(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Queen
N/T scan must be done in week 11 - 14. Results of N/T scan and triple test combined is supposed to be 90% accurate. I dun mind going for these tests are they are non-invasive. Anyway, it's really up to the couple. Why dun you discuss with your hb. See what he says.

queen: tests are just tests, no doctor would guarantee the results. No tests give definite results. I have heard of triple tests giving false positives too.

I will be taking NT scan only. If results shows I am under high risk, I might consider taking the triple test. Unless baby has severe condition, I would not consider abortion.

Please note that amniocentesis carries a risk of miscarriage of between one in 200 and one in 400.

Actually no one can accept if their bb is gng to be DS or if high risk of contracting DS....Pray. God will not give us ds bb , God only gives us good things.

etelle
I think pregnant woman immune system is suppressed during pregnancy so may prone to more err common illness like cough and such. I think I read it somewhere that's why sometimes we will be asked to avoid crowded places.

I think I have strange ley, when I'm at home during weekend... I feel so uncomfortable and sick ley... but when I'm working in office today, I dun as much uncomfort as over weekend... me so strange...Lau2 Lu4 Ming4...

curly
who will be your gynae after 11 weeks?

Mashy
Yes I'm so blessed
I'm so anxious to see BB again....I heard usually 1st trimester Gynae will see us like twice a mth... but my gynae only arrange to see me once a mth...I hope everything is fine with BB... sometimes I'm so paranoid, I get worry alot...

Hi cookie
yeah my gynae also arrange to meet me once a month. Usually it is once a month so no need for paranoid...hee hee

My cough seem to have recovered but when i cough out the phlgem today. I noticed the spotting of blood again. Sigh. But when i coughed, i can still feel the pain. It's just that it doesn't cough excessively now. Sigh. I think maybe becuz i already started taking all the fried stuff and heaty stuff so it's like not allowing it to heal completely hor?? Hee hee.

long time didn't chat here. :p i notice that my m/s subsides a bit. (yeah !!!) but on the other hand, i am worried if bb is ok.....

hi etelle
if you have cough, better don't take fried stuff, heaty stuff and also cool stuff.

queen

that's why my hb and i decided not to take the test. In case there's false positives. Just wanna check whether there's any heart/kidney/liver probs.

Hi Sunny
i thought take alittle cooling stuff be alright? I took chrysanthemun yesterday from the Fu Hua medical. WAnt to soothe the throat and ease the heatiness.

Mashy
Not taking the DS test?

etelle

yah, not taking the test. but i will check with the dr how to find out abt genetic disorder.

And heard cannot take cooling stuff leh. But since your throat is infected, think u better consult a doctor. Drink more water.

YuenYuen,

i can oso very confused whether to take the DS test or not coz..what if test the bb is DS..am i going to abort it?
if i am not going to abort it..what is the purposes of doing the test...i am still deciding whether to or not..i can't remember whether i did for my first one..i can only remember that i did genentic test and HIV test..maybe all the test are together...can't remember..

anyway i am 30 this year

babylon

my gynae advised us not to do it if we intend to keep the baby even if got DS. Coz' there's a 5% false positive in doing OSCAR. U might be worried for nothing.

Babylon
I didn't do the NT Scan for my first kid as I was younger than and the blood test was sufficient.

This time the gynae suggest NT scan as the risk of DS increases with age and at 34 the risk is 1:307. Just did the NT Scan today(similar to normal scan but gynae is more detailed and took about 20-25 mins) and with the scan my risk of DS bb is now 1:1000 and thus gynae advised that need not do the blood test now which is more expensive.

can do the blood test during the next visit. It does not impact the result just that it is cheaper to do it later and since the risk is down to 1:1000 needn't do it today.

All such DS test is unneccessary if abortion is not an option.

My baby is considered to be on a smaller side although I am 13+ weeks from the measurement the bb is only about 12+ weeks so the gynae gave me multi-vit although the size is still not a huge concern. Must be due to my bad MS.

hi babylon
i agree with you. If find out bb got ds going to abort if not then no point in knowing. But certainly pray that God bless us all with normal healthy bb.

My friend did blood test think not too expensive maybe a couple hundred but the amino test is expensive 1k+ so.....

Yuen yuen
Good to hear that bb is doing well and all is fine.

Etelle
I've just called the clinic. Triple test is $80.

Etelle: the triple test is optional, there is a routine blood test for pregnant womem, test ur antibodies against HepB, rubella, red blood count etc

Hi gals...
last nite bad nite for me... I had terrible diarrhoe right after dinner and even wake up at 3pm to toilet due to churning stomarch and morning 1 more time....
Then back at office, after breakfast vomit almost everything out...

So far my MS vomitting never in morning always at nite so this morn is first time, I dunno if the vomitting is due to stomarch flu or MS...

Then worse went to see Co doc and already told him I'm pregnant then he claim the midication prescribe is safe for pregnancy, I just run a check on internet on the 2 medicine and notice the one for vomitting according to the manufacturer is not recommented for pregnancy

then the drug to stop the diarrhoe only tested on animal and not adverse effect but no studies has been done on pregnant human before so it's like take at own risk....faintzzz
SO end up... now I dun dare to take both medicine...

Etelle
I asked Dr Ho last visit abt NT scan... he straight away say he will do it in my next appt.. never ask me if I want or not....
but he never say anything abt blood test, maybe based on the NT scan then he recommend.

Hi Cookie
i think you better go abck to your co doctor and make him know that you are pregnant and that the drugs he gave you is not suitable. Or see another doctor? Cuz if not how you want to cure your diarhhoea??

Oh Dr Ho never ask for opinion then just do one ah...haha so steady ah him ha ha :p Maybe the Nt scan is the blood test or what? My friend do blood test then test out that she is high risk then ask her to do the amino test leh

The NT scan is quite simple - i did it last Tue and 3 weeks before last Tue. For me, my gynae just checks for swelling behind the baby's neck. He checked for me twice leh... I also dunno how much it cost... cos i din ask for the breakdown... will see my gynae in a month's time... I should be doing all the tests (what triple test, blood test, non-invasive tests). Amniotesis test, i wun do if not required, i think.

etelle
the usual lady co doc I see is on urgent leave for 1 week so I bo bian got to see this male doc and I dun trust him one lor... that's why I came home and run a check on internet before take medicine.
Angry ley....
SO far nothing come out for my diarhheoa liao maybe cos my BF all vomitted and last nite LS all out...I just took lunch... see later what happen.
My friend suggest I take 100plus wor...
Do u think it work? I suppose we can drink 100plus now...

the NT scan is not blood test ley I think... it should be a scan but gynae will count the folds or something on baby neck etc....
But Dr Ho did mentioned got to do blood test for other stuff... I dunno what he never say in detail but I also checked I have antibodies for rubella and I'm vaccinated again HepB etc...maybe there are more test to run ba.

Ok I go sleep now... see if I get better...

I still feel like vomitting now... confused... dunno is it MS or the upset stomach.

Hi cookie,
I think 100plus helps in replenishing the essential electrolytes in your body that are lost through vomitting and diarrheoa. Cos this is what the doctor tells me when I was hospitalised for food poisoning a few years ago. But not sure whether it will stop the diarrhoea though. As for the vomitting, I think the commonly used drug for pregnant ladies is Maxalon. If that is what your co doc gave you, should be ok lah.

Hi Cookie
so you are now on MC at home??? Rest well leh. Poor thing. I can understand the feeling if vommitting is damn uncomfortable....Actually i also quite scared about taking medication even though prescribed by GP leh. Somehow feel dun know whetehr they GP got hear what i say or not ha ha :p You know pregnant take medicine and not pregnant take is different leh ha ha :p

cookie: sorry to hear about ur condition...perhaps it is food posisoning, u can try to take rice water or glucose.

I got food poisoning in my last pregnancy and I went to gynae for the med and teh gynae give me a jab so that I recover faster. If u are unsure, suggest u go back to your gynae.

take care!

If you are having doubts about the medication prescribed by GP, then go to gynae straight away. Like I mentioned earlier, I feel more comfortable seeing my gynae than visiting GP. I don't want to put myself at doubts and make my sickness worst.

Yah confused, not NT scan lah, it's just the usual scanning.

cookie, my gynae is Dr SC Chew but now I'm seeing Dr Charles Lim.

Girls do you have like bra marks under your breast afetr wearing bra for one whole day. Is it due to bra too tight or no matter what also sure have the mark one. Pls enlighten.

hi etelle
yap, i have. it's due to bra too tight. there are mtbs buy the extension and sew it so to save $$.
if not, you can start buying bigger size already.

Sunny
but then i bought the extension and wear then also the same leh....Hmmmmm what's the reason ah?? Maybe because the cup too small possible?I think my cup size increasing liaoz the length still like also increase alittle bit. The extension no need so long just hook on.

Etelle: time to buy new bras..
yah, another is the underwire thingy...

I prefer to wear without the underwire now cos I feel that is is tight sometimes...

MH
I think okie lah i am not thsoe water melon or papaya type should be fine...hee hee marks and spencer seem to have evry nice ones i go see see

I bought my maternity bras from thyme maternity, they are having sale at $19ea. The price is comparative to norm bras. I only bought 2 cos running out of sizes but I will be going back to buy bigger size to keep.

Etelle,
I feel maternity bras have more rooms to stretch, while our normal bra are not so comfortable after some time. Then we may need to change very often. Since the price is $19, down from $49, I would want comfortable wear.

Hi berlin
oooh maternity bra got room to stretch ah? Mmmm i also want strapless one...and also got cup size? padded?

Do you all still continue with your skincare regime during pregnancy??

Is it safe to use skincare products when pregnant??

Spring at Raffles Arcade is currently having sale on maternity bras; 1 for $15

And their maternity coloured panties 2 for $9.90

Hi Juliann
seems like the spring at raffles arcade has lots to offer. I still use my skincare regime leh. I used biosource cleanser, anopur moisturiser and toner leh. anything wrong?

Hi evryone,

Havnt been posting lately.
Here's some updates to share with you all...

Gynae did NT scan for bb on Monday. Back of neck measured 1.6mm (<2.1mm) so its under low risk. Thank God! BB now abt 5.7cm. Although i remember shld be 12week exact but doc say it's abt 11+weeks. Dunno why but I guess it's an estimate from length of bb. Signed up for his package $525 (incls GST). So the NT scan &amp; consultation &amp; multivits all included liao.

Now, need to choose which Hospital...MtA or TMC? Anyone got any recommendations?

Next visit in 1 mth's time. Doc say will be doing Blood test. Yucky! I hate blood test! Already got fainting spells now. Take some more of my blood ... sure to faint one! Must "bu bu" nourished up b4 blood test.