(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

SSF
me too. my 2 kids have been taking turn to fall sick weeks ago. now, my gal's cough is still quite bad and my boy's nose is still dripping with lots of phelgm in the throat. so tiring....

ssf

I'd go with the PD's view. I don't trust KK doctors. In any case, perhaps you can goto a 3rd PD for an alternate view.

Hope the kids get better soon. Ariene has also been down with gastric flu and was vomiting every 10 minutes on friday night and was down with high fever on sat. Thanks goodness she recovered on Sunday but appetite is still so-so only and I don't know if I should give her back her milks as I'm afraid that she'll get diarrhea from it.

zhimin,

Yes flu vaccination is highly recommended and is best taken 1 month before hand as you need a booster dose 1 month from the first dose if its your first time taking the jab for the flu vaccination to have full effect.

SSF
Oh dear me.... sounds really serious. Perhaps nebu's medication is easier to buy from pharmacy? That's why they don't want parents to "self-medicate" the children without 1st consulting the doctors... I think it's a precaution as maybe they see alot more of such cases and it's actually endangering the child? Hope that your boys will be recovered soon!

Zhimin
When you bring your gal for flu vaccination (advisable), do ask from PD/GP for standby paracetomol, or if you are afraid your gal is one whose prone to cough/cold, can have some standby-meds for those... I was abit more KS, would bring along my thermometer for the just-in-case lah...

Like what SSF mentioned, I brought lots of children's biscuits/cheerios for my boy when I travelled to Perth, brought along my BIL's PSP loaded with some of his favourite cartoons, doodle-board, color pencils and a small drawing notebook, his comfort stuff toy and of course, their milk powder and milk bottles (if she's still drinking her FM). You can easily obtain hot water from the airline staff.

Since my boy was still on pull-ups and diapers, I brought my own set of diapers...but I ran out and could still buy some his size at the local supermarkets...but if your gal is toilet trained, shouldn't be a problem.

MamaPanda
I would advise not to give your gal her milks yet...even if you do, have to dilute the strength of the milk. Is she taking fresh milk or FM? Let her tummy rest 2-3 more days before giving milk again...in case it might trigger off the diarrhoea...main thing is to keep her hydrated.

mamachan - we went to pharmacy and enquire and no without dr's prescription, they are not selling. which means we have to go back to TMC and consult a dr which will amt to $100 for consultation without medicine. really expensive ya!

mamapanda - u can dilute the milk for a start before giving full force. most impt is to hydrate...plenty of water.

sunny - ya its wierd that when one sick, the other also sick. best part for me is that both are having different sickness. one chesty cough the other fever and diarrhoea. hope your kids get well soon.

CL
thanks for booking.. see ya...
Sorry I very suaku... the sun&moon is inside Chijmes?? which floor? My 1st time le

Zhimin - so qiao, im also taking Cel to Taiwan in April... but mine is end apr
actuali,i din vaccinate her wf the flu vaccine the last few times i brot her overseas. since its highly recommended and tis trip is gona b longer than previous trips, i might just head to PD too... ur question is so timely!!! thanks ya!

for things to pack, like wat SSF said, have on hand some drinks/snacks tat they like to munch on during taking off and landing. tis is one of the most impt thing to me, prevent earblock. other than tat is the medicine and thermometer. and like wat mamachan did, i had our PSP loaded wf her fave shows to engage her when she gets bored. i also brot along some books to keep her entertained while in the hotel room and during bedtime.

SSF - sorry to hear bout ur boys.. hope they will be fine soon.weather isnt too good lately, Cel is also having a viral infection now. meanwhile u take good care of urself too, must be taxing on you!

cookie
Sun&Moon is on 2nd floor. You know there's an escalator in Chijmes? The entrance of the stairs to Sun & Moon is near there, can take the stairs up to 2nd floor...pity no escalator up. Hope this helps!

17 Mar - Sun & Moon Dining - Chijmes - 12.30 pm. Reservation under Angie for 8.
1.Chic Lil
2.Aileen
3.Mamachan
4.rena
5. Cookie ( i confirm..)
6. Tabbiesus

Belinda just sms me to say she cannot join. Hee hee any mummy wants to join us ?

hope all the kids will be well soon!

SSF
I was at NSC this morn too! Was there to see my red nose and eczema stricken lips.

So tired today coz my boy took his 20mins nap in the car. After that he's so awake and I'm so tired.

Think I'll have to give tom's lunch a miss coz I need to catch up on my sleep. Must be back before lunch so that C can have a proper 3hr nap & I can rest too.

SSF

My appt was 940am. But my appt was at clinic F.

1030am I should be on my way to the pharmacy. No, i was alone with C, pushing a red stroller.

SSF
so sorry to read abt both your kids, hope they have speedy recovery. Must be very tiring for you.
My K3 after her 2nd jab also LS for abt a week
and so poor thing.

mamachan
hee..I try to find the place. So paisey to say I only been to Chijmes once! and that was ...to some place call China Jump.. dunno if it still there.

May & Queen
Time flies!... next will be your turn, Have a smooth delivery in case I din pop by that often.

Queen
I LOL when I see your MIL's comment on ne ne pok...same as my MIL la.. I think she "introduce" the ku ku jiao to K1
So on weekend when we shower K2, K1 will be there saying ku-ku ku-ku.
My Hb will roll eyes and say who taught her?? I will tell him " Who Else"??

Like what Tabbiesus says... dun worry about the arrival of #2, things will fall in place. When K2 arrive I dun have much prob, maybe K1 was too young or she dun see didi as her rivalry (yet).
With #3 arrived was and still a challenge, both K1&2 can be whinny at the same time.
But its really strange... K2 whinny becos of meimei and he really dun like us carry meimei.
K1 whine becos of K2 as she wants to compete attention with him, K1 never whine over meimei somehow, she is always willing to wait for her turn of baobao after I settle K3 and thats very sweet of K1 I have to say.
Eventho, the Ks are fight a lot but they love playing with each other after the fight.
So... I'm sure Issac will defintely grow to love didi when time comes!!

RE: Lunch gathering
Sorry mumiies, can't join u all for the Sun Moon lunch today. Have been shuttling around cos my granny was admitted to SGH on Fri.

SSF,
Sorry to hear abt ur boys....hope they get well soon. My Ben just recovered from high fever last week...was so tough feeding/pacifying a whiny baby. His appetite was really low, even reject his fav milk.

May,
All the best for your delivery! I see your msn massage.....counting down to ur D day! Dun worry too much, Jamie will be a good jie jie. Can tell she is quite tong shi.

thanks mummies for your concern. J's fever had subsided. LS also not that frequent. as for C, it seems that apparently many of his classmates are coughing and down with runny nose. i guess he got it from school.

cookie - regarding the ku ku jiao. somehow C associates belly button to ku ku jiao. once i was in a fitting room and i brought him in with me and when he saw my belly button, he shouted ku ku jiao so loudly. so embarassing. i have to quickly cupped his mouth and dragged him out. haha..

Thanks for the advise, only flu jab right? No other jab hor? But Clarisse is still having slight flu, can she take the flu vaccine then?

Sunny

Same here, Clarisse and Declan has been taking turns after one another to fall sick, their flu is like on and off, then a while is fever, after a while is cough with phelgm or running nose, really stress.

God's child

Really? So qiao... have you booked your tours? Me kind of panic now, because running out of time. We decided to set off after 18 April, can share which agency you go to? Can PM me the price too? Thanks.

Wenyl
Oh dear...so sorry to hear about your grandma... hope she has a speedy recovery!

Lunch
Nice meeting the mummies for lunch! Enjoyed listening to you ladies share about your little ones... I was rushing to and fro lunch...busy busy day. Do let me know who paid for lunch and how much to transfer for my share.

mashy
is C partially toilet trained already? As in he will go to the toilet by himself to urinate? Wow! He very good, can initiate to wear his underwear for naptime...think he's getting there!

mamachan

can, he will tell me he wanna pee pee or sometimes he will just head over to the potty to do his own biz. But till now still don't dare bring him out without diapers. Not sure whether he can hold his pee till he wakes up from his nap though. So scared that i've to change his bedsheets later. Don't even dare go in and check.

His teacher has been complaining abt his toilet training leh. Coz he pooed two days consecutively in school and she asked me to put him on a potty before going to school.
I wish he will poo just by me putting him on a potty. Still now, he still can't do it and needs to poo standing up. sigh.

Any Dec kids still not toilet trained? Any complaints from the teachers?

Zhimin - i booked the tour aldy... will PM you the details shortly.travel after 18 APril? actuali the weekend with Labour Day in very good lei, can save up on the leave... me took tat stretch so oni nid to take 4 days leave...

Wenyl - hope ur grandma gets well soon! i have been shuttling to SGH every now and then too. my grandpa has been there for 2 weeks liao due to mild stroke. thot he cld go home tis wed, but now they pushed it back to fri/sat... sigh...

Mashy
oh that's good! My boy now (when at home), will initiate to go to the toilet on his own. Without prompting or anything. Just yesterday evening, while playing with his toys, he suddenly went " Mummy I want to pee!" and ran past me to get to the toilet. I was really proud of him! Now I'm thinking if to let him go to school in his underwear...but will have to speak to his teacher in person first. We did try to just let him wear the pull-up bumwear to school, but I think it leaked...coz he might have take it for granted it's like a diaper.

god's child
oh no...sorry to hear bout your grandpa...hope he's all better soon!

God's child and Wenyl
Hope your grans will get well soon.

SSF
hope our kiddo oso get well soon

Cookie, Rena, Tabbiesus, Mamachan Aileen
Nice meeting up and today we realli have a lot of fun talking

SSF
hope your kids get well soon.

Zhimin
really stress manz. mentally, physically and financially, too when kids are sick. haha...
for the past month, i have been bringing the kids to see TCM and GP, and even go for tui na. really hope that our kids get sick less often and we have more rest.

wenyl
hope your grandma get well soon.

god's child
oh dear, stroke is no joke even it's a mild one. your grandpa get well soon.

Thanks Cookie & Wenyl for the well wishes.
Yes.. one more week to go and it is the D day. Can't wait for it to happen as it is really tiring for me to carry her around. Hopefully Jamie can adapt to the arrival of her meimei asap.

Wenyl & God's Child,
Hope your grandma and grandpa get well soon.

mashy,
Looks like C is making some improvement already. Carry on praising him bah. Although Jamie is off diaper now, I still insist of putting on diaper for her at night and when we go out. Hb is a deep sleeper and I can't dash her to the toilet in the middle of the night. Find it harder even if we are out. So no choice, got to stick on this until my c-sect wound after delivery gets better. Meanwhile, JIAYOU on that !!

Oh ya, can see the gender of ur #2 already? Got gut feel that it is a gal. Share with us once u know the gender okie?

Thanks for ur concern! She is much better as compared to last week.

Mashy,
Dun think we will move back but I did invite her to stay with me since I am not working. But she complain my place too small. Haha. Very hard to please old folks. We contemplating whether to get a maid with nursing background for her. But its quite hard to find a good one cos she only speaks hokkien.

RE: toilet training
Its a good sign C initiates not to wear diapers for his naps. Maybe he now knows its more comfy without the thick hot diapers la. Continue with it tomorrow & very soon u can save $$$ on day diapers liao.....ask him to pee b4 nap, reward him or praise him if he does it. Then let him sleep in his training pants so tat at least if he really pees, its partially being soaked up. Or if he refuse to even wear training pants, then let him sleep & afterwards, slip those disposable sheet or some nappy cloths under the bedsheet just in case. Tats what I did for E last time.

God's child,
Hope ur Ahgong will recover & be discharged soon! Btw, which blk is he in? My ahma is in blk 5.

may/wenyl/CL
hehe, thanks. I'm hoping too. This Sat will find out.

Re: toilet training
Will try again today. Hopefully will be ok. But after he woke up yesterday accident free, he went to poo in his underwear twice. sigh. That really dunno what to do. He insists on pooing while standing. If he sits on the potty, after a while, he'll stand up, spread open his butt cheeks and tell me no poo.

wenyl
old folks are like that. sigh. She cannot speak malay ah? Thought most old folks will know a little malay.

Wenyl - my grandpa is at blk 6... currently undergoing physio thus the extended stay. abit worried cos the place he stay is not lift landing, so might b tuff for him. will c hw things go...

May - wow, so fast... just one more week! all the best to ur delivery

Wenyl/God's_hild - Wishing your yr grandparents speedy recovery soon!

May - Have a smooth delivery & a great confinement.

Toilet training - C is trained to go diaperless throughout the day. He's on diapers at nite though cos he's a deep sleeper. Will prob train him for the nite one when I have my break during Jun. Can patiently wake him up in the mid of the nite to go pee :p

Any one ever did transfer of maid? Can advise what is the procedure like? Can we do it oursleves or need to engage an agent?

wenyl/god's child..

hang in there .. old folks gets older they will be like that.. part of life.. be strong ya.. they will recover soon.

Yuki
I believe it's best to go through agent ot help to facilitate the paperwork...can be quite a headache to do everything on your own...coz their employment pass have to be under the new owner' name, etc etc. Recommend to go through the agency bah...just pay them the necessary admin fee...shouldn't be more than $200 - $300? (I think, not too sure myself) I'm just basing on the admin fee I paid for my maid's home leave and recontract

Thanks Sysac and Mamachan.

Yup. My maid home last year with the intention not to ocme back. SO i cancel her work permit. After resting for 2 weeks, she called me and said she want to come back.

End up got to pay $1000 to bring her back. If she go thru the agent in her home country, she has to pay back 7 months of her salary, which is $2k plus.

Sysac/Belinda,
I was thinking of zoo on fri morning too cos E is on sch holiday this week & I didnt plan any outing for him so far. Feeling abit guilty la. Haha! Dunno if Fri zoo will be jam packed or not. Will u gals be heading to the Children's world or going around visiting the animals???? Can PM me ur hp? If I do go, will contact either of u. Tia!

Yuki
if I'm you, I would make her repay back the $1k... we're better off doesn't mean they can take us employers for granted.... just my thoughts. Or make it clear to her that you could have had a new maid for much less than upfront of $1k

Belinda/Wenyl - Yes, planning to go cos took leave these 2 days. I hope the weather is good. Been told of the newly opened Children's World. If weather is great, will bring C & my god-dau along.

I hope it's not packed! Just came back from Raffles City after an outing with friends. It's a dead town on a weekday. No one's shopping...everyone's just eating & then heading home. I was surprised with the lack of shoppers even at Robinson's itself!

Sysac
You were at Raffles City? LOL! I was at Chijmes with a gf for dinner at Sun dining...then we headed to Raffles City, agreed that it's quite quiet.

Thanks God's Child & Sysac for the well wishes =)

Mashy,
U end up getting new stroller? Not getting back from SIL anymore?

may

how to get back from SIL? They threw away already anyway. can't even get back the cushion. Unless they wanna give us their current one. My hb said after this one, don't pass anything to them in case we've #3. My SIL has returned us the stuff that we passed to them. Only things that they didn't use remained in good condition. Those that they used had to be thrown to the junkyard.
All the nice clothes were in a mess and had to be thrown out. Now only left some for home wear. I suppose this might be God's sign that it'll be a gal, so i won't need any of these boys' clothes anyway.

Anyway, a friend passed us her old stroller, so we'll make do with it. The new stroller we bought is an umbrella stroller meant to replace my current one which has been rolling on 3 wheels since the car accident.

Hi Mamachan,

Yup I make her pay 50% of the cost. She don;t mean to make trouble for me. She wants to work but her mum wants her to get married. Therefor she is not sure whether she is coming back. I don't mind cos she was a good helper and familar with the gals.

On hindsight, maybe i shouldn't have just cancel her work permit and maybe wait for a while. But that's against the law isn't it?........... Costly lesson for both of us.

Btw, her passport expiring soon. Heard it is also costly to renew passport. Who should pay for it?