(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Rena
both E are so cute. Didi so chubby and cute. And they got lots of cars hor.

Belinda,
My girl is so hooked on her PSP and daddy's iphone with lots of loaded games. I was thinking of getting oso but aiyo scare difficult to control the playtime.

CL,
Duncan is hooked on my NDS instead of his own PSP..coz i did not load new games for him
. Btw, i dun like the games that he played on his psp..too adulthood...but hard for me to control coz he asked my brother to load for him. Of coz i have to set a limit for the playtime. He can only play it on weekend only if he had finished his homework and spellings...

belinda

we're oppo. I'm the one not supportive while my hb wanted to buy (from PSP, XBox to Wii). He wanted to own them all.

CL
My boy is also hooked on the games in my hb's handphone.

Good morning, mummies!

Advise needed!
Anyone knows how to get rid of spamming in msn? I keep receiving it. So irritating.

RE: Dog groomer
Anyone has recommendation for good dog groomers who can pick up my dog for grooming? He badly needs a hair cut & we don't have time to bring it down to our groomer.

Tia!

I used to be addicted to electronics/computer games during before-kids days ... and so I've resolved that this will not become the way of life for us. I recently went on a trip with some frens and a fren would be stuck to her own handheld, hubby to his and son to his... all these came out while waiting for meals or lazing around the room ... I find it's rather anti-social. And I hear a neighbour who commented that her 6-yr old would just be stuck on computer games ... bcos his parents are working n though there are adults in the house, noone is disciplining him. We do have the old PSP in our house plus simple TV games. My children will only asked to play them once a while. They prefer to go downstairs to ride their bikes, play with friends or new-found sports. Oh ya, K likes to play with my phone during mealtimes outside in the past. He likes to see the video clips taken of him and he doesn't know there are games within. My older probably knows but he's learnt not to ask.

.ky.

Wenyl,
My dog's groomer at Toa Payoh: Annie's Pet 63528100. Very popular and she's good. Include pick-up. My dog is at my parent's place in hougang so pick up from hougang is ok. Price you gotta check with her. Mine is in the region of $55 to $65. My dog is small size breed. I tink yours is cocker right?

I was tinking real hard the last week abt whether to move house nearer to MIL in bishan or not. Sigh...the choice of school also had to be considered. If you all could share any views you have on my thinking pattern?:

1. When hubby travels, i have difficulty juggling both kids to and fro MIL's. Thus the decision to move nearer. (Sorry, having a maid is out)

2. But Bishan is very ex! And the schools there, hard to get in. Ai Tong MUST ballot. No point putting in Marymount cos I'll have problem with Duncan later too.

3. If I put Meg in my old school (IJ Nativity in hougang), i gotta find after-school care around that area for her till we pick her up after work. i will worry. And then, Duncan's problem of school not solved.

4. So i decided, to have best of both worlds, i look for a place in Bishan near Kuo Chuan Presbyterian. Mixed school, no balloting for past 2 years. The houses near KCP are cheaper and bigger but older. A 4-room flat there is bigger than my current 5-room. Then after school, arrange school bus bring her to the after-school care centre that both my nephews are in. So they can help look out for each other.

Am I right to think this way? Hubby is not helping out here, just told me to decide! I really thought alot about it.

Tracie
For me I think option 4 is good. Good that you are taking into consideration about school. My colleague kid oso from KCP not bad mah. One in RI and the other gal in Paya Lebar Methodist

Wow Tracy ,you think so far liao..
Welcome to my neighbour hood.. House here is cheaper???
Tat I am not sure.. My place is near kcpps..where does your in law stay? Kcpps seems not bad..

I intend put my boys at st andrew then will sub a cab to bring them back home if I am still not working , if I am then will place them at his current childcare.. They have student care too..

Hi Wenyl

where r u staying? there's a newly setup dog place near my place which is really popular ... on weekends, the place is flooded with people. I stay near CL...

Hi Tracie
I was staying in Toa Payoh all my life before I got married. hubby and I discussed before the possibility of moving nearer town, coz I was so used to the convenience of being near things. But we are against moving to Bishan/AMK area. There's only CTE there and it's ERP gantries everywhere and yet the traffic's still quite bad.... he worked in AMK before and so we sort of experience that bad traffic. There's no market in Bishan ... except perhaps ShunFu (perhaps I'm outdated). A fren who stays in Thomson says she has no other option except Ai Tong within 2km (she has girls). She just signed up for their PV pgm. Someone in a forum I read PV for Catholic High and still did not get a chance to ballot ...

My nephew's with KCP and my niece is in a childcare in Bishan and my brother stays in Toa Payoh (my SIL picks her girl up everyday via public bus). So you may wanna consider Toa Payoh area too, though in all these areas, there are a lot of old people and I find that they endanger themselves and the drivers by crossing the roads anyway they like. I'm used to driving around areas that's not so congested. But considering the facilities there ... the MRTs, expressway network (don't be fooled by the new Adam Road link to Lornie though), the libraries (I hear Bishan lib is good, and so is Toa Payoh), the CCs (Toa Payoh have at least 3 CCs of which 1 or 2 are very good), the enrichments, eateries available.... sigh, I've got pass the stage of wanting to move somewhere there lah but I thnk it's good to move, then u have some yrs to think abt the schools and observe them.

.ky.

tracie

haha, i'm also thinking of shifting, and for the longest time. Wonder when can i actually make that happen. I'm staying in AMK now and thinking of moving to Bishan. Not that i don't like AMK, but coz i need 4 bedrooms. There's more flats in Bishan that has 4 bedrooms. So if you come across any Bishan flats with 4 bedrooms, do let me know.

I can't shift away from AMK/Bishan too coz of the schs. My boy going ACS (can't afford any of the hses near there) and my gal going St Nicks. So at least Bishan is in between the 2 schs.

I think your option 4 sounds ok. Dunno why but hb always wanna wash their hands off such things. My hb also leaving everything to me.

Bishan has boring food though. But good thing is that it's between AMK & Toa Payoh where all the good food & mkt are. So no worries.

ky
Now Toa Payoh also no good already ever since they set up the ERP there. The flat are so ex and everytime u leave TP, u need to pay to get back in.

tracie

Are you/hb hokkien? Another way is to find someone who's from the Hokkien Huay Kuan to nominate u as member. When u become member, u can register at Phase 2B for Ai Tong.

I am also thinking real hard but i do not have much time to play with as the Primary school registration is a month or so away.......

1. To shift near mum/ILs place and have family support but the school of choice (Temasek) is not very near....

2. To retain current house (due to sentimental reasons as well) and enrol in Nan Chiau. It is just 5 mins walk away. But mum and ILs woun't be near.......(assuming they won't come every day to check on maid and kids)..... My sister lives a few block away but she has her kids to look after too so i don't want to bother her too much...

SIL, ILs and mum hope i shift near them.... My compellingreason for not shifting.... sentimental reasons.......Am i being very silly to insist on hanging on to the house, the first and last home hubby and i build?

Hi Tracie,

If you need SHHK member to sign - I can sign for you.

THANK YOU mummies!

KY,
I also considered Toa Payoh but fussy me thinks its a really old estate (no offence to anyone) cos I spent my first 2-3 years there. I also thought of the fact that more elderly in toa payoh area. So though the flats may be upgraded or new, they are badly maintained as you know, old people tend to neglect the surroundings.

mashy,
lucky you! ACS and SNG, settled liao. Yups, I'm also looking at the 4 bedroom types. Bigger space!

Both hb and me hokkien, but getting into the clan requires recommendation from 2 senior members. And Ai Tong is v popular so alot applying are also clan members. So they give priority to those who are members there longer, ie 4 years! Not easy too. i kind of give up on Ai Tong liao lah.

Rena,
If you compare those near Catholic High, blocks 200+, the 5-room flats there can cost $600k+ while those block 100+ are in the region of $500k+ and may be bigger space too.

Tracie
My kids' school are set. Me now oso thinking of moving to shorten Charmaine's travelling time. But ha ha bukit timah very exp woh and my CCK house not worth for value ha ha

tracie

then u start your reg now. By the time your kids can enter, you would have been a member there for a while already. Now you've yuki to intro u. Just need to find 1 more member.
Anyway, if u go Kuo Chuan also will be Phase 3A. So u can still try out Ai Tong for the earlier phases.

When u looking, can let me know too which blks have 4 bedrooms? Thanks! Do the blk 190 pt blks have 4bedrooms? I don't want mansionettes coz can't stand having to climb stairs all the time.

One thing abt places with old pp is that u get a lot of funerals. Sorry, no offence to the old folks but it's the truth. My place gets funerals every mth. During the peak period of yr end, can have continuous funerals. very jia lut.

And yes, the old folks will feed the birds, spit ard and throw rubbish everywhere.

Mashy, why do u need 4 bedrooms? U intend to hire a maid? With 4 people, there'll be more mess expected and it's very tiring eventually if u r the maid.

Yuki, the dates for P1 registration is out. Phase 2B in mid/late July.

You'll need to rely on the maid a lot if u choose Nan Chiau.... can that be your long term solution? 1 of my SIL is doing that (rely on maid), and she just changed maid this yr, but the children needs to be able to voice out if something is wrong. I thot too with your sister nearby, it helps too. so sentimental or not aside, I would say #2 for u.

I thot u need 2 SHHK members to nominate u to be member.

anyone uses the Kumon workbooks? I'm keen to get those craft ones cos they like to cut and paste ....

.ky.

ky

no, my parents are staying with me. So with a boy & gal, not gd for them to share room when they're older. Plus, our place is a new flat, so as u know, very tiny. His bedroom is so small, difficult to squeeze in two single beds. So think better shift to a place with 4 bedrooms.

Haha, there's already a lot of mess without 2 kids.

Hi Ky,

Another solution is to send them to after school care.... if maid is not a long term solution......

Bought Kumon art and craft - mask the gals loves it.

The dates are out??!! Will go check it out.

I don't intend to re-join workforce so never do research on after school care option ... I was a latched-key kid since 13 yrs old n not like-nor-dislike that.

.ky.

mashy,
lemme see if can find another SHHK senior member first. hahaha. i read on another forum some are v reluctant to recommend. I'll let you know once I get more info about those in St. 12 & 13, which are the 4-bedroom ones. i also cannot get used to staying in mansionettes going up and down. the rate that meg asks for milk? i will prob hv to install a mini kitchen upstairs!

Yuki,
I would move nearer to mum for convenience. Sentimental value of the house..another hurdle to overcome to let it go. One at a time.

ky

I was also latch key kid since pri sch. So prefer to stay at home with my boy. U really dunno what they're up to when there's no parents at home.

tracie
maybe can see if there's anyone else here in this forum. I remember someone volunteering to nominate me in this forum, but i forgot who liao.

Thanks! Hehe, maybe we can be neighbours too. How much is the current price now? I'm kind of waiting for the price to drop. ;p

mashy,
tink is Yuki.

Current price is still at least $500k to $600k for 5-room. Depending on level and condition of the house. There's one i saw, quite nice, no need reno. 4-bedrooms but they knock off one room into wardrobe. 2nd owner purchased and was posted overseas so it was vacant all the time. block 200+ facing bishan park. But selling $550. Till now not sold. Valuation is $530 so seller wants cash $20. maybe if next week still around i'll go view n see if can knock down price.

there are some 5-rooms at St.13 going for $480 but needs reno and low levels. Sin Ming Ave cheaper but cos its near to the crematorium and difficult to sell. MIL also against being near the crematorium.

tracie

that's the prob. alot of the owners have knocked down 1 bedroom. sigh. So if we buy also need to build it up again. I think at this time asking for 20k abv valuation is not realistic unless it's the highest floor with fantastic view and good reno. If so long still not sold, don't worry, can knock price down if the seller is desperate.

My current place prob $500k valuation, but wonder if anyone will want since it's low floor. Will have headache selling... With $500k, they prob can get a high floor but older block and bigger space. And so many of my neighbours are selling...

Hi Mashy and Tracie,

Must be senior member? Then maybe I am not qualified to sign….

Hi Tracie and CL,

I would love to stay near my mum too. Reason for not shifting – 50% sentimental, 50% - Shifting near mum means not near the gals’ school. If they have CCA, not convenient to fetch them………. How? At least if shifting near mum is also near to school – I can let go of the sentimental reasons………

Another possibility is to make decision to shift, try St Hilda’s at Phase 2C which is within walking distance from mum’s place……..But the possibility to get into St Hilda’s is very slim………

Really hard and major decision to be made…….. and I don’t have time!!!!

Mashy,Tracie
ha ha me oso 5 room with 4 bedrooms but I knock down 2 in 1 for my master bedroom. It is quite a common thing for 4 bedrooms.

Yuki
St hildas oso very high in demand in tampines leh. And you need to go MOE to say your mum is main caregiver to your girl.

Decide school first because registration is Jul/ Aug. Once your application is confirm then you move on to the house. Because now even if you get a house, takes a 3 months to settle everything ? Then your IC oso wont bear the new address so you wont be consider for balloting if not within 1 km. And must check for some schools, even if grandparents are main caretaker of the kids, they will take it they are outside 2 km even if they are within 1 km. So must do all your research before you decide.

That is the reason why I never even want to try applyin for a popular neighbourhood school which is just downstairs vs letting my girl travel to NYPS which is a distance from home

Hi just join this forum and I understand that this is for mummys whose child is born in 2006.

My girl, Cheryl is born in Jan 2006 and right now I am having a headache over her N2 school for next year.
She is currently studying N1 at Zoophonics at Upper Bukit Timah and I am considering to move her to Methodist Church.
Anyone send their child to Methodist Church at Upper Bukit Timah?
Any mummies sent their children there and can share your experiences with me...

I saw mummies discussing on their child Primary school choices.
I am so glad that I am not the only one who is already thinking about my girl Primary school choice.

Me in a dilema, I stayed at CCK and my husband is an ex school boy from Ai Tong.
So chances of my girl getting into Ai Tong is pretty high.
But the traveling from CCK to Bishan will be far so I intended to look for flats around Bishan.
But the cost of a flat there is so....expensive..

Now I am thinking whether I should forget about letting her study in Ai Tong..
Dilema... Any comments?

tracie

one thing hor, when u look at their valuation report, see when's the expiry. Coz likely the next valuation will be lower and the seller will be more kan cheong to sell the hse before the valuation expires. Then you will be in a better position to negotiate for a good price.

chocpie
hi hi Me too staying at cck and my gal travels to bukit timah.

Methodist church you referring to is Bukit Panjang Methodist Church kindy? If yes, my nephew is there and there is emphasis on academic. Another one you can consider is Glory near toh yi.

CCK houses for me if I sell will be at a loss. And my next place if planning nearer to school is exp lor. Ha ha so have to retire later man

Hi Marshy,

Thanks for the tip...

Hi Chicken Little,

I still can't decide to let her study at Zoophonics or Bt Panjang Methodist
Zoophonics Environment is definately more well like by my girl.

chocpie
zoophonic seems quite good as my nephew was previously from there during weekend class. I think some mummies here oso had their kids sign up at zoophonics too.

I was thinking of sending my son for zoophonic weekend class too but he is picking up a lot from current kindy so I dropped the idea so save me more time without ferrying them to classes during weekend.

As I have a older gal already in P1 who does not have self discipline, I actually need to spend more time to monitor her. So I was lucky to find a cc with quite a good coverage of curriculum so that I need not send him for enrichment classes except swimming.

Talking about swimming, mummies I am quite happy with the current swimming class at Waterfun - NTU alumni

no. 1 ha ha I need not go into water with Aden. No. 2 there are 2 coaches for a group of 4
no. 3 both my kids can join in the same class
no. 4 Aden follows the coach instruction and simply no phobia with water though the first few lesson he is not cooperative at all

But ha ha it does not work for charmaine though she has improved since first lesson with only half body soaked in water. Now at least her hair is wet too.

Just to share this very funny part. The coach will ask them to jump into the pool and he will catch hold of them and get them to kick the water till they reach a toy. Or will get them to do a star fish style with head into water. Aden will always be the first one to volunteer and eager to go a second time.

Charmaine will always be shaking her head very reluntantly being pulled down. So whenever it is Charmaine turn, Aden gets impatient because if charmaine does not do it , he cannot for second time.

So he will get up, and try to push his sister down. We are always laughing at his actions. Wondering when will my Charmaine curb her water phobia

CL,
me too, spending more time with duncan..he is not a very smart boy but he works really hard. I am very pleased with his this term test results...Math - Full mark, English 36/40 and chinese 42/50 (no more HYPY)...

I hope that duncan can be more independent next year, so that i can concentrate on #2. I am looking out for enrichment class for damien.

Belinda
His score very good leh. He should be ok. Her class happen to be pilot class for one of the new chinese initiative so I quite xiong have to go through extra thing with her

Wow! All the talk on moving house. HB and I also looking into getting a bigger place but within the same area since we are so comfortable staying in our current area... we're hoping that people are selling their 5-rooms at valuation.

Chocpie

Is your girl in the zoophonics daily program? Who's the teacher? I was with zoophonics todds for a while when it was parent-accompanied. the programme was rather interesting as the kids do more craft-related stuff, and I like the teacher. But when we did the Zoo Kids for a month, I realize the work become rather routine work like tracing n letter recognition. Anyway, my schedule changed and I decided to withdraw my son. We stay in Yew Tee btw and my son's not going to school. Prob will for certain days in July cos I need to exhaust his energy. He'll eventually go to CGM next yr.

Got a neighour whose oldest go to Catholic High and apparently they travel everyday. Don't know how they do it. And I find which school u want to send your child too really depends on your own schooling philosophy... some parents believe that neighbourhood school scores as well. Some choose to go all the way to get into the top schools esp if they find their kids will strive under pressure.

CL, go rent a place nearer school ... that's what a few frens are doing :-> ... how does C go to school now, and after school?

Anyway, sometime ago, I asked abt my hubbby's finger cond. He's decided to go for the day op as it seemed rather simple as he found out. His condition is called triggered finger.

.ky.

ky

for me, it's more for convenience so that i don't need to crack my head thinking of which sch to send my boy to next time. haha, so nothing to do with schooling philosophy, just plain laziness. So just send to my hb's alma mater since it's a reputable sch too. Just scared he'll become a snob, so will have to teach him more on his values. Maybe going Chen Su Lan Home CC may not be a bad idea after all when he gets to know the underprivileged children.

The sch downstairs my place is really quite bad (comments from my friend who taught there) which also explains the ease in getting in.

At least for my gal, it'll be nearby, so not so bad.

Glad to know that there's nothing serious with your hb's finger.

Ky
Charmaine takes school bus at 6.15. school starts 7.20. Before 7 she will reach school and they will do silent reading. Class ends at 1.30. School bus usually leave school at 1.50 and she reaches my sil's home at CCK crescent at 2.30-35. So it is actually a very long day for her.

Then on tue, wed she has enrichment classes from 4 pm. Other days she gets to nap and do her homework. My only blessing is not much homework from NYPS. Then my sil will teach her on Tingxie and spelling. I just need to reinforce at night. Then friday night she will finish all the homework. Sat and Sun is realli play play play for her.

But next year, i have to start planning again. Because nephew going to start P1 next year. Sil will have 1 in morning 1 in pm so very xiong for her to take care of Charmaine. So I have to start to think again

Glad to hear that it is not serious for your hb

tracie
I think option 4 sounds good. But, can also put the kids with your MIL right? since bishan is qt near to thomson. You just reminded me. I was telling hb abt moving house too, but we are wondering where to go, headache getting a good catholic sch for boys.

mashy
you boy's gg to SJI??