(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

my fren went to the same gynae and he told her she's having a boy at only 3 mths.. so early.. so i guess, if it's a boy, usually can tell quite early

Mashy, you're in week 14? hoping for a boy too? hope to hear your gd news!

pup pup

yup. next week 15, keeping my fingers crossed.

MH
oh, then, maybe mine is not that gynae.
Will check and let u know again.

Celine
Ya, if we layman can see it, then, I guess it shldn't be wrong, coz most of the time when gynae is describing something to me, I can't really see what he's talking abt.

pup pup
Ya, even though will make me fatter, I'm trying for the sake of my future sleep.

Mashy
Gynae confirmed it is boy when I had my scan at end of week 16.

Sleeping deer
Don't worry, 2 more days to go.. The size of our tummy is not representative of bb's growth. It could also be water, fats, etc... Maybe you can also ask your gynae during the next visit abt your weight gain for the next mth, then u can monitor.

aiyo.. u gals so lucky. I'm in a crisis. Putting on 2kg per mth. Very serious.. I try to exercise more, but still not helping leh.

Confused
Is your calcium intake enough.. try supplementing with milk, I find it helps achy joints.

Hi Krissie
I think we shuld relax and not worry abotu weight gain. Most important is bb gets the nutrient that bb needs. I mean if we try to limit our food intake, try to control our weight in the end we may not get a healthy baby so we should just relax and enjoy being a preggie woman
I mean if really put on too muchw eight at the end of the delivery then exercise, diet or go slimming lor but now pregnant better to put on weight then not

krissie
Really? Drink milo and bb will sleep? I drink milo nearly every nite ...ahaha!!!! But first boy, I never drank, maybe that was why he hardly slept!!! Haaaaaa.
Actually for us, we had to train him to sleep thru, a few bawling sessions and talking to him.. not easy cos his crying was so loud and heart-wrenching for us, but what to do, gotta teach him to sleep thru, otherwise where got energy to wake up every nite?????? esp after we go back to work..... First four months was like hell.. but after that, ok lah... still gotta battle with teething lah, sick lah... aiyah be a mummy is not easy ......

celine
Mistake for girl likely but mistake for boy unlikely...hehe.

Thanks, girls!!!!!!!!! ... I reply to all at one go.
- We could see two sacs at my 8th week... was v stunned when gynae told us... cos I miscarried two months back (Mar), conceived again in May.
- At 10th week, lagi more clear, confirmed liao and gynae said should be fraternal cos separate sacs, she said is good sign in that they are not together in that sense.
- At last scan, confirmed two separate placentas too. So I am carrying two different babies loh.
- Cannot see the gender yet.
- Fraternal twins usu. come from family history, for my case, my granny was a twin.... but no one in my family has twins and most of my cousins already have kids and closed shop....xcept for one.
- Out of all fraternal twins, there is 50% chance of boy/girl, 50% of the same sex
- Identical twins can be randon ie no family history (so there is hope for the rest of u, haha!!)
- Yeah I will have 3 kids and just that day, hb told me about bb bonus.... seems got quite a sum ah????

But carrying twins is tiring..... My first pregnancy was pretty easy... but this one is different altogether, it's not tough but it's tiring.....

Any more info u need?? Hehe.... I read up quite a bit lately.....

krissie - me too oso put on weight. I agree with Etelle, the most important is bb gets the nutrient n is healthy. My sis friend tried to control her weight (on diet) when she's pregnant abd she almost having difficulty giving birth. i told myself after delivery then i go on diet.

i oso dont know leh. the feeling is like the joint is loose (dislocate) very painful whenever i lift up my hand. i want to go tui1 na2 but dont know can or not.

Gals
Dun try to control your weight lah, unless u are eating rubbish... if you have a normal/healthy diet and healthy weight gain, bb will also grow well and come out well too. U need to store the fats for breastfeeding later on too. I ate v well for my first preggie and my boi came out at 3.505kg!

Etelle / Confused
I'm still eating... will be super hungry very easily. Cannot don't eat.. will feel faint and weak. Like this am, I had 1 big bah zhang at 9+am. Then, 11.45am very super hungry... Just had a pack of nasi lemak and still not very full. Will eat more fruits later.

Stylo
That's what my friend says.. maybe it's the heat from the hot drink which makes the bb very comfortable and wanna sleep. Don't quite understand abt the training bb to sleep thru.. u mean when he wake up, then, tell bb to sleep?

Confused
Wah.. your hand sounds qt serious.. mine is just the joints aching.. I think u better go see a doc.

StyloBB
how much did u gain in 1st preg? hmm... what's normal weight gain. In my 1st tri, I put on abt 1 kg per mth, so, seems alright. Then, now in 2nd tri, it's very steep, like 0.5kg per mth. And so far, it's at least 2 kg per mth.. Is that normal. I find it too high leh..

Mashy - ur bruises caused by hard knocks or sometin??? if its one or 2, mayb its just some little bruising cos i heard our blood flow increases when preggie... but if its quitre a few, mayb its best to consult the professional... do take care of urself k...

gers.. me also oni put on weight first 3 months... now rather stagnant.. but i think like wat the rest said, so long as we eat for bb, dun hav to worry too much.. my colleague told me, rather eat to b on safe side than to regret later on if bb din get enuf nutrients..u know wat i mean..?

Stylo - me also juz had nasi lemak.. abit guily, cos these wasnt any veg..but i bought tau huay to make up to bb..:p haha

Krissie,
I read that in the 2nd Trimester, weight gain is the fastest. In the 3rd, will slow down. So not to worry lah... I think if overall weight gain is not excessive then should be fine loh. I thought I'm putting on weight pretty fast this 2 weeks. To think 1 month ago, I actually lost weight! Now gain back liao, all in all almost 5 kg in 17 weeks. And I'm not even eating extra meals, just a small bao at 3pm sometimes (before preggy don't snack at all). How come still put on weight??? Difference is now don't puke anymore and less exercise (last time at least 1 hour 3 times a week).

krissie
I gained 17kg but after giving birth, I lost 22kg! Hahah!!!! So shiok right!!!!!!
Actually I think they say 1 kg each month, but appetite tends to be v good in 2nd tri... so will eat more...that was once I gained like 2kg in one month and got questioned by gynae...I said my appetite v good mah and I went to eat cheesecake.....

The book What to Expect did give the range to gain for a normal pregnancy... will have to go and check it out....but then again I think it depends on individuals, had a gf who only put on 8kg!!! Wow!!! But I dun care lah, so long as I am eating well, I will eat, the nutrients will go to the bb what... dun be like my mil's fr's daughter who went to restrict her food intake, in the end the bb did not grow well... what for right??? Affect the bb only.....

Fat ah, later than da suan lah.... dun bother about fat now lah...!!!

celine
I also have craving for nasi lemak stimes!!! Esp the big fat chix thigh!!! Hahha..... I also drink tau huay....haha...

hey..for mums working in raffles place area rite, got this caterer quite ncie, esp their nasi lemak..serving rather big - got egg, otah, fishcake, chicken wing,ikanbilis n nuts - all for $2.50 and delivered to office... so shiok jus nw raining and yet enjoying my yummy nasi lemak in cool cool ofc..haha i do tat when i dun wana step out..the number is 63232 853

Hi styloBB,

Congrats! My colleague also just gave birth to twins. It was a girl and a boy for her.

Hi all other mtbs,

Wow, so much to read up on. I tried out the baby fetal monitor that I bought from Thyme. Can hear heartbeat and thumping sounds (from baby kicks). Quite fun and endering to hear the baby so up close and personal

My appetite is still the same. I do not eat a lot but I drink a lot. My latest craze is ribena :p I am 18 wks now and have put on abt 3kg.

Next gynae visit is on 12/8 and then gonna sign up for the Sep antenatal classes. Any of you signed up for yours already?

Oh yeah, bought a book on Pregnancy Yoga and currently practising it on alternate days. I can sleep better after the light stretches and breathing. So far so good
Maybe some of you can give it a try. Used to wake up 2-3 times a night too. Now, I sleep thru-out the nite and wake up 1/2 an hr before the alarm goes off just to pee.

celine

I've got bruises on both sides of my butt. Didn't knock anything esp that huge a patch. We were thinking maybe it's the plastic chair that i sat at my IL's house since it's right at the spot where i would be sitting. They use those kopitiam backless plastic chairs. But a bit too much right? Just sit on the chair kenna bruised.

Just came back from Kidsloft. It's pathetic. Think u can skip it. They've got nice wooden toys though. So if next time u wanna get wooden toys for your bb, can go there.

And they've shaped cloth diapers there like disposable diapers. Attach by velcro. So if u want, can get from there. It's 9.50 per pc. Gotta get a waterproof cover though.

Celine - *hee... it sounds a bit funni calling my own name
* they do deliver even if its 1 packet. their menu changes everyday... so u can always call up and ask before ordering... it reali comes in handy on stormy days and i believe in our 3rd trimester when we gona b a little frumpy..hee

hey gers, one thing we can start eating in 2nd trimester - sometin very very nutritious, multi vitamin, a fruit and heaty... DURIAN!!! my in-laws told me to do so, it will make bb stronger n more immune to coldness... the girls from another thread also did mention this... isn't it a nice fruit to enjoy on...??? hee, i started on mine...

krissie - ya! getting veryserious. tomoro i'll ask gynae whether can go tui1 na2.
hey! me too hungry easily. and worse ah i always think of food.

Mashy - im not so sure if they do deliver elewhere... mayb u can call them up to check...
and also mashy, i think refrain from sitting on those kinda backless chairs, not so good for preggie ladies' back also...

celine

orh. no choice leh. ILs diner chairs all like that. Unless we eat in front of TV. Think next round when i'm there, probably will look for a different chair to sit in.

hi celine, (hehe.. ya find it abit silly, like calling myself thou it's not my real name. juz hope we don't confuse the other mtb in this thread :p)
ic... alright then. will call them to check first wat's on their menu. thks!

hi babylon, congratz! me juz did mine last sat. nurse said will call me within 2 weeks if something is wrong else i won't be hearing from her. *keeping my fingers crossed that i don't receive her call!*

Queen
ya, I'm also like you, not that much exercise now.. last time exercise more and eat lesser. Now, appetite is very big. I also consoled myself that it's coz I'm in 2nd tri & bb is growing at its fastest. I hope mine will slow down in 3rd tri.

StyloBB
Thanks.. I also think 1 mth per kg is ok. Now, actually, don't eat much fattening stuff (except my nasi lemak today), but I eat much more than pre-preg... so if I eat fattening stuff, will be 3kg per mth. ha ha....

Oh, I have the book also, but in pounds, cant rem how to convert. The bb centre says based my pre-preg wt, can gain 40lbs, i.e 5lbs every 4 weeks for last 2 tri. Does anyone know how many kg is that? How to convert?

http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/pregnancynutrition/1466.html?scid=momspreg:20050725:2245:14849:5750

Celine
The nasi lemak caterer, any idea if it's halal?

Sysa
Do take the ribena in moderation coz it has preservatives. And also, very funny, I saw on the packaging (the big packet with scre cover type) that is was printed "not suitable for pregnant women". I wonder why.

Babylon
Congrats on your results.. ya, more relieved hor..

HI all,
huh some of u no weight gain at all so good?? Me already put on 5.5kg and looks like its going up again though not as fast as 1st Tri. But i read somewhere the weight gain is the most drastic in 3rd Tri leh... something like can gain 5 to 10kg in the last 3 months... scary.... Looking forward to my swim wear from Motherhood so can go exercise more...

Krissie,
Ribena not suitable for pregant ladies??? I do drink quite often leh... = (

Mashy,
Have already transfered the money to you last night so check okie?? Thanks again! = )

thanks for the comforting words, think when we are preggie, we tend to 'hu si luan xiang' more.

Stylo,
congrats! 2 at one go!

Krissie/Mashy,
I dun know whether I'm gaining weight or not, have not weighed since 2 weeks ago, but the 3 kgs I had put on in 1st trimester was around my waist, not my tummy, so now I look like a barrel

Sysa,
does the fetal monitor really works? Was thinking of getting one, so that can monitnor bb... does it only work from 18th weeks onwards?

Babylon,
congrats on your test results! Now can breathe sigh of relief. I also went for triple test the week before last, the nurse say no news is good news, but will definitely ask when i go for my next visit...

Mashy,
how about putting a cushion?

Do you gals still feel like puking? Sometimes when I smell certain food, or had a heavy lunch, the urge to puke comes back.. urgh...

I've received the money from queen & clare already. Thanks! For the rest, do keep me informed when u transfer the money so that i can keep track. Thanks!

sleepingdeer

yah, i'll do that the next time.
i still puke once in a while. But it's different type, last time i must puke until the last drop comes out. Now it's just once and just sourish stuff.

sleeping deer

babylon
Yeah, good results!!

Good results for all mums!!

krissie
I went thru the book and it says 30pds for ave pregnancy....to convert to kg, just divide by 2.2 = 13.6kg ... how u get 40 pds? Based on your height?
For twins, shud be 45pds.

I drank quite a bit of ribena last week...

it's FRIDAY!!!

Mashy,
I just transfered the money over to your bank account, can check and confirm?

I haven't puked yet, but many food turn me off... haha, i used to love eggs, but now, the smell of it makes me green...

hey gals
Just want to share... I just made payment thru VPOST for my product.
when I key in the promotion code : 051AN3J
$10.00 was off my shipping charge!! so instead of $27 I paid only $17.
This promotion code end 31 Aug ( if I'm not wrong).
In case you dunno where to key...
When u receive notification from Vpost that item has received and need u to made payment, when u click on the link they provide, will bring to a page whereby they show the item reference no. ( I think) and right below there is a box for you to key in Promotion code.

Happy shopping!

Ok back to work...
Oh....btw.. this week I'm so busy and so stress out with all my work, everythings seems out of the way... I cried last nite after work before started driving back home... think I'm too stress out...But it was good to have a good cry, (I hasn's cried for sometime already).
I felt much better now...
Thanks for listening...

Mashy brainz
I too transferred the money...pls look out..thanks.

cookie
Sayang...sayang.. u cried ah?? After crying, ok right... cheer up!

hey cookie,
dun stress, understand how you feel. Sometimes, the work is so overwhelming and you have no idea where to start... for me, I'm just counting down the days until my maternity leave starts... hang in there!

Think of your bb and hubby, just 5 more months more to go..!

Morning gals ... yeah!!! TGIF!!!

Krissie - the caterer is not halal... oh, bout the ribena, u were saying which kinda packaging? the bootle syrup kind or..? been drinking it very often, cos i cant stand plain water...

Mashy - ya, i think sleepingdeer's idea is good, a cushion will be nice..

hey gers, when ur go swimming, do ur stil swim normal breaststroke or freestyle? i thought i might just use a swimming board n do some kicking, less strenous... *had 2 bleeding episodes in 1st trimester, so dare not b so adventurous..*

thanks stylo, Mh, sleeping deer!!

sleeping deer..
last ntie the last straw came when I call my HB and he also need to work late and cannot accompany me home...it's ok to go home alone but sometimes when u feel very stress out.... u juts need some one to be there... anyway...

ok rush for meeting now... talk again

me too lazy to make the ribena so, bought the cheerpack type.. is tat ok for us?

sysa
How much did u pay for the fetal monitor? Thinking of getting 1 too...

Hi cookie,
Don't stress! Get your hubby to pamper you when you go home. Just think about your baby to relax you.

Ribena makes me puke leh... I dunno why. I drank the packet kind twice and both time I had to puke after that. And this puking was when I'm already passed the MC phase.

Celine,
I swim normal breaststroke. If you swim slow and steady shoudl be ok. I only did 1 or 2 laps of freestyle in between , but it is more strenous. I think backstroke is the best (easiest and good for the back) but well, always scared of knocking into people or walls.

babylon,
I think maternity leave starts the day you go in labour. I don't think there is a gov definition that allows mother to claim maternity leave before that. If you want to go on leave earlier, think have to take your own leave? Unless you can make private arrangement with your company to take leave earlier but go back to work earlier as well.