(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

may

actually i think if J is drinking pediasure 6times a day on top of proper meals, i think she's really eating too much. I think should just let her drink normal milk. It's not as if she's tiny or what. If u overfeed her and she grows too fast, she could be getting her menses at 9yrs old and it's not good for her.

May
Milk 6 times a day I think it's abit too much bah. Does she eat well at all? I think the max should give them milk 4 times a day. My boy drinks his milk 3 times a day, now 210ml each time, on top of his hearty appetite at each meal and have snacks in between somemore! At this age, they should be eating their regular meals already and have healthy snacks in between. If her appetite is good even in school and at home, I think no need for Pediasure. I understand that Pediasure is really for fussy eaters!!

His teacher told me that he's the biggest eater in class, after finishing one bowl can ask for somemore!!! I nearly fainted hearing that!! Good thing they don't charge me more for the food he takes. They even have mid-morning snack and tea-time too. So good life eh!

May,
210ml X 6 is alot leh, I think you last mentioned that Jamie is about 14kg is it? Actually, I think you dun need to worry about her milk intake, she is getting enough in terms of nutrients. Pedisure is actually for skinny kids or kids who are fussy about their food, I had S on it for a year but I realise she cuts back on food when I give her Pedisure, so I stopped, you might want to cut down her milk intake especially now that you have her on Pedisure, coz you won't want her to get too hooked onto milk and start cutting back on food leh...

Cookie,
jia you! how is it going? Stay cool ok?

May,

Elijah use to take about 10 times of 180ml of milk. even when he goes to childcare. We cut him down from 10 to 5 times. elijah is now 14kg as well.. so dun need to worry lar...

May
Aden is taking once in the morning, once in school and once in the night. 3x. Morning feed is 300ml , school oso 300 ml but the nite one he finish 300 ml, he will ask somemore I will top up another 120 ml so he is take about 1L.His weight I would think exceed 16kg but not sure because never weigh.

Charmaine only takes pediasure when she starts to get fussy on vege

CL
Wow!!! 300ml!?!?! That's alot to drink at one go!!! hahaha. He very power leh!!

Weight
I think my boy hit 18kg mark!!! I was quite concerned if he's too heavy. My family doctor says he's alright since he's tall as well. Dunno what's his height now though, 98cm close to 100cm? All I know is that I may kenna by the public transport service staff to start paying for my boy's fare.

may,

damien takes more solid food...therefore i am not so concern on the milk.
I think damien is born to be skinny...only 13kg till date...

CL,
i still give pendiasure to Duncan becoz he dun take veggies and other meat..although he is big size. think he is 26kg now.

Belinda,
S too, she refuses vegs, and only just started taking mince meat, like meatballs, sausages, chicken nuggets. So we up her serving of fruit, she loves apples and pears, so we let her have it for morning snack, afternoon and after dinner.

CL,
300ml, wow! S only takes about 150ml x 3 a day...

May
Actually if J loves her milk, I think just give her the normal Frisco 3 that she's on. No need for pediasure. Coz already in their normal milk powder are all the nutrients that they need le. And if J takes multi-vits, then all the more no need for Pediasure. Pediasure is also quite expensive?

May,
Wow! I'm amazed that Jamie takes 6 milk feeds a day! How's her solids intake? Now, milk is meant as supplement and solids should be mains. I don't think when J goes to CC, she will be able to take 6 milk feeds you know. At best, CC will probably give only 2 milk feeds. I heard that some CC don't even encourage FM for nursery-K2 kids, they prefer to give fresh milk. Did you check with the CC on this? If so, you have to start weaning Jamie off so many milk feeds.

Mamachan,
My Isaac is on Mamil Gold 3, 3x 180ml a day.
I'm switching him to Mamil 4 once we finish the current tin. He's also on multi-vits and fish oil. But no calcium supplements though.

Re. Pediasure
Heheh... a bit suaku here... how is Pediasure different from normal FM?

Sleepingdeer
Aden is truely milk monster. I just opened a new tin of 900ml on sat. Yday I have to open another new one. Sigh

Sleepingdeer.
Ha ha I think i might not be of any help. Cup Divinity has got ice design but cake a bit sweet. Juz my cakes cake is nice too but a bit exp. Then for my shifu one you have to ensure she got time to bake for you if not her cake quite soft and nice. ha ha

Pediasure
Queen, If I'm not wrong, Pediasure is sweeter than the normal FM milks and the nutritional level is higher. It's meant for underweight children or very fussy eaters who don't eat full proper meals. That's what I heard and know of Pediasure from my friend who gives her girl that.

I would think that the milk they have now is good enough for their calcium intake.

Jamie is about 17kg and about 95cm bah. I think she has a heavy bone mass and bigger in size. I can hardly carry her now with my big tummy in front. She eat quite little during normal meals, she is a fussy eater. That's why we had introduce Pediasure to her. In fact she just started last week. Was thinking that in CC, the teacher can feed her twice Pediasure a day, plus her small portion of lunch, I think she will be slimmer then.

My colleagues/relatives loves to carry Jamie bcos they dun believe that she is weighing 17kg at this age. Many thought she is 3-4yrs old cos of her size.

Queen,
Pediasure is for fussy eater or small eater. It has more nutrients to substitute nutrients that is not enough in the kid's body.

may

Maybe it's a vicious cycle. She's fussy, u give her pediasure, she becomes fussier and eats even lesser main meals. In anycase, J is so heavy. My C is so small only 12kg and 88cm.

Sleepingdeer,
Lauren is a very beautiful baby. She resembles S.

Wow May,J still takes so much milk ah, probably that's why she can afford to be fussy about her food. Cos she can still fall back on her milk

Mamachan,
C is still on his Stage 3 FM. Will only be changing next year. Btw, whats the reason for u to change it now?

May,

That's really alot alot of milk!!

ChickenLittle,

Was just about to ask you about Aden's milk intake as I realised that Leroy is really going to follow his footsteps very soon. Nowadays, always finish his milk then get angry cause its not enuf..so always double dosage.

Now morning he wakes up - 240ml then 1.5 hrs later big bowl of cereal then 1.5 hrs later 300ml then 1.5 hrs later a big bowl of porridge for lunch then 1.5 hrs later 240ml of milk then the cycle goes on for every 1.5 hrs!!

Everytime we are out and Renee and Leroy are sitting down, many pple asked me if Leroy is the older one..his face and hands are bigger than Renee!

Like C has been eating quite a fair bit too but how come he just ain't growing as much????!!!! Should i add anymore stuff into it?

His eating schedule:

7.30am breakfast (2 baos/cereal/1 slice peanut butter bread)
8.30am 2nd breakfast in school
11am snack
12.30pm lunch (1 bowl porridge or rice)
4pm snack (3baos/cake/cereal/buns/sandwich)
7pm dinner (same as us)
10pm supper (1 slice bread/2 baos)

RE: Jamie's diet
Ehh... so now should I cut down on her milk and "forced" her to take proper meal cos she had no choice? Actually I intend to let her do that when she is in CC. Cos she will know CC teacher will not make milk for her. At home, she will ask for milk from my mum. And my mum cannot bear to let her go hungry.

heehee yes Mashy.
we call it Ni Gian!
somtimes C will will Ni gian and ask for milk after he wakes up from his nap though he drank his milk b4 napping.

Mashy/SeptBride,
J can drink milk at 9pm and ask for milk again at 11pm before she want to sleep. If we dun give her, she will keep whinning until very pitiful.

Wow! So many babies here are milk guzzlers! E is definitely not one of them cos if he can finish all his 3x210ml of milk, I am happy liao. Ben is drinking the same amount as his bro now. He is always eyeing on his gor gor's milk even after he just finished his. So Ben can join the "Ni Gian" club too. Heehee!

Queen,
Mamil 4 has higher calcium content as compared to Mamil 3 so I think calcium supplements not necessary if u tinking of switching soon.

May
Maybe by cutting down on her milk feeds, she would have no choice but to eat more for her solids? Sometimes because she has a "backdoor" plan when comes to feeding. Instead of 9pm milk, offer her cereal snacks or something? Actually, I don't have this problem as my boy's last milk feed is 9pm and he's off to lala land to sleep until next morning.

Mashy
Could it be due to bone mass? C is getting enough calcium intake since he's allergic to cow's milk? Actually does PD says this allergic will last a long time?? Maybe can give him back soy milk? I feel that some form of milk is still good as it is a very nutritious drink on its own. Maybe avoid giving too much sugary stuff also bah... just my thoughts.

SeptBride
Hmmmm, no reason to change him bah...maybe coz I see that it's only about slightly one month more then change his milk, so thought change now. Since he's having a good intake of his solids and have cod-liver oil with multi-vits. Tried him out to Promise 4 and so far so good. No issues. I might try to re-introduce Nespray to him.

May,
Meg has improved in her demands for milk recently. She used to be like J, (also on Friso and still on Friso), will drink at 9pm then 11pm ask again. Worse, she will always leave behind 60ml, which means she 'ni gian' only. Her intake of solids is normal, she will eat alot for lunch but when it comes to dinner, sometimes only 2mouth of rice. I just let it be, no point forcing her. She knows she can fall back on milk too.

Then when we went Japan, I thought she will be drinking lots of milk but surprisingly...she only drank 3x a day, each time 180ml. When we return, she somehow drank lesser liao. And few nights ago, after finishing one bottle, she asked for another and my hubby told her 'no! you just drank!' then she simply went to sleep.

In my personal opinion, actually I dun mind my kids drinking lots of milk and I will give in if she asks for milk. Cos hahaha, I used to be a milk monster!

tracy,
same here i dun mind giving milk to my children as long as they drink..too bad they simply just dun like milk.

Re: pillow/bloster/blanket
btw any tods here still need his/her smelly bloster, blanket or pillow when it come to nap or bedtime?

Tracie,
Ya..I dun mind if she is eating and a milk craze. Cos drinking milk is a good source of calcium.

I am sorry, after drafting out then I realised that J is drinking 5 x 210ml instead of 6 times. But still consider alot bah.

Here's J's eating schedule:

6:30am - Milk(Dreamfeed her in order to keep her asleep till my mum's place)
10:30am - Milk for breakfast (Her school start at 11am but she only wake up at 10:30am)
1:30pm - Small bowl of noodles/rice (abt 7-8 Tablespoons)
3:30pm - Milk before nap
* 4 pm - Snack (Biscuits/Honey Star - if she dun nap)
5pm - Early Dinner (1 ikea kids bowl porridge/marcaroni/noodle)
6pm - Dinner (Half adult size rice bowl of rice/noodle)
8pm - Snack (Biscuit)
9:30pm - Milk
11pm - Milk

Hi May,
I dun think Jamie is a small eater, she eats alot leh!

for S:
730am - 150ml milk
8am - half to 1 piece of bread for breaksfast
1030am - snack - 2 pieces of apple or pear, some biscuits
1230pm - lunch, half a bowl of rice, or noodles
4pm - 150ml milk
630pm - dinner, half a bowl of rice of noodles
930pm - 150ml milk

I think she's definitely getting enough as compared to S! haha...

Belinda,
Meg still needs her tiny bolster and her Ikea tiger and occasionally...her dirty broken pacifier to hold in her hand. :S

Mashy
C seems to be taking in lots of carbo from his diet. you might want to work on pumping him with more calcium content food?

Belinda
dylan dun need any since quite awhile ago. in the past he needs his bloster.

Wenyl,
Good to hear that Mamil 4 has higher calcium contents. Hehhe... I have the impression that the latesr stages of FM would have less nutrients. But I didn't read the labels lah. Isaac is not very keen on dairy foods. So FM is still his main source of calcium.

May,
Wow! J has quite good appetite!
Just a suggestion:

6:30am - Milk(Dreamfeed her in order to keep her asleep till my mum's place) - <font color="ff0000">Drop. At this age, there's no need to dreamfeed already. Certainly shouldn't be just for the purpose of keeping her asleep.</font>
10:30am - Milk for breakfast (Her school start at 11am but she only wake up at 10:30am) - <font color="ff0000">suggest that you try to get her to wake up earlier, say 7+am or 8+am so that she can have breaskfast on more normal times. Instead of milk, can give cereal, bread etc. Anyway, when she goes CC next Jan, she needs to be awake by 7+ or 8am</font>
1:30pm - Small bowl of noodles/rice (abt 7-8 Tablespoons)
3:30pm - Milk before nap
* 4 pm - Snack (Biscuits/Honey Star - if she dun nap)
5pm - Early Dinner (1 ikea kids bowl porridge/marcaroni/noodle) - <font color="ff0000">why have early dinner?</font>
6pm - Dinner (Half adult size rice bowl of rice/noodle) - <font color="ff0000">if skip the 5pm early dinner, she may be able to eat more for this dinner</font>
8pm - Snack (Biscuit)
9:30pm - Milk - <font color="ff0000">Drop</font>
11pm - Milk - <font color="ff0000">try bringing this forward to say 10 or 10.30pm, in any case, if J wakes up earlier in the morning, she should be sleeping earlier at night too</font>.

tracy,

did you need to bring her dirty pacifier to Japan...hahahahaha
Every when we travel, we need to bring along his smelly bolster.

Isaac's typical diet:

6.30am - 7.30am: 180ml milk
8.30-9am: Breakfast - bread, muffin, cake or small bowl of noodles
11.30am: Lunch (0.5 - 3/4 chinese bowl of rice / porridge or noodle soup)
1.30pm: Snack (at playgroup; will have a few pices of biscuits for snacktime)
4pm: 180ml milk, or sometimes a few small pieces of bread or 1 doughnut before nap
7pm: Dinner (3/4 - 1 bowl of rice)
8-9pm: Some fruits (if available)
10pm: Bedtime Milk (180ml milk)

Damien diet schedule:
7.30am: 140ml milk+cerel (1 slice of bread)
8.30-9am: Breakfast - 2 eggs or 1 bao + half glass of milo or plain prata
10.45am: Lunch1 ( 3/4 chinese bowl of rice / porridge or noodle soup)
2.30pm: lunch2 (( 3/4 chinese bowl of porridge or noodle soup) )
6.30pm: dinner (0.5 bowl of rice, depend what we are having)
8-9pm: 140ml Milo with milk (in between he snack biscuit, chips, or whatever is available)

this boy can't take too much or else he will merlion everything out..if he snacked too much in the even, i will skip the 8-9pm feed.

Queen,
I wanted to drop the 6:30am feed too. But my mum will nag if Jamie is awake at this time. Cos she want to do her housework. I am thinking of waking her up at 7am starting from next week onwards, want to let her get used to CC timing. Next Tues I am going for registration, so going to get the schedule from the school. Had early dinner bcos it is home-cooked by my mum. So the 6pm one is outside food. I dun want her to eat so much of outside food, that's why early dinner is more nutritious for her. I am considering combining the last two times of milk too. But this milk monster can't stop asking for milk. She can finish the while bottle of 210ml and tells u she want somemore. Abit scary though.

hi mummies...wah the postings today is flooding....

may - i am trying to sell my peg pegro. let me know if you are interested. i can send you the pics.

mamachan - oh locked the door? C will slammed the door with his teary eyes and wolf cries. sometimes even when i bathe, he will slam the door so hard and wail. haiz..for now, hb is sleeping with J in another room. hb just commented today if he is not ever gg to sleep on his bed. haha...

wenyl - glad to hear E is enjoying his zoo classes. hee..maybe the under the sea classes is more interesting.

do you remember our first birthday bash where we managed to rent and use the SIngtel Comcentre's clubhouse? I dun remember which mommy was the one who helped coordinate the rental, but does anyone have any idea whether the public can rent it and where I can go to check it out?

Yah, C can take a lot of baos and he'll keep asking for more. Now he even kaki take it from the fridge and turn the steamer on himself.

Actually C still drinks milk in a way, but not in a full bottle milk sense. He 'drinks' it thru his cereal. We'll add it to his cereal coz he doesn't like drinking milk from a cup.

We give him calcium through other means like fish, silver fish, peanut butter, spinach &amp; of course his goat milk sweeties etc instead of just milk alone. He's also on multivits &amp; fish oil.

SleepingDeer,
I think SY helped us to book the location. Not sure if I am right.

SSF,
I PM you my email address already.

Diet
Ariene is relatively small boned (just like me). She's only 90+cm and 13.5kg. Her typical schedule is :

730am : Breakfast (2 slices bread + chedder cheese cubes + 1 cup Gain IQ milk + 1 bowl fruits)
1015: Morning snack in school (normally biscuits + milo)
1130: Lunch (1 bowl rice/porridge/noodles/pasta + 1 bowl fruits)
1230: 1 cup Gain IQ milk
1pm: bath time
130pm: Afternoon nap
430pm: wake up (if hungry, give some fruits/cheese)
530-6pm: Dinner (1 bowl rice/pasta + 1 bowl fruits)
8pm: 1 cup Gain IQ milk
830pm: Bath
9pm: Bed time

After seeing all your postings, I wonder if she's eating enough or not.. I'm not sure how much is 1 cup.. probably between 240ml to 320ml. She uses the hello kitty cup I bought from Kiddy Palace. Its more than 1/2 but less than 3/4 of an adult cup. She also uses the hello kitty bowls I bought from Kiddy Palace. It somewhat bigger than our standard chinese bowl.

Queen,

U r right. Although Stage 4 has higher calcium &amp; milk proteins but its lower in other nutrients, esp vitamins. Tats why cheaper too.

SSF,
I tink he enjoys both hol programs. This week Under the Sea, i suspect he gets to eat more "forbidden" snacks
cos monday he said teacher gave them shark jelly &amp; another day they had octopus sausages??!!?? Now I know why he enjoys the classes. Hahaha!

wah, so many posts today..
reminds me of olden days.

Babies Prom
Anyone gg for the babies prom tmrw? I'm bringing Ger. We are seating at G20+.

btw, it's been a long time since we last met. Shall we meet up on Monday since it's PH? I'm clueless on where to go though.. hehee..

oh, and guess what.. my Clare is finally 8.2kg.. I was so super happy tt she finally cross the 8kg mark.. she's already 14mths.. and I've officially also just stopped bf.. exactly at 14mths..

Congrats Krissie
And well done for 14 months of hard work. Me, Cheng and Flo going on Sat. I think you meeting Rachel right ?

Sleepingdeer
Ya SY did the booking and I think you need a singtel staff to do the booking. Anyway I email you another place for consideration. I find the place quite cool.

Let me work out Aden's diet. But it does not work the same way when we were on holiday overseas.

6.30 am: 300ml milk
8.30-9am: Breakfast - served in cc (cereal, bread )
11.30am: Lunch (1 bowl of porridge/noodle/rice whatever is served in cc)
1.00pm: 300ml milk before nap
3.00pm: Snack (Fruits/ bread)
5.30 - 6pm: Snack again at cc
6.30 pm: Snack from me while picking him up on way home
7.30 : Dinner
9 pm : 300 ml milk. If still cannot sleep , need another 120 ml
10pm: Bedtime Milk (180ml milk)