(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Queen

It ok lah. When i haven't pregnant my MIL oredi say she won't look after my baby liao.

so i got to take care myself, got my hubby to help me wif confidment for the first week. My mum will come and cook for me.

queen - myabe your MIl didnt expect u to get preggy so soon cos nowadays most couple want to enjoy er4 ren3 shi4 jie4. ya! its always like tis, usually our own parent n sibling more gan cheong.

me too not pan tang but sometimes think that its better to prevent lor. Yesterday i saw my cousin bb n i feel so guilty cos i eat alot of junk food n hot stuff n afraid bb will suffer lor.

Confused
Good to hear that it helps.. for serious days, try grapefruit juice.. that one is super effective. Aiyo.. your in-laws are very serious.. I think you just ignore them, ok.. What to do, they are your hb's family. Anything, can complain to us..

Cookie
Ha ha.. maybe your bb loves fish porridge?
seems like u prefer non-oily food, so you try to eat those more plain / soupy food, see if it helps.

Queen
Me too.. I used to love yong tou fu. not hate it.

I have so much to catch up in 2 days

I will be 11 weeks tomorrow and gog to see gynae on Fri. My symptoms are basically the same. I am alright in the morning and afternoon. Come evening, I have this awful taste on my tongue and need to eat anything sweet. Still can't eat much though. I drink lots of milk and take at least 3 apples a day. I will eat a mango on alt days. With all the fluids and fruits, I do not have any constipation (so far so good).

I have bought some maternity clothes & baby stuff. Can't help it. See sthng nice must buy
My mum has also been picking up little cute clothes.

Currently, am scouting around for a playpen, stroller and a car seat. Went shopping over the weekend to do market research. Will likely buy the items before the GSS ends in Jul.

Hope you gals are shopping too.

Etelle - yalor! like ghost how to talk. I think they are waiting for us to say sorry to them. I'll never say sorry to them (make their head even bigger) my hubby treat me better liao ever since i quarrel with them. ( PIL n SIL attack hubby lor, then i buay tahan tell them off)b4 that hubby believe them more than believing me. (PIL bought breakfast for us - when i juz got married n i didnt ask them to buy .i even thought of giving them some $ during mth end to my surprise he throw coins into the food (after buying the 3rd time) i refuse to eat n i didnt eat the whole day. Stupid hubby didnt even say bring me out for breakfast or lunch. I only eat my dinner n after that i got gastric liao. bcos of my gastric i put on a lot of weight 9a got to eat all the time if not gastric come again) n when i told my hubby that FIL purposely put $ into the food he dont believe n call back n ask MIl n MIL say maybe FIL in a hurryn juz throw into the bag n after that say the food is not for us. Hubby believe them. My heart bleed n cried - i married to the wrong man

Gals- sorry to tell u gals my story. better go back to our topic if not u gals will say i cheong3 hei3 (long winded liao)

hi confused
aiyo ....so now your hubby treats you better and believe you now. It's difficult coping in a family like that but i think for all to stay harmoniously togetehr we have to give and take lor. I mean when we have done our best, then we just have to remain nonchalant to what the others want to do
so in the meanwhile know that we are all supporting you k

grape fruit think something like prune jucie which helps in digestion as well...Hmmmm i drink only orange juice and apple juice...started eating yogurt...what's the benfit of it any1?

Sysa
so fast buy liaoz ah? I was thinking of asking people to give haha Lp my sil said she will buy us a baby cot hee hee and then i see else who want to buy things for me then cana sk them to buy save $$$ ha ha

Girls
how to know if we have exceeded our required intake for the calcium, vitamin c? Cuz i drink milk in the morning then drink fruit juice sometimes ribena and all every drink is bound to have calcium or vitamin c and i was wondering would there be overdose

Bao bao - yes, can drink prune juice. but i think dont drink everyday.

Etelle - okie, thanks
if i not wrong, it helps in constipation n vit C. u take yogurt everyday ah? i dare not take leh cos i afraid too liang for me. i alter days. until i go for my checkup n everything ok liao then i start to eat.

Hi confused
nope yesterday was the first day i take. Hee Hee. And i dun really like it so can dun take ah thought it's one of the essential hee hee :p how many wks u into? I am 7 weeks in wednesday and only during the 8th week then meeting gynae. I think i repeated myself for the umpteen times hee hee *excited* can't help

confused

I feel so angry for you. Your PIL & SIL are so mean! So your hb's on your side now? Most imp he must be on your side lor, if not, it's so tiring to battle alone. No way to move out? You take good care. If u unhappy, complain to us, we'll be your listening ears.

Hi confused,

i understand how u feel. I have a bad temper SIL. And treat me like maid. Stay in my hse without paying anything but can still throw temper at me.
Luckily my hubby is always at my side and scolded his sister off. My PIL always listen to my hubby so i am still ok.

Sometime i just dun wan to put my hubby in difficult position then i go into my room loh. When u are unhappy come in here and talk to us.

do anyone always feel nauseous? I feel like thta for the whole day lei.

Now feel so tired. Later still need to go for class.

just went toilet to puke. Like to check with those who puke dun u all smell sour sour like that? This is the second time that i puke i it smell sour lei. Sorry abit gross. Anyone can tell me is it normal?

jappooh

it's the stomach acid. It's normal. U should try puking after drinking milk. kekekeke. The milk will curdle and look like tau hway. Now i get the sour taste in my mouth all the time. Just remember to drink plenty of water to ease off the acid.

Jappooh: when u puke, the content come from the stomach and since the stomach contains acid to digest food, u will definitely smell/taste sour...

I am trying to battle MS throughout the day too...

minhui

me too. MS so sian.

Do u gals find that u need more fresh air nowadays? If the room is stuffy, feel suffocated? I wanna puke everytime the room feels stuffy and i must open all the windows. Sometimes, i find not enough air i've to stick my head out of the window to get some.

Confused
Your story sounds so sad. I don't think your hb means to side them.. sometimes, men are quite simple-minded, so they might not see it from our angle.. you can try explaining to him. There was once my hb had a super huge quarrel with me over my MIL too.. I was very suprised as they're not very close...and still can argue with me over her and accuse me. I was so mad then. Then, I learnt my lesson never to complain to my hb abt my MIL.
coz he will misunderstand that I'm gossping abt her.
So, since your hb is very filial and close to them. It's quite possible that he might side them. Afterall, they are his parents.

Grapefruit juice is diff from Prune Juice. I heard that prune juice works for some pple, though it doesn't for me. You can try the Florida Grapefruit Juice from supermarkets. It's a bit sour.. but I like it. It's an acquired taste.

Etelle
Dun take too much Ribena. It has preservatives.

Jappooh
I also feel nauseous for whole day during the early weeks and always have the sour taste in my mouth. Sometimes, can even feel the food in my throat. Try taking something sweet or sour lah.

krissie

Really? Ribena got preservatives? Ai yah, didn't know. Still drinking leh. Thanks! I'll cut down on that.

Thank God my hb side with me lor even though he's a filial son. So i can just complain complain & complain to him abt his mom. He'll just listen lah. He said before, if he doesn't support his wife, who will? So i guess it's still possible to please both sides?

Mashy
So sweet of your hb..
Yup.. nowadays, I try to cut down on drinks with preservatives and artificial flavouring.

hi krissie
one less drink to drink ha ha :p cham...preservatives....my friend who cannot drink water drink ribena as a replacement le...Mmmmm and i recently just bought 24 packets of it. Gosh. How huh?

Etelle
You ration them loh. maybe one week, drink 1 pack? I also love ribena.. now change to florida grapefruit juice and lemonade, no preservatives / artifical colouring.

Hi Krissie
yeah just have to ration hee hee :p Florida grapefruit juice and lemonade sounds nice ha ha will try it out hee hee

Girls
i got 2 set of tablets from the GP when i was diagnosis pregnant. Folic Acid and Vitamin B. It is a MUST to eat the folic acid what about the Vit B. It has a strong foul smell and everytime i put it into my mouth there is an urge to want to puke. Do you girls have that too?

Hi Mashy
i got this vitamin B complex from the doctor leh told me to eat it every morning togetehr with the folic acid....oh cheaper if you buy urself is it? but would it be the same a doctor's??

oh is it?
then doctor one leh how much? what colour is yours? have you check with gynae is that the only one that we should take daily? other than that no otehr pills?

Hi Krissie
aiyah no need to take the vitamin B complex one ah thought it's a must leh ha ha :p gosh....to think i have bore with the smell of it for more than a wk liaoz *arg*

I am given Neurobion. Can buy Vit B complex from NTUC unity too. I ran out of that given by the clinic and so bought it from NTUC unity for $9.40. Dunno how much the clinc charges for supplements. I am now taking Caicium supplement (11weeks). Stopping vit b soon...

Etelle

dunno. Nurse only asked whether i need folic acid. Mine's yellow. Dr usually charge very expensive. I think someone in our group got hers from her dr very cheap already also $9 for 90 tablets.

prettycloud
calcium supplement given by gynae or u took on your own? And Vit b how you know when to stop leh?? Hmmmmm anywya i will continue to eat until i visit gynae lor...

The vit B I am taking, is white in colour, does have a smell ... If i am not wrong, taking high doeses of folic acid can mask deficiency in vit Bs. Perhaps that's why we are given. Read it from somewhere.

mashy: sometimes when I feel MS, I took deep breath and sometimes it helps...

Etelle: I think Vit B6 can help to reduce MS in some people, that's why ur GP give u that? Got my initial folic acid from Jurong Polyclinic at 1.50 for 30 tablets...and my previous and current gynae charge me $6 for the same no. of pills. Anyway, since I took up his package, I dun feel the pinch too much. My current gynae give me the pink prenatal vitamins. Do not know what is inside though...

etelle

i'm also taking calcium supp on & off on my own. They say coz baby needs calcium. If u don't take enough, baby will take from u.

Hi Mashy
okie then after i finished my course will go buy from unity hee hee maybe i bring her sample and buy first...anyway folic acid we have to eat until we give birth or what?

I am also thinking if i need Calcium supplement?? Will doctor know if we need calcium??

etelle

i also dunno. but i heard folic is crucial in first trimester.

Can just take calcium supp if u don't drink milk or take a lot of calcium food. U will definitely need more calcium.

Etelle, the doctor (actually the nurses) prescribed one. Said I can eat since I am going into 12 weeks soon(now 11weeks, will be 14wks when i see him again). Wait till your doc prescribes to you.

Hi Mashy
kinda dangerous right i mean to take off and on calcium on your own? I mean how do you know if you lack for that day????

Hi Minhui
mine vit B is yellow and doctor never tell me what it's for i assume it's for MS also...anyway they give we eat lor....

Prettycloud
By the way high folic acid can mask deficiency what do you mean by that???

I did ask my gynae (when I first saw him at 5weeks) when I shld start taking calcium supp. He said the bb hasnt started forming bones yet, so no need, then. I drink 1 glass of milk and 1 slice of cheese almost everyday.

Hi prettycloud
ooooh yeah whatever it is best to let the doctor prescribed ah. Haha
in the meanwhile just be contented stay joyful hee hee

Mashy
I drink one packet and one glass of milk a day. And well other cource of calcium erm...fruit juices ahve? I also don't know how much is enough and if we eat too much will our body dispense out the excess?

Etelle, we are taking 5mg of folic acid (which is pretty high doses, normally 400mcg/day is enough). If you are deficient in your vit Bs intake, prob cant see the deficiency symptoms. But shld be no problem, so many foods are fortified... cereals, nutrisoy... just eat a variety of food.

I also bought a big bottle of ribena... like those big bottles of f&n orange juice concentrate... drink once everyday.. :p Have to stop drinking so often now...