(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

haha, so early need to rant a bit, else it keeps bugging me till i can't sleep at night.

A few weeks ago, I went to my SIL to collect some of the stuff that I passed to her. Seems that my SIL only remembered that I passed her old clothes and had forgotten abt a lot of the other accessories that i passed to her liao. Nevermind. My MIL who was there asked my SIL shouldn't she keep for her next preg?

Furious man! THose are my stuff which I had kindly passed to her. Even if she's preg now, i will still want them back. Somemore my SIL is more well off than me, she can very well afford to buy them herself should she need them.

When I asked my SIL abt a rocker which I passed to her, my MIL said there's another one at her place (lousy one which i brought over for use during the weekends) and I could use that one. The reason why I passed the stuff to my SIL is so that I can get them back when I've my #2, I'm already not placing demands on my damaged stroller. So fed up!

Sorry for the morning ranting. This kept me up last night. Think I needed to get it out of my system.

sl,
Sent to your yahoo account!

May,
Thanks for the link! I have printed it out...
Is the size meant for newborn? Where did you get the materials?

Mashy,
Maybe ask your HB to tell your SIL to give the stuff back? Afterall, the stuff belongs to you and you are pregnant!

Rena,
My gosh, Elijah is so sweet!

long time since I last log in. Hv been so busy at home and at work. But, hv been reading the posts.

I'm sourcing for tear-free shampoo and bath wash for the kids which is SLS-free. I'm using the CB bath wash now, but it's so expensive, so, I'm trying to source for a cheaper alternative. Any recommendations?

Mashy
Ya leave to hb to deal with situation. Dun get yourself angry over such things. Have a happy baby more important.

SL
You can check www.waterfun.com.sg. Currently Aden and Charmaine in timing 3.30 on Sat. It is quite similar to Aqua Ducks but without parental assistance. I just stand by the pool and catch aden to put him back when he runs out to wander off to the very attactive playground in the pool.

I'm helping my friend to ask. Anyone tried PD - Dr E K Ong. He has a clinic in AMK Singapore Baby and Child Clinic. TIA

Krissie

He was my boy's PD at delivery at the recommendation of our PD family friend at AMK SBCC. He's good at least for the time at the hospital & when we met him for the 1st visit after delivery. But he's stationed at TMC leh. Not at AMK SBCC. I'm going to get him again for my #2 coz my boy's PD only delivers at Mt A.

The 2 PDs at AMK SBCC are Dr Koh (our PD) & Dr Vella. There's some visiting PDs who will come in the afternoons & at night.

mashy,
*pat pat* Dun be angry. Ask ur hubby to go get it back.

Queen,
Got two different template in 1 page. One is for 0-3mths. The other one is for 6-12mths I think. U just cut the size that you want. Material wise, I use scrap cloth leh. My old jeans and Jamie's old clothing. U can get it from spotlight also. I haven't pop by there to see.

Krissie,
Dr Ong EK was E's PD from the time he was in NICU till abt 1+yr old. I bring Ben to see him for jabs too. I think he only goes to AMK SBCC on certain nights. Most times he is at TMC. I find him good esp with newborns. But must be prepared to wait. His queue is super long.

Mamachan - Yes, am going for In the Garden. Think shd be 11am too!

May - Wow wee, so sweet the booties!

Rena - E is so sweet
Melts your heart huh?

SSF - Great shopping huh? Will prob make a trip to Aust only next yr aft I finish my studies. Was thinking of Perth since not been there. Now, you are tempting me to bring C to Brisbane. I've been to all 3 worlds & I love all of them. Hmmmm...maybe change destination & go there instead. Hee...must think now

Mashy - I wld just take my things back & wldn't bother what MIL said :p

went to a Shopping mall for lunch just now. Need to get a pair of track shoes as i am required to attend a outdoor sports event next month

As i reflect, hubby buys about 40% of the shoes i owned. And shoes for sports etc - he is always the one who buy for me............... Kind of lost now i have to look for it myself. I think about what he will say of the shoes etc................. I brought a pair of track shoes to USA with me. As usual it was choosen by hubby. The shoes gave way during the last few days i was there. My first instinct was to buy glue and glue it back.....But i ask myself how many of the things i can keep when they are spoiled............and he always chided me for not buying new shoes when they are worn out/ old etc.......... So i threw that pair of shoe away. Took a few pictures of it for remembrance thou.

I wasn't so aware of the guys things last time when i past by shops but realise i tend to look out for things now and think about whether hubby will like it etc. EG when i was in Disneyland, i saw a cup and thot it will be appropriate for him........ at that moment i was thinking maybe i should just buy it and use it in remembrance of him............or rather treat like he is alive but i am using the cup instead of him......................Wierd isn't it?

Yuki
I don't think it's weird. It happens at times to buy something that your demised loved one's favourite things. Like how I would buy a fresh pot of Orchids to place outside my house recently as my beloved demised granny loved them and I use to buy new pots of them almost every year. It just reminds me and bring back fond memories of her.

So it's ok for the little things if it helps you move along in your routine. It helps too. We are all human...

Yuki

U knew your hb from sch ah? My hb will only pay for my shoes but won't make the decisions for me coz he scared i don't like them. hahaha.

Well, now is the time for u to live for yourself already. Find things that u like and buy them.

Hi mamachan,

Till now i have not pack his things......... have not make up my mind what to keep and what not to..............

Hi Mashy,

OUr story goes along way..... We were in the same sec school but only know each other by face. We have common friends thou. Then we met each other when studying overseas.......... Then later realise his mum and my grandmother were colleagues before so our family sort of knew each other. We used to joke with each other that we must have looked very 'tu3' that's why never notice each other and we will argue who is more 'tu3'........

My hubby has quite good taste lah. The presents he chose - i always like. No compliants. EVen the proposal ring - he sounded me out what kind i like and the one he choose all by himself - i love it. It would be something that i choose too.

Buying things for myself - that's what i tell myself too, sometimes. Especially when i was in US....but i rather buy for the children instead. .... maybe all mothers are like that.........

Yuki,
I think it is normal to think back at this time. As times goes by, all these will be fond memories. If I were you, I think it will be hard for me to put back the cup as well. Give yourself some time to get over it. You are already doing a very good job. JIA YOU !! Come in and share with us when you free okie?

The girls are fine. Occassionally still talks about daddy. My elder girl will still call him on the phone sometimes. I am still keeping his line open........ his phone has his work calendar and somehow it comforts me knowing what he will be doing if he is still alive? I don't know...... I was quite lost when the calendar stopped showing the events a few days ago...........

On lighter note, anyone interested in buying a Thomas and train music tooth brush? My SIL is exploring feasible to sell it.......

Those interested can PM me and leave down your mobile no. Will send a video of the tooth brush with music. Quite cute lah.

Yuki
Hahahaha, my late granny's things were left untouched for at least 6 months...I think coz she's too many things too! My mom started clearing her plants first and I saved a pot of her orchids for msself. The packing and throwing away the things my granny had accumulated over the years took time. The final throwout was when I had to help my mom clean out her home to prepare for my confinement! That's like 1.5 years later... so we went through keepsakes - whether to keep some or throw out some.

I guess you'll know when to start keeping away his things...I don't know how to describe...but once you get to that stage, you'll know.

mashy,
For 'opening', I gave my CL $28. Then at the end of the confinement period, i like her very much, so i gave her a big angbao. Guess the 'opening' one quite standard. The final one depends on how much you wanna give.

YA Gals, he really touches my heart.. its really a great to feel loved by him. and he also love his brother alot. sharing toys and teasing him..

RE: Puff

I guess its very commom for kids now a day to be nub and puff. i too have tons of medication and aero chamber and the nub machine.. till now i am still using them.. elijah has to be puff for long term even tho he has no asthma.. sian.. and medication is expensive...

mashy
same as tracie, i also gv my CL $28 in the beginning. at the end at the same amount.

yuki
i think you are doing a great job in coping with everything. like what mamachan said, you will know when to start keeping his things away.
when my dad passed away, i was hoping so much that the things belonged to him could be kept for long. but, too bad, i didn't own the place which he stayed. after the funeral, within 1 or 2 months, all his things were packed and donated to the charity org. whenever I see old people walking around, like you, i also asked myself if my dad is still alive, what would he be doing now? sometimes, i just refused to think further 'cos it makes me feel real sad.

Hi Sunny,

Indeed... i thot of keeping a few of his favourite clothes or the meaningful ones and donate the rest to charity........... at least in the midst of all these, can still do something good...........

I stopped trying to think too much too. Initially i thot of how perfect our life will be when he is around and how all these are missing, it makes me really sad and worse, sometimes i feel all energy zap out of me and i am unable to move on.....

Sometimes when i am alone - i still think it is a dream......

Yuki,

My grandmother passed away for almost 7 yrs..i could not attend her funeral as i was having my confinement for #1. Till date i still keep some of her old clothes in my wardrobe.

A sobering yet inspiring story

http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/02/09/love-in-the-time-of-prostate-cancer

Times editor Dana Jennings writes each week about his experiences coping with an aggressive form of prostate cancer.

"I vividly recall those first few hours in the hospital room after my prostate cancer surgery last July: the plastic thicket of I.V. tubes; the leg cuffs huffing and chuffing to ward off blood clots; my throbbing incision packed with gauze. But, most important, I remember peering through the post-surgical haze to see my wife, Deb, sitting there, smiling at me.

These days, I epitomize the “in sickness” part of the wedding vows that Deb and I took back in 1981. Since we learned last April that I have prostate cancer, I’ve had my prostate removed, found out that the cancer was shockingly aggressive, undergone a 33-session course of radiation and am finishing up hormone therapy.

Right now, I’m not quite what you’d call “a catch.” I wear man-pads for intermittent incontinence, I’m a bazaar of scars, and haven’t had a full erection in seven months. Most nights, I’m in bed by 10. The Lupron hormone shots, which suppress the testosterone that can fuel prostate cancer, have sent my sex drive lower than the stock market, shrunken my testicles, and given me hot flashes so fierce that I sweat outdoors when it’s 20 degrees and snowing.

Even so, Deb has taught me that love is in the details. Humid professions of undying love and tear-stained sonnets are all well and good, but they can’t compete with the earthy love of Deb helping me change and drain my catheter pouches each day when I first came home from the hospital.

Yes, in the details. She measured my urine, peered into places I couldn’t (literally and figuratively), and strategically and liberally applied baby powder, ice and Aquaphor to my raw and aching body. She battled our intractable insurer, networked, tracked down the right doctors — and took thorough notes all the while.

I was wounded. She protected me. She chose to do these things.

Deb and I have been married for 27 years, have two sons (22 and 19), and have ridden the usual Ferris wheel that comes with a long marriage. But our love for each other has deepened in this time of prostate cancer.

We talk more often about the life we’ve built together, about sex and money, about the joy we take in our sons, about the uncertain future. When cancer moves in, there’s nothing you and your spouse can’t talk about.

Our love has been seasoned with a bitter pinch of mortality, and the classic quarrels of marriage hold little power over us anymore. When I say to Deb, “I love you,” I mean it. And when she responds, “I love you more,” she means it, too. We understand that time, perhaps, is not on our side.

Time, we are told, will give us our sex life back. As I said, the hormone shots have shut down my sex drive. And my poor penis is still in recovery — from the surgery and the radiation. But as we wait, I’ll tell you this : Love abides.

Yes, yes and yes — lust is essential. But right now, sex seems quaint, old-fashioned. Oddly enough, it can’t compete with the depth and gravity of a light touch, a sly glance. I’m in the mood for the Beatles and “I Want to Hold Your Hand,” not Grace Jones growling, “Pull up to my bumper, baby.”

Don’t get me wrong. I really, really like sex. But given a choice between the mere biology of lust and the deep soul of love, I’ll take love. My body has changed — but my doctors say my libido will be warming up again before I know it. Deb understands, and we’ve adapted.

Deb’s love is one to live up to, one to reciprocate. Who else is going to snuggle up to me on the couch, smile, listen — and nod knowingly — as I complain about my hot flashes?

In the long shadow of prostate cancer, I’ve learned that I married the right woman."

Yuki,
Hope I've not brought on more tears to you with the story. I can only say it takes time to heal your grief..it may take a long time, sometimes even a lifetime. But having shared what little time you had with your hubby was better than none at all. Memories of him are what you have left now, memories to keep in your heart, knowing you both have once loved each other.

Got the shipping charges from vpost already. Here's the revised totals. Please proceed to tt the amount to my POSB SAV acc or OCBC SAV acc. IF you require my acct numbers, pls email me.

Box 1 : 3.0kg
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Item decription</TD><TD>Wt</TD><TD>Tot Wt</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Price (USD)</TD><TD>Total (USD)</TD><TD>SGD Total</TD><TD>Shipping</TD><TD>Grand Total </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>67.96</TD><TD>21</TD><TD></TD><TD>$154.87</TD><TD>$263.28</TD><TD>$24.23</TD><TD>$287.51 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Alvita - Red Raspberry Leaf Caffeine Free - 24 Tea Bags</TD><TD>0.25</TD><TD>1.5</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$3.26</TD><TD>$19.56</TD><TD>$33.25</TD><TD>$0.53</TD><TD>$33.79 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>NOW Foods - Red Raspberry Tea - 30 Tea Bags</TD><TD>0.25</TD><TD>1.5</TD><TD>6</TD><TD>$2.93</TD><TD>$17.58</TD><TD>$29.89</TD><TD>$0.53</TD><TD>$30.42 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>8.96</TD><TD>26.88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$40.23</TD><TD>$68.39</TD><TD>$9.58</TD><TD>$77.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>Nature’s Way - Bio-Certified Sambucus For Kids Berry Flavored - 8 oz.</TD><TD>8.96</TD><TD>26.88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>$13.41</TD><TD>$40.23</TD><TD>$68.39</TD><TD>$9.58</TD><TD>$77.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA - 4 oz. </TD><TD>4.8</TD><TD>4.8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>$13.56</TD><TD>$23.05</TD><TD>$1.71</TD><TD>$24.76 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>Child Life Essentials - Child Colostrum Plus Powder - 50 Grams </TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$17.49</TD><TD>$17.49</TD><TD>$29.73</TD><TD>$1.14</TD><TD>$30.87 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Animal Parade Calcium - 90 Chewable Tablets</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>3.2</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>$6.22</TD><TD>$10.57</TD><TD>$1.14</TD><TD>$11.72 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Box 2 : 5.5kg
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nickname</TD><TD>Item decription</TD><TD>Wt</TD><TD>Tot Wt</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Price (USD)</TD><TD>Total (USD)</TD><TD>SGD Total</TD><TD>Shipping</TD><TD>Grand Total </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>133.6</TD><TD>9</TD><TD></TD><TD>$118.91</TD><TD>$202.15</TD><TD>$44.23</TD><TD>$246.38 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Nordic Omega-3 Gummies Tangerine - 60 Gummies </TD><TD>8</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$31.72</TD><TD>$2.65</TD><TD>$34.37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Nordic Omega-3 Gummies Tangerine - 60 Gummies</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>8</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$18.66</TD><TD>$31.72</TD><TD>$2.65</TD><TD>$34.37 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>Fresh Baby - Good Clean Fun Placemats - 1 Kit(s) </TD><TD>16</TD><TD>80</TD><TD>5</TD><TD>$6.04</TD><TD>$30.20</TD><TD>$51.34</TD><TD>$26.48</TD><TD>$77.82 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nature’s Plus - Source of Life Animal Parade Liquid Children's Multi Vitamin &amp; Mineral Tropical Berry Flavor - 30 oz</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>$14.88</TD><TD>$25.30</TD><TD>$10.59</TD><TD>$35.89 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>Nordic Naturals - Children's DHA Strawberry 250 mg. - 360 Chewable Gels</TD><TD>5.6</TD><TD>5.6</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>$36.51</TD><TD>$62.07</TD><TD>$1.85</TD><TD>$63.92 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="ff0000">TOTAL BILL</font>
<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Payment</TD><TD>Paid </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slinky</TD><TD>$142.18</TD><TD>$142.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashybrainz</TD><TD>$111.53</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Slyeo</TD><TD>$136.96</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chilles</TD><TD>$65.24</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wenyl</TD><TD>$77.98</TD><TD>$0.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>TOTAL</TD><TD>$533.89</TD><TD>$142.18 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi mamapanda,
Thanks for ordering! I have transferred $77.98 to your POSB. Pls kindly check. Btw, I think the total price for sambucus has gone up by quite abit. Not sure if its worth shipping over now. Think the shops here sells abt $20+ too. Last time, I remember paying only abt $10++ per bottle from sprees. Can kindly sms me when its ready for collection. I lost my hp so most of the contacts are gone. Thanks ya!

Tracy
That's a really sweet and touching article!

Yuki
I hope after some of our sharing that we still do keep some momentos of our demised loved ones, that it's normal and ok for you to take time to slowly clear out your husband's things. Thought life doesn't seem "perfect" now... but I'm sure your hb had left a legacy of love and quality life behind in you and your girls and it's essential that you all live to that what he believes in ...hope you get what I mean.

wenyl,

The $10+ one is half this volume, ie, 4oz, which costs $10+ SGD. Now, we're buying the 8oz ones, which is proportionally double the price, so its still the same. I'll check the bank tonight. cant access anything with java applets from my office in MINDEF. Internet access here is very tightly controlled.

Hi Tracie,

Indeed. I was searching for support group for single parent and realised most of them are divorce cases and are bitter about it..........

In a way i don't know if i should consider myself lucky, knowing that i have a loving husband despite the short time...........

No worries about the sharing. The memories of cancer etc are still fresh in my mind but that doesn't mean others cannot talk about it.

Hi Yuki
Not sure if you have noticed.. I havent been "saying" alot but I have been reading your post. I'm not "talking" becos I'm not sure what to say but from the bottom of my heart, I pray that you are getting better each and every day.
Things that you do in remembrance of your hb seems perfectly logical to me and things that you mentioned sometimes set me thinking and make me feel sad and grief for you.
Dun get me wrong, please continue to pour out your thoughts and I hope this way make you feel better after you have written them out.
Mummies here have been really encouraging and it really make this thread special to me.

Keep on writing!

Yes cookie, that's how I felt as well. Yuki, I am not good at en
Did not post anything as I do not know how or eat to say. I can only pray tat the lord will give you strength.

Aileen,
Saw Ed's swimming photos, his coach is coach Carol is it? She's very good, Shannon had her for awhile and her swimming progressed very fast... too bad she's not teaching her class anymore...

Yuki,
I know what you mean, I took over my loved one's car after his death, can you imagine that... so you are doing really well. Did you try the Wicare group?

Belinda
Aiyoh! I got such a scare as D is on Wyeth Promise Gold now. I kan cheong asked my hb to check the milk tin since he's on off today and asked him to call Wyeth up to double check.

They say that Lutein is a newly added ingredient which aids in the child's eye development and that the new formula with Lutein had been sold in M'sia and New Zealand. It's not a banned substance it's still a pending Intellectual Property on it's new formula. It's a registeration issue not a banned substance. Thus it's not launched in Singapore yet.

The notice is more for parallel importers not to bring the new formula from M'sia into Singapore yet. Wyeth Singapore says that most major supermarkets get their wyeth milk directly from them.

If those unsure still can call Wyeth Hotline at 67337666

Hope this helps

Hi Cookie, Rena &amp; Mamachan

Thanks. I know i will have the support of the mummies here.

SOmetimes i will think about many things and some are rational, some not........

Hi Sleeping deer,

I probably will keep his car if finances allow it and if i need it......... I can't drive so i see no point in keeping it........... But Like the shoes, i am just tempted to take pictures of it. I wrote his last car plate no, phone no, etc all in the girls diary..... i don't know the purpose but i just did that.

Have not call WIcare. Did browse their website thou.

Yuki
Perhaps you could take up driving? Get a license or something? Not so much to keep the car, but it's something new to add on to your life...to help you along...for practical reasons also that you can bring your girls around in the car. it's just my thoughts

Hi Mamachan,

Actually I have a licence........just have not drive after obtaining the licence and it has been 8 years..........

It has been a long time since I "talk" here, busy with my 2 kids as well as job. How are all the mummies doing?

Yuki

I share the same sentiments as cookie and rena.. I am not a very verbalise person, but I do really hope that you can get better everyday.

Hello mommies,
Haven't logon for a long long while...have been so busy at work! It's only Feb and I'm already feeling so burn out

Yuki
Hope you and the girls are coping well. Just go for a refresher course...just need more practice to be comfortable.

CL
How does C&amp;A likes the swimming clss?