(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

So UP is highly recommended? Shall bring C to watch also

We'll be heading out to HK in Sep. C & I will be skipping school.Mummy & son pontang classes...haha...HB has his work mtg there & so we'll be going there 5 days before. He'll stay on another 4 days while C & I flies back on our own :p He's so looking forward to Disneyland!

sysac
yes yes Aden enjoyed it very much.

Wow how nice. I have not planned for next trip since it is H1N1. Am sure he will enjoy. Have fun

mashy ... the milk supply should regulate in the 2nd month ... if u keep maintaining the current pumping/feeding schedule, you'll feel the engorgement once u reduce. Situations like when u stopped night feeding or extend nursing intervals bcos you start to feed solid will too ...

Sysac, we just came back from HK! My boys love Disneyland a lot ... go enjoy! The weather should cool down then ... we had terribly hot weather that we were sweating buckets everyday there

.ky.

CL & Ky,

Oh great! Thanks! Since we confirmed the trip & told him we were going to HK. He has been mentioning Ocean Park. Don't know how he got to know Ocean Park is in HK too! When I mentioned Disneyland, he would reply "Go see the Mickey, Minnie, Donald, Daisy, Pluto, etc..."

Sysac ... Go and see the dolphin show in the earlier show in ocean park. When we were there, coz it's china's school hols, the 2.30 show was already full 20 mins beforehand, but luckily we went to the 11.30 show... really so super hot, so remember to bring a change of clothes in case u go to an aircon place after that n the kids catch a cold. oh, btw, the mickey mouse house in no more there ... but the disneyland parade is very nice n u do get wet (if u wish)!

.ky.

Ky,

Thanks for the tip. Yes, I wld usually bring spare sets of clothes for C when we are out.
Wld like to ask you. With the kids in tow, did u take the airport express into the city or did you opt for the airport transfer to your hotel?

I took the airport express followed by the free bus shuttle. We bought the 3-days unlimited pass with 2 airport transfers - HK$300 w $50 refund. Airport express takes 21 mins ... I didn't wanna be caught in traffic jams too long so didn't explore other options via the roads :0>

.ky.

Ky,

Ok...great! So will buy the 3 days unlimited pass with the airport transfers. Did you buy for your younger boy as well?

sysac

there's airport express passes that has discounts for groups of 2-4, so u may wanna get that if u are not going to travel often on the mtr for the next consecutive 3 days. The day that u take the airport express (day of arrival) is considered as day 1.

A few weeks back, i got my hb to send my boy to KK to check why he's so small size. Well, the results are out. He has a bone age of only 2yrs old and has a low growth hormone.
According to my hb who asked the dr (i couldn't go
), there's a 80-90% chance that he will eventually grow to 175-180cm but will be slower than the rest. He will start puberty much later than normal (like late sec/jc) meaning he will probably be teased & bullied by friends when he's younger. But there's still a chance that he may not grow to that stature. sigh. Going to review in 6mths time to see if he's growing within the range, if not we may have to consider growth hormones supp.

Hi Mashy,

You must be worried!

I understand how you are feeling but just to encourage you - look at the 80-90% chance and not the negative.....

What's most important still is that he is healthy.

yuki

yah, that's actually my pt in getting the tests done, so that i know that there's no other underlying disease or what.

The dr also said that wheat allergy can actually stunt growth. It only manifests in slow growth & has no other symptoms. So if after 6mths, he's still not growing within his graph, we'll have to check if he's allergic to wheat.

Hi Mashy,

What test can be done to see if he is allergic to wheat? Wny point in getting it done earlier so you can rule one factor in/out?

yuki

there's a test $150 that can be done at the dr's pte clinic. He said can wait till 6mths to c if he's growing at all.

ky
He's 90cm and 12kg. Yah, coz he hardly grows and is one whole head shorter than his peers. Your boy also very small right?

oh, btw, i'm considered abv average ht for a woman at 156cm and my hb at 175cm is average ht for man. So my boy will be taller than my hb coz of me. :p

hm, he's 12.9kg and 91cm, ya, very slow to grow too ... both hubby n I quite short n during Ultrasound scan, was told his legs are 2 weeks slower than the rest. Like the kor-kor ... but kor-kor on par with other kids we meet, but when I see other 6-yr-olds, they are 1/2 head taller than him.... I'll keep a watchout for their growths though.... both are doing gym n I think they might be doing it for a while n pushed into competitions ... so might not help with growth.

.ky.

Sysac,
I'm going to HK in Sep too! 8-12 Sep. When will you be there? Where are you staying in HK? I'll be staying at the Disneyland Hollywood hotel for 1 night.

Hi Mashy,

How to 'predict' our kids height? I had a shock when i read that the avg height for man is 175cm and for woman 156cm is consider above average?

I asked because if by such calculation, both me and hubby are considered above average. My hubby is already 183 and i am 163........

Err.... don;t want my gals to be too tall leh......

Mashy ... I'm abt 158cm. I don't consider myself abv average, but hubby's just a few cm taller than me. From what I see from my grandma to our parents to me, the height seem do get taller. Hubby's the shortest of the 3 brothers ... I'm not particular abt the height, but I may ask them to go play basketball or volleyball rather than judo ... *grin*

btw, can i ask how do you all store all the odd shapes art n craft items ... I'm starting to accumulate from Berries n there's no good way to store ... feel like throwing all away since it's mostly done by teachers to teach the child the word.

.ky.

ky

well, even tho u dun consider youself abv average, according to the stats, u r. :p

Your kids will prob be taller than your hb.

I got a big art board folder to store the flatter ones. The rest are still in a jumble. Prob will keep them in the photocopy paper box till i move hse.

hi mummies....i finally decided to ask my maid to leave after her contract is due in Sept. in fact its only abt 2 weeks left and to think i already bought her a 2 way tickets and insurance. anyway, glad that we sorted it out before i even proceed to renew her work permit. it all started with her asking for pay raise after we promise to give her a month leave and to give her an additional 1/2 mth pay when she returns. So we thought about it and decided on $340 and i told her that the highest i would give and for her to deliberate. then she replied few days later saying OK on the pay raise BUT she wants a day off. So i was sooo pissed off...i asked her what will she do on the day off. Basically she is a quiet lady and hardly had frds. it all started when hb bought her a new phone recently and i believe she started to make frds with maids ard my estate and started messaging and calling. those so call friends must be giving her ideas. Then i said "we are not keen on day off as we started off on the contract paying more without allowing day off". Hence, i told her maybe she shld just leave after her contract ended. then she said, ok no day off is fine but she wants time to pray at home. gosh!!! i rememebered vividly that the agency told me that the maids are not allow to pray. anyway, i told her no...bye bye!

then yesterday, there was a gathering by the indonesian embassy that encourages us to send their maid for the concerts. the event is from 10am to 3pm. so i told her i will send her after C's music class which ended at 12pm. so by the time i dropped her at orchard, it will be ard 12.30pm. she told me straight to my face" har? then see wat artist?" she requested that she followed her frd(another maid ard my block). super pissed off...she asked for hb's mrt card and even ask whether got value or not?? we let her go but i told her i am gg out and i will not pass her my house key. when i am abt to return, i will call her. shld be ard 6pm but i call her b4 leaving. then ard 6pm, we have yet to eat our dinner, so i told her i be back after dinner. when i returned hm, she was at my void deck, her face was sooooo black. she complaint that she waited 2 hrs plus for me and her backside ache. but i told her i said i will call u when i am returning. i mean too bad lor. u want to go out, i give u time so u must respect my time out. then when hb came back, politely asked her if she has eaten. she gave a black face and nodded. buay tahan mann!!!!

sorry just want to vent my anger! of cos i won;t bother talking to her much. 2 more weeks and i will hunt for a new one. now my hb is away for work for tis week. i asked my mum to stay with me and just be more vigilant.

sysac- although hk disneyland is so so but i kinda missed the fun my kids were having. i think J who is bigger now will enjoy it more. hmm....maybe i shld plan a second trip and include ocean park. haha...that's the nearest big theme park from Singapore.can;t wait for universal studio to open. just last wk when i was in Sentosa, i saw parts of the tracks of the roller coster rides ready. so high and looks fun!

BP - hee..i think its time to chg the high5 team. my frd was telling me the other day how the previous team are really getting out of shape and balding. haha...he was saying..so old and still act cute. haha..so far, i only like the original asian gal

ky - i am storing all of C's art and crafts. Will store until there is no space left cos abit wasted to throw away. sentimental! haha...

Queen - U are going during the school hols week rite? I am going 23-27 Sep. Staying at Royal Pacific Plaza in TST area. We did plan to stay at Disneyland but the plan didn't materialise :p Can't rem why now.

This is my 3rd trip to HK in a span of 17 years...haha...hopefully will enjoy myself lots more this time round.

SSF - Yep, think C is old enough to enjoy it now. HB has a meeting there. Initially, the plan was for C & I to join him but then he wld be held up in his mtg for 3 days while C & I roamed the streets of HK. In the end, we planned to go 5 days before so we'll fly back on 27 while HB staus on for his mtg.

SSF,
totally understand your anger. I would too if I were you. My previous maid is not any better, that's why I sent her back to phil, giving her only 30min notice!

I'm starting to take photos of #1's art work ... coz I also do things with them, so really a lot of stuff... a lot of work to take photos n throw too and so have been just chuck the stuff into boxes.. at least 5 boxes for #1 ... a big headache thinking whr to find space for #2 coz his stuff's all over....

SSF, having a maid at home is to have another person to look after, so u'll have to tahan the goods n bads of the person.... think of happy thots coz 2 more weeks ... My ex-maid still keeps in contact with us ... she's supposed to come visit us if she transits Singapore on her way from Phil to Norway. When she's my helper, I know we can't get along exactly that well, but now she's not, I think we laugh along much better... I admire those who are willing to take in maids. For me, I'm afraid after one time ... there is so often that I feel so tired n frustrated (like today) that there r so many things to do, but the thot of managing 1 puts me off, in fact, we don't even have PT help, but we did in the past ... it really change my perception to maids after having gone thru' 1. So, I'm rather skeptical when I see a "guai guai" maid ... even the guai type also will change as time will tell.

Disneyland HK is small but at least do-able in 1 day ... not like Disneyland LA which I feel has longer queues ... my boys love the place to bits ... #1 took Space Mountain with me n #2 enjoyed the Small Small World. But the downside is there's a lot of China people (coz it's their school hols) n they do not understand the meaning of queuing ... On the upside, Disneyland HK is made doubly special for #1 bcos he met "special frens" there by chance ... "Alice" from Wonderland and Stitch... But both boys were terrified of the fireworks till they realize the sounds were actually quite soft. Yes, should go again if u don't mind the place, it's more for the kids anyway ...

.ky.

KY
ha ha my gal too met her classmate there. Then took lots of picture too. Yes agree though small, it is actually good enuff for kids

SSF
Oh my! Your maid really play punk! Actually, should just send her away within this week rather than wait till Sept... coz you never know what may happen during these 2 weeks. She's really daring! Ask for pay increment and on top of that one day off... ridiculous.

ky - frankly to me, its like having another child to care for. i will always worry abt her breakfast since she dun eat bread or biscuits. whereas me and hb will always skip bf during weekends. she also cannot tahan cold place esp malls. so she will always have a sweater tucked in the car. haiz...to think she even ask me money for her face soap and sanitary pads without wings, she will complaint. with the new maid, i will definitely set my expectations and draw a clear line.

mamchan - i bought the air tickets way back in jul when she agreed to extend 1 more yr. tat time, i also didnt talk abt pay. my mistake! anyway, counting down to her departure.

today is day 2 for me without cl n hb's help. and i wanna die liao! my gal won't let me put her down, she takes short naps n i dun have time for myself! even now, i'm typing n carrying her with e other hand. jusr now fed her ebm could only buy 1hr time to wash my boy's laundry n make soup for dinner tonight.

ssf
your maid sounds terrible. better send her away asap. since she already knows she is going back, must be careful.

mashy
jx is like that when young. you dun have any other help?

queen
thansk for the sleeping method. i will try it tonight.

Mashy ... hope that things will smooth out for you. I was in that situation before too with #1... exactly the same. So I went against my principle and used the sarong to made him napped and I stopped pumping to cut down on all the unnecessary work. I only had 1 to look after then so I figure you have more with 2 ... so try to simplify the chores, ya?

.ky.

Mashy
Do you have those magic pot ? I feel it helps a lot when you are preparing soup. Now I usually wake up in the morning, dump everything in, boil and transfer to the magic pot. When I come home after work, at least I have 1 pot of soup ready.

Ha ha you should ask KY when she cannot believe that I still have to come home to cook. So you just gotta to the simple dish.

SY

no other help.

ky
i;m also trying to stop the pumping now. Coz she always seems to want more in the afternoon and i had to give her the morn pump anyway. SO maybe all i need is to just tahan till she finishes up. C is in full day cc now, so not that bad since my hb fetches him from cc in the evening. It's the daily laundry and cooking.

CL
haha, i;m hoping my gal will change for the better.

CL

yah i have. In fact i used the magic pot to make the soup yesterday. That's the thing, i only had time to cut and dump the ingredients in the pot before she screamed for attn. Actually, i had to split my time in two coz she cried when i cut the ingredients halfway. ANd that's like shortly after i put her to nap.

mashy, will bf directly help?
and maybe order tingkat lunch/dinner for time being?
jia you!

CL, i also use thermo pot to boil soup sometimes.. too lazy to cook every day. :p

Ha ha Mashy, oily
Thermo pot is my savior. I got a 4.5L for making soup. Next time when they have a 6 or 8 L for sale with 2 pots I want to buy again. Then can cook 2 other dish too.

But before that ha ha I must go for cooking lesson because I cannot cook chinese dish.

Me though not SAHM but when I was working from home I have the same experience. What I do is because my kitchen is wet and dry, I put him in a rocker in the dry kitchen, so when I am cooking , I just keep talking to him.

Sometimes I think they just want to feel that you are near.

mashy,
maybe it's a phrase, maybe it's not. my boys are both very needy boys, that's why i had to have 2 maids earlier on. maybe try to engage PT cleaner or order tingkat at night. Better than feeling frustrated and tired out.

BTW mummies, I am quitting my job to be a SAHM! :D

CL,
I also want to take up cooking classes leh!! oh and i want to learn how to make the japanese egg thingy from u. don't know what's that called! :p

Aileen
hee hee great move. Enjoy being SAHM w.e.f ???

Ha ha I no standard for the tamago yaki lah. I play cheat use small small rectangular pan. Cannot manage with the big one

cooking can be very simple ... I just prepare lunch, magic-clean the floor, washed up some clothes, hang out some other clothes, wipe the windows, all in an hr ... for us, soup is cooked the night before in the thermal ... n for eg, if it's corn or carrot, it doubles as a veg dish, plus we also eat the meat in the soup. for dishes, I'll stir-fry pork + veg or steam fish or steam pork with whatever or use the stew that's prepared the night before ... so cooking for me can be done in 20-30 mins.... but since we are in the house, I find that my place gets dusty very easily ... I'm practically cleaning away every day at different parts of the house. But what my neighbour does is to close the windows to the rooms that she doesn't access and just concentrate on her only child.

oh, btw CL, I'm amazed that you start cooking at almost 8 leh!!! U got tons of energy knowing how many things u r multi-tasking at the same time!!! n btw, I tried to wake up earlier as said before but cannot leh ... my earliest is 7.45am n recently that one also cannot :-<

.ky.

aileen - wow...big step huh? congrats! now u have more time to bond with the boys. btw, what made u decide on this? wat is the pull factor? hee...

mashy - its a phase. u can do it...remember that we women are good at multi-tasking. do get ur hb more involved esp when he is back from work and also on weekends so that u can rest

mummies, anyone sending their kids to full day childcare? I am toying with the idea and do away with maid esp since J is supposed to start playgrp next yr. thot maybe i should just enrol both boys to the same sch for a full day child care. less worries and can free my mom to do her own stuffs. any idea if the curiculum for childcare is on par with the preschool?