(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Hi Yuki,
same here, I hadn't driven after I passed my driving license for like 6 years, after I took over the car, I forced myself to go for a refresher course, and started driving again. In truth, it gave me sort of a new lease on life, I had freedom in a way that I didnt have before, and it helped coz I would drive to the niche where his ashes were kept every week, so think about it...

Yuki
Yes go for a refresher course..tho public tpt in Spore is consider not bad but having a car is a lot lot more convenient esp with Children.
You may get horn from other drivers initially.. esp the taxi drivers but if u drive regular enough very soon you will be proficient in it.

I am not following our thread consistently, not sure whether this has been shared. I always chat with my colleagues and friends on our kids development. And I am wondering for a 3 year old kids, what activities should they expose to, or what kind of lessons are good for them to take up. What are some of the activities we can do with our kids when at home?

I read that some of our Jan 06 kids have already started on swimming lesson, I didn't even know we can let our kids to start swimming lesson that early...

I am thinking probably we should do the sharing on this way? Probably we can suggest activities suitable for our kids and lessons we can consider to pick up... don't want to sound very kiasu, but I really feel that I am not doing enough for Clarisse to expose to different kind of activities and I have run out of ideas too.

1)Languages (English and Chinese)
Probably we can suggest good books for our kids.
Languages enrichment class.
Activities which we can do at home with our kids.

2)Math & Mind Training

3)Science

4)Sports

5)Art & Crafts

6)Music, Singing & Dancing

7)Social

8) Diet
Probably we can also share on recipes to cook for our kids?

What do you all think?

To kickstart

2) Math & Mind Training

Recently my sis borrowed me a set of Logico. Clarisse enjoys it very much. I feel that it is good in training her logical thinking, there are lots of fun activities inside. Sometimes I play with her together, a bonding time for us also. If mummies can get hold of a set, it will be good to let your kids try on...

lost my phone yesterday. can PM me your contacts again? sob sob. so heartpain cos got a lot of photos inside. left it in a toilet and went back within 10 min but gone...

yuki
continue to share with us your thots. think as u talk more abt how u feel, it will help u.

i agree with the rest. go for a refresher course! being able to drive makes u more mobile esp with the kids.

sleeping deer
when my friend started to drive her hb car which she previouse doesnt.. she say the same words! New lease to life!! becos she dun need to depend on her hb to fetch her anymore...

Btw your #2 is so pretty.. she has such big big dark dark eyes...

Thanks for the support and hearing me out.....The forum mean to be a happy one, celebrating new life but........... so i am really grateful for hearing and supporting me.

Driving - new lease of life. How interesting. guess i am also hanging on to the past........ When hubby was diagnosed and resting at home.... i offer to drive a 5 mins drive to fetch the gals instead of waiting for my fil to do that, he disallowed. He doesn't want to put the children's lives on risk........ so i am like hanging to this......... But a friend reminded me that now is a different situation and i should have a mind of my own to do what i deemed right..........i am pondering over this issue..........

Hi sleeping deer,

I have not visited his niche since i came back....... i don't know if i can 'take it'....... my mil have been visiting every week buti have not gather enough courage to go...... it did cross my mind to do it and i was thinking if i should bring the gals since they have not been there but still don't have the courage at this moment........ wonder if people will think "wwhat kind of wife is that?".........

Yuki,
I am not very good in words too. No worries abt sharing all ur things with us. It is better to pour everything out. You can do it for ur gals. JIA YOU!!

I agree with the rest that u should take up the refresher course. It will be a "new" experience and some bonding time with ur gals.

As for visiting his niche.. everyone had different ways of missing him. The reason why ur MIL had been going every week could be she missed her son very much. U missed him too but it is another way. Just let it be, visit him when u are ready for it.

Yuki,

i got license not long ago..simply refuse to drive espcially with the children...i feel that i sooooo depend on my hb to ferry us around...taking thing for granted. I am thinking to take up a refresher course.

Hi Mummies! I got this from Australia - Target. Guess the price? It is only A$15.90 after discount. Cheap right?
2181074.jpg

sy - have pm u my number. I am also very forgetful. I lost my phone thrice and only once i managed to recover.

Yuki- a refresher course will be good as it helps to keep u occupied and it will definitely be useful in the long run. Do think abt it. I am also not good at words but is always happy when i 'see' u in this thread knowing tat u are coping well with ur girls.

Zhimin-i have not started C on any class other than his daily zoophonics. I thought i let him enjoy his childhood longer. Hehee...but yes i have friends who already had the intention of starting tennis and dancing for her 3 yrs old. I am quite keen to let C learn piano actually. I did asked C when i saw a man playing in my hotel lobby. But C didnt reply me. Smart boy! Haha..

Yuki,
I think taking a refresher course on driving is a very good idea! Simple things like driving your girls around or even on your own may just open up new activities that you can explore on your own or with your girls. I don't really know how to put my thoughts about it in words here...
Also, about visitng your HB niche, I think just take your time. It could take months or years, but I'm sure eventually you will be able to.

Zhimin,
Good suggestion! Maybe we can use more of the Yahoo Groups or the Facebook to do the sharing...

luckyvitamin spree payment

Got the credit card charges already. The card charged me 1.6 this time, so here's the revised payment :

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Item decription</TD><TD>Wt</TD><TD>Tot Wt</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Price (USD)</TD><TD>Total (USD)</TD><TD>SGD Total</TD><TD>Shipping</TD><TD>Grand Total </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>67.96</TD><TD>21</TD><TD></TD><TD>$154.87</TD><TD>$-</TD><TD>$24.23</TD><TD>$- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Alvita - Red Raspberry Leaf Caffeine Free - 24 Tea Bags</TD><TD>0.25</TD><TD>1.5</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$3.26</TD><TD>$19.56</TD><TD>$31.30</TD><TD>$0.53</TD><TD>$31.83 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>NOW Foods - Red Raspberry Tea - 30 Tea Bags</TD><TD>0.25</TD><TD>1.5</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$2.93</TD><TD>$17.58</TD><TD>$28.13</TD><TD>$0.53</TD><TD>$28.63 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>8.96</TD><TD>26.88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$40.23</TD><TD>$64.37</TD><TD>$9.58</TD><TD>$73.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>8.96</TD><TD>26.88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$40.23</TD><TD>$64.37</TD><TD>$9.58</TD><TD>$73.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA - 4 oz. </TD><TD>4.8</TD><TD>4.8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>$21.70</TD><TD>$1.71</TD><TD>$23.41 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>Child Life Essentials - Child Colostrum Plus Powder - 50 Grams </TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$17.49</TD><TD>$17.49</TD><TD>$28.00</TD><TD>$1.14</TD><TD>$29.14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Animal Parade Calcium - 90 Chewable Tablets</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>$9.95</TD><TD>$1.14</TD><TD>$11.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Item decription</TD><TD>Wt</TD><TD>Tot Wt</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Price (USD)</TD><TD>Total (USD)</TD><TD>SGD Total</TD><TD>Shipping</TD><TD>Grand Total </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>133.6</TD><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD>$118.91</TD><TD>$-</TD><TD>$44.23</TD><TD>$- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Nordic Omega-3 Gummies Tangerine - 60 Gummies </TD><TD>8</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$29.86</TD><TD>$2.65</TD><TD>$32.51 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Nordic Omega-3 Gummies Tangerine - 60 Gummies</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$29.86</TD><TD>$2.65</TD><TD>$32.51 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Fresh Baby - Good Clean Fun Placemats - 1 Kit(s) </TD><TD>16</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.04</TD><TD>$30.20</TD><TD>$48.32</TD><TD>$26.48</TD><TD>$74.80 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Source of Life Animal Parade Liquid Children's Multi Vitamin &amp; Mineral Tropical Berry Flavor - 30 oz</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>$23.81</TD><TD>$10.59</TD><TD>$34.40 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA Strawberry 250 mg. - 360 Chewable Gels</TD><TD>5.6</TD><TD>5.6</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>$58.42</TD><TD>$1.85</TD><TD>$60.27 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Payment</TD><TD>Paid/(refund) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>$-</TD><TD>$- </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>$105.77</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>$130.72</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>$61.65</TD><TD>$65.24 ($3.59) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>$73.95</TD><TD>$77.98 ($4.03) </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD>$266.32</TD><TD>$143.22 ($8.02) </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Those who have paid me already, I'll refund cash to you when u collect. Those who have not, would appreciate if you can speed up the payment. All items and shipping have already been paid by me. Thanks. These values have been hand calculated as my spreadsheet is at office and I'm on course and will not be going back office until wednesday, so if you spot any mistakes, pls let me know.

Morning Mummies,

So happy last night... Jamie knows how to write her name !!!
It started off with her typing her name with my laptop... so every night she will ask me to turn on Microsoft words and enlarge the size
She will type while I recite the alphabet for her.. then yday, I draw dotted line on her white board
as usual she follows the dotted lines and write... then I left her alone and went to kitchen to pour water for her...
when I am back, she is halfway writing her name below my sample !! I was so surprised...
although not very nice but can see the alphabet very clearly... I even took a pic of it for rememberance...
praised her and she is very proud of herself..

mashy,

damien can't even hold the pencil properly
He can't traced from dotted line. I got to hold his hand to help him.
but funny thing is that he can color small picture well.

Actually it started off with her interest of pasting stickers. So I bought her some books from popular for her to stick. But at the bottom of every page, there is dotted line of alphabet.

Eg, Left Page - one APPLE pic and u paste APPLE sticker in a box given. Then you colour the APPLE.
Right Page - paste APPLE words in a box given. Bottom of the page got 10 boxes with dotted lines "A".

After she finish all the pasting, she will colour and then use colour pencil to follow the dotted lines. My mum usually will leave her there alone and she will cook her dinner. Jamie will sit and do it herself.

If you all are interested, I can go back and take photos of the book. Interesting ways to let them learn pasting, colouring and writing all in one.

may

it's not the book. It's the person. My boy will just paste the sticker, tear it out again and then tell me it's 'broken'. If he colours, it'll be all over. sigh.

Tried to get him to join 2 dots only also difficult. He'll just draw a straight line between the dots. If it's a driving test, yes, he'll pass it for not knocking on the poles.

Mashy,
The way u describe C is so funny. Give him sometime. He sure can do it one.

Oh ya, know the gender of ur #2 already? I got a feeling it gonna be a gal for you.

ssf
sigh sigh...losing phone is really sian...

may
jamie so clever can write her name. i know jh can recog his name. so far he can trace quite well and in sch he has been pestering his teachers to do writing but they feel that he is not of age yet.

mashy
dun worry too much abt C. i m sure he will catch up soon. he's very cute from the way u describe him

SY,
PM you my contact liao.

Zhimin,
I've not sign Meg for any classes too, cos I feel she's learning mostly from her 3-hr pre-nursery class. At home, I observe she can sing most nursery rhymes, converse in mandarin, trace, color, follow dotted lines. I tink that's good enough liao. Recently she's also singing the phonic song.."Elegant Elephant E E E, E is the sound I hear"

Oh ya, she's well, should i say, obsessed with jigsaw puzzles! She lurves jigsaws and will do it over and over again.

Tracie,
Ya.. Jamie also obssessed with jigsaw puzzles. I think they are at the stage to build self-confidence. So when they accompolished something by themselves, it boost their self-confidence. So we must really encourage them.

SSF
Clarisse attends Little Notes at Yamaha one week once. So far she enjoys the class. Clarisse has never attended any music class before, and I would like her to have music appreciation class before I enrol her to Piano, just try to arouse her interest in music. Maybe you can consider that? The class touches on music terms like "Staccato" and "Legato". But seriously speaking, the parents need to continuous enhancing the knowledge at home, I am not very diligent in doing it.

Queen
Last time we have a facebook group? I didn't manage to join. Probably we can do the sharing using the group.

Tracie
Sounds like Megan's 3hour class is really enriching. For Clarisse, she has been in the school for about 4 months, don't think she learn as much things there, and Clarisse is not enjoying her school. I am now seriously thinking to switch her to a 3 hours playgroup rather than a child care, as cc the teachers have to spend most of the time taking care of the kids, they don't get many chance to have fun activities. Clarisse learns most of her nursery from Barney and the Little Notes rather than in the school.

May
The books sound interesting.

Zhimin,
You are probably right about the cc versus playgroup thingy. Meg's school is an enrichment centre so they focus on learning more than having to take care of the kids.

In fact, my colleague whose kid turns 3YO this year, has arranged for a school bus to pick him from cc every afternoon to go to another enrichment centre which has better learning facilities.

Zhimin,
How much does it cost for the Little Notes class? I am interested in signing Jamie up for that but had to wait till I deliver. Want to have some bonding time with her.

krissie
If I've not remembered wrongly, it should be between $8-$11 per bottle, incl shipping. Let me go home then check the spreadsheet. Base price was $16 for 4 bottles. Buy only when Amazon has this offer.

May

I paid around $250+- for a term. But cannot remember the exact amount though. Little Notes design for kids between 3 to 3.5 years. But I was told once they completed the Little Notes they will progress to Music Wonderland, another similar programme but suitable for older kids. But I am not sure how much is Music Wonderland. Ya I think is a good bonding time with Clarisse also.

Tracie

Thats why. I prefer her to have a few hours packed with enrichment activities and she can spend other time just to play. But my side doesn't have much choices for playgroup.

may - wow! Jamie can write her name. hmm..i haven't tested C yet. However, yesterday i was going through his school work and doing those pages he missed out because of the brisbane trip. I am also surprised that he can traced the dotted lines from a - z. so after a, he will know to look for b and then c...until z. i was really dumb founded. i didnt know he has progress that fast ...well maybe i didnt have time to go through school work with him previously. hee..

zhimin - thanks for sharing on little notes. i am not into music and all the "Staccato" and "Legato" is giving me see stars. haha...maybe i wait a little longer and see if i can interest him first. for now, he plays with his piano and press one button and dance to the beat. hmm..maybe i shld enrol him into a dance class instead. haha...

SSF
haha, ok. Actually Clarisse requested to let her go ballet before. but i am a bit concern don't know it will affect the growth of her toes??... well probably i am a bit ignorant.

So pissed off with my HR..
I ask her about doc giving me MC before my ML cos he feel that I should have extra rest. She told me that the company prefer MC to be converted to ML since we got 16 wks of maternity to use. And somemore economy is not doing well. Also, they want us to take all 16wks at one time so that it won't interrupt our work.

I am not very happy with these leh. Dunno should check with MOM or not. But scared make things worse, then difficult to continue working here.

May

Dunno gender yet. Gotta wait for detailed scan on 21 March. Such a long wait.....

SOme companies are like that. They treat MCs taken before u deliver as ML. Don't think there's anything u can do abt it.

If not, u get your dr to give u MCs until the day before u're supposed to go for ML. Go back to work for 1 day. Then after that take ML. Hehehe. :p

mashy,
wow..DS so far away. Anymore checkup? Maybe normal checkup can see already.

Ya.. exactly. Since they are like that. I intend to take 2 days MC, come back work 3 days then go off.

May,
The 4 months of ML is our entitlement. And most companies would be able to claim from the govt your entire 4 month's salary. Monetary wise, your company is not suffering a loss. And it is mandated that we only need to clear 8 weeks of ML in a row, the rest of the ML can be spread out within 1 year. I don't understand why your company feels that clearing 16 weeks in one shot is better than if you return to work after 2 months.
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Maternity_Leave.html

Queen,
I told her the intention of taking 12wks and leave the 4wks to take as and when it is needed since got 1 yr validity. She told me that they would prefer me to take one shot so that it will not interrupt my job.

The one that I am more concerned is the MC that was given by doc before my ML. She mentioned If you were to be granted any MC/Hospitalization Leave by a certified medical practitioner on the ground of 'pregnancy' related reasons, despite continuously 'prior' or 'after (within the period of 12 months of)' your confinement date, under the company policy, it will be consider as maternity leave.

Zhimin
Taking ballet at a young age will not affect her toes at all, coz they are not expected to do point work (dancing on the tip of your toes in special shoes). It's a form of music appreciation and helps in their overall gross motor skill and their balance as well as in their memory for simple dance choreography. Hope this info helps.

May
Wow! J can write out her name! Very good! My boy is still writing his A-Zs and 1-20s. Yet to learn and spell his name.

CC vs 3-hr playgroup
I think it defers from each CC bah. I find that for the CC that D attends, he's learning quite well. Maybe I'm not expecting much, but I know he's enjoying himself alot.

Mamachan,
She is just following what I wrote on the whiteboard. Not really can write yet. She is learning to write with dotted lines: A-Z, a-z and 1-20. Only last night once without the lines.

Mashy
hehehehe, you took ballet too? Coolz! My mom enrolled in "baby ballet" and then went on till I was in Sec school. =P Very stressful eh...got exams by the RAD... I think I gave up when I couldn't do the point work...

mamachan

yah, at that time, u know little gals, wanna look cute in the little ballet dresses. But my dancing 'dreams' were dashed when my teacher chose another classmate instead of me to perform on stage. So i gave up after that. hehe.

Zhimin
haha, tu-tu is worn when during performances. Usually it's just a tiny flowy skirt that skims the hips and thighs. Usually it's just the leotard, pink tights/stockings and the ballet shoes. I don't think at this age they will start with the pink tights. BUt it's always fascinating learning ballet at a young age. They can use their imagination, pretend they are graceful swans, princesses, plum fairies, etc etc. Only when they move on to "Serious" ballet aka Grade 1 - Grade 7, it's similar to piano.