(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

actually i thinking of getting a cot and a play pen. then i will put the play pen in the living area so that when ever doing things there, baby can be there also. my fren is doing that and i think it's quite convenient. plus playpen not tat ex.

sleepingdeer, got dir to the restaurant? sounds really yummy.

mashy/etelle, i also borrow clothes from a fren. if can, i think borrow better cos it's too ex to keep buying. my fren lent me her jeans, skirts and tops. i bought quite a few bottoms myself and din buy that many tops. i went to spring 2 weeks ago and can't really fit the tops unless i alter. so think i will stop buying for a while. need to save $$

Krissie,
thanks, we also relieved, lucky everything is ok, so not needed to go for future tests.

Krissie/SY,
the restaurant is called Jade Garden Seafood, at Sungei Renggit. It's about 30 min drive from Desaru, 15min if you stay at Sebana.

I go back home and dig for address if you need it, but only one Jade Garden in that small village, and the most crowded one. The moment you go in, you will see a big Channel U sign with Adrian Pang and Michelle Chia at the side.

First night, the price was ok, RM206(S$90) for lobster, a big steamed grouper, deer meat, vege and 2 plates of tofu.

But the second night we went, it was RM177 for lobster, steamed grouper, big butter oats prawns, vege, tofu and black pepper deer meat. So that was about S$80 for dishes which includes lobster and prawns and live steamed fish for the 4 of us..., crazy uh?

Hi SY
I bought a XL spag striped top frm Spring and the bust part feel so tight leh. The rest of it is okie only the bust part
in the end dun dare to wear.

This is my first baby and i be having mroe to come so buying maternity is not a waste for me as i can keep and still wear. As for borrowing from people i dun like the idea cuz after all it's borrowed and you have to be extra careful with it lest while washing damage or what. So i better get mine at least spoil or what i be responsible....

Clare

I thot detailed scan is better. So did your gynae scan every part of the bb's organs like the heart, lungs, liver? Think better be safe. I think by 26th it's too late for detailed scan. Coz bb too big to scan.

Sleepingdeer
Of course i had the butter lobster. How can miss? So yummy! Had pepper crabs, zu zu, bamboo clams etc too. Love it. We took pictures with the lobsters too. Took them out of their fish tank. My hb's manager is the restaurant owner's relative so had a really great feast.

Took a map of that place too. U can actually take a boat from Changi (the place where u go Ubin) to Desaru. At Desaru, just hop onto a cab.
The cab drivers will know where's the restaurant.

Etelle

2nd tri can lah, so long as you're not sky diving, diving, taking roller coasters should be ok. And take care not to over exert yourself, by walking too much, shopping too much and not resting enough. During hols, we tend to over exert ourselves, so if u going somewhere where u have to walk a lot, climb a lot, better don't go.

Ooooh.....i see ...then bangkok is a no no lor? cuz shopping buying things requires alot of walking around....thought can go there and buy bb stuff.....Thanks for the advice. I am about 14 weeks now...so considered 2nd trimester?

Hi girls
i think vpost has changed it's shipping charges leh. Now it goes by volumetric charging. Which means go by weight of the items instead of the amount of purchases. Correct me if i'm wrong....but in this way the shipping is more expensive. Cuz previously amt <$100 usd they only charge $6.99+$4.99 shipping then now.....sigh.....mashy u have more infor on this can enlighten?

Mashybrainz,
Thanks! Was still wondering what time the program starts.

Any idea are those repeat telecast, esp those 1, 2 am? Or they have many episodes?

sleepingdeer
wahh. very cheap leh.. It sounds so yummy too. how did u go? take cab from hotel?

Mashy
how long is the bost ride from Changi to Desaru and do you know how much is the ferry ride? IF it's not too far, can go on weekends.

Etelle / Sleepingdeer
What is the brand of the cot. I noticed that Etelle's is $99 and Sleeping deer is $199. So, I guess they are 2 diff cots hor?

Hi Etelle and gals,
I just paid for the VPOST shipping charges this morning. Amounting to $17+. I bought USD$55 worth of clothes, including tax and shipping. Just 1 swimwear, 1 tee, and 1 dress. Pretty difficult for us to estimate since the VPOST shipping goes by volumetric charge now.

However, I keyed in the promo code so the VPOST shipping charges becomes $7+. I THINK the promo code is unique to each customer, cos I punched in the promo code someone (was it cookie?) mentioned and it din worked. I did copy down the promo code given when i signed up and it worked.

Hi krissie
it should be the same one. The Brand is Babycraft. The original price is $199 and promo price is $99.

Hi Prettycloud
How much u paid for the usa shipping and handling? I think the promo code is the same leh. Cuz i used the code that Vpost sent to my hubby for my own account and it worked. My Vpost shipping was $23.20 after $10 discount becomes $13.20....so i think in total paid about $30 for shipping in all.

Etelle,
I paid USD$8.05 for US shipping and USD$3+ for tax.
Oh okie, that's good then. Everybody get discount. After conversion to Sin $, yes abt S$26-7 on total shipping for me... i find swimwear in Singapore quite expensive... perhaps i din manage to find many shops selling them.

Hi krissie,
yep, it's the same one, Etelle got it at discount..

I stayed at Pulai Springs Desaru, formerly called Perdana. It's one of the better hotels there, but don't expect 5 star

We got the hotel to call us a cab, it was about RM110 for 4 of us, return trip. The cab driver will take you there, wait for you for dinner, then if you wanna jalan jalan, let you shop around before bringing you back.

If you get those at the ferry terminal, it's about RM90.

I also took a ferry from Changi Terminal to Desaru, about 20 min, then from there, it's a 30 min coach ride to the hotel.

We paid S$504 for 4 of us, for 2 rooms, 3 days 2 nights, inclusive of breakfast for 2 days, and return ferry and coach.

If you just wanna 'nua' and do nothing except see sunrise, walk and sleep at the beach, and eat good dinner, it's a great place, perfect to MTBs. The journey there is not taxing, and the ferry is pretty comfortable. But if you are in for excitement, then you'll be bored

Hi prettycloud
which means it is about the same lor....pretty expensive for shipping right...hee hee but considered cheap compared to other usa site but then ah if we order lighter stuff like not jeans all that maybe the weight be lighter then even vpost charged by volumetric also qun affect us.

Hi sleepingdeer,
The trip you went seems attractive to me. Would like to plan a trip there if my MIL allows. Didn't know we can take ferry to Desaru now (Sua ku). The price you paid (S$504) including ferry tix &amp; tax?

sleepingdeer...
I was about to ask you on Desaru thingy... I'm planning a short trip with my hubby too...
either Bintan or Desaru since u have good comment.
Thanks for the info... I printed out your message..
So the Resort u stayed in is Good? Any comment on the swimming pool and sea side?? beach is having nice fine sand?
me so mountain tortoise... never been to Desaru before...
Oh the place is called Jade garden har?? the nice nice food place?

Etelle, yes, actually comes up to quite abit. Let's see how my stuff turns out to be when I receive mine in a week's time.

Hi prettycloud
if the studd are nice and the size fits i dun mind buying again cuz comparing to local maternity wear theirs much cheaper right imagine paying as low as 14.99usd for a dress which is cheap right? Hee Hee mine should be arriving at my door anytime soonz hee hee cuz status arrived in singapore...hee hee either today or tomorrow i should receive. hee

Etelle

Yah, they changed the pricing system. Sigh.
But no choice lor, it's still cheaper than if we order direct. Think coz they don't wanna take any USD fluctuation risk. How ah? I used my hb's acc which he signed up long ago leh. So no promo code. Can i still use the one by cookie?

Wenyl
Yup, those are repeats.

Krissie
Not so sure leh. Last time I went, we bao the whole bum boat. Think 3 bum boats. The ride is quite fast. Abt 30mins. Faster than if u drive.

Hi mashy
you can still try but think the promo code is for a limited period within August. After which no more liaoz....so try lor if cannot then no choice also.... but it's still cheaper lah but best is have people to share shipping hee hee :p

Sleepingdeer
You mean there's no discount now?? Hmmm... then, I shall go see and also wait for the disc. Thanks for the update on Desaru. Sounds good. Thought of going to Tioman in Nov. So, if can't go coz of Monsoon, maybe will try Desaru. : )

Etelle
Do update us on the sizing of the clothes when they arrive. BTW, what size did u order?

Mashy
Thanks.. Dun think my hb can take bumboats.. he gets sea sick qt easily.

<font color="ff0000">IRRESPONSIBLE BABYSITTER AND AGENT!!! </font>

Agent: <font color="ff0000">PETER ONG ENG HOCK </font>
<font color="ff0000">HP: 9388-9332 </font>
PGR: 9263-9882
Agency: JIA HOUSEHOLD CARE SERVICES
Address: 179, RIVER VALLEY, #05-11, RIVER VALLEY BUILDING, S(179033)

Babysitter: MDM ONG
Address: Blk 625 Senja Road #05-146, S(670625)
-------------------------------
Yesterday, went to my ex-nanny (Mdm Ong) house to collect my boy clothing. I asked her for the bal deposit, she told me that our agent (Peter) told her not to return us the balance monies. Peter even told her that we are suppose to give her 1 week notice if we found another new nanny. That stupid hypocrite didnt tell us that we are suppose to give her 1 WEEK notice ??? I even asked him to look for another nanny for us as Mdm Ong already informed us to look for another nanny.

How can he said that ? So I asked Mdm Ong to called him because I wanted to clarify whether is she telling the truth.

She called Peter &amp; told him that I want her to return us our monies. He asked Mdm Ong NOT TO OPEN THE DOOR, IF WE COME TO HER HOUSE to collect my boy clothing. He even said that she DONT HAVE TO RETURN US OUR MONIES &amp; JUST IGNORE US. Then Mdm Ong told him that we were already in her house &amp; beside her now. She wanted me to talk to Peter personally to clarify the whole matter but that IRRESPONSIBLE Peter dont even dare to talk to me. He told Mdm Ong that hes very busy &amp; quickly hanged up the phone.

Im so angry how can he be so irresponsible &amp; who is he to decide that Mdm Ong shouldnt return us our money ???? That bloody sissy, dont even dare to sit down &amp; sort things out, he just go on hiding.
----------------------

Please be cautious when you are looking for a babysitter agency. We would like to share with you our true life experience.
Our ex-nanny (Mdm Ong) was introduced to us by Peter.
During the interview, we informed them that we needed her to take care of our son day and night, sending him over on Sun night and picking him up on Fri night. They agreed verbally. No contract was signed. Mdm Ong initially took good care of our boy, born in Dec 2004. But things started to change in Jun 2005.
This is a summary of what had happened:
1. We were not informed that the nanny's daughter was also pregnant and her estimated delivery date is in Feb 2005. After her daughters confinement in Mar 2005, she helped to look after her granddaughter at the same time! As we needed day &amp; night care for our son, we did not expect her to do so!
2. As the babies' age gap was so close, we doubted that she could handle them both simultaneously. However, she reassured us many times that the situation "will only be temporary". In addition, the agent (Peter) also assured us that the nanny will be "professional" enough not to handle more than one baby.
3. When her granddaughter began to stay with her in late March, we noticed that she shared the baby products we provided her for our son's exclusive use. This included formula milk, clothing, milk bottles, wipes, diapers, etc. Although we do not have concrete proof, but the speed of use is proof enough. Seeing that our son is still in "good care", we decided to close one eye on this, even though it was at our expense!
4. On 27 June 2005 (after taking care for 4 months), Mdm Ong informed us to look for another nanny because her daughter needed her to take care of her granddaughter! Isn't it supposed to be only temporary?!
5. Anyway, this coincided with the time when we had to change the formula milk (from infant FM to 6mths FM). Also perhaps she finds it a hassle to cook and feed our son, who has to start taking porridge and cereal as he was 6 months old. As we needed time to source for another nanny, we had no choice but to let her continue to take care of our son as we had work commitments.
6. On 3 July 2005 (Sun night), when we brought him back to her house, we smelled something is burning in her kitchen but she insisted the smell was from downstairs. The next minute, I saw burning smoke from her kitchen dustbin! Its actually a cigarette! We did not even know that someone smoke in the house! She quickly poured water into her dustbin.
7. The next morning (Mon), it was raining very heavily and we had to send some things over to her. We saw that she dressed our dear son only in a T-shirt and diapers and left him sitting near an open window! Her darling granddaughter was dressed in long-sleeved and long-pants thick pyjamas in a bouncer away from the open window!
8. Knowing that our son is no longer in good care, we quickly found another babysitter and sent him there on 10 Jul 2005, 2 weeks after Mdm Ong inform us to look for someone else.
9. Before we rendered her service, we placed a $700 deposit (1 month) with her. As Mdm Ong was the one who requested us to look for another nanny, we assume that she will refund us the balance deposit ($150) which we placed with her. However, she turned around and said that we were the ones who wanted to terminate her service and refused to return us the balance!
10. Fed up with liasing with her, we called Peter on 9 Jul 2005 and told him what happened. We requested him to help us to chase for our money. After that, he MIA and refused to answer our phonecalls. We continued to try to contact him. When finally we got him, he told us to go SMALL CLAIM COURTS to claim back our money! Not to mention, there was no contract signed nor documents drawn for rendering Mdm Ong's service so how can I file a report?!
Hes so irresponsible and unprofessional, yet we had to pay him commission of $60! Really cannot believe that he provided such lousy service!
Anyway, up till today (26 Jul 2005), we have yet to claim our money back.
<font color="ff0000">We want to warn everyone out there not to use Peter's or Mdm Ong's service. </font>

PLS HELP TO SPREAD THIS TO ALL MUMMIES, FRIENDS OR COLLEAGUES!!!

Hi krissie
i took size M. The size chart said i shoudl wear S but i took one size bigger hee hee :p

Hi Mashy
u mean u bluff bluff sign up then got a new code wonder if we can use your code or code is for individuals one???

Etelle

I think it's for everyone right? Dunno, maybe u use another person's name and sign up? See whether it's the same? Think i better erase the code then just in case. Oh shucks, can't edit anymore.

Etelle

now i'm also quite worried. Coz' i've expanded so much. I just went to Dorothy Perkins over the weekend and bought a blouse at size 12! I was a size 8. In fact, size 8 used to be still a little big for me.
Now i scared, S may not fit me anymore.

Hi Berlin,
yep, it includes ferry tickets as well as any tax. Does not include lunch and dinner though

I know coz Desaru was a favourite holiday spot for my family since we were small kids, no money then, cannot go far, so go desaru loh, hee hee.

Though it offers nothing much, it's a nice place to enjoy the sea breeze and see stars at night

Cookie,
same here! We were initially planning to use the credit cards points accumulated by our wedding to go Bintan, but it was fully booked during National Day weekend.

The hotel is ok lah, not 5 star, more like 3 and a half to 4 star, and service at the cafe can be super slow. But since we go there to relax, we also go slow and jalan jalan around
If you go, take note that the hotel has very little king or double beds, so most times, we join the twin beds together to sleep, hee hee.

The swimming pool is nice, but the beach is so so only. It's not as clean or fine as phuket or krabi definitely, but course better than East Coast.

Depends on what you like, I think... for me, i like to walk the beach and breathe sea breeze, watch sun rise, and pick pebbles during low tide, so it's perfect for me
My hubby didn't enjoy it so much, coz I keep waking him up at 630am in the morning!

Yah, Jade Garden is where you get the yummy lobster and Oats prawns.

Hi Krissie,
Tioman is very nice, though the journey there can be very tiring hoh? Unless you flying there... I took the coach the last time, travelling 5 hours to mersing in the middle of the night, then still have to sit ferry for 2 hours. Dun think I can tahan now in this condition, every 3 hours need to run to toilet

Bintan is another place you can think of, or Phuket
Prices to Phuket now are very cheap, and you're in a plane for only a few hours

HI mashy
what did u buy from maternity mall what size??? Dun worry maybe local size and their sizing different?

Hi prettycloud
hee hee evry excited right when buying something from abroad and then cnanot wait for it to reach hor hee hee :p

Mashy
Thanks.. mayb pop over tonight if hb no need to OT.

Etelle
How come u wear XL for Spring and S/M for maternity mall? I wear S for Spring and also S for maternity mall leh.

Mashy
You won't put on more than me... I put on 1 kg again.. : ( sob sob.... now already put on total of 7kg.. am so depressed. This morning, I tried my normal clothes, all cant wear, so have to start wearing mat clothes liao, i.e. tops, bottoms and dresses.

sleepingdeer
They have direct ferry to Tioman now.. it's those big &amp; stable type of ferry. So, thot of taking the ferry there.

Hi Krissie
For Spring i wear M not XL....only for that particular top where i bought wrong size XL...confused you liaoz....dun worry about putting on weight for now
we are suppose to put on weight. After delivery then think of losing it .

Hi prettycloud
yah i should be receiving today hee hee cuz vpost said 5-7 days after payment so should be today 7th day liaoz hee hee so excited.....

Etelle

I got a small swimsuit and a pair of pants.
So, Vpost will send an email to tell u to pay up right? Do i have to tell Vpost that i'm expecting a parcel?

Krissie
I'm close. I think i've gained abt 6kg liao.
I also can't wear most of my normal clothes already. Feel like ba zang in some of my tees.

sleepingdeer,

which agent did you go to for the trip? i also want to go somewhere near. frens suggested sentosa but sentosa not cheap so thinking of going somewhere near. after seeing your review will try to convince my hubby.

SY

I think Desaru's a bit boring nowasdays coz' the beaches are no longer that great &amp; a lot of their hotels are pretty run down. But the big highlight is the food. Can actually go for a day trip.

Hi mashy
afetr your purchased from maternity mall. You have the faxed the invoice to vpost and then after they received they will email you abcl to tell you they received the invoiced. then proceed to wait for the parcel. but when you log on to vpost under vpostusa you can track and trace your parcel and know whether it has been deported from usa.

Hi mashy
afetr your purchased from maternity mall. You have the faxed the invoice to vpost and then after they received they will email you back to tell you they received the invoiced. then proceed to wait for the parcel. but when you log on to vpost under vpostusa you can track and trace your parcel and know whether it has been deported from usa.

hmmm... what other place is good? really feel like going on a short hol before bb is born. my fren who just gave birth told me must go or else quite hard to get away after that.

i have been trying to gain weight but think my weight gain quite slow. though doc say it's ok but i think it's good to gain some weight. do you gals eat a lot more than usual or just take more meals?

if i can't fit some of the S size at spring, can i still buy online from US websites? I look at all your online sprees and feel quite tempted. getting bored with my tops...

aiyo sorrie for the double entry. LIke for mine i track and traced that it has been deported from usa then been processed at singaproe and being sent out liaoz...so that's why i know i can expect to receive soon

Etelle

orh. Which invoice? I sent them the Confirmation order from maternity mall. Can?

SY
Don't worry, you'll grow into it very shortly. :p

i was surfing the maternity mall website. so many nice things!! maybe i shd just take the risk to buy. at most spend a few dollars to alter if really too big. still cheaper then buying here i think

sleepingdear...
thanks for the info... which travel agent you booked thru?
I told my HB abt Desaru and Bintan... but he say maybe boring.. so we are thinking of cruise...
I have many comments from friends that Cruise can be boring...
But both of us never been to any cruise before so thought of trying lor... and besides...once tired can go back to room to rest :p
Still thinking but got to think about the cost too.

just check cruise pricing... base on 2 pax sharing SOOOO expensive..
think I better stick with Desaru or Bintan!!!*faintzzzz*

It has been a long long time since i last came in..(think has nearly 1 mth or more) been really busy at work and my appettite has not improved.
So far only agin abt 2 kg and i m into my 19 weeks 4 days today. Does not know my bb gender yet but shld be able to (hopefully) nxt week cos my detailed scan is on 16 Aug.. will update again.. let's see how many boys and gals we have for this jan 2006 MTB

i m still squeezing into my normal office clothes but most pants and skirt cannot fit liao.. so sad... and also not easy for me to buy maternity cos i m pretty small size, flat buttock.. so tought to get those maternity pants...

anyway, glad that all of u are doing fine and i hope i can come in more often so that i know i need to start doing what! :p

Happy Friday and weekend ahead! yeeee haaaaa!

hi anyone taking up the pre-natal classes in KKH? how are their package like? how many classes? cost? hubby can accompany us for free? what does it include? good?

Sleepingdear,
would like to know your travel agent also. I'm planning for the trip next weekend.

cookie,
Cruise is mostly for casino or karaoke, then buffet food. Compare to Desaru, I think it's more boring and definitely more costly.