(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Aileen
hmm I think I ask tabby before for my niece. She ask me to use warm compress on the eyes. You try and see if it helps.

But then again recently that niece got diagnosed with myopia

aileen

maybe can check with tabbs to see if she can recommend any dr to check on him? At least eliminate the probability that there's a prob with his eyes...

Aileen
to test whether it is really done to get your attetion, stop asking him how is his eye and why he keep blinking, but quietly observe. if he still blinks, then maybe should get his vision check.

dylan kept blinking for quite sometime (in weeks)and it bothers me alot. bocs i have lazy eye and very concern if my children will have it too. so i kept asking him and he finds it fun. so i stopped asking and he stopped doing that after awhile.

CL
can i check with you where you got your puncher(yellow and green in color) for making the bento's facial expression? i want to get those simple pattern ones that is use to punch paper, but popular don sell them anymore..

a fren's dd blinks too, I think this year. She does it when she's got nothing much to do but when she got engross in an activity, she'll stop. Her mother didn't want to point out to her when she does that n so leave that alone. She does see a dr n got prescribed eye drop.

.ky.

thanks mummies, ok i will observe quietly for a few more weeks and see how. if still persists, will seek advice from tabb.

rachel

i didn't bother with the heads since can't even get the face. Just poked a coloured stick onto the quail eggs and used colourful muffin cups. lazy mummy. haha.

CL
oic..so got to order online.

re:sushi making
anyone knows how to make?? CL, you know?

or anyone knows where i can go to to learn? been checking out the cc but none is conducting lesson on sushi making. those private ones are very ex..

rachel
you mean the rice ? can get ready sushi vinegar.

You want to learn to roll ? That one ha ha mine oso not very beautifully done.

You have tasted my sushi before in 2007 i think ha ha . I usually serve in temaki form because only wrap when you want to eat otherwise roll hor must eat within sometime otherwise rice too hard

Rachel,
I've got a simple sushi receipe somewhere. will go scan n email u. u need the small mat n seaweed to roll ... most of the stuff though are found in places downtown like Isetan.

.ky.

rachel
my 2 kids are also like food bin. they are ok with all kinds of food/fruits, as long as it's not too sour.

ky
do you take fruits together with your boy? i think taking fruits/food together with kids can make them feel more interested in it. maybe can do it in a fun way like competing who can finish the fruits faster? but, need to be careful so that they won't get choked lah.

my gal will try to take off t-shirt by herself when hb is around 'cos she knows that hb will help her very little. but if i am the one who help her to change clothes, she would refuse to do it by herself and keep claiming that she doesn't know how to do it. my hb taught her to roll up the clothes from the bottom to the arm pit part to find the 'hole', then pull the t-shirt out a bit to make the 'hole' bigger to let one of the hands come out. once one of the hands is out, she knows how to take off the whole t-shirt already. i hope you can understand what i mean. i m very poor in describing things. keke...

cl
i remember i tasted your sushi before and you are very into japanese food keke. i want to learn to roll, this is the part where i have no idea on. as all the ingredients can easily get but its the skill of rolling and what to look out for in order to get a decent looking sushi.

mashy
thats a very kawaii tool! if it really work as what it claims, might be a good investment =p dylan can oso DIY. i go and check out at taka and robinson 1st =)

ky
thanks, i wait for your email =)

Mashy - Wishing you a smooth delivery & a happy confinement

Food & Fruits - C is easy with food & fruits. Nowadays, he wld even request what he wld like for his meals too.

Enrichment class - C is not on any yet...was tempted with Berries but HB sugg later on as C has 45 mins of Mandarin lessons in school everyday. Since we do not speak Mandarin at home, HB said give him a gradual feel of it in school. I wld like him to learn swimming though so may sign him up when he turns 4yo. As for music, he's tinkering on the piano occasionally at home.

everyone can pls advise me what vitamin to buy for my kids, one of them is 3 years the other is 7years old but both of them weight the same 15kg. So i quite worried with my eldest daughter as she is so skinny, for zara she only wear size 2-3.

re helper
yes really tiring to teach over again. i think this one is quite vain but she has a cheery character which i like. but she can't handle the workload she says. i think she scared of hard work.

ky
no one at home to watch over if i go to work....

mashy
have a smooth delivery and happy confinement!!

i also find jh very fussy compared to jx. jx eats almost everything and very easy to feed. jh rejects a lot of things. but he does like fruits like strawberry, kiwi, peach etc.

Cl.
Sent me some recipes leh.. Easy and nice ones ok...

Sy,
Actually I am lucky cox e has no choosing power .. I always tell him .. What is on your plate is good for you and you should eat them.. Coz I love you and want u to grow strong..
He will finish then ask me if he is a good boy..

thanks gals!

rena

your boy is so guai. My boy doesn't care two hoots abt me telling him how good it is for him.

anyone here knows abt katuk leaves?

Obstetrician Appt
Sigh... I thought I would at least see the foetal heartbeat by delaying my visit to the obstetrician by 2 weeks... only see the sac... so gotta go back 2 weeks later. I'm estimated to be quite early in my pregnancy... around 5 weeks, though by the LMP calculation I'm supposed to be 7 weeks.

mashy
likely bah...I'm not too sure also...I saw my gynae in April to reset my ovulation clock and so far my period went from 50 over days back to 30 days... not the exact 28 days cycle lah... but it's ok lah... I think I might have tested early...

Mashy,
so fast right? Next week your turn liao. have a smooth delivery and confinement!

Rachel,
There's quite a lot of bento cutters available on ebay.com (US) but will have to pay for shipping to Singapore. Dunno consider expensive or not... For a while, I was thinking of getting them too. But now too busy with Matthew to make fancy meals for Isaac.

Re. picky eater
My Isaac also very picky. He wasn't so picky when he was younger. Now give him new food, h doesn't want to try. Give him food that he has eaten before, he also doesn't want. Sigh.

Old Navy Spree - 15% dicount
Ordering some with my friend. Anyone interested? I can take in about US$100 worth of orders. PM me soon yah cos I need to order by 11th Jul.

Mamachan,
Same case for me for Matthew's pregnancy. I went to gynae at about 5 weeks (though i thought I was around 6 to 7 weeks already). I would have waited till 8 weeks but I wanted to see gynea just before going to Perth the following week. Anyway, we couldn't even see the sac. Gynae did a urine test after the scan to double confirm pregnancy. When I went back after the trip, can see both sac and heartbeat liao.

Qn on bento ... does the kid use hands to eat? Is it normal rice used? Wouldn't the rice be mushy by the time it's time to eat, and the portions quite little ya? I cook packed lunch for older son everyday but nothing fanciful - 1 bowl of rice + 1 meat + 1 veg.

Sunny, I sort of got the idea ... we are the other way round in my house. when daddy's ard, he helps them more but when I'm in charge, they have to do their own things more... daddy seems to think they can't be that independent. Anyway, I did let him try to do the taking off clothes this morning ... got some ideas. tx!

.ky.

queen
oh that's good to know
I'm ok lah...will patiently and calmly wait for 2 weeks to pass... the sad thing is, i'm not "very pregnant" already look 3 months pregnant. LOL!
But thanks for the reassurance...I guess we're "pro" in knowing if we are pregnant or not. haha. Right now, so long I don't experience any spotting/bleeding, should be fine...

ky

my hb and i differs on different things. for wearing shoes, he's the one who let C wear it himself.

But when it comes to wearing clothes, my hb will even wear his underwear for him. Now i just dump the underwear and shorts and tell my boy to wear them himself. Just had to remind him which is the front and which is the back.

Mamachan,
Yah... we are very 'pro' liao. When I was only about 2 days late, I told hubby that I had a strong feeling that I'm preggers. We weren't planning but letting nature takes its course. Had some bloated feeling, that's about it. The next day tested myself with a super sensitive kit. Bingo! heheh

Ky
I used those Japanese rice otherwise not sticky to mould ? Never try with our normal white rice. those I made for charmaine to pack to school I did not add vinegar as I think it will turn bad by the time she eat it.

So i put more "furikake" which is those seaweed flake etc to make it more tasty.

queen
LOL! hahaha, the only hint I had was swollen and painful boobs...that's all...and I tested on CD36... I'm less kan cheong...take my own sweet time to test... I did go to the GP and they tested as faint positive so I had to go back and test 4 days later... I thought delaying to see my obstetrician, I might be able to see foetal heartbeat...chey...only saw the sac....

queen/mamachan,
i think i am the super slow type..first pregency found out already 9 wks ..hahahaha...even got a very bad morning sickness but never come across my mind that i was pregnant..just tot that was gastric problem...if i dun have ms..i dun even know i am pregnant. the gp suggested to have a urine test.
#2 also can be detected with pregency kit till i went for ultrasound then found out pregnant. I just tot that i had some problem after m/c..
missed my menses for 5mths.

Belinda
wow...so you only know you were pregnant with Damein when you were 5 months pregnant???

I know I heard of stories where some women totally no symptoms and they had irregular period and only found out they are pregnant when they are 4/5 months old coz they felt the movements of the foetus...they just thought they have been putting on weight... so amazing hor?

SY
have you consider putting jh and jx in childcare?? since there is no one to watch over the maid at home... even if you at work, your heart will be at home? never know what the maid can be up to when alone with 2 young children.

queen
you got me again! haha i was going through ON website and saw a few items worth getting. somemore my sil gonna pop anytime liao! saw some gal gal cloths and really itchy to get for my lil niece!

ky
so far i only pack sandwiches with side dishes for dylan. easy to prepare and still taste good even when cold, unlike rice and vege.

mamachan
for me, i oso confirm to be pregnant when my boobs became sensitive. since they cant turn swollen and sensitive for no result wat haha

rachel, I need to cook for 3 so might as well as cook rice for all. Have tested to see how it will keep warm. i'll do sandwiches when he goes for field trip but will prep the ingredient separately as it gets mushy after a while if put together.... no choice but another 5 more months to go.

CL, how do you cook Jap rice for 1 portion? Steam like for normal rice but in a rice bowl can? where's the nearest place to find?

.ky.

rachel/ky

i bought the tiger thermal flask (smallest one) to put the food inside. Like that can keep warm till his lunch time in sch. I only cook rice/pasta when they're serving a full meal. Otherwise, i just cook the dishes then get them to serve the rice on their side.

Some food that i find taste good even if cold are edamame, corn, eggs.

i prefer jap rice also!
recently try to cook chasoba since my boy like it. but not sure how to make the cold soba sauce tasty..

hi mashy,

saw the pix of the tiger thermal lunch box. It's the round type which is commonly found right? Can C open and serve himself?

.ky.

ky

i dunno leh, coz i just hand over to the teacher. I suppose it's the teacher who opened it for him bah. Opening the top cover is not a prob, have seen him doing it. It's just the inside covers that may have probs in case of spillage when he pulls open the cover.

It looks like this, just the lunch bag is a bit diff. Only 2 layers as shown. One for rice (cannot put soup or wet stuff coz will spill) and one for the other food.

http://www.amazon.com/Tiger-LWR-A071-Stainless-Steel-Thermal/dp/B0002IYIYE