(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

hi mummies...wow...thinking of pri 1 liao? haha...still have 4 more yrs to go lei. i am thinking of a nearby school which is quite good also (east spring pri) but seems like even if its 5 mins walk, still have to ballot. how early shld we register for our volunteer work? is 1 yr in advance sufficient? can we choose which duty we want to be assign to? I dun mind working in a lib since there is air con. hahaa...

mamachan - wow ur area very ex...any news of enbloc? hee...

chocpie - my son is also in N1 zoophonics and i find the lessons very interesting and good. i like the fact that per class intake is only 8 students to 2 teachers. he is learning alot from zoophonics. but cost wise,....ex mann! $380 per mth. since my first one is already in zoophonics. my second son have to be enrolled there too ..if not biased right? haha...

mashy,
haha, then the valuation report will apply to my current house too. Not expecting to sell high too cos I knocked off two bedrooms into one. :p hiao lor, walk-in wardrobe. lesson learnt.

krissie,
cannot send my kid back to MIL after school cos all she will do is watch tv whole day. That's wat happened to my nephew so after school at catholic high, he will take school bus to day-care and return to MIL only at 6pm. This way his homework is done at the day-care.

anyway i jus realised KCP for P1 & P2 is afternoon session. so ms piggy megan can sleep in longer and head to school later then we can pick her up after school at 645pm. By the time duncan goes P1, all schools will be in morning session liao and meg will be in P3 morning session too. Timing is suitable. Whew!

CL,
haha, i dun blame charmaine wor. I would not have the guts to jump into the water like that too!

Tracie
I will try to take a video of aden pushing Charmaine. Ha ha every weekend , 4 adults will sit back and wait for that moment and start laughing. ha ha

Mamachan
ha ha nowadays kids very xiong and poor thing. I am getting very careful because I dun want her to stress and do anything silly.

SSF

I heard from my friend who did PV at St Andrews is 2 yrs. But then it could differ from sch to sch. U may wanna call and find out.

Tracie
haha, me too, knocked down my kitchen wall to make open kitchen. Silly me. It's the expiry of the valuation report that counts since the HDB valuation is going downward spiral. The report will last for 3mths. So u see if u can bargain the price lower. Just hope u can sell your own flat within 3 mths.

SSF
no news of enbloc leh... my area here seems to fetch a good price for 4 room... heard the 5 rooms in my area the prices are dropping/stagnant somewhat.

Hi CL,

So your SIL fetched C to enrichments on Tue n Wed? Eventually when she has CCA in school, how is she going to come home? There's a P4 girl in my place that studies in NYPS ... once on Monday evening, I saw her in Toa Payoh alone, going home, after her CCA practise. And I saw her crossing the road to come home once. Nowadays kids are getting independent really young.

My concern is how much time will #1 have to spend travelling. Apparently, it's the last bus to reach my place after some other schools that are further away. Coz they use the expressway, these buses reach my place earlier, but for the school that I've targetted, it'll roam around YT before coming by my place but the latest mean reaching back after 40 mins. My neighbour had to specially negotiate for a timing each year. I don't wanna think so much liao ... if need, I'll get a 2nd car.... something small and simple for me to drive within CCK. And then that will take care of both boys' transport for a while ... that's why there are so many school-going parents that are just chauffeurs...

SSF, call the school. Ask if you can submit the form first ... and then appropropriately, call to ask if you can start. Don't call when it's new school year, or P1 registration. They'll prob ignore you. Ask for the dates of the openhouse and you can see firsthand for yourself on the school.

.ky.

mashy
no lah.. we prefer somewhere not too far. But, we prefer a catholic sch for him. Clare can go to my old IJ sch. So, shld be no prob. It's Ger tt i'm getting a headache with.

tracie
oh, no wonder.. i was wondering why send to after sch care when your MIL can jagar and by then, they are so old liao.. hmm.. good point, maybe i need to think of after sch care too.I like the idea of them completing the homework early, then can rest and spend time tog at night. My colleague will help her kid with his homework till like 11plus pm, then they sleep! so late right?

mashy - ok will call up or probably check with my sis since she was teaching there before. i also knocked down one room to make my kitchen more spacious. haha...but never regret lei cos if not the kitchen will be so small. i like to cook so i need space and more space. at first thot i could do some baking but no time la. weekends if i can whip out a normal meal consider sart sart already. haha...we have no plans to sell our flat as its near my parent's place and very centralised. we will probably grow old in this flat together :p

mamachan - a frd of mine bot a unit opp redhill mrt. bot for abt 100k plus and sold for 400k plus. shiok mann!

ky
now my sil will send charmaine for enrichment class to and fro as I arrange classes on same day as her kids around the same place too.

for NYPS there are enrichment classes available after school then there will be a 4 pm school bus to send the kids home. So transport will be settled.

Anyone bringing their kids for this? Anyone know if there is any discount? C keeps bugging me for this.

The Little Big Club Live in Concert
04 June 2009 - 07 June 2009

Event type : Entertainment and Concerts
Venue : Hall 2
Admission : By Ticket
Event Schedules :
04 - 05 Jun 2009 (Thur & Fri), 4.30pm & 7.30pm

06 - 07 Jun 2009 (Sat & Sun),11am, 2pm & 5pm

Show Profile :

14 of your favourite characters in ONE show!
70 minutes of non-stop song and dance
Wonderful value for the price of ONE ticket!

The Little Big Club Live In Concert brings you 14 characters from five world-renowned pre-school brands ALL TOGETHER and LIVE ON STAGE for the FIRST TIME EVER!

Catch all your favourite friends - Barney, Baby Bop, BJ and Riff, Bob the Builder, Wendy and Spud, Fireman Sam and Norman, Angelina Ballerina and Alice, Fifi and Bumble, Pingu in ONE fabulous show.

The Little Big Club Band will belt out 70 minutes of non-stop song and dance with kids’ favourite tunes including: “If You’re Happy and You Know It’, “I’m A Little Teapot”, “Mambo Number Five”, “Wheels On The Truck”, “Twinkle Twinkle Little Star”, “Mr Knickerbocker” and “I Love You”...and many more!

In addition to performing with the other favorite characters, Barney and Bob The Builder will perform individual 20-minute and 15-minute segments respectively.

This live concert takes place wherever The Little Big Club visits. This coming June, the power of The Little Big Club brings all of our friends together in our Lion City, which makes Singapore the place to be in the world!

Don’t miss the best of family entertainment this June holidays!

Buy five tickets NOW for a chance to meet them in a separate meet & greet session. (Valid for all price categories).

For further information about The Little Big Club Live in Concert, visit www.thelittlebigclub.com.

TICKET PRICE (Exclude Booking Fee)
Standard - S$76, S$59, S$39, S$26

Please add to above price $3 Booking Fee per ticket for tickets above $20 and $1 Booking Fee per ticket for tickets $20 and below. Charges include GST where applicable.

SSF,
I booked for 5th June, 730pm. I think got 15% discount with Toysrus card. I booked at sistic outlet cos online doesn't seem to have this discount.

tracie - oh ok. which seating did you booked? so ex mann the tixs. not sure if the 39 bucks seating can see anythg or not. they named those seats telescopic seats? dun sounds good :p

Lunch at cityhall 22 May anyone ? 12.30 pm

SY says she is coming to cityhall this friday and would like to call for a lunch with mummies working round here.

1. SY
2. CL

SSF,
i booked the section A3 (front portion) but 2nd last row cos only left those. I agree the tix are so ex! Children and adult same price. They should price it cheaper for adults cos we are jus accompanying the kids!

Mashy
nice nice enjoy your getaway. Charmaine and Aden always enjoy Sentosa stay too

Belinda
CL is very super speed in the morning now. 5.55 she gets up ( in fact is I dragged her into the toilet) washed up, 6 am eat breakfast 6.05 change school uniform, 6.10 we will head down stairs to wait for bus.

She used to get up at 5.45. She just feels better that she is getting up at same time as her cousin who is studying in CCK primary but ferry by my sil at 6.30.

CL

I'm waking up at 645am everyday and i also feel so tired. Definitely not looking forward to the pri sch days when i have to wake up even earlier than that.

When i was schooling, i used to wake up at 5.30am, reach sch at 6.30am and switch on the sch corridor lights. machiam like sch caretaker.

Mashy
wow ha ha I am a bit guilty now because ha ha I got my special chauffer. Daddy sent me to and fro school all the way till uni even. During exam I only arrive 30 mins before the time start.

CL

I was also driven by my dad in sec sch to jc, that's why so early. Coz he starts work very early.
During uni times, i stayed in the hostel, so much better. I still remember when i was in pri sch, i was rather envious of children whose parents fetch/send them from sch. I had to take sch bus then.

Mashy
My dad will send me to school then to work. Even in uni hor, ha ha sometimes i study in school till 2 am and even my hb and his friends are being ferried home by my dad

When I was in primary school, we always have companion who wants to tompang our car. ha ha my dad will send them back too. So can be mini school bus

mashy
yes. In fact ha ha I think he will do more things for me than my hb ha ha. Like hor I just say i want to eat durian. Ha ha hb says i dunno how to choose. My father will get it ready when I go back niang jia.

Then hor, me like to eat crab but dun like to use my hands. Ha ha my hb will just indulge in his black pepper crab and even my friend's Japanese mil says she wants to learn from him how to eat it so clean. But my father will peel nicely for me to eat hor.

Ha ha I think it is a daddy will do everything for a daughter thingy. Now if Charmaine says she wants the herbal chicken soup at Geylang Lor 21, I think he will says let's go.

CL

haha, the love of a father. Your dad really so good to you.

My hb will also peel the crab for me sometimes. hehe. But i think once my gal comes along, maybe i'll be #3 already, after the 2 kids.

Hi CL,

Same here.... My dad attends all my sports day, took pictures and even label them.

I ask him for a branded watch at Sec 1 (swatch was in then and cost only $80).... but he bought a Guy Lachoce watch that cost $200.......... Mis communication some how. haha.

Hai....... My gals will not have such priviledge...... Ashley occasionally will share what are the things she miss about hubby..... the thing she miss most is the quality time she spend with him. Hubby sometimes take time off to bring her out for movie or ice cream. Daddy and daughter time out by themselves........ Ashley really enjoys it. Plus hubby is the generous one so she gets her way/things during outing with him....

rena,mashy,
ooohh..thanks for the info. i'm pushing the agent to let us view some flats this fri. jus received the valuation for our flat.

tracie

Great! Hope u find a good place at a reasonable price soon! I'll prob have to wait another 6mths since still have to settle my #2 first.

Tracie
All the best! I too am waiting for valuation of my place and then look for buyers...

JTS
D had been weaned off his milk bottle le and drinking from cup! Yay!

hi mummies ... need to know what this thing look like ... u know when u want to tie the child to you, esp overseas, so that he doesn't run around?? Is it like a vest or is it tie to the hand? K was running wild from me yesterday at DAISO IMM; each time he saw me, he ran away gleefully. And I only managed to catch him near one of the exit on the 3rd try and I realize that I cannot see him at all despite not a lot of shoppers around and the areas that I was covering got bigger and bigger as he really ran around everywhere. And he was not remorseful when I caught him! I need to get him tie up when we are in Melbourne.... I never believe in that thing until now, coz I was rather mad and can't imagine if that happened in a place that we are unfamiliar with. It'll be great if anyone has one to lend me .... my hubby said don't be crazy as it looks like I'm latching an animal, but I'll rather be safe than sorry .... I'm still rather angry as I typed this out now.

.ky.

KY
It's this little bag-pack that they carry in the form of a teddy-bear or stuffed toy that comes with the "leash". I have one somewhere I think... let me look for it first. I can lend it to you if you want. It doesn't look too demeaning.

ky,
i dun have one, but i am FOR it. Can understand how angry you are feeling now. I foresee I may need to get one when Duncan starts running!

ky
but I must say, when I use it on my boy when he was 20 months, if he knows that he's been "leashed" he will drop dead weight on the floor! Then, dunno if to be angry or to laugh!

Hi mummies - Long time no 'chat'!

Hope everyone's well...Been ba at work, school & home!

I am having parents-teachers meet with C's teachers next Wed. What shall I be expecting? Those who have been through, pls share. Thanks

I am on leave every Friday except the last Fri in Jun. Shall we have a mums & kids catching up session?

Ky
I used to have one I sold it off. One day at raffles city, met our NUS fren. He was saying terrible why leashed my son. After 10 mins talk, he realised why I must use it man. It was useless to me after Aden knows how to unbuckle.

I had all the stares from passerby. But who cares man, it is more important I do not lose my son then let you stare.

Forgot to say. It is goldbug brand about 20 plus. I bought it from robinson. Not sure if there is still 20% discount

sysac
I usually let the teacher tell me. Only ask if my aden sit down in class, behave or not, got disturb other pple etc. His size is so much bigger than his peers so I am more worried

SSF,
I am going for the show. Bought Sat 11am tickets.

Sysac,
Teacher will probably feedback on C's behaviour and share with u what had he learnt. Tell u abt his good and bad habit. And share with u on how to improve on certain thing that they think he is lack in. On the other hand, u can ask them to help u to observe or teach C what u want. Eg, improve his pincer grip like writing or tracing. It is a session for both u and teacher to know how well C is performing at home and in sch and how to help him improve.

RE: CC
Finally settled J1's CC. Going to put her in Safra Jurong's Little Skool House. School fees are not cheap and we really hope she can forget what had happened previously as she told me she like this CC very much.

So fast.. my J2 had turned 2mths already. She is weighing 5.5kg and height 60cm. Doc commented she is growing very well and is in 97th percentile for a 8 wks old baby. Phew.. I have been trying my best to pump her with milk as I did complaint that she is very small size at birth.

RE: Primary School
Wonder what is the phase that u all are talking abt. Which phase should I choose?

I have two choices:
1) put J1 to NAN HUA as I am ex-student there but think of the distance, I am staying in Jurong West and the school is in Clementi. Unless I move to Clementi.
2) put J1 to neighbourhood pri sch, 10mins walking distance from my place. (just opposite from my mum, she will go there after school)-this sch need balloting also. Will need to do voluntary work if required.

KY,
Is it call child harness? Saw it at kiddy palace. Got three types: wrist / body / body with a stuffed toy bag (what mamachan is talking abt)

May
I was in the same dilema as you last year. But finally I take NYPS. Because the school downstairs at my block oso need to ballot.

Nanhua is good and pple have to PV join HKHK to get in so just go for it.

Jurong to Clementi vs my CCK to Bukit Timah same same lah. Charmaine already used to it

CL
I want her to go good school too. But hb was saying her sleep and time is more impt than others. She can still perform well in neighbourhood sch. So I am in dilemma too.
Then again, which phase comes first ? 1KM or parents ex-pri sch comes first?

Re. Primary School
HB and I have been discussing as well. He's an old boy of De Lasalle (my pri sch closed down) and I asked whether we should consider moving to CCK / Bkt Batok / Hillview area. Cos why bother to ballot or do PV for schools in Woodlands / Sembawang (where I stay) when it's almost a shoo-in for De Lasalle?
Only thing is CCK is far from Sembawang leh... I don't think school bus will cover the distance?
But my HB doesn't like CCK area. Sigh.

Queen,
Can considering moving to Bt Batok so nearer to ur mum? Then Matthew can let her look after?

RE: Short Holiday
Hb and me are thinking of bringing the gals to M'sia for a short trip 2D1N or 3D2N kind. Genting is out as hb dun like. Where else can we go? If we opt to go sunway lagoon, any nice and cheap hotel that is nearby there to recommend??

CL/May - Thanks! I asked because the teachers/principal are alreay giving regular feedbacks on C through the communications books & phone calls. Now wondering what's let to talk about :p

May - How about Bintan? 3D2N wld be just nice. Just take the ferry, laze there since there are 2 small kids. U planning on driving?

I am going Tioman and because I wanted a realxing trip, Am flying there - 30 mins also shiok :p

Tracie ,
Thanks for your recommendation! I tink ur groomer will charge me even higher cos mine is a cocker. Managed to find a cheaper groomer thru db88. She charged me 1st time $55, but skill so so only. So happen to meet this lady in my neighborhood today, she is recommending me her schnauzer's groomer. Only $45. Even cheaper & skill better. So, next time will try this groomer from Sengkang. If good, u can use her too.

KY,
Thanks too! I am at Hougang so ur place new pet shop is too far for me. Hee. Have PMed u regarding the child harness. Last time E also not fearful of getting lost. So one day, we decided to "teach" him a lesson when he wandered off by himself, by hiding and let him search for us instead. After a few occasions, he now will not run about. Ur son probably thinks u r playing a game of hide n seek with him.

We had decided to drive up to Genting for 3D2N. Hope the 2 mth old J2 can take the long trip. Is she too young to travel? What should I bring for her? Anyone got infant sweater or thicker clothing to borrow? Will be going next wkend.

May,
Saw this for Sunway Lagoon...
http://kualalumpur.sunwayhotels.com/promo/promo-stay-splashing.asp
Not too expensive, a 3D2N package for 2 Adults, 2 children cost only RM888 (~SGD370). Includes tickets to Sunway Lagoon.
I think it's better than Genting. Genting is horribly crowded during weekends and there's nothing much to do except the theme park, unless you / HB likes to go to the Casino.
In KL, at least you can go eat and shop in town.

Queen
haha buy my house. Just walking distance to De la Salle.last year it was 200 over balloting for 100 seats. Every year phase 1 , half the seat gone with takes up by sibling. I din choose the school because I have to ballot too. So I let Charmaine travel all the way.

May
old boy/girl in phase 2b, if you have joined alumni then 2a. The 1 km come in for 2 c when there is balloting.