(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Ha ha Cheng was the first person who told me about it but we never make it there.

Am so glad that aden's cc is bringing him ha ha because i am scare of butterfly coming too near me ha ha

CL

hehe, you're not alone. I hate creepy crawlies, stuff that flies esp into your face, and slimy creatures. I always find these stuff nice to look at from afar but not so close.

My boy's cc also has lots of outings. They just went to Esplanade for a play. Next month, they're going City Harvest for a children's day party.

My boy's cc supervisor just called. They're going United Square tomorrow for another outing.
It sounds interesting, thought u gals may wanna bring your kids there. It's a mini Children career fair and the kids get to play as adults working in various sectors. TOm's the preview, think after that should be open to public.

Tracy
ha ha it is 1 Feb - problem. Same birthday same phobia

Mashy
You know hor. Frogs, snakes etc I oso cannot stand see them in books. ha ha

Interesting fair ho

Just now dumped my gal to do her tummy exercise and she fell asleep! Well, it kept her sleeping for the past 2.5hrs already. :p Maybe this will be my new routine for her.

CL
Books also cannot? hahaha. At least books for me still ok. Just no models. :p

Just now made Shepherd's pie for dinner but added too much water to the mashed potatoes. So now it's going to be potato stew instead. Hahaha.

oily

yah, coz my boy can't take milk mah, so add water lor. hehe, really squeezed out time in the morn to prepare. I've to make lunch for myself & dinner every night.

mybrestfriend pillow & electric bottle sterilisers
Currently sourcing for a 2nd hand one. Aileen couldn't find her breastfeeding pillow so I'll need to source for another one. If you're thinking of selling yours or if you don't mind loaning yours to me, do let me know. I'll only need it from Jan-Feb next year.

Mashy
Normally I'll use more milk and less water in making mashed potatoes. But I remember ur boy is lactose intolerant, so, you may wanna try adding water alittle at a time to test the consistency of the potatoes rather than pouring all the water in at once.

Fr Shepherd's pie to potato stew

Guess what, my hb n C loves it! ahaahaha! In fact they both prefered it like this. Pig food.

Mamapanda
I should be done with my breastfriend pillow by then. Will let u know.

Mashy
Haha! My hb likes potato stew too. Actually, how bad is ur boy's lactose intolerance? I'm also slightly lactose intolerant but I can tahan addiing abit of fresh milk (like Magnolia fresh milk and meiji fresh milk) and water in my mashed potatoes. If ur boy's intolerance is not that bad, you can try adding alittle to check his reaction. Have u tried letting him drink small amounts of magnolia or meiji fresh milk? I can still drink small amounts of these 2 milks without getting stomach upset. Other milks I've tried gives my stomach upset.

BTW, thanks for offering ur breastfeeding pillow.

mamapanda

he's allergic la, not lactose intolerant. Gets rashes fr milk. A bit better already n have been giving him small amts of by prod.

ky
I'm still searching and doing my homework on how to go about to start homeschooling. there are quite a number of homeschooling support group in singapore, so i been trying to digest as much as i could and decide which method i gonna use. my initial plan is to homeschool till K2.. haha shall see how everything goes.

sorry, can you PM me your blog add again?? recently i formatted my lappy, lost your blog add. TIA!

CL
looks like a very interesting place for the kids! but eh... caterpillars gives me goose pimples.

SY
we be going to jacob ballas garden this weekend =)btw, did you got my PM??

mashy,
some babies prefer sleeping on tummy. Duncan was and still is like that
It'll keep some sleeping much much longer!

mashy,
mind if you share your sheperd's pie recipe? I love to eat it but don't know how to make :p

and can someone share how to make japanese rice? need mirin? or just vinegar, sugar and salt? TIA!

Long time no see!

Aileen,

Good choice! Like CL, I don't think I can turn SAHM - Charmaine would probably drive me nuts. I really liked working PT though - it's the right balance. Unfortunately, my co. didn't like it as much. Well... we are all entitled to our opinions and we make our choices according to them....

Wanna ask mummies for recommendation for confinement ladies? Preferably can cook well and supportive of breastfeeding... Pm me?

Aileen
you mean sushi rice..for the sushi vinegar, it consists of the following ratio:
Japanese rice wine vineegar 9tbsp
Sugar 6tbsp
Salt 1tbsp

Aileen

Mine is a own self made recipe based on what i like. :p

Here goes:

Minced Pork (u can use minced beef/minced chicken too but remember chicken is abit drier, so you will need a little more water later)
Chopped Carrots
Peas
Minced Onions
Potatoes
Water/milk
Margarine/Butter
Worchester Sauce
Soy Sauce

1) First I marinate the minced pork with soy sauce and corn flour.

2) Fry Onions, add pork. After the pork is cooked, add carrots, add worchester sauce, stir fry a bit and add some water and bring to boil. Simmer at low fire. At the end of it, add the peas.

3) Boil Potatoes, after that mash them with water/milk & margarine/butter. U can do this manually or use a blender. Blender will make it smoother. Add Salt & Pepper to taste.

4) Preheat Oven. I use abt 220 coz my oven doesn't have the fan.

5) POur the Mixture (2) onto a casserole, top with the mashed potatoes and make swirls on it.

6) Put into oven and cook for abt an hr till the top forms a brown crispy crust.

Oily
I think Ergo is better. Tried it before and it's really useful for the 'heavy wts'. :p

how to bring out EBM? CHilled & Room temp types. Do i need to reheat first or can i just bring them out chilled in an insulated bag, then heat up whenever need to drink?

hi mummies...my maid is leaving this wed for good. we have also decided to put away our decision to put them in full day childcare. couldn;t bear the thought to leave them there to sleep and actually having to bring their personal items like mattress covers, pillow, bolster, blankets. in the end, we decided to stick to zoophonics for C and start J next yr. my mum agreed too since she is always against the idea of putting them to childcare after being one for more than 3 yrs. so the deal is that my mum would care for both after C and J knocks off from 1230pm to 6pm. i will be changing my working hrs from 8am to 5.30pm so that i can reach hm by 6pm and relief her. housework will be done by those part timers over the weekend. told my mum strictly no cooking for dinner except the kids porridge. i hope this works. told my mum i would increase her allowance too since we now have one bill (maid's pay and expenses) off our list!

with that said, we are planning for a trip to HK and shenzhen in oct. bringing the kids to disneyland again and ocean park. hee.... hopefully the coming mths would be OK! else then plan 2, maid or childcare again.

Mashy, your girl going out without you? If you are going out with her, then you can feed her fresh milk n not EBM, right? I've not much experience in bringing out ebm but my guess is chilled and reheat when needed but then u'll have barang barangs to bring out. I used to just sling my baby with go out armed with 2 diapers and wet wipes.

.ky.

SSF
your mum is fantastic! she can actually care for 2 by herself? wow really good.

mashy
last time when i bring out ebm i will put it chilled in insulated bag and warm up only when they need to drink. but then isn't it easier to just latch her?

sl
good news? congrats! my one is not bad. when are u due? i can ask my fren for her contact cos i lost all my contacts hwen i lost my phone....

rachel
yup got your PM. hee, havent given access yet. i have been so slow and lazy in blogging..not much to read...

ky/sy

aiyah. coz my gal takes so long, so i find myself spending more time in nursing rooms than outside shopping. When she becomes more eff, then latch directly.

sl
Congrats!!! So when's your EDD?

SY - i hope my mum can handle. anyway will see for the next weeks to come. in sept, i am also clearing my leave and will work only 3.5 days a week so maybe the real test would be from oct onwards.

SL - congrats!!! so to recap now, only Cookie and Denmy are on 3. haa..without maid now, i think i really have to stop at 2. no second thots abt it!

Hi Mashy, would you try nursing in public? I can't bear sitting in nursing room too. You can try nursing just before going out and with all the distractions outside, the baby may forgot about the hunger *grin*

.ky.

ky

done that before lor. Feed her during meal times at the restaurants. My gal doesn't forget her hunger easily. sigh

i still dunno how to sling n bf at the same time. what position to use?

Hehhe... I think sl did not actually said that she's preggers.

But let's hope it's good news from her!

sl,
Confirm your good news if it's true!

mashy,
I use the MIM sling. Use the cradle position. I can even sling and BF while walking around shopping! Only thing is switching breast is a bit tricky... I typically go to some quiet corner and ask my HB to shield while I switch breast discreetly in the sling. I still prefer to use the nursing room is there is a clean one available ... nowadays, Matthew finishes in about 15 mins, quite fast. But I can understand your frustrations about your girl taking too long to nurse. Matthew was also like that for the first 2 to 3 months and I felt it was a waste of time spending 30 mins or so in the nursing room. So end up using the sling to BF.
I don't ever bring EBM out if I can BF direct. But I remember for Isaac, there were a few times I brought EBM out to add to his cereals. I also brought it out in a cooler bag and then reheat using hot water.

mashy
Think I posted a pic before on how I sling A and bf her in public (the pic was taken in vivocity). Let me see if I can find it again.

eventually, as I get used to it and as A got bigger (I stopped bf her on her 2nd birthday), I stopped slinging her and just bf her in plain view. Its quite convenient to do so if you're wearing proper nursing wear. If the looks bother you, just cover yourself with a broad, thin shawl.

anyone know if there is any holiday programmes from any ctrs for our tots tis nov/dec? thot of taking leave to bring them for classes. let me know if there is any cos need to take leave in advance. everyone in my office is rushing to apply leave already.

SSF, nov/dec courses usually at the beginning but u wouldn't know the dates/details until prob early Oct (if the org is efficient)

.ky.

mashy,
with duncan i bf him directly in nursing rooms. they get faster by practicing. he took only about 15mins. but during my trip to malacca, i had extra ebm and the hotel has no freezer so i brought along in my FTG bag which can last chilled about 8hrs. when i need to warm up, i actually use the tiger porridge flask. it can keep the water hot for very long and when i need to warm up, i jus dump the whole bottle inside and shut it. it takes only awhile and its hot already. for those thermos flask, gotta pour out into cup several rounds then it gets hot. but it's bulky to bring the tiger porridge flask. alot of things to bring. feed in nursing room easier but takes up time.

till now, i haven been able to master the MIM sling or the pouch...sigh...

tracie

me too! I also haven't been able to master the sling. sigh... Will have to practise a few more rounds. Now just waiting for 3mths when i can start using my Ergo Carrier on her. My diaper bag is already so heavy with so many stuff. Gosh, can't imagine having to load with hot water.

Tracie/Queen
When do they start to take only 15mins to finish? My gal is not consistent. Sometimes 20mins all done. Sometimes takes forever to finish.

Re: 3 kids

I think one of the main issues that i won't wanna have a 3rd kid will have to be this breastfeeding thing. It really sucks the life out of u.

Mashy/Tracie, give Sam at MIM a visit and ask her to demo ... I didn't know how to use a sling too until I saw her demo in an exhibition. Just a cloth and with just one hand, one can make the baby lie down or sit up. The trick is all in how the cloth's being arranged and with 1 tug, u'll know which part would be tighten or loosen. And most importantly is to see that the baby's bum is covered entirely. When K was younger, I'll sling him and free both hands to carry groceries and so I thot the most useful item I ever have is my MIM sling. It just lost its place in my bag recently coz K's no longer interested in being carried in the sling :-<

.ky.

Re. Dental checkups
Do you all bring your todds for regular dental checkups? Isaac has never been to a dentist and I wonder whetehr I should start him on dental checkup. Does anyone has a good dentist to recommend? Good with kids with reasonable charges. TIA!