(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

mashy,
Huh! Thank you to you?? Funny rite?

Belinda,
My hb is the eldest son. The youngest one only 20yrs old. So I think they got this feeling they won't be able to wait till he married and have kids bah. Impossible to keep this secret cos I know my hb will not hide from his parents.

Mashy
my FIL oso said thank you to me. funny right? but i know he meant well and is grateful. i guess your MIL meant the same =)

May
i agree with mamachan and mashy to keep the news from your in law leh. anyway they won't be grateful and will sure show you faces, might as well dont announce to them.

rachel/may

it's so weird. So I just kept quiet and let it pass. When she thanked me at the delivery bed, i still retorted her. haha. And i was still semi conscious from the morphin.

May
maybe you can discuss with your hb. ask your hubby to tell his parent that for this time round, you guys choose not to know about the gender of this pregnancy la. since based on the 'treatments' and stress you guys had from Jamie's time. you and hb decided not knowing the gender till you give birth! good or good?? =p evil me.

May,
I think it's difficult to keep the gender a secret till delivery. Your ILs will never believe that you and HB don't know.
but you can try... if your ILs ask, just ask your HB to retort back to you ILs that you and HB purposely told your gynae not to say cos it does not matter to both of you whether it's boy or girl and tell your ILs sarcastically that somemore if it's a girl, sure get black faces from them. What for find out???
But seriously, you and HB are proud of your kids, regardless of the gender. Even if your ILs ask, there's no shame in telling them. If they are unhappy, that's their own business. I know it's easy for us to say this since we are not the ones having to deal with such ILs... just don't let them get to you.
Anyway, I'm sure your ILs will learn to love and dote on your #2 in no time after she's borned. After all, she's their grandchild.
I mean, your ILs dote on Jamie right?
So don't feel bad about this. Let them say and do what they want. It's not something you can control.

Rachel / Belinda,
I think your ILs are just showing their appreciation. Sure, it's not their kids, but your kids are their grandchildren. So it's still flesh and blood in that sense. My ILs didn't say thank you to me... hahah, though I think I would feel pretty weird if they do too.

mashy,
At least she still visit u in the hospital. During my 4 days stay there, they came once and stay less than 15mins and did not come anymore.

rachel,
hb will never act dunno in front of his parents. He will want to share irregardless of what kind of treatment. I am the one who take the treatment badly bah. Maybe I cannot accept the fact I am suffering with pregnancy, delivery plus confinement and they are treating me like that. Somemore is their son's troops that decide the gender and not me.

krissie
my hb just came back from macau. he feels not kid friendly.

been so busy since JH is at home. very hard to log on and at night already so tired....

may
sounds like u r having a hard time. just asking, how does J take to your IL? JX dun quite like them and my fren says it's cos i dun like my mil when i pregnant.. since they treat u like that, it is hard not to dislike them...

Queen,
MIL still play with J but FIL dun really bother. They didn't even change diaper or bathe J before since birth till now. We will go back alternate Sun abt 4pm till 9pm. They will play with J for abt 1hr (usually my MIL) then sit there to watch TV. Dinner abt 6pm, after that MIL will fall asleep on sofa and FIL will go back room to sleep. Hb sit there to watch TV and I will attend to J myself. I always make a fuss with hb, Jurong no TV to watch? Why must go back to Sengkang to watch TV. At first we go back every Sun, after these events, we go back alternate Sun.

I couldn't be bother with them. They are my kids, PIL had no say at all on how I want to teach or treat my kids. As long as I am a good mother, I dun care how they treat us.

SY,
J still dunno how to react to them. To her, it is fun there cos MIL will bring out sweets and chocolate to bribe her. But I will stare at her then she dun dare to take. Although I dun like how they treat us, I will not teach my kids to dislike them too. They still need to respect but when they are old enough, it is up to them if they still want to go back for visit or not.

May

My ILs also have never bathed C since birth. Even when they helped look after him for 1 day while we go out. Imagine we've to bathe him at night coz we already told them we'll be back after dinner.

Ah well, maybe your ILs dunno how to play with J? U know, it could be in like in the past, the fathers go out and work till very late. They never see their kids grow up and thus dunno how to play with them. Maybe that's what's happening to your FIL?

Actually, why not arrange to go out with them and J instead? Like go zoo etc. Will they want? My ILs and us meet every Sun. We try to make an effort to meet every week, even when one party can't make it on that sun. While we may not like their company, C is still their grandchild lor. We also want C to love his grandparents despite their faults.

may
*pat pat* if i were you I won't tell unless they ask. 'cos they are so old fashion!!! luckily, you got a supportive hb.

I did try not to tell my #2 gender when I was pregnant. but after i heard what my FIL said when others were trying to ask the gender of the bb, i decided to tell 'cos i know that they will treat my gal equally. when others asked him abt the gender of #2, he said, 'i don't wanna ask 'cos i don't wanna gv her pressure.'

mashy,
They play with other aunties' grandson and were smiling till eyes are so small. When it comes to J, they just dun be bothered. My FIL really work hard when he is young and till now. But it is really biased. I tried creating outings to go out but they simply not interested. Everyday just go work, come home and sleep. They seldom go out one. Really typical old fashioned kind.

Sunny,
At least he said "cos i don't gv her pressure". My SIL called me to ask how come never say gender. Cos MIL told her "I dun dare to ask them, I scared they scold me or angry with me." But the truth is, every alternate wkend, MIL will bug me with the same qn "Know bb's gender already?" Told hb that his mum is lying to other relatives, he say if they ask, ask them to go ask him, dun entertain them. At least I am glad that my hb is very supportive and understanding.

Well May,

my answer to you is to jsut dun bother coz what is most important is you, hubby and your kids . for me I am also like you and the saddest thing is that Elijah was the first grandson but so what.. and I have 2 sons .. still my MIL dun favor them at all and keep saying my kids are stupid..

well hb always say why bother since we dun live together ..and as long as we are happy and kids are healthy and safe why bother and get upset

May
I understand how you feel. My mum will sure tell you because she has 2 daughters herself and each time her miscarriage incidents are all boys. My dad is eldest son. I have 6 gu gu to talk rubbish to my grandma to make her feel my mum is useless. So my mum will tell us to work very hard to prove them all wrong that Gals are powerful, we study hard, we work hard and even becomes mother ourselves. Not easy ok. When my uncle's wife finally give birth to a son (3rd child) which is the only grandson who would carry down our family name, ha ha nobody bother liao. They just suddenly remember that I am the eldest grandchild for the family being the eldest daughter of my father and I am the only one that my grandfather has carry, hug and given his fortune to before he passed away. So in the end , who cares about the son. And you know what , all my gu gu's sons who they cherished so much either passed away young, dun care about family and divorcee. So in my family ha ha the boys are quite useless. Only me, my sister and another younger cousin (gal) are graduates and now they recognised that we do them proud. They might not know now but in future they will understand.

By the way, pm you regarding your query on the clipboard kit.

Rena/CL,
Ya, I kan kai already. Will only tell my gals to study/work hard to prove to them that gals can do as well as boys. Although sometimes it can be very hurtful to see/hear all these remarks but after pouring out to hb, everything is fine. Like what Rena say, as long as we are happy as a family of 4, dun bother what others say/do.

CL,
I need 1 kit will do. Will it be safe/convenient to post via Normal Post? Let me know the total amount, I will transfer the postage and the kit money to you.

can i check with you all when i can get Mickey mouse theme birthday supply?? e.g. candle, decor etc.. beside the party shops now located at middle road.

CL
thanks, will check it out since be in town next friday.

mashy
toysrus seem quite limited on party stuff. or maybe the branch i went to is small =p

sy
yah. guess all of us should be in the planning since our kiddos are born in dec/jan =)

AHHHHH MICKEY MOUSE DESIGN!!!

dylan loves mickey mouse! CL you tempt me liao!
check with you, is this bag able to reach us by early Jan09?

CL,
Let me go back and show Jamie the pic. Not sure if she would want Minnie Mouse bag or not.

RE: Birthday Celebration
Talking about this hor, what are you all preparing? Jamie will start attending CC on 02 Jan. Will it be strange if I tell the teacher that I will celebrate her birthday on 14 Jan? And then she will miss class on 15 Jan? Abit too early to celebrate as there will be alot of crying children around and to miss class so early?

May
last year aden oso join the cc then I arrange for party in school too. It is ok, like that I think they will enjoy school more because party ha a

May
y will jamie miss her class on 15th?

dylan's pre-nusery start class on the 8th Jan, i will inform the teacher there will be goodie bags for the kids in his class. his is on the 19th, actually i just want him to have the joy of giving out goodie bags to his classmates. the feel of sharing, might help him adjust better to school. =) in a way can cheer up other kids too.

Rachel/CL,
Hope to bring Jamie out for celebration with hb. Cos with the arrival of meimei, I dun want her to feel that we are leaving her out. Hmm.. I shall talk to the teacher when I go registration next week.

May
usually it's ok bah. When D started his play-group at his school, I asked his teachers and they gave me the ok. So I bought banana cake/walnut cake from Bengawan Solo and celebrated in his class during their morning tea-time. I didn't prepare goody bags though. So after that, all of them had cake for their morning snack. And boy was I impressed that D back then fed himself quite well. After that, he went home with us after the cake and we brought him out to play on the actual day.

mamachan - haha u made me realised that my C is coming to 3 y/o in JAN and this time must celebrate in class ya? haa..last yr, his frds celebrated in class and he brought back lots of goodies home. so now i must start to think of mine next yr. oh gosh! must we buy cake? can parents attend? or just buy cake and pass to teacher is it?

Mamachan,
I was thinking of getting a small cake and goodie bags too. Not sure what time is tea time though. Will check with them. Cos my colleague's gal had her cake at abt 3pm. Was thinking of doing the same as u, eat cake then bring her out.

SSF,
My colleague took leave and brought the cake over during tea time for celebration.

Re: birthday celebration

So good, my boy can't even celebrate his in school coz it's a hol. And sch only opens on 7th for him. So probably will just do a small one at home.

mummies, thanks for the feedback on the tour.

rachel
there's qt a good party store at great world city level 4. there's also one toy/party shop on level 2. I cant rem their names. But, between the 2 wld likely hv mickey. mickey is qt common, so no probs..

For Ger's 2nd birthday, we celebrated with him in sch too. Ordered a Thomas cake for him.
and had party hats and party packs for the kids. Ger's classmates always give him party packs too. For this round, I'm thinking of doing the same. Just that, wld be ordering a smaller cake, i think..

SSF/May
I just asked the principal or class teachers if I could bring a cake during their morning tea-time as a birthday celebration for D. They said ok. Coz I know at 10am they have tea and afternoon (for those on full-day) there's another tea-break session for them. So theyt allowed both my hb and I to go in with the cake and we lighted a candle. For the school, we had to bring out own cutlery i.e. provide the plastic plates and fork. So we did that and I provided a small goodie bag with a small box of Honey Stars/Coco Crunch and a small packet of Milo, got the goodie bags from NTUC as it was a last minute plan on my part.

hahaha..i never got the chance to celebrate my 2 boys birthday in school, unless i placed damien in a childcare...both of them are born in end Dec

Belinda

ahhaa, same here. But even when he was in infant care, we also didn't get to celebrate his birthday coz his birthday is all packed with public hols and sch hols and end up not in school too. By the time he goes back sch already a few days after his birthday, so no point.

Good morning mummies,

Amazon - Books & DVD spree
Are you all interested in getting books / DVDs from Amazon?
I want to buy some books for Isaac as Christmas present.
PM me with your orders by tomorrow ok?

Re. Bday celebrations
I don't think my Isaac will get to celebrate his birthday in school either... his Bday is on 19 Dec, school is out by then.
This year, I'm getting Cupcakes from Cupcakemomma...may be a good idea if you want to distribute to the kids in school.

CL,
I emailed her in Oct and she replied a few days later and wrote that her baking slot is not opened for Dec yet.
I emailed her again just now... hopefully can get a response.
Do you know of any other bakery / person who bakes nice cupcakes?

Belinda,
I am thinking twice on the date of c-sect for my #2 lor. Cos if C-sect on the same bday as me, she will be the same as me. Everytime bday is March Holiday.

Queen,
Any preference on design? I know Prima Deli got quite nice cupcakes too. Jamie had my home-baked cupcakes for 2nd birthday. I wonder if it is convenient to bring cream birthday cake for CC or not. Else might get her cupcakes again. Feel like getting those party stuff from US website cos Jamie likes Dora and Elmo. Difficult to get it in Singapore.

Anyone interested in topping up sambucol and nordic naturals Children's DHA from Luckyvitamin? LUckyvitamin still the cheapest for Sambucol. Other things from luckyvitamin also welcomed. PM me if interested.

will be celebrating the boys birthday on 24th Dec..since 25th Dec is their chineses birthday and #1 will be going to m'sia with my parents...and will be back on the 28th dec.
still thinking should i get 1 cake or 2 cakes....hee
. maybe i will get ice cream cake instead of those cream cake.

hi May

was reading the thread quietly ... and set me thinking. Why do we go back to the ILs and parentss ... we know why. But to our kids, they may not and it's our responsibility to explain to them clearly ... I'm actually having a very difficult task trying to explain. My own mum, in a very nice way of speaking, is senile. She's actually turning into a weird old lady that I can't reach ... n it's really difficult for me to explain esp to my older boy who's starting to understand things why she's behaving like that ... I do not wish to sound negative towards grandparents, and moreover she's my mum. So, just think of how sometimes one's actions/words may be taken in by the kids. Well, consolation to you, at least your MIL plays with your gal 1 hr when u visit. Mine zero! she'll pop around making certain comments "why so skinny" and making a lot of comparisons to another nephews whom she clearly adores more. I'll get fedup hearing all these from her that I never ever share any news of my kids to her. "Officially", to her, they belong to her family ... just keep quiet. Everyone can tell, esp the kids.

take care.

.ky.

Ky,
Dun be upset with your mum for her condition. I guess she dun mean what she says now. Dun take her words to heart. Take care.

Bought this from spree. And the daddy could not wait till Xmas to see Aden's excitment. So today he gave up his collection of cars and bringing his pat pat rocket to cc. It is a total breeze to say bye bye to him at cc today.

1928773.jpg