $100. For you gals, info.

Clare
It's $53.80 before 20% disc.
cheapest batt operated pump. Tollyjoy also has batt operated, but I think ard $70.

Does anyone know where I can find Peg Perego prams, pls? I saw from the Babytown website that they are quite light.

Krissie,
I was thinking maybe can try the Hosp's pump first... if have milk then get HB go buy... (must pre-train HB which one exactly to buy of coz)... Like that safer oh?

Clare
Heard that usually supply will only be established after day 4. Full supply I think ard 2 weeks, if I'm not wrong. So, we might still need the pump after we're discharged. Heard from my colleagues that one common problem is engorgement or cracked nipples, and both would need the pump to pump out the milk. So, my colleague told me to stand by a pump, if I really intent to breastfeed. I'll try my best loh. So, will buy the batt operated one, then, after supply is established (dun know when), I'll go buy a dual electric pump if really can feed bb well. Then, hopefully, when I go back to office, can continue to pump.
Of course, will also train hb to buy the pump. Might get the Ameda one loh, heard that the Medela one is v noist, though it's good.

mashy,

if you are going to let your bb to wear disposal diaper no point of puting the waterproof sheet to protect the mattress. i did buy the waterproof sheet for my first child..but did not use it at all coz our bb still do not know how to turn..and they will feel warm on their back. This will only make them feel uncomfortable. i woudl advise to use the waterproof sheet when you wipe you bb after bath.

Confused
you can buy that mattress at kiddy palace, kidmall..

i only buy manaul avent breast pump..not sure got milk supply or not..coz the my first son..i did not actually bf him..coz i got cracked nipples and infection around my breast..do not have much supply of milk..

this time although i determined to bf my bb but dun think is necessary to buy the expensive one first..just the the manaul pump..if really got milk suplly then will go and get a good one.

IMHO, I think the electric pumps by Tollijoy and Pigeon are not as gd as Medela or even Avent manual pump cos the suction cycle may not be as efficient.

if u dun mind second hand, there are many in the yahoo and marketplace. Although the manufacturer discourage sharing, I think it is quite ok as long as we got sterilise the parts which is in contact with the milk.

Morning gals,
went for my detailed scan yesterday. I did not do the 4D one in the end, I asked Dr. Ho whether will we get a CD at the end, but seems like it is just a set of photos, so decided not to...

Everything seems ok, and my gal gal is 417grams now at 21 weeks. I thot was a bit small, but Dr. Ho says very normal... Lazy bb was sleeping, only waved her arms at us a few times.

The scan was over very quickly, in 10 min eveything was done. Dr. Ho checked the heart, kidneys, spine, femur length, lips, nose, umbilical cord, placenta, and many other things that I was too blur to catch...

For me, think I will invest to get a good Medela or Ameda pump, I heard that majority of mums are able to bf, just a very small % are not able to due to some health reasons... so I am very hopeful I can do it, and wanna smoothen any obstacles that may pop up. Have even started pscyhoing my hubby to support me 101% in bf, irregardless of what others may say..

i saw the ameda pump on the website. very ex. cost abt 300. dunno whether want to spend so much buying a pump when i dunno whether got milk supply or not. at first i was thinking of getting the pigeon batt operated one first as well but dunno whether i will end up with too many things in the house if i go buy another one later.

so many things to consider....

MH
Thanks.. will consider getting a second hand one also but it's also not cheap.. so far I think the cheapest they're selling it is $100 at the market place. That's why I thot of getting the batt operated one to stand by. If can bf, I am considering the Ameda pump, which is $300+.

SY
Actually, if budget is not a prob, can just invest in a good electric pump. I dun want to spend so much. Also, I have 1 colleague who bought the electric Medela pump. But, she didn't bf at all, so gave the pump to her friend. Or like MH says can consider the 2nd hand one loh.

Sleeping deer
Good to hear that bb is doing well.. Your bb is almost the same weight as mine. My bb was 450gm during the scan. BTW, how much have you put on so far?

morning everyone...

sleepingdeer - good to hear that everything was fine for your detailed scan.. im going for mine tmr at TMC, kan cheong...

krissie - oh, IKEA cot cant bring doen the side rail.. then i might hav to order another one of the Lucky Baby one. The one i ordered for my in-laws house arrived yesterday..very pleased wf it

u gers feeling constipated? i realise i get headaches if u dun go poo for more than a day..think body too toxic aldy...

thanks krissie, i also dun want to spend too much. so must really look ard for the best deals.

cel_cel,
i also get constipation and it really makes me uncomfortable. just make myself drink more water and eat fruits lor....can't help it right....i get so bloated if i dun go toilet for the day.

SY

constipation reali sickening rite... then the stomach balloon until so big... so maloo when my neighbours saw me yest, saying my stomach quite BIG for 5 mths...
and prune juice isnt tat nice to drink leh... but stil hav to force myself, cos i reali hate the headaches that come along wf it... argh..
kao_frustrated.gif

cel cel,
yah man i agree with u. my stomach also tend to balloon at night and sometimes i get stomachache but go toilet also no use. i tot of drinking prune juice. does it really help? i just try to eat more fruits.

try to take prune.

there was once i got bad constipation. i took more than 30 min in the toilet just to clear my bowel!!! thereafter, i made myself to drink water, eat fruits, and also prune.

SY

like wat sunny says, prune juice does help! i top up the dosage wf a bot of Yakult!!!
kao_smile2.gif

warm water also does help, it kinda stimulates..

Hi good morn gals

Babylon

I'm thinking of getting a waterproof (non pvc) sheet. Think shouldn't be too hot if it's not pvc. Heard a lot of cases of leaky disposable diapers esp during the first few times we try a new brand.

I heard from my friend who had an electric pump said it's very painful. She changed to a manual pump which is less painful coz u can control the squeeze. So those with low threshold for pain, think abt it. Maybe should try first then buy.

hi krissie,
for aprica sale at taka and isetan, issit all models? or juz selected ones? how many percent sale?

cel_cel,
i'm like u, if i didn't poo for more than day, i will get headache too...

Please read
In November, a rare kind of breast cancer was found.

A lady developed a rash on her breast, similar to that of young mothers who are nursing.
Because her mammogram had been clear, the doctor treated her with antibiotics for infections. After 2 rounds, it continued to get worse, so her doctor sent her for another mammogram. This time it showed a mass.

A biopsy found a fast growing malignancy. Chemo was started in order to shrink the growth; then a mastectomy was performed; then a full round of Chemo; then radiation. After about 9 months of intense treatment, she was given a clean bill of health.
She had one year of living each day to its fullest.!
Then the cancer returned to the liver area. She took 4 treatments and decided that she wanted quality of life, not the after effects of Chemo. She had 5 great months and she planned each detail of the final days. After a few days of needing morphine, she died.

Before she died, she left this message::::::

Women, PLEASE be alert to anything that is not normal, and be persistent in getting help as soon as possible.
Paget's Disease: This is a rare form of breast cancer, and is on the outside of the breast, on the nipple and aureole. It appeared as a rash, which later became a lesion with a crusty outer edge. I would not have ever suspected it to be breast cancer but it was. My nipple never seemed any different to me, but the rash bothered me, so I went to the doctor for that.

Sometimes, it itched and was sore, but other than that it didn't bother me. It was just ugly and a nuisance, and could not be cleared up with all the creams prescribed by my doctor and dermatologist for the dermatitis on my eyes just prior to this outbreak. They seemed a little concerned but did not warn me it could be cancerous.

Now, I suspect not many women out there know a lesion or rash on the nipple or aureole can be breast cancer. Mine started out as a single red pimple on the aureole. One of the biggest problems with Paget's disease of the nipple is that the symptoms appear to be harmless. It is frequently thought to be a skin inflammation or infection, leading to unfortunate delays in detection and care.

What are the symptoms?
1. A persistent redness, oozing, and crusting of your nipple causing it to itch and burn. (As I stated, mine did not itch or burn much, and had no oozing I was aware of, but it did have a crust along the outer edge on one side.)
2. A sore on your nipple that will not heal. (Mine was on the aureole area with a whitish thick looking area in center of nipple).
3. Usually only one nipple is effected. How is it diagnosed? Your doctor will do a physical exam and should suggest having a mammogram of both breasts, done immediately. Even though the redness, oozing and crusting closely resemble dermatitis (inflammation of the skin), your doctor should suspect cancer if the sore is only on one breast. Your doctor should order a biopsy of your sore to confirm what is going on.

This message should be taken seriously and passed on to as many of your relatives and friends as possible; it could save someone's life. My breast cancer has spread and metastasized to my bones after receiving mega doses of chemotherapy, 28 treatments of radiation and taking Tamaxofin.
If this had been diagnosed as breast cancer in the beginning, perhaps it would not have spread...

TO ALL READERS:
This is sad as women are not aware of Paget's disease. If, by passing this around on the e-mail, we can make others aware of it and its severe potential danger, we are helping women everywhere.
Please, if you can, take a moment to forward this message to as many people as possible, especially to your family and friends. It only takes a moment, yet the results could save a life.

I looked up this reference site, please feel free to check it out:
http://www.cancerbacup.org.uk/Cancertype/Breast/Typesofbreastcancer/Pagetsdisease

An act of love & kindness may not change the course of history,
but if it changes the course of someone's life, it's worth it.

celine,

so we,both Celines are in the same boat... haha but reali disturbing wf the headache rite.. how nice to poo liao then headache gone.. gone go for 2 papayas for lunch later

sunny, cel cel,
will try the prunes thing. heard grapefruit is good too.

mashy,
but manual pump also tiring right? hee..i m the lazy kind..

SY

I heard don't need to squeeze many times. Just squeeze & hold. Apparently from what i heard not very tiring. But if u have high threshold for pain, think can go for electric one. hahahaa, we'll all be like cows.

hi mashy
if i am not wrong, we are able to control the suction power if we use medela PIS and ameda. this will decrease the pain that we have during the pumping, i guess...

hi SY
not sure about grapefruit. grapefruit tastes worse than prune, to me. haha...
there are mtbs recommending kiwi fruit, too.

anyone remember the website for the Combi strollers? think there was an address given also to go to warehouse rite... i cant find it aldy.. HELP!!!
kao_confused.gif

Mashy

do u stil hav the address??? from now on, i wana keep a page of the links aldy...if not, always gota go back to past logs to find links...

hi mashy
hmmm... from my colleague's feedback, won't feel painful loh. and when she got use to it, she always turn to the highest power. haha....
not sure about avent. think avent one can't control the suction power. and my friend complained that it's really noisy and woke her hb up during mid of the night when she expressed the milk.

celine

sorry celine. don't have that. only remembered visiting the website after it was shown and it didn't even look like a bb website. More like a men's toys website. :p

thks sunny and clare. i will go check out the bra extension. is there sizes? i thought its standard?

also..you guys are already starting to buy pump. my concern if what if there is no milk ? i am thinking of buying it after baby is due.

sunny, cel cel,
will try the prunes thing. heard grapefruit is good too.

mashy,
but manual pump also tiring right? hee..i m the lazy kind..

hello gals

missy - u can get those extention for most shopping centres (causeway point or taka)

SY - thanks for the info.

krissie - yesterday u mention abt the bb pram (Graco) is it that can adjust to 3 position or 2?

Gals - yesterday nite i went to kids mall n saw the pram. some pram can adjust to 3 or 4 position n some only 2. From experience, which one is better? (2 position is good enough)?

yeah! i oso heard electric pump is a bit painful leh.