(2006/01) Jan 2006 MTBs

Mashy
wow, must go grab my issue today.

Wenyl
I tried Elsie's kitchen during charmaine's full month celebraton which my mil requested. It was not too bad. sometimes my company engaged them oso not bad.

If you want a different one from Neo Garden, maybe want to try Angeli. Quite good.

Urgh..I just drop by the petrol kiosk this morning!
Hmm..will go grab one copy this evening.

Oh ya mummies,
My EDD will be brought forward. Now it will be 09 Apr 09. Still cannot tell gender, now Wk16, the legs are blocking last night so doc cannot see.

wenyl - u shld try kim's kitchen. excellent setup and good food. had neo garden and kim's ktchen for jadon 1 yr bd bash and my guests were praising kim's kitchen excellent mee siam. their laska is nice too! in the end, i had lots of left overs from neo garden but not much left from kim. hee..

mashy - will make sure i get a copy of woman's weekly today

Wow! Mashy u are now a celebrity wor! :D
I must go grab a copy too.

Tracie, CL, SSF,
Thanks for your feedbacks!

SSF,
Will go look at kim's kitchen menu now. How come u engage 2 caterer? I m so sian of neo garden's food. My inlaws will always engage them. So boring.

hi mummies...doc commented that J is underweight. cookie, how heavy is kyler since they are born on the same day? currently J is only 8.1kg at 14 mths old. i thought he was alright as he is soooo active. i feel bad as my patience is running low whenever i wanna stuck him to bed. everyday we will scold him as he is so active and keep moving about and bump into things. he is really different from C who will quietly play at a corner. we are all so drained looking after J. we always say he look the cutest when he sleeps.

wenyl - haha sorry it's mum's kitchen NOT Kim's kitchen. not sure why kim comes into my mind. hee..
i thought instead of catering neo garden for 60 ppl. i might as well hired 30 for kim's kitchen and 30 for neo garden. cos at least there is a larger variety of food. ya i also often hire neo garden for their chicken curry. after a while, also very sianz. but i dun dare to try other caterers as i am worry their food and service is bad. i only choose mum's kitchen after personally tasting it in my SIL's place. however, their price is also more pricey than the norm. about 15-20 bucks per head.

SSF,
Will check out Mum's kitchen. Heehee.

Rena,
Thanks! I heard abt purple sage. Pricey n food so so. Nice setup thou.

belinda

i went there before. Stayed in Oriental. Nice cozy place. But it's super ulu on the hilltop. Need to get cab to go anywhere. I was there for work then, so didn't have to worry abt that.

I heard Venetian is good and it's very popular now. Heard they've a great shopping mall there with gondolas. Frankly speaking, Macau is short of good size shopping malls before this came abt. Do u know that we were actually recommended Yaohan when we asked the Macau tourism board for a shopping mall? Hahhaa. Anyway, just head to St Paul's and the Largo do senado. The Europeans style streets are lovely for great photos. They've many shops there too. Got a lot of very cheap clothes there. Cheaper than HK.

When you're there, make sure u make a trip to Fernando restaurant to try their portugese food. Always long queue, not sure if they take reservations.

I remembered some of you have been to HK disneyland before so I would like to check with u girls which is a better hotel to go for HK disneyland : Disney's Hollywood Hotel or Disneyland Hotel?

Also, which are the rooms that give better view or can see the fireworks and which is nearer to Disneyland? Which one is better overall?

Just to check
Does any of the toddler here know how to blow their nose already?

My boy is able to blow his nose only few weeks back. Made it so much easier for us to help him clear his mucus when he had a cold/flu.

hi mashy
Thanks for the feedback. Is there any particular room I should ask for Disneyland Hotel, ie, gardenview, seaview or seaview with balcony? Whats the difference?

blowing nose
I was lucky cuz Ariene learnt to blow her nose even before she was one so I didn't really have a problem with that. In fact, her teacher in school told me not to ask them to blow their nose as it hurts their delicate nose tissues :/

mamachan
JH can blow his nose. he's always having runny nose so it's a skill that he needs!

mashy
hmm, i shall go check out the mag

November Woman's Weekly
It comes with some voucher booklet that has got lots of 1 for 1 treats for hi-tea, etc....if we have a few of us getting a copy, we can all go for another round of hi-tea/english tea le. hahaha

Mashy - i oso bot the mag ytd and wow! u reali look very good! C looks very good as well, handsome little chap!

Mamachan - Cel cld blow her nose i tink quite long ago, but cant rem when... it comes in reali handy when she has water stuck in her nose during a swim or bath... not to forget when she has a stuffy nose! oh ya, those vouchers tat came wf the mag were reali worth it! the first tat im aiming to use is the Bakerzin dessert voucher!!! missing my warm chocolate cake liao...*slurps*

CL - alamak! ur hands reali itchy wor! ur kids are so xin fu, everyday got home baked andhome cooked food!!!

Aileen - its ok la, haha... tats y i went to sistic webbie and checked again and din see maybank there. i thot mabbie some internal promotion heehee...

god's child
hahaha yah lor, I want to jio my gf for bakerzin dessert too!!! Love the desserts there!! In fact, my family went to Chatterbox at Mandarin Hotel for dinner for their yummy chicken rice!! Since it's 1 for 1 offer. We ordered a kid's chicken rice set and just additional one more bowl of rice for my helper coz lots of chicken!!! LOL! Come to think of it, we could have just 2 sets of the chicken rice (1 for 1) and ask for 2 additional bowl of rice and just order side dishes. Their rice no need extra charges.

Mamachan
Mel can blow her nose as well....really handy when she's down with runny nose

Queen/SL
Ya, have been very busy at work lately due to the volatile stock market.

SL
Have stopped Mel at PT quite sometime. She's now with Excelerate at Tanglin. On waitlist at Little Hands @ one tree hill, probably will transfer her there next year. Oh, when did you switch to PT?

Queen/CL
Actually I find Pandan cake is one of the most difficult cake to bake if you want it to be real spongy

mashy,
Saw ur pic in the mag. U look gorgeous! And the handsome little C. Nice article.

Can I check with those who get CL to help in confinement. What is the questions to ask them? Must we lay down terms with them first? Eg. Help out with simple chores, how is payment made, when to come? I have a contact from my auntie but haven't call her. When will it be the right time to call? I am going to be 16wks next wk. So wish to secure one and hope can get some utensils or household appliances before tummy is too big to shop. I dun cook at home, so might need to get sauces and other stuffs. Can help me with this? Thanks in advance!

Oh ya, hb say once we confirm the gender. We will get a geomancy (same as J) to choose name and decide on the C-sect date. Most likely will be end of March.

may - some qns to ask..
1. how long is the contract. Some quote 1 mth which is 30 or 31 days) ...some quote only 28 days. so better to be on the same page.

2. will she do simple household chores like sweeping or mopping the floor? does she mind drying your hb clothes as well?

3. will she cook ONLY for mummy or dun mind cooking additional for hb?

4. does she prefer to be given money to buy the confinement food herself or you guys do the shopping. maybe this qn...you can indicate your preference.

wenyl
U looking for halal certified caterer or non-halal certified? I went with this caterer called GoodLuck Kitchen for Ariene's first birthday and the food was REALLY good and quantity was also more than sufficient and very reasonably priced. They got a website if u're interested : http://cms.goodluck-kitchen.com/

May,
You should call the CL ASAP to book her cos nowadays some ppl in first-tri already book up the CLs. To add onto SSF's questions:

1. Will she go marketing on her own or need someone to bring her there on wknds?

2. If you want her to handwash the clothes, is she ok with it?

3. Can she also cook for Jamie?

For utensils and ingredients, alot of stuff for me was when aunty arrived and she went thru and found some other stuff needed then my hb get from my MIL. And food wise aunty went to buy then claim from me. Cos my baby arrived early, everything was quite last minute. I remember these are the 'last minute' things that i didn't prepare:

1. A large pot for boiling the packet herbs to bathe. This pot later will be stained so best to use one that you will not use for cooking later.

2. black (some call it blue) dates for the confinement tea.

3. A separate hot flask to contain the red date tea cos this also will be stained.

4. Glass 'pot' to double boil the black chicken with DOM in the slow cooker.

5. Gather more bottles of DOM if you want more. I took in total 5 bottles of DOM (faint).

There will be other stuff that she may require for her cooking and those can get later when she arrives. Most important you must have your Sesame oil, normal cooking oil, the basic salt, sugar, soya sauce.

May,
I forgot to add, if you are bfing, remember to ask CL if she is fully supportive of it, as in dun come and push you to feed FM for her convenience at night.

I list here for easy ref, what my CL handled for me:

1. Cook food for me, my hubby and Meg.
2. Wash clothes for hubby and me using machine.
3. Iron hubby's work clothes
4. Mop the floor every morning
5. Clean up the kitchen including mopping the floor after use every evening. But gotta warn you, even with that, the whole place is super oily..
6. She clean up the whole kitchen plus stove etc thoroughly before she left
7. Do the marketing - she pay first then come back claim from me. For wet market stuff, she writes down cos no receipt. I'm ok with that.
8. Prepare the herbs for me to bathe every afternoon.
9. The day my confinement ended she was still there, so she also help me change and wash my bedsheet.
10. Bring my baby down to 'sun' every morning without fail unless it rains, until his jaundice cleared.
11. Look after baby 100% - this is the most impt to me. She manages her time very well and eats very fast so the only time i need to watch baby is when she takes her bathe or go market. She will go market after she has settled him down. She is fully supportive of bfing, will warm up the milk for him at night to drink etc.
12. Every morning, she also warms up a bottle of chicken essence as part of my breakfast to ensure i drink it.
13. Every night, one bowl of DOM double boiled with black chicken.
14. The red date tea, if i dun finish it at end of the night, she will throw away and boil new batch.

SSF,
Got contract with them one ah? So I just tell her roughly what date I will deliver. When it gets nearer after I decide on the delivery date, I will call her to inform the fixed date again? As I will be going for c-sect, most probably I will ask her to come 5 days later?

My mum had volunteered to do the marketing for me. So the auntie will not need to go. But what about the payment? I heard some got to give deposit before hand.

Tracie,
Wow.. 5 bottles of DOM is alot leh. I only took 3 bottles. Sesame Oil need alot? Cos I heard that time my mum bought 3 big bottle when she did my 1st confinement. I will jot down all these on paper before calling her.

Thanks to both of you for the important notes.

may - yes i paid $300 deposit before she arrives. And it is advisable to give ang pow before and after she leaves. tracie is right about booking her first so that she will reserve the slot for you.

for my CL, she said when i deliver, just give her a call. and based on my discharge date, she will make her way to sgp.

wenyl,
The few distinctive ones I remember are the hei chou (deep fried prawn roll), the kong bak pao (braised pork with bun), the mai pian xia (cereal prawn), curry pork ribs and prawn paste chicken and orh nee (yam paste dessert). Cant really remember what else I took. They have quite a good selection of foods that u can choose from. They also have some premium dishes (like sea cucumber, durian sago etc) but those need to pay extra per head.

I just realised that they have changed their pricing alittle. Now they charge $12/head and you can choose any 9 dishes from the menu except for the premium dishes. Previously they have less/head for less dishes and more/head for more dishes. Anyway, they have a minimum of 30 heads so I ordered only 30 heads for my case and it was far more than enough even though I had more than 30 guests.

may
for my case, i don't pay deposit. i gv angbao b4 and after.
and if you want to let bb use cloth nappy, need to check with CL if she's ok with that.
i think the rest, tracie and SSF had stated liao. yes, need to ask how many days she's doing the confinement for you. mine is from the 1st day the bb born e.g. if bb is born on 1 nov, her last day would be 30 nov; regardless of which day she comes to do confinement.

re: colours
ladies, can your kids recognise colours and when you ask them what colour the object is, he/she can tell you correctly?
my gal still can't do it 100% right though we are asking the basic colours e.g. green, blue, red, white, black, yellow, etc. kind of worried.

Sunny
ha ha my aden oso cannot. Shapes oso have problem. Only can tell me those colour and shape he likes

But hor one thing he good at recognising cars models. He will associate the car with the person driving. So all RAV 4 on the road he will say " daddy coming daddy coming"

If he says da bo mu coming da bo mu coming , you will definitely see a Toyota Wish.

Yeye coming yeye coming , it will be a Mark X

Ha ha if Honda Stream, ha ha that belongs to Cheng's son.

CL
haha... aden so cute. my gal only say red colour cars belong to daddy. the rest, always wrong, regardless how many times we have told her.

btw, what brand and model of oven did you buy and how much? mine spoilt liao. luckily, it's not expensive, so, not that sim tia. haha...
must an oven come with fan? carrefour is selling tefal one at $199, i think. but no fan leh. i thought all oven come with fan?

thanks gals for your compliments. finally bought the magazine. Heheh.

Sunny
My boy can tell me only some colours correctly like orange, blue and red. The rest of the colour that he doesn't like, he can't tell me at all. His favourite colour is orange.

With regards to shapes, he can say all accurately already i.e. square, circle, triange, star, heart, rectangle. Yesterday then first time hear him say hexagon and pentagon.

I think no need to worry lah. It will come eventually. Everyone is good at something and not so good at others. Like your gal I remember toilet train very quickly & she can speak very well already right? My boy still can't really talk fluently yet.

CL
My boy can tell that not all cars are the same, even if it's same model. Hahahah. We are driving a honda city and once we pointed another car with the same model and colour and asked him whether it's our car, he said no. He kind of recog that it's not the same, even though it might look the same on the outside.

Sunny, Mashy
so funny hor the kids.

Sunny
my oven i think $200 plus but no fan too. Tefal Activy or something like that. Then that time when I buy I ask pink because got another one cheaper and got fan she tell me to go for brand. So I bought Tefal.Fan is good because can evenly distribute better.

CL

Yah, the kids never fail to surprise us.

That day we went to the library. At the back of the library, there's a barrier. U know those pole which is tied at one end to prevent pp from driving in? My boy ducked his head when he walked under it. hahaha, He's so short and there's absolutely no need to duck his head.

May,
Opening angbao is just for significance so i gave $28. The closing one, depends on her performance so it's up to you.

Sunny,
Initially Megan also had difficulties differentiating color, everything also pink and the teacher got worried and asked me to revise with her. *roll eyes* so my Mum (not me haha) constantly taught her and now she knows her colors. Then the teacher tells me she doesn't know wat is 'housefly' and can't tell 'rectangle'. I was telling hubby, i send her to playgroup to play leh. Anyway, few weeks later, she knows liao.

So dun worry, eventually when they 'feel like it', they will know.

colors
Hmm.. Ariene can tell colours rather accurately, including intermediate shades and colors like white, black, pink, purple, brown. She has problems with beige though.. sometimes can get it, sometimes don't.

Anyway, sometimes, when her attention is elsewhere, she'll anyhow give a color name, so gotta ensure u got their full attention first b4 asking them colors. You can make use of jelly beans to teach them colors. They'll come running to u and tell u which color of jelly bean they want. I bought the Natural Foods Company's jelly beans (think NTUC and Cheers selling for $3.15 per pack) and it comes with yellow, orange, red, pink, green, purple color jelly beans

Oven
I tried using the small oven in my MIL house when we were still living together and my honest opinion is.. get a proper convention oven if u can afford the space. Firstly, its too small to fit the 1/2kg to 1kg cakes that I usually bake. Secondly, the heat is not evenly distributed so the cake is burnt on the top and uncooked on the inside. Thirdly, because the oven is so small, the baking times are all haywired cuz my recipes are meant for proper convention ovens and the baking times are somehow MUCH longer for those small ovens (so is the temperature even though they're supposed to be the same in terms of degress??). If u're into serious baking, you should get a proper oven. I bought my Ariston convention oven for only $599 and it has served me well. Can use it to bake 2 layers of cake, cookies, pizza, etc at a go cuz there's an internal fan to distribute the heat evenly. Can also use the oven to bake quiches, pies, french fries, chicken, roast chicken, beef, etc. In fact, I even find my oven insufficient for me and I yearn to have a even bigger oven but I don't have the space in my kitchen

CL,
Aden is so cute. Jamie only knows RED CAR PLATE = Daddy's shopping car. White Van with hb's company logo = Daddy's working van.

Sunny,
I think give her some time bah. My gal can recognise colours quite well. But for shapes sometimes ok sometimes wrong.

Sigh.. the CL is booked at that period already. Furthermore she is charging $2500 leh. Any one got good CL to recommend, can PM me? I dun intend to breastfeed so hope the CL is not those die-die must ask u to bf one.

Sunny, Mashy, CL
So far, my boy knows and differentiate all the colours of the rainbow and black and white. Partly because he likes to do colouring at home and he picked them up from playgroup (attended since January this year). He knows his shapes too, coz I'll sit down and play alongside with him the Tupperware Shape Sorter and he would repeat after me which shape is what. He knows his basic circle, oval, star, heart, square and rectangle.

sunny, like what Mashy says, your girl is toilet trained and can speak fluently wor =) My boy is still not yet toilet trained. Waiting for the day that he is ready to be a "big boy" without wanting diapers.

CL
Wow! Your Aden very sud sud!!! Can recognize car models!!!! Hahahahaha, very boy trait! Can imagine him being into cars when he is older!