(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

krissie,

have you started planning your trips? i will ask doc abt going overseas next time hwen i see him. i hope to be able to go for a short one. thinking of bali also

sysa,
i haven't started feeling bb yet. hope can feel so. shd be quite exciting

i asked me friend abt the hypermart at kaki bukit. she said it is a bit cheaper than shopping centres but if shopping centres have sales, they are cheaper, so she suggest i look out and shop ard a bit. these things are really ex and add up quite a bit.

i also saw those car seat combined with pram before but quite ex. but i tot it's more convenient and u get a 2 in 1.

wenyl, you planning to get swimwear? i planning also but haven really decided on whether to order online. again i m afraid it can't fit.

wow, so many of u r feeling baby. think i must start to be more observant.

Confused
Feel it sometimes only.. but more frequently and obviously as the weeks go by. Most of the time, when I lie on my left, with half of my tummy resting on the bed, I can feel the kick on the left side.. hee hee.. maybe bb is squashed.

Wendyl
The one I'm taking is 250mg of DHA daily.

Celine
congrats on the test results...

SY
Haven really started planning, coz my hb's schedule is still not fixed. We're thinking of maybe Australia.. maybe can go to the Chan Bro's fair.. Bali sounds good too.. but I was thinking of going somewhere with good medical facilities.. hee hee.. so that I feel more assured.

does bb's kicks feel like bubbles? i also felt a fluttering before but it happened so fast so i not very sure. maybe i shall try lying on my left more often.

krissie, i m also concerned abt the medical facilites if i go to resort places. but australia quite long flight right? my fren also just told me she's going to perth. maybe i shd consider.

cel cel/mashy
I'm also looking for car seat... my friend passing me a infant car seat..so I hope the stroller I get will be able to accomodate the infant seat. when bb get bigger then get another one for him/her

Sleepingdeer
I receive the confirmation also... I think Dr Ho clinic arrange for us hor... cos I never book with Mt A. But I haven't read the details yet...
I dunno what's the diff... anyway I plan to get 4 room one...

Oh btw...
I receive my product from Mat mall too... the swim suit is a bit big now but later should be ok la.. usually when we get into water, swim suit will become even loser... haven't try it. yet
I bought a dress too... size ok, again it's big now but I think can wear to full term.
I bought a skirt too... that's way too BIG...*faintz*** maybe got to ask my MIl to alter abit.. or what till later then wear.

Hey gals..
Anyone has any comment for Bintan Nirwana resort?
I thought wanna go around Sept... I think Bintan resort are more new (i think) and my colleeague says the deluxe room that has sea facing is very nice...
Desaru.. also not bad but I check the websit and see their pic like very run down ley.
But when i told HB... he told me go Desaru more safe *faintzzz* maybe he afraid indonesia pple might be violent or what... then very funny he say we do during off peak maybe resort will have not much pple.. maybe dangerous...I dunno but I duno think so lor...

Kriss
same as u... if I go on longer holidays.. I will choose somewhere with good medical facilities...
Japan is one place I really want to go... but now go also jialat, cannot eat sashimi *faint* I hope to go during mater leave before I start work... dunno if possible...

seems like the stuff from maternity mall seems big for a few of you....wanted to get it as well cos it looked really nice. now i think i will think twice though it's not that ex to alter even if it's too big.

cookie
was initially plannign to go japan before i found out i was pregnant cos my sis is working there. but she advised me agst it cos the weather is getting colder and she say japan is a place that i need to do a lot of walking. and when u go sightseeing, sometimes the place not difficult to walk. she did mention to me before that her shoes spoil faster there cos of the rougher roads.

Would your parents or PIL object if you make trips which require flying? I have been to Genting and Bintan in the last 2 months and so fat they are ok. But think my mom will object to flying. Heard from my colleagues that if we fly, most airlines will require doctor's letter to certify that we are fit to fly...

Hi queen,
my mum did object. but i m going to ask doc. if he say ok, may plan for a trip that requires flying for short distance

SY
thanks for the info... I will not go during pregnancy... but probably will go during last mth maternety leave.. dunno if possible , dunno if I bear to leave my bb to my MIL alone...kekeke...
japan is a nice place ( to me) if not pregnant I guess...

Queen
hey so u have been to Bintan recently... which resort u stay?I considering Nirwana
I think my HB worry to much about Bintan not safe... personally I think should be ok ba...
u have any comment about Bintan?

Hi Mashy,
yah, they just sent to me, but for info only, later then can book which room we want.

Celine,
I also thot of it, if touch wood, have to stay longer, then bill will be very big, so undecided yet. COngrats on your negative test results!

Hi Krissie/cookie,
yah, my hubby want us to get 1 room, but the price is $800 difference from 2 room. He feels that 1 room, I can rest more, also won't be disturbed by other visitors. Think they send to us first to let us know, later than we decide...

Cookie,
heard Nirwana is not too bad, think got more things to do there than Desaru...

Queen,
my parents or MIL would voice concern, but they will let us decide if we wanna go. Better to check with your gynae if you intend to fly

Wenyl,
am taking Neurogain, 1 tablet a day

BTW, gals,
I also bought the cot/playpen from Taka last weekend. The promo of $99 is still on, and if you sepdn $100 and more in a single receipt, they do free delivery.

The cot is suitable for babies to sleep in until they start to sit up on their own. Once they start to do that, it is dangerous as they can grasp the sides and try to climb over the railing. The cot can be removed at the top, and at the bottom is the playpen, which can hold up to 14kg, or about up to 1 - 2 years old. You can let baby sleep in the playpen as well, just that bending over can be difficult when you wanna pick baby up.

The whole thing is mobile, you can dismantle it and move it along with you if you travel.

For us, am putting this in my mum's house where am doing confinement, and she is probably taking care of bb during the day only, so should be fine.

cookie, the 2 in 1 reali looks good and think since the car seat is portable, can use it for bb to sleep in when taking bb out to relatives house..haha me not buying anythin yet, planning to get the things during the craziest sale of the year - Xmas sale!!! hopefully by then, my bulge will allow me to do so..

cookie,

i think your hubby like mine. any place indonesia is considered unsafe...

think can't bear to leave bb behind to go hol. i had a fren who went when her bb was 7 months and she said she will not do it again. but on the other hand, some pple can do it. i met a couple at phuket who left their 3 month old bb in sg. depends on individuals i guess. if it's first bb, probably find it hard to leave him/her behind.

celine,

what brand wd u recommend for the 2 in 1? think will consider 1.

sleepingdeer,
thanks for the info. will go and check out the cot. i may want to get that if the promo still on to put in the living room. is the height adjustable?

seems like quite a few of you are taking neurogain. maybe i shall go check it out. it won't clash with any other things that doc give right?

cookie

I stayed in Nirwana a couple of times before. The hotel's good. Love the pool. Bintan's safe lah, so long as u don't venture into the town. If you're staying there, just walk over next door to Mana Mana. Their beach is nicer.

I'm getting my pram from my bro. So don't think i want those 2 in1. Anyway i think they're very ex. For the car seat, i want to get those that can sit until from infant till they're 4-5 yrs old type but some said that bb's neck very soft, so may not be good for them in the first few weeks.

My bro promised me his bb's cot but now his MIL says cannot coz' his bb will need it later.
Think i'll buy 2nd hand from internet. I don't really like the Taka one coz bb can only sleep in it till he can sit up. After that, it's too dangerous.

SY
My hb and I love Japan! We've been there twice. Love the food and the sights, esp the onsen. What your sis said is true, there's plenty of walking to be done there and many train/subway stations don't have escalators. Sometimes, u even have to walk very far to exit the station. Not an ideal place for preg women. When bb's a bit older, we'll probably bring him there.

Cookie,
The resort I have been about 6 weeks ago is Bintan Lagoon. It's ok, I guess, pool is a bit dirty (maybe becos it's weekends) and quite crowded. Lots of Singaporeans. Beach is quite all right though.

I have been to Nirwana twice, about 4 years ago. Then the resort is relatively new, sea facing is quite nice. But not a lot of facilities. Now should be better. But Nirwana is only rated 3 stars whicle Bintan Lagoon is 4 stars. I wasn't that impressed with Bintan Lagoon. Can't comment accurately on the Nirwana now since my last visit there was more than 4 years ago. Nirwana's beach is not as nice as Bintan Lagoons'.

I also went Angsana Resort and Spa during end March. Considered my pseudo honeymoon. The spa is divine, resort is a bit small but rooms are quite cosy and nice. Rated 4 stars but everything is charged in US$. So food there is quite expensive. Less people there, more popular with foreigners. Beach there is very small and very normal. Place is definitely better than Bintan Lagoon.

Last year, I went to Club Med Bintan. Love the place! Full of energy, fun and activities. Best thing, it is full board, 4 stars standard.
Beach is the best in Bintan. Soft white sand which stretches very far. But it's the place to go for families and friends cos there are nedless things to do over there. Food is goodzzz! If you are willing to spend ~$450 per pax which includes food and ferry, then go to Club Med.

sleepingdeer..
I still havent decide where to go... but plan to go somewhere in Sept..it's also our 9th dating anniversary

Cel cel
I see a couple of my friends.. they "happen" to buy the infant car seat that can fix into the stroller... so like pretty good in the sense that when bb is sound sleep in car seat no need to wake him when transferring him from car seat to stroller...tho it can be troublesome to "fix and remove" the car seat from car from time to time... haven't really think of what to get yet..
My friend gonna hand me down a couple of items... so until I see what she pass me... I will then decide what to buy finally.

SY
haa haa so my Hb is normal... feeling everywhere in Indo seems unsafe... I'm still thinking of gng Bintan tho...
For now... I think I can do it... as long as bb is in Good hands e.g MIL...but well maybe when I give birth to BB, I wun bear to leave him/her behind liao...kekeke...

talking about all these hol plans makes me very excited!!! must really start planning for one. tonight will bug my hb...

Mashy,
i also would love to visit japan. think by the time i can go, my sis won't be there working anymore. my parents are going this oct hence the original plan was to go with them.
is there any good and reliable 2nd hand internet websites? my fren asked me to try babytown but din look very exiciting. i am searching for more websites.

cookie,
my colleague also went angsana for her short honeymoon. she thinks the place is nice. but like what queen said, everything is in USD. but can take some kind of shuttle i think to other areas to eat.

SY

i also scouting around for the 2 in , so cant reali recommend you yet..so far, oni see one at Tom & Steph, not impressed.. will hav to do more shopping.. HB n i actuali thinking of going over the causeway to Giant/Carrefour and c wat we can get there..haha cheapo parents... but we heard frens say there is realia big variety, so might b trying before gettin ay in spore..

cookie

lucky you and some of you.. got hand-me-downs.. i got NOTHING!!! cos im first in the grp to get preggie..
haiz.. my pockets gota 'break'!!

SY

U can try yahoo auctions. My hb sells & buys stuff there, so i suppose it's alright. Just buy from locals and u can check their credit rating too.

SY
all charge in USD?? I tok they charge in SGD only ley....
I went banyan tree bintan for short honey moon 6 yrs ago too... I think they charge SGD..unless they change liao...
USD very shiong ley

SY
Mine doesn't feel like bubbles.. but my friend says hers feels like bubbles, so shld be it lah. You can try lying right or left (as long as it is on the tummy).. but maybe my bb is sleeping on the left side. An advice on ordering from Mat Mall. I think better order those designs which are easier to alter (e.g. cotton type)

We're also thinking of Perth coz my aunt is staying there. But, I prefer Tasmania, but it's a bit far. My friend went to NZ. I think <6hrs flight shld be ok lah..

Cookie
What size did u order for your swimsuit? and what size do u wear in Singapore? I'm still deliberating whether to get from Mat Mall. I went Nirwana before, not bad loh.. very similar to Rasa Sentosa. I think Bintan seems qt ok now.. furthermore very near Sing.. can come back easily. I personally prefer Mayang Sari as it is not very commercialised.. Nirwana reminds me of Sentosa, so don't have the get away feeling.

Ya loh.. actually, I wanted to go Hokkaido, but I realised that there's lots of sashimi, plus hot springs.. so wasted if I cant eat and soak in the Spring.

Sleepingdeer
Actually, no need to worry so much, coz Dr Ho's nurse told me that Mt. A will usually have shortage of 1 bedder. So, even if you want, it might not be available. : p

Mashy
Can buy neck support for bb...

Celine
If I'm not wrong, I saw a 2 in 1 pram at Mothercare. About $300+, almost $400.

Cookie
I also feel that expenses at Bintan are more exp. When I went to Bintan Lagoon and Nirwana, although they charged in S$ or Rupiah, but it is equivalent to dining in Sing hotels, so quite heartache. Lunch per person is easily $10+. So, if you add full course lunch + dinner + drinks. Quite a lot loh. Whereas, if you go to Tioman, Malacca Phuket, etc.. it's cheaper.. so can feast like a King.

Celine,

i will scout ard for the 2 in 1. if i see any good ones i will let you know. cos my hb also wants to get that.

Mashy,
will check out yahoo. hee i have been surfing so many websites on baby stuff. so fun.

cookie,
i check with my colleague again tmr. she on MC today. but she say can go out and eat. think it's only the resort that charge in USD. outside maybe not...

krissie,
i hope i can feel baby soon. must be very exciting, shall be more sensitive esp when i lie down. but everytime i so tired, i just dun take note.

seems like many of us have travel plans....

So many of u travelling. I've gotta cancel my plans.
Was supposed to go Macau in Sept. But think better don't go for me.

SY
U can check out the marketplace here too. Sometimes can get good deals. I just bought a bag of bb clothes for just $2. But coz' most bb clothes are yellowish already, so gotta bleach them first. But if stay at home then nevermind lah, so long as the clothes are clean.

SY

Coz I keep bleeding on &amp; off mah. And i walk 1-2 hrs, i'll be dead tired. That kind must really rest type. Sitting in a cafe for 30mins doesn't help. Ai yah, go might as well don't go, can't even shop to my heart's content. Then now, i walk 1 flight of stairs I also start panting.
I really need to exercise to build up my stamina again.

kriss
I very round ley even before pregnant...
in Spore.. I wear size 12 or 14 for seafolly and arena. So after measure I order XL but right now the swim wear from Mat mall is a bit big.. so I dunno when I go into water will it be worse.

Thanks for the comment on Nirwana...ok i go check out mayang sari too think they just next door... I'm attracted when my colleague told the seaview from her room is very nice...wow already imagine sitting on balcony enjoying the seabreeze...
hahaha I really need a break!

YES!!!... totally agree besides sashimi... the Hot Spring... that's why now very bo hua to go Japan now... can't enjoy all these.. but I'm determine to go after give birth but dunno when it's best... :p

Phuket is also one of the place i'm thinking of, dunno if my Hb will think no safe again...kekeke..last time I went bintan banyan tree also very exp...meals and all stuff...
Very excited!...I go find out more now :p

Sy

Thanks girls!

krissie, I'm very scared that I'm putting on weight too fast but gynae assured that it's normal... Very scared to gain too much!!

confused, I went to enquire abt their antenal class and they are conducted on weekdays only (from 6pm). There are 6 lessons and cost is $189. Still can't decide if want to sign up with them....

Wenyl, I have just started taking the fish oil, same brand as queen and sleepingdeer.

We are also thinking of getting away but still haven't decided where to go yet...

oh mashy brain, please take care..... btw, gynae said bb is laying a bit low, so asked me not to run abt! and if he stays like this then there's a chance of early labour! My gf said maybe bec bb is fat that's why....

Hi SY,
the cot height can't be adjusted, only one length, that's why dangerous for bb after they can sit up. Only alternative is to remove the cot, and let them sleep in the playpen, guaranteed won't climb out unless bb like a monkey

I'm ok with it coz it's cheap compared with other wooden cots, $399 etc. Since it's just for my mum's place, and having promo now, so just got it.

Also I realise that nowadays the cots although can adjust depth of mattress, in the end, it get lower and lower as bb grows up, so still have to bend down? dun know whether you know what i mean?

Cookie,
so sweet, celebrating dating anniversary! Hee hee, think me and hubby cannot even remember when we started dating.. Go somewhere romantic, if not when bb comes, no time for romance liao...

Krissie,
like that ah, then even if we choose also doesn't really matter if got shortage hoh? oh well, see what happens when the time comes..

krissie

the price after discount??

SY

yaya, we keep everyone updated if we come across any good buys..
just preparing for bb's grand arrival is reali more than enuf to make us bz, wats more when bb's out..haha

mashy,
if that's the case, then better dun go. that's one of the reasons why my mum not allowing me to go hol cos i had spotting on off in first trimester. but i told her if doc gives me the ok sign, i will want to go somewhere near...

better take care. u still have bleeding now? my mum told me when she was pregnant with me and my sis (twins) she had such bad bleeding and she was in hospital but we both turned out fine. she also told me unless the bleeding is in clots, it's not too much of a worry. but must really rest and not walk too much. one of my colleagues also shared her experience with me and she got bed rest till her 5th month. she had a really bad time and cannot walk at all cos once she stand she will bleed. she now has 3 kids so just make sure u walk slowly and rest well.

hee, i think i get more excited with all you gals ard cos sometimes talk to my hb it's half in half out...

maybe they can't share fully the excitment yet...

cookie,
i went phuket last year. food is really really cheap. and they had this new mall tat was opened...huge!! i only managed to squeeze 2 hours but bought quite a lot of stuff...

curly,
my fren gave birth at 34 weeks. she thinks she walked too much towards the last stage. she was shopping when she felt the contractions. her bb wasn't that big when born. so we must remember not to 'overwalk' ourselves later.

sleepingdeer,
i think i will still buy a wooden cot for bb cos it's really lasting (according to some frens). think i will look out for the sales. some sales have quite good deals like 200+ for wooden cots. but i think playpen is good cos i dun want to move the wooden cot ard too much. so will check out the one that you bought.

Hi gals!

I'm so furious!!!

Don't take Tiger Airways!!! They're really a horrible lousy airline!

U know, I've to cancel my trip to Macau via Tiger Airways.

We emailed Tiger Airways for a refund. We're not asking back everything. Just the airport taxes to be refunded.

Guess what they say. They will only refund the Singapore Airport Tax of $21, but that's after u have to pay a cancellation fee of $30!

Then after further question on why the Macau airport tax is not refunded, they kept quiet for 1 entire month. After making us wait for 1 whole month without any reply, they finally replied, stating terms and conditions blah blah blah that the fare tickets are entirely non refundable and further more, we are not even allowed to cancel! Then the usual PR reply. They really take us as fools!

Well, they can forget about us taking Tiger Airways ever again!

Hi Mashy,
that's really sick... that's the thing with budget airfare... they have so many conditions and what ifs, in the end we have no idea what we are signing for... So you can't get anything back at all?

sleepingdeer

can't. Coz' can't even cancel. They'll just take it as no show. I was telling my hb, maybe i should just check in with 2 boxes of rocks. Let them move to the plane. Then let them throw it out when we do not appear at the gate. At least let their staff work for the $$$!!! Imagine u pay tax for an airport that u never even arrive in! sigh! No more budget airlines for me.

Krissie
can check with you. For Dr Ho's clinic say u did the blood test so if result come back would require how long. And if okie would they call you? or only when bad results then they call?

Went back to Gynae last Thur to do a 2nd urine test. Blood test shld be ok since they only told me abt tat bacteria present in my urine. Suspected urinary tract infection. Hopefully they won't call me by this week. I hv stopped wearing panty liners &amp; changed all to cotton panties liao.

Queen/Krissie/Sleepingdeer,
Thanks. Will check out Neurogain. My gynae din give me DHA, say its optional. Just gave me multivats. So the recommended dosage should be 250mg daily?

Queen,
Wow! Ur baby gives u karate kicks! SOunds exciting! Sometimes I wish to be able to feel tat kind of kicks once in while. Hee Hee!

SY,
Me too. Tempted to get swimwear online but worried abt sizing.

Cookie,
Bintan Nirwana resort is definitely better than desaru resorts. But the ferry ride is slightly longer...got to endure the bumpy ride if the waves are choppy. Nirwana pool is nice. You can walk over to Mana Mana for beach swimming &amp; sunbathing. Got seafood restaurant there too! Hotel provide free shuttle bus there. But it is abt the same price as S'pore.

Mashy,
imagine they delaying the plane to offload your two boxes of rocks.. hee hee. Think that's how they earn, if nothing goes wrong, and flight continues as per normal, everyone is happy, but they are very very inflexible with changes and cancellation... can you use your pregnancy as a valid reason for not flying? Maybe ask Gynae to give you letter say not advisable to fly?

Hi Etelle,
I took the blood test last time with Dr. Ho. It's normally takes one week, and if you don't hear from them, everything is ok. They will only call you if something serious is detected, so no news is good news

Dr. Ho will go through with you the detailed test result at your next appointment.

Wenyl,
yep, it's one capsule tat contains 250mg DHA amongst other things.

Cookie
Mayang Sari is something like a hut, so when you open the curtains, if you're taking a seaview room and not blocked, can see the sea even when in the room.. Go check it out. Like what Wendyl says the seafood rest is nice, but same price as here.. but very fresh.

Curly
I've also put on a lot.. Will discuss my wt gain with my gynae during next visit. Will update you then. But, since your gynae says it's fine, it shld be, so no need to worry.

Cel cel
Sorry, cant rem if it's after disc. Maybe you can go see, coz I rem that I told my hb that it was slightly more than pram + car seat added together. It looks very sturdy, but too exp for us.
I think it was the Centrepoint Br or Parkway Br.. Hee hee.. I went to 3 Mothercare shops that weekend. Looks like that
http://www.mothercare.com.sg/index.cfm?GPID=20&amp;GMCID=7&amp;GCID=17&amp;GPdID=417
Maybe you can call Mothercare to ask how much.

Mashy
I read in the papers last week that if travel agent imposes unreasonable claims, can claim through Small Claims Tribunal or through the travel association. Ya, those budget airlines or when you buy from main airlines with offers, then they'll impose such silly regulations.. So stupid..

Etelle
I didn't do blood test with Dr Ho.. maybe Sleeping deer or Cookie can help??

Wendyl
Most of us are taking Neurogain. And the recommended dosage is 1 capsule (has 250mg DHA) a day. I personally find that Neurogain seems quite reliable as a lot of gynaes recommend it. My colleague's gynae at RH also gave her Neurogain. Plus, it is made in Japan. So, I trust Japan's products. SGH Pharmacy also sells Neurogain.

Krissie

thanks for the link, looks reali neat..but im sure the price will look neat too..haha.. actuali i saw from the internet auctions ( as wat mashy suggested ) and saw car seats going at $20-$100+) seems rather ok... can consider then...

Mashy

relax... bu yao shan le tai qi!!! though macua has to b put off, but im sure spore has got alittle to offer too...
can book a hotel to relax, use the pool and bath tub..haha or booka resort and have a mini BBQ session wf HB, how romantic too rite..??? i b stranded till after delivery too, so take some consolation from here..hee

Celine

Don't buy 2nd hand car seats from unknown pp. Coz u don't know the history of the car seats, it could have been involved in an accident and its safety would be compromised. If u wanna get 2nd hand, get from someone u know personally who will tell u the truth abt the car seats.

Sleepingdeer
They don't care even if gynae gives a letter. They just say "According to the terms &amp; conditions....which u agreed...." I hope they close door soon!

pochacco,
i'll be going for mine next sat when i'm exactly 5mth. the lady i'll be going to is Rose from goldwellness.com. she seems quite highly recommended in the forum but her charges are quite high, $70/session. according to her, preggies can only start the pre-natal massage after 5 mths coz the toxins that are supposedly released during the massage may be harmful to the baby.

celine - thanks for the update... i saw from rustic that so long is 2nd trimester, can go for the massage.... i will be 5 mth this sun so can plan to go for it...
it seem that pre-natal massage all are quite ex... will call her up to check more... keep you update...