(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Sleepingdeer

Congrats!!!! Lauren is a lovely name.
Hope to see her pic soon!

wenyl/CL

I heard that LSC (lasik surgery clinic - paragon, named wrongly above) can do evaluation & surgery on the same day! And, the promo this month is free evaluation.

mamachan - children have to pay for ticket too? if so, 12 bucks is abit ex as GV or Cathay give free admission for kids on a weekend before 12PM. maybe i sua ku abt this berriwerks. can enlighten me? hee...

hi mommies

I'm back from a long absence! Was busy in HK and the US for almost 3 weeks!

Guess I'm quite firm on going to the US already.. just waiting for the visa to go through. I maybe there as early as March!

Hope I can catch up with all you mommies before I go sometime... having a bit of mixed feelings.

When I came back from my work, my mom told me both my kids have HFMD from school. So now trying to help them recover. Can I ask some of you mommies who's kid had this before what do you give them to eat. Tabby is well but didi has it bad. Makes me feel so bad. He doesn't like yoghurt at all.

Wow seems like some of you are interested in LASIK again.. now there is a new procedure called implantable contact lenses, and is suitable for people who can't do lasik and there is no halos. I myself am quite tempted.

Hope all you mommies who have no. 2 have a safe delivery and are well. I dunno when I have time to log on.

Congrats sleepingdeer!

SSF
Yupz, it's $12 per person including children. The last BerriWerks event I went for was Horton Hears a Who. They give out goodie bags and all. For me, I'm not so much gian for the goodie bags, but it's more family friendly in terms of even if the toddlers make noise, it's sort of "excusable" as compared to bringing a toddler in to a normal movie screening, more often than not, you would get really rude "Quiet!!!" or "SSSHhhhhhh" or worst, have the staff ask you to bring the child out and then money goes down the drain for everyone.

They have pre-movie activities and balloon giveaways, etc etc.

Then again, I might be wrong lah about other movie patrons in a regular movie screening...but I rather play safe and just attend these family friendly events. It's once in a long while, so ok for me and hb. =)

sleepingdear
Congrats on baby Lauren's arrival! Wishing you speedy recovery from the C-sect wound.

tabbiesus
Welcome back! My boy had it really bad when he had HFMD...he didn't even want to drink anything at all. I had to force water down his throat so that he doesn't get dehydrated and be hospitalized to be on drip. It took him about 3 days before he dared to drink water on his own accord. What I gave him was cold chocolate milk mixed with some cold fresh milk(let it chill out after taking out from the fridge). My boy loved yoghurt before the HFMD episode but he rejected it after taking the 1st spoonful during the HFMD episode.

Just have to be really patient during this period and try to hydrate them by encouraging them to drink from cup or those straws.

sleepingdeer,
Congrats! Rest well and take care!

RE. #2 gender
Seems like it's another boy for me again. My gynae said yesterday that if he was to 'guess' the gender, it's more a boy than a girl. Not sure how certain he was... To be honest, I was a wee bit disappointed... my HB was like "boy again???" Haha... anyway, we do not have strong preference for any gender as long as baby is healthy. But I guess a boy+girl = hao would have been nice. If it's really a boy, can save lotsa money since Isaac's clothes, shoes and toys can be passed down to #2.

Krissie,
My Ben is abt 11kg at 12 mths. Have no idea what's his height. He looks shorter than E at the same age.

Mashy,
I got keloids from my 1st csect. But my 2nd csect, done by another gynae, no keloids so far. Any idea how much is LSC charges for both eyes?

Tabbiesus,
I ever saw a newspaper advert recently abt the implantable contact lenses. But with normal contact lens, I do feel dryness quite often. Will it be worse if its implanted? Btw, Is it common to experience halos after lasik?

CL,
Yup, can go together if got group discount.

Queen,
I know the feeling cos when gynae broke the news to us, me & my hb was also like "Huh, another boy?" I too was abit disappointed at that moment. But that was just a fleeting moment cos baby's health more important than gender.

Baby Ballet and Baby Music Appreciation Classes at Yamaha Music School (West) @ Bangkit, Bukit Panjang
Anyone interested in sending their girls/boys for baby ballet and music appreciation classes? I jus called up Yamaha music school on their baby ballet and music appreciation classes for 3yr olds. As long as their birthday falls on Dec/Jan 2006, we can register them for the classes.

Already registered Ariene into both classes. Here's the details :

1. Baby Music Appreciation (8 per class)
Singing, percussion, drums, etc
Fee: $240/term
Sat 10.30am to 11.15am (4 signed, incl me) or
Sun 10.30am to 11.15pm (2 signed, incl me)
*Parents involvement required

2. Baby Ballet (8 per class, 5 signed up, incl me)
Fee: $173.30/term
Sat 11.30 to 12.15pm

I signed up to be in the queue for all 3 cuz I'll take whichever class takes off. Most likely, I'll go for the sat music class followed by ballet class.

U can call them for more info :

Yamaha Music School
(Bukit Panjang Branch)
Blk 256 Bangkit Road
#02-73, Singapore 670256
Tel: 67646500
Fax: 67630919

Thanks. Ya.. I was pretty shaken at first with the news of having another gal. Cos was very stress up by in-law. But after a cry then everything is ok. THink it is emotional during pregnancy bah.

I very much wanted another gal too. Cos since young, I have been longed for a sis to share clothing and secrets with me. The strong bonds between sisters had been seen thru my mum and friends. So now just hope that she is growing up healthily and soon Jamie will have a playmate to play with.

God's Child,
I have the same sentiments, most imptly is our #1 have someone to play with and share lots of things.

Queen,
Congrats on having another boy. It good that we can save some money on the clothing. Can have pals to play games too.

Tabbisus,
Welcome back. U must have been very busy then. It's not easy having so tight schedule and handling two kids. Take carez.. =)

hi mummies..
one more photo to share.. baby kacia dun seems to resemble K1 or K2..hee they all have different face. just like they have 3 different blood gp :
1885847.jpg

HI tabbie
long time no see...wow..which part of US will u be?

Queen/May
Congrats for your boy(well your gynae could be wrong) and gal. Yes most impt is healthy.

Krissie
K2 was about 9kg when he is 12mths, now at coming 15 mths.. I think he is only abt 10kg most. tho he very greedyalways beg for food but he just wun get fat.
He wearing Jshopper tshirt just nice at 80cm.. I tink he would have height ard 80 cm ba.

Sleepingdeer
Congrats! rest well and we shall wait for your new addition's photo =)

Queen
me and hb had the same feeling when the news was broke to us on having another boy. but now, all that matters is bb is healthy and kicking inside me =p

cookie
your K1, K2 and K3 all different blood group?
agree that the 3 of them all have their own distintive look. =)

May

hehe, thought u secretly wished for a gal to get back at your ILs for them wanting a boy so much? Hahah. Then why stressed up by them? Don't bother abt what they say ok? Most importantly is that your children are healthy and happy. I find gals are very sweet and 'wo xin'. My boy is a little monster, really lacking in showing affections. sigh. He's a very typical male, won't tell u exactly how he feels and if u push him, he clams up.

cookie

So your hb and you are AB & A/B? No wonder they look so different from each other. Probably their personality will be very different too.

Cookie
My mum B, dad is A, Me 0 and my sis is AB.So my family is like yours. Then my chua family all B.

Belinda
So cute. Nice cert

Mashy
I thot my Aden is abit like your boy. But at times he is quite kind hearted. That day I have a very severe backache and my husband was use the Oto machine on me. He thot daddy was torturing me, he quickly push his hands away and keep saying no no , mummy pain, stop stop. So they will show at "emergency" times

CL

Hahah, i guess they are kind in nature. Just don't like affections. hahaha. U know, typical male hormones. hahaha. Funny how sometimes it's all inborn. I've tried teaching him abt being affectionate since a baby but he just refused it. Only now that he's older that when he feels like it, then he'll give me a kiss and hug me. He actually hates being hugged. Maybe that's why he hated being in a sling coz it was too 'suffocating' for him.

Wenyl

I don't think have group discounts leh...
I asked LSC and they said they don't normally give discounts and the receptionist said something abt it depending on which day we choose. I guess it might be negotiable if we go on a Mon or tues during their off peak.

Cookie,
K1 and K2 looks abit alike now. Maybe when K3 is older there will be some similarity? They all have very sharp features, next time u will be busy fending off the suitors already.

Belinda,
Wow..so good got certificate. Me looking forward in placing Jamie into CC. Hope she adapt well too.

mashy,
Ya..hehe.. u still rem. I wanna spite them. They are to biased on BOYS already. Now really dun have. Think it is all fated. J likes to be kissed and hugged. I guessed that's the difference between girl and boy bah. Nvm, we shall hear from ur good news soon. Then C will have a playmate already.

Mashy, Wenyl
Let me check with hb's colleague where they went. I think 3 of them went together and they got a discount. Once we short list maybe can ask our expert Tabby for advice. I think esther should be keen too because she chiong me before.

Then I need to work on slimming down. Ha ha cannot imagine big face without the specs to cover ha ha.

Mashy
Being affection. Ha ha Aden still do lah. He quite generous in hugs and kisses. When we have group outing with Cheng and Flo, he will hug everyone before he goes.

Another thing that dunno if he knows the meaning or not, now he will always kiss and say "because I like you" just like the Allwells ad

Do you have any unique names to suggest? I wanted something special for my #2. But seems like names that start with M is quite difficult to think of leh.

CL/Wenyl

I think we should drop Shinagawa from our list even though it's the cheapest. Coz you actually have to move to another room after the flap on your cornea has been cut to do the lasik! THink of the contamination risk. I think better to do everything in one room bah.

May

Myra as sugg by CL sounds like a nice name.
My friend's little gal is called Micaella. Nice name too.

Or Mashy. HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just kidding.

last friday, damien had a fall from the escalator.
lucky it was 4 steps away from the ground..
till now i can feel bad over it. I should hold him tightly.
I can imagine if he fell from the top.

Belinda
Accidents happen, just ensure he is fine after the incident. Tell him to be careful and we have to be careful too.

By the way, your elder son is still with Zoophonics ? Or you signing him up for another class ? I deciding between Creative Study and Wordplus for Charmaine

CL,

He had already stopped Zoophonics since i put him in Kumon.
I had just signed him up for Chinese HanYuPin Yin class which is going to start in End Dec which is very near my house.
Good thing he is going to be the same tuition class with his Kiddy classmates.

I am still looking for Math tuition class for him.
I am thinking if i want to put in Kumon as well for the math.

Sleepingdeer
Congrats on Lauren's arrival.

Cookie
Your K3 is so lovely...

Wenyl
My lasik was done by Dr Lee Hung Ming, he was the Head at TTSH during that time. But now he opens his own clinic. So far for my lasik, there are couple of side effects (like halos at night) but I am alright with it. And these were being informed beforehand.

CL
Paiseh, think my books still with you... will arrange to collect from you one day. My office moving next week liao.

cookie
it's really interesting that your 3 Ks have different blood group! So either you and hb are A and B right?

CL
Kekeke, so this means your hb is B-type?

Boys being affectionate
I think my boy is really affectionate!!! He would come up to us and give us a hug and a wet kiss on our lips. Sometimes, he will use his hand and sayang my head/hair and hold my face with 2 hands and kiss me. Or he will come up to me/hb and ask to "Cuddle". Think he's a touchy-feely boy. kekeke. But overall still boisterous boy....sometimes I call him a gentle giant. haha

Belinda
Oh dear, hope Damien is ok...don't blame yourself too much. Just have to reinforce that when on escalator, must always hold hands and not play with the "brush" on the side edge of the escalators. Have to keep reminding them to be careful.

May
Myra is a nice name. How about Madeline = tower of strength? or Melissa = honey bee
Just remember don't go for too ling spelling, imagine when older and exam time, got to "waste" time writing out the name on every page of paper!

Belinda

I think boys are prone to accidents. My boy is too. If he's not falling down, he will be knocking his head somewhere. His legs are all filled with '20cents'. So don't feel guilty anymore. Tell him to be more careful next time. We can't be guarding their backs all the time.

Thanks CL for the suggestion.
Myra quite nice hor. How to pronounce? My-ra ?

Mamachan,
Melissa reminds me of our schoolmate. hehe.

Belinda,
Poor thing. But he is quite daring to take escalator hor. When we reach escalator, J will ask either one of us to carry her. She say she is scared. Dun feel bad, they will learnt from the falling.

Mashy
On the other hand.. my boy is super " gu niang" haha my hb always say he is so gu niang cos he loves affection, wan to be carry and kiss and attention seeking.

Belinda
I think boys relaly more accident prone.. my son only 15mths full of accident too. haizz..
Dun blame yourself liao... I know ow u feel.. I'm like that many times.

May
My niece is named.. Mikelle. I thought it's nice too and I havent come across anyone else with this name other than my niece.

Cookie,
Sounds nice also. I will shortlist all suggestions and let my hb choose.

RE: Type of Breast Pump
Mummies, I am clueless in pump. Was thinking should I try bf again. I failed during Jamie's time. Only bf for 1 wk. Since I am getting CL, was thinking to try again. But since I going to stop at 2 kids, I dun wish to spend too much on pump. Any suggestion on the brand I should get? Would like to have middle range pump. I bought Farlin brand, it is very noisy and my milk supply are too little, takes very long to pump cos need to control the pressure. I will be returning to work 3mths later, will try to continue bf if possible. Else will stop at 3mths due to my job scope.

may,

If u're serious abt wanting to BF, bear with the heart pain and go for the best.. Medela Pump-In-Style series and nothing less. I breastfed for 2 years and I think I definitely qualify to give u this advice :

I started off using the medela dual eletric pump and the medela hand pump. Not only were they ineffective, they left me with breasts feeling half emptied and loads of frustrations not being able to totally empty the breasts even after 45min of pumping (not to mention 45min less sleeptime when Ariene was waking every 2.5-3h to feed).

After 4.5 months of suffering and facing a decreased milk supply, I went to Yen Ping in KK to unblock my engorged breasts and I saw her using the Medela Pump-in-style and asked her for breast pump advice. She also advised me to buy the medela pump-in-style as it lasts a loooong time and its performance doesn't decrease with continued use (unlike the cheaper electric pumps). I decided that I had enough of suffering so I took Yen Ping's advise and bought the medela pump-in-style advanced. It was a SAVIOR! Pumping milk had never been faster (10-15min) and more efficient (almost empties out whole breast).

Don't think so much. Invest in a good breast pump if u intend to breast feed for prolonged periods or if u're gonna have a #3. U remember all the bottles of EBM in my freezer in one of the photos i posted long time ago? They were compliments from my Medela Pump In Style Advanced

ps: u want buy at $100+ cheaper, buy from First Few years but theirs is US version so u need to use a transformer but its no big deal, esp if ur hb is eee trained. Can go Simlim tower buy a smaller & lighter transformer if u find the one FFY give is too bulky.

ps2: Don't buy from shopping centers, kiddy palace etc. I've asked the local distributor before, They do not honor the warranty from anywhere other than their own store in TMC. First Few Years have their own warranty and workshop specially for Medela pump-in-styles.

btw, I bought the more expensive Pump-In-Style Advanced with comes with the fast simulation mode that enables u to let down more easily. You can simply buy the cheaper normal pump-in-style which is good enough if u don't want to spend too much.

What I did was I pumped 3 times at work in the beginning, then slowly reduced to twice the once over 1.5 years. You'll want to have a fast 15min pump, ie, PIS, if u are pumping in office else u're sacrificing ur lunch time and ur boss may not be too happy either of u're away for 1 hour 3 times a day (don't forget u still need to wash the tubings, bottles, pack n freeze milk, sterilise, clean up etc).

May,
I was using the PIS which belongs to my fren too. Prior to that I used a Medela dual pump but it is not as effective. I usually out of nursing room within 15 mins with PIS so that time I pump twice at work my boss oso could not feel anything

But just a note, Medela does not work on everyone. one of my colleague , manual pump serve her better. Then my good fren, bought the US version, she feels she need to focus one side then another. So I think it depends on yourself. I always have a avent manual pump standby, is helps me a lot to unblock the duct.