(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Thanks. Both gals are better. But A still having very bad cough. M's fever just stablise, but still hovering around 37.5.....

Hi Cookie,

I didn't know Burt's bee is SLS and paraben free..... SIL bought them in USA and brought some back but i find the smell too sweet.

Jason Natural not good?

ky

remedol 125 can get at the pharmacy. No need prescription. In fact don't even need the pharmacist. It works the same as the oral meds, just that when C is having a fever, he's too fussy to wanna take his meds, esp late at night. So it's a good alternative.

belinda - oh yes u mentioned redoxon kids vit. ahha...missed that part. ok will head down to pharmacy later this evening. gonna start the kids popping them from today onwards.

Mashy
I think voren or voltaren are the same, just different brand name cos they are all diclofenac

SY
Glad to hear that JH is fine. I think maybe cos JH is already not feeling well that why he's crying...then the fever develop?

Cookie
I'm sure K1 will enjoy disneyland now..maybe you can just bring K1 & K2 and leave K3 at home =p

Cookie,
Just curious, how come u say the Jason Natural is full of crap le? Their website states that their products are all SLS, Paraben free. So, its not true issit? I am also looking out for a good SLS free shampoo for my boys.

Mashy,

Lately my 2 boys also Keep falling sick.
I think that's the problem with having 2 kids..

May ,
Hang in there !!

Travel,
I envy those who just came back from holiday...
I wish I could go not too much hassel to bring two kids..
And they are so sticky to
Me so fat hope of traveling with hubby alone..

Wenyl,

Ezekiel was taking zembolin too .. He is allergic to fever medication so only supporties is possible.. My home is luke a mini pharmacy..

Today I did a very blur thing. I accdiently give my Chinese medication to Elijah..give wrongly.. Coz all look the same.. Didn't realize until few hours later.. Lately my health is bad allergy came back full force ..

Mashy ,
I also duno about the fever subsitute until Ezekiel was allergic to it..

Tracie,

when i brought the two Es to japan,, big E almost got bang by car.. and luckly for me that the japanese drive their car slowly in lanes if not my big E wouls have been killed.. he was running across the road to reach for me .. my hb and brother suppose to look after him.. but hb look after small E and brother just eye power ..i didn't know until the car horn.. i really got scared and shock so did big E.. from then on I realsie never trust the man..

oldmum
our family including the 2 kids have been visiting that TCM long time ago. both my kids see Sinsei Su (lady sinsei) whenever they are sick. i usually see the sinsei neo you mentioned.

Belinda,
Me too, gave wrong dosage of anti-biotics. Supposed to be twice a day, I gave thrice a day. Only Day 3 then discover =P

Tracie,
I wish there is 3-in-1 supp. Fever, flu and cough together. Wow.. that will be great !!

Hi May,

It's a daily struggle for me to feed Megan medicine. I think she took this chance to be extremely difficult.

Each medicine feeding session can last half an hour and involve MIL, FIL, Maid, Ashley........... Want this person to carry, then hold that person's hand etc..... after fulfilling her conditions, still refuse to open her mouth to eat medicine......... losing patience man.... threaten her with doctor visits, putting suppository.......

Wanted to 'reward' her with some jelly, end up she hold the jelly in her hand, still don;t want the medicine...... i got so angry that i took the jelly in her hand and the whole packet from the fridge and throw them down the dusbin in front of her. That wake her up and still, want tis person carry, that person bring her this pillow blah blah blah..... then eat medicine...... Hai.......

imagine one day three times - four type of medicine each time.........

Yuki,
U try adding into her milk? I do that for E when he used to refuse medicine when he was younger. Now I do that for Ben when he refuse his medicine sometimes. I will portion abt 2-3 ounce of milk n add the medicine in 1st. Then finish off with the balance milk.

Yuki,
Gosh, that sounds EXACTLY like my megan but the difference is in the end, my Megan still wun take the medicine. I just waiting for one day she will 'grow up' and take medicine willingly.

Wenyl,
For Meg she can taste even when its only 5ml of medicine out of 180ml of milk. Give up!

Rena,
Sigh...men!

RE : Crocs Expo Sale - 22 May 09 to 24 May 09
Crocs™ expo sale from 22 May 09 (Friday) to 24 May 09 (Sunday) at Singapore Expo Hall 4A from 10am – 8pm.

Need urgent help.
Any good PD in the west to recommend?

J1 passed her flu and cough virus to J2. My poor J2, barely 2mths old caught the virus. I am very mad with J1 and myself. Had told J1 so many times not to kiss and touch J2 and got to cover mouth when cough and wash her hands freq but she simply dun listen. As for me, I tot giving BM will at least give her antibodies but she caught the virus so fast, I have doubt on my own BM now. Keep blaming myself for the weak body that I have and giving J2 lousy milk.

Right now, I just hope to get a PD fast and zoom down to the clinic before lunch. Will be checking here very often cos my two gals are still asleep. Hope someone can help. Thanks.

Hi Tracie,

Indeed. No use adding into milk cos my Megan also can taste. End up wasting the whole bottle of milk only.

VEry tiring. Have to threaten with jelly, bringing her to doctor, injections, asking doctor to come house visit etc.......... Think have to get very creative with all the threats.....

Hi May,

I don't know any doc in the West. Hope your gals get better. You must take care of yourself too.

yuki

That's like my boy like maybe 1yr ago? I had to spike his food, his drinks everything. But he's got a sharp tongue, so even a little drop into his drink or food, he'll know it.

BUt dunno what happened, he just suddenly changed overnight and decided to take his meds. I suppose it's coz he got used to having to take his ventolin & mucoslovan whenever he starts to cough. And at night, we'll give him his supplements as well.

For those that he still didn't like, we had to force feed him. Or we use distraction method. Like we'll let him watch his favourite tv prog. Then while he's engrossed in it, we just shove the meds into his mouth with a bottle of water next to him. He knows that he's eating meds lah, but he's less resistent.

Most recently, he didn't wanna eat his lacto chewable meds, so we gave him his goat's milk sweets (which he likes very much) and force him to chew the 2 together. Many times he'll refuse, but we let him choose another 2 more sweets to eat after the meds and he'll at least chew the lacto meds.

belinda - i went to pharmacy and on redoxen vit c for kids, it stated 4 yrs and above. hence, i didnt get any. i checked out the other brands and most of them are to be consumed at a much older age. Hmm...maybe i shall check out unity for the brand tat aileen mentioned

cookie - burt bees online are so much cheaper but have to wait. where did you get urs? online spree? have ur kids tried the bath soap? in the end , i bought GAIA shampoo for my kids...whoa damn ex! almost 20bucks per bottle. can faint! anyone kind mummies gg aussie, maybe can help me buy for my next round? hahaa..

may - there is a thread on this...check this out. i do heard before from here that someone recommended the PD from CCK LOT1 which was also mentioned in the thread. take care!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/95254.html?1238381882

ssf, my son is on apeton Vit C.
i realised he will have phelghm if i giv the orange favour, so i changed to blackcurrant.
can get from unity, watson or guardian. suitable for age 2 and above.

Hi Mashy,

Megan learn to 'blow out' so that even whenwe force feed her, her 'blowing out' method will make sure she split out the medicine.......

At first she uses hand to cover her mouth and realise we can catch hold of her hand.... so now she uses this blowing method.....

yuki

C also blow out his meds. What we do is that I'll swaddle him with a huge blanket so that he can't struggle. Then pinch nose and syringe the meds. I know it runs the risk of choking, but somehow he knows that he's supposed to swallow before breathing in. Like that he can't blow out.

But i think it's always such a headache to force feed. So i try the softer approach with him coz i find he's easier to handle when using the softer approach. I withdraw benefits and offer him if he takes his meds. So eg, no tv, no fish oil (which he loves) etc if he doesn't take his meds. Maybe u see what will hurt her most if u withdraw that benefit, maybe her favourite toy, her bolster, her fav tv prog or sweet etc.

can i just chk if you kid know how to write ABC/123 alrd?
just realised my son still don't know how to write when we asked..
is this normal? or wat should be their 'standard' now? :p

Yuki,
hahaha, same here! blow out the medicine, cover the mouth, hide somewhere...all tried liao. one adult carry her, one hold her head, one hold her arms, one feed, one hold water bottle. ALSO fail cos she will spit out!

We should video it down for everyone to see!

oily,
i tink each kid at their own pace. Meg can only write digits 1 to 7 and alphabets randomly. 'M' she can write very well for sure.

May
Don't blame yourself... in fact, you cannot pass flu viruses through BM! It's only the airborned route. so should continue to give BM to help J2 recover faster. It's the best way! My family doctor has got PD training... at Bt Merah Central... you might consider bringing your 2 Js there.

Oily
my boy knows how to write his ABCs and 123s, but I think it helps that they recognize the alphabets and numbers first than to write. They will start leaning to write when they are nursery level. Don't worry... own time own pace...cannot force. I was told it's not good for them to start writing at such a young age.

Feeding Medicine
Antibiotics is the only medicine that Daren resist taking. So what we do is, I'll arm lock him and tilt his head back, my helper will pinch his nose so he has to open his mouth to breathe and we'll syringe down medication at the side of walls of his cheeks. and he'll have to swallow before he can breathe.

hello everyone
long time nvr log in.

SSF,
I've tried let the kids try Burts Bees shampoo and wash. it has a nice smell, but more soapy than CB.

wendyl
I think Jasons has sodium benzonate.. something like tt. but, it is SLS free.

Toothpaste
Ger's toothpaste is finishing.. anyone organising a spree to stock up.. i got my earlier stock from one of the mummies who did BP for ur grp.. but, i cant rem who it was.. hahah.. anyone knows which website sells it the cheapest? tks!!

krissie - i think it was SY who organise the first teeth toothpaste BP. i also dun mind stocking up again if someone is arranging. i still have abt 4 tubes left :D where did you buy ur burts bees prod? online? how much was it?

oily - C can write 1-10 not sure abt alphabet as i never tested him before. haa...take it easy, each kid progresses differently.

re: piano lesson
anyone thinking of enrolling their kid for piano lesson? i am playing with the thought but not sure if there is any trial class available and what is the min age for enrollment.

re: maid
my maid contract is ending in sept. anyone knows if she can choose to sign on for just 1 yr instead of 2 should she wants to continue? and will there be any cut to agency upon renewal? my maid is still thinking if she wants to come back. i am giving her till jun to think over before i arrange for another. meanwhile, we are also thinking if we want to have a maid or just enrol J to a full day child care and my mum can look after C in the day. reason being that my hb is now working from hm. so it may be easier to do without a maid. the most i engage Ah ma on wheels over the weekend.

May ... I thot the same too, when ds#2 caught the flu virus at 3mths old from ds#1 ... but it can't be helped esp when the older one goes to school. And people always tell me that it'll be worse without the bm. And true enough, I find ds#1 doesn't fall sick as much and recovers faster now that he's older .... jiayou! If it does help, do try to keep your diet to good, nutritious food. I eat a lot of junk now.

re : writing. I'm letting ds#2 do a lot of tracing now. I find it helps in refining the strokes. ds#1 starts writing (prob. officially) when he's 5 yrs old and when he first started, I've to remind him to do the curve for the "r" properly or write the "d" neatly, etc. I'm not rushing into the writing part, but more keen to develop the reading part. ds#2 is very keen to read new words and that's something that was developed in ds#1 later than 3 yrs old.

SSF
re : piano lesson.... noone will take in 3 yr olds ... hm, prob the private teachers as I do see some on youtube or blogs where the kid can play... but since the attn span of the child is very short and the strength is not there, I personally feel that should not start so early. I'm comparing btw the situation when ds#1 start at 4 and he has problem stretching till now at 6, he can more of less play both hands and stretch with more ease.... likewise, many kids I hear start at 5 with private piano teachers and I see the speed they do is much faster ...

re: maid. yes, can just sign for 1 yr. When I had my maid, we did not sign any contract n everything is verbal. I bought insurance for 1 yr only (if I remember correctly).... u may wanna use this 1 year to do the caregiving arrangement changes ...

.ky.

may

don't blame yourself. I find that younger siblings tend to fall sick often coz of their older siblings. When 1 get sick, the other will too. It def has nothing to do with your BM.

Re: writing
My boy can't write. Can't even draw properly. He tried writing an 'A' but it looks more like an 'H' coz it's opened at the top. But he will tell me it's 'A'. And that's the only letter that he's interested in writing. And when he writes that he'll go '1', '1', '1' (chinese yi). Ok, that's how i taught him, actually i meant to get him to write 'H' since he's only interested in drawing straight lines down. But he said it's 'A'.

His favourite of course is number '1'. Yes, u prob would have guessed it, coz it's just a straight line down. humph...

Mamachan,
I know that flu cannot pass thru BM. Just that I am pretty upset that despite giving BM, J2 still get sick. Lousy BM.. maybe I eat too much junks already.

RE: Writing
J1 is better in writing alphabets than numbers.

may
don't blame yourself. like what ky said if without bm, bb will get sick easier and take longer time to recover. compared to my #1, my #2 gets sick more frequently. my gal last time only started getting sick after i stopped bf her. so, jia you!

re: writing
my gal still can't write ABC and 123, but i am not so worried 'cos she can recognise the alphabets and number. and i think she needs to build up the tracing skills 1st before start real writing part.

re: learning piano
my mil's neighbour is giving piano lesson. When I checked with her on the suitable age, she said minimum 5.5 yo. if younger than that, it's more on music appreciation.

May
Babies when sick, still takes at least 2 weeks to recover. I remember that when D was sick at 3 months plus...he took 2 weeks to recover as compared to when he was off BM, he took 3-4 weeks. There are still antibodies in our milk that helps them through when they are sick. I find that when you are BF, must take good care of yourself and our diet... coz BF-ing takes alot of nutrients from our body so we need to "bu" ourselves.

SSF
Hmmm, I think at this age still abit young to go for piano lessons? Ideal age is from 5 years onwards. I think for now, should concentrate on building up their fine motor skills i.e. buttoning, threading, rolling mats/papers. Like what sunny shared, it's more for music appreciation now.

With regards to maid's renewal, if your maid is not going back on home leave, just need to print out the form for renewal from MOM (they will send you a letter first) and bring her down to Tanjong Pagar to renew her work permit. Also, buy the maid insurance for the period that your maid is renewed for. For me, I had to go through agency to settle some paperwork that was needed to facilitate my maid's home leave. That part really requires the maid agency's help.

writing,
my boy can only doodle, he can sort of follow the tracing but definitely can't write on his own except for O,X,l,i... few simple ones. but i'm not concern la, more important he can recognise. and they are only 3yo! gosh, these days the kids are getting smarter!

CL
how's aden? recovered?
my gal got high fever yesterday. 39.7. scary manz.. luckily now subsided liao.
how's he coping with the new childcare centre?

Hi CL and Aileen,

Ha, am glad to know Megan is not the only one who can't write yet. In fact she can't even recognise all the alphabets!

She has a mind of her own and does not always follow the teacher's instructions. In one of the review, the principal commented that she always talk and try to distract you with other stuff for things that she is not keen in doing. She likes to 'deflect' attention......

Yuki
Aden only started recognising alpha from leapfrog and he loves to tell me he sees A n B and we hope not to hear C when he tell us what he sees for the grading the hawker gets.

Sunny
Aden is better now. But last evenin dunno why his temp suddenly goes up to 38.2. Lucky this morning ok and now oso ok.

He is quite ok with this new centre. And teachers say he is angel which i always cannot believe my ears. But last friday when we go to school for mother's day celebration, teacher can see his change when mummy is around. she told us we have to be firm. I oso quite firm mah, then he will cry woh. And I never give in.

Helpful part i believe and she also commented on his leadership which it is important for kids nowadays.

He learned his numbers well from this current cc and his chinese also improves a lot.

Yuki,
I still strongly believe in letting the kids enjoy their childhood. I'm really letting them learn at their own pace or from school. Partly also coz I'm a super lazy mum. So I won't blame my kids with they turn out last in class! hee...

Need help:
last evening, edgar suddenly asked me to buy him a bible!! how?? how to explain to him that we are not religious. Both HB and I were so taken aback. We were totally caught offguard! I told him cannot and he was so upset. That's the thing about sending non-christians to christian schools, I guess.

mamachan - my maid wants to go home. in fact she wants to celebrate hari raya so will leave before contract ends on 13th Sept. how to settle her pay har? give half mth? levy got subsidy or still have to pay 1 mth of $170? levy is by giro so how? will they stop deduction when she is not ard? cos giro is always giving me a headache!

krissie - thks!! how long did u wait before the burt bees goods arrive?

re:writing
yesterday i tested C on alphabets and he doesn't even know how to write an A but can write numbers from 1-9.

re:piano
ok maybe i am being kiasu. haha....will try asking ard when he is abt 5 then. hee..