(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

rachel

Devan is so so cute!!!!
120ml sounds gd. Jia you! I wish I can have such a fast delivery, but I'm going for C-section this time round, so no more trying naturally anymore.

cookie
One of the mummies in feb sent her son to MIndchamps in Tampines, so ex! $980!

Queen/May
Hope so lor. Now thinking of boy's names since we only thought of a gal's. Hehe, we're so biased.

Btw, anyone has sugg for names? So far we've thought of Hayley & Rheanne for gal. Wondering if there's anymore choices...

May
R u opting for GA or epi for your C-section? I'm thinking which one to do. Maybe have to go GA since I've to inject steroids and dunno whether my gynae need to take out the polyp or not.

Queen,
My 4-days work week is on and off. Only required then we take. So far I only took once.

mashy,
I most prob will be opting GA C-sect. Cos I intend to ligate at the same time. Why are u opting for C-sect? Bcos of polyp?

May

No lah, I'm a vain pot. I've a keloid scar from the prev c-section and i want my gynae to cut it off. Why are u ligating? U still so young leh.... I;m not going to bother ligating.

mashy,
Same here, I got very ugly keloid scar. Am asking gynae to touch-up for me. Dun want accident to happen, so intend to ligate lor. But we did discuss with gynae once, he is against of me ligating cos I am only 28 yrs old. But hb and me already decided to stop at 2 kids leh. Although I very much hope to try for another one but hb say 2 is enough. Better follow lor, else I will be crazy handling 3 kids.

May

U can get your gynae to cut it out and inject steroids for u so that your #2 c-section won't get keloid again.

U shouldn't ligate. Try other birth control mtds like IUD. U never know what life is going to bring and u might wanna have another kid. At least with IUD or other birth control methods, it's easily reversible. Not that I wanna 'pour cold water', but really, never cut all possibilities.

*touch wood* that such things don't ever happen to us but i'm very paranoid. There's cases of mothers having more kids coz their older kids passed away due to accident or the kids have some disease that needed cord blood from bb etc.

THere're other birth control methods and i think u should consider them before taking that drastic measure of ligating.

You're still very young and dun need to ligate. Ligation is so '70s when the govt forces us to stop at 2.

Mashy,
Hahah! I was just MSNing with cookie some time ago about this ligation / vasectomy thing as well. I'm also for the idea of HBs going vasectomy rather than we going ligation. Why must the wives always be the sacrificial ones???

May,
I completely agree with Mashy. You never know what the future holds. There are so many unpredictable scenarios which you may want or need to give birth again. It's not like you are in your late 30s and beyond. You still have a good 10 child bearing years left. Try other birth control. Go on the pill, IUD, use the patch, use condoms. So many ways of contraceptions. Ligation is really drastic measure at this point.

mashy,
hahaha! I sooo agree with your last post.

May,
I'm also not for ligation and furthermore you are sooo young! Opt for the other methods and if accident really happens, it's God's arrangements for you.
I'm planning to stop at two, but if another comes along, well so be it. I'll gladly welcome!

Rachel,
Sigh..so nice when they're still newborn and not making us chase them around! Treasure the moment! During the day in the early months I will wake Duncan up to drink if it pasts 4hour cos sometimes he tends to 'forget'. For night time, I did not 'enjoy' him sleeping thru so...still had to latch him 3hourly. But you should try latching. it's much easier and can lie down to feed and sleep at same time.

Soon, he will get enough practice and only need to latch for max 30mins and be done liao. Practice takes time...jiayou!

May
erm....Ligation is abit drastic don't you think? Ligation is not entirely reversible for women...whereas vasectomy is reversible for men. And it's easier for the men to do the vasectomy procedure!!! You are so young too eh!!! Use contraceptives!

May,

I have a friend who married at the age of 18, she decided to go for ligation after the 3rd child even her gynea tried to stop her.
She is now 28 and divorced. I just wonder how is she going to move on if she meet someone again and to start a family again.
Life is unpredictable.

Why dun you consider IUD?

Belinda

Wow, so sad for your friend leh. Even if she meets someone again, she can't bear his kids anymore. Hope she at least gets the custody of the kids.

Men should go for vasectomy, so if they noti and get divorced, then too bad no kids for him.

I've seen a lot of men getting divorced becoz the 3rd party got preg.

Always leave a 'hou lu' for ourselves.

Hey mummies - On a lighter note, anyone of you planning music classes or swimming classes for your toddlers?

I was just surfing & checking up on such classes.

Mashy,
That's what I'm thinking at the back of my mind too. Call me cynical, but if our HBs have a vasectomy and they stray, at least we know that they are not spawning stepbros and stepsis for our kids. Hahaha!

Mashy/Queen
Vasectomy is reversible for the men eh....so if they decide to reverse it, they still can have children, and it's done by day surgery too!

mamachan

dunno leh, i read that it's a complicated procedure and not 100% can reverse. Sure reversible? Ah well, at least it'll be him under the knife and we can still have children if we want. Don't make life so easy for these men.

Re: swimming & music
my boy is too immature to take instructions now. Think I'll wait till he's abt 4 or if he suddenly 'grows up'.

Mamachan - The prog at Aqua Ducks looks good! quite a few places to go too.

I am looking nearer to home. When I go classes on Sats, Hb can go with C. That will keep both occupied for at least an hr.

Mashy
Ligation is complicated for women... might have complications and need to be performed under GA and far more costly than vasectomy. Even if reversed ligation, only 60% chance of getting pregnant for the ladies. They might be some post ligation syndromes too

For men, vasectomy is a much simpler procedure and it's far much cheaper than ligation. All it needs is a day surgery. It is reversible for them.

So if need to have birth control, get the men to do it.

Mamachan,
I know vasectomy is reversible but I read somewhere that after reversal, fertility success is only 50% or so because the sperm quality is affected. And I think most men are afraid that it will affect their 'performance'. Maybe that's why far few men are willing to go for vasectomy.

Sysac,
I'm also thinking of swimming lessons... cos I heard swimming will help overcome childhood asthma. Isaac has this cough-related asthmatic condition now though the PD says it's likely to be temporary. Are there courses suitable for 3 to 4 years old?
Music lessons, I will start at end of this year. It will be formal lessons.

queen

yah lah, coz the men didn't wanna be the one to be affected mah. Kind of selfish if u think abt it.

Actually the way i see it, i think ligation is so much more risky for women. If it's not done properly and u get preg, will end up ectopic. And coz not expecting preg, so won't even realise have ectopic preg which can be disastrous.

My PD also said swimming will help asthma but must be real swimming with strokes, not just play with water. I doubt my boy will wanna do anything other than play with water at this pt in time.

Belinda
She's still so young. Hopefully she's career minded, if not will really feel that emptiness if she finds someone else. She should at least keep 1 kid.

Queen - Yes, there are! Google Swimming lessons for kids & you'll get a list of choices

I am thinking of introducing either music or swimming in Jun 09 first then introduce the other curriculum in Jan 10. C loves both & shows keen interest in both.

esther
devan is so cute! chubby baby. do you latch on devan 100%? if yes, i think not to worry so much abt the supply. it's always supply = demand

queen
i checked with an instructor at the sport stadium near my place. he said the minimum age is 4 yr to sign up for swimming lesson 'cos that will be the age when the kids can take instruction well. before 4 yo, he asked us to build the water confidence for the kids.

re: taking care of kids
my mil kind of hinting me to take care of my gal myself 'cos she finds it hard to provide good learning environment to her to discipline and nurture her at her place. sigh.... so, SAHM option comes to my mind again. i wonder if it's because she's tired of taking care of 2 kids or she really thinks that she's unable to discipline my gal. she kept saying that my gal is getting more naughty and active.

sysac, music & swimming ... depends what u want to do. for music, if it's piano-related, 1 school of thot is too-young kids doesnt have the strength nor able to stretch to reach the keys, another school of thot is suzuki where kid starts you but parent needs to get (very) involved and swimming, if it's for proper swim lessons, like what sunny says, can the kid take instructions well. easy to find instructors, but need to find suitable ones. for music, can buy a simple music instructional book and teach, likewise, swimming, just bring to pool more. just my thots, coz sometimes it's better to start when kids are older when they have more confidence and maturity to handle more challenging programmes.

.ky.

Ky - Thanks for sharing. I have a piano at home & we tinkle on it at least 2x a week. We do visit the pool regularly as well. I am looking to start one of them 6 months down the road before introducing the other one another 6 months later.

Yamaha has programmes for those 3 yrs onwards. More for music appreciation before the serious lessons begins when the kids turn 5 years old. As for swimming, he loves the water & so want him to learn basic swimming skills since he is able to follow instructions quite well.

Thinking of starting him on some CCA from Jun 09 onwards. Enjoy & learn some new skills

havent post in a while... handling two kids have been challenging but fun at the same time... maybe the lack of sleep has been giving me a perpetual high so everything seems good, heehee...

Rachel,
BIG CONGRATS! Devan is sooo adorable!

May,
my neighbour was thinking of ligation too after her 2nd one. She didn;t want any kids initally but was persauded to have one by her hb and later a second one. After each birth she gave away all the baby clothes etc, that was how serious she was, haha! ANyway in the end, she didnt do the ligation as well cos gynae advised her not to... but its tough for men to go under the knife, unless they are really ok with it,they always associate it with manliness... my hb has a friend who actually did it for his wife, after 3 kids.

Mamachan,
S is under Aquaducks, I find their methods very good, but it depends oon your child too. THey use a very gentle play based programme on the kids so that they get very comfortable with water before proceeding to learn to swim. But some parents prefer to push their chiildren a little and opt for the traditional swimming instructors, which is also fine i feel, depending on your child's character. A few of my neighbours got a private instructor to give them lessons, and her approach is quite strict with the kids. After a few weeks, some dropped out cos they got tramatised, n others have learned to swim...

sleepingdeer
Thanks for the heads up! Am just looking around. At this stage, he still has yet to take instructions that well. So can consider Aquaducks.

Sysac
My boy prefers singing and drum beats! He's got a ukelele at home (birthday present from my uncle) but he just strums for the fun of it. Motor skills not there to grasp the chords even if I wanna teach him.

I think it'll be fun to expose them to music appreciation classes now. They would appreciate it much better at this age too. If you planning on Yamaha sometime in June, let me know yah? Can go and check out together. Nearest Yamaha is Plaza Singapura

Mamachan,
what I know is Aquaducks has a waiting list which is pretty long if you are opting for weekend classes, so best to put your name down first if you are thinking about starting him soon...

Rachel,
looking at Devan's photos make me realise how fast our kids grow... I was just looking at L's passport photo, she's no longer a NB... so fast!

2143287.jpg

RE: Ligation
Still thinking of it. Cos I still very much want to have a boy. Hb was saying, financially it will be tight to have a 3rd child, just bcos I want a boy to satify my in-law, no point. I might consider IUD instead as I am also afraid that any prob were to happen to my gals (touchwood), I can still try for another one.

RE: Enrichment Class
I am interested to sign up Little Notes or Little Wonderland @ Yamaha for Jamie. She likes to sing and dance. Since I had withdraw her from the CC, intend to let her go to normal playgroup of 3-4hrs, hope can bring her to some enrichment programme.

RE: Xin Suan
Does kids need to learn abacus first then proceed to Xin Suan? Just want to find out more about this.

RE: Short Tongue
I realised that Jamie has got abit of short tongue. Her pronouncation is not very clear when she speaks. Should I look for a specialist now? Or should I bring her to speech classes like phonics to see if there is any improvement? I have got 3 nephews who had short tongue since young but their parents did not do anything

may
it is normal that when they speak now they sound like they have short tongues. i ever ask jh's teacher. she said no worries unless this continues when they r like much older

re enrichment
i m keen to start swimming cos if jh's coughing prob. will prob look for private instructors

Hi Sysac

I'm going to bet u that the talk of Yamaha music courses and enrichment classes is going to continue for the years to come... my older boy started when he's just over 4 yrs n by 5 yrs old, practically everyone that I know of with kid this age are on some sort of music programme.... n at this age, u'll realize that it's very siong to manage bringing the kid around for lessons (& trying to look for that suitable class/teacher/timeslot) plus doing homework (yes, some enrichments come with homework). I'm doing that with 2 kids, n one consideration that a lot of mothers who went thru' it a while is location ... don't go too far, coz it'll tired u out ... but ya, if u keep thinking abt it n ur kid are pestering u abt it, then go for it :->

May, zhu suan and xin suan can be learnt simultaneous but some school allows kid to skip zhu suan and proceed to xin suan at 6 yrs old.... abacus need to a lot of practice and hence a lot of homework. K is also on a few fun enrichment classes since he doesn't go to regular preschool, and I think he's having a lot of fun in them (and frees me too!) :>

if u r worried at speech, how abt getting referral from polyclinic to see KKH Speech Therapist? At least get an affordable professional opinion to set ur mind at ease. for a start, try blowing bubbles and small pieces of paper to refine her control and get her to say different sounds and see where she's weak at

.ky.

swimming:
edgar just started with aquaducks. coz it's just at his school. i haven't seen ny major improvement yet. maybe he's more keen in playing than learning the techniques. anyways, i'll see how it goes. i'm also going to bring my #2 to try out swimming lessons at Marsden swim school which is at turf city.

swimming
Haha, my boy likes to play in the water with his arm floats on.... he's more interested in splashing around in the baby pool...though I've brought him to the mid-size pool

Belinda
Damien must have sounded cute saying dog!

thanks gals =)
he looks angelic when he sleeps and in good mood, making those baby sounds =p is a terror when cries and fuss!

i seldom latch him on, he tends to fall asleep. end up will not drink as what he drinks from bottle and will fuss for milk after 2hours. so i express out and bottle feed him instead.

queen
this morning i latch him on and he manage to empty 1 breast. so i still got to pump and empty the other breast.. i try to stick to 3hrly pumping but sometime having to jaga devan can cause me to pump after 4-5hrs. he has some difficulties to fall asleep in the daytime =s

may
i fully agree with the rest, get hubby to do it if other birth control methods does not appeal to you and hb.

May

Haha, my hb was just saying yesterday that my boy still can't pronounce a lot of words properly. Like school is 'cool'. I think it's normal, they'll eventually be able to do it later.

RE: Speech
For Jamie, Du(2) Shu(1) study to her is Du(2) Du(1). She cannot pronounce F,D,S and L. I highlighted it to my cousin regarding to the short tongue, they did not seek specialist for it thinking it will be better when they enter Pri Sch and end up 3 kids all short tongued till now.

KY,
Blow bubbles as in blow bubbles in drinks or those liquid bubbles? I will try it out first. If it doesn't work till end of the year, I will bring her to polyclinic.

sleepingdeer
L looks different from S hor. but both of them have nice big eyes! =)

till now yet to capture a nice photo for devan's passport... and now he is having heat rash over his face and neck *sianz* guess mummy's milk too heaty for him due to those confinement food.

cookie
seeing your posted photo of your K1 and K2, kids really grow up so fast. for now i wish devan can be 2-3mths old, easier to handle heehee

tracie
thanks i will jia you =)

understand latching is easier for us @ night feed, no need to rush to warm up our EBM and having baby crying their head off. but this mean no need to pump after he finish drinking? am so worry with him falling asleep and not empty my breast, my supply will drop. as for now my MS is just slightly more than what he drinks now @ 90ml.

May

Dunno your case since it could be inherited but from what i know is that most kids will correct themselves as they grow older. We just need to constantly repeat the words after them when they say is incorrectly.

Lately I've been trying to play catch-up for C's mandarin. Finally bought the chinese 'du yi du' first series. Well, he enjoys them but he loves it most when we get to the last page and he'll say in his very ang mo accent 'mei you le' (we find it kind of hilarous actually). He'll repeat the words after me, then when he sees the actual picture, he'll translate it into English for me. Eg, for the colours, when i say lan, he'll go lan, then once he sees the colour, he'll say blue.

speech,
my boy can say everything in the world but just can't pronounce the letter "L". like "yellow" becomes "yeyo", "sleep" becomes "sweep".but i heard it's not a cause for concern. don't know how true.

Re: SPeech

Haha! Ethan too.....he pronounce school as "kool" n yellow "Ar low". I m not too concern cos my mum says last time I pronounced my cousin's name Esther as "Eh-terS". Hahaha!

Speech
Sometimes it helps to ask the child to look at your lips/mouth when they have difficulty pronouncing certain words. that's an "exercise" I do with my boy for certain words he had a hard time pronouncing...after awhile, he gets it right. So we have to "exaggerate" our mouth movement for words.

My boy too can't pronounce the letter "L" hehehe.

My cousin used to have lazy tongue when he was 5-6 years. Lollipop becomes "Yoyipop"!!!

wenyl

Ethan can recog C already leh. When C reaches school, he will call him. Once he even tried to hold C's hand to get him to follow him.
So sweet of him. But C, sigh, when I'm ard in the morning, he's oblivious to other kids. But at least, he's not crying anymore esp when he goes to the assembly hall.

re speech
dun tink it's a real concern now. jh used to sound like short tongue but now he is ok.his teacher said they will outgrow eventually.

rachel
i used to get up and pump at night cos i scared jx cannot empty well. maybe u do that for a while and when D is older u can drop the pump.

my gal sleeps very little too in the day....anyone helping u now?

Mashy,
Really ah....he kaypoh mayb cos he is one of the earliest to reach class everyday. I was surprise E knows C by his fullname too....C Woo. I never mention C's surname to him. So I guess he must have heard teacher calling ur son by the full name bah. Sometimes he comes back from school and tell me what happen in sch etc. At least for sure, he says their teacher never scold them n she will hold C's hand cos sometimes C likes to roam ard the class. So I told him to listen to teacher n help look after C cos he is the youngest in class. Yday E said there are 2 babies he sees everyday...one at home & one in sch. He calls C the baby in his class. Kekeke!

rachel,
so now you pump 120ml is more than enuf which is good already. you are SAHM so no need to strive to stock up freezer stock right? then direct latch to regulate your supply rather than have sooo much surplus and gotta use freezer bag, find space for storage etc.. At night i could latch him without pumping out. I'll let him latch on one side then if he stops, offer him the other. If he rejects, the next feed which is 3hours later, i feed him on this side first.

This way, my body knew how much i needed at night only and i could sleep longer. In the long run, the body will adjust to your baby's needs. Daytime when i in a hurry, i latch and pump at same time. Needs abit of practice to get the hang of it.

With Duncan, I didn't need to get up at night to rush to warm up EBM and when i return to work i could sleep longer in the night by latching him lying down. Only thing is i tend to fall asleep and eh, that's how he fell from the bed :p

Wenyl/Mashy
It must be very cute to hear your kids referring to themselved by their full names or rather hear them address another classmate by their full name.

My boy refers to himself by his full name and his entire class knows his name! It's quite funny to hear them speak.

wenyl

yah, it must be the teacher, coz i heard her calling him by the full name too. Actually when i ask C what's his name, sometimes he'll answer C woo too. Gd, now i've a spy in the class. Must ask E what happens in the class. Hahaha. E's so cute, yah, C is the bb in class. E is so guai.

Yesterday when i asked C what he did in school, he finally said 'we sing songs' and proceeded to sing a song. First time he told me what he did. Usually he'll just keep quiet when i ask him.

Mashy
hehehe, it takes time for them to relate to us what goes on in school. Nowadays, he usually sings the songs that he had sung in school back home. So I have an inkling of an idea what he is up to.