(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

confused
err... I dunno abt the noise level of medela... my friend only comment on the effectiveness of the pump....
I guess for me the noise is not a problem as long as the pump is effective in expressing the milk out.

Thanks MASHY and KRISS fro the info on the baby cot.... wow I really never do shopping... so many shopping tips I dunno... glad have u gals here... always have ready info...*phew*

btw my HB check website last nite and went to Baby Town website and notice they selling dual medela pump for ONLY $150.00 it's says usual price is $297 ( which is the same as shopping centre price). I'm not sure if typo error or not... but it's really cheap!! even after robinson 20% and $20 I guess...
anyway we are checking out this sat... if got more news will tell u.

today... super busy with work again... sian... byebye
back to work

Hi Krissie,
me put on 8 kg liao
Think at the end of the pregnancy, I will put on another 10kg...
I saw some MTB in the December thread only put on 6kg so far, wah, so envy them boy! How about you?

Celine,
good luck for your detailed scan tomorrow, everything will be fine

Re: Constipation
Yes! I get it often as well, and I hate it! Have this feeling that there's something in my body that is so toxic, and I can't get it out

Prune juice really works for me. I dun really like the taste of prunes, so juice is easier to swallow... for me, I take about 2 full cups of it when I get really constipated, and in 4 hours, everything comes out...
But don't try if when you are outside, do it in the comfort of your own home, else you will keep running to the toilet..

SSF,
i got mine from 9mois or Swell, I think. Their is 2 hooks. Thyme sells the much boarder ones...

COnfused,
I heard that if you buy the Medela Mini electric pump, it is very noisy, but if you get the Medela PIS, which is top of the range, it is pretty quiet. But the downside of it is that it is very exp! I saw that the prices was about $500 - $600 for the Medela PIS! Ameda is selling their Ameda Lacteline at about $300, I think.

Cookie,
wow, if the Medela is really selling so cheap, then it is worth it, keep us updated, hoh?

SY

thanks for the info!!

sleepingdeer

thanks.. will come back to ofc in the afternoon then let your know the gender if BB co-operates
kao_smile2.gif
just went to a maternity wear shop at raffles MRT, got bombed another $110 for a skirt n tube..but no choice, cos i reali am rotating my less than 10pcs of workwear so often.. the lady thinks mine is a little princess!

where to buy the entension hook for bra ?? sorry if I missed reading earlier... my bra also getting tighter

Hi Krissie,

U can find the Peg Perego at the Kaki Bukit Baby Hypermart. I saw many models when I was there the last round. Not sure abt the other places.

Since knowing the gender of my baby, I have started doing up the baby's room. Now just waiting for the cot to come in by end Nov to decorate too
Jan seems to be looming near I will be officially 6 months pregnant next Tues.

Starting my ante-natal classes this Sat. Just found out that my 8th session will happen after I give birth. That's when I make an appointment to bring the baby in to the hsp and they will do the baby massage for the newborn.
What a luxury for the baby!

MASHY
ok noted.. I'm very skeptical too why they sell so cheap... I tok it's typo error...but then it's state U.P $297.00.
Anyway I will check again...

sleeping deer
ok will u posted.

cookie
agree with mashy. they have this line stating condition of the items. some of the items will say good, excellent or new. so better check. i also saw before and the same item can sell for different prices depending on condition.

cel cel
Try taking more fruits.. I eat at least 3 servings of fruits everyday, sometimes up to 5 and it helps with the clearing of the system. Other than prunes, kiwi, grapes and grapefruits are also good for clearing the bowels.

Mashy
I bought this waterproof rubber mat from Pigeon, U.P. $14.90 (before 20% disc) at Taka, bb dept. It's air-filled and very cooling, so not hot for bb. My friend says her gal likes it coz it's very cooling. Can go take a look.

Celine
Sorry, didn't notice how much disc, I think the Taka one had some price slashing. Coz Aprica is out of my range, so, we saw the brand and skipped the section totally... hee hee.. nvr look at price.

Confused
I think can adjust to at least 3 positions.

Description is:
Features
Removable seat pad for easy cleaning
Ultra light, aluminum frame makes getting around a breeze
5-Point harness for safety
One hand fold for on the go convenience
Multi-position reclining seat provides comfort and support for your baby
Removable canopy
Removable versatile waist pack
removable adjustable infant head support
Automatic storage latch
Front and rear suspension with lockable front swivel wheels for a smooth ride
Large storage basket to keep the day's gear
Description
Weighing only 11 lbs, the aluminum frame CitiSport EDToffers the convenience of a standard stroller's features but at half the weight. Featuring a comfy seat that reclines to any position, including nearly flat for infants. A large storage basket is the perfect place to store your baby's gear and the one-hand fold mechanism makes storing the stroller a breeze when the day is done.
Recommended Use
The CitiSportEDTstroller is for infants and children up to 40lbs

see link for details: http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_9&products_id=29

Cookie
Yup.. do update us on the Medela pump at babytown. $150 is very cheap for the dual electric pump.

Mashy
How to check if the products on the babytown is new? Saw some prams that seems too cheap to be true too.

Sleeping deer
I also put on abt 8kg at 21weeks too... hee hee.. but now 9kg liao.. ya..I know how depressing it is to put on so much, what to do? Am always hungry..

any of you got pimple outbreak? i have been having pimples since getting pregnant and so sad over it cos i used to have much better skin.... any remedies though i not that can't do much cos it's due to hormonal changes....

Sysa
Thanks.. But, what's the cheapest of the Perego prams? $200+. Or all above $350. Thanks.. Kaki Bukit is a bit far for me.. so far, I only check out the dept stores.

kriss
u also interested in Peg perego stroller?
I saw some at hypermart as mentioned by sysa.. and really tempted...
The model I interest cost $420.00 after discount which is very exp... but my HB say if can use for a few yrs should be worth it...
Peg perego although costly but very sturdy and easy to open and close etc... so I like it too..
dun like the price only :p

cookie,
I bought my bra extension from taka, lingerie section at the cashier. It's $2.90 for 1 pair. Can always check out at the lingerie section, they carry this item. If you need a tube bra, I got mine from this brand "Eternity", it comes with bra padding cost $9.90.

KRISS
FYI... according to hypermart, they give 20% disc all yr round so in case dept store dun give disc from list price then will be more expesnive.

but generally ped perego pram all pretty expensive.

berlin
thanks... i need to get some... find my width and cup get bigger now...
tube bra? wear it when wearing tube like top har?
me too round liao... kekeke dun dare to wear tube...
but tube is nice :p

SY - me too pimples keep popping out. Wat i do to minimise it is that i apply purifying mask twice a week. yeah! our hormone change. (my skin is either too dry or too oily)

Cookie,
No, not wearing it alone. If you are wearing spag top or tube top, can wear it as a bra cos strapless bra is quite uncomfortable. The tube bra I bought is soft and comfortable.

Hi berlin
where you get the tube bra oh you mentioned form the brand eternity.....all major department store will have? Is it wireless? i want to buy also leh. Fretting over bra cuz the bra i wear now tight tight then always caused the underwired line

mashybrainz,
I also have this problem, the boobs get bigger the fats get thicker. Tried to squeeze and push it to my boobs but still flows out.

Mashy,
I also have fat spewing out from my armpits when wearing tubes with elastic bands. How come har? I'm not very 'ba-ba' leh

Been wanting to buy those nice tube maternity tops but didn't.

Hahah... so funny all of u... yah its very irritating to have fats spewing out from armpits... those Taiwanese variety show everytime say they are fats that can be pushed back to our breasts n we have to do that at EVERY OPPORTUNITY we have... so hard leh i cannot imagine unless the bra we're wearing is so firm & hard can hold the fats in...

HI Gals
Just reading earlier thread and found lotsa gals afriad no milk...
I read an article by Mrs Wong, think she is the popular one conducting class in TMC... she said most women can BF except due to medical reasons(e.g. mum has HIV and bb dun have) or invented nipple(this is can treated before birth) and none is due to no milk produced.
I remember it was mentioned when there is demand there will be supply but the 1st 4 days there might not be Milk but there will be a "yellowish" substance(I forget the proper word for it) that contain alot of antibodies and MUST let bb eat so that he will be strong.
Eveen for mummy dun plan to breastfeed, should at least let BB suckle the 1st few days to be stronger.
For those who are taking Mrs Wong's class... maybe you are can ask her abt breast feeding.
Hope all of us will be successful in BF and also have the perseverance.

clare
yayaya... I always watch those taiwanese show too. somemore those fats can be push and increase our cup size 1 or 2 cup up...faintzzz...
those bra they wear... will cover up till airpit one ley... thik they call those "adjustnment" bra..when wore for a period of time... the fat will become boob!

hi cookie..thanks for the info. i am in mrs wong class and have so far attended one lesson only. yeah i find her class very interesting and useful. look fwd to knowing more and will share with you guys!

SSF
thanks and wait for your sharing!!

Kriss and Sleeping deer
I read that Kriss has 4D scan at Dr Ho clinic... how much u pay? is it additional $100?
Sleeping deer >> how come u never scan 4D? was it too exp?
I was so excited when know kriss done the 4D scan... I never know Dr Ho so high tech has 4D scan in his clinic.
The Nurse explain the package to me and told me the detail scan must pay $100 extra, I wonder if that refer to 4D scan or just normal scan except Dr spend more time to scan.
pls let me know... me gng for detail scan next week...kind of anxious...hope everything with bb is Good.

Hi Krissie,
problem is I never overeat... wahhhhh! Chiam liao... I always ba ba to begin with, think now will be worse... I keep torturing my hubby, and whining that I am super fat... hee hee..!

Mashy/Queen,
yep, me tooooo! In fact, one problem I had wearing my wedding dress was the fats sticking out of my arm pits... excerise and dieting doesn't help....! I can never wear tube top...!

Hi Cookie,
I was pretty keen also about the 4D scan, but when I asked the nurses there, they ask me to ask Dr. Ho.

So when I went in, I asked him about additional amount to pay, he say $200, but not sure whether it was $100 on top of the $100 we pay for the normal detailed scan, or addtional $200...

I was thinking if $200, and I get a CD recording the movements of baby, I sure go for it, but when I asked Dr. Ho whether we get CD in the end, he say no, but we can get the film shots or something like that... then he say can decide later, and do again if I want... so in the end, I chose not to loh.

He was pretty fast in his scanning, so maybe cookie, you may want to ask him also when you reach there, and decide whether you wanna do or not

Hi sleepingdeer
So in the end did you manage to get the 4d scan? Then the detailed scan is the 3d scan , 4d scan or detailed scan? Sounds confusing ah.....So how much did you pay for the scan? additional $100?

Mashy, SY
Thanks.. Will check out the babytown products again. So funny, I thot when they meant excellent, it was a rating of the product, e.g. the product is excellent, didn't know that it's second hand.

Cookie
I saw the Perego prams at Robinsons and Mothercare. All very heavy.
The model I saw on the website was very light.. Can confirm if you mean Baby Hypermart at 69 Kaki Bukit? There's another one called Baby Kingdom at 83 Kaki Bukit... so confusing.. name and address so similar.

Cookie
Think u rem wrongly lah, I didn't do the 4D scan.
Heard that it's $200. Mine was the normal machine, so $100. I did my scan before the machine came. The $100 extra for the detailed scan is using the normal machine.

Sleeping deer
I eat more than before preggie, so not sure it I overeat. But, I try to eat only when hungry.. if not, will be fat pig already.

Anyway, went Robinsons sale just now.. not much disc except some brands (those unique brands) had 25% off. But, those advent, medela, etc, didn't have any disc.

JL is having a Tollyjoy Fair, saw the batt operated pump selling for $59.90 and they're giving away 38 nursing pads. So, seems quite worth it.

Mashy
I finally saw the Johnson cot. Now, I deciding whether to get the Daniel ($269) or Johnson cot ($369).. Prefer this design to the Babycraft one I saw. Both also can convert to Toddler bed, but the Johnson one comes with 2 small end boards and 2 side rails. But, it's $100 more, so having headache.

Cookie/gals,
The yellowish fluid is called colostrum. The first milk after our delivery. It was mentioned in the Breastfeeding book, written by Mrs Wong. Consists of high antibodies to protect baby from infection. Even if our milk supply is very little in the first few days, the colostrum will be able to provide the baby with sufficient nutrients to protect his body till he gets enuf milk from the mummy.

We got to remind each other to think positive and try not to worry if got no milk. It is all about demand & supply. The more baby suck on our nipples, the more milk our body will try to produce for him.

Hi Krissie
so the 4 d scan machine is in Dr Ho's clinic already? Hmmmmm don't know what special function it has ah but has to top up $200 more ah? instead of the $100???

Hi Wenyl
you seem to know quite a bit about BF. Colostrum. Learn a new word

Etelle
I guess so, accrdg to moonbell.. better let sleepingdeer confirm for you coz when I went 2 weeks ago, it was not there yet.

kriss
opps paisey... remember wrongly tok u did 4D scan.
Oh the baby kingdom and hypermart at kaki bukit is very near.. just next door only... when u are there can go 2 stores lor. But personally I find baby kingdom nothing much and a bit messy maybe I didn't pay attention the last time.
I spend more time in Hypermart tho... checking out the Ped Perego stroller.
err... I think ya their stroller not light.. but very sturdy.

Sleeping deer & kriss
thanks for explaining... good I know beforehand from u gals.. I better check with Dr Ho on the charge. Now I can ask my HB... if 4D scan cost $200 / $300 still wanna do it or not.. or just do normal. But if the 4Dscan is $300 I dun think I will do it... so exp!

Sleeping deer>>
Did u watch National Geographical's In the Womb a couple of weeks back? they show the how process of a lady's pregnancy including giving birth...they also use 4Scan.. bacsially I think 4D offer better image like u can see the features of your baby face etc... this is esp useful to see if baby has cleft (maybe wrong spelling) lip cos 2D scan cannot tell but over all on the scanning of other organ it is not superior I heard.
Of course 4D scan can kill our curocity more in the sense that we can see baby face etc.

etelle
my last message to Sleeping deer.... think meant for your qns...heehee... got confused... about the diff in 4D scan...

so many msg to catch up! was quite busy yesterday with meetings and today fell sick with sore throat and stuff nose so later will take MC to go home. hopefully will have more time to check out bb stuff on the net.

krissie,
i also went robinsons sale. not a lot of things but i still bought some stuff in order to use the 20 voucher. i like the tom craft cot but my hb doesn't want to buy so soon. it was really crowded when i was there and so many mummies ard.

krissie

u got see my msg b4? the daniel cot can be cheaper at $200 if u buy direct from my kids paradise. Not sure abt Johnson Cot, maybe u wanna call them and see whether can get a better price?

SY
Hee hee.. Tom craft cot is also not bad.. wah.. memory failing liao.. can't rem why I preferred the DAniel cot to the Tom craft one.

Mashy
yup, can remember your earlier posting.
But, I thot no diff, coz for the Johnson cot, I saw from website is $369. They are also selling $369 at Robinsons. Didn't see the Daniel Cot in the Kids Paradise website leh. But, I''ll call to check.. after thinking thru, might just get the Daniel cot, since it's $100 diff.

BTW, if any of you are considering getting the Cosco 2 in 1 convertible cot, get it from Kids Mall at Suntec. only $249 or $279.. can't rem. The same one was selling at Robinsons yest for $499. Can you believe it?

krissie,
i like the tom craft one cos of the color. i din really get them to explain but the tom craft one is convertible so my hb likes it better.

which robinsons did u go? i was at centrepoint...

hi SY - i am also having stuff nose and sore throat. may take mc soon.
see how it goes.

All - i went to Taka yesterday and finally bought my bra extension. 2 for $1.90. and also take a look at the baby fair. avent, pigeon having discounts. bought a pigeon rompers (singlet) having a 20% discount. cost only 7 bucks. also bought pigeon wipes at 7 plus(usual price is $8.90 i think) and a avent milk powder dispenser at $6.50 (usual is $8.90). actually i bought the dispenser for my milk powder to put in office instead of bringing the whole tin to work. and next time, can use for baby. hehee... the avent milk dispenser is a new arrival and quite nice..it has 3 slots and a bowl to be taken out, can use for feeding baby in future. i am just fascinated by it. hee..so thought of sharing since it is having discount. the pigeon steriliser is selling at 89 bucks, cheaper than isetan.