(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

aileen ... those photos in your blog are taken with panasonic lumix? that's nice.

belinda ... replied your pm. tx. ya, cartridge prints 108 which converts to $0.30/pc.

.ky.

aileen

it's more like an estranged cousin whom i don't keep in contact with. hehehe. Just happened to see him there, so he volunteered freebies for us lor.
I think he's been with them for ages.

Rena
really nice pics.

KY
we paid 499 for 10 Megapixel. Got another 40 taka voucher. Freebies include leather pouch, 4 GB and 8 GB card 2 each, screen protector, cleaning cloth and tripod. 1 extra battery

mashy/cl ... next time i know to ask u gals before i get the next camera. we are offered a trade-in for our spoilt camera at canon (savings of $100) and that makes us stay. we can use back the old batteries, sd cards and hubby has anxiously put in the order early this morning liao. so, even if I'm tempted to change, i can't ...

.ky.

Ky
ya lor canon has got this good deal for trade in lor

I used to like Fuji too but the one I bought to use during Charmaine's time 2002 did not last till I can take for Aden. Then my sil who got hers in 2003 oso did not last to take her daughter's birth in Aug 2006. So Fuji's lifespan seems short

mashy/ky,
i use both my dslr and compact so it depends which photos you saw on my blog. if u want to know which cam i use for the particular photo, u will have to click the photo and it will bring u to flickr and from there, u can see the which cam i use. it's stated on the right hand side of the page. but actually it's quite easy to tell which photos are taken using which cam lah. hehe... i usually use my dslr for portrait shots and compact cam when we're outdoors or travelling.

rena,
canon is a good camera too. for a moment i was wondering why u are posting pics of elijah when he was a younger. only to realise it's your baby! omg, they look so alike! haha!

belinda/rena - haha so cute of you to test your camera on your tots. keep those pics streaming in...

rena - E2 looks like you and E1 when he is young. so cute with dimples. cannot really see E1 clearly but his face seems to have chg. can shoot another one? haha..

Aileen
you are good at catching the right angle for the nice pics

Ha ha me got one too after drooling over yours. of course lower end one

cl,
sometimes not deliberate leh.. u know lah, kids run here and there. i just follow and keep snapping until i get what i want. then sometimes, just happen to get nice ones or sometimes just all horrible blurry, OOF (out of focus) pics. haha!

u scrap alot, all the more must get dslr to snap nice pics of your children.justifiable? hee... most if not all of my friends who are mummies have dslr coz they know normal compact can never capture nice enough pics. hehe...

mine is also not high end, only a Nikon D80.

Mine is second hand D50 with D80 lens. Ha ha
I still have many outdated one not scrap just like I just recently scrap on my ultrasound scan only. Can you imagine I already have 1 in P1 and another turning 3 ha ha

oic... actually i hardly use my D80 kit lens. i usually use my 50mm F1.4 lens for portrait shots. i like those background blurry blurry kind... so u can't see the mess in my house! haha!

oh yes i saw that! not bad leh. at least u still got the mood to scrap old photos! good!!

you join that thread lah. because mamachan and another lady will set challenge. Ha ha good for setting a theme for me to scrap so I no need to think too much. Sometimes is too many things dunno where to start.

Yuki
talking about hobby - maybe take up a hobby which can keep you working on it. Now I bake for charmaine breakfast or recess.

Both baking and scrapbooking is good to do with the gals. Take up something which you always wanted to do but have not started.

CL,
i do pop by to see once in a while but u gals are pro lah.. i'm just not an avid scrapper thou i sure buy like one! haha! and i just can't find the energy to scrap leh...

rena,
join the dslr club! haha! for a moment i tot when u said u got a canon, it was a pns. no wonder i tot the photo was nice for a pns. hee... oh ur 2Es have the same ears too!!

CL,
u are considered pro to me liao lah! haha!

RE: Digital Camera
My digital camera is still those thick kind leh. Feel like changing to sleek and slim kind of camera. But budget is $200-250. Any recommendation? Cos I love taking pic of J and would like something compact to bring around.

HI mummies
long time no chat... been too busy to read thread.. just manage to go thru by speed reading.

Yuki
I think it's good to go on the trip too. Take a break from here...
DUn worry too much. You are stronger and tougher then you think. Believe in yourself, trust in the Lord.
here is something for you:
Isa 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; Do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Rena
E2 is so so cute..

tracee
Your boy is so cute cute too!

Re:digi cam
M Lumix is dying too.. HB wanna get Fuji next.

Hi CL,

Maybe is should start scapebooking? I have dig out all the family photos and wanted to make a family album for the gals.... don't know if i am too insistent in keeping all the memories. A friend's friend who lost her hubby to cancer can't bear to see his photos and keep them all away for a year... for me, i keep digging out what i can, going to my sister, cousin and friends etc for photos.... will do up the album with description on the outings so that it will not be forgotten with time..... Maybe can pick up some tips from you when i am back....

But scapebooking is sure an expensive hobby.....

I laminate the book that hubby's colleague wrote of him so that it is waterproof, will not fade etc........

Hi Cookie,

This same verse has been with me since hubby fell ill..... even non christian friends forward the same message to me...... I had a dream when hubby was rather ill.... i dreamt that i had a fall and could,'t stand up. jesus stood beside me and sretch out his hand. But i keep telling him that my knee hurts and i can't stand. In the dream i focus on my pain and not on his hand...... Coincidentally hubby shared that he was in pain that night and was praying and he also saw God stretch out his hand. But somehow he couldn't hold Hid Hand........... I initially interpret as a positive sign that Jesus is reaching out to us.... Through the whole of hubby's journey, i have always 'interpret' signs as positive signs that hubby will recover so his death is a big blow to me. And the doctors indicated he has 2-3 months in mid nov.... his death occur within one month.......

It is not easy to handle death.... when doctor indicated the life span.... i dare not tell hubby cos i don;t want to affect him. And we are parying so i reject all the bad reports.... But i also don;t want to short change him so that he can fulfil his last wish.......... till date, i still don;t know if i did the right thing by not telling him...my guess is he knows it himself...... However before he goes into critical conditin, he did have his last words to us......

All these questions still remain in my mind if i did right or wrong......

It is a very scary thing to have the doctors telling you that they have no other treatment available.... it's like telling you to go home and wait for death..... then the social worker, the pallative care workers will all come.... they meant as a support group but i find them a hassle.... maybe it's the anger.... no one could offer help but only to tell you to accept it, whether the patient knows of his own condition, how i feel etc..... so i didn;t quite want to talk to them... SIL and i were busy looking for other alternatives, even contacting doctors in USA who may specialise in this area of cancer etc...... So even till now, i didn;t appreciate the social worker, pallative care worker etc.......

I'm finally back from Perth! I've been doing some random reading here and there while in Australia but never contribute.

Here's to wishing everyone a blessed 2009!

Cameras
I'm loving the Olympus U850SW camera, I think that's the one Mashy has too. We took pictures while swimming in the sea and in the pool. Just have to rinse out the salt after swimming in the sea. But we must be careful with making sure not even one barely visible strand of fibre is at the ledge of the battery cover as it could be quite fatal as water gets to leak in!!! We nearly had a scare. I love that it's light and compact and we got it at a real deal as my BIL works in Olympus and they had a special offer for those pieces used in roadshows. So considered pre-used but still in great shape. Here's 2 examples of a underwater-shot:

2052767.jpg

2052768.jpg

Yuki
I think you should go for the trip with the girls. I don't think it's an escape from reality or anything. I would think of it as a fresh start with the girls and it's always great to have someone in common with to have that needed support for each other, with your SIL. It's not an easy journey but I believe that the Lord will give you the grace for the journey. Live for the present day and don't think too much for the tomorrows as the worries will be never ending. Remember Matthew 6: 26 that I sms you before I left for Perth. Take one day at a time. I grew up in a single-parent family and by far, I think my mom did a good job (of course with the help and support of unconditional loving grandparents). Think of it as not how are you going to just provide for them but to equip them in this present day (which is for their future). It's good what you're doing to get your husband's ex-colleagues and friends to write about what a great person he was (and still is in your hearts). I believe your husband would want you, A & M to remember the good times that you had as a family, no matter the time spent together because in itself, I believe it's the essence of it all. Encourage A to talk and write about how fondly she remembers your husband because it is something that she and M can look back upon when they are growing up and when in the tweens stage where life can get difficult, it's something they can look back on too.

Rena
E2 really look alot like E1!!! So cute to see both brothers so happy together!

Hi Sleeping deer,

My friend introduce me to the Wicare support group too..... will think about it and decide how when i come back from USA......

Yuki
If you need help to put together a straight forward scrapbook to preserve the memories of your hb, I'll be more than happy to help you. Basically it's just photos and pockets of space for you to journal the memories and the moments. Doesn't have to get all fanciful like what we normally do. I think the importance of it all is to preserve the memories and the journalling. Can keep them on acid-free paper and glue tape so that it will go a long way. Need not overdo with the decors (which really costs a bomb)

Yuki
If you want to look back, just go ahead. It is how you want to manage it and I know you want your girls to remember.

We have our mil's picture frame up at home to consistently remind my gal how much mil has dote on her too. I kept a set of my mil's favourite clothes and oso whatever pieces of clothes she made for Charmaine or those she bought for her. I oso kept them. I am also thinking of digging them out to scrap on her thought it is 3 years since she was gone. even aden who did not have a chance to meet her, we will tell him must remember this is nai nai.

There are other ways to make it less expensive. Make use of the trip and grab some stuff from there. Let me know what you need, will help you pick it up.

RE: Cam
I m using a fuji currently. Cheap n good. I find it easier to use than my ex-cam Olympus.

Aileen,
Wats the brand n model of ur DSLR? U pics always make me drool n drool. I need to find sponsorship 1st. haha!

mamachan,
ur underwater pix really looks cool!!

wenyl,
mine is a nikon D80. but if u want to get, go for the D90 coz it has video recording features.

Hi CL,

What are the scrapbook stuff that are cheap in USA and are worth getting?

Hi Mamachan,

Thanks for your offer. Will consider...

Does it come in book/ album form?

Yuki
most sb stuff are from US so if you get there and you no need to pay shipping here. Some stuff if you order in ebay, it is even cheaper than in shop.

Wanted to send you something for sb. I will sms you.

Dear mummies
I just sms Yuki to liaise about the token we have for her and her gals as she is leaving for US today. But she appreciates the kind thots and already grateful for the support from the thread.

She would like me to return to you. Kindly pm or email me at [email protected] with your account number so that I can refund to you.

Yuki
Have a good trip and hope you are recharged when you are back. Anytime just drop by if you need a listening ear

Belinda

Looks so good. I tried a disposable waterproof camera last time on a trip to Redang and it was really lousy. Definitely can't take an underwater photo as clear as this.

yuki

Have a good trip and enjoy yourselves!

Belinda
LAst year? Did u take your kids there? I wanna go there again but i shudder at the thought of the long coach ride.

ashy,

i only bring my #1 there, not with damien. Don't think he is able to take such a long journey.:p

Btw,, my cousin took a flight from Sigapore old airport to redang.

Busy again as term has just started. Just logged in to check if there are any big bashes this year...

Cookie,
would imagine that it's busier for you with three now... : )

mashy,
i think wendy used to get it from lucky vitamins?