(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Jappooh
me 2 have to wait 1 more month for next appointment. I am falling one week behind you due on 11 feb hee hee :p I also saw bb heartbeat on the 7th week and yeah through v scan as well...but well worth it right?

etelle
Hmm... usually even if I have flu/ferver like weakness in my body I try not to take medication. I quickly take vit c tablet, hopefully the flu will go away.

I think there is a natural remedy for sore throast... honey plus lemon I think... hmm I try to confirm again let u know.

try to bear with it... I have this feeling of uncomfortableness all the time esp during weekend
... hang on ok!

bye gals got to go meeting liao sian

Mama Chic at Specialist Shopping Centre is closing down on Thursday 30/06.

I find their maternity wear quite affordable especially the capri pants.

For those of you who wish to get some capri pants,maybe can go down to have a look.

Thursday will be the last day;maybe go down on last lay will have special discount

juliann: oh dear, luckily u told us. I think I will have to make time to go down.

Etelle: heard hot lemon and honey seems to help for flu and sore throat. Rest well.

Pochacco
The N/T scan has to be done from week 11-14. Will 23 Jul be past wk 14 for you?
You can try Perfect Mums at Arcade. But, as posted earlier, salesgirls are a bit pushy.. but pricing is quite ok.

It's up to you whether you wanna do the N/T scan and blood test or not loh.. the doc can't force you. I just did mine yest. It was $50. Actually, it's the same as the usual scan. But, the gynae will study the u/s scan longer and count the folds under the neck. Am so happy, coz doc says the results are within the normal range.. but Dr Ho was rushing yest, so didn't really get to ask him much abt the scan... My bb is ard 6.2cm.
So happy.. he says all 4 limbs and heartbeat are there and everything is normal... I was so sick last week, so was v worried abt bb. So relieved to hear that all is fine. Me doing the blood test (triple test) in 2 weeks time.

Confused
Which Spring did you go to? When I went to Spring (Suntec) on Sat, there had the 30% leh.. so sorry to make u waste the trip.

Cookie
For the past few nites, my m/s was quite bad. Last nite, only had half a pc of yam cake for dinner & then puked it out.. what do you gals do abt the pain in the throat after puking huh? Wah, it was so painful after I puked last nite.

Krissie - me yesterday went over alreadi... the salesgirl at Prefect Mum are really veri pushy... in the end i onli buy 2 dresses from them. - $130...
as for Spring (arcarde & suntec), i spent $100 for 1 top and 2 bottoms.
at carrefour - i brought 2 bra (bigger size than my normal bra) for onli $21 - quite worth it...
yesterday was really a shopping spin for me...

Hi Krissie,

my gynae didnt mention anything abt the NT scan to me. My next appt will be in my 12wks liao. SO i dunno will the gynae ask me to do that by then. I think is worth spending to $ to know that the bb is fine. At least not so worried.

Wow u gals all go buy maternity wear liao. I didnt buy any cos my sister will pass to me. Now i am still wearing my jeans.

Agree with you that the throat feel painful and uncomfortable after the puke.

higals

DUnno y this morning...I have terrible mood swing.. like see some of my colleague "Bu Sun Yan" for no apparent reason...
I siao liao...

me aso havent but any maternity clothes yet. still able to wear my working clothes. went to spring at century sq ytd, cant find anything that i like. dun koe how to buy....

i am aso able to claim from co for maternity. range from $1.5k to $2k depending on whether itz natural or c-section.
heard soem co pay up to 5k for employees. very good benefits...

my gynea didnt mention abt nt scan to me except the triple test. thot triple test cab aso check for Down Syndrome?

kriss
so far I dun feel very bad at my throat after puking... but the feeling before the puke is most buay tahan

last nite... lucky no puke... I ate some very nice durain... yum yum....

cawaii
so nice your co allow claim on maternity...
really good staff benefit... so supportive of Govt policy

Hi Cookie & MH
Thanks for your concern. I am recovering not fully but betetr. Instead of runny nose now clocked nose instead of irritable sore throat and cough. Now becomes non irritable sore throat and cough.

Krissie
Dr Ho was rushing yesterday? But it was a Monday. RUshing as in quickly wants to get it over ah? Not good leh like that hor...must take his time mah....

Hi Cawaii
so good ah can claim maternity for 1.5k to 2 k ....wow...wonder if the insurance my company buys for us covers that or not hee hee i will find out when i get back to office.

etelle
for past weeks.. I noticed I also have block nose when I sleep. when I sit right up, I'm ok... but when I lie down will have block nose, sometimes sub-conciously I breath with my mouth and when I wake up will have terrible sore throat...

cookie, me aso always feeling nauseous but cant puke. actually i rather puke.
try not to eat too much durian coz it will cause baby to grow bigger and us to put on weight.
co gives quite good staff benefit, at least when i go to approved clinic, dun hve to pay and no limit to amt. and when gp recommend us to see specialist, co will foot the bill.

etelle, try drinking starfruit juice but not sure if we can drink. whenever i hve sore throat, will take that.
actually itz an insurance plan which is subsidize by co. and i pay abt $20/mth and it covers me and hubby with maternity.

Hi Cookie
same feeling. Sit up straight no rpbolem. Lie down start having the uncomfortable feeling.I am now having problem in breathing hee hee :p breathe through mouth cuz nose totally blocked.

Hi cawaii
i will have to check out coy's insurance plan cuz i think i saw maternity word inside hee hee :p

sorry to interrupt..
anyone want to buy sarong net?
i have 2 sets of sarong net (green & blue) for sales. use for 1/2 time only.
selling off at $5.00 per pc
interested pls send email to me at [email protected]

hello gals

Sorry that i cant chat with u gals all the time. Boss watching me very closly n yesterday got scolded from him. (yo! i chat too much until i neglect my work) i'll come in n chat when i can.

krissie - its ok. Really ah? all the items at Spring? i went to suntec outlet. i only saw the display stating 15% discount. myabe i'll go down tis week again to see.

Etelle - Drink more water yeah! u can oso drink honey. i oso got block nose n got the use my mouth to breathe. Couldnt really sleep at night

cookie - yo! u so funny leh, got such mood swing. me too last week got mood swing (had a quarrel with hubby over a magazine)
think of it find it very funny n silly. I dont know whether it helps u gals or not, whenever i feel like puking, i eat suan1 mei1. and after that ok liao.

hi confused
yah then better dun come in and chat when he's looking wait he blacklist u..i think sour plum can help in puking leh hee hee aftertaste better ha ha :p

cawaii
ya ok... will not eat too much... my MIL bought for me (but my HB pay)... so I split into a few days to eat.

confused
ya better dun come in liao... come in after work ba, my office alos very open concept one everyone can see what u doing one... so I also difficult to come in contribute. Only come in at ntie to read or lunch time like now.
kekekee.... I think I still feel a little angry withmy colleague yesterday that why I no good mood when see her/ them.

just side track abit... actually right now other than my boss ( who need to know) abt me preggie I never tell my colleague lor. I felt want to share good news after I'm more stable probably in week12... but hor.. my colleague they very kaypo and san-ba ley... keep analysing.. how come I dun go gym now, suspect I pregnant. I mean... if I never tell them I have my reason, I think should respect others decision... maybe I really mood swing... this is actually little thigns la...

Hi cookie
yah lah colleagues are like that one. Are you close to them? Hee Hee or all along you dun really like them so u dun want to share with them??

I also only informed my boss but then ah i also informed my colleagues working with me. Hee Hee they overjoyed for me and taking very good care of me leh hee hee :p

oh so it's updated hee hee. I am still sick at home today. the cough seems to be ggettin worst this minute. Every 2-3 minute cough leh aiyo.....bad bad bad....wonder how to cure it....hee....

Gals - who will be doing the confinement for you???

Me in bad situation, Mum wanted to do for me provided i stay at her house cos she also need dto take care of my sister and brother but unfortunately husband don't wan cos he wans the bb to stay at our own hs.
He ask his mum to do for us but his mum always gives all sort of reason - well, i know she doesn't wan cos she alway suggest getting a confinement lady would be better... i also dun wan her to do in this case...
sometimes i am so angry - feel like doing it myself...

Pochacco
mY mother will be doing confinement for me and my mother in law will also be coming to cook for me. My mother will stay overnight and take care of everything from washing, cooking to taking care of bb while mother in law said she want to cook for me and come everyday also to look see but will go back one...hee hee

actually i prefer my own mother to stay with me cuz u can whine and ask mother to do this and that but mil i dun dare ha ha but her cooking is better than my mum so cook for me also good hee hee :p But she evry sweet leh told us that we have to pay our mother the market rate also dun becuz it's own mother then underpay her hee hee :p

Hi Pochacco
dun think u want to bring bb and everything to mum house right. So troublesome and i think most hubby also wun like the idea....but actually hiring confinement lady also not bad. My sil got hers from malaysia quite good leh hee hee :p 1.8k i think hers also during new year period...

Pochacco: I am in a dilemma too. My daughter is now being taken care by my mother. If I ask my mother to help with confinement, she may be overstretched. So I am thinking of getting a confinement lady or sending my daughter to childcare.

i aso havent decide whether to engage a cl. both mum and mil working. mil mentioned the other day, asked my hubby's aunt to help to cook and then maid can help look after baby.
i heard itz more ex to engage cl during cny period. anyone knows watz the mkt rate?

Hi MH
so are you working urself? if yes putting in child care for one month only or put for long term and then have your mother take care of the bb?

Hi BaoBao
heard also the rate now very high leh jialat hor. Thankfully me using mother. SO can be cheaper hee hee :p

Hi BaoBao
2 weeks alone $900 already ah wow expensive hor hee hee :p i am thinking of giving mother maybe 1200 hee hee...for the 1 month stay excluding the groceries buying lah. Does CL include groceries buying in the money she take?

Etelle

U wait long long. That does not include groceries hor. My mum not free cos she working oni can come in afternoon. For the first 2 week she afraid i can't manage . So i hire for 2 weeks loh. If not 1 mth is 2.3K leh. No point mah.

Hi Bao Bao
Wow 1 month is 2.3k ah......steady sia....which means the other 2 weeks morning u manage and afternoon ur mum come over and help ah??

BaoBao
good for you. Me alittle phobia about bb....hee so small and then so fragile...don't know what to do and espcially at night ...also don't knw what to expect and how to expect. I be probably breast feeding so i have to breast feed at night or maybe express out milk then my mum can feed at night....but they said some "nutrients" be gone if express out....Hmmmmm

Attending antenatal class or pre natal class will help ah in taking care of bb?

Etelle

For me i agar agar noe. Cos i take care of my younger bro and cousin since they birth. As for breastfeeding me oso first time. But i intend to pump out and feed him by bottle leh.

Oso not sure abt this maybe wait till baby born than say.

BaoBao

oooh i also take care of my little niece and nephew but with mum around lah then new borns like difficult to take care leh hee hee espcially the bathing part wow that's a killer hee hee :p

Yah breast feeding we have some time to think about it hee hee :p

Baobao: wow! 2.3k, I thought only 2k...

Etelle: I am considering that lor, much cheaper that getting a CL. But afraid that she will get sick easier in childcare.

Baobao: breastfeeding is not just about breastmilk only. It is also a special bonding time where you can feel your baby's contact, hold her close and look at his/her pretty face...

Modern Mum at Shaw Centre is having 50% dicount.

Spring at Raffles Arcade oso giving good discount.

Tops at $19 and bottoms at $25, tees only $12 exclusively Spring at Raffles Arcade.

Gals, please go grab some before the GSS ends.

The need for maternity wears becomes undeniable during 2nd Trimester.

Hi MH
yah it is true that child care centre is more vulnerable to disease but unless you have a better option??

Hi juliann
Thanks for your infor. What;s the operating houes for spring at raffles arcade?? I work till 5pm am at jurong leh. Don't know can make it there or not hee hee yeah i agree becomes undeniable during 2nd trimester hee hee but me haven't reach there yet..

Pochacco
Wow.. you bought so many stuff liao..

Jappooh
I think it depends on the gynae. My colleagues gynae didnt offer her to do the N/T scan, only the triple test. If youre keen, maybe you can call the clinic up to check. Actually, I find the scan quite fast, maybe 12 mins longer than usual for doc to check the neck fold. But you might wanna book time slot for it if youre really keen. You must do it during your next visit as it has to be done b/w wk 11-14.

Cawaii
Triple test also checks for down syn. But, individually, N/T and triple test is only 70% accurate. If its combined, I think will be up to 90% accurate. Pls see earlier threads for the details on this. This is based on my memory.. so just in case I misquote.

Etelle
Ya, a bit rush yest, but Im not too sure if its coz he might have a delivery later in the afternoon. The clinic was quite empty leh..as I was the first to go in after his lunch. If not, maybe hes in a bad mood.. all the other patients after me also v fast.

Cookie / Confused
Me also have blocked nose at night. Its one of the preg symptoms loh, nasal congestion.

Confused
2 racks on the right were having 30% leh.. on Saturday lah..

Pochacco
Dun think can do confinement yourself I heard from my friend that during the initial period after birth, its best that we dun bend and move so much.. so its better to get someone to help loh.. also, for first time mums, maybe we can't cope so well initially when bb cries (and we can't find the reason) or have problems breastfeeding, then, we might be very moody, etc (that's why some pple have depression)... maybe you can check with your friends who have given birth and see what they say lah... Confinement time, its best to take care.. if not, when were old, will have many pains and aches.

Juliann
Thanks lots for the updates on the sales. Am hoping to go Spring during lunch today.. hopefully can make it.

etelle
err... ok lar... me and colleagues, I think they will be joyful for me but still I wanna the whole thing to be more stable then release... :p

Pochaco
I think my MIL will do for me.. but hor cannot tahan my MIL... she tell me "maybe", then I ask her cannot maybe cos if due CNY I must find confiement lady in advance if she cannot... then she tell me DUN GET confinement lady. But hor now she is taking care the 2 kids for her daughter cos her daughter cannot get maid so end up she take care... anyway its kinda messy for my case. Anyway my HB, her son think her mum will do it for us lor... so I suppose so.
Hiya too bad my mum cna't do for me...
then more faint... my MIL ask me to go her place to do confinement but I wanna stay at my own place ley....

kriss..
block nose also syptoms ah... then is cough too..?? kekeke... today I have cough and block nose even if sitting up...faintzzz....

NT scan is a more accurate scan than the triple test, as told to me by my nurse. My test came back good and so need not proceed to do the Amniocentesis Test

As for me, I have asked my mum to do confinement for me and she has agreed. She will be moving to my house for the month. My dad will be coming over to as and when he's free from work. Both of them can cook for me. As for the cleaning & washing, I will be hiring a part-time maid 2x a week.

I am staying in CCK and so when I have the contact for the part-time maid, I can pass on the contact for those who are living in this area. My mum knws her and so will be asking her to come over to my place 2 x a week to wash & clean.

An update:

I have bought a stroller. It was $229 and after discount, I paid $169 I have also bought a baby cot at the Baby Hyperstore (Kaki Bukit). It comes with the mattress, a pillow (+ case), 2 bolsters + cases), fitted sheet, and a comforter. The free gift is a baby gym mat . Only paid deposit and it will be delivered end Nov so that it can be set up and decorated b4 baby arrives. It costs $299 down from $329 and is imported from Denmark. Going to buy the Aussino Baby bumper set to decorate the cot soon.

Ladies, can think abt getting the more expensive items now with the GSS still on.

Thanks gals for your reply and advise... me still have some time to consider... kekeke...

Sysa - wow, you so fast buy the barang barang for BB...

Krissie - me got to buy lots of things first cos most of my skirt are too tight and must change... today i start wearing my maternity skirts... veri veri confortable...

Hi Krissie
The first time i went to Dr Ho also about 10-15 minutes. Pretty fast also. maybe he has something on lah ah? Give him the benefit of the doubt

Bbay hypermart sounds cool ha ha but don't know if it's too early to buy now hee hee only going on 8 weeks for me. Maybe when 4th onwards or what then wait and see hee hee :p

I also want to go buy clothes. The new pants i bought L size is only just nice and i am feeling the tightness already even before eating hee hee :p