(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Welcome back mamachan,
Glad it is a good break for you.

Mummies just to share what I have been busy with
for Aden's birthday today. Hope to capture his surprise and happy look later in school. Credit goes to my shifu with help on fondant, my good fren for helping me with the cake and Cheng for the figurine

2060307.jpg

Happy Birthday Aden

Wow, CL impressive....next time we can hire you to bake the rocket cake, don't need to go to the line....haha

CL,

Really impressive....i just get an ice-cream cake for damien..that's all for his bithday. I wish that i be like you..but hardly dun have the energy and time.

CL,
Wow.. that's nice!!
I bought the same candles for Jamie as well. Her birthday party will be next thurs with Elmo Theme. Hehe. HAPPY BIRTHDAY to ADEN too!! Hope he enjoy himself today.

mamachan,

if damien can put on 1 kg within 2 weeks, i dun mind of bringing him there :p
he just went for his 3 yrs old assessment checkup.
Weight = 25% percentile = 13.4kg
height = 75% percentile = 97cm. i need to get him and ezilink card liao. he grow 10cm within 1 yr.

He was underweight and was told to give him more milk.

CL

wow, impressive!

I didn't even bother with a cake this year.

mamachan
Wow, I would wanna bring Caeden there too! He's so underweight.

Belinda/Mashy
I was happy with his weight before the trip, kinda wished he's not too heavy which makes carrying a little difficult. He's now 19.5 kg!!! *faintz*

Baby Cot Needed Urgently

Wondering if anyone here has a 2nd hand baby cot for sale or knows where i can get one? A friend just gave birth and is urgently looking for one now.

Clare
I dun have any but I think maybe you can try babytown ( something like that) or the market place WTS thread.. there might be someone selling.

CL
wow really impressive.. what else u can bake for gals? yeah agree with Flo, can we go to you next time heehee..of course you charge la.
So you think you will open a barkery or online cake baking shop or something?
Really nice cake you have for Aden..

Re: height and weight
kae is also 25% for her weight at 13kg and probably 90% for height at 95cm.
She seems to have good appetite since she start school I hope she will continue. Teacher told me sometimes she ate 2 bowl and pretty well behave in school.
I think she might have put on a little weight too cos she seems so heavy now when I carry her. I took 5 floor of stairs tyd carrying her...and was panting so badly half way.. Kae even ask me.. Mummy are you ok?...

When I was hunting for school.. those principal/teacher always tell me she is tall for a toddler. But seems like our thread bb mostly are pretty tall then cos most are taller or same as kae.

cookies,

damien born in Dec05..still one of the shortest in the class compared to his classmate.
i think he is the youngest in the class.

Thanks for your nice nice compliments.It is too much work involved. I spend 3 hours puting the fondant and moulding this and that so dun think can be pro. Ha ha I peifu my shifu to do this and her cake are much nicer.

May
Ya i just love this candle. Last year I oso bought the same number 2. Reason why I get this again is lazy mummy finding easy way out. Dun want to mould the antenna so just put the candle. ha ha. Then I know I cannot mould the cake properly so use 2 bowl to bake so no need to shape the cake at all

Just back from the celebration in school and brought aden to go go bambini. Now going to catch some beauty sleep for what I lost for past 2 nites.

CL told me about the token. Really want to say thanks and i appreciate the kind thots.

Am in San Francisco now, staying in SIL's place. Went to target last night and bought 23 items of scrapbooking stuff, all at US$1 each. Maybe not the fanciful stuff but alphabets foams, flowers foam, 8 pcs of acid free paper in a pack. There is this small album (about 4R photo size) with 8 pcs of paper...i bought so that ashley and megan can try SB too if they are interested. All these looks cheap so i just grab. before i know it, it's more than 20 items.

One question thou, how do i put the stuff in an album? Or should i look out for a album itself to do the SB?

Am thinking about the trip here and many says i can come here to take time to heal.......... but i still cannot reconcile... what's there to heal? It's not like a break up of a relationship where one can be 'heal' from a broken heart...... It's more of like a new start for myself and the gals that it's going to be the 3 of us from now on.......... At the airport.... before we board the plane, Ashley said "I wish Daddy can come with us to USA but he has gone to heaven instead.".... my tears just flow....... i wish that too.....

Hi Mamachan

I am really at at lost when Ashley asked question like "why my daddy has to to go heaven but others' daddy get to stay....."

Hi Yuki - Hugs from me okie...U r going through a tough time now. Take this trip as a "Recollect your thoughts & reminisce about your hubby with the gals" time.

My fav uncle passed away when his 2 boys were 3 & 5 yrs old. That one 22 yrs ago. From what I see, it's family support that is very important. My aunt carried on becos of them & her promise to my uncle to always take care of them. Before he passed on, he told her that he would always be there for them. This was prob the best gift he gave them. Spiritual support. It took a while for her to start all over again too.

Please take all the time you need.

Yuki
You can look at some scrapbook site like the brand you have bought, then get some idea. Initially we will copy a bit from others layout. Or you can check out sketch sites, www.pencillines.com, look at pink sketches which Mamachan is member of the design team. alternatively hee hee share share your picture of your sb loot, we can give you suggestion what to do with it. Sb album are like clear folder , after you complete the layout , you will load it in. Maybe good to get album there if it is cheap, so once you complete, slot them in will help protect the layout.

You know now I like to remember what the kids say as it is so candid. Keep a journal like what Ashley and Megan said. It would be punchline for your layout. For example, Aden just wear socks in his hands instead of the feet, why ? Because he imagine them as gloves , went to my oven, and says "I bake cookies"

Just do whatever you like in US. Ask for help with the kids and have some ME time if you need. Anytime, just pour it out in this thread and I am sure everyone here will listen and if you need any help just shout

Hi Yuki
Good to know that you are settling well with the girls in San Francisco and I sincerely do hope that you and the girls have some really good bonding time.

I guess the healing is for the deep absence of your hb that's dearly missed by you and the girls. I believe as the trip goes on, I'm sure when you look back on it, your hb has left you the strength and capabilities to manage the whole trip with the support of your loved ones.

To Ashley's question, you could share with her that her Daddy has fought the good fight of faith and is with Jesus now. In fact, her daddy's love and strength will always be with her and in her heart wherever she is and in whatever she do. That the Lord is looking after her just as well. She might not fully understand now by what you're saying, but I believe she will when she's older. But more importantly, you gotta believe in what you tell her.

The girls are looking to you to be strong. So be strong in your own ways for them, be it in your beliefs and in your love for them. I think that's the surest and most secure thing for them right now.

CL,
Saw ur pics in facebook. Where did u bring Aden to play? At pasir ris? I intend to bring Jamie somewhere too. But not decided yet.

re: New School

Today already kenna stressed by my boy's teacher. She said he can't sit still in class, will lie down instead of sitting on the floor. And he can't colour within the lines, will colour thru out the whole page. Ai yoh, he's only 3 mah. He's the youngest in class, so more attention is def needed. How can she expect him to behave like those born so much earlier than him?

Can your kids colour nicely within the pic?

Then she said he likes to pick out the staples from the posters that she put up. sigh.

mashy,
Majority of the time J will colour out of the boundary.
Maybe u can try getting him some colouring books from popular for him to colour? Get giant crayons for him to try also. I think he is still new to the environment which makes him curious bah. He joining the N2 class?

RE: Embriodery (Sew name on uniform)
Any mummies know where can I get pple to sew names onto uniform? J's teacher told me to label her uniform but I dun like the marker to smudge after washing.

may

he's in nursery class. Is that N2? He deson't just colour out of the boundary, he colour thru out the page. Doesn't care that there's a pic there. I've done some colouring with him. He'll colour the pic a bit, then after sian liao, then will colour the whole page.

Re: Embriodery
Dunno leh, can write on the back label? Wonder if Spotlight will have those iron-ons names...

mashy,
He is joining the 2005 kids right? if yes, then it is N2. J is in N1 joining the 2006 kids. Try to train him bah. Give him sometime. This age is like that de.

Re: Embriodery
I try writing but it will smudge. Her skirt got label to write but not the Top. Bought iron-ons from Daiso where I can write and iron but it looks very loose and might comes out after a few wash. So thought fo sew on lor.

May, I sew my kid's name underneath the uniform, so that noone can see. Just simple back-stitch with a single thread will do.

Mashy, I think he's turning 4 officially this year? Some schools have 2 levels of Nursery2 - N1 (3 yrs) / N2 (4 yrs), and some call N1 as pre-nursery or playgroup and N2 as nursery.

The role of the teacher is to assist and develop the child, and not make negative comments to the parent. Yes, 4 years-old (perhaps 4.5 onwards) should be able to colour within boundary... mine will colour within, and then go a little crazy and extend to the rest of the page. He learns from his brother, but a teacher once held his hand and guide him, and as she did so, she told him what's she's doing... that's what I call a teacher.

.ky.

May

yah, i know. but his teacher like no patience, kept saying he needs a lot of attention.

maybe u can try spotlight. Think spotlight's stuff should be better than daiso.

Mashy,
i tink my boy takes afer my genes..ie no artistic touch. His colouring is always a mess.
I noticed from the blogs that some of the kids can draw pretty well. But then, i guess boys will be boys..no patience to colour nicely and properly

sept03bride

Exactly my thots too. My boy totally not artistic. I think this will prob stay with him for life. Hahah.

I remember tabbs' gal can even draw a family pic. Can forget abt my boy doing that. He can barely draw a complete circle.

ky,
hehe.. my sewing skill not very nice. I try out tonight see how.

mashy,
dun care them, think they used to it after awhile. I kena complain also. The form teacher say J is lack of concentration. If got pple walk pass, she will turn around and see. Very easy get distracted. I try sewing it myself see how first.

may

haha, if pp walk pass, i also will turn and see. Gosh! Sometimes i find these teachers really put us thru worries for nothing leh.

ky's idea sounds good.
so far C's teachers haven't asked me to label his uniforms. keeping my fingers crossed.

oily
you are in CCK thread too right ? Welcome here.
Good idea for the label.

May
Ha ha i was sewing charmaine name label onto her uniform like crazy too.Because they say iron on the label will still come off which a lot of students has their name tag dropped out on first day liao

Mashy
Aden is oso colouring out of the line leh. Me not very concern since they are still young woh

May
Aden's part 1 celebration in school. Part 2 at go go bambini @ Dempsey, not bad I feel because $15 unlimited. Next time you have younger one hor below 1 is $5 only. Then part 3 at New York New York Lot 1

Hi Oily,
Thanks. I just ordered. I tried sewing just now. But it is yucks !! I will sew first till I get the label.

CL,
Thanks, will see got the time to travel to Dempsey or not.

I am having headache. Jamie did not cry during the first week in school. But she started crying since last fri. Tonight is worse.. she keep repeating "Tomorrow I dun want to go school." for abt 30times when I pat her to sleep!! She is crying while saying this. She vomited last fri and today in school due to crying. Really dunno how to handle her. Heartpain to see her like that. She cling to me like kangaroo from home to CC. When I put her down, she burst into tears. She seldom cry since young but now she is feeling so bad and have phobia to go school. How How How??

CL,

I get send to those tailor shop to do it for me..knowing myself very well that i can't sew. Just want my #1 to look go in school..hahahaha..who know his T-shirt was so poor quality..after one wash (handwash somemore)..all the color come out. Sent back to the shop and changed it again..lucky my mum help me to sew it again.

May

It'll eventually go away. Just be patient. I think reality is finally hitting her that it's an ongoing thing. Not just a 1 week hol camp.

Since she can talk so well, maybe u can talk to her and ask her why she doesn't want to go school. Talk thru her fears and see if there's anything u can address.

May
hang in there. Jamie will come to it sooner or later. or did you ask her why she do not want to go to school now, since she like it at the beginning? maybe something happen in school that she dislike.

Mashy
my dylan initially will color all over the paper too, cant bother to color within the picture. but 2 days ago, he did it without me asking! so don't stress by the teacher's comment. he will do it when he wants it =)

May
maybe oso check if anyone bullied her. Charmaine was bitten on 3rd day of school and she got phobia of going to school after that.

This morning she woke up crying so I guess as much something must have happen. She got bullied by this boy who hit her hard on her hard and even snatched her lunch box cover went out of the bus and threw it against the bus making the cover cracked. So upset.

I called the bus driver to give that boy's mummy my number. But bus driver says he will settle. If it persist he will give my number. Today I told charmaine to take note of his name

MAshy,

Eliajh also doesn't color well but the teacher will guide him. when he first started he was like that too .. likes to wander around and walk around worse part is during nap time he will go and ask his friends to wake up..

Mashy
I think give C sometime, no need to get so stressed. Is it still the same school that he attended last year? Sometimes teachers expect "convenience" when coming to teaching children. My boy used to color all over the place, sometimes even out of the lines and not inside. But I noticed that he colours (well almost) within the lines compared to last year when he 1st started attending playgroup.

The teachers gave me encouraging feedback that D is really good and much more attentive compared to last year when he was still a little babyish. Now he behaves a little more of a big boy, helping teachers to give out the sleeping mats when it's nap time.

CL
Aiyoh, bullies are always a source of headaches!!! That boy sounds really bad!!

RE: Separation Anxiety
I talked to her. She told me that her teacher wash her hair and the water goes into her eyes. I told her, Fine, in this case, I can tell teacher to wash her hair after she is more or less settled. Now she got no other excuse to give. Then she tell me she dun want to nap there. Will try talking to her tonight. She is trying to think of all ways not to go school. She vomit at the doorstep this morning while crying again. My patience is running out, preggie and having sore throat now, feel like scolding her but trying to cool myself down as much as I can. Cos I know it is a phase.

Took a photo of what I did ... not very nice, but it stayed on for 1.5 yrs.

2073664.jpg

May, tell her why it's no good to vomit... give her facts, like vomit makes her throat feel bad, and feel hungry after that but she may not have food to eat ... Try to ask her what she likes abt the school n keep emphasizing that. When mine started when he's 2, he was ok for the first week, and after a few months, he'll cry and need to wave goodbye to daddy while teacher carries him to do so at a window... it became a prolonged routine for abt 1 yr. I know what it's like to have the child crying long before n saying dun wanna go. K's doing that now when I tell him the day before that he's going to school (once a wk type), so I avoided telling him coz I know he'll get worked up and the logic does not get in.

CL, don't have bus auntie to watch over the kids meh? how much can the bus driver do when he's busy driving ... actually a little headache on how much we should get involved when kids encounter problems like this ...

.ky.

mamachan

it's a different school, so i think he's still not used to the new environment yet.

CL
That bully is so noti! Hope his behaviour will improve.

Rena
Haha, so funny wake up other kids.

Very experienced Indonesian maid for transfer
=================================================
My friend has an Indonesian maid who has worked with them for 10 years. He needs to find a new employer for their maid cuz their children has grown up and they need to cut costs. The maid can speak perfect english, very good natured, very good with kids (she took care of my friend's kids from infancy till now), can cook well, good with housework and pleasant looking. Her preference is homes with young children and no old folks.

If any of you are looking for experienced Indonasian maids to take care of your kids, please contact Mr Michael Wong 96958847 for more details.

mashy
I buy my nordic naturals children's DHA from luckyvitamins. If there are more people wanting to buy from luckyvitamins, I can open up a luckyvitamin BP again. Just closed a vitamins BP last month and another friend of mine also want to buy folic acid from luckyvitamins and I'm thinking of buying sambucol kids for Ariene as hers is finishing.

mamapanda

oh, if u can do the BP, that'll be great! My boy's cod liver oil is finishing and i can almost 'hear' his screams. That's his daily treat and he loves them.