(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Here's the pic of the book that I bought for Jamie. Popular Bookshop selling at $2.90.

Outer cover (front)
2186518.jpg

Outer cover (back)
2186519.jpg

Inner (left) Pasting pic and colour according to the pic
2186520.jpg

Inner (right) Pasting word and write with dotted lines
2186521.jpg

Zhimin,
i told my hb that if i ever got a gal, i will sign up ballet class for her...hahaha..i even asked my elder boy if he is interested or not. Too bad he only want to learn WuShu.

Mamachan
Ops... paiseh... haha... me really ignorant about ballet

Belinda
my good friend who has 3 boys also tell me the same thing.

May
Thanks for sharing.

may
thanks for sharing

I also bought those books with the markers which can be wiped off, Ger will also trace along those dotted lines. heehee..

zhimin
my gal also keeps asking me to let her go ballet. but, i prefer her to learn piano leh. haha.. haven't signed up any class for her...

belinda
i am thinking of letting my gal to learn wushu. haha.. to project herself. aiyo... so many interesting classes, don't know which one to decide...

may
jamie can trace very well!!!

share with you my kids pix. taken during his 1 yr b/day celebration. made cup cakes for him, too. but, too bad, he can see, cannot eat. haha... only yx gets to enjoy the cupcake.

2187396.jpg

2187397.jpg

Sunny,
my #1 just started Wushu from his Primary school...I wanna him to join scout instead..to learn more independent instead.
i still have not think of anything for damien. I duno if he is too weak or what, realised that whenever i brought him to the pool, he will come and sick.

mashy/zhimin,
this is a dream from mother of 2 boys bring her gal to ballet class...hahahaha.

Mamapanda,

So sorry - just saw the post and promptly went ahead and pay without scrolling down further....

Zhimin,
For Charmaine, we didn't really send her to any enrichment classes but she has baby ballet in the childcare so we signed her up for it. So far, I think she really enjoys that one...

krissie,
I just use the calendula cream for everything...

Hi krissie

I am using calendula cream for everything too. Or you can try using aloe vera cream, there is this brand called jorubi??? can't really remember the name, but can get hold in any pharmacy or even kiddy palace.

sl

I guess every little girl will have a dream to learn ballet ya?

I don't wish to enrol too many classes for Clarisse, cos feel that it will tire her out. But I am looking for more ideas on activities to do with her during weekend.

Belinda/Mashy,
When I was young, my mum wanted to send me for ballet/tap dancing & I strongly refused. I was more into catching spiders/fishes with my bro. Haha! So her hopes were dashed right from the beginning. Heehee. I ever asked E if he wants to learn ballet when we saw a gal in tights going for ballet class. He shook his head. If he says Yes, I will sure sign him up man! His dad weren't ard when I asked that. Else I will kanna big time from him.

Krissie,
Recently, Ben was attacked by mozzies badly too. All over his face. I quickly applied some mild cortisone as they were very big & inflamed. When it kinda subsided, I diligently applied calendula cream & most of the scars have lightened. U can try that or aloe vera gel from GNC. It helps to lighten scars.

Sunny,
Wow! Ur boy almost the same size as Jie Jie already. How come he cannot eat his bday cupcakes? I realised for my #2, I m much more lax when it comes to food tasting.

Krissie,
Nice top. But I cannot fit into these top now.

This is Jamie's terrible handwriting and her little sun (that looks like a monster)

2188020.jpg
2188021.jpg

zhimin, I'm using Logico on my boys too ... started only this year for the younger one, and the he can do if he wants to ... he's quite cheeky in that he'll choose not to if he doesn't want to and just simply move the knobs ard. I'm keen on right brain stuff and got quite a bit. Little Notes teach Solvege too? Music Wonderland is for till 5 yrs old? Many frens I know start sending their kids to Yamaha JMC from 5 yrs old and only one started hers at Little Notes. It's a long way for parent-accompanied coz 1st 2 yrs of JMC also requires parents' participation.

for tracing, i made my own, 1 strip for each letter that can clean off and re-write again... good for those with > 1 kid. Or I'll use tansparency over those bought books so that can re-do.

Mashy, write u an email; let me know if you've received, yah?

.ky.

krissie

just bought good ol' mopiko when my boy had a lot of mozzie bites. works like a miracle cream. hhaahaha. It healed very quickly compared to the amt of time he took previously. He used to have big swells and it will take 1-2 weeks to go away. Now just 1 day and it will flatten, just show the bite scab, then after that it will be totally healed in a few days.

ky
thanks for the email, received it but haven't had time to read thru it yet. hope i'll be able to make use of some of your sugg.

Hi May

Yes, mashy's link is the logico, mine is the chinese version though, I am fortunate that my sis is very generous to buy all these educational stuffs and she will give it to us when my nephews no longer using.

I think sometimes bulk purchase also have logico... seen it before.

logico is a german product. The english version in Singapore is around S$500+... but China folks have made chinese versions and costs just over $100. Used to have a lot of BPs a few years back but heard they've been prosecuted by the original company ... so, not sure if can get as easy as before. I think maha youyi at bras basah do have, or can ask CL if C's chinese teacher has stock.

.ky.

ky
sorry, what is Solvege
? Music Wonderland think suitable for 3.5 year to 4 year old kid. Yamaha Junior Course started from 4 year onwards. I have a colleague's 5 year old boy still in the Junior Course, she needs to accompany the boy to the class too. Yes, it is a long parent-accompanionship.

In Little Notes, the teacher will give the parents homework to do haha... there was once, my hb forgot to tell me there is homework to be done (colouring). When it was my turn to accompany Clarisse, she asked me loudly "Mummy why we never color ah!" :p

May,
Wow! I'm impressed that Jamie can write her own name! Isaac is still learning how to trace dotted lines properly. I doubt he is moving on to writing alphabets anytime soon. Heheh

ky
u r very innovative. good idea to use transparency.

is logico good? maybe i shall ask my mum to help me find. is it called logico in china?

may
jamie can write pretty well.

i m thinking of doing part time. any idea where to find?

ky

Thanks for tips! I'll try some of the suggs.

I tried letting C pour green beans from one container to another. End up he spilt them all and then swept them across the floor. Headache! The cleaning up is such a hassle.

Then I tried letting him soak the sponge up with water in 1 container and squeeze into another to develop his fine motor skills. End up he played with the water instead. sigh.

mashy,
For motor skills, can try buying playdoh for him?

Queen/SY,
She see and follow. But if u ask her to write without anything, still cannot lar. Long way to go. I would say she is good in copying.

KY,
How do u prevent the smudge of the ink on the transparency? I did that before with Jamie. But it smudge all over her hands and the sheet.

CL,
U here? Any lobang for Logico?

Zhimin,
I call up Yamaha, they told me to wait for the next class since I am delivering soon. And suggest I skip Little Notes and proceed to Music Wonderland.

may

i have playdoh and also let him play. He's such a messy little boy. sigh. He likes to mix all the colours together and throw them all over. It always take more time cleaning up than the time he played the stuff.

Hi Zhimin, sorry, I mean Solfege, ie singing in do-re-mi.

Hi SY
chinese name's 逻辑狗. can view the full product under http://www.yybb.com.cn/pro.asp?id=10479. if anyonne has lobang, can buy thru' this website, just that it needs a china-based card or cash for payment... couple of stuff within are pretty good and affordable.

Hi Mashy
Facilitate by showing him the right action to do. That's how Montessori does it. when u demo, don't talk and ask kid to watch. And don't let the kid do too many times. Or can lay a big mat under, when done, just throw everything in it away (that's how some did rice pouring). As they do more, they'll want to try more stuff. For pouring that involves water, I do it in the bathroom. yesterday i showed a neighbour and yes, it was a challenge to get the child to coorperate for a start. guess reinforcing helps coz the kid will know what he can or cannot do.

Hi May, I use white board marker or transparency marker. No smudge leh. what type of pen do u use? To remove, I use nail-polish remover ... much easier.

.ky.

help! Anyone's todds has chickenpox before? Can share how bad it is for our kids. My mum has herpes zoster (shingles). She looks after Clare. So, I'm afraid that she'll pass it to Clare. And the worst part is tt I'm supposed to go overseas next week. So, wanted to know how bad is a chickenpox attack? tks much!

ha ha just right I got sms from a mummy about logico. Yup CHarmaine teacher can bring in at $110. if you are keen let me know I get her to bring in.

ky
So far Clarisse is in lesson #7, still did not touch on Solfege. Most of the time, they will sing the nursery with music and actions. Clarisse enjoys some of the songs, and at home she will start to do the action.

Hi CL,

I am interested in the lOgico. Can expalin further what it is about?

Any instructions in English? This mummy's chinese cannot make it.....

CL,
I am interested in the Logico leh. For China version it is in chinese ah? I would like to build J's english skills. Her mandarin is quite strong already.

Luckyvitamin spree payment updates

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Payment</TD><TD>Paid/(refund) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>$-</TD><TD>$- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>$105.77</TD><TD>$105.77 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>$130.72</TD><TD>$136.96 ($6.24) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>$61.65</TD><TD>$65.24 ($3.59) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>$73.95</TD><TD>$77.98 ($4.03) </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD>$266.32</TD><TD>$143.22 ($14.26) </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Those who have paid extra, I'll refund u cash when you collect. The packages should be delivered within this week as I've paid up for the shipping last week already. Will update u again when its here. Meanwhile, maybe you can indicate for me where you would like to collect it :

1. Bukit Panjang (BLK 528 Jelapang Road, beside greenridge shopping center)
2. Hougang (Evergreen Park Condo, sat afternoon only)

Thanks CL.

KY,
Any comments ah? Should get chinese or english version? J and me usually converse in mandarin and she is stronger in chinese. So it is better for me to get english version?

CL

hahah, C plays with it like those beads for training pincer grip at the fair. Don't think he'll like it either or rather he'll know how to play with it properly.

Mamapanda,
Same as b4....I will collect from Hougang. Thanks a zillion!

Mashy,
I can collect for you &amp; get E to be the despatch boy. U collect from him in school. Heehee!

Hi CL,

I know what you mean. They look interesting but will be of no use if the kids are not keen........ My MIL previously bought 2 sets of the Leapfrog Leap pad......... now lying somewhere in the drawers......... Maybe i should sell them away..........

yuki

u can bring it out again. My boy didn't like the leapfrog at first. Keep pressing the on/off button so that he can hear the 'bye bye' greeting. We kept it for a while, then brought it out again lately. He started to have more interest in it and has been playing with it.

May, chinese version is $100+ vs english version which is 4 times more ... so which would you prefer?
hm, the set is on logical thinking, mind processing skill, not so much on lang training. Each book has abt 14 qns so if u really wish, can do your own translation... qns actually quite simple to understand. hm, think for a start, we've to interpret the question and at times, looking at picture can help with interpretation which the kid can do after a while ... I only start to interpret in chinese to my 6-yr old coz i think he always look at picture and decipher what he needs to do. only recently that he can read better that i read the qn with him.

$110 from the teacher is v good price coz couple of years ago the norm was $118-$125 and the thing is heavy, abt 5-7 kgs.

Yuki, can check out the link that Mashy provides on the instructions. chinese cannot make it also can work with it, eg, simple qns will be matching colours, matching directions.

.ky.

ky
thanks for the link. will check it out. will prob ask my mum to look for a set for me to try with JH

mashy
jh loves doing activites like sponging or pouring. there were a few times he kept asking me to let him do. like what ky say, do over a big mat or do over newspapers to make cleaning up easier.

u can make your own playdough if u afriad he will eat it.

Anyone knows where to find those portable cloth baby seats or have one to loan???? Need one in Apr. Tia!

Thanks KY.
Haha..then I think I will buy chinese version and translate to english on my own.

CL,
I am interested to get one set. How do I go about ordering?

wenyl

wah, u no need to sleep?

Is Ethan sick? Didn't see his bag today.

I think i posted a website ages ago abt a HK website which sells it. If u can't find locally and still wanna look for it, i'll go dig it out.

SY
C is such a messy boy. Yah, maybe I'll take out his mat again to do these activities.2