(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi ladies, long time since I posted...Just wanted to add my details to the list. Just went for my detailed scan yesterday. We are expecting a boy! and delivering at TMC :>..hurray, finally at the half way mark - 21 weeks for me now ..

hello gals

Yesterday i went robinson n was told that there's a sales on tue n wed. (for members only) 20% discount. aiyo! yesterday first time shopping for bb stuff see until headache (so many things got to buy) can i ask which breast pump is good?

krissie - i saw the bb pram robinson oso selling leh. If i not wrong the brand is Graco.

babylon

yah. started.

confused

i received a flyer from robinsons. it's a $20 voucher for min $100 spent on wed night. Dunno whether they'll still give 20% discount.

durian lover
i haven plan yet. waiting for detailed scan to pass first and get doc ok.

sleepingdeer,
on fri night, i felt bb's kicks stronger and my hubby can feel it too. but then on weekends bb got quieter. not to worry at this stage right?

SY

yah, don't worry. maybe you were more active on weekends. bb usually kick when you're not doing anything. They like to be rocked (mummies move around).

so many sales..getting a bit confused

but think we need to be careful abt what we buy at the fairs. for taka and isetan fairs, unless u know the prices of what u intend to buy very well, sometimes they are not really on sale. i have seen items that they mark up, then say on sale.

mashy, confused,
me and hubby also plannign to go to the robinsons sale. dunno whether we will start buying as it's early but will check the things out. and if i start buying too many things, hubby will want me to start packing the room which is full of my things..

SY

ya, dun worry.. babies more active while we are at rest.or rather we will b more sensitive twds their movements during this time..sometimes i drum on my tummy to get bb to move.. can try that, i drum from my left to right n back.. HB tried tat too and bb responds!!!

mashy,
hee, i try to sit still sometimes so i can feel bb. my bb also quite naughty. when my hb puts his hand on my tummy, he will not kick. told my hb he must start talking to bb more....

my fren went to taka sales. she said not much.... weekends must be really crowded at the sales...very tempted to take half day to walk over to check out sales..

cel_cel,
hee, i tried that as well. i read a book that says give bb a nudge and if bb respond, must praise, so i nudge him gently and wait for him to respond and he did.

sometimes do u realise that u do not need to verbalise your tots and bb seems to sense it? like telepathy...

SY - me too some days, bb dun move too much... but i tried laying on the bed silently then can feel the movement already... so now not that worried.

Gals - i also feel that taka fair nothing much... quite a small corner... so never buy anything...

mashy - yes. after less 20% discount they will deduct $20 (if u have the voucher) n i find it worth it leh. Heng ah! i didnt throw again the voucher. (i didnt read the content n almost throw it away)

SY - yeah! buy which ever is worth cos some bb stuff really ex. (must wait for sales then its worth buying it)

HI Gals
I went to taka sale too... but missed out seein the cot...
Talking abt breast pump...my friend who is mother of 3 and breast feed all 3 recommend medela. She said she tried many brands and felt medela is Best and effective.
My Colleague also recommend Medela... she say single electric pump spoil easily cos the motor is smaller... for double pump the motor is at the base so dun spoil so easily.
I went kaki bukit hypermart... and we like a $420 stroller... brand is pre-perego... very exp ley... so thinking.
I haven't buy anything yet... think will buy later... will also see what hand me down items my friend passing to me....

Anyone has any idea where to get the Matteress for baby Cot? Cos I saw 1 at hyper mart and at $199.00, if include delivery and matteress and bedding accessories cost $299.00
But I like the Aussino baby bedding accessories set $69.90 so tok wanna get matteress separately.

I think someone mentioned before... for the teat for milk bottles...silicon or latex... any recommendation which is better and more similar to our nipple?

Ok back to work...
have a Good Monday!

Oh 1 more thing... I also plannign to get Medela electric pump and metro is also selling.
I think Metro from time to time will have 20% store wide sales, the next coming 1 could be around Christmas time... so can got there to get 20% for the pump lor.

Hi MH,
thanks for the info on the pumps... will check it out...

Mashy,
envy envy... so one pass me anything, coz all my frens no children or still using...

el2004,
congrats on your baby boi...!

Confused,
I am equally confused! Was just listing down the list of essential things we need to get, and already headache! I most prob getting Medela PIS or Ameda lacteline electric dual pump... but haven't really go and looked at it yet...

SY,
yah, dun worry, only if you haven't felt anything for a few days then shoudl start worrying... sometimes, bb is more towards the inside, so what we feel is very faint... try feeling after you have taken some orange juice, and lying down... I read that it normally works

Cookie,
thanks for the breast pump advise... I also wanna get a good one that will last... I know after some time, most small motors tend to lose their power... like fish tank pump.. hee hee!

cookie - i saw carefour selling the matress n bb cot leh. if i not worng bb cot selling at $159 n matress abt $49.00 (hopefully i didnt see wrong cos yesterday i was in a rush) regarding the breast pump, i read from some where that medela pump is juz like cutting grass( very noisy)?

hi all, just came back from my regular visit. my sugar level is pretty high and gynae want me to go for sugar blood test in the next visit. before meal and after meal. sigh..making me worry as i have family history of diabetic

Hi girls!
Can I check with you, those who has gone swimming, how vigorous do you swim? I'm still swimming 20 laps, stopping for about 30 seconds every 2 laps. I wonder if that is too much as we move along into our pregnancy?

Also, can we go for hair treatments? I know colouring is not advisable. How about those steam or Oxigen treatment for hair?

Confused
Thanks.. will go Robinsons to go look see.. I saw the brochure. But, I didn't know that there's going to be 20% disc.

Anyone knows which brands of pram that Robinsons carry? Thanks.

Cookie
I saw Taka (bb dept) selling the mattress. Very firm. at $159, if I'm not wrong. less than $200. Kidz Mall at Suntec also sells mattress, but not as good quality as the Taka one I find, but much cheaper. maybe can consider buying 2 of the cheap mattress from Kidz Mall. Will you be getting a cot? If so, can consider the Babycraft ($299) which I saw at Taka, Isetan and CK Tangs. The height is very good as compared to other cots coz no need to bend so low and it comes with high density foam mattress, bedding set and musical box.

BTW, Robinsons also sells the Medela dual pump.

cookie

My kids paradise selling a cot with mattress (4 levels) at $180 if without bedding set. It's called Daniel Cot which Robinsons is selling for $269 including bedding set. U can call them directly and they'll deliver. It's a warehouse, so cannot see the thing. Contact is found at their website: www.mykidsparadise.com Bedding set is $20

I have not gotten any thing yet btu am so glad so many of u are sharing info... I resorted to getting a notebook just to jot down as & when u mummies got feedback on certain sales, bb items, etc = P

Hmm... so pump dun buy so early coz of warranty period, but if like Robinsons got 20% + $20 voucher then shoul buy anot leh??

I also heard from my friend who recently gave birth in KK that the shops at KK hosp are selling the breast pumps cheaper than elsewhere... anyone going KK maybe can check it out how much cheaper??

confused

is the cot u saw lucky baby brand?did u get the measurements??? actuali i saw tat IKEA has got a new baby cot, can convert to toddler bed one, 2 adjustable heights.. white @ $245. its cheaper compared to previous design. but stil not as cheap as the lucky baby one..difference is bout $80

SSF

try to reduce ur sugar intake lor. i think i also hav to curb my sweet cravings.. cos as the pregnany progresses, our bodies reali cant digest the sugar tat well it seems...

Just like to share a funny email which i've just received with regards to naming out babies... Err... My deepest apologies & no offence if the names coincide with any one here okie??

Names to Avoid :

Anne Chang (Mandarin) - Dirty
Anne Chin (Mandarin) - Keep quiet
Faye Chen (Mandarin) - Dusty
Faye Choo (Mandarin) - Fat Pig
Carl Cheng (Hokkien) - Buttock
Monica Cheng (Hokkien) - Touching your buttocks
Lucy Leow (Hokkien) - You are dead
Jane Tan (Mandarin) - Frying eggs
Suzie Leow (Hokkien) - Lost till death
Henry Mah (Mandarin) - Hate your mum
Corrine Tai (Hokkien) - Poor fellow
Paul Chan (Mandarin) - Bankrupt
Nelson Tan (Mandarin) - Bird laying eggs
Leslie Tong (Mandarin) - Rubbish bin
Carmen Tng (Hokkien) - Leg hair long
Connie Mah (Cantonese) - Call your mother
Danny See (Hokkien) - Squeeze you to death
Rosie Teng (Hokkien) - Screws and nails
Pete Tsai (Hokkien) - Nose droppings
Macy Koh (Cantonese) - Never die before
Lim Yew Lin - Drink (Hokkien) urine
Lim Teh Peng (Hokkien) - Drink iced tea

Mashy - Really??? Do u like him/her?? = P

Hi Etelle,
Me stay quite central at Farrer Park (northeast line). U know me or do i know u ??? = )

Hi Clare
no lah cuz you bought the swim suit from maternity mall and i am buying also then mashy also ahs mah. So want to check where we stay and where we usually go for swim if not wait bump into one another wearing the same paiseh ha ha :p

celine - i didnt take down the brand name n diamension leh. i only see the price. (cos i m in a hurry) i maybe be going to carefour tis sun n let u know next week. u mean ikea oso selling bb cot? does it come with free matress. yesterday robinson bb cot price abt $269/$299 (if i not wrong) it come with free matress.

krissie - Alamak! i not observant leh. i only see pigeon n avent brand. if i not wrong i think should have medela bah.

Etelle,
Hahaha.... so u also bought the same aqua swim suit from maternity mall?? Yah that can be quite obvious if we bump into one another... = P

Tell u gals something funny... me was trying on the swim suit at home after i got it from Mashy n was thinking outloud to myself "Hmm... US product sewing also not very good coz my left breast seems to fit ok but right breast seems bit "dented", maybe still have to put padding to balance..." then after i took out i stare at myself in the mirror then remembered my right breast is obviously bigger than my right... hahaha.... anyone with the same problem??

missy - me too. gynae say my sugar level quite high
now i try to cut down sweet stuff but sometimes cant tahan.

clare - me too havent do homework (wat sort of bb stuff need to buy) sunday went shopping very gan cheong ah.

Clare & Etelle

Then we'll surely know each other just by looking. :p

Clare
don't have this prob, coz both are just as small. ahahahah.

btw juz checking, have u gals increased ur bra size now? mine was from 70C to 75C and now 75C oso getting tight liao.

pochacco

for every of my visit, the nurse will give me a strip to pee onto b4 i see my gynae. Think it's to measure the sugar and protein level.

celine
ya, i have up the size from 70 to 80 liao.

mashy
the nurse also will give me a strip to test sugar and protein level.

Celine,
Mine think increase 70B to 75B... though i still can fit in my 70B bras with extension... not that fantastic an increase but definitely better than before... at least got more cleavage now hahaha..... = P

mashy - oh ya! i saw it liao. But i think buy from robinson better leh cos $269 less 20% n less addtional $20. (at least get to see the products leh)

Pochacco - no leh. juz like mashy n sunny, nurse will give me the strip to test. (Pls no more /blood test for me)

clare,
ic. keke... feels quite good to have nice cleavage right? hee... but me hav a problem, i feel very uncomfortable wearing bra now, maybe it's getting tight. esp strapless bra. think the underwire bothers me...

Sharing...if you wanna to buy matress...but this brand baby cool..latex...better for the baby and cooler..free mattress does not mean to be good.

babylon

Just a thot. If u intend to put a waterproof sheet to protect the mattress, then it will defeat the purpose of being cool. Then, any mattress will be just as good. So will u put a waterproof sheet?

gers..

any of u gettin the quinny zapp stroller? its selling at kids mall at $299, rather nice... HB saw it at Mothercare yest n fell in love wf it, says its looks like racing car
juz tat it doesnt allow recline position, so baby can oni sit. but the gd thing is it can adapt a carseat for new borns.. wat do ur say???
kao_confused.gif

hi confused..so we are in the same boat. so did you go for extra sugar level test? must fast the day before and take the test and then after meal, test again. u know how much is the test?

i know robinsons sell aprica and quite a few brands. but aprica is expensive! i went to check it out sometime back and it's really ex.

SSF,
must really try to control what you eat. my colleauge had GD when she was pregnant, she was eating too much and her weight shot up very fast.

SY - wats GD? ya now i shall to refrain from eating sweet stuffs and will only drink plain water and no other beverages. no choice, baby's health comes first.